Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 72 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

72 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

72 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
52
4 stars
15
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
1-20 of 60 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 60 total reviews
1-20 of 60 reviews
Hope I can Help
12/27/2007

Customer review by Havoc84

5.0 stars 12/27/2007 by Havoc84
by Havoc84

I spent about a year searching for a TV so I hope this review will help you in the selection of your HDTV. First if your a person who hates waiting for a sale to buy something, this TV is for you. I hate buying from companies such as Best Buy or Circuit City because the product might be much cheaper the next weekend. Why I selected this TV: Its quite simple, it's the highest quality at the best price. It's 1080P (the highest definition to date), it has 3 HDMI inputs, and it's HD integrated which means it'll receive digital broadcast with-out the use of expensive HD cable/sattelite boxes. Its also a very simple TV without a bunch useless confusing feature. About six months ago I was all set to purchase Vizio's other 47" TV with the Gallevia label (at Sams Club), but I didn't have the money. It was a blessing in disguise becaus this TV is essentially the same. It doesn't have detachable speakers or Picture in Picture like the Gallevia, but I don't care. Why I selected Vizio: It's quite simple VIZIO ONLY MAKES TVS! Its their specialty, and right now they make more LCDs than any other company. I know several people with Vizio TVs that have no complaints. Why I purchased at Wal Mart: $78 bucks, the cost of an additional service plan. Plus Wal Mart never has sales so don't worry about your TV being half price next week. Why LCD instead of Plasma: Plasmas have a better picture and they cost less, but you can't turn them on their side or move them very much. Plasmas also have issues with glare. Issues with my TV: I have very few complaints. My main issues are the black levels. Black simply isn't black enough. This, however, is a common problem with LCDs. The TV doesn't have Picture in Picture, I would never use it but some people might like it. The standard definition (480i) isn't that good, but I've never seen standard def on other brands so I have no comparison. Also the colors arent as nice as some of the more expensive TVs (this problem isn't worth hundreds of dollars more though). Buy this TV if your looking for a big high quality HDTV at a low price. Dont buy this TV if you don't have any HD sources. Don't buy this TV if you like lots of features such as PIP. I hope you find my input useful.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Havoc84
Hammondsport, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Vizio 47" 1080p LCD VW47LF
11/22/2007

Customer review by rayy5

5.0 stars 11/22/2007 by rayy5
by rayy5

To start off, this is the 3rd Vizio that I have purchased. So far, I absolutely love this TV even more so than the previous 2 Vizio's that I have owned. The sets that I had before this one were a 37" and a 42". I don’t remember the exact models numbers otherwise I would post them. Next I will talk about the features of the TV. The few things that sold me on it were as follows. The PQ (picture quality) is awesome. I run an XBOX 360 HD DVD player that puts out a 1080i signal and I have a PS3 that I use for Blu-ray movies solely and it puts out 1080p/24. Watching movies on it are extremely enjoyable. The TV is full 1080p/24, as were my last 2 were only 1080i. This TV does not have Picture in Picture like the last 2 Vizio's that I have had. PIP isn’t a very big deal to me. It was a feature that I never used and didn’t really care if I had it or not. It has 3 HDMI 1.3 inputs so that is another thing that upgraded on this model. The set also has a built-in digital tuner, which I wanted. It also has the QAM tuner, which I love. It automatically decrypts digital cable signals. I do not have digital cable and it picks up 119 digital cable channels. I get about 60 regular channels, about 50 some odd Music Choice channels, and 3 channels that are in full HD. They are CBS HD, Discovery Channel HD, and TNT HD. All are absolutely free and I do not even pay for standard cable. This TV is also full 1080p through the RBG input. It is very nice if you plan on ever using it as a monitor. The remote for the TV has a nice look but doesn’t have near as many features as the last 2 sets that I have owned, another thing that is not a very big deal to me. The Menu is very user friendly and easy to use. Initial set-up is a breeze. It prompts you for set-up immediately upon first use. I also did quite a bit of research on the Product Protection plan that Wal-Mart offers. Vizio guarantees their TV's for a 1-year period starting from the purchase date. They will fix any TV in home if it is 30" or larger. The Wal-Mart Buyer Protection Program for this TV costs roughly $78 and lasts for 2 years. It starts immediately after your 1-year manufacturer's warranty ends, which is what sold me on it. So basically, you are getting 3 years of warranty for $78. Wal-Mart also offers a 3-year plan but I don’t know how much it costs and I believe you have to call them over the phone to purchase that plan but I’m not really for sure. I hope this review is helpful to anyone considering purchasing this TV.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rayy5
Cheyenne, WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
VIZIO 47 inch is Phenominal!
12/26/2007

Customer review by LoveBarginsAtWalMart

5.0 stars 12/26/2007 by LoveBarginsAtWalMart
by LoveBarginsAtWalMart

I was very skeptical at first about purchasing this TV because I was not familiar with the name VIZIO. I first saw the name VIZIO at Best Buy when I was doing my research on LCD flat panels. But when I saw this TV on Wal-Mart’s website, I was pleasantly surprised at all the features on it, 1080p, full HD, built-in digital tuner, etc, and then the Wal-Mart price for a 47 inch, I WAS COMPLETELY SOLD!!! I purchased it on-line and requested the Wal-Mart “Site to Store” option that offers “free shipping”, which turned out to be the best transaction ever. It was a very smooth transaction and took about 10 to 15 minutes for me to take it out of the store. No long lines and hassle free! The Wal-Mart reps were very professional and pleasant to work with. When I got the TV home, I opened the box and turned it on. Using the manufactures easy on-screen set-up instructions, I had it set-up in about 15 minutes. I didn’t have to change the settings, the manufactures settings were perfect! The picture quality was very nice, better than I expected. The following day, I had my cable company add the HD box and WOLLA, the picture quality was extraordinary! I love this set so much, I plan to purchase the VIZIO 42 inch LCD at Wal-Mart for another room. The cable reps showed me how different regular digital cable channels look compared to the HD channels. What a tremendous difference! The HD channels are crisp and crystal clear, life like. If you want to get the full HD benefits of this TV, please be sure to get the HD service from your local cable and/or satellite company. You will be so glad you did because there is a huge difference between the two. You will have to also buy a HDMI cable (I also purchased a HDMI cable at Wal-Mart) to complete the set-up of this TV because it is not included with the set. I am soooooo happy I bought this TV. My research really paid off. After searching for a LCD TV at many of the major retail stores, I found out that Wal-Mart actually had the best price for this model. I also purchased a Philips home theatre system at Wal-Mart to add to this TV. Adding a home theatre system tripled the sound quality on this set. The TV speakers alone will not give you the movie theatre sound you’re looking for. You won’t get that from any TV without adding a home theatre system. The home theatre system I purchased has more than enough bass in it to give me the full movie theatre sound I was looking for. When adding a home theatre system to your TV, make sure you turn off the TV speakers and allow the TV sound to come through your home theatre system speakers. If you don’t turn off your TV speakers, you will get a double sound/echo. One sound coming from the TV and the other sound coming from the home theatre system at the same time. With the sound on the home theatre system hooked up to my VIZIO 47 inch TV, it sounds like I’m at the movies. It is more than enough sound for a living room dining room area. I can hear every little thing. Birds chirping, crickets, flying airplanes, etc. I LOVE IT!!! You can’t beat the price for this VIZIO 47 inch LCD flat panel, and the quality is phenomenal! You won’t be sorry!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveBarginsAtWalMart
Silver Spring, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1080p at a great price!
11/26/2007

Customer review by FCollor

4.0 stars 11/26/2007 by FCollor
by FCollor

The VW47LF represent's a new line of LCD models from Vizio. Unlike the GV line, the speakers aren't removable and there is no "piano-black" finish on the screen's frame. In my opinion, the newer frame is much better looking, since the shiny frame on the previous model was a fingerprint/dust magnet. The speakers aren't removable but they are quite small and their complements the overall look quite nicely. In other words: you can still use your stereo speakers and still have a great looking TV. The overall performance was quite good, with black levels being a bit more accurate than on previous Vizio's LCDs. The addition of a third HDMI input is quite welcomed, and so is the redesigned remote and on-screen menu/guide. Even at 8ms response time, there isn't any noticeable trail/ghosting on fast moving pics, so those concerned at that shouldn't be. My only gripe with the set is that it was extremely hard to find one locally, unless I settled for a floor model (with no discount!), so I had to "travel" about 40mi to get one. I highly recommend this set for anyone wanting a great looking set with excellent picture quality and a great price.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FCollor
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Tuning required for best image
12/25/2007

Customer review by Jdar

4.0 stars 12/25/2007 by Jdar
by Jdar

I would like to help Vizio buyers to obtain the best quality image possible. Upon initial warm-up my VW47LF was sadly hampered by a blurred screen. To correct the image use the following settings:Set picture to Custom mode. Set Backlight between 30 and 60. Set Contrast to 54; Brightness 51-55; Color 30-35; Tint -6 to-4; Sharpness +4; Color Temp to Custom: Red 133; Green 126; Blue 106. Advanced Video: DNR OFF; Black level extender ON; White Peak ON; CTI OFF; Flesh tone ON; Adaptive Luma OFF. These settings have been verified by electronic means. I suggest that you make very slight changes to these settings to suit your personal preferences. You might want to increase the Color levels, for example. Enjoy this oustanding value from Wal-Mart. I know I do.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jdar
Sarasota, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/1/2007

Customer review by CapeMay

5.0 stars 12/1/2007 by CapeMay
by CapeMay

Never having a LCD or knowing anything about them or even considering buying one at the time of purchase, I spoke with a representative of WalMart while just browsing the store. I was considering the purchase of a LCD, but only when the right deal came along. He talked me into this purchase at the price of roughly $1400. This is an absolutely awesome set! At first, I was somewhat disappointed with the picture as it appeared blurred and any adjustment to it did not seem to work on it. After having adjustments made by a friend who is knowledgable w/this stuff, the picture quality is perfect, crisp & clear and there are so many other features/qualities w/this set. My friend has a Sharp 46" which he paid close to 2800. for, I see absolutely no difference! At total costs of $1524. (cost of set + taxes + warranty), for this set, this was the right deal for me. I am absolutely thrilled with everything about it!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CapeMay
Cape May, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/4/2008

Customer review by Vibes22

4.0 stars 1/4/2008 by Vibes22
by Vibes22

Vizio has a quality product and at a price that don't rob the bank. I look for quite a while before purchasing the Vizio.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vibes22
Omaha, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
a real value
12/25/2007

Customer review by horhay

5.0 stars 12/25/2007 by horhay
by horhay

very good price and a quality.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
horhay
sun city ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Everything we expected
12/26/2007

Customer review by Centerville

5.0 stars 12/26/2007 by Centerville
by Centerville

Great price Only complaint is the sound is average but we expected that. Bought and connected a Home Theater system to our Vizio 47'' HD TV and the result is EXCELLANT, Just like being in a Theater. The Vizio has all the connections you will need. Definitly use HDMI Cables for your connections if possible.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Centerville
Bradenton Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It's a quality item, Clark
12/28/2007

Customer review by OlderNoWiser

5.0 stars 12/28/2007 by OlderNoWiser
by OlderNoWiser

We installed our Vizio 1 week ago today. I absolutely love this set. It is our first flat pannel and ancor to our HD upgrade process. The satellite company has not made it out yet to upgrade our dish and receiver but I have hooked up a Sony Blu-Ray and WOW! Football used to be relegated to the basement 40" tube on Sundays, but I don't think that will be happening anymore. Set up was easy and we haven't needed to adjust the picture in any way. We might look into this further when the satellite feed is completed.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OlderNoWiser
Chicagoland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent HDTV
12/31/2007

Customer review by TxLightkeeper

5.0 stars 12/31/2007 by TxLightkeeper
by TxLightkeeper

I decided to upgrade from my rear projection 52" RCA. I wanted to upgrade to HD but the RCA was only 480p. I researched for weeks and the Vizio kept popping it's head up. Spent hours in the store watching multiple displays trying to notice differences between the displayed models. Did not like the black piano finish on most units, it was distracting and a finger print magnet. Picture quality was as good if not better than more expensive units there. I love the available connections this unit has. I will be feeding it with Dish HD and over the air HD as well as an upconvert DVD-R. Set up was a snap, remote leaves a little to be desired, but plan on programing my Dish remote to work it anyway. I love this unit, perfect size for wall I wanted to mount it to. All in all, I don't think I could have made a better decision. Vizio gets my vote for excellence!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TxLightkeeper
Central Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
VIZIO Way To Go
12/2/2007

Customer review by Roby

5.0 stars 12/2/2007 by Roby
by Roby

After 2 weeks of researching Wall Mountable HDTV's at Circuit City, Best Buy, Amazon, Tiger Direct etc. I bought the VIZO VW47L from Walmart. I can't tell you how happy I am with this purchase. The picture is fantastic ! 1080P and HDMI who could ask for more, and it looks absolutely beautiful mounted on my living room wall. I am no stranger to HDTV's having purchased a 42" Sony last year. The Sony was my primary TV until this baby walked through the door, now the VIZIO is front and center. If you are planning on purchasing this model, don't wait till the last minute, as I had to call 3 Walmarts before I could find one in stock, and it was the last one. Also the only retailers I know of that are selling VIZIO's are Walmart, Sams Club and Costco. Sams Club and Costco are carrying the older G series.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Roby
Audubon NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Annoying White Line
12/22/2007

Customer review by louiie

2.0 stars 12/22/2007 by louiie
by louiie

Brought this set home and emediately noticed a fluttering white line above the picture on all non HD channels. Called Vizio Tech support and was told this is a problem associated with hearing impared signals and as of now they have no fix for the problem but they are working on one. Not accepteble for me-the Vizio goes back.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
louiie
Phx Az
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
visio
12/29/2007

Customer review by saadi7

2.0 stars 12/29/2007 by saadi7
by saadi7

My husband and I are very disappointed with the terrible quality of the picture on our new visio. We will be contacting you after the holidays to have it looked at. We also have a flickering white light across the very top of the screen on many of the channels.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
saadi7
sinking spring, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Vizio 47" 1080P Full HD
12/21/2007

Customer review by METALMONSTER

5.0 stars 12/21/2007 by METALMONSTER
by METALMONSTER

All I have to say is "WOW". I spent weeks reading reviews and going to different stores to look at the display tv's. I picked this one for price ($1349), and compaired to the other ones , this had the best picture. Sound is good but i'm going with my surround system. Easy setup out of the box, minor adjustments for best picture from default factory setings but other than that, it's a great tv. My son loves it for his Xbox360.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
METALMONSTER
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Money well spent!
1/28/2008

Customer review by tazmndvl68

5.0 stars 1/28/2008 by tazmndvl68
by tazmndvl68

I had never heard of Vizio till I started working for Wal-Mart 7 months ago. After noticing that it was one of the least returned TV's we sold in our store I did some research and found that for the price Vizio was a great deal! I had purchased a Playstation 3 earlier, and thought the graphics were great on my 27" SDTV that was almost 8 years old and knew that most PS3 games had graphics that were at least 720p. However Blue-Ray, which the PS3 is capable of playing were mostly 1080P and rumers are that the PS3 games will soon be 1080p as well, so I made the descision that whatever tv I bought would be 1080p capable. This tv, while not having the best sound, not having extra features like pip, and really only having the simplest of remotes. Has a very nice picture, I do not see any of the blure normally associated with LCD tv's and fast action, or any real problems with the black. There was one white line accross the top when I hooked it to my cable box, but some simple adjustments on the tv fixed that. If your looking for extra features and goodies then this tv may not be for you, if your looking for best picture quality at a fair price, then this is the deal of the century!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tazmndvl68
Springfield, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
WOW What a TV
12/19/2007

Customer review by NFLFan

5.0 stars 12/19/2007 by NFLFan
by NFLFan

Just bought this TV last week and I couldn't be happier with it. It was very easy to set up and within 30 minutes I was watching the most awesome TV I have ever seen. The picture was so clear and sharp, I thought my eyes were going to bleed. I would highly recommend this TV to anyone. It is a fantastic HDTV at a low price. I had been shopping for an HDTV for two months until I saw this one. Way to go VIZIO

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NFLFan
Columbus, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great HDTV No Brainer
12/19/2007

Customer review by Goombasdad

5.0 stars 12/19/2007 by Goombasdad
by Goombasdad

I've been shooting and editing HD for over a year and I'm very familiar with what HDTV's should look like. This TV scores 5 stars in every category. If your questioning the quality of Vizio DON'T. The HD picture is awesome, the response time is great. 3 HDMI inputs for this price is a real selling point. The only problem you may have is finding it in stock at your local Wal-Mart. If they have it BUY IT you wont be disappointed. The extended warranty for $78.88 is also a no brainer. If your a serious buyer keep doing your research and reading reviews. You will come to same conclusion I did. This is a great HDTV at a good price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Goombasdad
Eau Claire, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Vizio #1 in USA
1/27/2008

Customer review by Mapyatt

5.0 stars 1/27/2008 by Mapyatt
by Mapyatt

I also spent time looking at TVs but not overdoing it. Sony was not on my list only because of price. I'm not new to HDTVs, I own a Westinghouse 32in I got from Best Buy 2 yrs ago for 1149.00. At first the 32 in my entertainment room looked big then as time went by it starded to look smaller & smaller. I decided to upgrade. I wanted a 1080P Full HD TV. I have a PS3 & I wanted to get the full atvantage out of it. I also own a Wii, and 360. I wanted to go with a 52in but I didn't want to spend over 2 grand for one. so I decided to go with a 46 or 47in. Vizio has a 52in but that model is a Costco model & it was an older model. My friend was also looking for his first HDTV. I already new a little about Vizio so I pushed him to get the 42in Vizio from Walmart, not the Sanyo that he was looking at. I went with him to get the 42in, while wating on him to buy the TV I saw the 47in I fell for it that first time I saw it. 1080P Full HD, HDMI 1.3, Price. Well enough with that. I got the HDTV on 1/25/08. I went to Walmart at 2:30 AM right after my income tax checks were direct deposited. The box measurements on the website are not correct because I measured from what they had against my trunk size. It would have made it if the measurement were right. Well the box was bigger so I had to take it out the box to get it in the trunk. Heavy TV. Got it home I put it on the stand, Oh my that TV is massive in a smaller room. Now that it's all set up (no Problems) I was able to view it in my house, vs in store. Hooked up with HDMI with HV channels it is out of this world, hooked up with Componet not that bad. Regular channels not toat good but I'm not worried about that because it will all turn HD quality by Feb 2009. Everyone looking for HDTVs you need to add Vizio next to your Sony, Sharp, Samsung, etc. list. Then the next thing to do is cross off all except Vizio and go buy one, you will enjoy. I sure do & I still have plenty mony left over from my Income Taxes.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mapyatt
Pawleys Island, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
very happy
1/26/2008

Customer review by lesko

5.0 stars 1/26/2008 by lesko
by lesko

WOW I LOOKED AT MANY DIFFERENT TV'S LCD AND PLASMA'S I HAVE A BRAVIA SONY LCD AND ME AND MY WIFE REALLY ENJOY IT BUT ONCE WE SET THE VIZIO UP WE WERE AMAZED HOW GOOD IT LOOKS AS GOOD OR MAYBE BETTER THAN THE SONY~~~REALLY!!! WORTH EVERY PENNY STOP LOOKING YOU FOUND YOUR NEW TV...TRUST ME AND NO I DONT WORK FOR VIZIO WE ARE JUST REALLY HAPPY WITH OUR NEW TV..

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lesko
HOBART
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 60 total reviews
1-20 of 60 reviews