Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 160 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

160 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

160 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
120
4 stars
33
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-20 of 127 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 127 total reviews
1-20 of 127 reviews
A good travel companion
11/15/2007

Customer review by tikonc

5.0 stars 11/15/2007 by tikonc
by tikonc

I have a professional SLR camera which is large, heavy, and hard to carry through airports nowadays, since the security has become unbearable and some countries only let you carry-on one bag. I can carry the A720IS in my pocket or in the carry-on bag. It takes great pictures at a very high 8MP resolution. It has very good and useful settings and zoom. I have taken hundreds of pictures already, and still have not changed the batteries. I have had problems seeing the LCD in sunny or outside pictures, so I have purchased a pop-up shade that will protect the LCD and help with the viewing problem. Overall. I am very happy with the camera... it is small, powerful, easy to use, and stingy with power.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tikonc
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Cannon A720
11/30/2007

Customer review by TinyCV66

5.0 stars 11/30/2007 by TinyCV66
by TinyCV66

I had a Cannon A70 that I've been using for the past 4yrs. It's literally traveled around the US on my motorcycle with me and was very dependable. Due to ware and tear it was time to pickup another point-and-shoot type camera and a friend had expressed that he really liked the Nikon. I bought the Nikon that my friend told me about and was very disappointed to say the least. I ended up ordering this Cannon A720 from Wal-Mart about 2 weeks later. What a breath of fresh air. The pictures it takes are superior to those from my A70 and the Nikon didn't even compare. I really like the image stabilizer when taking pictures up close and my wife likes the stabilizer for taking pictures while she rides on the back of the motorcycle. For everything this camera offers, you can't beat the price. I would recommend this as a point-and-shoot to anybody in the market.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TinyCV66
Waterford, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Glad it was lost
2/20/2008

Customer review by DiscoveryPlace0805

5.0 stars 2/20/2008 by DiscoveryPlace0805
by DiscoveryPlace0805

I bought this camera for my job, in replace of one that was "lost". The previous camera was a downgraded model of this one. I am so glad the other camera was lost, this camera is great. I took a picture of the moon and you could see the craters in the moon. It's a worthy buy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DiscoveryPlace0805
So. Toms River, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
a great camera
11/14/2007

Customer review by photoman

5.0 stars 11/14/2007 by photoman
by photoman

this camera takes awesome pictures especially at a low iso. Its a little bulkier than some pocket cameras defiatley worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
photoman
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Awesome
3/27/2008

Customer review by Aguy

5.0 stars 3/27/2008 by Aguy
by Aguy

This is an awesome camera! I'm really into camera's and digital photography so before I purchased this camera I did a lot of research. What I really like about the camera: It's really easy to use. It takes only 2AA batteries which was a must for me (hiking in the outdoors for days, there are no computers or outlets to charge, definitely wanted batteries). Doesn't eat batteries. You can take excellent pictures on auto(my sister's pic), but certain settings for aperture and shutter speed create cool blurred backgrounds for a professional look (like the picture of my dog). The zoom is awesome and likewise the face detection and auto stabalization really help create the perfect picture. The video quality is also really amazing. By far the best quality of this camera is that when you are focusing on a subject(shutter button half way down), the camera automatically brings it into better, clearer focus which my HP photosmart did not do. What could be improved: Before I bought the camera online, I thought it looked pretty blah, you know just silver nothing cool about it. But when I received it, it's actually very sleek. A very tiny bit bulky, but for all the pros its perfect for me. Overall love it. The pictures speak for themselves. Definitely happy with both Canon and Walmart. Great camera for everyone and great price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Aguy
Weed, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A Pretty Good Camera
2/15/2008

Customer review by mgoethe

4.0 stars 2/15/2008 by mgoethe
by mgoethe

The Canon PowerShot A720 IS is a pretty good camera I suppose. The face detection feature is pretty handy, and so is the image stabilization. Takes excellent videos also. It was a little tricky at first to learn how to operate it, but the manual is very handy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mgoethe
Green Bay, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
FAB CAMERA
1/24/2008

Customer review by CameraFan

5.0 stars 1/24/2008 by CameraFan
by CameraFan

This is an amazing camera for the price. If you're an amateur like me, you'll impress and amaze with this little gadget....the pictures speak volumes.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CameraFan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
vacation product
4/6/2008

Customer review by shop1945

5.0 stars 4/6/2008 by shop1945
by shop1945

My son researched this camera for me after my husband lost our digital camera on a ski trip this last winter. I wanted a simple yet good camera to use for vacation and this will do just fine. It can do a lot more then our lost camera for the same $'s as we paid two years ago. I am very satisfied with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shop1945
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
I love this camera!
2/8/2008

Customer review by Poseformomma

5.0 stars 2/8/2008 by Poseformomma
by Poseformomma

I recently decided I needed a new camera since my last one was biting the dust. I narrowed it down to this one and a Kodak. A friend of mine had the Kodak and the quality of the pictures were poor and grainy so I looked at some reviews and purchased the Canon A720 IS. I absolutely love it and all of its features. It takes wonderful pictures and is VERY user friendly. I recommend this camera to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Poseformomma
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best Camera Ever
3/3/2008

Customer review by Concertfeak93

5.0 stars 3/3/2008 by Concertfeak93
by Concertfeak93

I had been looking to get a new camera..looking at all the different types and trying to find the best one..for both quality and price...i had a kodak 5 mega pixel with 3 optical zoom for a few years now and i decided i needed a new one..i chose this canon camera..i have not have it for too long but i am EXTREMELY HAPPY so far..i tested out the camera to see how the quality of taking pictures in low dim areas and it is EXCELENT..it looks like it wolud in the day light or even better..it is a great camera to have if u are looking to take exce;;ent quality pictures plus the 6 optical zoom makes it one very unique camera for the price and qualitY!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Concertfeak93
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Pretty nice camera!
2/13/2008

Customer review by Vander

4.0 stars 2/13/2008 by Vander
by Vander

This is my third digital camera - all Canons. Thus far I have been happy with the quality of the pictures. Many of the reviews mentioned that the display wasn't very good, but I have no complaints. They cut corners from the other models I have (A80 and A620) but nothing important. Of course I have a 2 GB card and rechargable batteries. I was concerned that it uses two AA batteries instead of four, but that has not been a problem.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vander
Beaver Falls, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
POOR PERFORMANCE
4/1/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 4/1/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I BOUGHT THIS CAMERA TO REPLACE A KODAK DX6490 THAT WAS STOLEN FROM MY CAR. THE KODAK WAS ONLY A 4MP BUT IT OUT PERFORMS THE CANON HANDS DOWN.THE CANON TAKES 10 SECONDS BETWEEN EACH PICTURE.WITH MY KODAK THERE WAS ONLY A 2 SECOND DELAY. THERE IS NO DIFFERENCE IN PICTURE QUALITY.I WOULD NOT BUY THIS CAMERA AGAIN.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
ALABAMA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice camera but has it's faults
3/24/2008

Customer review by kayesto1

3.0 stars 3/24/2008 by kayesto1
by kayesto1

I bought this camera after my beloved Canon A95 quit working (after only 3 years!) and I must say it's a love-hate relationship. All in all it's a nice camera and for the price it is probably a great find. However I am VERY upset with the fact that Canon started to make these cameras use only 2 AA batteries because 2 AA batteries make the flash extremely SLOW... I can't believe the number of shots I've missed waiting for the camera to recharge just to take a photo. You literally cannot use the camera after taking a flash picture, which completely eliminates taking action shots in lower light or indoors. I'm also upset that you cannot change the ISO on the preset settings. The kids/pets setting on the A95 was great - even though this camera is supposed to be better I don't like the fact that you can't ISO - 200 or 250 doesn't work well when shooting kids most of the time, especially indoors! And I wish Canon would have left the action setting on this camera like the A95 but I can understand that with only two batteries this setting would have done no good. One last thing is that the pictures with the A720 IS are fairly noisy and sometimes makes me feel like I'm taking a picture with my daughters toy camera. Image Stabilization helps but in certain situations I think it also hinders, making the picture noisier when trying to compensate for shake. On a good note this camera takes great outdoor pictures and has pretty nice video settings. The snow setting has been fun to use this winter with all the snow we've had. But honestly, I can't wait to have more money saved up again to replace this camera. Hopefully by then Canon has improved their cameras in this price range or starts making them as good as they "used" to be.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kayesto1
iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Great Camera
3/28/2008

Customer review by Corniche4me

5.0 stars 3/28/2008 by Corniche4me
by Corniche4me

This camera is an excellent choice for someone that wants to be able to just pick it up and snap some photos. It also has a number of advanced features that make it perfect for someone that is a little more "into" photography. For the price it can't be beat as an entry level camera.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Corniche4me
Convent Station, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Easy to Use
6/10/2008

Customer review by Paulene

5.0 stars 6/10/2008 by Paulene
by Paulene

I have enjoyed the camera so far. It has taken very clear pictures and I haven't had a single problem with it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Paulene
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
6/9/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/9/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Great camera for the money. Loaded with features that can make you shoot like a pro.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Belton TX.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Cannon PowerShot A720 IS Silver 8MP Digital Camera
4/4/2008

Customer review by Gazooty

5.0 stars 4/4/2008 by Gazooty
by Gazooty

Have enjoyed the camera right out of the box. While pictures are excellent, Auto shoot is excellent, flash is great, and Consumer Reports has this product as "Best Buy" in its price and features range. We love the camera. We replaced a Kodac 3MP digital camera that bit the dust only after 2 years. Not good. So we went with Cannon PowerShot and we are more than pleased with ease of use and features. Recommend a 2 to 4 GB SD memory card because this camera can fill a 250MB fast with 8MP photos if you shoot a lot of photos on vacation. Also SD card is in battery compartment so batteries can fall out when you access the SD card slot - so hold the camera with battery compartment up - not down when opening the compartment.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gazooty
Stillwater, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
This is a very good camera!
8/9/2008

Customer review by TnTWallie

5.0 stars 8/9/2008 by TnTWallie
by TnTWallie

The clearity & quality of the pics you get with this camera is excellent! It's a pity they are not much left as it is no longer in production... Get 2 gB memory card of you are one to record lots of video, if not just get a 1 gB Buy the 2450 mAh Energizer rechargeable batteries (or higher rated), you will be able to take a lot of pics & video without the hassle of replacing the regular batteries.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TnTWallie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Canon Power Shot
1/30/2008

Customer review by Arkie2

5.0 stars 1/30/2008 by Arkie2
by Arkie2

Love this little camera. I haven't figured out all the bells and whistles yet. The first pictures I took were of my grandson's basketball game and the action shots were fabulous. I would recommend this camera to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Arkie2
Hampton Ar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
over the top
6/11/2008

Customer review by countrygirl079

5.0 stars 6/11/2008 by countrygirl079
by countrygirl079

This product has met all my expectations. I love the individual settings for all environments you may find yourself in. I also greatly enjoy the audio video feature. I shopped around for months and never found another 6x optical zoom for any where near this price. I would highly recommend this product to any picture junkie like me.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
countrygirl079
Benton, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 127 total reviews
1-20 of 127 reviews