Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1702 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

1702 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

1702 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
931
4 stars
487
3 stars
108
2 stars
61
1 stars
115
1-20 of 1511 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1511 total reviews
1-20 of 1511 reviews
Merely ok...
9/12/2009

Customer review by pumbaa

2.0 stars 9/12/2009 by pumbaa
by pumbaa

I got the impression from reviews, that this mop would jet scolding hot water into my tile and get all of the dirt out of the deep down porous areas. I was stunned when I first turned it on to see it dribbling a little weak stream of lukewarm water onto my floor. Where was the hot steam jet action I was promised? This mop is about as effective as pouring a cup of warm (not hot) water onto my floor and wiping it around. I can see how it would work to maintain an already pristine floor, but most of us buying this are looking to clean an already dirty one! Pros: Stands upright on its own. Looks nice. Easy to use. Heats up quickly. Cons: Steam peters out slowly, no pressure behind it. Says clearly in the directions that it doesn't actually sanitize unless you hold it directly over an area for 15 seconds. The cord is too short to reach from one end of my kitchen to the other (and my kitchen is TINY). Doesn't leave areas smelling clean like cleaner, the pad smells a little like a wet dog.

Was this review helpful? (37) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pumbaa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Quick and Helpful
12/15/2008

Customer review by kwityerbeechin

5.0 stars 12/15/2008 by kwityerbeechin
by kwityerbeechin

I love this product! My entire first floor is either hardwood or linoleum with little divets in it. I hate that floor! When I would mop, the dirt would dry down in those divets so I would always have to re-mop the floor. On top of that, the floor is white! I never felt like mopping the floor really got it clean in the first place even though I do it once a week at least. When I saw this item I thought I would give it a try. The price I felt was reasonable and I trust Bissell products. My floor was really pretty dirty when I used it. I hadn't mopped it for 2 weeks so I really wasn't expecting much. I was so pleasantly surprised! The floor came so clean! When I was finished I really expected the pad to be filthy. It wasn't! I was stunned, that pad should have been really dirty! I now mop even more often .It takes me much less time and I get better results than with that dirty old mop. I felt like I was just swishing the dirt around with it. I tell everyone about this item. It is so worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kwityerbeechin
Cincinnati, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Expectations...that were not met.
3/21/2010

Customer review by Wideyedinnocents

3.0 stars 3/21/2010 by Wideyedinnocents
by Wideyedinnocents
Walmart associate

So ordered this steam mop after comparing a ton of them. I ordered it because I had read mostly positive reviews, the price was reasonable and it was a Bissell, and I have never had a problem or anything bad to say about any of the products that I had bought from Bissell. I was really excited about my steam mop when it arrived in the mail. The excitement didnt last long. It was easy enough to set up, and to get things ready. After that it was downhill. I waited for my little light to come on and when it finally did, I used it for a grand total of 30 seconds and then the light went off and never came back on. Not even after unplugging it and replugging it. I tried everything, I waited for a few hours, I waited for a few days, hoping maybe something needed to dry on the inside, never worked again. I finally gave up and took it back to the store. The door greeter made the comment,"Wow..these things must be terrible..its the third one to come back this morning!" I was really let down.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wideyedinnocents
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Walmart associate
A whole new level of clean!
7/13/2009

Customer review by gaseafan

5.0 stars 7/13/2009 by gaseafan
by gaseafan

I purchased this product to clean my tile floor in my kitchen, which seemed to stay dirty no matter how often I cleaned it. Prior to using the steam cleaner, I used traditional mopping and the Swiffer wetjet. It seemed like no matter how much I cleaned, the water in the bucket or the swiffer pad was always dirty. After using the Bissell just one time, I could see the dirt that came off the floor on the cover and the floor felt cleaner to my bare feet than it ever had. I mopped again 1 week later and ...NO DIRT. How is this possible, I thought? Then I realized that all the cleaning I had done before left a residue that attracted as much dirt as I had cleaned up. This appliance will save a fortune in cleaning solutions and prevent me from having to clean as often, simply because the dirt and grime isn't being attracted to the floor. It's easy to use, small to store and very quick to mop with. I would highly recommend this product!

Was this review helpful? (30) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gaseafan
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Product
2/3/2008

Customer review by bashfullee

5.0 stars 2/3/2008 by bashfullee
by bashfullee

I have had this product for about 4 months now and I just love it. It has made cleaning the kitchen floor so easy. It is so great to simply add water and go. I do use distilled water because we have well water but the expense for a gallon of distilled water is nothing compared to the price of floor cleaning products. This product took stains off of my floor that had been there for years (window chalk, paint, etc.) It is so nice to walk on the floor in bare feet or socks and feel a smooth, clean floor. My floor was never this clean, not even when I scrubbed it on my hands and knees with a scrub brush. It is also so great to be able to throw the pad in the wash and not have to keep buying refills. The only con I have found with this product is that is does not get along the edges well. On occasion, I have to use a rag to wipe along the edge, but not every time I use it. Really though, nothing to complain about. I can do that in place of scrubbing the entire floor. I would recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bashfullee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works for me
9/30/2009

Customer review by bullheaded

5.0 stars 9/30/2009 by bullheaded
by bullheaded

Bought a Steamfast Steam mop last year and it cracked twice on me, leaking water all over the floor. The first time it was within the warranty period but the second time was 13 months in. All the steam mops out there are made of plastic so I replaced my Steamfast with a Bissell that looked like it was built better. It especially feels stronger where the swivel mop neck and handle meet. I like the fact that it is built heavier and tougher and could care less if it is 2 pounds heavier than my old Steamfast, just as long as it doesn't crack into pieces. I also like the trigger so you can release steam when you want instead of it constantly spewing steam and dripping water everywhere. Works much better then the SteamFast and can apply pressure to the mop handle without worry of it cracking. The Bissell works good on my dark laminate flooring but works excellent to clean linoleum bathroom floors that are gunked up with hairspray. If your pad is new and clean, you will have few streaks to deal with. If you’re debating between a Steamfast and a Bissell, I highly recommend the Bissell. Hopefully, it works well past the warranty period. Good luck and hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (354) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bullheaded
Bismarck, ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
If I could give it 10 stars, I would!
6/20/2009

Customer review by audreyKW

5.0 stars 6/20/2009 by audreyKW
by audreyKW
Top 1000 contributor

I ordered this online, and it was sitting on my doorstep the next day. I'd heard so many good things about this steam mop, that I immediately dug into the box and went to work. Assembly is 2 screws. Couldn't be easier. I was afraid this product wouldn't live up to it's hype, but I was pleasantly surprised. It's very sturdy, and you just press a button for the steam to come out, unlike what I've read about the competitor. I have twin toddlers and laminate and tile covering the entire downstairs. Needless to say, my biggest issue is dealing with sticky, gooey messes. The Bissell dealt with those effortly, when generally I would have to get after them on my hands and knees. I did my entire downstairs in, literally, 15 minutes when normally it would take me a good hour or two to get it as clean as this mop did. As for the complaints about the mop smearing dirt around and streaking, I had none of those issues. Like a regular mop, if your floor is really dirty you're going to have to stop and ring out the pad and/or change it out for the extra one. All in all, I couldn't be happier and would recommend to anyone who's sitting on the fence to go ahead and buy one. You won't regret it!

Was this review helpful? (599) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
audreyKW
Kingwood, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
WOW!!!
10/8/2009

Customer review by XMallShopper

5.0 stars 10/8/2009 by XMallShopper
by XMallShopper

This thing is AWESOME!!! I have tendinitis in my forearms as well as problems with my neck and shoulders and this thing is GREAT! I admit that up until now I did not frequently wash my floors because of the severe pain it would cause me, and getting my husband to help was, well... he's a husband... Anyway, I have a small kitchen, 2 small bathrooms and a small entry of no-wax flooring, so the cord length was not a problem for me. I got through the whole thing with 1 filling and a little water left over [soft tap water]. I started on my 2 year old kit./bath downstairs. They are "low gloss". They came out great. My technique was to hold down the steam lever [very easy!] going up and release on the return. No problems with water puddling. The water container never dropped off - sturdy machine. The best part for me physically -- NO SCRUBBING! Just let it glide! I changed to the 2nd pad when I noticed dirty water on the last of the 4 floors. After changing, no problem - clean, dry floor. I would highly recommend this product to anyone, especially anyone with physical problems. Now maybe I have floors clean enough to eat off of! [But probably not as I have a dog and 4 cats...]

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
XMallShopper
Scarborough, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Best Product, Best Value
11/17/2009

Customer review by JenBakes

5.0 stars 11/17/2009 by JenBakes
by JenBakes

After much research and comparison I chose this steam mop and I am THRILLED with it. It's offered at a fantastic price, first of all - WalMart's Site-To-Store is so convenient and free shipping. This Bissell is a cinch to assemble, easy to operate, lightweight enough but STURDY, swivels, heats up very quickly and stays ready while you re-fil the ample sized tank. Replacement parts aren't outrageously priced either. It cleaned linoleum flooring back to "looks new" condition and even my bathroom tile floor from the 1950's - grout and all. Get this one!

Was this review helpful? (47) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JenBakes
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Simply the Best
11/7/2007

Customer review by cprqueen

5.0 stars 11/7/2007 by cprqueen
by cprqueen

This is the fifth bissell steam mop I have puirchased - 3 as gifts and 1 for the cabin and 1 for home. It cleans thoroughly without streaking and without leaving large puddles to dry. The mop cloth stays attached so well and washes/dries very well. I just love it - it warms up for use quickly and the new carrying handle is great. I love this thing!

Was this review helpful? (114) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cprqueen
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Can't Live Without It
8/31/2007

Customer review by DomesticEngineer

5.0 stars 8/31/2007 by DomesticEngineer
by DomesticEngineer

Excellent product. Does a great job of cleaning without leaving streaks on tile floors. Is easy to handle in tight spaces and under cabinets. Negative: Replacement filters and pad replacements are too expensive, i.e., recent order 2 filters with 1 pad over $40.00 with tax and shipping.

Was this review helpful? (269) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DomesticEngineer
San Marcos, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Finally!!
11/17/2008

Customer review by orangedaisy

5.0 stars 11/17/2008 by orangedaisy
by orangedaisy

I finally found a mop that doesn't make me DREAD cleaning my floors!! This little gem is easy to handle and maneuvers like a champ! I couldn't believe it when I was actually able to maneuver it behind the toilet, that sealed the deal. My floor sparkled when I was done. The removable cloth pad was easy to remove and clean. And filling up the water tank was also amazingly simple!! I am more than impressed and so happy that I won't have to fill buckets and wring out dirty old mops any more. Buying refills is a very small price to pay for the ease and convenience this has brought to my cleaning routine. I highly recommend this product! Thank you Bissell!!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
orangedaisy
Broomall, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent product
9/5/2007

Customer review by sardana60

5.0 stars 9/5/2007 by sardana60
by sardana60

Love, love, love, love this sweet little machine. I had the whole first floor retiled about three years ago and I had to get on my hands and knees to constantly mop or spot scrub the floor to keep uit shiny and clean. I read the great reviews about the Bissell 1867 and finally purchased it. One of my best buy to date!!! Cleaned my whole ceramic tile floor with ease. Easy to operate. I purchased additional pads and water filters. Thanks, Wal-Mart for offering such fantastic cleaning tool. Cons: Cord could be a little longer.

Was this review helpful? (73) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sardana60
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
6/10/2009

Customer review by Bradensmama

4.0 stars 6/10/2009 by Bradensmama
by Bradensmama

After spending several days researching steam mops I decided to purchase The Bissell Steam Mop Hard Floor Cleaner. I really liked the swivel head & it seemed like it was a bit more sturdy other steam mops on the market. I did read several reviews about it leaving your floors very wet after mopping, but decided to purchase it and give it a go. After purchasing it & using it several times, I will agree that it does leave your floor very wet if you hold the trigger down the entire time you are mopping. I called Bissell's customer service & was told not to hold the trigger down the entire time, but in 15 second intervals. When I tried this technique (hold for 15 seconds, release for 15 seconds) my floors did dry much quicker and it still did a nice job cleaning. Overall, seems to be a good product & I would recommend it as a good hard floor cleaner.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bradensmama
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Finally doing it right, after 2 years!
7/3/2012

Customer review by BlushingMommy

5.0 stars 7/3/2012 by BlushingMommy
by BlushingMommy

A few days ago I would have given my steam mop a 4 out of 5 stars. I love it, am always amazed at what it can power through, and it makes me feel like my floors are truly clean. However, I was always left with my floors soaking wet. For me that was annoying, but a small price to pay. Today I started looking for some tips on using my steam mop on my new tile floors, and figured out that I've been using it wrong all along! I always have the trigger depressed because I assumed (you know what happens when you assume?) a steady stream of steam was needed to really clean the floors, but apparently not! Today I'm mopping again, and looking forward to my floors drying much faster! Also, wanted to say 2 more things, I've had my mop for 2 years and it still works as good as the day I opened the package! And, if your dryer is like mine and eats things occasionally, you can get new replacement pads at Lowe's. I found them online, but much prefer to get them in hand so I don't pay shipping.

BlushingMommy
Cullman, AL
Gender:Female
Will Never Own Another Mop!
2/2/2011

Customer review by TheFarmersWifeNC

5.0 stars 2/2/2011 by TheFarmersWifeNC
by TheFarmersWifeNC

I bought this and was not really sure if it would work or not...our linoleum floors are 11 years old, and living on a farm they have seen their share of dirt and mud...the first use was OK, and it streaked a little, but after that it has been awesome...the steamer is heated and ready to go in under 30 seconds, and my kitchen and laundry room floors are clean and dry in less than 15 minutes...I do used distilled water since we have well water, but it doesn't use a lot of it...I also must mention that I have a 15 month old and another baby on the way, so my floors have to be clean...the steam is 210 degrees according to bissell, and the manual says that to "sanitize" you must put it on the spot that you want sanitized and leave it for 15 seconds...I found that takes some of the shine off of the floor, but I have used that for some of the spills on my floor...I still think that the steam water coming from this unit is much better than the hot tap water turned warm/cold in no time, and it surely cleans better...I do want to get additional mop covers though - this came with two and in my laundry room I clean with one and go back over with a second...

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheFarmersWifeNC
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
OK
9/24/2008

Customer review by angsmar

4.0 stars 9/24/2008 by angsmar
by angsmar

This mop is OK. I'd first seen it on the HSN channel, then went online to read reviews about it. Everyone really seemed to recommend this mop, so I bought it. My hard floors are wood laminate. Previously, I'd been using Swiffer pads, which left my floors very streaky with residue. I'd also tried ammonia & water, or vinegar, which also left streaks. My floors always looked dirty and dingy (I have three dogs and teenagers!). The Bissel Steam Mop really cleaned my floors well, and I was very pleased with the result. There was very little streaking, and no residue at all, since the mop uses only water and no cleaning agent. The mop was easy to put together, and easy to handle. Just plug it in, and it is ready to go in a matter of just a few seconds! I would say that on a scale of 1 - 10, I would rate this mop as a 9. Definitely much better results than with anything else I've tried!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
angsmar
Findlay OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
My floors are CLEAN!
7/7/2009

Customer review by QuebecGirl

5.0 stars 7/7/2009 by QuebecGirl
by QuebecGirl

I truly HATE moping floors. With a traditional mop, the water in the bucket gets dirty and cold within the first few minutes, waste of hot water and energy. After reading many reviews for steam mops on various sites, it seemed that he BISSELL was preferred by many. The swivel head was also a + factor for me. I received my steam mop 2 days after ordering and tried it right away. Putting the mop together was very easy – only 2 screws – and it felt nice in my hands. I gave the mop a real test after a party that made a mess of my floors. The mop was ready to work in less then a minute. I was able to go around and behind the toilet and under the kitchen bar thanks to the swivel head. The pad got dirty very quickly and my vinyl floor went from dull to shiny – no streaks. This mop cleaned up whatever mystery sticky substance was in the kitchen trash can area, removed dirt, salsa, blood, hairspray, hair gel, makeup, dry ketchup, dried up soda, dog saliva and whatever else was on the floor. If the floor got wet, it took from 10 secs to 3 minutes to dry – still faster then the old mop and bucket. Because of its size, it was easy to find storage room. The mop works better with a (relatively) clean pad so take a look and change it when it gets dirty. The 2 pads that come with the mop are just not enough – I ordered 2 extra pads +2 filters from a different site- 25$. The micro fiber pads are washable, a + for my wallet and the environment It does not do corners too well, but I am willing to live with that – the old mop was even worse You can use tap water however distilled water is recommended. The water tank is easy to access and fill, no need to bend over to reach it. Relatively quiet, you can use it while people are sleeping. I no longer worry when my little pets lick the floor since there are no chemicals on it. Other observations: No on/off switch. The water tank can loosen up sometimes, so if the mop sound goes from “pshhhh!” to a buzzing sound, push the water tank back down into the filter, problem solved. The only time I had the pad try to “roll”, it was on backwards – user error. I recommend this product to all my friends and family with hard floors.

Was this review helpful? (200) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QuebecGirl
Casa Grande, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Just what I needed
10/23/2009

Customer review by NoMoreSoreKnees

5.0 stars 10/23/2009 by NoMoreSoreKnees
by NoMoreSoreKnees

I only used this product once-as soon as I received it. I am very pleased with the results. My husband and I are in our 50's and it's getting too hard to get on our hands and knees and scrub the floor. We used it on vinyl in the kitchen and it is just what we needed. Our floor has little niches in the design and there were some dirty spots in those areas before we cleaned. They disappeared immediately! We have soft water and I'm not sure if we will need distilled water as is suggested. We will probably use distilled to keep it working well and doesn't clog up.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NoMoreSoreKnees
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
4th try floor steamer. Returned this one also.
1/12/2016

Customer review by Situ

2.0 stars 1/12/2016 by Situ
by Situ

Cord not long enough. Steam not hot enough, floor streaked. Area cleaned by mop not very large. Mop covers go on nicely - just not big enough. As I found with other steamers, steam comes center and so edges of floor and under cabinets don't get cleaned. Found a buildup at these edges after three uses.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Situ
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 1511 total reviews
1-20 of 1511 reviews