Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 216 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

216 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

216 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
117
4 stars
73
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 stars
16
1-20 of 183 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 183 total reviews
1-20 of 183 reviews
You Get What You Pay For: And It Isn't Bad
1/26/2009

Customer review by NewsView

4.0 stars 1/26/2009 by NewsView
by NewsView

I have been enjoying the CCP-510, which is the model number for this popcorn machine, for over two months. This blows the microwave and air-popped varieties away. Once you try it, you will never want to go back (makes the house smell like one of the better movie theaters — fresh popped popcorn!). Add in a bit of Flavacol buttered salt by Gold Medal, and some flavorings manufactured by Kernel Seasonings and sold at Walmart. Yum! Yum! As long as the corn kernels are fresh, the ingredients are measured correctly and you follow the instructions it works as advertised without jamming or scorching. There was another review here stating they didn't recommend the product based upon how it appeared in the box and the poor quality of the assembly tools. These are temp tools. You will still need a Phillips, and the tools are like any other — not designed for a lifetime of use. As for the plexiglass door to the glass enclosed hopper, yes it is a bit flimsy and putting it in a metal frame would have given it a more substantial feel. But let's put this in perspective: This is a rock bottom price for a popper of this type with a stand and a commercial UL rating to boot. Normally, even for a 4 ounce capacity, other brands are charging double or triple the price. The worst thing about this popcorn stand is that the warranty appears to be a sham. A wheel nut cover feel off and would not go back on within days of assembly — appeared to have broken off — and the parent company, the California-based Helman Group, LTD., does not, in our experience, answer calls during normal business hours, nor do they return their messages. I bought this at Sam's Club with the extended warranty, however, so I am not too worried. Could it be built with a more rock-solid feel? Of course. When has a product hit the market that couldn't benefit from a few key improvements? But with the extra weigh would come more cost, and that would price it out of the market for a lot of folks. It is constructed from painted sheet metal, tempered glass and plexi with solid core rubber wheels. It doesn't get any better than this for the price. To the other reviewer I would say this: Don't judge by appearances. Use the product you are reviewing. Then see if you don't have something positive to say about it.

Was this review helpful? (129) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NewsView
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Wonderful Product
7/21/2008

Customer review by mamadolly

5.0 stars 7/21/2008 by mamadolly
by mamadolly

I would really recommend this product. This popcorn machine is a very good product. It looks very good in our rec room. The kids just love it and my 12 year old can operate it with little effort. This product was well worth the price paid for it and it is very, very cute. I have had it for one week and we have had popcorn every night since it was put together. I am not a person that puts together items that often. We were so excited that I decided that I would try to put it together on my own. It was super easy to do. Overall it is a wonderful product which I have bragged about so much that two of my friends have placed an order for their popcorn makers.

Was this review helpful? (46) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mamadolly
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great gift
12/29/2007

Customer review by woohoopopcorn

4.0 stars 12/29/2007 by woohoopopcorn
by woohoopopcorn

My folks just got us this for Christmas... and we love it. You would think that 4 oz of popcorn isn't a lot, but it served four people two or three times over. the only down sides are that it's not the easiest thing to clean and a little difficult to scoop out due to the size of the flip out. otherwise i would really recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (34) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
woohoopopcorn
colorado springs, co
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
meets expectations
9/23/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 9/23/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

It's a nice product for the cost. It does exactly what we needed it to do for our hotel. We did however think it was going to be a little bigger but for the cost what could we expect. Overall I think it is fine and makes good popcorn.

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Fort Worth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Little Popper
9/14/2009

Customer review by Sparkyguy

4.0 stars 9/14/2009 by Sparkyguy
by Sparkyguy

This is a good little home popcorn popper. True it's not a heavy duty commercial grade unit, but it's also under $200. It was well packaged and assembled easily. I especially like the storage compartment. The 4 ounce kettle pops a batch about every 5 minutes (including the time to add the oil and popcorn. 4 ounces makes a little over a gallon of popped corn. Do make sure you follow the instructions. If not you WILL burn the popcorn. One issue I did have with it initially, half of the popcorn kernals would not pop, they'd just get kicked out of the kettle. So three batches of popcorn filled the catch tray on the bottom with unpopped corn. I noticed that the stirring rod was not flat in the bottom of the kettle. After a quick disassemble and bending the rod so it lays flat, it works great. Now about 18 kernals don't pop. That's as good as any commercial unit. Also make sure the power cord on the kettle does not hang up on the side wall after dumping a batch. It can keep the stirring gear from seating properly. I've owned and used commercial units before. This one bridges the gap for home use. Let's make some popcorn!

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sparkyguy
Palatka, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Let's go to the movies
11/8/2013

Customer review by Poohtou2

4.0 stars 11/8/2013 by Poohtou2
by Poohtou2

We bought this popcorn machine on the stand and happy we did. We can take it to any room and enjoy a movie time popcorn. It makes wonderful popcorn. We had trouble getting the gear to line up so it stirrer would go around. We called the company several times for help and twice we got no help at all. We were told to call our Walmart store, well they could not take it back since it was bought on line and they did not sell them in the store, but he was more help than the company customer service. He told us to call again and if we did not get anywhere to come back and he would call them for us and get help. We finally got the stirrer to work only because my husband figured a way to fix the problem himself, we don't know how long that will work but for now it is doing ok.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Poohtou2
Forreston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't believe the nay-sayers
11/18/2013

Customer review by nplazio

5.0 stars 11/18/2013 by nplazio
by nplazio

Too many negative comments for this well made machine. Everything was packaged to the max, assembled easily, was well made, and operated perfectly the first time. Some folks are just the "glass is half full" kind of people. For the money, this is an excellent machine.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nplazio
Union Bridge, Md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Popcorn Machine
10/4/2013

Customer review by PawpawNana

5.0 stars 10/4/2013 by PawpawNana
by PawpawNana

Wonderful investment! I love popcorn, I make it every night. My husband and I love it. Its very easy to use, just follow the instruction in the book. i order a case of the Nostalgia popcorn that is prepackaged with everything you need. YUMMY

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PawpawNana
Overton Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I Bought Two!
11/9/2012

Customer review by BayshoreFineRider

5.0 stars 11/9/2012 by BayshoreFineRider
by BayshoreFineRider

I bought the first one about a month ago. I read several of the comments here before purchasing and while the negative comments may be justifiable to those that had a bad experience, I still thought I would give this machine a try simply because Walmart beat everyone else's price and there were a lot of positive comments. I am glad I made the initial purchase! It was very easy to assemble, it looks great and best of all, it pops great popcorn! We use Gold Medal 4 oz. pre-mix (Coconut Oil & kernals) along with a 1/2 teaspoon of Flavacol for excellent movie theatre popcorn. While your at Walmart you can also pick up several different popcorn seasonings like White Cheddar, Butter, Kettle Corn, Jalapeno, etc. Clean up takes about 15-20 minutes with a moist paper towel and a cheap 1 inch paint brush similar to what you would use to baste bbq sauce. Empty all the left over popcorn (if there is any) with the plastic scoop provided and use the brush to sweep all the remaining popcorn pieces and unpopped kernals into the convenient catch tray and then wipe down everything with paper towels. Remove the kettle and clean in a similar fashion. As for moving the machine around, it has latches that attach and secure the machine to the cart and is very easy to move without fear of the machine turning over or separating from the base. This is a very good machine for home use in my opinion. For $15 more, you can purchase the 2 year extended warranty to ease your concerns. I liked this machine so much, I recently bought another one to give away at our annual car show (www.bayshorefinerides.net). Based on my experience with this popcorn machine, I would reccomend it to anyone for home or light use. The free site to store shipping is also a big plus!

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BayshoreFineRider
Baytown, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
its ok for the money
11/10/2013

Customer review by dann084

3.0 stars 11/10/2013 by dann084
by dann084

the front legs are about 1 inch to short from it sitting level and the leg stands did not fit quiet right for the blots to go in so u might have to get a soft blow hammer to tap the legs in so the holes for bolts align

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dann084
jacksonville fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
WELL WORTH THE MONEY!
11/27/2013

Customer review by LJHGFD

5.0 stars 11/27/2013 by LJHGFD
by LJHGFD

I RECEIVED THIS POPCORN MACHINE PROMPTLY WITHOUT DAMAGE. EASY TO PUT TOGETHER. PURCHASED FOR OUR STORE FOR CUSTOMERS AND WE ALL LOVE IT! THANKS SO MUCH!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LJHGFD
ANGLETON TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/13/2012

Customer review by Picayunereview

5.0 stars 12/13/2012 by Picayunereview
by Picayunereview

I've been looking for a larger popcorn maker and had the space available for this one, so I got it. Assembly is easy, be sure to lock the actual popcorn maker onto the stand, (a step I almost forgot). It feels a little flimsy, but so far I've made popcorn every day this week, and have cleaned it vigorously, no sign of anything breaking yet. A degreaser works well for cleaning and I usually come back and clean the glass parts with windex afterwards, leave airdry. Helpful hints: Use coconut oil for best popcorn, then once cooked, drizzle butter flavored popcorn oil over your popcorn. Leave the door open while cooking to let the hot air/steam escape, close the door once the "serious popping" begins. Do not submerge the bowl in water, but u can fill it up with water to let it soak if needed. Clean with degreaser and windex, a stainless steel polish/cleaner will keep the bowl shiny!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Picayunereview
Picayune, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I like the idea of the popcorn machine
10/26/2012

Customer review by MrDofNC

1.0 stars 10/26/2012 by MrDofNC
by MrDofNC

But it doesen't get hot enough to pop the kernals and you sent it with a broken wheel

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrDofNC
Durham,NC.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/13/2012

Customer review by HappyShopper62

4.0 stars 6/13/2012 by HappyShopper62
by HappyShopper62

Product was easy to assemble. Good instructions and all parts included. Have not had an opportunity to use as of yet but look forward to using and enjoying. The Popcorn maker and Cart look great in the family room. I shopped and compared extensively before making this purchase. I am very satified that I made the best purchase possible regarding product appearance, quality and price.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyShopper62
Bonney Lake, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
1/10/2013

Customer review by NickNameReviewer

4.0 stars 1/10/2013 by NickNameReviewer
by NickNameReviewer

Popper looks great and is just the right size for a small home. Assembly was easy enough even with the throw away tools provided. I read other reviews about not adding more popcorn then one scoop allows because of concerns in scorching. I found this to be true, as the corn did scorch when I added an extra 1/2 scoop. While it pops the corn just like they do at the movies, I have yet to be able to get the same results(looks or taste), but I think this maybe due to something I need to change and not necessary the fault of the popper. Because of it's size, the kettle is difficult to clean, especially up under the lid, which if not done entirely will cause the popper to smoke as it burns off the excess oil during the next use.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NickNameReviewer
Hanover, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/11/2012

Customer review by bunnyloverof1

1.0 stars 4/11/2012 by bunnyloverof1
by bunnyloverof1

bought this popcorn cart for our movie room. not happy. gears jammed when spininning. called the company and they had no idea how to fix problem. Will send back and try another larger model. did make good popcorn but for the money you expect it to work properly without standing there to unjam every minute.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bunnyloverof1
depew ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
great little popper if you know how to use
4/18/2012

Customer review by boxerloverof2

4.0 stars 4/18/2012 by boxerloverof2
by boxerloverof2

I bought this popper for a movie room in my home. The first one we got from Walmart jammed when you used the 4oz popcorn bags from nastalgia. so I returned it because the company said it was probably defective. There are really no directions on how to use it. I'm writing this review to help others that use the popcorn bags. I figured out that the bag is to much for the kettle to handle. To get the gears not to jam you have to add an extra 2 tablespoons of oil! If you don't want to do that make sure you only have 1/2 cp of unpopped kernels in the kettle. the pre measured packets have more then a 1/2 when you pour it out into a measuring cup! Level not heaped. If you do it will always jam! I also sometimes use just regular vegetable oil and popcorn but its not as good as the packets that come with the coconut oil, butter salt and popcorn. I wish someone would of posted this before I took the last machine back cause there just wasn't enough oil in the pre measured packets that you buy. Also I heated the coconut oil in the packet cause it gets hard at room temprature and jams the machine! good luck. after doing these things I finally got the machine to work great every time.

Was this review helpful? (7) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
boxerloverof2
depew ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
11/21/2012

Customer review by eshsuites

5.0 stars 11/21/2012 by eshsuites
by eshsuites

It is very easy to clean up, moves easy, nice storage space and pops real fast.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
eshsuites
SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks and works great
1/5/2014

Customer review by PaRit

5.0 stars 1/5/2014 by PaRit
by PaRit

This model (CCP510) seems to be evolving, but the version I got is great. The unit looks almost like the picture. The only difference is that the feet stick out to the side with the shelf/handle, that is, the footprint is a little bigger, which probably helps stability. The build quality is excellent. the wheels are commercial quality and rubber treaded. The unit is practically all metal. Just the door, knobs and power cord are non-metal. It looks fantastic. Features not as described: It has a heater in the floor of the popcorn compartment that comes on with the light. The pot capacity is 6 oz of popcorn, not 4. The box has a sticker on the outside noting the improvement. Strangely, the included measuring scoop is still 4 oz. The head is fully assembled and can be used without the cart. It has feet so it can sit on a counter. There are two spring latches that can be reached from the storage compartment to release the head. The instruction recommend transporting the head and cart separately. My only knock is that the cart is awkward to move around, since the handle is opposite the wheels. I may try switching them around. If you build is as pictured in the instructions, to roll around, put one hand on the handle and the other on the top to steady it -- else it can get away from you. Our grandchildren and everyone else is tickled to death with it. It makes enough popcorn for six to start munching and can make batch after batch.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PaRit
Little Rock AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great addition to our basement rec room!
12/19/2012

Customer review by MelGus

5.0 stars 12/19/2012 by MelGus
by MelGus

The kids love it! I think it looks awesome, too! Makes a great conversation piece. There was an issue putting the base together - two of the bolts wouldn't go all the way through so they aren't really holding anything together but considering it won't get moved around much, this won't have an impact(it's pretty sturdy regardless). I've tried it with regular popcorn and it worked well. Just rec'd the shipment of movie popcorn packs and can't wait to try it out this weekend! Shipped faster than stated, great value I think. Can even remove from cart and sit it on a counter if you prefer. I can't answer to its durability since we've only had it two weeks, but it seems quite sturdy - much better than the cheaper 2 oz tabletop versions. A great buy!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MelGus
Olathe, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 183 total reviews
1-20 of 183 reviews