Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 369 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

369 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

369 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
173
4 stars
148
3 stars
24
2 stars
11
1 stars
13
1-20 of 329 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 329 total reviews
1-20 of 329 reviews
Great goal for kids and most adults
5/17/2013

Customer review by Bballlover15

4.0 stars 5/17/2013 by Bballlover15
by Bballlover15

I think that this goal is very nice. It did have some confusing instructions at some points in it. It's really good for practicing your free throws and 2 and 3 point shots, I would not recommend doing dunks because its not a brake a way rim. Takes some time to assemble though it took around 2 1/2 to 3 hours for the two of us. I would highly recommend this product to other people looking for a intermediate basketball goal. I would recommend using water instead of sand cause if you use sand you have to buy quite a bit which could cost some more money, but if you just use water from the water hose then it should be up and ready to use in no time. I found that it was the same type of goal as the one at my local Walmart, but this goal was about $40 cheaper online, so I made a good deal on this basketball goal. PLEASE NOTE IF BUYING: make sure you have tools to assemble this goal because the Walmart website is misleading when it says "no tools required", this goal requires many different wrenches.

Was this review helpful? (28) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bballlover15
Leitchfield,KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
poor manufacturing
3/17/2012

Customer review by Reduan2

1.0 stars 3/17/2012 by Reduan2
by Reduan2

Before purchasing this hoop I asked my kid to check the reviews as far as product quality. The negatives were in shipping isssues and a wide spread of feed back on assembly, so we decided to buy, knowing that I am above average in assemblying these kind of things. The instructions are non verbal, all in drawings and very clear, with detail on tools required and parts provided. The booklet is about 45 pages and I can imagine some people being overwhelmed with that. The problem we had was not that assembly is difficult, rather that pieces were not cut properly. On instruction point 1.2 we had to put a screw into a slit that was cut too narrow. This is not difficulty in assembly, it is poor manufacture. So I am packing it up and taking it back for exchange. As nothing but waste of time, gas, and unnecessary work came from this purchase I have to give it the lowest rating possible. If the replacement works, I'll write a second review. I am just glad that the (first) defect showed up on step 1.2 and not on step 5.3 (the last one).

Was this review helpful? (30) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Reduan2
Macedon, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
This is a good hoop for young kids under 16.
7/10/2012

Customer review by littleHoag

3.0 stars 7/10/2012 by littleHoag
by littleHoag

Pro: good price, adjust from 8’ to 10’, the structure holding up the hoop is very sturdy Con: the instructions are just pictures and not written instruction, probably will need two people to put it together, the backboard is just glued and it fell off on the first shot. Conclusion: My son likes it and we are going to have fun with it. This was the cheapest basketball system before taking a just in price to the really nice hoops. Right out of the box I could tell that this was going to be sturdy. I started putting the system together around 10 pm so probably not the best time to take on this project. Could have used an extra hand while putting it together. Got it tighter so my son could shoot some hoops in the morning. The first shot he took the plastic backboard fell off. This backboard comes pre-glued so I think I am just going to make a trip to the hardware store and screw it on.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
littleHoag
monument co
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Assembly sabotaged by bad parts
2/1/2009

Customer review by iwantdashesinmyusername

2.0 stars 2/1/2009 by iwantdashesinmyusername
by iwantdashesinmyusername

This hoop is pretty nice, and seems sturdy and well constructed now that it is assembled. The assembly was a nightmare. Having put together trampolines, furniture and bikes, I found this to be the worst assembly experience I have had. You need a full wrench set - which isn't make clear in the description. The directions have difficult to follow diagrams (tiny) and not enough description. But neither of these are a huge problem. The HUGE problem was that several of the parts were the wrong size. The support bars didn't align at all with the holes in the post and it too 20 minutes banging them out with a hammer to get them to match up. Even with the 'modification' it took a significant amount of effort to get the bolt through the poorly aligned holes. A couple of bolts drawn as actual size in the instructions are not the right size, they're short. So, what seems to be a nice product was tarnished by wrong-sized parts. Sounds like others did not have this problem, so I may have been unlucky. Hope yours comes with the right parts!

Was this review helpful? (15) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iwantdashesinmyusername
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
My Kids Love It!
3/18/2012

Customer review by ChellaMic

5.0 stars 3/18/2012 by ChellaMic
by ChellaMic

This is a great value for the money ($117 at my local store in Plano, TX). As previous reviewers have stated, don't expect a gym quality backboard or one that you can have a dunk contest on, but it is more than adequate for casual play. Not sure why others stated they had difficulty putting it together. It took my husband and I just under an hour. As long as you follow the instructions step by step, you should have no problem. All parts are grouped in separate bags per step. However, you will definitely need two people, especially for the final step of attaching the backboard to the pole. We filled the base with water because we didn't want to buy the ridiculous amount of sand recommended (362 pounds!) With water, it seems very sturdy with just a little wobble with harder shots. We will probably buy a large bag of sand just to lay on top of the base for added stability. Overall it was a great buy for my two boys, ages 8 and 5, and I expect it to last well into their teen years!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChellaMic
Plano, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Basketball hoop but bring lots of tools!
1/7/2015

Customer review by NanaBananaD

4.0 stars 1/7/2015 by NanaBananaD
by NanaBananaD

The end result is this is a great basketball hoop. The grandsons loved it when we were done and we like the adjustable height so as they get older and taller, they can still use it. My only criticism of this item (and want others to know so they are prepared) is the item says no tools required on the Walmart website and you need LOTS of tools to put it together and 2 people is highly recommended. We were a bit unprepared for this after the website said no tools required. We were visiting out of town and had some of the tools but not all of them and propably should have bought some to help out but suffered with substitute tools on some tasks. So my recommendation is to open the directions (follow them exactly too) and get your tools together first (even if you have to buy or borrow some of them. We had no missing parts and we are good at this type of assembly also but it did take hours and the kids got impatient so don't do it when they are watching and waiting if possible!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NanaBananaD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very happy with the product
4/15/2010

Customer review by IwAnTaNiCkNaMe

5.0 stars 4/15/2010 by IwAnTaNiCkNaMe
by IwAnTaNiCkNaMe

After looking for 3 weeks, I bought this for my 9, 7, and 5 year old. It took a while to get it together because the instructions are a bit confusing, but the kids, and adults have had a blast with it. I have found that after today, 04/14/2010, that it is a VERY sturdy product. No one would ever believe this even if they seen it for themselves. The basketball hoop got hit at about 25 mph by a church bus today.(The bus went off the road and part way into my yard. No one got hurt.) I figured it would be very messed up. To my surprise, nothing broke off. The pole is all twisted up, and the hoop is bent, but the backboard did not shatter, and nothing flew off. This was a very good thing seems how 5 kids were standing by the basketball hoop. It will be replaced with one just like it. It will be worth putting another one together. I could not have picked a better item to purchase.

Was this review helpful? (173) (81)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IwAnTaNiCkNaMe
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good hoop, but not for heavy-duty use
1/26/2014

Customer review by EarlofthePlains

4.0 stars 1/26/2014 by EarlofthePlains
by EarlofthePlains

I bought this hoop for my children who are 8 and 6. It is good for kids that age and adults who don't need a heavy-duty hoop; if you are going to play on this hoop all the time I'd recommend getting something more sturdy. Don't even think of trying to dunk on it or you'll knock it over like that insurance commercial where it falls onto a car hood. Putting it together takes time, but was not terribly difficult. It took me about three hours, and only twice did I need a second set of hands. The only time it was a difficult task was putting the rim on the backboard. I would recommend having a good socket wrench and several size-specific wrenches. And make sure you have plenty of sand ready. It will fall over on its own without lots of weight into the base. I filled it with several hundred pounds of sand plus I placed several other large bags of sand on top of the base. All in all a good goal and well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EarlofthePlains
Mulvane, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A good goal for the price.
9/3/2008

Customer review by preachtheWORD

4.0 stars 9/3/2008 by preachtheWORD
by preachtheWORD

I feel like I got a good deal in this basketball goal. It was not very difficult to assemble. I put it together by myself in about 1 1/2 hour. The instructions recommend that two people work together in the assembly. I am sure that would have worked better, but I was alone and I still got it together. One thing I must mention is that you should not expect this goal to measure up to the higher priced goals you might find in a gym. The backboard is smaller, and it does have a little "give" to it. If you are training for the NBA, spend more and get a fancy goal. However, if you are a weekend athlete like me who just wants to shoot some hoops with the kids, this goal is perfect. It is very mobile and not big enough to get in the way. My kids and I have had a lot of fun with it already. A helpful hint is this: The manufacturer recommends that the base be filled with 362 pounds of sand. That may not be easy get, and may be extra expense. As a good alternative, you can fill the base with water from a garden hose. This is what I did and it works fine. The only caution is that unless you live in the tropics where the temperature never dips below freezing, you will have to drain the water before Winter. If you leave the water in it will freeze and crack the base, causing it to leak. All in all, a great bargain!

Was this review helpful? (327) (53)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
preachtheWORD
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Basketball Technical Report
9/9/2010

Customer review by Helpfulgrandparent

5.0 stars 9/9/2010 by Helpfulgrandparent
by Helpfulgrandparent

I purchased the above basketball system No. 1533 as a birthday gift for our grandchildren (ages 13). My grandson and I assembled the system together and found this to be a quality time to spend together. First, the product was well packaged, with the hardware stored in separate bags. The instructions were very explicit every step of the way. In each step the manufacturer stated what specific tools were required, the parts that would be assembled in that operation, the specific hardware and quantity, along with any assembly notes to watch out for. While assembling this product, it was apparent that the parts and hardware were well designed and thought out to give both safety and product quality. This manufacturer is very concerned about customer safety and satisfaction. Our assembly time was approximately 2 1/2 hours. I would highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (37) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Helpfulgrandparent
Farmington, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Basketball Practice
2/1/2009

Customer review by FollowHim

5.0 stars 2/1/2009 by FollowHim
by FollowHim

This is a very good, sturdy product at a good price. My eight year old daughter and me put it together with ease. We filled it with water and some anti-freeze and we use it regularly. It is easy to move around also. I would highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (211) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FollowHim
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
As expected
6/18/2009

Customer review by JustPlainRay

4.0 stars 6/18/2009 by JustPlainRay
by JustPlainRay

Product is a good value and is fine for my 9 yr old. Even the older kids in the neighborhood seem to like it. It's not like one you would see in a gym and you do have to adjust with a broom but that's easy. Excellent product for the price. It does take about 2.5 hrs to put together but I think any goal would take that long. Pictures in the instructions could be better but if you read carefully you can do it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JustPlainRay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice little goal
12/16/2012

Customer review by Bacon271

4.0 stars 12/16/2012 by Bacon271
by Bacon271
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The goal was is very sturdy and the kids love it. We gave it to them a little early for Christmas because we were unsure of what the weather was going to do this year. It was fairly simple to put together. However, there were a few little things that could have been done better when it came to directions. Where you are supposed to put the screws was tricky. Instead of showing a close in of exactly where they go you have to kinda count the holes on the system and then in the picture. Everything went together just fine though. The adjustment device was a tricky one also. I put it the screw in the wrong bracket first and played it for a week thinking that it was a lot lower then it should be. I'm only 5'11" tall and if I stood on my tip toes I could reach up and grab the hoop. I got that fixed and now it is at the proper height. I would for sure recommend this product to anyone. Not to mention that its one of the few things that wal-mart sells that is American made. The only reason it got a 4 instead of a 5 is because the directions are just a bit tricky.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bacon271
Mo'Town, West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Somewhat satisfied
1/3/2012

Customer review by basketballking

3.0 stars 1/3/2012 by basketballking
by basketballking

When I put this together the larger bolts and nuts that had the spacers inbetween were very hard to tighten even with a rachet. Also, the Basketball Rim is crooked, not parallel to the ground, it is actually pointing up on a slight angle.....????? do not understand why, it looks as thought it is defective or bent.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
basketballking
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
bad backboard
4/15/2010

Customer review by baller247365

4.0 stars 4/15/2010 by baller247365
by baller247365

Myself personally enjoyed the product until one day as my brother and heard a crack and the backboard had a huge hole in the gaps for the support of the backboard. As we ignored the problem and just shot around the hole, it shattered on the other side of the backboard. Now if you are a very strong shooter like myself than i would not recommend this product, but if you are a light shooter with a higher arc than i would highly recommend this product. Note that i had this hoop for about 14 months when it broke.

Was this review helpful? (33) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
baller247365
Salt Lake City, Ut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not bad. Not bad at all...
4/6/2009

Customer review by CrustyCurmudgeon

4.0 stars 4/6/2009 by CrustyCurmudgeon
by CrustyCurmudgeon

Waiting for over a week for delivery was excruciating, but it did arrive I set off with my 6 year old to pick it up. The box was JUST big enough that it did not want to fit into my compact SUV. It would have if I laid the back seat down, but as my son was with me, I threw it on top and drove home. While setup for me was not simple, it was not the beastly experience that some reviewers imply here; I put it together by myself in about 60 minutes. The instructions are not perfect, but only because they offer no hints about the method to their madness. About one third of the way through, I began to understand the logic of the instructions. Most of the hardware bags are numbered and they relate to the numbers on the instructions. You also have to look at the pictures closely. I suggest a complete walk-through review of the instructions before you actually start. The quality of backboard is better than I expected. It will certainly withstand my son for a couple of years or more. The adjustment mechanism is rather rough and could be a finger biter if one is not careful. It does the job, however. Contrary to the warnings, I used water, not sand and I consider it to be very safe. All in all, I am happy with this product. Putting it together required thought, patience, and some commonsense. Once together, it is everything a 6-10 year old needs I expect it will last until my 6 year old is 10. For the money, I don't think anyone could go wrong with this purchase. Crusty Curmudgeon

Was this review helpful? (32) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CrustyCurmudgeon
Montgomery Co., PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
JUNK
8/13/2010

Customer review by KCConsumer

1.0 stars 8/13/2010 by KCConsumer
by KCConsumer

I've had this unit for 18 months. The base has had to be replaced twice due to leaking. Other parts on the base have had to be returned as well. Once the unit leaks it then tips and bends the rim. Read the manual and warranty carefully because it is skillfully written to ensure they never have to replace the parts free under warranty. Worst case, they will charge you a shipping fee which is 80% of the price to buy a new one. Terrible service and terrible product.

Was this review helpful? (43) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KCConsumer
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
great product for a great price!!
11/28/2010

Customer review by ALWAYSMILIN3

5.0 stars 11/28/2010 by ALWAYSMILIN3
by ALWAYSMILIN3

Great basketball system for a fraction of the cost. I priced others and this is by far the best priced for what you get. A few recommentations though:Have 3 people assemble this. It says 2 but much easier if you have 3. Also if you put sand in the base, I recommend 2 people for that also. It also says to use a funnel with the sand - dont do it! That takes way to long. Cut the corner of the bag about 1 1/2" and set the corn in the hole ( or close to it)- have both people lift sand bag.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ALWAYSMILIN3
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Good Starter Goal
7/4/2011

Customer review by marillick

4.0 stars 7/4/2011 by marillick
by marillick

This is a good starter goal. My kids and I really enjoy it. We got the 97 cents shipping so it was a good value online - about $40 less than in the store, plus we got a free ball. It was fairly easy to assemble. The directions are well written. The height adjustment works good. We opted to fill the base with sand. This turned out to be the most difficult part of the assembly. The play sand we bought was in sealed plastic bags and the sand was wet. We had to open the bags, spread out the sand on cardboard, and let dry for a couple days before it would flow through a funnel. If you use sand, buy it in vented bags.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
marillick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good value overall, not hard to assemble
3/18/2010

Customer review by pbesong

5.0 stars 3/18/2010 by pbesong
by pbesong

After reading the reviews, I figured this might be a good hoop to get. Although the website showed that there were none available at my local walmart, i decided to check anyway and they had 3 of them, and they were marked $137 instead of the website's $144 price, so that saved a lot of the tax right off the bat. I was pleasantly surprised at how well laid out the instructions are. If you take your time and actually read them (and not just skim as many people do) you should have no trouble assembling it. Also, use a socket set and box-end wrenches and it will go smoother. I took my time and built it myself with no help and it took about 2 hours and 15 minutes. There were a couple of confusing parts, but after re-reading the instructions and in some cases looking ahead a page or 2 I was able to figure out where I went wrong and was easily able to fix it. One was that I had the base struts on upside down (the angled flange goes on the pole and the straight one on the base), and another was that I didn't understand how the part that attaches to the backboard went together at first, including the U-bolt. But reading ahead a few pages made it clear. Another thing was that after I tightened the hoop to the backboard I couldn't line up one of the support strut holes that you're supposed to bend into place and bolt down, so I had to loosen the hoop a bit and start the bolt for that before retightening. Another set of hands might have been helpful, but you can do it by yourself if you need to. The backboard itself is surprisingly light since it's made of a thick transparent plastic. I would imagine it may bounce a bit when hit hard by a basketball, but we'll see. Haven't put the sand in it to use it yet. I'll do that tonight. I'll use sand instead of water, as water would freeze in the winter and burst the plastic base. The rim itself is heavy steel and has the metal loopy things to attach the net welded on. I once had a rim that had plastic ones that were supposed to unsnap if anyone tried to hang on the net, but they would never stay on and just shooting a basket would rip them off, so i was glad to see the metal ones were on this rim. So, if you're looking for a decent basketball hoop to buy just for casual fun, this would be a very good choice. Kudos to the people who wrote the instructions!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pbesong
Central PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
1-20 of 329 total reviews
1-20 of 329 reviews