Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 37 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

37 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

37 reviews | 4 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
3
1-20 of 34 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews
SOLID 5 Star!
11/30/2007

Customer review by djcctek

5.0 stars 11/30/2007 by djcctek
by djcctek

Here is the raw deal, coming from someone that never leaves reviews. I feel this unit needs it. Now Wal-Mart has had many items that have filled a multimedia void and that had gaps and void in operation that I felt were not buying. You have to realize this review is coming from some one that has over 10 years in multimedia production, engineering and implementation. I know my Gadgets and almost all on the market for the last 10 years. I am in no way A know it all, but in some genres I do consider myself an Expert in some aspects. For anyone that is even considering purchasing this unit I will give you the low down. This unit will get the praise and accommodations from me that it deserves. Now, down to the nitty gritty. I will start off with the negatives first because there honestly is so few of them. Then I will move along to what works amazing and little quirks I can deal with. First off the bat VR3 is a division of Roadmaster and pretty much replaced their old very popular junk Brand Kraco from the 70’s and 80’s. That is about all there is for bad, honestly. There are quite a few things that I can live with, but would rather different. The audio from any file whether it is audio or video plays while the Gps is working flawlessly, but when u try to change the volume while the GPS is on the screen it changes the volume for the GPS and not the audio. “I can live with that.” When trying to navigate the files of any type if the name is too long then the file name is cut off. They do provide a one line up the top that will display the whole name of the file highlighted. “I can live with that.” The GPS text that displays the time current, eta, and mileage is not too small but smaller than my MIO Digiwalker C320. “I can live with that.” The reason I say that is that the interface and pretty much the whole entire GPS portion of this unit is exactly and I mean “exactly” like the MIO Digiwalker C230 that I have recently upgraded to the MIO Digiwalker C320. I looked up a bunch of my customers with the search feature on the POI and found everyone I could think of. I used them both and at the same exact time and the VR3 was actual more responsive and a few seconds quicker than the MIO. That is pretty important when your hauling but and it is time to turn. Now I know this unit is missing 2 key components TV tuner and Bluetooth. For one I wear a Plantronics about 16 hours a day and love it. The second is all TV in 2009 is going digital so the tuner would render useless. A separate tuner is my best bet anyways. The video is very smooth and the LCD quality is much better than my PDA with the same size screen. The Mio is a 4.3” LCD and the VR3 is a 4” but not really much at all. The video of DIVX files is stretched out from 4:3 to 16:9 and no way of correcting it permanently that I could find. It is 3AM and I just installed it at midnight. They advertise 180 watts max and 23W RMS X 4, but on the unit it clearly says 16W RMS X 4, but here is the catch. I had a premium Chrysler 6 disc in-dash with a stock amp powering my Polk and Boston acoustics and it sounded good. When I finally connected just my front speakers with this it was louder and cleaner than it ever was on the stock system and it was only on volume level 12 out of I think 50. When I crank this thing up only half way it sounds like these Boston Acoustics should sound clean and crisp. I was absolutely shocked at the deep lows I was getting and the crystal highs. It does everything I want. Roadmaster / VR3 usually makes junk, but here is where it gets interesting this unit seems to be manufactured by a company called Cydle and the whole unit runs on Windows CE 6. There are a lot of these types of units on the market similar to this, but none come with GPS. Solid 5 Star, to this unit everything works and this quite possibly can bring a whole new market of dedicated customers to VR3. Don’t get me wrong this is not Pioneer Elite competitor at all, but some regular pioneer stuff possibly. At one third the cost, this unit in consideration really runs a good race. If VR3 keeps rebranding components with this caliber of quality I will certainly buy many more products from them. I expect some units might come DOA maybe something don’t work properly. Take it back and exchange for a new one. It is absolutely worth the extra trip. I just installed it tonight, so no way of knowing when thing will go wrong, trust me they will eventually. There are mechanical parts that have to one day fail. I was just testing this unit, but I am keeping it.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
djcctek
Brockton, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Insane features for the price!
3/11/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/11/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

To start with, to get the same features and functionality from a more recognized brand name would set you back between $750 and $1000. Now on to the real info. -----------------------The Good------------------- Installation: The unit installed as easily as any other stereo I've ever installed, and the sound quality is much better than the factory "Premium Sound System" it replaced. The installation kit included more hardware than necessary (a pleasant surprise). Radio: The radio is a full-featured am-fm unit with several presets. The touch-screen layout is very intuative and a pleasure to use. DVD/CD: CDs and DVDs DO NOT SKIP with this unit even on dirt roads at 30mph the playback is rock-solid. GPS: What can i say? The maps are up to date and it holds a solid lock. The GPS antenna was able to track several satelites regardless of where I placed it, so its sitting up under the dash out of sight. SUPPORT: VR3 and Cydle (the software manufacturer) both have very knowledgeable techs and great support forums. ----------------------The Bad----------------------- MP3: Someone missed the boat here. I was elated to see that the unit was reading every piece of media I tried (including a 10GB USB harddrive), but when I tapped a song on the screen it displayed a set of soft-buttons to navigate with. If you use the MP3 player alot just use the remote the screen is useless. SOFTWARE: This system runs windows CE and several software packages, as such it has the same bugs and quirks as any home PC and must be updated with an SD memory card regularely. -------------------------The Cool--------------------- APPS: The software includes a calculator and calendar which are kind of neat on trips. WINDOWS CE: Let your imagination run wild. Once you read the support forums and figure out how to open explorer its all up to you. Our's displays a family photo as the loading screen and has some games installed now. A Final Thought... I bought and installed this stereo as a Valentine's Day gift for my wife and she loves it. I'm installing extra screens for the kids before our next trip to the coast (they love it too)!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
VR3 Needs to Go Back to the Drawing Board
4/23/2008

Customer review by GadgetMan7

2.0 stars 4/23/2008 by GadgetMan7
by GadgetMan7

I bought this unit because I have a lift on my truck and wanted a GPS unit to give me a better idea of my speed as well as all the other great features of having GPS. I loved the idea of having my mp3s/radio/dvds/cds and GPS all in one unit in my dash. At first, I noticed lots of quirky issues, but quickly looked past them being so excited about this unit. 2 weeks went by and among the many annoyances I had been trying to overlook, a new issue crept up. The stereo's amp was going out. The stereo when turned up to normal levels was making crackling noises. (It's not my speakers, I have since changed to a JVC unit and the sound is spectacular). I was on the 15th return day of the 15 day return policy on some electronics. Luckily it happened JUST in time. I returned the unit THAT DAY to wonderful Walmart. I expressed to the Customer Service how many issues the unit had, they didn't seem too surprised and were very helpful. Now here is what I think of the unit: This stereo is an utter piece of junk. List of annoyances and problems I tried to overlook: -Constant hiss from speakers -Constant high pitch fan noise from unit -Floppy adjustable touchscreen -Motor Extremely loud (sounds like ET yelling) -Timezone ALWAYS resets -Daylight Savings Time Issues -In order to adjust music volume you must exit GPS while driving and navigate to your music source THEN adjust volume. Roadmaster stated no fix was planned for this. It may not sound like a big deal, but trust me over time it gets SO OLD having to do this and not to mention a driving hazard. -In order to access SD card slot, the faceplate has to be removed. -Awful sound settings - Subwoofer control consists of "On and Off" - Extremely basic equalizer consisting of "Bass and Treble". End result no matter what settings, it still sounds terrible. -Controls are confusing and aren't consistent throughout different features. EX.: GPS has completely different looking/style menus than the radio. Radio has completely different looking menu/style than SD/DVD/USB menu. It looks like a hodge podge of different pieces of software UIs. -Unit comes with a widescreen yet after messing with all the screen settings it will not display in 16:9. It is instead stretched with bars on top and bottom. Roadmaster support could not help. -The most nitpicky of my complaints is that the unit sticks out of the dash rather far. My new stereo actually is set inwards. The VR3 sticks out about 1 inch, and my vehicle's bezel allows for quite a bit of extra length. Some vehicles the unit may stick out much further. Pros with the unit are that it has pretty nice GPS software.. which is licensed from another company (explains why it's the only good thing about the unit). It's the only reason I give the stereo 2 stars. The GPS is actually decent, aside from the time zone reseting everytime you power down. Bottom Line: Save your money, this unit is trash. I ended up getting a separate GPS unit and a name brand JVC stereo. Couldn't be happier... Don't make the mistake I did with this poorly engineered product.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GadgetMan7
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product!!!
4/25/2008

Customer review by 03cummins

5.0 stars 4/25/2008 by 03cummins
by 03cummins

Great product. Does what it says and is a great value for the money. I added a rear screen for the DVD and it works perfectly. The GPS is pretty accurate, not precise but close enough. The GPS program has a lot of streets listed that my wifes factory unit does not. This unit has great sound and is easy to use. The install was easy. Overall there are a few quirks to the operation, but nothing that cant be overcome. For the money you will not find a unit that does all this one does.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
03cummins
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
VR3 VRVD640G review
1/25/2008

Customer review by DblD

4.0 stars 1/25/2008 by DblD
by DblD

I have been using the unit for two weeks, it cannot be matched for features per dollar. Some points: (1) FM reception is very good in my truck. The stock Infinity stereo did not pull in half the stations of this unit. (2) There is more than one clock display. If you press the OSD on the remote when the radio is on the display switches momentarily to the time. I would like to have seen an option to display the time constantly, as many factory radios do. (3) The processor is actually pretty fast - but one must consider that this unit is running Windows CE. It just takes a few seconds for unit to boot up but many lesser GPS systems have a similar delay. (4) There is a problem with the time sync, but this typically is encountered with older firmware, which is updateable (I have updated this unit and it went perfectly). The maps and applications can be updated via a download from the web. The unit does have some annoyances mentioned by other reviewers. The installation section of the manual does not give details on the GPS antenna placement. Some features can be chosen only via the remote. Reading the manual is time well-spent due to the sheer number of features and options. For the price there is no other product that is even close in terms of features. It has AV in & out to allow movies to be shown on an external display. The ability to play music and even Divx movies from the CD/DVD player or the SD card slot is sweet. The screen tilts and can be set at various angles. There is a forum on the roadmasterusa for car stereos which covers this product. The folks over there seem to be responsive and helpful.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DblD
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Big Things Come In Small Packages
3/29/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/29/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I had never heard of VR-3 untill I visited my local Wal-Mart. I looked at this unit and thought that all of the features that it offered, the units size, and price were too good to be true. I bought it, took it home, and installed it myself. Installation was very easy. The GPS in the unit is very accurate and syncs to the satelites quickly. The radio works great, with no problems. The cd/dvd playback is great. Sound quality is excellent. All in all, I am VERY impressed with this unit. May buy another one to put in my wifes suv for road trips.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Hurricane WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
VRVD640G
12/24/2007

Customer review by 2fain

5.0 stars 12/24/2007 by 2fain
by 2fain

I installed the VRVD640G in my car a few days ago and I must say that this thing is aw-some! The radio sounds great, the DVD works fine and the GPS is cool. As of this post, I have not used the USB or the SD card but if they hold up to the rest of this radios rep then I have found a very cool radio for my ride. I have only found two small issues that I can live with. First: You can not adjust the volume of the radio while navigating with the GPS. You have to return to the radio display in order to adjust it. Second: Although I have set the GPS time to my zone, GMT -5 for the Eastern Time Zone in the US as I live in Atlanta, every time I turn the unit off and back on both with the power switch or starting the car, it returns to GMT and displays the time 5 hours later. Other than that, this is a cool radio and I will soon be getting another for my truck. Thanks for a good product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2fain
Atlanta, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/7/2007

Customer review by baggedboy36

5.0 stars 12/7/2007 by baggedboy36
by baggedboy36

Great product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
baggedboy36
new orleans, la
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
almost good
5/21/2009

Customer review by cj2a

3.0 stars 5/21/2009 by cj2a
by cj2a

GPS didn't work when received. After purchasing and installing update, everything worked very well - for two days. Then it decided to not turn on except for maybe once a week. After one useless email and two phone calls with 30 minute hold times it was returned to factory. It has been there a month with no word and no response to emails. But when it worked it worked really well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cj2a
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
vr3
4/12/2008

Customer review by lilb

2.0 stars 4/12/2008 by lilb
by lilb

This product has great features, i cant argue with that. It does have many downfalls to it . For instence everytime that i take the faceplate off, it does not save my preset radio stations and settings .I have to set them back everytime i put the faceplate back on wich gets annoying after so many times. The buttons on the faceplate itself are getting stuck after 3 months of use. The font on the screen is too small to read. When i use a mp3 player/i pod the screen displays no video input which doesnt make the apperance of the radio intresting while music is playing. The font of the street names on the gps are too small to read. If i were you i go and pay just a little more for name brand radio with the same functions that actually work the way they should for the amount of money you payed for.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lilb
San Antonio,Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Expensive, annoyances.
8/15/2008

Customer review by EcoWhale

1.0 stars 8/15/2008 by EcoWhale
by EcoWhale

Annoying high-pitch hum noise, clock too small and difficult to activate, better to buy separate GPS for the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EcoWhale
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
not worth $20
12/21/2008

Customer review by jeepking

1.0 stars 12/21/2008 by jeepking
by jeepking

the product work for about two days in one of my jeeps and quit. the other jeep had one installed the same day. it quit 3 days later. it does not have the quality that the duals have i would recomend the dual i have two and they work great

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jeepking
tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not a 400 dollar stereo
1/2/2008

Customer review by Bigchief

2.0 stars 1/2/2008 by Bigchief
by Bigchief

Though the stereo boasts many features it lacks in basic functions. First of all the radio has a very poor fm reciever which barely picks up the powerful stations like it should for a 400 dollar stereo. It has no clock other than a very tiny gps clock that is barly visible from the drivers seat. The processor speed of the stereo is very slow leading to slow powerup of the stereo and also the gps. The gps clock also will not keep the correct time on the east coast changing everytime you change functions. It appears the radio went to production before the bugs were worked out. If it was a 129.00 dollar stereo i would live with it but for a extra couple of hundred i would invest in one of the well known brands.....

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bigchief
NY, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
everything i wanted
12/23/2007

Customer review by candm

5.0 stars 12/23/2007 by candm
by candm

GPS saved me.Great product. CandM.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
candm
pacific northwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awsome!!!
2/12/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/12/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Too many things to praise about this product! I will say that the FM reception is awesome! The AM is great as well!!! This deck way out performs my stock GM and old replacement Jensen! Only complaint that I have is the Time sync in the GPS application. Recalculation is very fast. Sat. signal is great. MP3s on DVD work great too! I went from a (borrowed) TomTom to this unit, and I’m going to stick with this unit! (There’s nothing falling off my windshield anymore!)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Fort Wayne, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Amazing Product With SOOO Many Features!!!
7/3/2009

Customer review by adh247

5.0 stars 7/3/2009 by adh247
by adh247

The best part about this unit.. for this price is.. It Even Has GPS Built In!!!! I dare you to find all of these features on a nice unit like this for anywhere near this price... you wont! I love this unit... plain and simple. You got the 4" Color Touchscreen LCD Monitor which is more than enough to enjoy your trip... Seriously... lets go over some tech specs....... Plays DVD, VCD, CD, CD-R, CD-RW, MP3, WMA, DixV, Also has....... Over 12 million Businesses, Restaurants and Landmarks in Points of Interest Database pre-loaded with 2D or 3D maps And My Favorite Feature That Should Be on EVERY Radio.... SD Cart Slot, USB Port, Audio/Video Input

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
adh247
Space Coast Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Features for the Price!!!!
7/7/2008

Customer review by aerlonestar

5.0 stars 7/7/2008 by aerlonestar
by aerlonestar

Pros: Great Features at a very low price. Easy to use. Cons: Map data and POIs on the GPS is at least 2 years out date. The Walmart I bought this at was not listed. Its been open for 18 months. The highway bypass that has been open for more than 2 years isn't on the GPS's maps. Has to reboot every time you start your vehicle. Overall I would say to buy it you will love it. It is also very easy to install. I did it myself in about an hour total. 45 minutes of which was spent at my dining room table soldering on the wiring harness.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aerlonestar
Midlothian, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Talk about balling on a budget.
3/9/2009

Customer review by Relacs

5.0 stars 3/9/2009 by Relacs
by Relacs

This deck does every thing. My friends keep asking me, "What did you pay for this? $1400?". They don't even believe I got it from Walmart. But anyway, the movie quality is excellent, the GPS is superb. This was just all around a good purchase. Thanks Walmart. ;-)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Relacs
Las Vegas, Nv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
the best
9/12/2008

Customer review by bigcountry15

5.0 stars 9/12/2008 by bigcountry15
by bigcountry15

this unit is simply the best i have ever owned it has great features and easy controls the only problem is that it will not take certain low grade cd/dvds other than that it is a great bang for the buck deal.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigcountry15
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product...Great Price
5/21/2008

Customer review by englishbulldog03

5.0 stars 5/21/2008 by englishbulldog03
by englishbulldog03

Let me first tell you the VR-3 has blown me away with the quality in this unit. I have Jeep Wrangler w/soft top so it's easy to get in and recently had my Kenwood head unit stolen(forgot to remove faceplate) and when it came time to replace I started researching for a gps and dvd unit to keep both myself and my kids happy. I found that unit and much more with this unit not only is the gps great so is the dvd feature. I do agree with the others on the clock issue however that is very minor when you compare it to the GPS/DVD and the quality of sound that is produced by this non-name brand unit. The installation was very simple and straight forward, but I have been installing radios as a hobby for over 15years, I added two monitors in the back for my kids. In closing I would have to say look into the quality and features of the product before worrying about brand, because this unit is that diamond in the rough.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
englishbulldog03
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews