Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 41 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

41 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

41 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

46%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
5
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
12
1 stars
7
1-20 of 38 total reviews
46%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews
Totally Satisfied
4/28/2008

Customer review by RockwallTXguy

5.0 stars 4/28/2008 by RockwallTXguy
by RockwallTXguy

I bought this TV a week after purchasing the Emerson 32" TV. Unlike some other reviewers. I like this TV. The picture is fantastic, it mounts easily to the wall and the sound isn't bad. Previously, I had a 13" Samsung TV in the bedroom and this is worlds better than that television. I don't expect this to sound like my larger TV set up with surround speakers but it isn't bad. Plus, the price was great. I bought this Emerson since I was (and still am) throughly satisfied with my other larger Emerson LCD TV and the history I've had with Emerson's in the past. My parents bought a 20" Emerson TV 25 years ago (woodgrain cabinet and no remote control) and it still works in their campsite so the quality is definitely there and I would recommend this TV to any of my friends.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RockwallTXguy
Rockwall, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Cheap and it shows
12/27/2007

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 12/27/2007 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I know I was buying a cheap flat panel TV for my 2 yr old daughter. I needed to connect an average quality DVD player and the LeapFrog ClickStart. When I first hooked it up via RCA cables I noticed the picture via the DVD was poor but did not care much. The sound seemed to be quite low as if it was coming out of hearphones....very very squeeky. Again, I only paid 198 + tax at the store. On Xmas day we gave our daughter the LeapFrog ClickStart, so I went ahead and connected the LeapFrog via the supplied RCA cables and the DVD player with a new component cable. The component input DID NOT WORK. I made sure it wasn't the DVD by hooking it up to the other flat panel TV we have in our bedroom and it was fine. So, I have to return this unit but I am not sure I am going to get the same brand/model. The only problem is thta there isn't much choice for such low prices. I may get a 19" HDTV from Costco or the Polaroid at the local Wal-Mart.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not Worth It
1/15/2008

Customer review by TheRev8

1.0 stars 1/15/2008 by TheRev8
by TheRev8

I have owed Emerson products before and was very satisfied with each purchase but not this time. For me nearly $300.00 when you count the taxes isn't cheap for a digital LCD TV. You would think for that kind of money you are going to get a decent buy, maybe not the best but at least decent. Not with this buy! This was a birthday gift for my wife so when I hooked it up and waited with anticipation for the auto scan of the CATV to finish - man was I surprised and not in the positive way either. The first thing that I thought took me back a few years to the drive-in-theaters. That's what it sounded like - just like you had one of those little speakers hanging on your car's window. Then I though no, this sounds like I have headphones hooked up and have laid them down and was hearing my sound coming through the headset. I was highly disappointed needless to say. The next thing that popped into my mind was my wife, what is she going to think. Well, she was surprised in the positive way until I turned the sound on. Of course I was redeemed when she heard the phrase, "I am going to return it for something better". Thank goodness Wal-Mart is usually good and returns.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheRev8
Marion, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Works just fine...
2/19/2008

Customer review by BrazilLady

4.0 stars 2/19/2008 by BrazilLady
by BrazilLady

If I had read the reviews before buying the TV, I wouldn't have bought it. But I didn't read them, I did buy it and I'm satisified. True the sound is lousy, but, as someone else said, buy some small speakers and the sound is great. I did have to tweak the picture to suit my preferences, but I've had to do that with any TV I've ever puchased. Including the much more expensive and larger HD TV. No regrets at all.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BrazilLady
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/9/2007

Customer review by ytrap648

2.0 stars 12/9/2007 by ytrap648
by ytrap648

Tube TV better. I wish I never got this TV. Bought it on the Internet. One day delivery took 5 days. There is NO HDMI hookup. for HD-DVD player Or PC All RCA hookups. All I can get out of my TV IS 75% HDTV When using HD-DVD Player. Tv cable may be ok. Don't have mind on cable. I bought this for my HD-DVD player & PC. If I would have bought this at the store ,I would be taking it back.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ytrap648
Carlisle Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good TV - Bad sound
5/20/2008

Customer review by ADL1z

3.0 stars 5/20/2008 by ADL1z
by ADL1z

For the sale price ($200), this is a pretty good deal. My only complaint is the sound. It sounds hollow and tinny – like a set of cheap headphones cranked up and listened to from 10 feet away. The TV this replaced was way smaller, but sounded great as compared to this one. Besides the sound, it’s a pretty good TV for the kitchen or bedroom – especially if you use external speakers.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ADL1z
Bowie, Md.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
shoptillyoudrop
4/18/2008

Customer review by sometillyoudrop

3.0 stars 4/18/2008 by sometillyoudrop
by sometillyoudrop

I bought 2 of these televsions one for my computer room and one for my grandson's bedroom. I read the reviews about the sound so I was prepared. I bought $14.00 computer speakers and I do not have a problem with the sound. The only fault I find with this television is the cable remote. I cannot get it to adjust to the cable box. I have Verizon and I called them they suggested I called the manufacturer, which I did. Funai owns Emerson, they are not helpful and not very knowledgable. After phone calls and emails to Funai I was told that some new televisons are not programmed in the cable remotes and I would have to wait a few months to see if Verizon updated codes in their remotes. So I have to use 2 remotes. For the money this televison is okay. I would not suggest this TV as your first HD televison.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sometillyoudrop
Cranford, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Decent PC monitor, lousy television
4/2/2008

Customer review by milwaukeehockey

2.0 stars 4/2/2008 by milwaukeehockey
by milwaukeehockey

I've had this set for three weeks. I went to Walmart for a PC monitor, but was lured by the price of this TV/PC combo model on a nearby endcap display. In the end, I wish I would've saved a few bucks by buying a PC monitor of the same size. I give this item 4 stars as a computer monitor, but zero stars as a television, thus the 2 star overall rating. The widescreen 1440x900 resolution is beyond what I'm familiar with my computer. My only problem was finding a decent high-resolution background for my desktop. As for my issues with this unit as a television... Very poor sound. The on screen menus and graphics are on par with a set I bought in 1989. When changing inputs (PC to TV to Video1, etc), the set doesn't always respond, making me press the button on the remote multiple times for a single task. The HDTV picture quality is very poor compared to a Sony and an Olevia I've watched recently. I've had low definition TVs with a more pleasant picture. Unfortunately, my Walmart did not have one of these units on display to see the poor picture quality before buying it. On top of my issues with the product, I'm also turned off by the fact Emerson's customer service department never responded to a question I sent on their website's support form. If all you need is a PC monitor, this works well, but you can find a monitor of the same size without the TV guts at a lower price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
milwaukeehockey
Pleasant Prairie, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great, especially for a free tv
5/7/2008

Customer review by CharlestonChillin

4.0 stars 5/7/2008 by CharlestonChillin
by CharlestonChillin

I won this TV through a local promotion at WCIV ABC news 4. When I was notified of winning it, and before picking it up, I searched it and found it here on Wal-Mart.com. I was disappointed by the mixed reviews, but a free TV IS a free tv. When I brought it home I promptly connected it. I connected it to my DirecTV using S-video and RCA cables for the audio. When I first looked at it I was VERY disappointed. i was standing very close and the picture didn't look good. The audio seemed ok. I hooked up the TV using the coax cable to see if it made a difference in picture. It didn't. I was ready to take it back to Wal-Mart and use it as a stepping stone to something better. I decided to truely compare it to my current 19 inch TV. I put the DirecTV box on top of the TV and this TV on top of the box and hooked up both TV's at the same time. I stepped back and turned them on. This is when this TV can truely be appreciated. The picture is sharper and brighter. The blurryness that I thought I had seen before is also in the regular tube TV and is seen when I moved closer to it. The sound still leaves a little to be desired, even when compared to the analog tube TV. Overall, its a great buy to replace our 19" bedroom TV (especially since I won it for free!)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CharlestonChillin
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Cheap
1/8/2008

Customer review by Mavsfan

2.0 stars 1/8/2008 by Mavsfan
by Mavsfan

I bought this because I just wanted a good bedroom TV that didn't take up much space. I brought it home and found that the picture was over saturated with color, and while watching a Mavericks game the players legs turned blue when they were inside the painted (blue) area on the court. It was freaky and I couldn't adjust the color, except to black & white, to get it out. It doesn't have enough adequate adjustments. DVD's looked ok, but not like an HDTV should. I took it back and got a different brand which is much better.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mavsfan
Woodward, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
If only people were smarter...
1/15/2008

Customer review by ekozy1

4.0 stars 1/15/2008 by ekozy1
by ekozy1

Ok, I bought this TV and have had it set up since Christmas Day. Being a SMART consumer, I researched the product before I purchased it. Instead of people complaining about the horrible sound, go out and spend $30-$50 on a good set of computer speakers (2 speakers and a subwoofer). Then the TV will sound MUCH better, in fact, surround sound quality. The picture is difficult to tweak, but after many attempts I was able to find the best settings and the TV looks great. This little TV has MORE than satisfied me. The ONLY negative aspect is the lack of an HDMI connection. But if you connect an HD-DVD Player to this set with an S-Video cord, the picture is still great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ekozy1
Chesterton, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bad Buy
2/5/2008

Customer review by ChevyShopper

2.0 stars 2/5/2008 by ChevyShopper
by ChevyShopper

I purchased this to use in the kitchen, and the size was just right. As soon as I set it up, my husband commented that it had lousy sound - and my husband is partially deaf! If he noticed it, you know it was bad. Well, we decided to keep it anyway. About 3 weeks later, we started losing sound altogether on different stations. So back to WalMart it went. And, yes, I know we could have purchased additional speakers. But why should we have to? We purchased a working tv. Other tv's in this size and price range have adequate sound, so Emerson should be able to provide good sound as well. Save your money, time and aggravation. Buy another tv.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChevyShopper
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
I don't see anything majorly wrong with it...
2/16/2010

Customer review by Shermdawg

4.0 stars 2/16/2010 by Shermdawg
by Shermdawg

I've had this TV for over a year now and I can't say I've had any complaints so far. I haven't had much of a chance to hear the TV's sound quality, 'cause until just recently I've been using surround sound hooked up to my DVD player... and seeing as I only watch movies on this tv, I've never really used the TV's audio... But I'd say the only issue I've had with this TV is simply that it doesn't have an HDMI hookup... but I knew that when I got it because Emerson isn't a supporting brand of HDMI, so it's cool. But the visual is definitely much clearer than my old tv, so I approve!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shermdawg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
You are likely to be disappointed
12/28/2007

Customer review by ConsciousConsumer

2.0 stars 12/28/2007 by ConsciousConsumer
by ConsciousConsumer

I purchased the TV for my bedroom. I just wanted something small to watch movies. It is an Emerson, it looks great and it was on sale at the time, so I thought I was getting a good buy. The color is bad and adjusting it is fruitless. The minute you think you've got it, you change the channel to find that the color works only for the channel you are on at present. It is either too colorful or bright, or not colorful or bright enough. No matter what I and my assistant did, we could not get a favorable picture adjustment.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ConsciousConsumer
Alexandria, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cheap price gets you cheap TV!!
12/31/2007

Customer review by Tbird3family

2.0 stars 12/31/2007 by Tbird3family
by Tbird3family

Purchased at Walmart store for $198.00 and thought it would be great for our kitchen. We had a 15" Polaroid LCD first but wanted a bigger screen. First, this TV does not work with the Dish network remote. Only the channel buttons work, but no volume or power. Second, it sounds like you are listening to the TV in a tin can. You have to have the volume all the way up to 40 in order to hear it from a distance. And last, the pixel quality was terrible. We took it back and bought the 19" Polaroid and love that one!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tbird3family
Desert, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Worth every single red cent.
12/9/2007

Customer review by bluecloud

4.0 stars 12/9/2007 by bluecloud
by bluecloud

I got this product to replace a 13 inch old tube I got tired of squinting at to see. This tv is a decent size for a bedroom. I got it for about 260 and lets face it's almost impossible to get any lcd tv for under 300 dollars, never mind a good quality product. The analog channels will require a really good antenna(try phillips), but the HD channels are as clear as cable. The setup is a breeze, you literally just hit setup on the remote! This is the best bang for your buck.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bluecloud
Brooklyn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not worth $287.00
12/27/2007

Customer review by airwolf

3.0 stars 12/27/2007 by airwolf
by airwolf

Bought this on black Friday for $198.00 and for this price not a bad deal. The digital tuner works fine and so does the analog but you need a really good out door antenna. The picture and speakers aren't bad but you are not going to get what it's big brothers have in sound or picture quilty. Sets this size are really computer monitors with built in TV tuners. IF your going to pay $287.00 better to pay more and buy another set and pass this buy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
airwolf
ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
SoSo
2/9/2008

Customer review by brbBob

4.0 stars 2/9/2008 by brbBob
by brbBob

Had to mess around with the picture settings for a bit to get it to my taste. Sound quality is very poor but what do you expect from like 1" speakers I have never seen a true flat panel tv or monitor with good sound $30.00 to $100.00 will get you a really nice set of PC speakers that will blow you away. So far have not been able to test it yet with HD but with analog tv and pc speakers i have no real complaints about this little tv.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brbBob
FLORIDA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worth It
1/19/2008

Customer review by elvenwhisper

4.0 stars 1/19/2008 by elvenwhisper
by elvenwhisper

I bought this for my kitchen and it serves its purpose well. The sound quality is not the greatest, but I hooked speakers up and it sounds wonderful. The picture quality is very good, but sometimes seems pixelated. That could be related to the fact it's HD and the movies I'm watching on it aren't. Easy to hook up to any DVD player. It's the perfect size for a kitchen and I think it was worth every penny! Love it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
elvenwhisper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
unsure
12/10/2007

Customer review by Schenectadyshopper

2.0 stars 12/10/2007 by Schenectadyshopper
by Schenectadyshopper

I purchased this tv for my 14 year old grandson, I was going to buy the Panasonic 19 inch which is a beauty to look at and has a very nice picture. The salesman talked me into this emerson a 100.00 cheaper and I brought it. I opened it last night before wrapping it and it is ugly! I pray that it works well or I will have to go back and get the Panasonic and pay more. Look at it first, its beyond plain.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Schenectadyshopper
Schenectady, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews