Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 75 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

75 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

75 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
33
4 stars
19
3 stars
10
2 stars
3
1 stars
10
1-20 of 67 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews
Great Heat
10/26/2007

Customer review by GmanIV

5.0 stars 10/26/2007 by GmanIV
by GmanIV
Top 1000 contributor

I use this heater for my large "play room" I have. Since my central air/heat drop down, I had to convert to room heaters. This unit puts out as much heat as my small kerosene heater, which really surprises me. I like that this is a OIL Filled unit, dont buy them cheap ones that use water, buddy of mine has one, not as good. Great heater for a mid sized room and will certainly heat the heck out of a small bedroom. Unit is completely quiet and has a temp you can adjust to keep the room at a constant temperature.

Was this review helpful? (88) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GmanIV
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Great heating alternative
11/17/2007

Customer review by 5dudlbugs

4.0 stars 11/17/2007 by 5dudlbugs
by 5dudlbugs

I bought 2 of these 2 years ago to use in my daughter's room and a play room. They heat the entire room evenly and safely. The unit does get a bit hot, but not hot enough to cause a burn. This will be the third winter that I am using these. One is working just like it did when I bought it. Last winter the second one had a "button malfunction". One of the switches (600watt) just wouldn't move. This year the other switch (900watt) is now stuck. I am still going to buy another of the same product because I think that overall this is a great product for a great price.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
5dudlbugs
Mocksville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
very good product
11/19/2009

Customer review by CountryToCountry

5.0 stars 11/19/2009 by CountryToCountry
by CountryToCountry

I bought this heater cause my power bill is so high. I have used it for a month and i must say it really does the job. I plan on putting one in all the cold places in my apartment. Would recomend this product to everyone. This heater was the best buy i have ever done, and it is a very good investment.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CountryToCountry
Salem,Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good for Large Enclosed Rooms
1/4/2010

Customer review by 4BoysInTheSun

5.0 stars 1/4/2010 by 4BoysInTheSun
by 4BoysInTheSun

I have never used a radiator-type heater before. I have tested the ceramic and air-blown heaters before --- have about 4 of those in the past. This was my first --- was very skeptical as this has no mechanism for creating its own air flow other than relying on the natural convection movement of hot air. I used it in our masters bedroom --- about 17 x 25, with some drafts. At the highest setting, it added 5 degrees in about an hour or two. I did use the central heater but kept this at 62 degrees. It was 22 degrees outside. Overnite - it made the room too toasty ... so I recommend quickly resetting from 1500 watts to 750 watts in about 1-2 hours - as soon as the ideal ambient temp has been reached. I tried using this in our open kitchen/family room/dining room/foyer - partially separated by walls. This was about 30 x 30. I situated it right by the bay window in the kitchen. It barely made a difference.... roughly equivalent to our gas fireplace which is rated at 25,000 BTU. So my suggestion and recommendation is - use it in an enclosed space (mine was 17 x 25 ft).

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
4BoysInTheSun
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Product
12/23/2009

Customer review by WalmartCustomer37

3.0 stars 12/23/2009 by WalmartCustomer37
by WalmartCustomer37

I placed this heater in my bedroom and it makes it very nice and comfortable. The heat is more a warm by fire sort of heat compared to burn your face or scorch lungs kind of heat. I tried putting this in my living room, about 280 to 300 square feet with attached kitchen. Did absolutely NOTHING for that room, was like it wasn't there with setting on it's highest. Put into my bedroom instead, somewhere around 200 sq. ft. with no attached rooms, two windows with plastic wrap on them and it took a good 3 to 4 hours or so to reach 68 to 70 degrees with this heater. Once it reaches the temp you set, to maintain it you have to turn the heat to the middle setting and turn the temp gauge to where it clicks off / on and set it a little higher than this click. Anything less especially on lowest setting and temp in room will decrease. The smell from this heater is nice, it is not unpleasant and I personally like it actually. If you have a larger room, 400 sq ft or more. It will probably take a good 5 hours or so to get it to a comfortable range. If you have a room 600 sq ft or more you need at least two, this one by itself I don't see getting temp of a LARGE room to anything comfortable and maintain it. If you have a room, that is drafty or has connecting rooms that has no door to close to seperate off the room you use this heater in. Forget it, this heater will never do anything. Go get something else, and you will need at least 2 or 3 of whatever other product you choose just to maintain a 5 degree increase. You will need to be able to seperate the room you use this heater in from all others by closing a door, or using a thick or multi-layered quilt or something to cover doors to close off the room. This heater radiates heat and needs to be able to build up the heat in a room. If it can't build up that initial heat it can't heat the room at all. If you want something to warm you right away, forget this heater also. It is not meant for NOW heat it is long term heat that builds up over HOURS and then you maintain that level you choose by reducing the heat level and temperature setting. Anyway that is how I found this product to work. Sitting it in my living room, with draft and connecting kitchen and hallway to bedrooms. FORGET IT, doesn't work at all in that situation. Needs closed door room with ZERO drafts to make this work and maintain any level of heat.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmartCustomer37
Iowa City, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Toasty warm
2/6/2008

Customer review by russell1

5.0 stars 2/6/2008 by russell1
by russell1

We are thrilled with this product. We paid half what we would have been charged anywhere else, if not more; it works really well and warms even our coldest room quickly. I also like the fact that it has so many settings. I would recommend this product to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
russell1
Springfield, Il.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Heater
11/30/2007

Customer review by jensmal

5.0 stars 11/30/2007 by jensmal
by jensmal

I love this heater. We had one years ago and it was great!! So when I moved to my new place and needed a heater I knew to get this one. I tell all my friends that fuss about there light bill because of the their central heat to get one or two of these. They did and their light bill went down!!!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jensmal
Jackson, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does the job!
2/21/2010

Customer review by MrCarl

5.0 stars 2/21/2010 by MrCarl
by MrCarl

Overall build of heater is what should be expected from a Wal-Mart product. The heater was painted a little too light in some areas and undercoat is visible. After a $400 power bill from a cold December, I did some research online on how to save money. I found that using the central heat (heat pump in my case) if ran constantly can use up to $1.50 per hour. I also found out that this product on high setting (1500 Watts) will use 1.5Kw per hour. I looked at my last electric bill and @ 11.9 cents per Kw is only costing 17.8 cents to use this product per hour. Much more economical to heat the room I am in instead of heating the whole house! It does kick out plenty of heat and works great on small to medium rooms with the door shut. Wheels and handle make is very easy to move it to another room with me. Since it is a radiant heat it does take some time to warm a room, but it is an even heat throughout the room. I did try it in a larger room which does not have doors that can be shut and it seemed to just take the chill off the room. Overall very satisfied with my purchase!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrCarl
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very good room heater
1/1/2010

Customer review by HappyGodGirl

4.0 stars 1/1/2010 by HappyGodGirl
by HappyGodGirl

I have this heater in a family room that is an addition to my home. Could not duct the furnace into this room. Approx. 200 sq. ft. There are a lot of windows and the room is built on a cement slab so it stays pretty cold in the winter in Michigan. Have used unvented gas in the past but it stinks and leaves a film on my windows. This heater takes a while to heat the room up but once it is heated up it stays nice. No smell, no mess. It is on rollers that move easy if I want to move it around. Works great. I like it. Can't say it is costly to use. Does not seem to have affected my electric bill much.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyGodGirl
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Toasty!
11/9/2009

Customer review by Jesuslovesmeandyou

4.0 stars 11/9/2009 by Jesuslovesmeandyou
by Jesuslovesmeandyou

Works great, have owned and used product for over 2 months. Makes pinging noises when you turn it on for the first time and the fist time only, overall very silent. Heats my room within an hour, on high, its awesome. I get to have my room be nice and toasty and not have to worry about my roomates throwing a fit about me turning up the central heat.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jesuslovesmeandyou
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Quiet Safe and Warm
12/19/2007

Customer review by Shopper93

5.0 stars 12/19/2007 by Shopper93
by Shopper93

We wanted to lower our heating bills while selectively heating some bedrooms and couldn't be more satisfied. No portable heater is as hot as a roaring fire except propane or kerosene heaters but we didn't want the mess or carbon monoxide risk. Fan heaters work well but could be dangerous if the fan quit. The oil radiator is the safest to leave running while you sleep. And the large surface distributes the heat making it safe to touch. In a bedroom they provide ample heat without making a sound or stirring up air. Ideal for allergy sufferers and anyone who dislikes the draft from fan heaters or household air ducts. And, place your towels nearby for warmed towels! By allowing you to lower your thermostat, pays for itself in 1 month.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shopper93
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Very Disappointed.....
12/11/2007

Customer review by bosoxinny

1.0 stars 12/11/2007 by bosoxinny
by bosoxinny

I bought this heater, today actually, because I had read so many good reviews about it. I brought it home, set it to the highest setting and turned it on. Within 1/2 hour to 45 minutes it was shutting itself off. During the 1/2 that it was on, I stood just about on top of the thing, and could only feel minimal heat radiating from it. I brought that thing back to the store so fast that it was still warm to the touch when the CSR received it over the counter. I then took my refund and went to the heating section, purchased the Pelonis Oscillating Tower Heater, and went home. Much happier with this one. In fact, I'm going back to the store next week to purchase another Pelonis.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bosoxinny
Amsterdam, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works pretty good
2/1/2010

Customer review by shadow8479

5.0 stars 2/1/2010 by shadow8479
by shadow8479

Bought this a couple days ago to help take the chill out of our master bedroom, which is roughly 14X16 (224sq ft). I have an older trailer so needless to say, it does have its share of drafts, I put this in the bedroom and left the door open and within about 2hrs the bedroom was comfortable as was a portion of the hallway leading to the bedroom. I am very happy with this item, and was even happier that it was about $3 cheaper in store than online (the store I purchased from had at least 20 units in stock). Would def recommend this for anyone looking to heater a smaller sized room, just dont try to heat a living room with it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shadow8479
Howell, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not Toasty
2/11/2010

Customer review by rtird2002

3.0 stars 2/11/2010 by rtird2002
by rtird2002

This little heater is just that, a little heater good for a little room, IMHO, not more that 150 SQ FT. My master bedroom is 12x16 and a attached 7x5 bathroom. I purchased a heater to keep this room temperature from dropping over night when I have the furnace set lower at night and the little heater would not do that. I did not expect it to raise the temperature, but I thought it would hold the temperature already established. My bedroom does have two outside walls, but is well insulated (15 Y/O home), it is far from drafty. It just does not rate up to 1500 AMP/5000 Btu standards that should heat a 400 SQ FT area.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rtird2002
Oshkosh, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works great... bad odor
1/20/2010

Customer review by aboutagirl

3.0 stars 1/20/2010 by aboutagirl
by aboutagirl

I love oil filled radiators, I have two and they heat even large rooms nicely. I thought they might run up my electricity bill but they do not at all, nothing like space heaters which ran my bill up $800 last winter! The only thing with this particular unit is that I have noticed a bad smell coming from it ever since I first got it. Other reviewers have mentioned this (on amazon) but it usually goes away after time, mine has not improved. The other heater I have (heat Essentials) does not do this. If you are sensitive to odors you may want to pass on this brand, but I definitely recommend an oil heater.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aboutagirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not enough heat
11/10/2009

Customer review by zmadkitty

2.0 stars 11/10/2009 by zmadkitty
by zmadkitty

I bought this heater to accommodate a small bedroom that I use as an office, approx. 10x12. It took a long time to heat up, and even when it reached max capacity, it put off very little heat. I returned it to the store and purchased a Honeywell HZ-725 Cool Touch All Room Heater that I love! It heats up fast & emits the heat without the use of a fan. The front gets a little warm, but not dangerously so. I now use the Honeywell to heat the Living/Dining Room area, which is more than twice the size of the office room I originally purchased the Pelonis Radiator Heater for.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zmadkitty
Boaz, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
HORRIBLE
12/25/2007

Customer review by lovetoshop0126

1.0 stars 12/25/2007 by lovetoshop0126
by lovetoshop0126

We have been living in this house that to say the least is NOT efficient in heating. Well we ran out of propane and so we went out and got a heater. We got the Lakewood Radiator Heater from walmart. We got it home and it was WONDERFUL! So we went to get a couple more. We went to a different store and all they had were the above heater. Well we got a couple of them thinking they would work great, well it doesn't. You have to put your hand right on top of it to feel any heat, it's horrible! Needless to say they are going back to walmart!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lovetoshop0126
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
no warrenty
12/29/2009

Customer review by billfruehauf

1.0 stars 12/29/2009 by billfruehauf
by billfruehauf

Cheap switch & company won't repiace. One month old.

Was this review helpful? (2) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
billfruehauf
Seattle Wa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Horrible
11/7/2009

Customer review by limsbabe

1.0 stars 11/7/2009 by limsbabe
by limsbabe

I read reviews before I purchase products, no matter what they are. This one did have a pretty good rating overall so decided to try it. What a waste of time and money. The thing immediately blew my fuse. Then once I got it where it would work ok, after 45 minutes, and wasnt warm in the room at all. I decided to touch it, and it was so cool I dont even think it was on. Returned it immediately. I need some thing to work straight from the box. Its a waste of time and money if it doesnt, and unfortunately, this was a waste of both

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
limsbabe
Lacey, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Supplemental Heater
11/8/2009

Customer review by WarmInTheWoods

5.0 stars 11/8/2009 by WarmInTheWoods
by WarmInTheWoods

I tried one of these heaters this past winter. I liked it so much I bought two more for this winter from Walmart online. This is a supplemental heater designed to add heat to places where primary source heat doesn't reach very well like a back bedroom. It got down to 15 degrees outside but this Pelonis heater kept the temperature at 55-60 degrees in my small back bedroom at the middle setting. When you live in a small cottage with only a fireplace for heat, these pelonis radiator heaters make cool rooms comfortable.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WarmInTheWoods
Quinlan, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews