Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 242 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

242 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

242 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
128
4 stars
51
3 stars
20
2 stars
8
1 stars
35
1-20 of 211 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 211 total reviews
1-20 of 211 reviews
Does not glide, but drags across fabric
6/5/2013

Customer review by TXhousewife

1.0 stars 6/5/2013 by TXhousewife
by TXhousewife

I owned one of these years ago, wore it out, bought one of the newer style irons, wore it out, then bought this style again. You could say I iron a LOT. I had better memories of this style than I am now experiencing. It drags across the fabric. It does not steam well. It does not iron out the wrinkles as well as the newer models. I don't know if this model has changed since the last one I owned like it, or if I just got used to the better performance of the newer model irons. It takes a lot more energy to move this iron across your clothes, it really seems to have a rougher sole plate, even though it looks shiny and feels smooth to touch (when cool, of course). I find it does not iron out wrinkles in cotton clothes, even on the highest setting. There is no steam boost option, and I find myself ironing over and over the same wrinkles w/o getting any improvement. Sadly, I've already discarded the packaging, or I would return it. Guess I'll store it and go get a good, new style iron.

Was this review helpful? (35) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TXhousewife
Bay City, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great iron for quilters
10/14/2014

Customer review by Happyquiltmaker

5.0 stars 10/14/2014 by Happyquiltmaker
by Happyquiltmaker
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've been buying this classic for the past twenty years. I keep two in my sewing room.....one next to my sewing machine and a second one at a much larger sewing table. When I first started quilted my mentor told me this is the best iron quilters.......has great steam, and is nice and heavy a little over 3#, gets very very hot. And the price can't be beat. A few years ago it was reintroduced with the basic features , no frills, no beeping, no huge bursts of steam but a great product. I'm certain they wouldn't need frequent replacement in my sewing room (once every 4-5 years) if I didn't drop them so frequently.....a few years ago the manufacturer added a Teflon sole plate and I bought one. Love it , keep it upstairs in utility room for clothing touch up. Quilters need the heat for we almost exclusively use 100% cotton fabrics. a great product! AnD a super great price. Quilters also leave irons on almost all the time they are sewing. This product gets a real workout in my home.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Happyquiltmaker
Washington. (Pacific NW)
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Iron I've Ever Had
9/12/2012

Customer review by SMLKArden

5.0 stars 9/12/2012 by SMLKArden
by SMLKArden

I love this iron. Just flat-out love it. I even almost enjoy ironing now. I was concerned about it getting hot enough since it's only 1,100 watts, but it is plenty hot enough to iron heavy fabrics. Also, this iron is heavier than most models I looked at, and the additional weight helps with the tough wrinkles. The only small drawback is that you can't see how much water is in the tank, but it becomes obvious when it stops steaming. It's a no-frills throwback to the kind of iron my grandmother had, and it proves to me that what's new and improved isn't always so. Just for the record, I've gone through four irons in two years. The other three spewed water, leaked water, left trails of water on my clothes (making me spend more time ironing to dry the wet spots), and were so large it made ironing small areas difficult. I love this iron. This iron is my friend.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SMLKArden
Asheville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Gets Hot!
8/6/2008

Customer review by smshorty

5.0 stars 8/6/2008 by smshorty
by smshorty

I have had this iron in the past and I like it because it really heats up and gets hot, not like the newer irons. My old iron, which I wore out (I am a quilter and have the iron on A LOT) did not turn off automatically, which this one does after 8 minutes. I do not like this feature because when I am quilting, there are many times when I go longer than 8 minutes between uses. It is very frustrating to go to use the iron and it is cold and I have to wait for it to heat up again. I personally do not need the automatic turn off and am frustrated at how difficult it is to find an iron without it.

Was this review helpful? (117) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smshorty
Cumming, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
The Classic-nothing but trouble
6/30/2008

Customer review by seriouspresser

1.0 stars 6/30/2008 by seriouspresser
by seriouspresser

I have been using The Classic Iron for years and have recommended it to several people who also loved it. Due to the high volume of ironing I do at high temperature for hours at a time my irons have only lasted about 2 years each before the heating element goes out. Not a big issue given the reasonable price. The latest 2 I've purchased, in the past 3 months, have both been complete disappointments. They don't get as hot and the auto shut off seems to kick in while I'm ironing. As for being dripless, neither one is. The first dribbled out the bottom constantly and then started draining all the water (and rust) out onto the ironing board when not in use. Thinking I just got a dud, I purchased another one. Again the heating issues are there and this one dribbles out of the steam holes during use. I'm done with Black-n-Decker irons now.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
seriouspresser
Denver,CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent for a Working Woman
1/25/2010

Customer review by SpendAlot2

5.0 stars 1/25/2010 by SpendAlot2
by SpendAlot2

I have had this product for over a year and its excellent. I wear casual pants everyday and its great for thin material. My work pants are ironed easily (quickly)...Im never wrinkle. Other irons do not get hot enough but this does...great for jeans

Was this review helpful? (58) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SpendAlot2
Port Gibson, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Always my favorite
7/23/2009

Customer review by itchy2

4.0 stars 7/23/2009 by itchy2
by itchy2

I have used this model Black and Decker iron for many years, The "Classic" has always been my favorite and when they wear out I immediately get another just like it.

Was this review helpful? (110) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
itchy2
Buford, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Disappointed
1/14/2008

Customer review by Ebuyer

1.0 stars 1/14/2008 by Ebuyer
by Ebuyer

Have owned several "classic" irons with complete satisfaction. When our current model failed after 8-10 years was happy to find the current model. However this one had add'l feature of automatic shut-off after a few minutes of non use. Iron failed to heat and produce steam properly, water dripped from front. Possibly a faulty thermostat, also shut off and did not reheat by shaking as instructions indicated it would. I will try another if I can find previous model without auto shut off feature. Otherwise will go to another brand, I do like appearance and weight but do not want their new and "improved" model.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ebuyer
N. Central Washington
Would recommend to a friend? No
Taking it back !
3/13/2015

Customer review by sargeret

1.0 stars 3/13/2015 by sargeret
by sargeret
Top 250 contributor

By classic it means that the only upgrade is steam. The light does not stay on to indicate it is heating. There is no level water line that I could find. It is small, which I liked and not too heavy and not light, the only qualities I liked about it. It also came with some sort of light smear across the center. I plugged it in and waited. The light came on at plug in and when I heard the steam sound I proceeded to iron a tshirt. The bottom stuck to the shirt. I looked and there was a light to slightly darker grey/black smear across the center of the plate. I ironed over wax paper which normally removes any kind of sticky residue but it did not remove this smear. Therefore, I am assuming it is some sort of factory defect and this is only one of the reasons I am returning it. I wanted a classic iron that had at least a water indicator line and would cut off automatically which I am assuming this one does not,

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sargeret
Would recommend to a friend? No
Top 250 contributor
Fantastic Iron!
6/21/2010

Customer review by Booger517

5.0 stars 6/21/2010 by Booger517
by Booger517

My first Classic finally died on me last week. It was a hand-me-down from my mom when I left home for college 25 years ago. It was probably 5 or 10 years old when she gave it to me. I had to replace the frayed cord about 12 years ago. The heating element died last week. I immediately went to WalMart.com and ordered another one because it was not in my local store. This is the best iron ever made. I pray that B&D never stops making them.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Booger517
Horseshoe Bay, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Disappointing
6/26/2009

Customer review by DemonYouLillyAnn

1.0 stars 6/26/2009 by DemonYouLillyAnn
by DemonYouLillyAnn

I purchased this iron after burning a craft I was making for my mother with my old iron. This iron worked great for about eight months. One day, while working on my latest costume, I heard this odd sizzeling sound and saw water spots on the fabric. I lifted the iron up, and the water from the resoviour was leaking out of the bottom of the plate! I emptied it and refilled it. The water kept leaking out. I am so disappointed. I liked the weight and feel of this product, but after eight months, it should not be leaking water like that. Now I have to buy a different iron.

Was this review helpful? (29) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DemonYouLillyAnn
St. Robert, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
The best iron ever
9/21/2009

Customer review by ThePresser

5.0 stars 9/21/2009 by ThePresser
by ThePresser

This is the best hot iron made since the older ones that you would just plug in and did not have the temperature option. However, Black and Decker changed the "Classic" to add the auto shut off feature, which lowered the functionality of this iron. If you have the "Classic" model that does not auto shut off, then yes you still have the BEST temperature featured iron made. I will continue to buy this iron, even though I have noticed it does not last any longer than the newer model irons. I love that the "Classic" still gets "HOT", which is a feature that I immediatly noticed was missing from the newer model auto shutoff irons, they only get slightly hot.

Was this review helpful? (68) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThePresser
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product if ....
8/6/2010

Customer review by BigBlockRumble

4.0 stars 8/6/2010 by BigBlockRumble
by BigBlockRumble

Finally, a steam iron that gets hot, but .... For the money, this is a great iron, however, my wife says it is too heavy. Also, I found that the edges of the steam holes in the sole plate, and the edges of the sole plate itself, seemed kinda sharp to me and would occasionally catch on the fabric being ironed. I took my Dremel tool and honed out and polished the steam holes and the edges of the sole plate. Now, this is a GREAT iron! It gets hot enough, plenty of steam (if you want it) and it glides across the clothes. If they would put the finishing touches on it at the factory, it would earn five stars right out of the box.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigBlockRumble
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Iron!
5/24/2012

Customer review by mrscoonRN

5.0 stars 5/24/2012 by mrscoonRN
by mrscoonRN

I just bought this iron today. However, I just finished ironing 5 of my uniforms and 4 of my husband's dress shirts, plus a tablecloth so I feel like I can write a fair review. First, I like the look of it. It reminds me of the iron we had growing up. Plus I'm not the biggest fan of most of the newer irons that resemble spaceships. Second, and more importantly, I liked the price. Our last iron was more than double the price of this one and only lasted 2 years. Third, and obviously most important, is how it irons....I was impressed with how hot it got (and how fast it got hot), the weight of it (some other reviews complain about this, but I didn't think it was ridiculously heavy) and how well it ironed both with and without steam. I didn't have to go over each garment several times like previous irons that I've owned. I also really liked the button grooves! It has automatic shut off, which is nice, although I don't leave my iron and ironing board out all the time so this wasn't a must for me. The bottom line is that this iron is no-frills and does what it says it will, which is get wrinkles out of clothes. It can be used with or without steam and works well both ways. I hope it is as durable as the one my mom had for many years as I iron several times a week. I would definitely recommend this iron to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (28) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrscoonRN
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
So disappointed in this Iron!
5/11/2011

Customer review by darkeyes330

1.0 stars 5/11/2011 by darkeyes330
by darkeyes330

What a shame that B&D decided to mess with something that wasn't broken to begin with and redesign this classic iron into something that totally does not work properly. It now has a Auto Shut Off, and it shuts itself off while you are trying to iron causing the iron to spit water all over your clothes! I returned my B&D Iron and found a cheapy Rival Iron that does not have the Auto Shut Off and boy does this one have plenty of steam! If B&D decide to bring back their original Black Classic Iron, the one our mothers had then I will purchase from them again, but not while they are selling this junk iron!

Was this review helpful? (30) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
darkeyes330
Queen City NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The Real Deal!
12/2/2015

Customer review by jrcruzer

5.0 stars 12/2/2015 by jrcruzer
by jrcruzer

Of all the irons I've owned over the years - nothing stacks up to this one. When you first hold it you can immediately tell how sturdy and heavy it is - like an iron should feel! I also love that the sole plate isn't covered in some type of cheat, synthetic coating - just good old fashion aluminum.. This iron gets hot, really hot! And be careful - some irons you can put your hand on the top side to guide it, not this one. That part of the iron is also hot - so be careful! I don't use the steam function nor do I use starch with it - so mine stays very clean and works wonders.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jrcruzer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Iron!!!
2/19/2012

Customer review by BamaGirl2002

5.0 stars 2/19/2012 by BamaGirl2002
by BamaGirl2002

What can i say but, i love, love, love this iron. It is heavy and sturdy, holds up to any ironing job. Once it wears out i will purchase another one, and recommend it to family and friends. hope this review helps.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BamaGirl2002
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
best iron you will ever buy
4/8/2011

Customer review by LovWalMartShopping

5.0 stars 4/8/2011 by LovWalMartShopping
by LovWalMartShopping

The Black and Decker Classic is the best iron. My sister gave me my first one because she was a huge fan of it. She would buy two at a time in case they stopped producing them for whatever reason. I have been looking in the stores for some time for one and couldn't find it so went to site to store and got it. Thanks for keeping a great product available for us to buy. It heats up to the perfect temp. is not real heavy and does a great job with little effort. I was taught to iron everything.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LovWalMartShopping
SALEM,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
the no iron
3/16/2011

Customer review by casperandangel1

1.0 stars 3/16/2011 by casperandangel1
by casperandangel1

I guess I must have gotten the bad apple in the bunch.. I have always loved to iron & have been ironing for over 60 yrs & always bought either this model iron or a Sears brand iron.. I bought this brand iron last year & I will replace it since I have found it doesn't heat up & irons poorly.. As I stated I must have gotten the bad apple in the bunch because mine is terrible the price was good but the product was not..

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
casperandangel1
Bradenton, Fla
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
A- missing only one thing
8/11/2014

Customer review by ironevryday

4.0 stars 8/11/2014 by ironevryday
by ironevryday
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This iron feels and looks old school (in a good way) and solid. The heft of it is perfect, no too light to press out wrinkles, not too heavy to tire out your arm when ironing a few pieces. It heats quickly and steams well. The only thing it seems to be missing is a spritz function to enable one to spray a mist of water onto especially tough wrinkles while ironing. Although I must admit that I haven't needed that function because the iron knocks the wrinkles out easily without it. I'm just used to having it. Otherwise, this iron is a solid buy for the money!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ironevryday
philadelphia, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 211 total reviews
1-20 of 211 reviews