Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 142 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

142 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

142 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
48
4 stars
51
3 stars
12
2 stars
13
1 stars
18
1-20 of 133 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 133 total reviews
1-20 of 133 reviews
12/11/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/11/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Shopped online for an electric snow thrower and read the comments about this item from Walmart. Decided to order it and have it shipped to store. It came earlier than expected, which was nice because, it snowed twice already. This is an awesome machine. It cleans the snow down to the driveway really nice. Based upon some of the reviews I have read about this item, here are some recommendations: 1. After you assemble the handle to the unit, tilt the front side toward you so that you have access to the blades. I tightened all the screws and nuts on the blades. The factory only tightens the screws and nuts for assembly, so going the extra mile to make sure they are tightened is a good idea. Somew screws and nuts were not that tight. 2. After I tightened all the screws and nuts, I then wiped all the inside area where the blades are and the chute with silicone spray. This creates a slippery surface and will help prevent most of the snow from sticking. 3. Extension cord. I bought a 100 foot 14 guage from Walmart. That was a bit overkill. Should have got a 50 ft and a 25 ft instead. But that's okay. 4. As far as the extensinj cord getting in the way, if you go down the length of the driveway and then back up again, the cord could get in the way. It's a bit of a problem flipping the extension cord side to side. I decided to start at the garage door and work towards the end of the driveway by going side to side. That way the cord will not get in your way. That was sweet. Cord did not get in the way at all. Also, if the wind is blowing, go in the direction of the wind, if you don't, the snow will blow back in your face. I think for the money, this is the best electric snow thrower you can buy, and what Walmart charges for it is a steal. The motor is very powerful and I have no problem with the snow thrower the first snowfall with wet snow about 2 - 3 inches deep. The second snow was more, about 3 - 6 inches and it went through that with no problem. Just need to remember to not force it through deep areas. I would highly recommend this unit to anyone looking for an alternate to the expensive gas throwers. By the way, I checked out the Toro electric snow thrower ata home store and it looks and feels cheap. Snow Joe made a real good electric snow thrower

Was this review helpful? (101) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Northern Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
not to shabby
2/6/2008

Customer review by snowjoe

4.0 stars 2/6/2008 by snowjoe
by snowjoe

This is a nice little snoe blower if you have a small driveway. I did't want to have to mess with gas and oil and pull the rope to start it. With snow joe you just push a button and it starts. I read a lot of reviews before selecting this model. Toro has one too but the parts are plastic snow joe has a very nice metel auger toro is plastic snow joe has more power too. Now all the reviews I read said that snow joe will throw the snow 20 even 30 feet NOT true which I knew it wouldn't not an electric snow blower. It will throw it about 4 to 5 feet but for a small driveway that is far enough. I have a 16 x 55' driveway and it is just fine. It will throw snow upto about 4"deep. It does push kind of hard it doesn't glide like I was hoping it would, but all and all it is much better then shoveling. Now the stuff at the end of your driveway that the snow plow leaves you needs a shovel unless it is just a little bit then snow joe can do it. I would say this little blower is prob. as good as the smallest gas one which will cost about 100 dollars more and the pain of gas and oil and ......So if if have read a lot of reviews like I did this one is honest.

Was this review helpful? (35) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
snowjoe
Elkhart,In.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Snow Joe...Good to go!
2/27/2008

Customer review by SuperJ

4.0 stars 2/27/2008 by SuperJ
by SuperJ

Snow came at the Chicago area this year with an intensity that we haven't seen in years. My back was starting to REALLY feel it, so I thought I'd see about a snowblower. In researching, it looked like there are basically 3 types out there: a small electric hand-held model, the mid-sized electric and the 2-stage gas model. This Snow Joe model is in the middle category, and as such has it's pros and cons (but doesn't everything?). Cons: 1st – Some assembly required. Ok, that’s not a deal breaker, but I know that some like it already assembled. There are 5 screws, 3 cord fasteners and a chute to open up. Follow the included instructions and you’ll be up in 20 minutes easy. 2nd - Let's be realistic...it's an electric snowblower. Don't expect it to throw snow 50 feet (though it does toss it pretty far when you have the chute pointed straight forward and not into the wind). I'll admit that when you turn the chute to the extreme left or right, the snow goes maybe 2-3 feet, but that works for me as my neighbor's driveway is only 3 feet away from my driveway. Pointing it at a 45 degree angle usually threw the snow about 10 feet. 3rd - Wet/compact snow (otherwise referred to as heart-attack snow) is tough to deal with. My first and second use of the Snow Joe was in this stuff. I was able to get through all of it, but not without struggles. I eventually learned that I was trying to force the Snow Joe to move more snow than it could handle and snow got stuck in the chute (it also made a very annoying screech when that happened). Once I slowed the pace down, it did MUCH better. I haven’t tried it with “regular” snow yet, but I can assume that it’ll do better. 4th – The cord gets in your way a lot. I’m learning to throw the cord over my shoulder so it doesn’t get under the blower’s blades. I’m thinking that I might be able to tie it to my jeans somehow, but I’ll have to try that another time. Do, however, tie a knot with the power cord around the unit’s handle before you plug the cord into the unit. You’ll save yourself a lot of frustration of having to plug the cord back in. And while I’m on the power cord subject, I was quite shocked to find out that the unit was only 2 pronged…my cord (12 gauge, 100’, 3 pronged) barely fit into the unit’s plug, but it did with a little, er…persuasion. BTW, the manual recommends a 12 gauge cord for 150’ of cord, 14 gauge for 100’ and 16 gauge for 50’. 5th – The chute has its issues. There are times when blowing snow that it appears that it’s blowing it everywhere. The crank starts out tough to move too…but I saw it suggested somewhere that you should spray it and the inside of the chute with a little WD-40 to loosen it up and lubricate the chute. It does move much more smoothly due to that. Pros: 1st – It moves snow! I mean, that’s what I wanted it to do and it did just that. In fact, it gets all the way to the pavement! I was a bit shocked at how clear it really can clear a path. Once I got a route planned on my driveway (taking into account the wind and where I wanted the snow to eventually go), it was smooth sailing. In fact it may have pushed snow into my neighbor’s driveway, but with the time I saved with this machine, I easily cleared my neighbor’s driveway too as a courtesy. It even moved what the snowplow had left behind 12 hours earlier (though that was NOT as easy as when I was moving freshly fallen snow). 2nd – It is lightweight! Ok, it’s not a feather, but for a machine that throws as much weight around, you’d expect a MUCH heavier machine. I haven’t done so yet, but if need be I’m pretty sure I could put it in my Corolla and hop over to my Mom’s place to plow her drive. 3rd – Do a price search for this little baby and you’ll find that Wal-Mart has, by far, the best price around. Unfortunately, there weren’t any of the Snow Joes within 100 miles, so I had it shipped to the store nearest to me at work. It took about a week and a half to get here. I got to the store and the clerk was disgusted to find that someone had stacked it upside down! She turned it upright and we opened it together to make sure that everything inside was ok. It was, as the unit was VERY securely packed. The thing that almost got to me was that I had to REALLY force that box into the car…just barely able to squeeze it into my ’07 Corolla. Worse case scenario would’ve been to unpack it in the parking lot and put the pieces into the car, but I didn’t have to do that. Conclusions: I like this little guy! I know I’ll save time (now that I know how to use it) and it’ll save me back stress. And since there’s no oil or gas to mess with, it’s virtually maintenance-free! I would definitely recommend the Snow Joe.

Was this review helpful? (33) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SuperJ
Elgin, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Highly recommend it
1/23/2008

Customer review by CampingBuddy123

4.0 stars 1/23/2008 by CampingBuddy123
by CampingBuddy123

I have read lots of reviews and compared them with the only other similar product (Toro 1800, 12 Amp) reviews. There aren't too many electric snow throwers that imitate gas ones. Most reviews were good, except a few negative ones some of which reported defects. I was a bit skeptical because of them, but I had no choice. I am not a gas man :-). My lawn mover is not gas, my weed eater is not gas, so my snow thrower had to be electric. I used it just yesterday on about 2-3 inches wet snow. It performed adequately. This is the first snow thrower I have used, so I don't know how it compares with those giant gas ones, but as far as a snow thrower is concerned, it certainly does the job. It does exactly what it is supposed to do. I was able to clean my three car garage driveway and sidewalks within half an hour easily. It seemed powerful enough on wet snow, and even when I pushed it too fast, it still kept running, although I could hear the change in the motor noise. It throws the snow far enough. If you have reasonable expectations, then this is an excellent product for a typical single family house size driveways and sidewalks. I would highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CampingBuddy123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Look out for Rocks
1/14/2009

Customer review by Pinehurstforme

3.0 stars 1/14/2009 by Pinehurstforme
by Pinehurstforme

Product works great. Actually very powerful for electic motor. Accomplishes what we need. Only problem the hardware case is made of weak material. One rock blow all the way thru the back and it is blowing snow both forward and back ward into your legs. The plastic material did not hold up well after only one use,. we are contacing the vendor to see how to repair...

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pinehurstforme
Denver Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
You get what you pay for.
2/28/2009

Customer review by LakeCushmanCodger

4.0 stars 2/28/2009 by LakeCushmanCodger
by LakeCushmanCodger

I read all reviews before buying. I knew it was inferior to the Toro w/ same features but this one $100 less. I was throwing 8" snow and I only got half way done(45 Mins.) before a drive belt failed. This was my 1st usage. I finished up with a Toro that is half the size of this Snowjoe. I upgraded in size with the Snowjoe but I'm still undecided if I should have spent the Extra $100 and stayed with the Toro line. The Snowjoe was working OK until the belt failed. I got replacements in the mail from the company at my expense. I bought 2 belts for back up. I would recommend using this product in 5" or less snow for care free usage. Walmart Site to Store was a cool way to get my Snowjoe w/o shipping charges.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LakeCushmanCodger
Shelton Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
A very good value
2/28/2009

Customer review by thelover

4.0 stars 2/28/2009 by thelover
by thelover

I found products costing a lot more that did not have as many features and do as well . This is a good product for the price .

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thelover
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
My back LOVES this snow thrower!
2/3/2010

Customer review by SUtahShopper

4.0 stars 2/3/2010 by SUtahShopper
by SUtahShopper

With older age come a few unexpected surprises - like an aching back after shoveling out a very large driveway...sigh. I finally broke down this year and bought this electric snow thrower...much like other folks, my idea of fun does not include messing with gas, oil or spark plugs while standing in the snow, so electric was the way to go for me! I woke up the other day to 8 to 12 inches of snow in the driveway (drifting snow in parts). Oh boy, my boys are off to college now and hubby is off on business trip....looks like a (almost) 50 year old woman with a bad back gets to do it alone..yikes!....dig out the BenGay...sigh. Happily I found out that this has a super easy start and the Snow Joe just chewed through even the deepest snow. I actually found myself looking for more snow to attack with the Snow Joe....this snow thrower made a miserable job almost fun! The Snow Joe easily threw the snow 10 to 20 feet and cleared the snow down to the pavement. The Snow Joe is light enough that I could easily carry it when done back through the snowy yard to the shed to put it away...and no BenGay was needed that night..yippee!! As others have said; - Make sure the nuts and blots are all tight when you receive your Snow Joe. - Use a good quality extension cord and loop it around the bottom of the handle so it can't accidentally come unplugged while you're working. - Stay off gravel and rocks. Plow only on pavement. - Snow Joe works well in deep snow, but don't force it - just be patient and let it work it's way through the drift at it's own pace...the motor sound will let you know if you're forcing it too hard. The only reason Snow Joe did not get 5 stars is, the rear wheels are a little cheesy...plastic. I will be checking around for good quality rubber wheels to replace these with....but for what I paid for the Snow Joe, I can handle one tiny tweek. All in all, I would recommend this snow thrower to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SUtahShopper
Southern Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Does the job
12/20/2009

Customer review by HaHa001

5.0 stars 12/20/2009 by HaHa001
by HaHa001

It does the job; however, you need to know its limitation to use it effectively. Why I bought it? 1. Gas smell bad; not environmental friendly. 2. Gas blowers cost much more. In DC area, we see big snow only once every few years. Do not want to invest big money. 3. Gas blowers are big and heavy. Limitations, 1. It requires 13 amps. My circuit breaker is 15 amps. IT hits the limit if I keep pushing it for too long. I have to turn off my AC on the same circuit to run this blower. 2. For snow higher than 6 inches, push it slowly so that it does not get overheated. I listen to the sound of the motor. If it slows down, I pull it back a bit to let it regain speed. This way I can keep it running for quit a while. It is ok to push it hard against snow for a short time, but do not push it for too long. Overall, it does the job with some trick when dealing with 6 or more inches or snow. I did about 10-12 inches of snow with no problem today (with the trick I did). For 10 inches of snow, you just can not push it all the way for a long drive way. My drive way is about 100 feet long. Hope this information can help your buying decision.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HaHa001
Potomac, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Snow Joe Did The Job
2/7/2010

Customer review by BobNJ2010

4.0 stars 2/7/2010 by BobNJ2010
by BobNJ2010

I bought the unit after the 14" New Jersey snow storm the Saturday before Christmas in Dec 2009. The next big storm came on Jan 6th when we got 16". Snow Joe assembled easily. When put to the test the trick is to avoid overloading the unit in deep snow. It is rated for snow up to 11" deep. So with 16 inches I work horizontally by pushing along the side of higher banks until they fell and then I plowed them away. I have a two car driveway that's about 20' long. The unit did the job well and saved my many hours of back breaking shoveling. I was very pleased. After five decades of snow shoveling, it's nice to have a friend. I would suggest anyone who buys this machine order a couple of extra belts from the company. They are only $8 each and it's worth the piece of mind that you won't be caught with a dead machine in a blizzard if your belt wears out.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BobNJ2010
Jackson, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
12/5/2008

Customer review by pageorge

5.0 stars 12/5/2008 by pageorge
by pageorge

I've only tried it once with a light snow....waiting for more and I know it's coming. It does not throw as far as claimed and if there is a wind, most of the snow will blow back. It's light and easily picked up and carried to the deck or porch if you need to.....a nice feature. It's small enough so it doesn't take up a lot of room in the garage or basement. I would suggest a power cord that stays flexible in the cold. It is difficult to maneuver with a cold stiff cord tied to you. For someone that has a small area to clear,does not anticipate heavy frequent snow and does not want the hassle of a gas powered blower, this is certainly a viable option.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pageorge
Southwest PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Good for the Price
1/28/2009

Customer review by ACKMayhew

4.0 stars 1/28/2009 by ACKMayhew
by ACKMayhew

The only cons that I have about this item are: 1) It is very loud- for being electric I was surprised when I first used it 2) Does NOT do well with slushy snow- it gets packed into the chute and doesn't thow it anywhere Other than those two things, I really like this snow blower.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ACKMayhew
Hill AFB, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Not at all what I expected
12/17/2009

Customer review by tavita

1.0 stars 12/17/2009 by tavita
by tavita

I was not all impressed with this item. We had not had snow enough to shovel up to the point when the item was purchased but the day after I put it together we did. It was a hassle to get it out to the yard, the cord was not cooperating - and I have an electric lawn mower and am used to manuevering the cord. The machine was pushing the 4 inches of snow along the drive and what did go up the shoot came back at me instead of going off to the side and on to the lawn. It didn't even throw that little bit of snow 3 feet to the lawn. It took me less time to grab the shovel and clear the driveway manually. I returned the item the following day.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tavita
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Don't Bother
1/4/2009

Customer review by GardenGirlGinny

1.0 stars 1/4/2009 by GardenGirlGinny
by GardenGirlGinny

I'm a single woman in her mid forties and I live with my mother (in her early seventies) and my sister (in her early forties). I have shoulder problems, my mother is slightly crippled and very arthritic, and my sister is recovering from abdominal surgery. Basically, this means we need a snowblower that doesn't weigh a lot, isn't too difficult to turn and steer, and doesn't require yanking on a cord to start it. We also have a limited budget. Our driveway is roughly 75' long, and it is double wide towards the bottom, which makes it very difficult and time consuming to shovel by hand. We had a small gas/oil powered snowblower (also from WalMart), but after 10 years of north central/western Massachusetts winters, it gave out. We liked the size, which was similar to the Snow Joe, but we are unable to yank the pull cord to start that type any more. These are the reasons we chose the Snow Joe. On the first occasion that we used it, it appeared to work fine. It went through roughly a foot of light snow fairly well, even the end of the driveway where the plows had really piled it up. However, the second time I used it (the afternoon of New Year's Eve), I made about five 8' passes through about six inches of very light, powdery snow, and it began sparking, giving off smoke, and eventually quitting altogether. Needless to say, I was VERY disappointed, and ended up shoveling the whole driveway and walks by hand, with the help of my mother. I cannot recommend this snowblower. Maybe the one I purchased had some unusual defect and other people would not have this problem. I cannot say for sure, as I do not intend to purchase another Snow Joe. The one positive thing I can say about this experience is that WalMart was VERY good about giving me a full refund with no argument or trouble at all. I will put the refund towards a more powerful combustion engine snowblower with an electric start and hope for the best. I recommend others do the same if they have a situation similar to mine.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GardenGirlGinny
Orange, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
sno joe blower
11/15/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/15/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Ez to setup.....plugged it in.....blows like a hurricane...should work gr8 if and when the snow arrives?....nice and light for ez transport and manuervability......will have more comments if it ever snows?....lol

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
nd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
SnowJoe Is a Disappointment
11/15/2009

Customer review by NetteDove

1.0 stars 11/15/2009 by NetteDove
by NetteDove

I had ordered the SnowJoe on the internet, and selected site to store delivery option. Normally, I have used many many years ago, Toro electric snow thrower. However, I had moved several years ago, and had no need for the snow blower, and sold it for $50.00. I should have kept the great machine. I had it for over 8 years. I went back to renting, and felt that I did not need a snow blower. Now that I purchased another home, I was shopping around again for a snow blower. I didnt want to deal with gas machines, been there done that. I researched the pros and cons to SnowJoe, and WalMart had a great price. When I took my SnowJoe home, I was extremely disappointment with the integrity of the of the machine. The plastic parts seem very very cheap. And you know the good old saying...you get what you pay for. So, I returned the product the following day, and purchased a brand New Toro Electric Snow Thrower. I spent more money, but I have always had Toro, and their products and workmanship is great. Walmart was selling snowjoe for $228, and I spent $299 for the Toro. I rather spend more money on a product that I am 100% confident with the quality of the product. I hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NetteDove
Manchester, NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
not helpful
1/2/2009

Customer review by Thoai

1.0 stars 1/2/2009 by Thoai
by Thoai

This not strong . I try to clean my driveway it take long time, even light snow and 6'' snow.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Thoai
manchester NH 03103
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Best Value
1/26/2008

Customer review by MITomboy

5.0 stars 1/26/2008 by MITomboy
by MITomboy

Product was easy to assemble and was priced cheaper than some used brands that were seen on auction site.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MITomboy
Auburn Hills, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Mighty Joe
1/25/2008

Customer review by MEMERE57

5.0 stars 1/25/2008 by MEMERE57
by MEMERE57

Took me a long time to find this product and I love it. It's perfect for sidewalks, walkways, ans decks. It's great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MEMERE57
Berlin, NH 03570
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Winter Wonder
1/28/2008

Customer review by NebraskaJane

5.0 stars 1/28/2008 by NebraskaJane
by NebraskaJane

The Snow Joe was very easy to assmeble and get right to the job , its fast ,clean,and easy to use

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NebraskaJane
Kimball,Ne.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 133 total reviews
1-20 of 133 reviews