Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 238 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

238 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

238 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
141
4 stars
60
3 stars
18
2 stars
12
1 stars
7
1-20 of 215 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 215 total reviews
1-20 of 215 reviews
Stamina Spacemate Folding Stepper
2/25/2011

Customer review by TReneeInFountain

3.0 stars 2/25/2011 by TReneeInFountain
by TReneeInFountain

This item was fairly easy to assemble, with understandable instructions, and it folds nicely and compactly for storage. I also like that it does not take up a lot of space-just about 2.5 ft by 1.5 ft of floor space when it's open. I am not impressed, however, with the tension of the steps, or the computerized monitor. The monitor is supposed to count your steps and keep the time, but resets to zero if you change your pace, lean sideways, forward or backward on the machine, or otherwise misstep somehow. Your time and step count just go back to zero, and you start over. I even had the company send a new monitor, which is not much better than the monitor that came in the box. Part of this, I'm sure, is because the machine, overall, is tipsy, which must somehow affect the monitor. I know it's not an expensive machine, but I still expect the parts to work, and I don't like the floppiness of it. Other than the monitor, it does work, and will do the job when you have nothing else.

Was this review helpful? (29) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TReneeInFountain
Fountain, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Somewhat helpful
4/13/2011

Customer review by Henrys1girl

4.0 stars 4/13/2011 by Henrys1girl
by Henrys1girl

Had hoped to be able to use this regularly every day (especially for cardiac reasons) but, for some reason the right hand side "CNT, TIME and CAL quit working after a few days. All 0's stay lite up.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Henrys1girl
DeLand, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for small spaces!
12/16/2015

Customer review by catapult

5.0 stars 12/16/2015 by catapult
by catapult

The Stamina SpaceMate is perfect for my cross training days. It's best feature is how it folds it up and fits into small spaces, out of sight. It is also small enough to fit in the back of my car and take on trips. Pros: a good workout for glutes, quads, and calves. I use it for about 15 to 30 minutes and manage to work up a decent sweat. Obviously, this stepper isn't the same kind of intense cardio workout as compared to running but it is perfect for cross training and recovery. Cons: only down side I've found is that the right step pedal is squeaky. Maybe a little dab of dish washing soap will fix that squeak. Also, I had a heck of a time trying to get the handle bar cushioning on at first. The instructions say to add a little dish washing soap. That did not work! The trick was to spray WD-40 on the metal handle bars and then the cushioning slid on like a charm when twisted and pulled down into place. Overall, I really like this compact stepper. Excellent folding stepper, priced right and built well!

catapult
North Carolina, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Finally!! Perfect for mommy
9/1/2009

Customer review by pascala

5.0 stars 9/1/2009 by pascala
by pascala

I'm one of the those super researchers who look at all the reviews, stats, etc.. trying to find the "best" product for the best price, esp. when I decided it was time reclaim my pre-pregnancy body. Before kids, I used a step machine and was in great shape, so when I saw the stamina stepper that folds away I went for it. I must say, after 3 weeks of using it, I'm getting back in touch with my inner hottie! This stepper felt strange after the first few strides - but the air had to fill up first and then you get the good resistance. I love that it folds so small I can slide it under my bed and my husband doesn't even know I bought it! ;) BTW I put it together myself, in all of 10mins. I'm so happy with this purchase, I just watch TV alternate from a lower squat step position (leaning over the bars) for deep glute burn and then up on my toes for calf and front thigh burning. After 30 mins I'm dripping sweat and my tush has gained some serious altitude. Moms who like to watch TV, need to get back in shape, have limited space, and/or cheap husbands -- this is the winning combo.

Was this review helpful? (311) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pascala
Sierra Foothills, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Stepper Madness Leads To Happiness!!
10/15/2009

Customer review by NativeGirl68

5.0 stars 10/15/2009 by NativeGirl68
by NativeGirl68

I owned a compact StairStepper in the past and loved to use it so much, that I actually wore it out!! When I went on the search for replacement unit, I could not find one that was similar to the one that I owned. And then, lo and behold, I am searching online here at Wal-Mart and they have unit strikingly similar to the one that I had. Naturally, I jumped at the opportunity to purchase this particular product using the Site to Store option, which eliminated shipping charges, which is an added bonus!! I'm loving the fact that this is one piece of equipment that I actually enjoy using, and the other perk is the ability to fold it and store it. It becomes quite compact when folded and therefore takes up very little room for storage. I use this every other day for 30 minutes a day, before I go to work for my 8 hour shift on my feet. It boosts my energy level and makes me feel as though I have accomplished something beneficial for myself healthwise. And hopefully I will soon be able to do it for the full hour that I used to be able to do in the past.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NativeGirl68
Pacific Northwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Does what it says
3/26/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/26/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

When I read others reviews I was alittle concerned if I should buy it or not. Because others said it hurt there knees, wasn't easy to put away etc...But I went ahead and it is a great machine. Its small so it fits anywhere. It gives you a good work out, and it is very easy to use. I excersice 5 times a week around 30 to 40 min a day and have since I was a teen ager....I'm very happy with the stairstepper. My 13 yer old daughter even uses it to excersice...at first it was something she just wanted to try out....you know how kids are, now she uses it reg. as well. The only thing at first was the monitor, that tells your time and steps would go off and on. I noticed that if your excersicing and you lean to one side instead of keeping the machine flat on the ground, your time will restart. It was frustrating at first but once I figured it out, I haven't had a problem.

Was this review helpful? (80) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Stepper
1/31/2016

Customer review by Pam28412

4.0 stars 1/31/2016 by Pam28412
by Pam28412
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have really enjoyed using my stepper. It's getting me back into working out.

Pam28412
Wilmington, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Stepper
1/31/2016

Customer review by Leea

5.0 stars 1/31/2016 by Leea
by Leea
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I really like it. You can feel it working. Great for the legs

Leea
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is not just like walking up the stairs!..lol
3/8/2009

Customer review by mommabuck

4.0 stars 3/8/2009 by mommabuck
by mommabuck

I bought the stepper because it was small enough to fit in my small cramped bedroom. I haven't folded it up as it takes up very little space so I can't say anything about how that is. It was easy to put together and took very little time. It's sturdy and no wobbling, but I do have it on carpet. I will say I had never used a stepper before and were under the impression it was like walking up stairs. It's NOT.. When I first tried it I thought I had made a huge mistake. It's HARD to do and that first time I was sweating in no time, and legs aching and shaking. BUT after getting use to it, it's still hard, but getting easier each week. I've had it a few weeks and it's used 3-5 days a week. I'd recommend it for someone that wants to add to their workout at home, who needs something that doesn't take up much room. I'm very pleased with it.

Was this review helpful? (30) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mommabuck
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great value
2/2/2010

Customer review by melonieboo

5.0 stars 2/2/2010 by melonieboo
by melonieboo

I was tierd of being the mom who never lost her baby weight, so after reading many consumer reports on the subject I made the decision to get a stair stepper. I have had this machine around 3 months now and let me tell you that there is not a single day I have regreted the decision. I usually do this 2 to 3 times a week for about 30 to 45 mins a time and i have lost 14 pounds and its staying off. I simple set it up when my 9 month old takes her nap and my 5 yr. old is in school and watch tv while doing this. I would compare it to walking up a hill made of sand on your tip toes, the adjustablity is awsome for those days when your feeling a little more adventurous. It would not fit under my bed however I have a low profile frame because the bed is so thick I did not really expect it too but it folds away so into a small space it fits behind my couch. I have hard wood floors all throughout my home so I did experience a small problem with it reseting and being wobbly however a foam mat I had in my kitchen fixes the problem. I put this together with my 5 yr old in all of 10 min. It is a wonderful product for the money and a simple twist of your shoulders while stepping works your abbs too.

Was this review helpful? (74) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
melonieboo
bluefield, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good workout, good quality, great value
4/2/2013

Customer review by JoeDirt1234

4.0 stars 4/2/2013 by JoeDirt1234
by JoeDirt1234
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm a male in my early 30's, pretty good shape, about 5'10", 170lbs. My eliptical recently broke and I was looking for something inexpensive that could be stashed away easily. I was concerned about how "intense" of a workout I could get from this machine and if it would be too small. In regards to the intensity, the ability to adjust the resistance is nice and if you really want to get after it you can. 30 minutes on this is much more difficult than 30 minutes on an elliptical (con: you don't get an upper body workout). The quality is much sturdier/better than I expected and its already assembled (except for a couple small things). If I was any bigger, this machine might be too small, but it works for me. Great value for a little over $100.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoeDirt1234
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome.com
10/24/2013

Customer review by Ericka23

5.0 stars 10/24/2013 by Ericka23
by Ericka23

Ive always used a stair stepper at the gym because i knew it was challeging and would make me sweat which burns calories duh right?lol,well i was beyond stoked when i found this stepper because it looked like it could fit conviantly in my house/living room.I am a young mother and hey i got alittle baby fat!lately i wanted to work out so bad but i always made excuses to go to the gym,its late'',im tired'',etc lol but i was browsing and came across this item and let me tell you itfeels awesome to work out in the comfort of your own home you can sweat like crazy and i even bought a sweat suit!i wear that and workout on the stepper for about 45 min and im sweating more than the man on the moon!this is definitely a great product if your trying to lose weight or tone,i use this after lunch and dinner ive already lose 4 pounds and ive only had it for 4 weeks!YEAH

Was this review helpful? (22) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ericka23
Dallas,Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/22/2008

Customer review by pooh1974

5.0 stars 1/22/2008 by pooh1974
by pooh1974

I realy like this stepper, i have a bad back and bad knee's and they do not hert me when i use the stepper. it was also very easy to put together.

Was this review helpful? (59) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pooh1974
kansas city, mo.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy to use
12/24/2015

Customer review by wilmaj1209

5.0 stars 12/24/2015 by wilmaj1209
by wilmaj1209
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this about 3 weeks ago I use it daily Its easy on the knees and it doesn't take a lot out of me to use it ,I burnt my foot almost 2 years ago and walking on a tread mill was out of the question and the stepper allows me to work out a little and my foot don't hurt I am glad I purchased this stepper and it folds up so its out of the way and don't take up much space when you unfold it and I love that it has the bars to hold on too for extra safety and it sits stable on the floor with no movement of any kind

wilmaj1209
Springfield, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Durable and space saver!
1/4/2016

Customer review by Rico

5.0 stars 1/4/2016 by Rico
by Rico

'Had it for years. Plan on keeping it many more. Great device for lower body / leg toning and strengthening.

Rico
New Mexico, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Buy for the Money
12/14/2008

Customer review by Peppersky6

4.0 stars 12/14/2008 by Peppersky6
by Peppersky6

I got mine 2 weeks ago. I love this scaled down version of the bigger gym steppers. I did have to set it on the 6th resistance setting to get a decent step and heartrate going. But this is ok, it leaves 6-7 more harder resistance levels still available. Easy to assemble. No broken or damaged parts. I haven't folded mine up to put away. But it takes up minimal room even set up. This gets your heartrate going quickly as well as a really good sweat. Then I move onto eliptical or treadmill for caloric burning. For the money, you can't lose on this sweet little piece of equipment. For all those coming up with New Years resolutions of better fitness, I recommend this small stepper. But if you don't want a harder, sweatier workout, stick to a treadmill. I give it a big thumbs up.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Peppersky6
Ann Arbor, MI.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Acceptable stepper
12/29/2015

Customer review by Chuck22

2.0 stars 12/29/2015 by Chuck22
by Chuck22
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this about one month ago. The good is that it is compact and provides a good workout. The bad is that it squeaks when depressing the right step. I sprayed it with a clear grease but it didn't help. There must be a design flaw because I read reviews before purchasing and a few have the same problem.

Chuck22
Jackson, NJ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
noise in one side
1/20/2016

Customer review by colleyvile2002

2.0 stars 1/20/2016 by colleyvile2002
by colleyvile2002

After using several steps, left side spring pipe makes squawking noise. I have tried to reduce the noise a little oil, but it didn't help because the noise was from inside. Also, the meter for counter and calorie suddenly jumped to high number after using 3-4 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
colleyvile2002
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent workout...poor quality
11/19/2007

Customer review by Fitmama

3.0 stars 11/19/2007 by Fitmama
by Fitmama

I have had my stepper for approximately one year and have used it quite frequently. It provides an excellent workout to your lower body. However, a few months after having it the monitor quit working. When I received it one of the end caps that go on the frame was missing so I had to fix that and now the right piston is leaking oil and after about 20 minutes or so of use there is no resistance on that side. It has never had equal resistance on both sides so I had to adjust the left and right sides unequally to make the resistance balanced. Also, it is not very sturdy...but overall I have benefited from this stepper. It has improved my fitness. And even though it does not work right I still continue to use it. However, I am in the process of looking for a new stepper or maybe an elliptical.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fitmama
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great machine! Actual, real customer
4/29/2015

Customer review by Anonymous

5.0 stars 4/29/2015 by Anonymous
by Anonymous

This machine was an EXCELLENT buy. I work out quite a bit, and my main concern was that it wouldn't be hard enough to give me a good workout since it's not electric. Yeah, no worries there...by the end of 30 min. I'm sweating like crazy. It's also great because, unlike a treadmill or elliptical, you aren't jostled so much that you can't watch TV, or even read, which I like to do while working out. So high marks there. Finally, the price! Well worth the buy. I live in the midwest (read, COLD) so it's either have a piece of indoor equipment that WORKS, or buy a gym membership (which is a waste of money for me because it's inconvenient and I never go) in the winter time. You'll easily make up what you spend on this by not having to go to the gym. The only thing I'll say is that I didn't care about the little monitor that shows your steps, and I found it annoying so I just took it off. It might work fine, but it seems unnecessary to me. As long as you stay on for 20 - 30 min. you'll get a fine workout, without counting the steps. Hope this review helps some people! Great product overall.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Anonymous
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 215 total reviews
1-20 of 215 reviews