Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 198 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

198 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

198 reviews | 3 out of 5

56%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
40
4 stars
51
3 stars
27
2 stars
23
1 stars
57
1-20 of 185 total reviews
56%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 185 total reviews
1-20 of 185 reviews
Broke in 2 months
5/17/2010

Customer review by SavvyBlue

1.0 stars 5/17/2010 by SavvyBlue
by SavvyBlue

I weigh 150 pounds and used this every day. It made a lot of noise, like a squeaky mattress, and literally broke in month 2 of owning it. 300 bucks isn't "a little" for me to toss down! That is a lot of money! I could've had a gym membership for a year with that kind of money. But this thing literally went through 3 sets of batteries then the metal seaming snapped! It's a piece of junk. Do not buy.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SavvyBlue
Oklahoma City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product!
3/4/2010

Customer review by DivinedZero

5.0 stars 3/4/2010 by DivinedZero
by DivinedZero

I've had this elliptical for over 2 years and it finally bit the dust a week ago after using it 5 times a week since somehow I broke the metal while I was using it. But while it did work, it was really great! I don't see why people complain that its too tough to push on. anything below resistance 4 is like normal walking or walking on air. I started on resistance 5 for 30 minutes daily, and now i've been able to use it on the highest resistance (10) for over an hour and a half at a rate of 40-45 rotations per minute. This machine helps you tone your arms very nicely too, I managed to burn lots of fat from my forearm and my upper arm. The heart monitor was really bad though, everytime I used it it read in the low 70's during a hard workout. If you want to lose weight or burn more fat, then I really recommend this elliptical, i went from being 190lbs (all fat) -150 (hardly any fat but nice tone to my bicepts and forearms) legs are alot better too.

Was this review helpful? (31) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DivinedZero
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Quality machine awesome price!
4/9/2008

Customer review by SkyRail

5.0 stars 4/9/2008 by SkyRail
by SkyRail

I purchased my employer an elliptical Trainer from Sears. It was a 700.00 model and I tried it out and decided I had to have one. I didn't want to pay that much so I checked out my local Wal-Mart and got this one. I am so glad I did. After assembling the unit (Took me around 1 and a half hours) I was amazed at the quality and stability of this unit. (It is important to follow the directions and tighten the bolts securely) I am 220 lbs. I was 250 when I started on this machine and it has held up well. It is important to understand that being a machine held together with bolts; it's important to use the wrenches they give you and tighten them every other week or so. I do this because I have worked around machinery my whole life and even $60,000 equipment needs to be maintained. That all being said if you want a machine that has great features and works well and is sturdy then I highly recommend this machine.

Was this review helpful? (43) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SkyRail
Pensacola, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value Elliptical
1/16/2008

Customer review by bellacookiemonster

5.0 stars 1/16/2008 by bellacookiemonster
by bellacookiemonster

I purchased this machine after my 3.5-year-old Proform 650/900 elliptical broke. I had a hard time finding a good machine for less than $350 at sporting goods stores. I got this one at my local Wal-Mart. I purchased the 2-year service warranty for $30 and I feel great about the overall cost and value of this product. My local Wal-Mart assembled this free of charge within a week of my purchase date (thanks!) so all I had to do was pick it up and take it home. So far it is a great workout with smooth resistance and quiet operation. I have it on the sportcraft fitness equipment mat. I had to adjust the stabilizers in the front several times over several workouts to take a wobble out of the front end, but that may be because I live in an old house with uneven floors. There is still a small amount of movement in the front end of the machine, but not enough to be a problem. I'll come back and report any problems if I have them. Hopefully I won't - I love the machine so far!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bellacookiemonster
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good product, but needs minor work
3/28/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 3/28/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have read the reviews and was worried about the noise in the machine we read about. Being a handyman I thought I could figure it out and I did. So for all of you that have this machine it is a real easy fix. Take the cover off of the flywheel by removing the pedals first so you can get the cover off. Once you have it off you need a flashlight and a sharp knife. If you shine the flashlight between the two sides you will see that on the down pedal on the left side of the machine as you would be using it there is a piece of metal the plastic fins rub on. This is from the downward and natural inward pressure you put on the pedal while using the machine. Take your knife and just trim the fins about half way around on the downward pedal and it will work just fine. The whole procedure only takes about 10 minutes depending how comfortable you are with tools and such. After doing this we have been very happy so far, but have only owned it less then a month.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Worth the time!
3/2/2009

Customer review by WrkOutGrl

5.0 stars 3/2/2009 by WrkOutGrl
by WrkOutGrl

My husband and I purchased this elliptical about 2 months ago, and have been more than satisfied with it since we put it together. It did take him 2 hours to put it together, but if you take your time and tighten all of the bolts correctly then it works really well. Within the first 2 weeks we noticed a squeaking sound, and realized that some of the bolts were loose from when we moved it to its new location upon putting it together. Once we tightened these bolts it was as good as new. This machine gives you a great workout! My husband was very skeptical of it b/c he didn't like the ellipticals he previously used at the gym. After he used it for the first time, he came upstairs out of breath and he only used it for 15 minutes. We both had to slowly work up the amount of time spent on it, and I am finally doing 30 minutes a day, 5 days a week. It really gives you a great workout! My husband only uses it for 15 minutes a day, 3 days a week. In less than 2 months, I have lost 8lbs...4 inches around my waist, 2 inches around my hips, and 2 inches off of each thigh. The elliptical, combined with a balanced diet has changed our lives in only a short time. My mother-in-law was so impressed with the changes it has made in our lives that she comes over a few times a week to use it. I think she might even go to Walmart to buy one. If you take the time to assemble this elliptical correctly, and make sure to tighten the bolts occasionally, you too will be very satisfied with this product. It's a great deal for a reasonable price. My husband and I are saving so much money by not going to the gym, and using this machine in the comfort of our own home!

Was this review helpful? (61) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WrkOutGrl
Lancaster, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good with a little extra TLC
5/13/2009

Customer review by jujatybyey

4.0 stars 5/13/2009 by jujatybyey
by jujatybyey

This Product is a great value, and with a little extra tweaking, can be a great machine for the money.The first thing I noticed was that the machine squeaked and creaked a lot. I traced this sound to the bolts that hold on the T frame at the base of the machine. I removed the bolts and seperated the frame and greased the thinner portion of the frame, and the bolts and put it all back together. This alleviated all the squeaking. A couple of weeks after this, the wave washers that space the handles away from the frame broke. this caused the handles to rock back and forth and make a horrible cliuunking noise. They are made of very cheap metal, and break easy. I called the manufacturer and they sent new ones right out. However these also broke a couple weeks later. I went to the hardware store and purchased some rubber O rings that were about the same thickness of the original wave washers, I greased them and inserted them in place of the washers, and I have had no problems since. Last night however, The main crank in the machine broke, and I am well under the weight limit. So I am not sure what caused this to happen. I can only assume that it is a defect in materials. I would suggest purchasing the extended service agreement since the original manufacturers warranty is only for 90 days. This is the only reason that my machine will now be fixed, and the service department at walmart is very good at helping out. Hope this info helps out.

Was this review helpful? (33) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jujatybyey
Radcliff, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
OK product for the price
10/5/2008

Customer review by dougp26364

3.0 stars 10/5/2008 by dougp26364
by dougp26364

I purchased this product because I am not at a point where I can spend $1,000 or more on a quality machine. It is an adaquate elliptical at best and will surfice until I can afford to purchase one of higher quality. There is a good deal of inexpensive placstic on this machine. Part of the noise issue comes from the cheap plastic covering the elliptical wheel in back. On carpet the machine is not entirely stable and tends to rock back and forth as you take strides. It will give you a decent workout and the resitance adjustment is reasonable. The readout is not back lit and can be difficult to read without good lighting. This machine, for me, will at least be more effective than joining a gym. My schedule is such that it's difficult to get out and get to the gym. I prefer to work out at home. However I do not see this machine lasting for more than a year with daily usage and will need to be replaced with a higher quality unit. For the price, it's at least a start which is better than nothing.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dougp26364
Wichita
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
a little let down
4/8/2008

Customer review by wastedtime

2.0 stars 4/8/2008 by wastedtime
by wastedtime

I got this yesterday..took a couple hours to put together, but i expected that. After i finally got it together, i tried it out. Made a horrible clanking noise and feels wobbly even with a slow pace. I have tightened everything i can think of. I was really let down that the consol needs batteries and is not back lit. Its very hard to see in my room because all i get is glare. If i slow down to get close to try to read what the screen is syaing it stops reading immediately. I cant tell if i am supposed to go faster or slow down. The handles seem a bit close also. I feel like i had to squeeze my arms in as tight as i can if i'm not holding the handles so i dont get hit by it. Sometimes the heart rate montior works, sometimes it just flashes. It does give a work out, but i'm worried its just going to break any second. I do plan on returning this machine. I will take it apart once more, but i am fairly sure its going back. If you can ignore the noise, this may be right for you.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wastedtime
Moyock, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
it's ok
6/8/2009

Customer review by darkdestinylee

3.0 stars 6/8/2009 by darkdestinylee
by darkdestinylee

it doesnt really seem to change resistance all levels are the same and very hard. i use an eliptical at my physical therapists so i am familiar with these machines and normally i can do resistance 4 but on this machine 4 feels like 8 and so does 1..lol...perhaps my husband assembeled it wrong?? or maybe others have had this problem too..

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
darkdestinylee
Fort Leonard Wood, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
So Far, So Good
1/30/2008

Customer review by Queenie18

4.0 stars 1/30/2008 by Queenie18
by Queenie18

My finance and I just purchased this product last weekend. We were desperate to get a machine into our studio apartment so we'd get off the couch and start moving!!! You need two people to carry the item into the house and it took my finance (who isn't so mechanically inclined) about 2 hours to put together. We didn't have any problems with missing parts or anything like that. It is about average size and fits just fine in the studio. I've been on the machine several times now in 10-15 min increments (trying to get back in shape) and so far so good! The machine seems stable (although I'd like to put a mat under it). I feel my heart pumping and I feel good about the purchase. I was surprised that the “monitor” actually worked to increase/decrease resistance! I haven’t yet used it to monitor my pulse but am confident that would work as well. It isn't professional grade but for the money spent--so far, so good! I am glad I purchased it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Queenie18
Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Dont buy
9/18/2009

Customer review by chrisj123

1.0 stars 9/18/2009 by chrisj123
by chrisj123

Worked great the first week. It creaks now. and sounds like its going to break. Anywhere in the house you can hear the loud creaking sound. It can't even be masked off earphones. Returning it today. Save yourself the time and effort of putting it together. buy a better model

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chrisj123
Fresno,ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Big/bulky & not for me.
1/1/2008

Customer review by SinCityShopper

3.0 stars 1/1/2008 by SinCityShopper
by SinCityShopper

I purchased this item at my local Walmart and thought I was getting a good deal because of the price. It took me about 2 hours to assemble and when it was all put together, the machine was much bigger than I expected. The footprint is about 3' x 5' & the handles are set higher than most other elliptical machines. If you are single, you will need assistance with getting this machine into your home because it is very heavy. Once assembled, the machine can be moved around on it's two front wheels. I live in a pretty small apartment & space is of essence to me so this machine is going back. The machine also started making clanking noises which probably came from the bolts. The few times I did try the machine out I noticed that the higher the resistance used, the louder the clanking noise was. If you do purchase this machine, you will need to have 4 AA batteries on hand to operate the control panel. Hope this review was helpful.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SinCityShopper
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very Wobbly
1/3/2010

Customer review by Smitzo

2.0 stars 1/3/2010 by Smitzo
by Smitzo

I was looking for a flexible stride length and the 12 & 18 inch options sold me. The price was also a bargain- listed at 297, but it was priced at 200! Assembly was easy. My 15 year old son and I leisurely put it together in 45 minutes with no problems at all. Wear some old clothes because the grease is greasy, and you should use it liberally. Once assembled we gave it a go and were disappointed at it's wobbliness. He is 5'10" 140 and I am 5' 11" 180. It is not very sturdy. My wife gave it a go (for whom we purchased it) and her first comment was that it was not very stable. I haven't totally adjusted the front height pads, will retighten all of the screws and bolts, and will probably move it off my fitness mats to just a low-pile rug to see if that helps, but I don't expect it to make much of a difference. I must say though that my wife is petite and liked the 12" stride while I definitely preferred the longer 18" stride, which is what caught my attention to begin with. If I can't find another machine with that option we may muscle through the negatives and make the best of it. Can't beat the price. If you are expecting value you will surely get an OK piece of equipment for practically nothing, but beware of its instability. I haven't had it long enough to comment on the issues others have commented on but I'll be on the look-out. Good luck.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Smitzo
Brockport, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Cheaply made
6/3/2009

Customer review by jctgumby

1.0 stars 6/3/2009 by jctgumby
by jctgumby

This product seemed nice in the store because it was up on a shelf. I did not know how it would do when weight was put on it. I have tightened the bolts a million times, but every time I use it they come loose and the machine rocks back and forth really bad and makes a LOUD creaking noise. I am a small woman who does not weigh but either. It seems that every time I use it for 5 minutes, something else breaks. As you exercise, you hear new things breaking every few minutes. I have only had it for about a week but already know it was a waste of money. If you want an eliptical, just buy the expensive quality ones or dont get one at all. If you buy this, you will just waste 350 dollars.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jctgumby
Would recommend to a friend? No
So So
2/5/2008

Customer review by Enchant

3.0 stars 2/5/2008 by Enchant
by Enchant

I just picked this up today, and was so disappointed in the packaging, several of the plastic pieces were broken or cracked, and 2 of the bolts were not drilled out correctly. Assembly, was not to bad. The instructions were clear, but it still took me over 2 hours alone (it does recommend two people to assemble) Once the machine was assembled, the plastic casing did not fit together properly, only to find that another part was cracked causing this. I expected better as far as condition in packaging, and that resulted in poor performance. It was unlevel, and most of the holes drilled for bolts did not line up. When i called to request replacement parts, for the pieces that were cracked, no answer. It just continued to ring. Tried again about an hour later, and was put on hold, and never talked to anyone. Will try again tomorrow... so far, I am ready to take it back to the store, but what a hassle! I expected more from something that Golds Gym endorsed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Enchant
Sparta Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Returning it ASAP for full refund
1/20/2008

Customer review by EnergizerTX

1.0 stars 1/20/2008 by EnergizerTX
by EnergizerTX

Once assembled, there was a lound clunk inside the unit during use. I took apart the side panels, to see if anything needed adjustment (per the troubleshooting section) and noticed the C-magnet was out of place. I moved it over by lightly pressing on it, and put the panels back together. It no longer made any loud clunks. However, I tried to use it the next day and I noticed the resistance was the same for all 10 settings. I took it apart again, and looked at it more carefully, and realized the adjustment cable was not even connected. I also noticed the C-magnet was still out of place (tilted) and realized the C-magnet mounting bracket was bent and not lined up properly. I originally thought it was tilted by design, but after seeing how the cable works, it was definately bent. I'm returning it and buying another brand. What a waste of time (hours!) assembling it, only to find the main internal components were damaged. What a piece of junk.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EnergizerTX
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
4/15/2009

Customer review by allofthenamesareusedup

1.0 stars 4/15/2009 by allofthenamesareusedup
by allofthenamesareusedup

I would not recommend this to anyone it squeeks I have to use ear plugs and the left side adustment keeps comming loose even after using locktight

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
allofthenamesareusedup
Would recommend to a friend? No
piece of junk
1/4/2010

Customer review by have2workout

1.0 stars 1/4/2010 by have2workout
by have2workout

Parts immediately started falling off. The machine has continued to fall apart. One of the step paddles broke off. I went ahead and took the other off because it fit awkwardly on the machine anyway. It squeaks horribly loud. There are a lot of little parts that have broken off and are lying beneath the machine. Please don't buy. I believe they know we will not bring these back. I am a single woman that had to borrow a truck and a man to pick this up and assemble it. I could not turn around within that month and ask someone to disassemble it and lug it back to the store and then go pick out another for them to lug into my house and put together.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
have2workout
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Needs a Little TLC
4/15/2010

Customer review by PofThree

3.0 stars 4/15/2010 by PofThree
by PofThree

Many have noted that this machine is very noisy. This has been my experience as well as it has aged. It eventually got so loud I had to fix the sound or quit using it. In my case, 99% of the noise was coming from one of the long bolts in the base of the machine. The bolt was moving back and forth as my weight shifted from left to right. I put some plastic washers on both sides (I think most of the noise was coming from underneath by the nut) and cinched it back up tight. It's as quiet as when I first bought it again. It's worth what you pay for it--as long as you're willing to spring for $1 worth of plastic washers to go with it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PofThree
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 185 total reviews
1-20 of 185 reviews