Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 9 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

9 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

9 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-9 of 9 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

A fine blade for chopping brush
1/14/2008

Customer review by wrmason3

5.0 stars 1/14/2008 by wrmason3
by wrmason3

This machete is only moderately more expensive than the types sold at most home & garden shops in paper sleeves, and yet it is heavy and substantial (unlike the thin metal of cheaper machetes), with a useful saw blade on the rear. I've owned a few cheap machetes in the past that have quickly rusted or lost their cutting power -- this machete has some heft to it, and looks like it could weather many more sharpenings than those cheap blades ever could. The only down-side might be if you have a weak wrist - since missing an object to slice through will leave you with an arm-wrenching follow through. I've made sure to aim well when using this machete. A thin, shorter, and cheaper machete might still have its uses for brambles and thin brush. This blade is better for cutting through larger, more established brush and even small trees or bamboo.

Was this review helpful? (30) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wrmason3
Magnolia, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Tool For The Price
4/20/2009

Customer review by JMCinKY

5.0 stars 4/20/2009 by JMCinKY
by JMCinKY

I needed a machete to clear brush for a path through the woods. This machete is great, well balanced, nice grip, protects the hand well. Nice edge, right out of the box.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JMCinKY
Central KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Meyerco 22" Machete
2/13/2010

Customer review by happyda

5.0 stars 2/13/2010 by happyda
by happyda

Not a flimsy blade. Heavy, sharp and well made. Probably too heavy just to cut tall grass, but xlnt all around camp machete. Well made sheath.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
happyda
Fresno, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
nice and heavy!
6/3/2010

Customer review by stonewalljackson

5.0 stars 6/3/2010 by stonewalljackson
by stonewalljackson

NOT a cheap, flimsy machete. HEAVY DUTY. The 22" blade is a plus. Nice tool.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stonewalljackson
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Be Prepared
4/21/2009

Customer review by GofoYos

5.0 stars 4/21/2009 by GofoYos
by GofoYos

You just never know when or where or why this might come in handy ,,but I take mine fishing & camping upstate here..Have you heard about some of the things wandering out of the brush and trees out there?

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GofoYos
NYC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Value
2/2/2016

Customer review by SwampRat

5.0 stars 2/2/2016 by SwampRat
by SwampRat

Good quality, good design, good price. I've been looking at various machetes for awhile. Many are poorly designed, poorly constructed, and just not worth buying, even when the price is low. Others are of decent quality and manufacture, but the prices are just too steep for what you get. I mean, we're talking about a machete here, not exactly a high-dollar edged tool, right? I found this Meyerco machete elsewhere, but at a high enough price that I hesitated to buy it. Then I found it on the Walmart website for a significant discount, and hesitated no more. This is, in my opinion, the best 'bang for the buck' in the machete world, and I definitely believe it is a great value for the money. It has my personal recommendation!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SwampRat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Needs an edge
9/28/2008

Customer review by RetiredChief

4.0 stars 9/28/2008 by RetiredChief
by RetiredChief

The saw side is pretty much useless. I haven't tried sharpening yet to see if that would help. Out of the package this machete wouldn't go through small limbs or cut brush worth anything. The cutting edge of the machete comes with a knife edge rather than a machete edge. I filed down one side flat and a long edge on the other side and now it works like a machete. Heavy machete and the steel is pretty strong. Well worth the price if you don't mind putting on an edge that works.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RetiredChief
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
11/5/2008

Customer review by xpushrodx

5.0 stars 11/5/2008 by xpushrodx
by xpushrodx

it needed have the grind marks filed off the edge and then the edge honed, then it cuts fast and clean. i love it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
xpushrodx
oklahoma city,ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Horrible! Broke! Don't Buy!
1/2/2011

Customer review by SomewhereInWestVirginia

1.0 stars 1/2/2011 by SomewhereInWestVirginia
by SomewhereInWestVirginia

The Machete broke the first time that my husband used it. We are returning it and will NOT be buying another one!

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SomewhereInWestVirginia
Chesapeake, Va
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female