Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 196 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

196 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

196 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
142
4 stars
43
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-20 of 163 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 163 total reviews
1-20 of 163 reviews
Awesome
3/27/2008

Customer review by Aguy

5.0 stars 3/27/2008 by Aguy
by Aguy

This is an awesome camera! I'm really into camera's and digital photography so before I purchased this camera I did a lot of research. What I really like about the camera: It's really easy to use. It takes only 2AA batteries which was a must for me (hiking in the outdoors for days, there are no computers or outlets to charge, definitely wanted batteries). Doesn't eat batteries. You can take excellent pictures on auto(my sister's pic), but certain settings for aperture and shutter speed create cool blurred backgrounds for a professional look (like the picture of my dog). The zoom is awesome and likewise the face detection and auto stabalization really help create the perfect picture. The video quality is also really amazing. By far the best quality of this camera is that when you are focusing on a subject(shutter button half way down), the camera automatically brings it into better, clearer focus which my HP photosmart did not do. What could be improved: Before I bought the camera online, I thought it looked pretty blah, you know just silver nothing cool about it. But when I received it, it's actually very sleek. A very tiny bit bulky, but for all the pros its perfect for me. Overall love it. The pictures speak for themselves. Definitely happy with both Canon and Walmart. Great camera for everyone and great price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Aguy
Weed, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Camera
2/3/2008

Customer review by Tiffster

4.0 stars 2/3/2008 by Tiffster
by Tiffster

I do like this camera and the pictures turn out nice. I have found the flash to be quite strong on some close ups and sometimes need to shut it off but that causes some blur. I have found it is better to take the picture from a little further away and then crop it in my photo editor as I did with the black and white I posted. I was upgrading from an HP 4 mp camera. The feature that I miss on the HP is that I could just switch my color choice to black and white or sepia without having to put it on manual settings. With this Canon when I want black and white I also have to set the flash and stuff. I may also just work on the color in my photo editor. I do like that I'm able to use rechargeable batteries with this camera. My HP would deplete the batteries in about 5-10 pictures. I've taken over a hundred photos and the batteries are still going strong. All-in-all it's a good camera.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tiffster
Fort Fairfield, Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Value, EZ TO Use
4/17/2008

Customer review by PhotoDad

5.0 stars 4/17/2008 by PhotoDad
by PhotoDad

I bought this camera for my wife to use on our recent Caribbean vacation. She is definitely a "point-and-shoot" kinda gal; and this camera worked well for her in Auto mode. I have a little more experience as a photographer, so I was able to go "old-school" and choose aperture or shutter speed priority based on the situation. Excellent results in either case. I would recommend you purchase the soft case immediately with the camera, since the LCD display would get easily scratched if not protected. I also went for a 2 gig card, capable of holding hundreds of images at the highest resolution. Downloading images to my PC was easy. I use the supplied CD for a coatser, it is filled with bloatware and is out of date straight from the box. Windows Vista recognizes the camera and loads the driver itself; Photo Gallery is all the image editing most folks will need.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PhotoDad
Clemson, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A GREAT PRODUCT!
4/8/2008

Customer review by MissGoodShopper

4.0 stars 4/8/2008 by MissGoodShopper
by MissGoodShopper

This was a GREAT buy and I'm definitely NOT disappointed. I had a Sony previously and it finally gave up on me after 5 years. The one thing I did not like about that camera was that it was blurry at times. Only one out of 10 shots turned out nice. When it was time for a new camera, I knew I had to get one with the image stabilizer. After shopping around for weeks, I tried my luck with the Canon PS A720. I loved the 2.5 inch LCD screen and heard that the Canon brand was the best! I believe it now! And get this, Walmart also had the best price! I got my camera three days after I ordered it online (standard shipping). Good job Walmart! I quickly fell in love with the cable cord. Being able to see yourself on such a big screen (on the tv) is helpful when you're your own photographer. There's a few down sides to this camera. One being that the shutter speed is slow. So if you are a parent and want to capture your kid's special first moments, this is not the camera for you. But it does take great action shots (if you catch it), no blurriness! Another downside to this camera is that it gets blurry when you zoom in. This is not a big deal to me since I can always crop and zoom on photoshop. Lastly, do remember to buy a bigger memory card when purchasing this camera. The one it comes with only holds about 6-10 photos!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MissGoodShopper
wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Awesome buy
4/16/2008

Customer review by JaimeC

4.0 stars 4/16/2008 by JaimeC
by JaimeC

I ordered this camera yesterday from walmart.com and it came today! I was most impressed with the speed of delivery. This is the first digital camera I have ever bought. I LOVE it. It takes great pictures with excellent clarity, and it is very easy to use. It was very inexpensive and I can't believe what a bargain I found. I am a picture person, I have 2 small children and I am sure we can save lots of great memories thanks to walmart and this camera. I HIGHLY recommend this camera!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JaimeC
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good purchase
7/4/2008

Customer review by BusyMomtoTwo

4.0 stars 7/4/2008 by BusyMomtoTwo
by BusyMomtoTwo

I use my camera almost daily. It takes wonderful pictures! The only downfall is that if you want to do anything special with it you need to make sure you carry the book with you because there are so many different aspects of the camera (which I love) and some can only be used with different options. I am very please with this camera and would definately by it again! My pictures are better than with the camera I had before.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BusyMomtoTwo
Addieville, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AWESOME PICTURES!
5/7/2008

Customer review by ScubaKen

5.0 stars 5/7/2008 by ScubaKen
by ScubaKen

Just picked up this camera today. It was recommended by my local camera shop but he could not get one. The picture quality is just awesome! I would say it is much better than a lesser brand name 10MP that my brother has. I take tons of pictures and this fit the bill, it even has an avalable scuba enclosure for underwater photography! Let's hope the batteries hold up!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ScubaKen
Janesville WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Camera
4/9/2008

Customer review by nhart

5.0 stars 4/9/2008 by nhart
by nhart

This camera is easy to learn to use. It has a wonderful zoom range. I took a picture of the dream catcher and of the feather on the bottom of it from the same spot. I planned to give the camera to my daughter for her birthday after using it for a special event but may have to buy her another one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nhart
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice cam
4/27/2008

Customer review by Love2shop4myself

5.0 stars 4/27/2008 by Love2shop4myself
by Love2shop4myself

Like it very much and take better picture's than my Kodak Ls443 and didnt cost as much ether

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Love2shop4myself
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
AWSOME
4/13/2008

Customer review by dh22

5.0 stars 4/13/2008 by dh22
by dh22

Great Camera the zoom is great and the pictures are sooo clear!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dh22
Pennsauken, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Gamera for Price Walmart,com has best price
7/27/2008

Customer review by Ronp

5.0 stars 7/27/2008 by Ronp
by Ronp

Takes great pictures.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ronp
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very nice feature-rich camera.
2/5/2008

Customer review by RADEON

5.0 stars 2/5/2008 by RADEON
by RADEON

This is a very nice camera for the money. It is by no means perfect, but is about the best and most flexible point and shoot digital camera I could expect for the price. The Good: The color and white balance are exceptional, and earned above average marks in several professional reviews. The nice thing about it, and much of the reason I picked this model, is the manual modes. They make shooting tough situations, like indoor lit action with no flash, much easier (the shutter priority mode is a lifesaver here). When the shutter button is pressed halfway (even in full automatic mode), it will give you a preview of the picture as it sees it and what parameters it is using (ISO, shutter speed, apeture) so you will know if your settings will work or not, and what could be changed to improve it. It even has flash strength control. The automatic settings do a very good job with most normal situations, as well. The optics also earned above average marks, with very good performance across the zoom range, not to mention it zooms to 6x. The video mode is superb for a still camera. The resolution is just as good as an average camcorder when set to 640x480. The best feature is the Optical Image Stabilization. I have been able to take minimally blurred pictures as slow as 1/15 sec shutter speed without a tripod, which is impossible on a standard camera. It is completely optical based, not like many cameras that do it digitally, which uses a higher iso and degrades the image quality. The Bad: Not the most compact camera in the world, but I don't mind. It's decently sized, just it won't fit into a pocket so easily. The screen resolution bordered on disappointing. It is perfectly usable, just not amazing to look at. While shooting video, you can only digital zoom, and it won't focus on the fly either, which is about the only thing that would prevent it from replacing a real camcorder, but it's still just fine for less involved videoing. The image quality at higher ISO settings, although was better than some (much better than the similarly priced elph model), was not as good as it could be. It takes awesome pictures at ISO80 and even up to ISO200, but at ISO400 it starts to get kind of hairy. ISO800 is still pretty usable (more so than some other models) but grain is definitely noticable. ISO1600 is useless for all but quick snapshots that will be shrunk down. In manual modes, adjusting the flash is kind of hit-or-miss, as the camera has no way of knowing ahead of time what the flash will do for the picture. Like most compact cameras, the flash has very limited range (only about 10-15 ft). It devours batteries, but I guess that should come as no big surprise as digital cameras get more complicated. The specifications said it has a fast frame video mode that will take 640x480 video at 60fps (instead of the normal 30fps) for up to 1 minute, but the one I got has no such feature.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RADEON
Northern Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Beyond my Expectations
3/21/2008

Customer review by LilDickens

5.0 stars 3/21/2008 by LilDickens
by LilDickens

I love this camera! It takes excellent pictures with a multitude of selections . I used this for my website business where I needed pictures of my items for sale. Excellent! My videos are great; it doesnt show my shakiness like other cameras do. This camera does not eat batteries. I always keep my 15 minute battery charger with me, but I haven't had to use it like my old Kodak. Therre is so much to learn on this camera as far as the selections go, and I'ml oving every minute I spend doing it. I bought a Kodak before this one but took it back when the camera did not have a viewer. I noticed that I shook when trying to use the kodak without a viewer. I got this Cannon and NO Problem at all, with or without a viewer. This Cannon has a viewer. I cant say enough. I got this camera on sale on line and it was a fantastic deal! Just spend a few more dollars and get this one. You won't regret it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LilDickens
Greencastle, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Pretty Good Camera
2/15/2008

Customer review by mgoethe

4.0 stars 2/15/2008 by mgoethe
by mgoethe

The Canon PowerShot A720 IS is a pretty good camera I suppose. The face detection feature is pretty handy, and so is the image stabilization. Takes excellent videos also. It was a little tricky at first to learn how to operate it, but the manual is very handy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mgoethe
Green Bay, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Camera Ever
3/3/2008

Customer review by Concertfeak93

5.0 stars 3/3/2008 by Concertfeak93
by Concertfeak93

I had been looking to get a new camera..looking at all the different types and trying to find the best one..for both quality and price...i had a kodak 5 mega pixel with 3 optical zoom for a few years now and i decided i needed a new one..i chose this canon camera..i have not have it for too long but i am EXTREMELY HAPPY so far..i tested out the camera to see how the quality of taking pictures in low dim areas and it is EXCELENT..it looks like it wolud in the day light or even better..it is a great camera to have if u are looking to take exce;;ent quality pictures plus the 6 optical zoom makes it one very unique camera for the price and qualitY!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Concertfeak93
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I love this camera!
2/8/2008

Customer review by Poseformomma

5.0 stars 2/8/2008 by Poseformomma
by Poseformomma

I recently decided I needed a new camera since my last one was biting the dust. I narrowed it down to this one and a Kodak. A friend of mine had the Kodak and the quality of the pictures were poor and grainy so I looked at some reviews and purchased the Canon A720 IS. I absolutely love it and all of its features. It takes wonderful pictures and is VERY user friendly. I recommend this camera to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Poseformomma
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
FAB CAMERA
1/24/2008

Customer review by CameraFan

5.0 stars 1/24/2008 by CameraFan
by CameraFan

This is an amazing camera for the price. If you're an amateur like me, you'll impress and amaze with this little gadget....the pictures speak volumes.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CameraFan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love the camera !
4/20/2008

Customer review by Belle78

5.0 stars 4/20/2008 by Belle78
by Belle78

This camera was an upgrade for my daughter from the A560 that she had. Controls are basically the same but many more features. Love the face detection. Color is good. We haven't used it long but haven't found anything we disliked yet on the pictures. Don't care for the memory card being in the battery compartment but we bought a 2G card so shouldn't have to take it out often. Regular batteries were going quick so now have rechargeable batteries. They work great in my S3 IS so feel they will here too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Belle78
KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good camera
6/30/2008

Customer review by arkievol

5.0 stars 6/30/2008 by arkievol
by arkievol

The range of options from full auto to full manual, including shutter and aperture priorities, make this a camera for nearly any situation, and the user can get as "involved" as he/she desires. Easy to transfer photos to PC. Overall ease of use. A lot of camera for a great price. Get a memory card and some rechargable batteries to complete the package.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
arkievol
AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A720 is
4/19/2008

Customer review by Dougohio2

5.0 stars 4/19/2008 by Dougohio2
by Dougohio2

Love this Camera ! Have had other Canon cameras so This one was not a disappointment. The thing I have found is I don't have to carry may cam corder along. It dos good video . Make your own DVD's just drag them into windows DVD maker if you have Vista .

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dougohio2
Toledo,Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 163 total reviews
1-20 of 163 reviews