Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 272 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

272 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

272 reviews | 4 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
150
4 stars
54
3 stars
22
2 stars
9
1 stars
37
1-20 of 241 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 241 total reviews
1-20 of 241 reviews
Great iron for quilters
10/14/2014

Customer review by Happyquiltmaker

5.0 stars 10/14/2014 by Happyquiltmaker
by Happyquiltmaker
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've been buying this classic for the past twenty years. I keep two in my sewing room.....one next to my sewing machine and a second one at a much larger sewing table. When I first started quilted my mentor told me this is the best iron quilters.......has great steam, and is nice and heavy a little over 3#, gets very very hot. And the price can't be beat. A few years ago it was reintroduced with the basic features , no frills, no beeping, no huge bursts of steam but a great product. I'm certain they wouldn't need frequent replacement in my sewing room (once every 4-5 years) if I didn't drop them so frequently.....a few years ago the manufacturer added a Teflon sole plate and I bought one. Love it , keep it upstairs in utility room for clothing touch up. Quilters need the heat for we almost exclusively use 100% cotton fabrics. a great product! AnD a super great price. Quilters also leave irons on almost all the time they are sewing. This product gets a real workout in my home.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Happyquiltmaker
Washington. (Pacific NW)
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My favorite, Black & Decker Classic Iron!
5/8/2016

Customer review by surveyname

5.0 stars 5/8/2016 by surveyname
by surveyname

I received the Black & Decker Classic Iron from the Spectrum Brands First Look Community, totally free for testing the Iron at home and provide my honest reviews in exchange for the free product. Just after opening the package I realized how great quality the iron is. The iron is so easy to use, as it has so simple operation. I could iron a variety of garments so easily, and could set and control the temperatures so accurately each time. Another great thing about this Iron is that it is inexpensive but works as great as the expensive ones. I love using this iron so much. After I started using this Iron, my life has become so easy, and also I could save a lot of money as I iron all my garments myself these days. All my garments of my house becomes wrinkle-free in minutes, these days. Thank You Spectrum Brands First Look Community for offering me to test such a great quality Black & Decker Classic Iron. I just love using it, and I can definitely say that I will be using it for life. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

surveyname
Glen Allen, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Does not glide, but drags across fabric
6/5/2013

Customer review by TXhousewife

1.0 stars 6/5/2013 by TXhousewife
by TXhousewife

I owned one of these years ago, wore it out, bought one of the newer style irons, wore it out, then bought this style again. You could say I iron a LOT. I had better memories of this style than I am now experiencing. It drags across the fabric. It does not steam well. It does not iron out the wrinkles as well as the newer models. I don't know if this model has changed since the last one I owned like it, or if I just got used to the better performance of the newer model irons. It takes a lot more energy to move this iron across your clothes, it really seems to have a rougher sole plate, even though it looks shiny and feels smooth to touch (when cool, of course). I find it does not iron out wrinkles in cotton clothes, even on the highest setting. There is no steam boost option, and I find myself ironing over and over the same wrinkles w/o getting any improvement. Sadly, I've already discarded the packaging, or I would return it. Guess I'll store it and go get a good, new style iron.

Was this review helpful? (46) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TXhousewife
Bay City, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best Iron I've Ever Had
9/12/2012

Customer review by SMLKArden

5.0 stars 9/12/2012 by SMLKArden
by SMLKArden

I love this iron. Just flat-out love it. I even almost enjoy ironing now. I was concerned about it getting hot enough since it's only 1,100 watts, but it is plenty hot enough to iron heavy fabrics. Also, this iron is heavier than most models I looked at, and the additional weight helps with the tough wrinkles. The only small drawback is that you can't see how much water is in the tank, but it becomes obvious when it stops steaming. It's a no-frills throwback to the kind of iron my grandmother had, and it proves to me that what's new and improved isn't always so. Just for the record, I've gone through four irons in two years. The other three spewed water, leaked water, left trails of water on my clothes (making me spend more time ironing to dry the wet spots), and were so large it made ironing small areas difficult. I love this iron. This iron is my friend.

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SMLKArden
Asheville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Black and Decker Classic Iron
6/20/2016

Customer review by DeeDee

5.0 stars 6/20/2016 by DeeDee
by DeeDee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love this retro iron!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DeeDee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Old-School Perfection
3/20/2016

Customer review by DDallas

5.0 stars 3/20/2016 by DDallas
by DDallas

Nothing better than this classic iron. I have owned quite a few of these over 30-odd years of ironing. It may be heavy- but that's the way to get out the wrinkles. Prefer heaviness to irons that require massive pressure to get things smooth. Simply the best!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DDallas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
so good to press clothes good again!
4/9/2016

Customer review by Bebbie

5.0 stars 4/9/2016 by Bebbie
by Bebbie
Top 250 contributor

I got this great iron at my local walmart yesterday and put it to the test today. 2 pr mens pants and 4 shirts. Love it!! It is so nice to have an iron that is heavy enough to press (that is why they call it press!!) our clothes to a nice sharp look, like I used to do years again. I guess everyone has bought the idea of a 'lightweight' iron...well, I bought the idea for a while....but lightweight doesn't do the job! I'm glad black and decker went back to the classic iron. I love the grabbing the handle when ironing. feels just right. Like the light on...green, and off....red and auto shutoff after 8 mins! Although I dislike ironing more than scrubbing the toilet, I am going to look forward to ironing just a bit now. thanks A+

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bebbie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 250 contributor
Nice iron!
7/19/2016

Customer review by scottishpride75

4.0 stars 7/19/2016 by scottishpride75
by scottishpride75

This is a great iron. It irons sufficiently and easily. Anybody can feel at ease when they iron their clothes. Irons have really come a long way! They're so high-tech nowadays, that they make ironing fun. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

scottishpride75
Rio Rancho, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
The Classic-nothing but trouble
6/30/2008

Customer review by seriouspresser

1.0 stars 6/30/2008 by seriouspresser
by seriouspresser

I have been using The Classic Iron for years and have recommended it to several people who also loved it. Due to the high volume of ironing I do at high temperature for hours at a time my irons have only lasted about 2 years each before the heating element goes out. Not a big issue given the reasonable price. The latest 2 I've purchased, in the past 3 months, have both been complete disappointments. They don't get as hot and the auto shut off seems to kick in while I'm ironing. As for being dripless, neither one is. The first dribbled out the bottom constantly and then started draining all the water (and rust) out onto the ironing board when not in use. Thinking I just got a dud, I purchased another one. Again the heating issues are there and this one dribbles out of the steam holes during use. I'm done with Black-n-Decker irons now.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
seriouspresser
Denver,CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Iron
7/28/2016

Customer review by aireen

5.0 stars 7/28/2016 by aireen
by aireen
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The product is working perfectly and easy to use .

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aireen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gets Hot!
8/6/2008

Customer review by smshorty

5.0 stars 8/6/2008 by smshorty
by smshorty

I have had this iron in the past and I like it because it really heats up and gets hot, not like the newer irons. My old iron, which I wore out (I am a quilter and have the iron on A LOT) did not turn off automatically, which this one does after 8 minutes. I do not like this feature because when I am quilting, there are many times when I go longer than 8 minutes between uses. It is very frustrating to go to use the iron and it is cold and I have to wait for it to heat up again. I personally do not need the automatic turn off and am frustrated at how difficult it is to find an iron without it.

Was this review helpful? (121) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smshorty
Cumming, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Disappointed
1/14/2008

Customer review by Ebuyer

1.0 stars 1/14/2008 by Ebuyer
by Ebuyer

Have owned several "classic" irons with complete satisfaction. When our current model failed after 8-10 years was happy to find the current model. However this one had add'l feature of automatic shut-off after a few minutes of non use. Iron failed to heat and produce steam properly, water dripped from front. Possibly a faulty thermostat, also shut off and did not reheat by shaking as instructions indicated it would. I will try another if I can find previous model without auto shut off feature. Otherwise will go to another brand, I do like appearance and weight but do not want their new and "improved" model.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ebuyer
N. Central Washington
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent for a Working Woman
1/25/2010

Customer review by SpendAlot2

5.0 stars 1/25/2010 by SpendAlot2
by SpendAlot2

I have had this product for over a year and its excellent. I wear casual pants everyday and its great for thin material. My work pants are ironed easily (quickly)...Im never wrinkle. Other irons do not get hot enough but this does...great for jeans

Was this review helpful? (60) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SpendAlot2
Port Gibson, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
not hte same as before
5/29/2016

Customer review by abuelaelba

1.0 stars 5/29/2016 by abuelaelba
by abuelaelba

I always buy Black and Decker iron because they are real good a last a long time, but this iron was dripping water from the first time we try it, and it was that we put too much we put only a little bit, and it wets all your clothes and stains then too

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
abuelaelba
Would recommend to a friend? No
Always my favorite
7/23/2009

Customer review by itchy2

4.0 stars 7/23/2009 by itchy2
by itchy2

I have used this model Black and Decker iron for many years, The "Classic" has always been my favorite and when they wear out I immediately get another just like it.

Was this review helpful? (112) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
itchy2
Buford, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Disappointing
6/26/2009

Customer review by DemonYouLillyAnn

1.0 stars 6/26/2009 by DemonYouLillyAnn
by DemonYouLillyAnn

I purchased this iron after burning a craft I was making for my mother with my old iron. This iron worked great for about eight months. One day, while working on my latest costume, I heard this odd sizzeling sound and saw water spots on the fabric. I lifted the iron up, and the water from the resoviour was leaking out of the bottom of the plate! I emptied it and refilled it. The water kept leaking out. I am so disappointed. I liked the weight and feel of this product, but after eight months, it should not be leaking water like that. Now I have to buy a different iron.

Was this review helpful? (32) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DemonYouLillyAnn
St. Robert, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Fantastic Iron!
6/21/2010

Customer review by Booger517

5.0 stars 6/21/2010 by Booger517
by Booger517

My first Classic finally died on me last week. It was a hand-me-down from my mom when I left home for college 25 years ago. It was probably 5 or 10 years old when she gave it to me. I had to replace the frayed cord about 12 years ago. The heating element died last week. I immediately went to WalMart.com and ordered another one because it was not in my local store. This is the best iron ever made. I pray that B&D never stops making them.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Booger517
Horseshoe Bay, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
The best iron ever
9/21/2009

Customer review by ThePresser

5.0 stars 9/21/2009 by ThePresser
by ThePresser

This is the best hot iron made since the older ones that you would just plug in and did not have the temperature option. However, Black and Decker changed the "Classic" to add the auto shut off feature, which lowered the functionality of this iron. If you have the "Classic" model that does not auto shut off, then yes you still have the BEST temperature featured iron made. I will continue to buy this iron, even though I have noticed it does not last any longer than the newer model irons. I love that the "Classic" still gets "HOT", which is a feature that I immediatly noticed was missing from the newer model auto shutoff irons, they only get slightly hot.

Was this review helpful? (71) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThePresser
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product if ....
8/6/2010

Customer review by BigBlockRumble

4.0 stars 8/6/2010 by BigBlockRumble
by BigBlockRumble

Finally, a steam iron that gets hot, but .... For the money, this is a great iron, however, my wife says it is too heavy. Also, I found that the edges of the steam holes in the sole plate, and the edges of the sole plate itself, seemed kinda sharp to me and would occasionally catch on the fabric being ironed. I took my Dremel tool and honed out and polished the steam holes and the edges of the sole plate. Now, this is a GREAT iron! It gets hot enough, plenty of steam (if you want it) and it glides across the clothes. If they would put the finishing touches on it at the factory, it would earn five stars right out of the box.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigBlockRumble
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Classic Iron!
6/9/2016

Customer review by KrisM

5.0 stars 6/9/2016 by KrisM
by KrisM

I have been using this iron for a month now and I love it! It has a feel of a nice, older "classic" irons. It glides very easily, has one dial to adjust the temperature and no leaks. It fills easily and the iron has been nice and professional. So simple to use. Highly recommended! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

KrisM
Houston, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 241 total reviews
1-20 of 241 reviews