Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 580 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

580 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

580 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
359
4 stars
196
3 stars
21
2 stars
3
1 stars
1
1-20 of 510 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 510 total reviews
1-20 of 510 reviews
Pretty good machine
5/17/2007

Customer review by jollygreenjoe

4.0 stars 5/17/2007 by jollygreenjoe
by jollygreenjoe

I DO NOT recommend the ultrasharp monitor. I ordered my 521 with one and I couldn't tell difference from a standard flat panel monitor. Also they don't tell you that the ultrasharp requires you to upgrade the video card on the PC in order to have digital video output on the PC. I had to order and install the upgraded card myself. Even after this upgrade i still don't know why I spent the extra money on the Ultrasharp monitor (picture did not improve). I did call tech support and they assured me I had the correct drivers/setup/hardware. Vista stinks!!! I don't think it's any better for me than XP was but unfortunately you can't order a Dell with XP anymore. Expect MANY software (and hardware) compatibility issues with Vista for hardware and software you add in yourself (not part of your Dell 521 package). Overall a very fast machine for a home office user, pretty good price once they threw in the free hard drive upgrade and extra RAM (for total of 2GB).

jollygreenjoe
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dell Office Computer
9/20/2007

Customer review by DoctorsCPA

4.0 stars 9/20/2007 by DoctorsCPA
by DoctorsCPA

Perfect computer for the price. I have six Dells' and when I needed one today and not in two weeks I went to Sam's Club and purchased this one. This system has the identical components that you will find on the Dell website and cost less. There was no penalty for buying it here. The system components that were picked for this system were set up perfectly and are a good match for future needs. There will be no need to upgrade anything. Fast, efficient and Vista is great.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DoctorsCPA
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome
9/22/2007

Customer review by PastorG

5.0 stars 9/22/2007 by PastorG
by PastorG

I have had this computer for two month now. It is wonderful. No problems what so ever. I really would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PastorG
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No 1
9/4/2007

Customer review by farmer765

5.0 stars 9/4/2007 by farmer765
by farmer765

Great computer

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
farmer765
Tusscaloosa, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Perfectly Satisfied
10/12/2007

Customer review by LoveToKnit

5.0 stars 10/12/2007 by LoveToKnit
by LoveToKnit

I am so glad I ordered The Dell Dimension E521 Bundle. I really love the blue tooth keyboard and mouse. I like the way Dell had clear instructions for each item in the bundle. I followed the directions and the system did all the work. The Welcome Center popped up and I was on my way with the set up. This is my first time using Vista and I like it. Setting up my system seemed so much easier. I work from home and the 19" monitor is so much better on my eyes than my laptop.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveToKnit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Dimension E521
5/17/2007

Customer review by LisaRose

5.0 stars 5/17/2007 by LisaRose
by LisaRose

This is the best computer. I had 2 emachines before the Dell, and couldn't have been more disappointed. Within a couple months, needed repairs due to faulty hardware. Had to send back 3 times, but it was still never repaired. Did alot of research, and asked for alot of advice on which brand to buy next. "Computer people" hands down, recommended Dell. I had been told that if the Dell would need service after the warranty expires, the machine is very easy, and low cost to repair. After using the Dell for a couple months, have had NO problems with it, and is functioning perfectly. Couldn't be happier! A family member has had her Dell for 7 years, and has had no problems. Thank you, Dell.

LisaRose
Madison, WI.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good computer minus the Vista
5/28/2007

Customer review by customerxyz

4.0 stars 5/28/2007 by customerxyz
by customerxyz

I would recommend the upgrades as far as the ram to 2 gigs, the higher Athlon processors, and the video card to the ATI video card. It really isn't necessary to upgrade the hard drive unless you make movies or store a lot of things. Don't be scared to us Athlon either. It is a really good processor. I actually have the Athlon 64 X2 4400+ 2.3Ghz but that processor wasn't available to select. It would have been better without Vista right now. There are too many crashes present that makes the system suffer for right now. Let them work out the bugs first at Microsoft and then put it on your system.

customerxyz
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for a small business operation
5/16/2007

Customer review by Chevymetal

4.0 stars 5/16/2007 by Chevymetal
by Chevymetal

We have bought a total of six of these computers over the past year and they have been great. We have purchased all of these with the Windows XP Pro operating system which also works great for us since we have all the computers networked. If you plan to use your own printer please keep in mind that there are no parallel ports on these machines so you will either have to install a parallel port card or you will need a USB to parallel adapter cable. I usually try to buy these when there is a special and when I do they are hard to beat for the money and reliability.

Chevymetal
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value
5/17/2007

Customer review by TheSchwab

4.0 stars 5/17/2007 by TheSchwab
by TheSchwab

Please be careful with some of the verbage abotu video card memory. I initially ordered this with what i thought was a 256MB video card but when it came, it was only a 128 mb video card that chared another 128 system memory. If you run games or kigh end graphics make sure you get a full fledged 256mb card. I also went with the dual CD/DVD drives BUT again be cautious of the wording, I thought I was getting a DVD burner and all I got was a CD Burner and a DVD drive. Luckily I have a DVD burner and am using it through one of the USB ports with an adaptor.

TheSchwab
KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dell + AMD= Great Computer
5/14/2007

Customer review by billyd1000

5.0 stars 5/14/2007 by billyd1000
by billyd1000

A lot of people do not like the X1300 Pro card, but for intermediate 3-D games it does a really good job. The integrated sound is suprisingly good. The two points that really suprised me were the really good looking and functioning case, and the biggest suprise is the quietness of this computer. I have had 2 previous Dell Desktops, and my Wife has a Dimension 8400, so I know how noisey Dell computers are. This one is whisper quiet. Great job on the sound dampening Dell! Oh yea, did I mention AMD 64X2 5000+ Processor? Very Good Value on this one!!

billyd1000
Southern Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for the Money
5/16/2007

Customer review by DomenicR

4.0 stars 5/16/2007 by DomenicR
by DomenicR

Don't buy this with the intent of adding all the extras yourself, its a pain to find S-ATA DVD-Burners, if you want extra options just purchase them from Dell. Just be prepared for your old stuff not to work with this machine, since it is running Vista (a lot of external drive cases don't work right with Vista), and Vista drivers can hard to find at times. It also won't take your old mice and keyboards (USB slots only). But for the money its a nice machine and with the extra GB of Ram I put in (I bought it with 512) it runs pretty nice.

DomenicR
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very nice moderate performance PC
5/17/2007

Customer review by LittleJ

5.0 stars 5/17/2007 by LittleJ
by LittleJ

I like this quiet fan the most. I could leave it on without hearing any noise from the PC. It comes with the seagate harddisk, which is very quiet as well. But it doesn't have parallel ATA port, so you may not be able to add your old harddisk into the PC. The performance is decent from this price. Alton 64 X2 (dual core) should be quite enough for most applications. I guess it will be faster with more memory, although i haven't tried yet. Basically, if you want a quiet and decent performance PC, it is really a good choice.

LittleJ
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A superb product
5/15/2007

Customer review by carzak

5.0 stars 5/15/2007 by carzak
by carzak

For those with Athlon 64 X2 processors, I would recommend downloading the dual core optimizer software provided by AMD if you plan on running games. Most games do not take advantage of the dual core architecture making them load and run more slowly without the optimizer. If you have a large amount of data to transfer from your old computer, the fastest and easiest way to do it is with the Belkin Easy Transfer Cable, which I regretfully did not buy with the computer (Dell has a great discount on it if you do).

carzak
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Bang for the Buck
5/17/2007

Customer review by colonelskullman

5.0 stars 5/17/2007 by colonelskullman
by colonelskullman

Due to the mother board failing I was without this computer for almost eight days. No big deal, since I had a laptop to work on. Have Dells at work and they are truly bullet proof. Run 24/7 for years with no trouble. Very reliable. As they say, computers are electronic devices and they do fail. Just so happens it happened to me. One last thought: Whoever designed this thing did an outstanding job as mother board is not burried under hard drive, etc. Took the tech less than three minutes to remove from case.

colonelskullman
San Bernardino County California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A new dimension in productivity!
5/31/2007

Customer review by GeekChick

5.0 stars 5/31/2007 by GeekChick
by GeekChick

I did upgrade to 4 Gigs of memory because I also had Windows Vista Ultimate installed and I added Microsoft Office 2007 Enterprise Edition after I received the computer. I wanted to be able to really use Vista and this thing has no problem handling the full version as well as the full version of Office 2007. I would definatley recommend this computer to the average user but if you want to run Ultimate and Office 2007, I would upgrade to 4 Gigs of RAM! I am very happy with my brand new Dell Dimension E521!

GeekChick
Temple, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Getting It Done - And Nicely
5/17/2007

Customer review by Taybaeo

5.0 stars 5/17/2007 by Taybaeo
by Taybaeo

This has to be .. pfff... the tenth Dell system that I've purchased or recommended in the past five years. I'm the local go to guy in our neighborhood for computers, and when it comes to by my own systems - I go with Dell. Here's the thing, the price tag on this system was so low, and the performance - wow - that is awesome. If you are contemplating a buy, and you wonder if this is enough power for an aggressive (yet stingy) home user - BING you found the right system here.

Taybaeo
Windham, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good starter
5/15/2007

Customer review by WebDesigner

5.0 stars 5/15/2007 by WebDesigner
by WebDesigner

The only thing that I would suggest... not really a con. Get at least 2gb of RAM for this machine. I ordered this and when I got everything, I was shocked to find that the video card that came with, was using approx. 66mb of RAM. I upgraded the RAM immediately. The machine was for a close friend who needed it for word processing more than anything else... The other thing, vista took a long time to load! I hope microsoft works that out...

WebDesigner
Fremont, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
An All-Around Great Computer
6/19/2007

Customer review by ReneeEliza

5.0 stars 6/19/2007 by ReneeEliza
by ReneeEliza

When I received my computer, I noticed a hum when the DVD drive was running. Dell was dedicated to solving the problem ASAP and sent a very friendly repair man to my home to investigate. It turns out that my computer desk was not level and everything was solved simply by moving the computer to a better surface - how silly of me! But the repair man was very nice about it an even helped us connect our DSL while he was there. Thanks Dell!

ReneeEliza
Stevens Point, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great computer with XP, not good for Vista
5/17/2007

Customer review by RickyTheTech

4.0 stars 5/17/2007 by RickyTheTech
by RickyTheTech

I got this PC for about 359 dollars with a dual core processor, 512 Mb of ram, and a 256 Mb video card. Not the mention the free upgrade to 160Mb Hardrive. That is the deal of the century if you ask me. I ordered it with XP because i hate Vista so far, and Im not going to upgrade to Vista until their second service pack comes out. I added a extra gig of RAM, and BAM the computer is great. I use it to play my games, and go online.

RickyTheTech
Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice bang for the buck with ability to upgrade
5/16/2007

Customer review by Steelwells

4.0 stars 5/16/2007 by Steelwells
by Steelwells

I think that this is a decent machine - it performs well for the money spent, and offers some upgradeability for the future. You can add RAM or optical drives fairly easily, and it appears that even upgrading th CPU would not be that hard. Dell systems are generally very quiet, which is one of the main reasons I made this purchase. Just be aware that you might have additional noise depending on your optical drive choice.

Steelwells
Wauwatosa, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 510 total reviews
1-20 of 510 reviews