Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1695 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

1695 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

1695 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
926
4 stars
487
3 stars
108
2 stars
60
1 stars
114
1-20 of 1504 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1504 total reviews
1-20 of 1504 reviews
If I could give it 10 stars, I would!
6/20/2009

Customer review by audreyKW

5.0 stars 6/20/2009 by audreyKW
by audreyKW

I ordered this online, and it was sitting on my doorstep the next day. I'd heard so many good things about this steam mop, that I immediately dug into the box and went to work. Assembly is 2 screws. Couldn't be easier. I was afraid this product wouldn't live up to it's hype, but I was pleasantly surprised. It's very sturdy, and you just press a button for the steam to come out, unlike what I've read about the competitor. I have twin toddlers and laminate and tile covering the entire downstairs. Needless to say, my biggest issue is dealing with sticky, gooey messes. The Bissell dealt with those effortly, when generally I would have to get after them on my hands and knees. I did my entire downstairs in, literally, 15 minutes when normally it would take me a good hour or two to get it as clean as this mop did. As for the complaints about the mop smearing dirt around and streaking, I had none of those issues. Like a regular mop, if your floor is really dirty you're going to have to stop and ring out the pad and/or change it out for the extra one. All in all, I couldn't be happier and would recommend to anyone who's sitting on the fence to go ahead and buy one. You won't regret it!

Was this review helpful? (574) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
audreyKW
Kingwood, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Works for me
9/30/2009

Customer review by bullheaded

5.0 stars 9/30/2009 by bullheaded
by bullheaded

Bought a Steamfast Steam mop last year and it cracked twice on me, leaking water all over the floor. The first time it was within the warranty period but the second time was 13 months in. All the steam mops out there are made of plastic so I replaced my Steamfast with a Bissell that looked like it was built better. It especially feels stronger where the swivel mop neck and handle meet. I like the fact that it is built heavier and tougher and could care less if it is 2 pounds heavier than my old Steamfast, just as long as it doesn't crack into pieces. I also like the trigger so you can release steam when you want instead of it constantly spewing steam and dripping water everywhere. Works much better then the SteamFast and can apply pressure to the mop handle without worry of it cracking. The Bissell works good on my dark laminate flooring but works excellent to clean linoleum bathroom floors that are gunked up with hairspray. If your pad is new and clean, you will have few streaks to deal with. If you’re debating between a Steamfast and a Bissell, I highly recommend the Bissell. Hopefully, it works well past the warranty period. Good luck and hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (336) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bullheaded
Bismarck, ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Can't Live Without It
8/31/2007

Customer review by DomesticEngineer

5.0 stars 8/31/2007 by DomesticEngineer
by DomesticEngineer

Excellent product. Does a great job of cleaning without leaving streaks on tile floors. Is easy to handle in tight spaces and under cabinets. Negative: Replacement filters and pad replacements are too expensive, i.e., recent order 2 filters with 1 pad over $40.00 with tax and shipping.

Was this review helpful? (263) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DomesticEngineer
San Marcos, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Simply the Best
11/7/2007

Customer review by cprqueen

5.0 stars 11/7/2007 by cprqueen
by cprqueen

This is the fifth bissell steam mop I have puirchased - 3 as gifts and 1 for the cabin and 1 for home. It cleans thoroughly without streaking and without leaving large puddles to dry. The mop cloth stays attached so well and washes/dries very well. I just love it - it warms up for use quickly and the new carrying handle is great. I love this thing!

Was this review helpful? (108) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cprqueen
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My floors are CLEAN!
7/7/2009

Customer review by QuebecGirl

5.0 stars 7/7/2009 by QuebecGirl
by QuebecGirl

I truly HATE moping floors. With a traditional mop, the water in the bucket gets dirty and cold within the first few minutes, waste of hot water and energy. After reading many reviews for steam mops on various sites, it seemed that he BISSELL was preferred by many. The swivel head was also a + factor for me. I received my steam mop 2 days after ordering and tried it right away. Putting the mop together was very easy – only 2 screws – and it felt nice in my hands. I gave the mop a real test after a party that made a mess of my floors. The mop was ready to work in less then a minute. I was able to go around and behind the toilet and under the kitchen bar thanks to the swivel head. The pad got dirty very quickly and my vinyl floor went from dull to shiny – no streaks. This mop cleaned up whatever mystery sticky substance was in the kitchen trash can area, removed dirt, salsa, blood, hairspray, hair gel, makeup, dry ketchup, dried up soda, dog saliva and whatever else was on the floor. If the floor got wet, it took from 10 secs to 3 minutes to dry – still faster then the old mop and bucket. Because of its size, it was easy to find storage room. The mop works better with a (relatively) clean pad so take a look and change it when it gets dirty. The 2 pads that come with the mop are just not enough – I ordered 2 extra pads +2 filters from a different site- 25$. The micro fiber pads are washable, a + for my wallet and the environment It does not do corners too well, but I am willing to live with that – the old mop was even worse You can use tap water however distilled water is recommended. The water tank is easy to access and fill, no need to bend over to reach it. Relatively quiet, you can use it while people are sleeping. I no longer worry when my little pets lick the floor since there are no chemicals on it. Other observations: No on/off switch. The water tank can loosen up sometimes, so if the mop sound goes from “pshhhh!” to a buzzing sound, push the water tank back down into the filter, problem solved. The only time I had the pad try to “roll”, it was on backwards – user error. I recommend this product to all my friends and family with hard floors.

Was this review helpful? (185) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
QuebecGirl
Casa Grande, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent product
9/5/2007

Customer review by sardana60

5.0 stars 9/5/2007 by sardana60
by sardana60

Love, love, love, love this sweet little machine. I had the whole first floor retiled about three years ago and I had to get on my hands and knees to constantly mop or spot scrub the floor to keep uit shiny and clean. I read the great reviews about the Bissell 1867 and finally purchased it. One of my best buy to date!!! Cleaned my whole ceramic tile floor with ease. Easy to operate. I purchased additional pads and water filters. Thanks, Wal-Mart for offering such fantastic cleaning tool. Cons: Cord could be a little longer.

Was this review helpful? (72) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sardana60
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Best Product, Best Value
11/17/2009

Customer review by JenBakes

5.0 stars 11/17/2009 by JenBakes
by JenBakes

After much research and comparison I chose this steam mop and I am THRILLED with it. It's offered at a fantastic price, first of all - WalMart's Site-To-Store is so convenient and free shipping. This Bissell is a cinch to assemble, easy to operate, lightweight enough but STURDY, swivels, heats up very quickly and stays ready while you re-fil the ample sized tank. Replacement parts aren't outrageously priced either. It cleaned linoleum flooring back to "looks new" condition and even my bathroom tile floor from the 1950's - grout and all. Get this one!

Was this review helpful? (47) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JenBakes
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Merely ok...
9/12/2009

Customer review by pumbaa

2.0 stars 9/12/2009 by pumbaa
by pumbaa

I got the impression from reviews, that this mop would jet scolding hot water into my tile and get all of the dirt out of the deep down porous areas. I was stunned when I first turned it on to see it dribbling a little weak stream of lukewarm water onto my floor. Where was the hot steam jet action I was promised? This mop is about as effective as pouring a cup of warm (not hot) water onto my floor and wiping it around. I can see how it would work to maintain an already pristine floor, but most of us buying this are looking to clean an already dirty one! Pros: Stands upright on its own. Looks nice. Easy to use. Heats up quickly. Cons: Steam peters out slowly, no pressure behind it. Says clearly in the directions that it doesn't actually sanitize unless you hold it directly over an area for 15 seconds. The cord is too short to reach from one end of my kitchen to the other (and my kitchen is TINY). Doesn't leave areas smelling clean like cleaner, the pad smells a little like a wet dog.

Was this review helpful? (34) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pumbaa
Would recommend to a friend? No
A whole new level of clean!
7/13/2009

Customer review by gaseafan

5.0 stars 7/13/2009 by gaseafan
by gaseafan

I purchased this product to clean my tile floor in my kitchen, which seemed to stay dirty no matter how often I cleaned it. Prior to using the steam cleaner, I used traditional mopping and the Swiffer wetjet. It seemed like no matter how much I cleaned, the water in the bucket or the swiffer pad was always dirty. After using the Bissell just one time, I could see the dirt that came off the floor on the cover and the floor felt cleaner to my bare feet than it ever had. I mopped again 1 week later and ...NO DIRT. How is this possible, I thought? Then I realized that all the cleaning I had done before left a residue that attracted as much dirt as I had cleaned up. This appliance will save a fortune in cleaning solutions and prevent me from having to clean as often, simply because the dirt and grime isn't being attracted to the floor. It's easy to use, small to store and very quick to mop with. I would highly recommend this product!

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gaseafan
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great results
10/24/2009

Customer review by 2tired2teach

5.0 stars 10/24/2009 by 2tired2teach
by 2tired2teach

This steam mop has been a real money saver for us. The grout between our ceramic tile had become dark because of years of use. I thought we would have to have it replaced. I had used a Swiffer mop for years, but it wasn't helping it. One use with the Bissell mop, and I couldn't believe how bright the grout became. Now I use it weekly and the floor looks great.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2tired2teach
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
7/2/2009

Customer review by wifey523

4.0 stars 7/2/2009 by wifey523
by wifey523

Great mop. I have a houseful of wood floors and the steam mop is so much easier than a mop and bucket and works better too.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wifey523
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
WOW!!!
10/8/2009

Customer review by XMallShopper

5.0 stars 10/8/2009 by XMallShopper
by XMallShopper

This thing is AWESOME!!! I have tendinitis in my forearms as well as problems with my neck and shoulders and this thing is GREAT! I admit that up until now I did not frequently wash my floors because of the severe pain it would cause me, and getting my husband to help was, well... he's a husband... Anyway, I have a small kitchen, 2 small bathrooms and a small entry of no-wax flooring, so the cord length was not a problem for me. I got through the whole thing with 1 filling and a little water left over [soft tap water]. I started on my 2 year old kit./bath downstairs. They are "low gloss". They came out great. My technique was to hold down the steam lever [very easy!] going up and release on the return. No problems with water puddling. The water container never dropped off - sturdy machine. The best part for me physically -- NO SCRUBBING! Just let it glide! I changed to the 2nd pad when I noticed dirty water on the last of the 4 floors. After changing, no problem - clean, dry floor. I would highly recommend this product to anyone, especially anyone with physical problems. Now maybe I have floors clean enough to eat off of! [But probably not as I have a dog and 4 cats...]

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
XMallShopper
Scarborough, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Finally!!
11/17/2008

Customer review by orangedaisy

5.0 stars 11/17/2008 by orangedaisy
by orangedaisy

I finally found a mop that doesn't make me DREAD cleaning my floors!! This little gem is easy to handle and maneuvers like a champ! I couldn't believe it when I was actually able to maneuver it behind the toilet, that sealed the deal. My floor sparkled when I was done. The removable cloth pad was easy to remove and clean. And filling up the water tank was also amazingly simple!! I am more than impressed and so happy that I won't have to fill buckets and wring out dirty old mops any more. Buying refills is a very small price to pay for the ease and convenience this has brought to my cleaning routine. I highly recommend this product! Thank you Bissell!!

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
orangedaisy
Broomall, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Quick and Helpful
12/15/2008

Customer review by kwityerbeechin

5.0 stars 12/15/2008 by kwityerbeechin
by kwityerbeechin

I love this product! My entire first floor is either hardwood or linoleum with little divets in it. I hate that floor! When I would mop, the dirt would dry down in those divets so I would always have to re-mop the floor. On top of that, the floor is white! I never felt like mopping the floor really got it clean in the first place even though I do it once a week at least. When I saw this item I thought I would give it a try. The price I felt was reasonable and I trust Bissell products. My floor was really pretty dirty when I used it. I hadn't mopped it for 2 weeks so I really wasn't expecting much. I was so pleasantly surprised! The floor came so clean! When I was finished I really expected the pad to be filthy. It wasn't! I was stunned, that pad should have been really dirty! I now mop even more often .It takes me much less time and I get better results than with that dirty old mop. I felt like I was just swishing the dirt around with it. I tell everyone about this item. It is so worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kwityerbeechin
Cincinnati, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
machine broken after 4 time uses.
6/23/2011

Customer review by bissel

1.0 stars 6/23/2011 by bissel
by bissel

worked so goooood for 4 times only and then it didn't turn on... machine broken. don't know why i didn't drop it and used very carefully. i had a baby 20days ago so i wanted be little more cleaner than before. now i have to go to store to return... but i'll try to exchange to same product. Hopely it won't break again...

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bissel
LA, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Not bad
11/5/2009

Customer review by Cuzie

3.0 stars 11/5/2009 by Cuzie
by Cuzie

It does clean very well but once the cloth gets really wet floors will dry with streaks (especially wood). If you have a lot of floors to clean alternate between both cloths that come with the mop.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cuzie
West Chester, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Met all expectations!
8/15/2009

Customer review by NEWWILMINGTON

5.0 stars 8/15/2009 by NEWWILMINGTON
by NEWWILMINGTON

Before buying this product I read quite a few of the reviews and what I read sounded pretty good, which made me feel good about buying the steam mop. I have a lot of tile to clean so the first time I used it it took me a good while to get every thing clean. Not because of the mop but because of my floors. I had to use that Mr. Clean magic eraser to get some of the bad spots along the baseboard. But because I had the steam mop it came up easily. Needless to say I had a lot of dirty water when I cleaned the mop cover. And the results were wonderful. Now when I clean it's so easy, no swiffer wet jet pads or solution, just plain water and my floors look great. I can't get over how easy it is to keep them clean now. Thanks Bissell.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NEWWILMINGTON
New Wilmington, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Just what I needed
10/23/2009

Customer review by NoMoreSoreKnees

5.0 stars 10/23/2009 by NoMoreSoreKnees
by NoMoreSoreKnees

I only used this product once-as soon as I received it. I am very pleased with the results. My husband and I are in our 50's and it's getting too hard to get on our hands and knees and scrub the floor. We used it on vinyl in the kitchen and it is just what we needed. Our floor has little niches in the design and there were some dirty spots in those areas before we cleaned. They disappeared immediately! We have soft water and I'm not sure if we will need distilled water as is suggested. We will probably use distilled to keep it working well and doesn't clog up.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NoMoreSoreKnees
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Not a good product
6/16/2009

Customer review by daa1

1.0 stars 6/16/2009 by daa1
by daa1

I did not like this product at all, I have already returned the bissel steam mop to the store. I kept it for 3 days and used it a few times. It didn't really seam to clean very well and left the floors soaking wet! I had to go back over them with my wring mop when I was finished. I bought a shark steam mop and it works much better! though the bissel mop felt sturdier than the shark. But I can tell my floors are clean with the shark mop and they are left almost totally dry.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
daa1
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not what I expected
9/15/2009

Customer review by hfttyl

1.0 stars 9/15/2009 by hfttyl
by hfttyl

I was so excited after my mop arrived, I had been wanting to buy a steam mop for months. During the first use, all it did was spread the dirt around. I had broomed before using the mop so my floors were clean. I usually mop once a week and the floors are pretty clean, so I thought this mop would pick up what was left behind by my old mop, instead it just spread the tiny particles around even more. My floor was also sticky after that use. I tried it again to see if it would work better the second time around, and it did not. I returned it within in a week, very disappoined. It was nothing close to what I had hoped for and expected.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hfttyl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
1-20 of 1504 total reviews
1-20 of 1504 reviews