Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 206 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

206 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

206 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
115
4 stars
47
3 stars
17
2 stars
6
1 stars
21
1-20 of 175 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 175 total reviews
1-20 of 175 reviews
Gets Hot!
8/6/2008

Customer review by smshorty

5.0 stars 8/6/2008 by smshorty
by smshorty

I have had this iron in the past and I like it because it really heats up and gets hot, not like the newer irons. My old iron, which I wore out (I am a quilter and have the iron on A LOT) did not turn off automatically, which this one does after 8 minutes. I do not like this feature because when I am quilting, there are many times when I go longer than 8 minutes between uses. It is very frustrating to go to use the iron and it is cold and I have to wait for it to heat up again. I personally do not need the automatic turn off and am frustrated at how difficult it is to find an iron without it.

Was this review helpful? (99) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smshorty
Cumming, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Always my favorite
7/23/2009

Customer review by itchy2

4.0 stars 7/23/2009 by itchy2
by itchy2

I have used this model Black and Decker iron for many years, The "Classic" has always been my favorite and when they wear out I immediately get another just like it.

Was this review helpful? (99) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
itchy2
Buford, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent for a Working Woman
1/25/2010

Customer review by SpendAlot2

5.0 stars 1/25/2010 by SpendAlot2
by SpendAlot2

I have had this product for over a year and its excellent. I wear casual pants everyday and its great for thin material. My work pants are ironed easily (quickly)...Im never wrinkle. Other irons do not get hot enough but this does...great for jeans

Was this review helpful? (51) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SpendAlot2
Port Gibson, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The best iron ever
9/21/2009

Customer review by ThePresser

5.0 stars 9/21/2009 by ThePresser
by ThePresser

This is the best hot iron made since the older ones that you would just plug in and did not have the temperature option. However, Black and Decker changed the "Classic" to add the auto shut off feature, which lowered the functionality of this iron. If you have the "Classic" model that does not auto shut off, then yes you still have the BEST temperature featured iron made. I will continue to buy this iron, even though I have noticed it does not last any longer than the newer model irons. I love that the "Classic" still gets "HOT", which is a feature that I immediatly noticed was missing from the newer model auto shutoff irons, they only get slightly hot.

Was this review helpful? (61) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThePresser
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does not glide, but drags across fabric
6/5/2013

Customer review by TXhousewife

1.0 stars 6/5/2013 by TXhousewife
by TXhousewife

I owned one of these years ago, wore it out, bought one of the newer style irons, wore it out, then bought this style again. You could say I iron a LOT. I had better memories of this style than I am now experiencing. It drags across the fabric. It does not steam well. It does not iron out the wrinkles as well as the newer models. I don't know if this model has changed since the last one I owned like it, or if I just got used to the better performance of the newer model irons. It takes a lot more energy to move this iron across your clothes, it really seems to have a rougher sole plate, even though it looks shiny and feels smooth to touch (when cool, of course). I find it does not iron out wrinkles in cotton clothes, even on the highest setting. There is no steam boost option, and I find myself ironing over and over the same wrinkles w/o getting any improvement. Sadly, I've already discarded the packaging, or I would return it. Guess I'll store it and go get a good, new style iron.

Was this review helpful? (27) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TXhousewife
Bay City, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Disappointing
6/26/2009

Customer review by DemonYouLillyAnn

1.0 stars 6/26/2009 by DemonYouLillyAnn
by DemonYouLillyAnn

I purchased this iron after burning a craft I was making for my mother with my old iron. This iron worked great for about eight months. One day, while working on my latest costume, I heard this odd sizzeling sound and saw water spots on the fabric. I lifted the iron up, and the water from the resoviour was leaking out of the bottom of the plate! I emptied it and refilled it. The water kept leaking out. I am so disappointed. I liked the weight and feel of this product, but after eight months, it should not be leaking water like that. Now I have to buy a different iron.

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DemonYouLillyAnn
St. Robert, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Fantastic Iron!
6/21/2010

Customer review by Booger517

5.0 stars 6/21/2010 by Booger517
by Booger517

My first Classic finally died on me last week. It was a hand-me-down from my mom when I left home for college 25 years ago. It was probably 5 or 10 years old when she gave it to me. I had to replace the frayed cord about 12 years ago. The heating element died last week. I immediately went to WalMart.com and ordered another one because it was not in my local store. This is the best iron ever made. I pray that B&D never stops making them.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Booger517
Horseshoe Bay, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best Iron I've Ever Had
9/12/2012

Customer review by SMLKArden

5.0 stars 9/12/2012 by SMLKArden
by SMLKArden

I love this iron. Just flat-out love it. I even almost enjoy ironing now. I was concerned about it getting hot enough since it's only 1,100 watts, but it is plenty hot enough to iron heavy fabrics. Also, this iron is heavier than most models I looked at, and the additional weight helps with the tough wrinkles. The only small drawback is that you can't see how much water is in the tank, but it becomes obvious when it stops steaming. It's a no-frills throwback to the kind of iron my grandmother had, and it proves to me that what's new and improved isn't always so. Just for the record, I've gone through four irons in two years. The other three spewed water, leaked water, left trails of water on my clothes (making me spend more time ironing to dry the wet spots), and were so large it made ironing small areas difficult. I love this iron. This iron is my friend.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SMLKArden
Asheville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
So disappointed in this Iron!
5/11/2011

Customer review by darkeyes330

1.0 stars 5/11/2011 by darkeyes330
by darkeyes330

What a shame that B&D decided to mess with something that wasn't broken to begin with and redesign this classic iron into something that totally does not work properly. It now has a Auto Shut Off, and it shuts itself off while you are trying to iron causing the iron to spit water all over your clothes! I returned my B&D Iron and found a cheapy Rival Iron that does not have the Auto Shut Off and boy does this one have plenty of steam! If B&D decide to bring back their original Black Classic Iron, the one our mothers had then I will purchase from them again, but not while they are selling this junk iron!

Was this review helpful? (28) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
darkeyes330
Queen City NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Iron!
5/24/2012

Customer review by mrscoonRN

5.0 stars 5/24/2012 by mrscoonRN
by mrscoonRN

I just bought this iron today. However, I just finished ironing 5 of my uniforms and 4 of my husband's dress shirts, plus a tablecloth so I feel like I can write a fair review. First, I like the look of it. It reminds me of the iron we had growing up. Plus I'm not the biggest fan of most of the newer irons that resemble spaceships. Second, and more importantly, I liked the price. Our last iron was more than double the price of this one and only lasted 2 years. Third, and obviously most important, is how it irons....I was impressed with how hot it got (and how fast it got hot), the weight of it (some other reviews complain about this, but I didn't think it was ridiculously heavy) and how well it ironed both with and without steam. I didn't have to go over each garment several times like previous irons that I've owned. I also really liked the button grooves! It has automatic shut off, which is nice, although I don't leave my iron and ironing board out all the time so this wasn't a must for me. The bottom line is that this iron is no-frills and does what it says it will, which is get wrinkles out of clothes. It can be used with or without steam and works well both ways. I hope it is as durable as the one my mom had for many years as I iron several times a week. I would definitely recommend this iron to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (25) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrscoonRN
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
TERRIFIC PRODUCT - TERRIFIC VALUE
8/11/2010

Customer review by frustratednomore

5.0 stars 8/11/2010 by frustratednomore
by frustratednomore

This is a sturdy, well-made iron that does the job. It is no frills but steams well and is just what I need. I especially like the fact that it turns itself off after 8 minutes. A great safety factor. I've noticed that several people have complained that it doesn't "heat" that's because of the turn-off time. All you have to do is tilt the iron into the "ironing position" and it reheats quickly.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
frustratednomore
buffalo grove, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Disappointed
1/14/2008

Customer review by Ebuyer

1.0 stars 1/14/2008 by Ebuyer
by Ebuyer

Have owned several "classic" irons with complete satisfaction. When our current model failed after 8-10 years was happy to find the current model. However this one had add'l feature of automatic shut-off after a few minutes of non use. Iron failed to heat and produce steam properly, water dripped from front. Possibly a faulty thermostat, also shut off and did not reheat by shaking as instructions indicated it would. I will try another if I can find previous model without auto shut off feature. Otherwise will go to another brand, I do like appearance and weight but do not want their new and "improved" model.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ebuyer
N. Central Washington
Would recommend to a friend? No
Like ironing with a block of wood
10/11/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 10/11/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

My mother has re-acquired this same iron whenever her previous one died. I bought this iron out of nostalgia. However, it is very heavy, and worst of all, the steam holes are not beveled, so the raw edges catch on the fabric. After 5 minutes, my shoulder and neck hurt from trying to drag this iron across cotton knit fabric. I like the way it looks. I like not having to spend hours reading a manual to figure out how to use it. But unless you want to buy a teflon plate to cover the steam holes, buy another iron. I'm returning this one.

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product if ....
8/6/2010

Customer review by BigBlockRumble

4.0 stars 8/6/2010 by BigBlockRumble
by BigBlockRumble

Finally, a steam iron that gets hot, but .... For the money, this is a great iron, however, my wife says it is too heavy. Also, I found that the edges of the steam holes in the sole plate, and the edges of the sole plate itself, seemed kinda sharp to me and would occasionally catch on the fabric being ironed. I took my Dremel tool and honed out and polished the steam holes and the edges of the sole plate. Now, this is a GREAT iron! It gets hot enough, plenty of steam (if you want it) and it glides across the clothes. If they would put the finishing touches on it at the factory, it would earn five stars right out of the box.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigBlockRumble
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
not happy
9/10/2011

Customer review by Ginnee

2.0 stars 9/10/2011 by Ginnee
by Ginnee

I've only used the iron once so far. I steam ironed two tops and two pants and was not at all impressed. Water would come out several times, the iron didn't seem to get as hot as it should. The cord prevents it from sitting solidly in an upright position. When I filled with water, there is no way to tell how much water is still needed. (There is a "full" window but I didn't know how close I was to that. ) I might try it one more time, but if I'm still dissatisfied, I think I will return it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ginnee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
the no iron
3/16/2011

Customer review by casperandangel1

1.0 stars 3/16/2011 by casperandangel1
by casperandangel1

I guess I must have gotten the bad apple in the bunch.. I have always loved to iron & have been ironing for over 60 yrs & always bought either this model iron or a Sears brand iron.. I bought this brand iron last year & I will replace it since I have found it doesn't heat up & irons poorly.. As I stated I must have gotten the bad apple in the bunch because mine is terrible the price was good but the product was not..

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
casperandangel1
Bradenton, Fla
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Iron!!!
2/19/2012

Customer review by BamaGirl2002

5.0 stars 2/19/2012 by BamaGirl2002
by BamaGirl2002

What can i say but, i love, love, love this iron. It is heavy and sturdy, holds up to any ironing job. Once it wears out i will purchase another one, and recommend it to family and friends. hope this review helps.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BamaGirl2002
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/19/2012

Customer review by Eclipse1913

4.0 stars 3/19/2012 by Eclipse1913
by Eclipse1913

I burnt out my previous "Classic" iron and so wanted the same iron. I was excited to see that the iron has been upgraded with an automatic shut-off. This should really help out safety wise as well as I won't burn it out. I left my previous one on for I guess 2-3 days straight and I assume it finally over heated and died. Thankfully the old one didn't tip over and start a fire. Anyways, as for the new one.... so far so good.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Eclipse1913
KC, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best iron ever! Just like mom's back in the day!
5/29/2014

Customer review by Val2kewl

5.0 stars 5/29/2014 by Val2kewl
by Val2kewl

Heavy Duty and can't go wrong! I don't even have to use starch or steam!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Val2kewl
MISSISSIPPI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
best iron you will ever buy
4/8/2011

Customer review by LovWalMartShopping

5.0 stars 4/8/2011 by LovWalMartShopping
by LovWalMartShopping

The Black and Decker Classic is the best iron. My sister gave me my first one because she was a huge fan of it. She would buy two at a time in case they stopped producing them for whatever reason. I have been looking in the stores for some time for one and couldn't find it so went to site to store and got it. Thanks for keeping a great product available for us to buy. It heats up to the perfect temp. is not real heavy and does a great job with little effort. I was taught to iron everything.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LovWalMartShopping
SALEM,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 175 total reviews
1-20 of 175 reviews