Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 22 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

22 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

22 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-15 of 15 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great show; HORRIBLE packaging..
1/11/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 1/11/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The contents of the discs themselves is pretty good. From what I've read elsewhere, this is the same DVD transfer as used on the full series set released in 2004, so there's no 'remastered' video quality or anything. The shows are in Dolby Digital 5.1 and there is mention on wikipedia that TNG was one of the first TV shows shot in 5.1. The menu system kept changing throughout the series. Not every season, but every other season or so, they'd go to a different menu system. The last disc of each season has usually only 2 episodes on it so there's room left for the 'season extras'. This is comprised of mission logs, production notes, and usually an indepth profile of one of the main characters. These are a great addition to the set and are worth checking out. I am in the middle of the last season (season 7) at the moment, so I cannot yet comment on the last episode nor the extra 20th anniversary DVD at the end of the set. However, I have read (and can see) that the last episode has a DVD all to its own. Before, I understand this episode was split into two one hour episodes for TV and that several scenes were cut due to this and they've supposedly been restored into one full length feature. I have had a few instances of episodes 'freezing' and getting stuck while playing and a few times an episode wouldn't launch from the menu. This didn't happen too often and usually just restarting the disc or the player fixed the problem. The video is full screen, not widescreen. The packaging, however, is a totally different story. It is TERRIBLE, and very, very cheaply put together. As you can see in the picture above, it's a cube. Once the outer plastic is off, the cube is surrounded by a clear plastic box. This box is made of some EXTREMELY brittle plastic that breaks VERY easily. In fact, when you open the flaps at the top to get a set of discs out, they will fall back in your way. The natural thing to do is fold the flaps back so they crease a bit and stay open, right? WRONG - they will break right off with only one or two creasings like that. Mine broke off right away, on both sets I bought (more on that later). I ended up taking some wide, clear packing tape and taping and supporting the three flaps making a hinge with the tape. I then taped the inside and outside of all 4 corners of the box to strengthen it. It is VERY flimsy and very cheap. The discs themselves are mounted on green double-sided DVD trays that are also VERY brittle. They crack and the corners will chip off and break very easily. The trays are grouped together into 3 groups of 9 trays. Each group of trays is TAPED along one end to act as a hinge. So when you get a group out, you flip through it like a book. This tape is bound to give out as time and repeated openings/closings occur. Each season typically has 7 discs. Each disc is lablelled with the season number, the disc number and the episodes on the disc. The set I have now is my 2nd set. The first one was very badly damaged in shipipng because it was sent to me in just a bubble lined envelope. Many of the corners of the trays were completely broken off, and many other trays were cracked. I really couldn't believe something this fragile and expensive would be shipped out in a bubble envelope. So, I sent it back. The 2nd set came in a box packed with air pillows. While much better packing, there was still one or two corners broken and a few cracked trays. This just goes to show how brittle and cheap the packing is on these sets. Best recommendation I have is to reinforce the outer box like I did, and/or take all the DVDs out and put them in a vinyl DVD zipper case. Then, either keep the packing on a shelf somewhere if you want to keep all the peices of the set, or just throw the packaging in the trash where it belongs. Most of the bad ratings I gave were for the packaging. For the $300 charged, it's a very shoddy, chincy, cheap peice of work that for the 20th Anniversary of such a major show like this, should've been done a LOT better.

Was this review helpful? (34) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Geneseo, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bad disks
11/21/2007

Customer review by AirForceGuy

4.0 stars 11/21/2007 by AirForceGuy
by AirForceGuy

Great series and a great show for an exceptional price...too bad some of the disks freeze up or skip and they don't carry the item in store.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AirForceGuy
Scottsdale, Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
excellent
3/22/2008

Customer review by JediSensei

5.0 stars 3/22/2008 by JediSensei
by JediSensei

I am pleased with this product. Some other reviews said the cases were a little flimsey so I got an album to store the disks in. Since there are 49 dvd's in the set, I feel this will work out well.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JediSensei
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good times again!
2/12/2011

Customer review by Number1SyfyFan

5.0 stars 2/12/2011 by Number1SyfyFan
by Number1SyfyFan

Ok I'm a trekie and having all 7 seasons of the next generation is very enjoyable. This package comes in an atractive box with the Star Fleet logos which is a real eye catcher on my shelf. The disk were all in good shape and all worked. Ya I got red eyes from watching them all one after another. If your a trekie too then this is a must have. Voyager is next on my want list.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Number1SyfyFan
Denver Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Quality Box but Short on Labeling
4/4/2012

Customer review by Sikobonden

4.0 stars 4/4/2012 by Sikobonden
by Sikobonden

I bought the complete series as a gift. I was disappointed to discover that there are no episode and information slips in the cases, but I found that fact before purchasing. All the new NG Complete Series boxes are like that. Everything else is organized and includes extras. My sister was very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sikobonden
Eastern NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
STNG Complete Series
10/21/2010

Customer review by Axor

5.0 stars 10/21/2010 by Axor
by Axor

This is the least expensive way to own a legitimate copy of the entire Star Trek - The Next Generation series. On a HD-TV, the picture quality is pretty darned good even though this set is not of "Re-Mastered" or "BluRay" quality. STNG was shot in Dolby 5:1 and you get excellent quality sound off these discs with a good Dolby 5:1 sound system. I have 2 friends who also have this set and their packaging differs from mine: All 3 sets are the same size, have the same silver bottom container and the same clear top cover but, my set has 1 disc per side of the plastic disc cases and their sets have 2 discs per side. The disc menu does change every season or two, but they are neat and easy to navigate. The last disc of each season usually has only 2 episodes and contains season "extras", including: Mission logs, Production notes, and a Character Profile of one of the main characters. These are pretty neat and are worth checking out. The final 2-hour episode is shown here in the original uncut version as a full-length feature. I have had several episodes freeze-up while playing - so there is a minor encoding problem on some discs, but I was able to get around this by restarting the dvd each time. The cube packaging is very, very cheaply put together and the clear shell is brittle plastic that breaks easily. The green trays that the discs themselves are mounted on are also very brittle and easy to damage. Each season typically has 7 discs and each disc is labeled with the season, disc and episode numbers.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Axor
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Star Trek TNG complete dvd set
1/19/2010

Customer review by spradthor

5.0 stars 1/19/2010 by spradthor
by spradthor

great colletion at about half the cost when it was first released. A must for star trek fans.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
spradthor
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Tea. Earl Grey. Hot.
5/17/2010

Customer review by WeaselSnout

5.0 stars 5/17/2010 by WeaselSnout
by WeaselSnout

I've only watched the first two seasons, but so far there are no malfunctions, except that when I got the shipment, the clear cover had a tear up the corner, and one of the poor widdle green cases had a part busted off. So don't be surprised when that happens to you. Wal-Mart is one of the cheapest ways to get this set with it still being Kosher, and not a bootleg. Someone once called these episodes "VHS quality." But that's not Wal-Mart's fault and this is the best you're going to get from Paramount for a while. And frankly, I think Data never looked so adorable.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WeaselSnout
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/13/2009

Customer review by einspirations

4.0 stars 1/13/2009 by einspirations
by einspirations

I got the product as a gift. As said in other reviews, the packaging is not well made, and not reusable. Expect to buy a cd case to hold the set. The case was broken in several places when it arrived, due to poor packaging.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
einspirations
Wausau, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Decent.
1/15/2008

Customer review by jupie

4.0 stars 1/15/2008 by jupie
by jupie

If you're looking to buy it all in one go, it's a good setup. However expect to buy a cd binder or some other form of storage at the same time as the packaging (the green part anyway) is *terrible*. A paper thin connection goes between each of the trays of the CD holding part and it pulls apart easier than tissue paper. That's the only flaw I've found so far.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jupie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Star Trek The Next Generation
12/21/2009

Customer review by RoadRunner31

5.0 stars 12/21/2009 by RoadRunner31
by RoadRunner31

This is an outstanding product. You dio not have to worry about cutting out commercials at all. I would recommend this product to any star trek fan.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RoadRunner31
Bluffton, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The best star trek
3/25/2012

Customer review by dragon35

5.0 stars 3/25/2012 by dragon35
by dragon35

Next generation is the best star trek.It has the best cast.the best story line.picard is the best.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dragon35
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
more than expected
7/31/2014

Customer review by seekeroftruth031179

5.0 stars 7/31/2014 by seekeroftruth031179
by seekeroftruth031179

The box set was more then I expected. The only downside is the case is very flimsy. They need to use better materials and design for this past of the set.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
seekeroftruth031179
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
movie
10/20/2014

Customer review by 123wrench

5.0 stars 10/20/2014 by 123wrench
by 123wrench

A+++++

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
123wrench
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awful! skips and freezes constantly
4/24/2013

Customer review by bargainguru2010

1.0 stars 4/24/2013 by bargainguru2010
by bargainguru2010

I am an avid Trekker and this is so disappointing. I viewed this set the first time and it played perfect after that nothing but skips and freezes up. Way to expensive to only view one time. I do not let anyone put so much as a fingerprint on my discs I am very picky and keep them in perfect condition. I even bought a new padded wallet just for my Star Trek collections because the boxes are not worth 1/2 the price. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THESE

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bargainguru2010
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month