Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 41 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

41 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

41 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

46%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
5
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
12
1 stars
7
1-20 of 38 total reviews
46%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews
Works just fine...
2/19/2008

Customer review by BrazilLady

4.0 stars 2/19/2008 by BrazilLady
by BrazilLady

If I had read the reviews before buying the TV, I wouldn't have bought it. But I didn't read them, I did buy it and I'm satisified. True the sound is lousy, but, as someone else said, buy some small speakers and the sound is great. I did have to tweak the picture to suit my preferences, but I've had to do that with any TV I've ever puchased. Including the much more expensive and larger HD TV. No regrets at all.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BrazilLady
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good TV - Bad sound
5/20/2008

Customer review by ADL1z

3.0 stars 5/20/2008 by ADL1z
by ADL1z

For the sale price ($200), this is a pretty good deal. My only complaint is the sound. It sounds hollow and tinny – like a set of cheap headphones cranked up and listened to from 10 feet away. The TV this replaced was way smaller, but sounded great as compared to this one. Besides the sound, it’s a pretty good TV for the kitchen or bedroom – especially if you use external speakers.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ADL1z
Bowie, Md.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/9/2007

Customer review by ytrap648

2.0 stars 12/9/2007 by ytrap648
by ytrap648

Tube TV better. I wish I never got this TV. Bought it on the Internet. One day delivery took 5 days. There is NO HDMI hookup. for HD-DVD player Or PC All RCA hookups. All I can get out of my TV IS 75% HDTV When using HD-DVD Player. Tv cable may be ok. Don't have mind on cable. I bought this for my HD-DVD player & PC. If I would have bought this at the store ,I would be taking it back.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ytrap648
Carlisle Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Decent PC monitor, lousy television
4/2/2008

Customer review by milwaukeehockey

2.0 stars 4/2/2008 by milwaukeehockey
by milwaukeehockey

I've had this set for three weeks. I went to Walmart for a PC monitor, but was lured by the price of this TV/PC combo model on a nearby endcap display. In the end, I wish I would've saved a few bucks by buying a PC monitor of the same size. I give this item 4 stars as a computer monitor, but zero stars as a television, thus the 2 star overall rating. The widescreen 1440x900 resolution is beyond what I'm familiar with my computer. My only problem was finding a decent high-resolution background for my desktop. As for my issues with this unit as a television... Very poor sound. The on screen menus and graphics are on par with a set I bought in 1989. When changing inputs (PC to TV to Video1, etc), the set doesn't always respond, making me press the button on the remote multiple times for a single task. The HDTV picture quality is very poor compared to a Sony and an Olevia I've watched recently. I've had low definition TVs with a more pleasant picture. Unfortunately, my Walmart did not have one of these units on display to see the poor picture quality before buying it. On top of my issues with the product, I'm also turned off by the fact Emerson's customer service department never responded to a question I sent on their website's support form. If all you need is a PC monitor, this works well, but you can find a monitor of the same size without the TV guts at a lower price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
milwaukeehockey
Pleasant Prairie, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Cheap
1/8/2008

Customer review by Mavsfan

2.0 stars 1/8/2008 by Mavsfan
by Mavsfan

I bought this because I just wanted a good bedroom TV that didn't take up much space. I brought it home and found that the picture was over saturated with color, and while watching a Mavericks game the players legs turned blue when they were inside the painted (blue) area on the court. It was freaky and I couldn't adjust the color, except to black & white, to get it out. It doesn't have enough adequate adjustments. DVD's looked ok, but not like an HDTV should. I took it back and got a different brand which is much better.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mavsfan
Woodward, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
unsure
12/10/2007

Customer review by Schenectadyshopper

2.0 stars 12/10/2007 by Schenectadyshopper
by Schenectadyshopper

I purchased this tv for my 14 year old grandson, I was going to buy the Panasonic 19 inch which is a beauty to look at and has a very nice picture. The salesman talked me into this emerson a 100.00 cheaper and I brought it. I opened it last night before wrapping it and it is ugly! I pray that it works well or I will have to go back and get the Panasonic and pay more. Look at it first, its beyond plain.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Schenectadyshopper
Schenectady, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great HDTV!
1/1/2008

Customer review by Halo3fanatic

5.0 stars 1/1/2008 by Halo3fanatic
by Halo3fanatic

Great picture and great price.(Got on sale for 199.99) The sound could be better though....

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Halo3fanatic
Pittsburg,Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good bedroom TV
1/2/2008

Customer review by jukebox89

5.0 stars 1/2/2008 by jukebox89
by jukebox89

Good bedroom tv. Sound is not so good but add an inexpensive pair of computer speakers and you have a great tv. Also I have comcast and after initial channel programming shut off and turn on the unit so the tv will memorize the digital/HD channels.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jukebox89
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Totally Satisfied
4/28/2008

Customer review by RockwallTXguy

5.0 stars 4/28/2008 by RockwallTXguy
by RockwallTXguy

I bought this TV a week after purchasing the Emerson 32" TV. Unlike some other reviewers. I like this TV. The picture is fantastic, it mounts easily to the wall and the sound isn't bad. Previously, I had a 13" Samsung TV in the bedroom and this is worlds better than that television. I don't expect this to sound like my larger TV set up with surround speakers but it isn't bad. Plus, the price was great. I bought this Emerson since I was (and still am) throughly satisfied with my other larger Emerson LCD TV and the history I've had with Emerson's in the past. My parents bought a 20" Emerson TV 25 years ago (woodgrain cabinet and no remote control) and it still works in their campsite so the quality is definitely there and I would recommend this TV to any of my friends.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RockwallTXguy
Rockwall, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good for the money
4/15/2008

Customer review by collegekidWV

4.0 stars 4/15/2008 by collegekidWV
by collegekidWV

This TV had suprisingly great picture, however the sound does leave alot to be desired. For Video games, Movies, or a dorm room you really couldn't go wrong. Great for the money

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
collegekidWV
Morgantown, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
SoSo
2/9/2008

Customer review by brbBob

4.0 stars 2/9/2008 by brbBob
by brbBob

Had to mess around with the picture settings for a bit to get it to my taste. Sound quality is very poor but what do you expect from like 1" speakers I have never seen a true flat panel tv or monitor with good sound $30.00 to $100.00 will get you a really nice set of PC speakers that will blow you away. So far have not been able to test it yet with HD but with analog tv and pc speakers i have no real complaints about this little tv.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brbBob
FLORIDA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for the price!
2/18/2008

Customer review by ishopatwalmartalot

4.0 stars 2/18/2008 by ishopatwalmartalot
by ishopatwalmartalot

Just got this tv. Set up very quickly (but I don't have HD, maybe eventually...). There was one stuck pixel as mentioned in the other reviews, but it's about 5 from the edge and you can't even see it if you're sitting on the couch. I think the sound is fine, and if I wanted, I could hook up my pc speakers. Great upgrade from my old 13" dorm-esque tv.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ishopatwalmartalot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value -- satisfied
4/28/2008

Customer review by lifeguy

4.0 stars 4/28/2008 by lifeguy
by lifeguy

Purchased this for the bedroom and mounted it on the wall. Great picture; good sound; great value! May get another for the kitchen and PC.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lifeguy
Akron, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great, especially for a free tv
5/7/2008

Customer review by CharlestonChillin

4.0 stars 5/7/2008 by CharlestonChillin
by CharlestonChillin

I won this TV through a local promotion at WCIV ABC news 4. When I was notified of winning it, and before picking it up, I searched it and found it here on Wal-Mart.com. I was disappointed by the mixed reviews, but a free TV IS a free tv. When I brought it home I promptly connected it. I connected it to my DirecTV using S-video and RCA cables for the audio. When I first looked at it I was VERY disappointed. i was standing very close and the picture didn't look good. The audio seemed ok. I hooked up the TV using the coax cable to see if it made a difference in picture. It didn't. I was ready to take it back to Wal-Mart and use it as a stepping stone to something better. I decided to truely compare it to my current 19 inch TV. I put the DirecTV box on top of the TV and this TV on top of the box and hooked up both TV's at the same time. I stepped back and turned them on. This is when this TV can truely be appreciated. The picture is sharper and brighter. The blurryness that I thought I had seen before is also in the regular tube TV and is seen when I moved closer to it. The sound still leaves a little to be desired, even when compared to the analog tube TV. Overall, its a great buy to replace our 19" bedroom TV (especially since I won it for free!)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CharlestonChillin
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
it's fine
1/12/2008

Customer review by VickyV

4.0 stars 1/12/2008 by VickyV
by VickyV

it took a little adjusting to get the picture right, but it's fine now. the sound quality is very poor. overall, it's okay.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VickyV
northeast pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I don't see anything majorly wrong with it...
2/16/2010

Customer review by Shermdawg

4.0 stars 2/16/2010 by Shermdawg
by Shermdawg

I've had this TV for over a year now and I can't say I've had any complaints so far. I haven't had much of a chance to hear the TV's sound quality, 'cause until just recently I've been using surround sound hooked up to my DVD player... and seeing as I only watch movies on this tv, I've never really used the TV's audio... But I'd say the only issue I've had with this TV is simply that it doesn't have an HDMI hookup... but I knew that when I got it because Emerson isn't a supporting brand of HDMI, so it's cool. But the visual is definitely much clearer than my old tv, so I approve!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shermdawg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
If only people were smarter...
1/15/2008

Customer review by ekozy1

4.0 stars 1/15/2008 by ekozy1
by ekozy1

Ok, I bought this TV and have had it set up since Christmas Day. Being a SMART consumer, I researched the product before I purchased it. Instead of people complaining about the horrible sound, go out and spend $30-$50 on a good set of computer speakers (2 speakers and a subwoofer). Then the TV will sound MUCH better, in fact, surround sound quality. The picture is difficult to tweak, but after many attempts I was able to find the best settings and the TV looks great. This little TV has MORE than satisfied me. The ONLY negative aspect is the lack of an HDMI connection. But if you connect an HD-DVD Player to this set with an S-Video cord, the picture is still great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ekozy1
Chesterton, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worth every single red cent.
12/9/2007

Customer review by bluecloud

4.0 stars 12/9/2007 by bluecloud
by bluecloud

I got this product to replace a 13 inch old tube I got tired of squinting at to see. This tv is a decent size for a bedroom. I got it for about 260 and lets face it's almost impossible to get any lcd tv for under 300 dollars, never mind a good quality product. The analog channels will require a really good antenna(try phillips), but the HD channels are as clear as cable. The setup is a breeze, you literally just hit setup on the remote! This is the best bang for your buck.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bluecloud
Brooklyn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worth It
1/19/2008

Customer review by elvenwhisper

4.0 stars 1/19/2008 by elvenwhisper
by elvenwhisper

I bought this for my kitchen and it serves its purpose well. The sound quality is not the greatest, but I hooked speakers up and it sounds wonderful. The picture quality is very good, but sometimes seems pixelated. That could be related to the fact it's HD and the movies I'm watching on it aren't. Easy to hook up to any DVD player. It's the perfect size for a kitchen and I think it was worth every penny! Love it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
elvenwhisper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Emerson 19" LCD HDTV
4/2/2008

Customer review by brtv

3.0 stars 4/2/2008 by brtv
by brtv

Really satisfied now that I have it hooked up to a Comcast HDTV box that has extra audio out (red&white) and connect to the aux connections on a Durabrand 5.1 speaker system that I already had my dvd connected to. Sound is really good now!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brtv
Houston,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews