Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 108 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

108 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

108 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
63
4 stars
31
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 stars
6
1-20 of 95 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 95 total reviews
1-20 of 95 reviews
Beautiful
8/12/2009

Customer review by EmYkins

5.0 stars 8/12/2009 by EmYkins
by EmYkins

This furniture is beautiful; the finish shows darker than in the pictures in the lighting of an apartment, but I love it anyway! I bought the full living room and bedroom sets and I'm so happy with them.. great quality for a Wal-Mart product and they were so simple to put together.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EmYkins
Whitewater, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Junk!!!
9/18/2008

Customer review by hottans

1.0 stars 9/18/2008 by hottans
by hottans

We bought 3 shelves and all of them were broken! The biggest shelf frames have fallen apart. We called customer survice who told us to call a sister company who told us to call Walmart. We ended up returning them and wasting our time.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hottans
Would recommend to a friend? No
wonderful book shelves
5/9/2011

Customer review by Tocco

5.0 stars 5/9/2011 by Tocco
by Tocco

My husband and I bought the bookcases to go with our Canopy TV stand in which we had bought a couple years ago. The book cases are great and have held up very well with having 2 toddlers banging their toys on them. Plus I love having the doors coving the two bottom shelves, b/c our toddlers cannot pull books down then, or climb up it. I love the fact that the back is solid and is not a flimsy piece of cardboard like most affordable bookshelves. Altough their is a seam down the middle of the bookselves to accomdate the solid back...it is not noticable unless you are right looking straight at it, plus if you are planning on filling the shelves with books or something, it is definitely not noticable. We love the product and looks great in our house.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tocco
Fort Hood, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Arrived damaged
9/19/2010

Customer review by TooMuchShoppingAtWalmart

3.0 stars 9/19/2010 by TooMuchShoppingAtWalmart
by TooMuchShoppingAtWalmart

Though this product is a very good price, we are very disappointed to have received it with a dented door. We will follow up with Sauder and hope to have a resolve. Pieces have just been removed, and the dented door was in the middle, so it must have been damaged at the factory...not in shipping...certainly, not here at home.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TooMuchShoppingAtWalmart
Sandwich, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
more like a media cabinet than a bookcase
8/4/2009

Customer review by cocoanutz

4.0 stars 8/4/2009 by cocoanutz
by cocoanutz

I bought this item because it was listed as a bookcase. But once I started unpacking it I could see that it is designed more as a media cabinet. There is a hole in the back and cut outs at the back of all of the shelves for wires and cables. There is a weight limit on the shelves that probably is too low for the the books that would fit. It is a beautiful piece of furniture, though and I didn't have any trouble putting it together by myself. Canopy furniture is well packed, well labled and has good instructions.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cocoanutz
Monterey Country, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Doesn't measure up to the tv stand
2/8/2010

Customer review by MyAirmanMyHero

4.0 stars 2/8/2010 by MyAirmanMyHero
by MyAirmanMyHero

I bought two of these book cases along with the tv stand. They were delivered a week after the tv stand got here and they look like an amateur made them. In multiple places there were chips of wood glued on unevenly to patch damage from manufacturing, the front of one of the shelves was cracked and there were scratches in quite a few places (luckily on the back!). One of the doors on one of the cases doesn't close without a serious slam which I'm sure will wind up breaking sooner than later. I'd have returned them if I wasn't having company and didn't need something halfway presentable to make due. They do look nice for the space I had to put them in and assembly was really easy. The tv stand was definitely better made though.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MyAirmanMyHero
Bolling AFB, DC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/14/2009

Customer review by momto4fantastickids

3.0 stars 8/14/2009 by momto4fantastickids
by momto4fantastickids

Pros - nice "finish" it seems durable, the shelves were deep enough to hold my printer, EXTREMELY Easy to put together. Cons- The bookcase seemed a little flimsy - especially the back, the two pieces wouldn't stay together, the shelves came out too easy - not good for small children who may pull on it. I returned this to the store. I didn't feel it was worth the cost. If it is going to be "looked at" it would be fine but if your going to be pulling things on and off frequently it's just not sturdy enough.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momto4fantastickids
Fort Worth, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product for the money
3/27/2009

Customer review by NicknameAttempt999

5.0 stars 3/27/2009 by NicknameAttempt999
by NicknameAttempt999

Just brought these home and assembled. Took a little less than 30 min. for 1st & only about 15 min. for 2nd since we knew what to do. Beautiful piece of furniture for the money. Compliments my existing furniture. Bought real expensive BR furniture. Bookshelf units from same manuf. were $1200. This stuff just under $500 for 2. Shipped to store to save on shipping. Nice heavy furniture, packed really well. No scratches or dings, everything fit together very well. Only one pilot hole was misaligned w/ pin. Hubby fixed in just a few min. w/ drill. Very sturdy. Lots of nice features...have hole in back of cabinet base for cords and space at rear of shelves for cords, touch up pen if needed, 2 color/finishes of door knobs to choose, wall anchors if needed. All shelves top & bottom adjustable. Nice fit side by side. Would highly recommend for a great piece for a little money. Much nicer than other similar products on market (assemble yourself)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NicknameAttempt999
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice piece
6/9/2009

Customer review by Octobermommy

4.0 stars 6/9/2009 by Octobermommy
by Octobermommy

We bought the bookshelves and the tv stand to make an entertainment center. Overall, the furniture is great quality for the price, easy to put together, and looks great. Also, plenty of storage! The only complaint I have is that the depth of the bookshelves is not the same depth of the tv stand. We wanted to put our electronics up high on the bookshelves to keep little hands from using them as toys but our stereo/dvd system hangs off the ends a couple of inches. It is a Sony with a wireless adapter that has to be plugged in the back so this is the reason why it hangs over, but if you are considering using this as entertainment center furniture, just make sure to measure. If I had thought about it and checked beforehand, I would have known, but we're dealing with it. A small sacrifice to keep the equipment safe. I would give it 5 stars if both the bookshelves and tv stand were the same depth since they do suggest this setup as an option.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Octobermommy
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Assembly easy
8/31/2009

Customer review by burlap

5.0 stars 8/31/2009 by burlap
by burlap

This bookcase is of better quality than most furniture for self assembly. Almost jumped out of the box. This product is verry good quality and I am sure we will enjoy it for a long time

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
burlap
Saint Cloud FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not the best of the Canopy set
8/8/2009

Customer review by tboggs13

4.0 stars 8/8/2009 by tboggs13
by tboggs13

I have previously purchased the media center and the desk which I was very pleased with, especially the media center. Although these are a good value, look good and were easy to assemble, they have a couple of design flaws. I purshased two of them and one of them the back leg splintered when I moved it after assembly. It not visible and doesn't cause structural problems, so I I didn't return it. Basically, the hinge for the back panel was screwed in too close to the outside of the upright. The other problem is the doors don't hang straight and the bottom shelf over the doors tends to pop out of it mounts if you move it or even when opening and closing the doors. This occurs on both of the cabinets. I was impressed that the back panel is wood. When I saw the seam in the pictures, I thought it would be one of those cheap paperboard panels that you tack onto the back of the furniture. Instead, the sides and back are shipped as one piece that fold out accordian style. I was impressed with the design, but not the shoddy assembly that caused the back leg to splinter.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tboggs13
Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Quality not as good as expected
7/29/2009

Customer review by WalmartMMM

3.0 stars 7/29/2009 by WalmartMMM
by WalmartMMM

This product was easy to assemble, seems sturdy but the pieces don't fit as tightly as expected. It looks a little choppy on the corners of the shelves. Also the doors have a large space between them and the door latches are inset too far, causing the center of the doors to close further into the unit than the hinge sides. The wood is VERY nice and the piece looks nice, if you don't look too closely.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmartMMM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good, but not great....
5/5/2008

Customer review by TomballShopper

4.0 stars 5/5/2008 by TomballShopper
by TomballShopper

I recently bought the desk that goes with this and was happier with the desk. The bookcase is good, but lacks the refinement of the desk. I did not notice and "press board" on the desk, but did on the bookcase. Still, for the price (which would be a LOT more for a wood bookcase of this size at a furniture store), it is a nice piece of furniture and looks good with the desk (and end table) in my study.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TomballShopper
Tomball, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Instructions need modification
5/19/2010

Customer review by sevenout

4.0 stars 5/19/2010 by sevenout
by sevenout

Instructions need to be modified. It works better if the right side tabs and the middle tab of the bottom shelf are engaged in the right side slots and middle slot (on the back wall), and then the left side is aligned with the back of the shelf, the left end of the bottom shelf is raised slightly and the left tabs engaged in the left slots. Then it fits beautifully and the other shelves go into place nicely. If the two halves of the back wall of the bookcase are not perfectly straight, you simply cannot assemble it properly.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sevenout
Las Cruces, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice-looking bookshelf
1/30/2009

Customer review by n8k8rj

4.0 stars 1/30/2009 by n8k8rj
by n8k8rj

Bookshelf is easy to assemble for the most part. The instructions were very easy to follow. I was already familiar with the process having purchased the endtables weeks before. They went together very well. The factory-installed hardware could be better screwed to the frame than what it was. (It wasn't square with the wood.) This made it more difficult to attach some of the stationary shelves to the main frame of the bookshelf. Had it all been square and level, the assembling would've taken minutes. Instead it took about 30-40 minutes with some twisting and prying. All in all, I do like the bookshelf and it's durability. It's also set up for electronics which I wasn't aware of when I bought it. There is a cut-out in the back of each shelf making it possible to run cords all the way to the bottom.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
n8k8rj
midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/29/2008

Customer review by SunriseLover

5.0 stars 9/29/2008 by SunriseLover
by SunriseLover

We bought 2, plus the matching desk and file cabinet. They are very attractive and will hold a lot. I especially like the cabinets at the bottom for holding items that I don't want on display. Curious design, with the sides and back being one piece hinged at each corner and down the middle of the back. This makes it very easy to assemble but less easy to move, as you have to avoid stressing the hinged areas. (The hinges are visible at a couple of points along each side at the inside back corner, but they aren't too noticeable, and of course, books would cover them up.) Be careful lifting it out of the box, as it looks like separate pieces, but really there are four layers that need to be lifted together to avoid ripping out the hinges that join them.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SunriseLover
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice Bookcase!
3/9/2010

Customer review by absolutedealfinder

5.0 stars 3/9/2010 by absolutedealfinder
by absolutedealfinder

I was suprised at how this product, like the file cabinet and desk that were purchased with it, was designed for quick assembly, without sacrificing its structural integrity. I was amazed by the quality of the finish of the wood. Needless to say, this bookcase looks much more expensive than it costs. I took an extra step during the assembly process and added some wood glue to the joints of the bookcase, just for peace of mind. This seems to be a great peice of furniture that should last for years to come. Also, a side note on the shipping: I used the site-to-store option and received the shipment prior to the estimated arrival date. All of the packages were intact with no damage to the furniture.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
absolutedealfinder
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Love the new bookshelf!!!
4/28/2009

Customer review by Peacemama

5.0 stars 4/28/2009 by Peacemama
by Peacemama

I love my new bookcase. It looks really nice in my bedroom! I would definitely recommend this product. My husband who is not handy, whatsoever, actually had an easy time putting this together. It was a bit larger in the box than I expected! I did this as a deliver to store option to save on shipping. So, I pick up my new book case and it was really, really long. I have a little toyota corolla and there was no way this was going to fit in the trunk. We (the Wal-Mart stock boys) put it in the back seat of my car. It totally hung out my window by a couple of feet, but I made it home safely--hallelujah! Good buy! My inner child loves it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Peacemama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
a little disappointed
7/12/2010

Customer review by snickysmom

4.0 stars 7/12/2010 by snickysmom
by snickysmom

it popped right of the box and was a breeze to put together. HOWEVER the shelves are not solid wood like we had been led to believe. they were particle board. the look fine BUT there is a line down the middle where the bookcase folds out for assembly. it is not too noticeable once you get books on the shelves. HINT there are levelers on the legs that help to make things line up right. these are barely mentioned but proved to be an important part of the assembly process. my least favorite piece in the line-we have the desk, file cabinet and the tv stand. they all look nice and serve our needs for an affordable price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
snickysmom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
We finally found what we want!
12/6/2010

Customer review by Jxu81

5.0 stars 12/6/2010 by Jxu81
by Jxu81

We had plan to have a library set:2 bookshelves with a tv stand. We couldn't make up our mind either b/c of the price or the quality. But we are happy now we finally found what we want. We got the tv stand free shipping to home arrived early, but the bookshelves charges almost $100 arrived 1 week after the tv stand. The set up was easy, instruction is easy to follow. The bookshelves is tall. To be safe, we nail on the wall to make sure the bookshelves won't fall off, and I believe this is the most difficult part of the set up. The whole set made from real wood. It worth the price compare to some other brand.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jxu81
Boca Raton, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 95 total reviews
1-20 of 95 reviews