Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 56 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

56 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

56 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
44
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-20 of 46 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 46 total reviews
1-20 of 46 reviews
excellent value
12/16/2007

Customer review by tkcj

5.0 stars 12/16/2007 by tkcj
by tkcj

The box doesn't state whether a stand is included. It is.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tkcj
Mineral Wells, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sound ....what sound
1/30/2008

Customer review by STAINER

5.0 stars 1/30/2008 by STAINER
by STAINER

Recently bought this television and am very happy with it. The only real problem is the SOUND. I dont know if the folks at Philips are aware of this but the sound seems to be coming from two tin cans and no amount of tweaking can help it so today i will be buying a surround sound system to correct this problem. 42 inches is more than enough for my living room which is 14x14. Its also a nice piece of furniture with the proper stand.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
STAINER
Destin Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worth the investment
12/27/2007

Customer review by CraftM

5.0 stars 12/27/2007 by CraftM
by CraftM

I have been very impressed with this TV. I have high def cable service and the picture is wonderful. High def service is brodcast in 1080i, and from about two feet away I can see very minor artafacting. From regular viewing distances, it's amazing. For Blue Ray movies I use a Playstation 3 for true 1080P format and the picture is the best I've seen at ANY viewing distace for a TV in this price range. The sound quality is as good as can be expected. With multiple HDMI inputs and component inputs, it cant be beat!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CraftM
North West Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Would purchase again in a heartbeat !
2/1/2008

Customer review by cinfful

5.0 stars 2/1/2008 by cinfful
by cinfful

Love this TV. The picture is great when playing DVD's. TV was OK until we ordered HD from DirecTV, now TV picture is awesome !!!!! Something to consider!!!! if you're buying ANY HDTV. The picture quality isn't that impressive unless you've signed up for HD cable or satelite. We didn't think we would have to, but in the end the HD service made all the difference in the world! Sound is clear and the look of it is elegant. My only complaint, if I had to pick ONE, is the stand is silver while the whole tv scheme is black. But in the end you can't really see the stand the way we positioned the TV. Would HIGHLY recommend this PHILLIPS 42" TV.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cinfful
Ukiah, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love it
2/20/2008

Customer review by Beastny81

5.0 stars 2/20/2008 by Beastny81
by Beastny81

I couldn't be happier! Excellent picture quality for HD Cable, 100% Satisfied with it all! The TV is perfect. Let me assure you, you will not be disappointed. Everything you could ask for in a Hi-Def LCD TV ! I am the envy of my friends and family, as I am now one of the few with true 1080p HDTV.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Beastny81
Kingston, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great tv
2/26/2008

Customer review by newdad1107

5.0 stars 2/26/2008 by newdad1107
by newdad1107

I deliberated on a tv for a long time before settling with this TV and I couldn't be happier. The sound if fine considering the speaker size. But usually if you're willing to throw down 1,300 dollars for a TV whats another 250 for a sound system. These tv's are a little pricey but with gas prices you are sure to spend more evenings at home with the family and this tv is great for entertainment. Definately not an impulse buy but a very solid investment.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
newdad1107
Middleofnowhere, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Buy this TV!!!
2/11/2008

Customer review by JDUNN2985

5.0 stars 2/11/2008 by JDUNN2985
by JDUNN2985

I AM PRETTY KNOWLEDGABLE WHEN IT COMES TO ELECTRONICS. I DID QUITE A BIT OF RESEARCH. IT WAS BETWEEN THE SONY BRAVIA, THE SAMSUNG AND THIS TV. YOU GET THE TOTAL PACKAGE WITH THIS LCD 1080, GREAT LOOK, STURDY SET, SIMPLE TO USE, AND A TOP OF THE LINE BRAND THAT IS A CUT ABOVE WHEN IT COMES TO THEIR TV'S. TAKE MY ADVICE, FOR THE MONEY, YOU CANNOT BEAT IT, HANDS DOWN. GREAT VALUE, GREAT PICTURE, GREAT SOUND!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JDUNN2985
LACONIA, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not so Good
1/24/2008

Customer review by Lakeman

2.0 stars 1/24/2008 by Lakeman
by Lakeman

Problems with the software, I think. The automatic feature for picture sizing did not work. We have another Philips TV that works perfectly but after spending over an hour with Philips on the phone nobody knows what is wrong with it. When a HD signal is transmitted the picture was spectacular. The problem was when HD stations were not transmitting in HD the picture would not resize properly either automatically or manually. A pain in the neck to repackage and take back to the store.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lakeman
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Horrible TV
2/2/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 2/2/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This TV is horrible. Had it 10 months and a fuse blew. It took 3 weeks to get a Philips technician to correct it. Now 4 months later the speakers are gone. It is not under warranty any more. I don't recommend buying one unless you want to buy a TV every year.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
north carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A sorry disappointment
4/15/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 4/15/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I really wanted to like this tv, but the picture could best be described as muddy. I played with all the settings, but couldn't get the picture to be even half as good the 1994 tube tv it was replacing. I took it back and got the Samsung 40" instead. The biggest difference between the two tv's is contrast ratio. 1800:1 vs 15,000:1 really is noticeable.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Ames, IA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love this TV
12/24/2007

Customer review by ErinV

5.0 stars 12/24/2007 by ErinV
by ErinV

We bought this TV after months of reviewing different brands, resolutions, etc. This was by far the best TV we have seen, and the best pricing. It has all the bells and whistles, and really it's the only way to go. Great for a present, but even better for yourself! Only thing I would recommend, is order HD cable, because there is nothing better than watching my boyfriend play his PS3 in 1080P. It's amazing. So the high def cable would make it much better. Great TV, and I wouldn't have done anything different

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ErinV
Nashua, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
SoFar,SoGood
12/22/2007

Customer review by CrabbyOldGuy

5.0 stars 12/22/2007 by CrabbyOldGuy
by CrabbyOldGuy

I picked up & installed the t.v. on 12/2. Set up and installation were relatively easy - it worked on the first try. Picture and sound are above average.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CrabbyOldGuy
Grafton, Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
WOW
1/28/2008

Customer review by alfafoto

5.0 stars 1/28/2008 by alfafoto
by alfafoto

This set is great easy to set up and looks great in the room the picture is wonderful and sounds great too it even has external speeker hook ups well worth the price

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alfafoto
new orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No Problems Here
12/26/2007

Customer review by CableEmployee

5.0 stars 12/26/2007 by CableEmployee
by CableEmployee

hook-up was a breeze, no real setup required, First hd tv very impressive picture, using a hdmi cable w/a hd cable recvr, very pleased with the unit. Only complaint is when picked up the unit the original container was quite damaged but no damage to the unit what so ever. Used Site to store shipping.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CableEmployee
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good TV
4/6/2008

Customer review by TraerIowa

5.0 stars 4/6/2008 by TraerIowa
by TraerIowa

Pros: Picture, Remote, a very very good tv. Cons - None. It may not have an AV output - but you can wire your stereo into the rear speakers very easily - and that makes it so you can control the sound volume thru the stereo and mute - thru the tv. otherwise - all the others are a "fixed" control. Sounds confusing i know - but nice tv.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TraerIowa
Traer, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great product
4/4/2008

Customer review by walmartgroupie4real

5.0 stars 4/4/2008 by walmartgroupie4real
by walmartgroupie4real

i bought this t.v. back in march and my 14 year old can't get enough of it in have to turn it off to get him away from it to do chores anyway it's a very great set i research all set before getting this one the sound is great and picture is good i will soon pair it with a surround sound system to get the maximum theatre set up i would highly recommend that buyers take your time and check the background on all sets this one right here is my choice and i am completely happy about my buy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
walmartgroupie4real
Sacramento,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Nice T.V.
2/9/2008

Customer review by WildFan4Ever

5.0 stars 2/9/2008 by WildFan4Ever
by WildFan4Ever

I was deciding between the 47-42 and decided the 42 cause I would see a trail effect with the bigger Lcd's and that bothered me. Philips has the best picture i saw at walmart. The 42 is plenty big and 5 more inches isnt a big deal. The sound is not stellar but it isnt bad either. Make sure if you buy this t.v. that you mount the speakers before you mount the tv on the stand. Its pretty easy to assemble. This tv has all the plugins and settings you will ever need. Make sure you get the extended warranty for like 80 bucks for 2 years after your original one. Thanks wal mart!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WildFan4Ever
St Charles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Now A Philips Fan!!!
1/2/2008

Customer review by jakey2s

5.0 stars 1/2/2008 by jakey2s
by jakey2s

I researched my purchase for 2 months before I purchased this tv and talked to friends with Plasmas and LCD'S and everyone has brands they prefer. Mine is now Philips!!! The price was middle of the road-not as much as a Panasonic, not as cheap as a Vizio. The quality is great, the picture is outstanding with my cable HD box, the remote is simple and easy to use, there was simple, detailed unpacking and set up instructions. The sound isn't bad or great, but I purchased a small Philips surround sound system that helps alot. A good television and I think you'll be very pleased with Philips.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jakey2s
China,MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome!!
2/14/2008

Customer review by Silverwitch

5.0 stars 2/14/2008 by Silverwitch
by Silverwitch

100% Satisfied with it all! The TV is perfect ,amazing picture and sound. Had it shipped to the door, shipping was fast, upon delivery they stuck around to make sure that there were no problems or damage.As for the cost including the shipping charges we paid the same amount we would have had we bought it in the store. We couldn't be happier with our purchase and the service we received!!!! We will be ordering more from Walmart.com in the future!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Silverwitch
Alsabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
42" FLAT SCREEN TV
2/16/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/16/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Didn't receive the TV before the "Big Game" on 3 February. But, watching golf tournament the next weekend, I couldn't believe how beautiful Pebble Beach was until I got the new set. AWESOME!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
CLOVIS, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 46 total reviews
1-20 of 46 reviews