Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 635 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

635 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

635 reviews | 4 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
336
4 stars
150
3 stars
42
2 stars
31
1 stars
76
1-20 of 585 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 585 total reviews
1-20 of 585 reviews
Does clean floors
4/28/2010

Customer review by CPU79

4.0 stars 4/28/2010 by CPU79
by CPU79

This SteamVac does a great job cleaning carpets and tile floors. Afterwards, the floors dry quickly. The hand-tool does not have as good suction as the main extractor so stairs and upholstery take a little longer to dry. Overall a great floor cleaner although a little on the heavy side.

Was this review helpful? (40) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CPU79
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great machine!
1/4/2012

Customer review by Fedupwithonline

5.0 stars 1/4/2012 by Fedupwithonline
by Fedupwithonline

After having a Hoover carpet cleaner that lasted for years and replacing it with a Bissel that was awfull we decided to go back to Hoover. I must say this machine is so much better in most respects than our first Hoover. I say most respects because the lower tank (waste water) is not as easy to remove as the previous machine, otherwise it is a much better cleaner! The water capacity is great, the automatic mixing system for soap is very convenient and it cleans the carpet quite well. You need to clean it up after using it though. We have pets and had a build-up of hair on the brushes that went unnoticed, after a few shampoos the brushes quit working because the build-up snapped the drive block on the brush pack (obviously to prevent the motor from burning up). So after replacing the brush pack it's off and running again. Now I keep a close eye on the hair build-up. I would recommend this cleaner to anyone! Hopefully it will last as many years as our first Hoover carpet cleaner did!

Was this review helpful? (72) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fedupwithonline
Naples, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Garbage
12/12/2008

Customer review by bummedincali

1.0 stars 12/12/2008 by bummedincali
by bummedincali

I wish I would of read some of these reviews before I bought this expensive Hoover cleaner. We have only had it about 8 months. It cleans well, when it is working! Twice now the brushes have stopped turning. The repair guy in our town said that is a big complaint of these cleaners the bearing freezes up on them and you have to replace the whole piece and that cost 60.00. Well the bearing froze again. The guy at the repair shop said the older model of Hoover was better then this new one. Do not buy this or you will be wasting your money, buy a different brand or the older version of the Hoover if it still around, also the attachment works terrible don't waste your time with that. I will email Hoover but I do not expect a reply from what I have read in the reviews. The repair shop has a cleaner he said that works better then Hoovers does and it is half the price. This hoover is truly a piece of garbage, most of the reviewers that gave it 5 stars have only had it 2-7 weeks, give it time it will break on you too.

Was this review helpful? (251) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bummedincali
Manteca, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Very Disappointed
7/23/2015

Customer review by LaundryLady

1.0 stars 7/23/2015 by LaundryLady
by LaundryLady

I have another new Hoover carpet cleaner that works well, but I thought I'd purchase this model because of the reviews and a leading consumer organization recommending it. I was so excited when it arrived. When we took it out of the box, it seemed cheaply made as compared to my other carpet cleaner. I did not like the way the water containers removed and were reattached. My other machine has very easy removal and reattaching of the water containers. We don't have any carpet but do have large area rugs in traffic areas. I tried to takeoff the cover to change the brush for tile floors but we couldn't get it off. Called Hoover and the rep. said the manual pictures how to remove it are incorrect. Also, I read many, many reviews that the water tank leaks. The seal doesn't go all of the way around so I can see why it might leak. We didn't actually use the machine and took it back to the store. Decided to keep the carpet cleaner I have and purchased a Hoover hard floor cleaner instead which I absolutely love.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LaundryLady
Would recommend to a friend? No
Leaks, bad design
5/29/2013

Customer review by Lucky259

2.0 stars 5/29/2013 by Lucky259
by Lucky259
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If you are buying this for carpet only it's ok other than the fact it leaks all over the place every time you change the tanks. I have hardwood floors and when cleaning rigs it leaked on the wood floor and discolored it. The hardwood cleaning was pitiful too (uses different cleaning solution and did not harm floor) the snap on squeegee doesn't stay on and the suction head pushes all the water backwards so when you pull it back you end up with a giant puddle that you have to maneuver around and push the machine over forward to get it up. The design is horrible. You have to attach the hose each time you want to use it (other brands you simply turn a dial) where the hose winds it gets in the way of the electrical cord and when u wind that cord differently it gets in the way of the tanks. There are 2 tanks instead of 1 tank integrated into clean water bladder inside the dirty water tank like other machines. All in all I absolutely would NOT purchase this again and may even take it back for a different machine.

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lucky259
Central Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Horrible quality complete waste of money
1/12/2011

Customer review by ohiomom20101

1.0 stars 1/12/2011 by ohiomom20101
by ohiomom20101

After moving into a new house I purchases this carpet shampooer brought it home took it out of the box and it didnt work. It would not suck up the water and it would not spray water out of the attactment hose. I boxed it back up and returned it to the store and bought another one thinking I had gotten a bad model. I purchased the same product. I took it home and ran it 4 times over the last 2 years. I went to use it for the 5th time and it just like the first model i bought would not suck up water or spray it. So my husband tore it apart to see if he could fix it. He is an engineer. He was unsuccessfull. He called the customer support line only for them to say that it was only garuanteed for 1 year regardless how many times the product was used. When I spend close to $200 on a product i expect it to work more than 4 times of moderate to light uses. The customer support was particular unhelpful and did not care that their product was flawed and essentially junk. Do NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY ON THIS PRODUCT!

Was this review helpful? (63) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ohiomom20101
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
Broken out of the box!
6/22/2010

Customer review by HoHumph

1.0 stars 6/22/2010 by HoHumph
by HoHumph

After doing some research on performance and reading about this cleaner in Consumer Reports I decided to make the investment on this machine instead of paying a professional to come clean my carpets several times a year. After assembling the machine and attempting to use if FOR THE FIRST TIME I noticed the brushes weren't spinning. I consulted the troubleshooting section of the manual and when all else failed called Hoover. After more troubleshooting with the CS Rep it was established that the motor for the brushes was in fact, broken. BROKEN! Right out of the box, never been used B R O K E N. I was given the addresss of a local repair shop and informed that I would need to take my brand new, never been used carpet cleaner in for repairs.... say wha?!? The repair shop told me it would take 4-6 weeks to repair it.................. Needless to say I returned what was effectively a very fancy, expensive wet/dry vac to the store and I will NEVER buy another Hoover product. So much for QC/QA. Caveat Emptor!

Was this review helpful? (30) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HoHumph
SLC, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Better Than The Rental Machines
9/11/2016

Customer review by Rick

5.0 stars 9/11/2016 by Rick
by Rick

We had this same machine for about five years when the motor cooked. Wish it would have lasted longer but to be honest it's had a hard life and it's not a thousand dollar machine. We live in the country, 2 kids, 2 cats and grandchildren. We were always amazed at how much cleaner and dryer it left the carpets than any machine we ever rented. The carpet would be completely dry in a couple hours with the ceiling fans on. So we bought another one , this same model and used it today. Worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Could have been a five star...
7/15/2016

Customer review by TerryE

4.0 stars 7/15/2016 by TerryE
by TerryE
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My old Hoover has been dieing a slow death. It stopped working in the shampoo mode. Then the upholstery hose gave up the ghost. At this point it's literally held together with duct tape, thus the reasons for purchasing a new one. So far I've shampooed a sofa, carpet and flight of stairs. I'm very impressed with both its cleaning capability and the suction. The pickup tank fills at almost the same rate the dispensing tank empties. Nice. the problem is the water dispenser on the upholstery hose. It jams in the open position. It behaves just long enough for me to let my guard down. It then sprays like a fire hose run amuck until I realize it's doing it again and manually push the trigger back to closed position. By then the step or section of sofa is soaked. I'm left with quite a bit of suctioning to do. This makes me worry about the workmanship quality. How long will the other components last? Guess I'll find out!

TerryE
South Bend, IN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pros and Cons
9/12/2016

Customer review by shinyhalo

3.0 stars 9/12/2016 by shinyhalo
by shinyhalo

Used this for 2 years. Pros: Great at cleaning dust and fine particles that your vacuum kisses Great at quickly cleaning wet spills on carpet and baby spills Cons: For general cleaning you have to use a regular vacuum first otherwise the larger particles and hair will clog this up. It's VERY difficult to clean the nozzle once hair and gunk gets clogged inside it. Recommendation to hoover: Make the nozzle a sandwiched halves held together with screws so I can open it up and clean it. Replacement gaskets can be made easily with auto part store liquid gaskets.

Comment from Kenya - 9/19/2016

Hi shinyhalo! We appreciate your recommendations and will pass your comments along. The Max Extract All-Terrain is wet cleaning only. We do recommend vacuuming your carpets prior to use. The nozzle on your cleaner is actually removable. To disconnect the nozzle, recline the handle and remove the dirty water tank. With handle in upright position, tilt cleaner back so that the handle rests on the floor. Lift up rear edge of nozzle. Slide nozzle up and remove from cleaner. Rinse the nozzle under hot running water to clean. We hope this helps!

shinyhalo
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hoover steamvac
8/10/2008

Customer review by antony555

1.0 stars 8/10/2008 by antony555
by antony555

I purchased the machice and read the instructions and put it to use, i have no problem with it's cleaning abilities but the durability is what's at question. Vacuumed my carpet, low pile carpet twice before beginning then after two uses, the brush assembly is just a small plastic part designed to break in case the motor is over heated due to something being caught between the brushes. This part breaks with very little force, the dealer says to take it apart each time its used and clean, even after doing this it still broke, the price for the part runs about 42.00 with tax, try this and the soap and clean water tank once replaced then make up your mind if its worth it!!! To make a long story short. I have replaced the brush assemblies three times and the clean water tank once and they made an upgrade to that.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
antony555
Grain Valley, Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great features!
9/11/2016

Customer review by Alisher

5.0 stars 9/11/2016 by Alisher
by Alisher

I got one yesterday. I like it but can not use cuz our power voltage is 220v in Uzbekistan. Can you tell me what Watt is this model?

Alisher
Tashkent, Uzbekistan
Works well on carpet but really loud on hardwood
8/27/2016

Customer review by Growler15_16

3.0 stars 8/27/2016 by Growler15_16
by Growler15_16
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Cleaning solution is expensive, and is used up extremely quickly. Cleans carpet well even with hot water, and multiple dry passes leave the carpet dry-able overnight. The squeegee tool does not work at all (kept fall off immediately after I move it) for the hard surfaces. Machine is pretty loud with a high frequency squeal on hard surfaces. Would like to see more attachments for the price you pay. Edge brushes advertised, but it doesn't really add much to the cleaning, just rubs against a wall with strip of plastic.

Comment from Kenya - 8/31/2016

Hi Growler15_16! We appreciate your feedback. We strive to provide the best products for our customers. We will pass your comments along. Thanks for your time!

Growler15_16
California, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing product - but the water reservoir handle broke after two weeks
9/3/2016

Customer review by Lcin

4.0 stars 9/3/2016 by Lcin
by Lcin

This is by far the best carpet cleaner we have ever used. I was thrilled with it. However, the handle of the water reservoir broke within a week. We had to order a new one and ended up waiting over a week for it. Disappointed - and concerned that this issuet will continue to happen.

Lcin
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
awesome work horse
9/12/2009

Customer review by emojazz

5.0 stars 9/12/2009 by emojazz
by emojazz

I had the first hoover upright then it finally dead. i got the all terrain and it is awesome i have dogs cats parrots and always a mess somewhere, its quick easy to move from room to room, carpets are dry in like an hour, and very durable i even use it to clean houses, apartments and businesses, (a little side job i do) and they are amazed how clean the carpets are. you can't really go wrong with it.

Was this review helpful? (181) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
emojazz
Johnstown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Love it!
5/15/2013

Customer review by hapecamper

5.0 stars 5/15/2013 by hapecamper
by hapecamper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Absolutely thrilled with the customer service involved with this order. I cancelled my original purchase through Sears due to their total lack of professionalism in handling the order & I'm STILL waiting on a refund! Not only did I receive my cleaner from Walmart in a timely manner but have already used it on a rug that got automotive oil stains on it in several places (ugh!) & it came out beautiful! Very pleased so far & looking forward to the results on hard wood & tile floors next. I purchased the extended warranty as well, just in case I have any problems down the line. Sears didn't even offer the extended warranty with my original purchase. All in all, I am very pleased so far with this purchase. Thanks so much to everyone who followed through with my order from start to finish without a flaw. KUDOS to you all! That's what customer service is all about & that kind of care will keep your doors open for many years to come while other stores are closing theirs & wondering why! Great job guy's! Thanks again!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hapecamper
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hoover All-Terrain Carpet/Floor Cleaner
9/29/2007

Customer review by crittercrazy

5.0 stars 9/29/2007 by crittercrazy
by crittercrazy

This carpet/floor cleaner is just excellent. For the price of one or two professional carpet cleanings, we got professional results with no headaches! The only caveat is to be sure to change the 'buckets' in the kitchen, as it is a slightly drippy exercise. And if the carpet has not been cleaned for awhile, we would recommend a second pass with a plain water rinse after the first cleaning. We are both in our late 50s and this marvelous machine made it possible for us to do our own cleaning - we would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (236) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crittercrazy
Northern Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Disappointed
6/30/2008

Customer review by gator2

2.0 stars 6/30/2008 by gator2
by gator2

I have owned my Hoover cleaner for 5 yrs. It's a good cleaner I won't take that from it but it's the water/cleaning solutions tank that I am not happy with. I take care of my machine but in 5 yrs I have gone through about 6-7 tanks. I have asked hoover why the tank breaks but they can't seem to answer that question for me. It's always the same part, the little spring on the bottom. I had mine for about a year before it broke the first time. And the tanks aren't cheap. They run about $43 now. But they will go up. When my first one broke they were $32. And it's hard to get another tank they always seem to be out of stock. I am looking at getting another brand of carpet cleaner. Good Luck. Hope this doesn't happen to anyone else.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gator2
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Worthless
3/13/2008

Customer review by tootired40

1.0 stars 3/13/2008 by tootired40
by tootired40

I bought this machine because I have 4 kids and 4 dogs enough said. This is the worse cleaner. I bought this thinking that I would love it because it was built up to be more than what it was. My cleaner also broke at the brushes and the cleaner tank broke just like other have said. To the people who have only had the machine for a little while, give it time and you will see what I mean. I would not advise anyone to buy this machine. I bought a warranty and there is not a repair place around so it had to be mailed to a company in Savannah some 400 miles away!

Was this review helpful? (32) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tootired40
Rock Spring, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Brushes stopped rotating after only 2 uses!!!
12/14/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 12/14/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

After reading lots of reviews I chose the Hoover All-Terrain as my new carpet/hard floor cleaner. I liked all the fact that it had lots of extra attachments also that came with it; an upholstry attachment and spin brushes for tile and hard floor. Oh, by the way, on the description and pictures on here it shows a circular pad handheld rotating brush attachment with the cleaner, it does NOT come with that. When I got it home I assembled the handle and went to work. I had a grape jelly stain on my white carpet (compliments of my 2 year old son) that I was anxious to try my new carpet cleaner out on. I used it and it worked perfect; no more grape jelly stain on my white carpet!!! I then tried it out on the tile and hardwood in my house and was satisfied. I probably wouldn't have used it so much on my hard floors as I didn't think it did as good on those as it did on my carpet. The next day I went to clean the carpet in my daughters room and the machine started sound just a tad bit louder, so I looked down and noticed that the spin brushes were NOT spinning anymore! I went and emptied the dirty water container, checked the settings (which were set right; to carpet), and checked to see that the filter wasn't dirty as the owners mannual said under trouble shooting (it was not dirty). So I don't know what happened to it, but I am very dissapointed! $205.00 for something that worked only twice!!! I will be returning for a refund!!! It did do an excellent job on my carpet while it was working, but it should have lasted WAY longer than 2 uses! Very dissapointed! :(

Was this review helpful? (95) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
garner, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 585 total reviews
1-20 of 585 reviews