Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 123 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

123 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

123 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
99
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 103 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 103 total reviews
1-20 of 103 reviews
As good as Twilight Saga!
9/27/2008

Customer review by ladythatcher

5.0 stars 9/27/2008 by ladythatcher
by ladythatcher

I recently became obsessed with the Twilight Saga by Stephenie Meyer, so I was wondering if The Host would be just as good. I wasn't sure, but I ordered it anyway. Once you figure out who is talking when in the first couple of chapters (I was sick when I was doing it so it made it a little difficult to follow) the book flows seemlessly. I quickly became engulfed with the desire to keep reading and I did not want to put it down. I don't know what it is about her writing, but she has the capability to draw you in and keep you wanting more. I do not know if she plans to do any sequels to this one, but she wraps it up nice and neat at the end. You will be satisfied with the conclusion and not worried if you are waiting for the next one.

Was this review helpful? (42) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ladythatcher
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Great Story!! Loved it!!
3/2/2009

Customer review by momzilla

5.0 stars 3/2/2009 by momzilla
by momzilla

Stephenie Meyer has written yet another exceptional novel that captures your attention from the first page to the very last. I read the previous reviews prior to purchasing this book and I don't understand why others felt the first half was confusing. If you love romance mixed with suspense this novel will keep you up late at night and leave you wanting more when your finished.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momzilla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
OMG!
6/19/2009

Customer review by KoolAid1010

5.0 stars 6/19/2009 by KoolAid1010
by KoolAid1010

I read all of the Twilight Saga in 6 days, so when I heard that Stephanie Meyer had another book published, I practially went 500 m.p.h. to get to Wal*Mart. I expected the book to be near good, but when i got into the book, I couldn't get out. Honestly, this book kept me up all night reading it. I know this might be really hard to believe, but in ways it is so much better than the Twilight Saga. I just can't believe how amazing this book is.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KoolAid1010
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Stephenie Meyer does not disapoint!!
11/18/2008

Customer review by SKALLESSI

5.0 stars 11/18/2008 by SKALLESSI
by SKALLESSI

I will admit that I love Stephenie Meyer from her Twilight series so I had some pretty high expectations when I ordered this book and I was not disappointed! The book starts slow, the first 50 pages or so are kind of confusing but it's trying to set you up in this whole new science fiction world that you're not familiar with so that's understandable. After that, I flew through every page because I just couldn't put it down! I would recommend this book to anyone who like romance because although this is a sci-fi it really does focus on relationships. Great book!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SKALLESSI
Dunkirk, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Not Stephenie's Best
2/24/2009

Customer review by Nursing

3.0 stars 2/24/2009 by Nursing
by Nursing

Don't expect this to be like Twilight. This book starts off with a complicated plot. I almost stopped reading it, but since I loved the Twilight Saga, I thought I should give it a change. This story takes FOREVER to develop, but once it does (more than halfway through) the story is pretty good. This book took me a lot longer to read since it felt like a drag to get throught the first half. If you stick with it, the story will pay off.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nursing
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/19/2009

Customer review by inlovewithmusic

5.0 stars 8/19/2009 by inlovewithmusic
by inlovewithmusic

honestly i loved it i will admit it was a little confusing at first but if you keep reading you realize it adds to the exitement of wanting to keep reading and in the end i wanted a sequal i truely recomend it all fans of Stephenie Meyer should read "The Host"

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
inlovewithmusic
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Something a lil diff than the normal
6/7/2009

Customer review by mutek01

5.0 stars 6/7/2009 by mutek01
by mutek01

I originally sought this book out bc of reading the twilight series. I love Stephanie's writing and was hungry for more. When I went to her website and saw her newest addition I had to try it. Usually I read the summary of a book before reading so that I can determine if its something I would be into, but this I dove right into all bc it was something she wrote. Well the book is not something I would normally read. Its a science fiction book with her own lil love twist. I am into the vampires and fantasy creatures but aliens is really not my thing. When I read the first couple of chapters I was skeptical and worried that I wasnt going to like it. But a lil further in I saw I was hooked and once again Stephanie delivered an awesome book!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mutek01
Hbg PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I hate this book.
1/30/2009

Customer review by Ashelyn

1.0 stars 1/30/2009 by Ashelyn
by Ashelyn

After finishing the Twilight Saga August 2008, I bought this book because of all of the good reviews. Surprisingly, I did not like this book at all. I literally fell asleep reading it. It's like the same thing is happening and the story doesn't pick up at all for like 200 pages. I didn't even bother finishing this book because of how boring it is. I gave it to my mother as a Christmas gift just to get rid of the book. I do NOT recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ashelyn
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
meh
11/25/2008

Customer review by pjsgirl1

2.0 stars 11/25/2008 by pjsgirl1
by pjsgirl1

I am a huge fan of the twilight series and though I would like this one too. really only got through the first 2 chapters and it didnt catch my fancy at all. Maybe if you get past that it gets better but I decided it wasnt worth it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pjsgirl1
whitewater, wi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Great book
1/7/2009

Customer review by Bartito

5.0 stars 1/7/2009 by Bartito
by Bartito

I really enjoyed this book and gave a copy as a gift. Great price too!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bartito
Green Bay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Very Good Book
12/8/2008

Customer review by TheGoldenCompass

5.0 stars 12/8/2008 by TheGoldenCompass
by TheGoldenCompass

I have read all of the Twilight Series and was very excited when I saw Stephanie Meyer had written the host. I had read an excerpt from it on her website, and was hooked. I went to walmart one day, saw it, and picked it up. When I started reading it, I could not put it down. The conflicts between the characters give suspense and wierdness lol to the book. Once you figure out who is speaking in the beginning, you really get into it. I really recommend this book to EVERYONE!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheGoldenCompass
Weatherby, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Spectacular
2/8/2009

Customer review by twilight13

5.0 stars 2/8/2009 by twilight13
by twilight13

When I first bought this book, I was worried that it would not be anywhere near as good as the Twilight Saga. But, I didn't need to worry at all! This book surpassed all of my expectations and is one of my favorite books. It does start slow, but once you get into it, you won't be able to put it down. I recommend this book to anyone who loved the Twilight Saga and anyone who just loves a great book.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
twilight13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
LoveD It!!
6/17/2008

Customer review by AshF08

5.0 stars 6/17/2008 by AshF08
by AshF08

This book was awesome, it even captured my husbands attention and he hasnt even touched a book in 6 years! I highly reccomend this read if you like a little romance, a lot of suspense, good fiction, and sitting on the edge of your seat!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AshF08
SLC, Ut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful book
10/26/2008

Customer review by Triplemombeehive

5.0 stars 10/26/2008 by Triplemombeehive
by Triplemombeehive

I really enjoy anything written by Stephenie Meyer. I agree with some of the reviews I read before buying this book: It is a little hard to get into at first, but well worth the wait. I feel that the first 2-3 chapters are hard to read, but give a great explanation of where Wanderer comes from and how she came to be where she is.... Overall a wonderful book that I thoroughly enjoyed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Triplemombeehive
Nephi, Ut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
An Excellent Book
1/10/2009

Customer review by stefiscope

5.0 stars 1/10/2009 by stefiscope
by stefiscope

This book is extremely well-written love story! The Host has a very 'Twilight'-like feel to it and is a captivating, addicting page-turner.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stefiscope
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Unexpected and Awesome!
1/11/2009

Customer review by funhoney

5.0 stars 1/11/2009 by funhoney
by funhoney

I was so happy with this book! I love Stephenie's writting and I enjoyed the Twilight Saga so I figured I would like this. I was surprised by how much more it was geared towards adults. The plot is more mature and the love story is full of complicated feelings and emotions of a person torn by what's right and what feels good. I loved it so much. Definitely worth the money!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
funhoney
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Great Book
12/20/2008

Customer review by V4Vendetta1421

5.0 stars 12/20/2008 by V4Vendetta1421
by V4Vendetta1421

For fans of Stephenie Meyer's Twilight series, this book should meet all expectations and go beyond. Just about as good as Twilight itself, the book is categorized as sci-fi, but goes much further than that, becoming a love story with characters you will never forget. It is a brilliant book that readers of Twilight should read while waiting for more of Meyer's books to be released. Sure to become a favorite.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
V4Vendetta1421
Laramie, WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
AWESOME!
1/14/2009

Customer review by PRchik

5.0 stars 1/14/2009 by PRchik
by PRchik

Stephanie Meyers did it again! This book was not only an awesome scifi advenure, but it was also an awesome love story.This book definitely makes my top 10 favorite books list! Also, I recieved the book in perfect condition and right on time!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PRchik
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Better than Twilight
8/16/2009

Customer review by SarahEG81

5.0 stars 8/16/2009 by SarahEG81
by SarahEG81

I liked the Host more than Twilight. Dont get me wrong I love the Twilight Saga, but I felt like the Host was more my age. Sometimes I felt like Twilight was too High School for me and the Host is more adult. Its a good story. They both are wonderful and I recommend BOTH!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SarahEG81
Cincinnati OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
great story
2/25/2009

Customer review by oldladybug

5.0 stars 2/25/2009 by oldladybug
by oldladybug

Loved this book, couldn't put it down. Hope more will be written like it. I am hooked.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oldladybug
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
1-20 of 103 total reviews
1-20 of 103 reviews