Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 34 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

34 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

34 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
32
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 20 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Pixar has done it again !
12/9/2010

Customer review by zombikilla

5.0 stars 12/9/2010 by zombikilla
by zombikilla

back in 1995 when toy story came out, pixar changed the way cartoons were made. and people thought that toy story was just a fluke and pixar couldnt do it again, well a bugs life came out and etc.. and pixar still makes some of the best movies to date ! and cars is no different, people may say that it was pixars first fluke but i say no way, i love this movie and on blu ray wow, you hear and feel the 800 horse power engines roar, and see the shiny chromes, neons and colors fly off the screen in another pixar perfect digital transer, 1080p. it has great PQ, and AQ. i love this movie and had a blast watching it ! i dont have kids , and you dont need to be to enjoy this movie,but i grew up watching pixars and will love these movies and watch them many times to come ! just a fun movie and one of my favorite blu ray titles, anything pixar you cant go wrong and if the incredibles and finding nemo will come out on blu ray already ill be happy !! 5/5 stars PQ & AQ !

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zombikilla
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Fun for the whole family
3/16/2010

Customer review by RacerEks

5.0 stars 3/16/2010 by RacerEks
by RacerEks

"Cars" is the story of what happens when a big city race car gets stuck in a small town. Entertaining for children and adults alike. Adults will also have fun spotting the celebrity cameo voices like 'Click & Clack", Darrel Waltrip, Bob Costas, and many more. And gearheads will appreciate that many of the characters in Cars are modelled after real vehicles like Porshe, VW bus, Jeep, GMC wrecker, Hudson, etc... Unfortunately the 'deleted scenes' aren't computer generated or even animated, but instead are in 'storyboard' format (i.e. roughly skeched still pictures) The Car Finder game is kinda fun. The game plays the movie and you try to find specific cars in a scene. The ones you find you can go back and get brief bios of each. Even the ones that were only on screen a few seconds have names and backstories. The picture seems to only be a little better than the DVD version (when the DVD version is upscaled) so if you already own the Cars DVD, you may want to think twice about getting the Blu-ray (or at least wait until the Blu-ray is on sale). If you don't already own it, you have no excuse! :-)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RacerEks
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Cars is awesome in BD!
11/5/2008

Customer review by TenaciousMC

4.0 stars 11/5/2008 by TenaciousMC
by TenaciousMC

This disc is highly recommended if you have a Blu-ray player. The 1080p HD resolution is so detailed that you won't miss a thing with a Full HD 1080p 50" or higher television. Though I wish this was a 2-disc special edition, I understand why it wasn't and I don't think there ever will be one but Pixar might surprise us with some features never-before-seen or heard about. The short films "Mater and the Ghostlight" and "One Man Band" look awesome in HD. The only other disappointments besides this not being a special edition are the very short clip "Cars - Boundin" which is not in HD and really shows you how much difference SD is to HD; and the lack of any trailers for the movie. Otherwise, this is a must-have. I hope to see future BD releases of the other Pixar films released before Cars, like Monsters, Inc. and The Incredibles.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TenaciousMC
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Awesome in Blu-Ray
3/31/2009

Customer review by carflo21

5.0 stars 3/31/2009 by carflo21
by carflo21

This movie is best watched on Blu-ray. The picture just popped out of my 46 inch Samsung 120hz 1080p HDTV. I got the movie under $20.00 on the Walmart website. I don't have kids, but love to use "Car" to show how the technology of Blu-ray on movies on my PS3 compare to regular DVDs.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
carflo21
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
The clarity of Blu-ray is exceptional!
12/21/2009

Customer review by PumkinsMom

5.0 stars 12/21/2009 by PumkinsMom
by PumkinsMom

We already owned Cars on DVD - which is our son's favorite, hands-down! - but since we recently purchased a HDTV and a Blu-ray player, we thought we'd purchase Cars Blu-ray, since it was a great price and so we'd have a second copy. I was amazed when we watched this on Blu-ray. I didn't know that every car on the opening race track scene had bumper stickers and that you could actually read every single sticker and read the car's sponsor names! There was so much quality to this that was never even visible without a Blu-ray player.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PumkinsMom
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Amazing DVD!
11/26/2009

Customer review by kgal

5.0 stars 11/26/2009 by kgal
by kgal

This is the first BluRay DVD we bought for our young son--he LOVES cars. Seeing this for the first time, he was very excited and wanted to see it over and over and over again.. and I didn't mind it at all! The picture quality is great and I very much liked the story and the movie's characters. The price was spot on and I received it very quickly. Highly recommend this!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kgal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
everyone needs cars on bluray
12/28/2010

Customer review by mom112429

5.0 stars 12/28/2010 by mom112429
by mom112429

CARS has become a classic in our home. The CARS bluray does not disappoint. The picture and sound is great! The color is absolutely amazing! Bluray is a must when it comes to this movie! A definite necessity in every collection!!! However, I have seen the product at a lower price elsewhere but had a Walmart gift card so made the purchase at Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mom112429
St Louis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
awesome
1/2/2010

Customer review by marksfan

5.0 stars 1/2/2010 by marksfan
by marksfan

Just got this today,took longer than expected via mail.I have it on regular DVD and really liked it but,The Blu-Ray is totally awesome!Colors and detail are really different.If you liked the DVD,you're gonna love the Blu-Ray version.Do I recommend this-oh yeah.A definite must have!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
marksfan
Elkhart,IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
CARS BluRay
1/7/2009

Customer review by Vickie51

5.0 stars 1/7/2009 by Vickie51
by Vickie51

Have watched this movie hundreds of tims with my Grandchildren. Thye wore it out on my DVR. This is so clear they will watch it another 100 times. These BlueRay Discs are worth the extra money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vickie51
Clinton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Child loves it
12/16/2009

Customer review by Spoiledshopper

5.0 stars 12/16/2009 by Spoiledshopper
by Spoiledshopper

My niece comes by pretty much everyday just to have movie nights with me because she enjoys this movie so much. Would buy her her own copy but the quality time spent together is too much fun!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Spoiledshopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Blu-Radiculous
1/7/2009

Customer review by Luthorinc

5.0 stars 1/7/2009 by Luthorinc
by Luthorinc

picture was a 10, sound a 10 and the price also a 10! In basketball we call that a triple double folks! My kids love it so much I may have to buy another ps3 to play my games again!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Luthorinc
middlesex, nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value Movie
1/31/2010

Customer review by CharlieC

5.0 stars 1/31/2010 by CharlieC
by CharlieC

A great Disney-Pixar movie at an even better price. Usually if a DVD has the "Disney" name on it, it runs for about $25. This Cars Blu ray for $15 deal should not be passed up!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CharlieC
Muncie, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
5/28/2009

Customer review by pinky923

5.0 stars 5/28/2009 by pinky923
by pinky923

Blu-ray alone is amazing, but add animation to that, wow! The colors are vibrant and keep you in awe. If you want to see HD at it's best, I recommend buying this movie!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pinky923
Huntington, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Ka-chow!
2/21/2011

Customer review by WIllyDW

5.0 stars 2/21/2011 by WIllyDW
by WIllyDW

Great movie easy to follow story lots of colorful action good story lesson and good behavior is rewarded

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WIllyDW
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful movie
12/22/2008

Customer review by mommybusy

4.0 stars 12/22/2008 by mommybusy
by mommybusy
Top 50 contributor

The kids enjoyed the movie a lot even my son because he loves cars.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mommybusy
Utica, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Top 50 contributor
Great Movie/Bluray
12/13/2008

Customer review by singledad47138

5.0 stars 12/13/2008 by singledad47138
by singledad47138

My daughter loved this in Bluray...must have for any child

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
singledad47138
hanover,In
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
1/4/2011

Customer review by momisaspender

5.0 stars 1/4/2011 by momisaspender
by momisaspender

We love Disney and Cars is one of our favs. It is great!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momisaspender
Fishers,IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
The Best
8/2/2009

Customer review by stinkbug1

5.0 stars 8/2/2009 by stinkbug1
by stinkbug1

Best blue ray movie i have seen yet...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stinkbug1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT MOVIE
12/31/2009

Customer review by HAPPYME

5.0 stars 12/31/2009 by HAPPYME
by HAPPYME

I RECOMEND THIS MOVIE TO EVERYONE....

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HAPPYME
FLORIDA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
9/19/2008

Customer review by VisionJinx

5.0 stars 9/19/2008 by VisionJinx
by VisionJinx

Bursting on the scene with 'Toy Story' in 1996, Pixar has enjoyed an unparalleled run of unstoppable hit movies. 'A Bug's Life,' 'Monsters, Inc.,' 'Toy Story 2,' 'Finding Nemo,' 'The Incredibles' -- all mega-hits, all critically acclaimed, all bestowed with too many awards to count (among them a bucketload of Oscars). Indeed, with such a strong track record, it would seem that the studio just can't step wrong. With the arrival of its 2006 film 'Cars,' however, comparatively speaking the studio seemed to hit their first speed bump. Make no mistake -- the film was still a blockbuster, but this time around, the critics were a little less fervent in their praise, the box office wasn't quite as good, and simply put, 'Cars' failed to capture the public's imagination the way every Pixar movie had before, leaving some to speculate that perhaps Pixar wasn't so invincible after all. But while 'Cars' may not be a 'Toy Story' or a 'Finding Nemo,' compared to 99 percent of the dreck that passes for animated fare these days, it's fantastic -- a clever, witty, beautifully conceived and executed charmer filled with plenty of heartfelt emotion and genuine excitement. It's also another multi-layered Pixar story that has a timely and important theme. The film itself imagines an alternate reality that's just like ours, only populated by cars, not people. Into this magical world comes hotshot roadster Lightning McQueen (voiced by Owen Wilson), who is living life in the fast lane as a big-time celebrity on the racing circuit. He's rather arrogant, actually -- unscrupulous in the rules of the sport, demoralizing towards his crew, and forever lusting after the almighty dollar of corporate sponsorship. Still, like all great Pixar heroes, Lightning may have his considerable flaws, but he is fundamentally a decent guy (er, automobile)... especially when the pedal gets pushed to the metal. Which is exactly what happens when an unexpected detour leaves Lightning stranded in Radiator Springs, a long-forgotten ghost town hiding along Route 66. Lightning will get himself into plenty of trouble as he tries to find his way out, eventually landing in the impound lot with plenty of damage. Only the town's cast of colorful characters can help him: there's the ornery town doctor and judge, Doc Hudson (Paul Newman); the Ferrari-fixated owners of a local tire shop, Luigi (Tony Shaloub) and Guido (Guido Quaroni); the aging hippie VW bus Fillmore (George Carlin), and of course the inevitable love interest, the rather well-rounded (ahem) Porsche, Sally Carrera (Bonnie Hunt). For the first time, Lightning is forced to slow down and enjoy the ride, not the destination -- but will he leave Radiator Springs a changed car, or still hungry only for the selfish pursuits of fame and fortune? Much criticism has been leveled at 'Cars.' Lightning McQueen isn't likable enough. The characters are too one-note. The story is too preachy. And, most consistently, the film is too long (unusual for an animated film, 'Cars' clocks in at nearly two hours). Fair enough, but none of these things really bothered me. So what if Lightning is a bit of a jerk at the beginning? All the better to make his eventual redemption genuinely moving. Same goes for the more heavy-handed aspects of the story -- yes, the theme of stopping-to-smell-the-roses is not as sublime as other Pixar films, but it's also far less mawkish than even some of Disney's most revered classics. As for the pacing, the film is admittedly overlong, but I still admire Pixar for valuing story above all else -- if it wasn't for the film's leisurely second act in Radiator Springs, Lightning's choices during the climax would have had zero resonance. As it is, the end of the big race may be a foregone conclusion, but we've become so invested in these cars that by the time it's all over, it packs a far great punch than you might expect. Story aside, 'Cars' is unquestionably another visual tour de force from Pixar. The attention to detail, the photo-realistic surfaces, the fanciful touches of visual whimsy -- every frame is simply a joy to behold. Pixar is also expert at etching out memorable characters through small asides, from the way Lightning's tongue droops ever so slightly out of his mouth like a dog, to the wonderfully-rendered intricacies of the various denizens in Radiator Springs. The voice talent is also superb, with Wilson, Hunt, Shaloub and particularly Newman (in what the actor has indicated is likely to be his final film role) creating truly unique, three-dimensional characters. It's this sense of a complete vision that really sets Pixar miles ahead of its competitors, and proves without a doubt that, if made with heart, CGI filmmaking can be anything but cold. Compared to such undisputed classics like 'Toy Story' and 'Finding Nemo,' 'Cars' will likely always be viewed as something of a lesser effort in the Pixar canon. But if only every "lesser" movie was so filled with imagination, passion, heart and sheer humanity. Faults aside, 'Cars' is fun, clever and highly entertaining ride, and one that's well worth taking despite the naysayers. Don't let it pass you by on Blu-ray.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VisionJinx
cincinnati
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male