Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 14 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

2.5 stars

14 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

2.5 stars

14 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

36%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
8
1-11 of 11 total reviews
36%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

10/11/2007

Customer review by hangten

1.0 stars 10/11/2007 by hangten
by hangten

I bought this dvd recorder and it stopped recording after using it 4 times and the time display kept loosing time. It overheats all the time. I have took it back 3 times to exchange for another one and all 3 of them arent worth 5 dollars. This is the worst product ever made. DO NOT BUY THIS!!! You are waisting your money and time. Just payand extra 50 bucks and get a name brand that you have heard of. But I do have to say that the dvds that I did get to make was excellent quality.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hangten
Concord NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
My Review on this DVD recorder
10/25/2007

Customer review by Todmeister

1.0 stars 10/25/2007 by Todmeister
by Todmeister

Cons..What they don't tell you in the product description is that it does not have a stereo tv tuner, it's only mono If your looking for a stereo tuner don't buy this recorder plus the tv tuner has a low hum in the recording. When it overheats it shuts down... you have to unpug it and reset your channels and time displays and has only 24 hour time settings not 12 hour settings.. Pros..It does however record in stereo from your vcr or cam corder ect... The recording are good in quality, It Plays DVD CD VCD SVCD MP3s DIVX and has about four audio/Video inputs for your other equipment..Depending what you are looking for this Recorder might or might not be right for you.. Hope my review helps....

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Todmeister
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Here's why I ignored the reviews. BUYER BEWARE!
12/7/2007

Customer review by Xoul

1.0 stars 12/7/2007 by Xoul
by Xoul

Here's why I ignored the reviews. Being a not so great product didn't mean much to me, as I needed a DVD recorder that would simply record shows. I didn't care about bells and whistles. The problem is that even with low expectations it's still very disappointing because it simply does not function correctly. At best a product should function and you should simply get what you pay for. I even ignored the fact that it only takes DVDR plus disk, however it malfunctions exceedingly too often to be of any value. You simply do not have a DVR recorder when you buy this, you have a broken DVR recorder that looks okay near your TV. CONS- *Must use the red, white & yellow cables, coaxial will not work (not so big unless your TV is old). * Shuts off all the time, VERY soon after buying it. It needs to be reset again and again. (not good if it’s under other equipment) * The technical support is kind of clueless like most of the typical bad ones, that are not patient even though to try to understand where you are coming from, nor do they try to become creative in the approach to solve an issue, making your wait time a waste of time and your expectations of it working also a disappointment. * can not do anything with it until you set the clock and BASIC settings. * At times, controls wont respond, including eject. That's as far as I have gotten, I am returning mine today. If this product were free, I might hold on to it and put it in a room that had a TV that I seldom watched, but that's if it were free and my expectations were even lower... That's my review, good luck.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Xoul
Boston, Ma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Don't Buy
12/20/2007

Customer review by Marlene

1.0 stars 12/20/2007 by Marlene
by Marlene

I have had this for about 3 weeks the remote drives me crazy, it has a very slow response time on the third week, all it does now is flicker no picture through TV or DVD, It did record good but the remote will make you crazy. I am returning it tomorrow. Marlene

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Marlene
Dry Ridge KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Happy Camper
12/31/2007

Customer review by Ejack726

5.0 stars 12/31/2007 by Ejack726
by Ejack726

I purchased this item to give it away in a Christmas Grab Bag. There were 21 gifts that I wrapped up and this was one of them. But there were only 17 people there. No one Pick this Gift. So I gave it to myself for christmas. I love this Item. I should have just brought one for myself at this Unheard of Price. This item works just great. I purchase one at Radio Shack last year and It just stop recording. So I am willing to give this great DVD Recorder a Try. So far I have copied 5 Movies and the quality it just perfect. I would recommend this item to anyone who is looking for a Great DVD Recorder with out the fancy Name Brand Price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ejack726
Brooklyn New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
works great at a great price
1/3/2008

Customer review by Belinda42240

4.0 stars 1/3/2008 by Belinda42240
by Belinda42240

The picture is very clear and bright. The programs and remote control is easy to understand. The price was unbeatable.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Belinda42240
Hopkinsville, Ky.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Black Friday Steal
11/24/2007

Customer review by RobbyD

4.0 stars 11/24/2007 by RobbyD
by RobbyD

I picked this unit up at an unbeatable price and have already recorded about 8 hours of video via the AV3 composite input in SP mode. The composite source video, which is being played from and was recorded on HI 8 media on an RCA DSP3 Video Camera, has been reproduced well on the Protron PD-DVR100. I like the feature that stops recording if the source video goes to static or has extremely poor tracking. I read the manual right off the bat and for other than finalizing a DVD +R or DVD +RW, I have to say that so far, I'm very impressed and have found the operation of this unit to be relatively intuitive and reliable. The remote is packed with options but each is titled accordingly, ie DISK EDIT, SETUP, etc. Some other great features I have used are disc titling and auto chapter marking. I have not tried the IEEE 1394 port yet but this was a desired feature that I could not find on many other more expensive major name brand units in the store. I did not buy the unit with the intent of using it as a tuner, so I can't speak to that part of its functionality or the quality of it. Overall, the PD-DVR100 is a great value if you need a do it yourself machine to transfer any composite video source to DVD +R or DVD +RW and it does not require editing.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RobbyD
Scotch Plains, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good until goes bad
12/25/2007

Customer review by JeffS

1.0 stars 12/25/2007 by JeffS
by JeffS

DVD recorder was fine for about 6 months - only used it to record then would unplug when not in use. Recorded 2 shows yesterday, went back about 3 hours later, pushed power button and all went blank - no reaction. The company website no longer exists, therefore no online technical support. You get what you pay for in this case

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JeffS
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Don't Buy This
12/28/2007

Customer review by diocassius

1.0 stars 12/28/2007 by diocassius
by diocassius

Bought this for my mom for x-mas. It didn't work. The door wouldn't even open on the thing. Don't waste your money. I'm taking this back to my local store to exchange it for something else. I just hope being that I bought it online that the local store will accept the exchange.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
diocassius
Mountain Top, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Protron DVD Recorder
12/30/2007

Customer review by Cheryl69

1.0 stars 12/30/2007 by Cheryl69
by Cheryl69

I have yet to be able to set this up to record or play. It is very complicated and am thinking of bringing it back. This is not user friendly at all! I have had 2 different men try and hook this up, but to no avail.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cheryl69
Rockland, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Save your $$
1/19/2008

Customer review by rockerdoll

1.0 stars 1/19/2008 by rockerdoll
by rockerdoll

The plain fact is that this device doesn't work. I guess you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rockerdoll
Would recommend to a friend? No