Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 58 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

58 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

58 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
11
1-20 of 53 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 53 total reviews
1-20 of 53 reviews
Good quality filter
7/3/2009

Customer review by HateStupidNicknames

4.0 stars 7/3/2009 by HateStupidNicknames
by HateStupidNicknames

Figured I'd write this because I saw several other reviews talking about how unreliable these things are. Those reviewers appear to have only had 1 experience with one of the Pur filters. I've been using them for about 10 years now. I've had 3 of them. Yes, that means they lasted an average of over 3 years. When attached and used correctly they last a long time. Here are 2 criticisms of them: 1. After the 2nd or 3rd filter change the cap to the filter compartment becomes very hard to untwist. I've gotten around this by either removing it from the faucet, or, preferably (and what I do now), using some sort of pipe wrench. 2. It may not come with the correct attachment for your faucet. If you find yourself struggling to attach it, then it's the wrong attachment. Last one I bought I had to get the correct one from a hardware store. Using the wrong attachment is the only way I've *ever* seen leaks. Apart from these 2 drawbacks (which can be fixed pretty easily) the Pur faucet filter is a very inexpensive way to conveniently get great-tasting purified water.

Was this review helpful? (107) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HateStupidNicknames
Northern Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Disposable?
1/9/2009

Customer review by crisco13

3.0 stars 1/9/2009 by crisco13
by crisco13

Loved this filter when we first got it. We live in an Apt with nasty water and this makes it drinkable and I feel safer having filtered water. I love the chrome and that it stays horizontal, using up less sink space. HOWEVER, after less than a year it functions better as a sprinkler than a faucet. What started as a small leak (after less than 6 months) from where the faucet attaches to the filter has become an all out spray shooting all over the place. We have to lift the filter up so that the water doesn't shoot everywhere when we use it and it even leaks some when we are just running the regular water. Called PUR today and they are replacing it. They told me that this was very unusual, but a little internet research indicates that it isn't really all that unusual. I tried emailing them a couple of months ago and never heard anything back from their online customer service. We had the vertical/flip style filter in the past and really liked it. It did slowly develop a leak around the faucet mount but just a dribble of water, not anything terrible. We will give the horizontal a try one more time and if we have the same problems we might switch to a Brita which are supposed to be more durable.

Was this review helpful? (48) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crisco13
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Would definitely recommend these filters
7/21/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/21/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have actually used these PUR faucet water filters for about 20 years. I have used them till they finally wear out. They have always lasted me 5+ years and some longer. I have had both the horizontal and the vertical tilt models. I actually prefer the horizontal myself. I have never had any problem with water spraying out or leaking with any of my models. I think these PUR filters are a great buy and value. The water where I live is hideous and undrinkable so I use one on my kitchen faucet. I also use a different kind on my fridge water and icemaker. I'm sorry that some of you have had such bad luck. I will say for the first time I actually had a weird problem where the filter would not release from the cap no matter who tried to loosen it, I was trying to replace used filter cartridge. I called PUR and they happily sent me a coupon for $30.00 credit toward a new one. That is one thing i really do like about this company is that they stand behind their products. A few years ago i bought a box of 3 refill cartaridges and 2 of them were bad so I called PUR then too and they sent me a coupon to purchase another box. They have always treated me well and went out of their way to fix my problem. For over 20 years of usage of these they have had a good track record and I guarantee I use them all day long. I drink gallons of water. I cook with this filtered water and everything. I hope this helps you people that have had problems, talk to PUR they will try their best to make it right.

Was this review helpful? (47) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Austin, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not very durable
9/20/2009

Customer review by howlin4mb

1.0 stars 9/20/2009 by howlin4mb
by howlin4mb

I had this filter for about a year. The water began leaking and is now spraying out by the logo tab and along the edges. A little internet research shows I'm not alone. I called the company & they sent me a coupon for a new one, but I'd definitely never pay for another one.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
howlin4mb
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Leaks like a water sprinkler.
1/14/2014

Customer review by YoYoTN

2.0 stars 1/14/2014 by YoYoTN
by YoYoTN

I gave it a fair rating because it does filter the water and stays on the faucet for a few months. After a few months it began to leak where the filter attaches to the faucet. The problem is with the attachment/adapter. I called PUR and they told me to return it for exchange. The new one leaks also. When I say "leak" I mean it sprays out 2 feet of water like a water sprinkler.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from ManufacturerTechSupport - 2/19/2014

I'm sorry to hear about the issues you're having with our product. We do offer a replacement adapter, free of charge, for customers who are experiencing this issue. Please contact one of our customer support agents and let them know about the issue you're having. You can reach us by calling 1-800-PUR-LINE (M-F, 9-5PM EST) or by e-mailing ConsumerRelations@kaz.com. Thank you!

YoYoTN
USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Good 49 Hours
10/30/2011

Customer review by 3fitty7

1.0 stars 10/30/2011 by 3fitty7
by 3fitty7

I bought this to replace another Pur water filter that lasted for a few years before leaking around the little oval Pur logo on the front cap. This new one was installed on October 27th, and I must say the install was very quick and easy. Fast forward several hours to October 29th - the whole thing fell off the faucet! I re-installed it and it fell off again. The problem appears to be that the fitting that attaches to the faucet threads is made of soft plastic and the weight of the filter is enough to make it pop off. This little part should be made of metal, not flimsy plastic. The old one was attached to the faucet with metal, but sadly the parts are not interchangeable. By the way, I'm sure some of you will say "They over tightened it!", but that is NOT the case. It was gently hand tightened. This piece o' junk is getting returned today. I plan to check online to see if the older model is still available somewhere.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
3fitty7
Twilight Zone, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great price, excellent filter
5/25/2013

Customer review by Tiger20

5.0 stars 5/25/2013 by Tiger20
by Tiger20

I bought this PUR filter for my mother who lives in an assisted living facility in her own apartment. Most of her food and drink are obtained from the dining hall but she has a small sink and microwave in her room. She was complaining that the water was tasting bad and had taken to buying bottled water on her fixed income. I purchased this filter for Mother's Day 2013, my brother-in-law installed it in seconds (I live out of town), and instantly Mom was raving about how good the water tasted. PUR is saving my mother money and made me a big hero! As I don't live in the same town as my mom, Walmart's effortless and seamless Site-to-Store system made all this possible. I will continue to be a Site-to-Store and Walmart customer! Thanks, Satisfied Customer Austin, Texas

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tiger20
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A spliting disappointment
10/5/2009

Customer review by TravinMan

1.0 stars 10/5/2009 by TravinMan
by TravinMan

We got this faucet mounted filtration unit as a replacement for a prior PUR unit we purchased. And it didn't even last long enough to change the filter. The first unit split at the seams after 2 monthes so PUR sent us a voucher for any faucet mounted filtration unit. We chose this one because it was the most expensive PUR filtration unit available at our Mal-Mart and we figured it would last longer. It is a very attractive unit with great features, but after only 3 weeks this unit also split at the seams. I guess these units are bad no matter what the price.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TravinMan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Pur Faucet system
8/14/2012

Customer review by florry

5.0 stars 8/14/2012 by florry
by florry

I bought the PUR because of the handle because I only have use of one hand and it is easier for me to use.....I would recommend this to anyone.....very good price too.....

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
florry
upstate NY...near Clifton Park
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Breaks easily but haven't found one better
2/4/2012

Customer review by psychodr1

4.0 stars 2/4/2012 by psychodr1
by psychodr1

I have bought this PUR 3 stage Faucet Mount Filtration System in many different varieties depending on whether or not it sits horizontally or vertically. I live alone and use it to fill up a gallon jub that I keep in the refrigerator to get water from so I don't use it everyday. Mine lasted about 6 months or so before it broke. But I have also bought these for my kids who use them for every drink of water--at times they have broken in a week or a month. They seem to be making them cheaper and less durable--most of it is plastic. And the last time I bought refill fillters, it said that they were only two stage and not three which I am interpreting to mean that they aren't as good and don't filter as much out of the water. I haven't found a faucet mounted one that works as well but I am looking for one that doesn't break as easily. I stopped buying them for my grown kids and instead bought them filters for their refrigerator water. They need to make them more durable and explain why they have gone to a 2 stage filter.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
psychodr1
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Got Leak?
11/11/2014

Customer review by goodnuff

5.0 stars 11/11/2014 by goodnuff
by goodnuff

I have a Pur FM-9400B I have had about a year now,with no problems yet. Water taste as good as bottle water. The reason so many leak may be the result of to high of water pressure, such as city water wich has much more pressure than well water. I live in the country with a 5 inch well with about 45 to 60 psi. With no problems. So maybej people with city water may want to consider something else. Just my thoughts on the mater.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
goodnuff
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BEST INVENTION SINCE FRENCH BREAD
12/16/2011

Customer review by QualityFinder10

5.0 stars 12/16/2011 by QualityFinder10
by QualityFinder10

This is the Best Gadget in my well stocked kitchen. I use it all day long, it is beautiful chrome, simple to snap on and use, the original Filter which came with the item lasted nearly a year with heavy use. 3 new Filters cost less than $30. and snap right in place in a few seconds. Water in Georgia is not tasty, but this Filtration System purifies it immediately. I will neve be without this PUR system, I hope the company never changes it because it is perfect. Great Useful Item and a Fantastic Price and Simple to Use! Pure water is so important now, I highly recommend this product. You will be very pleased with fresh, pure water from your faucet!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
QualityFinder10
Atlanta Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Makes tasty water
2/1/2015

Customer review by happyotoo

5.0 stars 2/1/2015 by happyotoo
by happyotoo

Has 4 attachment options to make it easy to hook up. Followed the directions in the box to put the filter in. Works great. Comes off the faucet very easily if you need it out of the way to clean a large pan. My family loves it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
happyotoo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Let Down
6/6/2010

Customer review by MichFant

2.0 stars 6/6/2010 by MichFant
by MichFant

I have to agree. I loved my PUR horizontal water purifier, but it started as a small leak, and then got bigger and cannot be fixed. I've had mine for about 2 years and was hoping it would last longer. I will try a different one, but if that starts to leak, I will definitely try Brita.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MichFant
Roslyn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not model advertised
4/24/2012

Customer review by Bill94703

1.0 stars 4/24/2012 by Bill94703
by Bill94703

The web site says this listing is for model FM-9400, and shows the picture of that product, but they actaully shipped me the FM-9400B model, which is not what I wanted. The newer model is made much less solidly than the earlier one, which is why I'd already returned the FM-9400B that I'd bought at Target and couldn't make work on my faucet.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bill94703
Bay Area, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easy to install
4/18/2014

Customer review by vodka

5.0 stars 4/18/2014 by vodka
by vodka

Works great gets rid of chlorine taste and odor! Very easy to install and use. Also ice cubes made with the filtered water don't seem to stick as much in the tray.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vodka
Fairmont,Mn.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
perfect for our faucet fixture
10/4/2014

Customer review by knitfool

5.0 stars 10/4/2014 by knitfool
by knitfool

will buy again. a great price for filters and faucet fitting.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
knitfool
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gift for family member
4/4/2013

Customer review by VLo67

5.0 stars 4/4/2013 by VLo67
by VLo67

My sister lives in rental and wasn't able to use a filter on the refrigerator - this was the perfect alternative for her.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VLo67
SoCal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome Product!
2/20/2011

Customer review by Brwnsugbear

5.0 stars 2/20/2011 by Brwnsugbear
by Brwnsugbear

This product is awesome! I had ordered it due to the fact that I do not trust tap water. This little filtration system does the job. I found it a little difficult to get it to mount on the faucet, but once I had help from my husband, it was alright! I urge everyone that likes clean, fresh tasting water, to try this product. You will truly like it :-)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brwnsugbear
Colorado Springs, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/23/2011

Customer review by herselff

4.0 stars 12/23/2011 by herselff
by herselff

This was easy to install - it just snaps on. NO LEAKS!! I have gone through numerous PUR filters and this is the first one without problems. Water flows through easily. Very easy to work - you just turn the tab. This model is much improved from past models.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
herselff
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 53 total reviews
1-20 of 53 reviews