Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 56 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

56 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

56 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
44
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-20 of 46 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 46 total reviews
1-20 of 46 reviews
Great TV with a Great Price
3/7/2008

Customer review by NotABadBuy

5.0 stars 3/7/2008 by NotABadBuy
by NotABadBuy

Great TV the sound is not the best but its not like you cant hear it. If you have any kind of surround sound you will be fine. I have read the reviews here before I bought it and some people were saying that the resolution would change for no reason. This is due to the automatic picture adjuster setting, you can change it and set the picture to one resolution so that every channel is wide screen or standard all the time. All in all great TV. Ohh site to store take a little longer then mail if you want your TV asap get it in the mail. But site to store to me is safer

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NotABadBuy
St.Pete FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Buy!
2/17/2008

Customer review by Tegamal1978

5.0 stars 2/17/2008 by Tegamal1978
by Tegamal1978
Walmart associate

After spending the last 8 months researching TVs, this one always came out on top, so I went with it. I couldn't be happier! Excellent picture quality for HD Cable, Up-Scaled DVDs , PS3 & Wii. Sound isn't spectacular, but I run it through my 1000 watt home theater system anyway. I recommend this TV to all my customers looking for 1080p & have had several come back into the store, thanking me for my help.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tegamal1978
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
excellent value
12/16/2007

Customer review by tkcj

5.0 stars 12/16/2007 by tkcj
by tkcj

The box doesn't state whether a stand is included. It is.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tkcj
Mineral Wells, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
very nice
3/25/2008

Customer review by electronicsgal

5.0 stars 3/25/2008 by electronicsgal
by electronicsgal

Gotta Say, I picked out this tv not on a impulse buy, I read some of the reviews and went to my local Walmart, they had it on display and it was my pick for sure. I knew their was some complaints about the sound quality which I do have to agree about, could sound better but I have a surround sound system so I wasnt to concerned about that part, believe me, the picture makes up for it and I dont have HD hooked up to it yet. Boy, I cant wait until I get HD if it looks this good without it!! Cant wait until football season!!! I am a woman and I had no problem getting this tv attached to its base and getting all my equipment hooked up, from the playstation 3 to the vcr, dvd and surround sound!! It may take some time to get the color and everything just as you like it but once you do, Its wonderful.. My kids are very satisfied and so am I!! Yes I absolutly recommend this tv to everyone!! Thanks.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
electronicsgal
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Would purchase again in a heartbeat !
2/1/2008

Customer review by cinfful

5.0 stars 2/1/2008 by cinfful
by cinfful

Love this TV. The picture is great when playing DVD's. TV was OK until we ordered HD from DirecTV, now TV picture is awesome !!!!! Something to consider!!!! if you're buying ANY HDTV. The picture quality isn't that impressive unless you've signed up for HD cable or satelite. We didn't think we would have to, but in the end the HD service made all the difference in the world! Sound is clear and the look of it is elegant. My only complaint, if I had to pick ONE, is the stand is silver while the whole tv scheme is black. But in the end you can't really see the stand the way we positioned the TV. Would HIGHLY recommend this PHILLIPS 42" TV.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cinfful
Ukiah, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worth the investment
12/27/2007

Customer review by CraftM

5.0 stars 12/27/2007 by CraftM
by CraftM

I have been very impressed with this TV. I have high def cable service and the picture is wonderful. High def service is brodcast in 1080i, and from about two feet away I can see very minor artafacting. From regular viewing distances, it's amazing. For Blue Ray movies I use a Playstation 3 for true 1080P format and the picture is the best I've seen at ANY viewing distace for a TV in this price range. The sound quality is as good as can be expected. With multiple HDMI inputs and component inputs, it cant be beat!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CraftM
North West Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great tv
2/26/2008

Customer review by newdad1107

5.0 stars 2/26/2008 by newdad1107
by newdad1107

I deliberated on a tv for a long time before settling with this TV and I couldn't be happier. The sound if fine considering the speaker size. But usually if you're willing to throw down 1,300 dollars for a TV whats another 250 for a sound system. These tv's are a little pricey but with gas prices you are sure to spend more evenings at home with the family and this tv is great for entertainment. Definately not an impulse buy but a very solid investment.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
newdad1107
Middleofnowhere, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sound ....what sound
1/30/2008

Customer review by STAINER

5.0 stars 1/30/2008 by STAINER
by STAINER

Recently bought this television and am very happy with it. The only real problem is the SOUND. I dont know if the folks at Philips are aware of this but the sound seems to be coming from two tin cans and no amount of tweaking can help it so today i will be buying a surround sound system to correct this problem. 42 inches is more than enough for my living room which is 14x14. Its also a nice piece of furniture with the proper stand.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
STAINER
Destin Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love it
2/20/2008

Customer review by Beastny81

5.0 stars 2/20/2008 by Beastny81
by Beastny81

I couldn't be happier! Excellent picture quality for HD Cable, 100% Satisfied with it all! The TV is perfect. Let me assure you, you will not be disappointed. Everything you could ask for in a Hi-Def LCD TV ! I am the envy of my friends and family, as I am now one of the few with true 1080p HDTV.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beastny81
Kingston, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great gameing TV
12/16/2007

Customer review by NevaStopGamer

5.0 stars 12/16/2007 by NevaStopGamer
by NevaStopGamer
Walmart associate

I purchased this TV for use with my xbox 360 and PC. It works wonders on games such as gears of war, halo 3, and rockband. when you are playing a music game such as rockband, it is best you set the lag to 8ms. this is about avg. with all lcd tvs. I also use it as my monitor for my PC, and i am using it right now to type this review. the tv dosent accept high resolution from vga (i.e. 1080p/i) but that dosent bother me as then everything would be far to small to read from the the sofa. for genral tv watching i dont have HD programing yet, however i am using direcTV. the picture is okay, but the sound quallity is not the greatist. I highly recomend using a seprate 5.1 sound system.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NevaStopGamer
Rapid City, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Superior Picture!!!
5/2/2008

Customer review by Italiano

5.0 stars 5/2/2008 by Italiano
by Italiano

This TV is spectacular! The screen is HUGE! THe digital tuner functions so flawlessly I can see the pores on Conan O'Brien! All in all this TV is well worth the price! There's only one downside and that is the sound quality of the speaker that comes with it. It is very digial sounding and even after playing with the equalizer it still sounds the same. However, I am wating on the 1000W Philips surround sound system to accompany the TV, so don't plan on relying on the stock speaker. The TV itself is very sleek looking and will make a nice addition to any room. I've also hooked up my Wii to it and gameplay picture is great too!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Italiano
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Now A Philips Fan!!!
1/2/2008

Customer review by jakey2s

5.0 stars 1/2/2008 by jakey2s
by jakey2s

I researched my purchase for 2 months before I purchased this tv and talked to friends with Plasmas and LCD'S and everyone has brands they prefer. Mine is now Philips!!! The price was middle of the road-not as much as a Panasonic, not as cheap as a Vizio. The quality is great, the picture is outstanding with my cable HD box, the remote is simple and easy to use, there was simple, detailed unpacking and set up instructions. The sound isn't bad or great, but I purchased a small Philips surround sound system that helps alot. A good television and I think you'll be very pleased with Philips.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jakey2s
China,MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Nice T.V.
2/9/2008

Customer review by WildFan4Ever

5.0 stars 2/9/2008 by WildFan4Ever
by WildFan4Ever

I was deciding between the 47-42 and decided the 42 cause I would see a trail effect with the bigger Lcd's and that bothered me. Philips has the best picture i saw at walmart. The 42 is plenty big and 5 more inches isnt a big deal. The sound is not stellar but it isnt bad either. Make sure if you buy this t.v. that you mount the speakers before you mount the tv on the stand. Its pretty easy to assemble. This tv has all the plugins and settings you will ever need. Make sure you get the extended warranty for like 80 bucks for 2 years after your original one. Thanks wal mart!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WildFan4Ever
St Charles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Buy It !
1/21/2008

Customer review by RegularDude

5.0 stars 1/21/2008 by RegularDude
by RegularDude

Like you, I wondered if this was the right product for the money. Let me assure you, you will not be disappointed. Everything you could ask for in a Hi-Def LCD TV ! I am the envy of my friends and neighbors, as I am now one of the few with true 1080p HDTV. If this is your first HDTV, as it was mine, you will be astounded by the picture quality. Prepare to see sports as never before. Video games take on a new life. Even your old DVD's will spring forth with new life. Room size should be considered - 6 feet minimum viewing distance - it's bigger than you think.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RegularDude
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love this TV
12/24/2007

Customer review by ErinV

5.0 stars 12/24/2007 by ErinV
by ErinV

We bought this TV after months of reviewing different brands, resolutions, etc. This was by far the best TV we have seen, and the best pricing. It has all the bells and whistles, and really it's the only way to go. Great for a present, but even better for yourself! Only thing I would recommend, is order HD cable, because there is nothing better than watching my boyfriend play his PS3 in 1080P. It's amazing. So the high def cable would make it much better. Great TV, and I wouldn't have done anything different

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ErinV
Nashua, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better than expected!
3/25/2008

Customer review by Hazman

5.0 stars 3/25/2008 by Hazman
by Hazman

I was really surprised that this LCD TV was as nice as it was. One thing I liked especially is the unexpected HD stations I rec'ed. I have cable and when I hooked up this tv is unscrambled 58 HD channels. 48 were radio but the other 10 were HD channels that were a total surprise. The clarity and color is so much better once I got this home. Sitting on display doesn't do this TV justice. Definitely worh the money. I have only had this for 4 weeks but I already could not go back to my 26 inch.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hazman
South East Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great product
4/4/2008

Customer review by walmartgroupie4real

5.0 stars 4/4/2008 by walmartgroupie4real
by walmartgroupie4real

i bought this t.v. back in march and my 14 year old can't get enough of it in have to turn it off to get him away from it to do chores anyway it's a very great set i research all set before getting this one the sound is great and picture is good i will soon pair it with a surround sound system to get the maximum theatre set up i would highly recommend that buyers take your time and check the background on all sets this one right here is my choice and i am completely happy about my buy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
walmartgroupie4real
Sacramento,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not so Good
1/24/2008

Customer review by Lakeman

2.0 stars 1/24/2008 by Lakeman
by Lakeman

Problems with the software, I think. The automatic feature for picture sizing did not work. We have another Philips TV that works perfectly but after spending over an hour with Philips on the phone nobody knows what is wrong with it. When a HD signal is transmitted the picture was spectacular. The problem was when HD stations were not transmitting in HD the picture would not resize properly either automatically or manually. A pain in the neck to repackage and take back to the store.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lakeman
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Good value
2/6/2008

Customer review by twistedracing44

4.0 stars 2/6/2008 by twistedracing44
by twistedracing44

After reading some lackluster reviews of other LCD TVs in this price range, my wife and I decided to go with the Phillips. All in all, we are very happy with the purchase. Just be aware that with all high def TVs, standard programing actually looks worse than a regular tube type TV, but on HD channels, this TV is awesome. The price was right, it was a breeze to set up with our Harmon Cardon audio system and I'm looking forward to the Daytona 500 more than ever this year.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
twistedracing44
Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome!!
2/14/2008

Customer review by Silverwitch

5.0 stars 2/14/2008 by Silverwitch
by Silverwitch

100% Satisfied with it all! The TV is perfect ,amazing picture and sound. Had it shipped to the door, shipping was fast, upon delivery they stuck around to make sure that there were no problems or damage.As for the cost including the shipping charges we paid the same amount we would have had we bought it in the store. We couldn't be happier with our purchase and the service we received!!!! We will be ordering more from Walmart.com in the future!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Silverwitch
Alsabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 46 total reviews
1-20 of 46 reviews