Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 658 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

658 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

658 reviews | 4 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
348
4 stars
155
3 stars
44
2 stars
32
1 stars
79
1-20 of 608 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 608 total reviews
1-20 of 608 reviews
Junk! Look elsewhere.
1/20/2017

Customer review by Bradman

1.0 stars 1/20/2017 by Bradman
by Bradman

Total Junk! Poorly made. Plastic gears broke and brushes won't spin! Will never buy a hoover anything again!

Comment from Karissa - 1/24/2017

Hi Bradman! Your Max Extract All Terrain should hold up better than this. We want to help. This sounds like something that one of our service technicians may need to take a look at. Your model carries a one year warranty from the purchase date on the receipt that covers against manufacturing defects. To locate a service center in your area please visit: http://hoover.com/locator/. If further assistance is needed feel free to reach out to us via Facebook or Tweet us @HooverUSA. We're here for you!

Bradman
South Bend, IN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very poor design and quality
11/25/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 11/25/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I gave it one star because I couldn't give it none. I borrowed this from a friend who loves it. I think I like the way it cleans, but it's tough to say because I'm using it on carpets that are 30 years old. They have never been cleaned, so needless to say, the dirt is endless. However, due to the incredibly poor design of the tanks, I detest this machine. The first time I emptied the recovery tank, the retaining ears for the handle broke off the tank, so now I need buy a new tank, which isn't cheap in cost, but is of cheap quality. The other big problem is that if I am not extremely careful when I take the solution tank off to refill it, my fingers get pinched between the handle and the cap, which is very painful. I like to keep things clean, and would love to buy a reasonably priced carpet cleaner, but I will never buy one that has such lousy quality and ergonomics. I think that this machine could have been so much more with just a small amount of design forethought.

An anonymous customer
Columbia, Ct.
Would recommend to a friend? No
NOT SURE WHAT THERE TALKING ABOUT
1/6/2017

Customer review by DADDYD38

4.0 stars 1/6/2017 by DADDYD38
by DADDYD38

I'VE BOUGHT THEM OVER THE YEARS THEIR NOT PERFECT BUT WHAT PRODUCT IS THEIR THE ONLY ONE THAT OFFERS AUTO RINSE IT CUTS YOUR TIME IN HALF . I'M SURE ITS THE PEOPLE THAT DIDN'T BUY THE EXTENDED SERVICE WARRANTY THESE DAYS YOU NEED IT ON ALL PRODUCTS NOTHING MADE LIKE IT USED TO THE LIKE TURN OVER MORE MONEY

DADDYD38
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Could have been a five star...
7/15/2016

Customer review by TerryE

4.0 stars 7/15/2016 by TerryE
by TerryE
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My old Hoover has been dieing a slow death. It stopped working in the shampoo mode. Then the upholstery hose gave up the ghost. At this point it's literally held together with duct tape, thus the reasons for purchasing a new one. So far I've shampooed a sofa, carpet and flight of stairs. I'm very impressed with both its cleaning capability and the suction. The pickup tank fills at almost the same rate the dispensing tank empties. Nice. the problem is the water dispenser on the upholstery hose. It jams in the open position. It behaves just long enough for me to let my guard down. It then sprays like a fire hose run amuck until I realize it's doing it again and manually push the trigger back to closed position. By then the step or section of sofa is soaked. I'm left with quite a bit of suctioning to do. This makes me worry about the workmanship quality. How long will the other components last? Guess I'll find out!

TerryE
South Bend, IN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Broke after 5 shampooings
12/12/2014

Customer review by cthorn10

1.0 stars 12/12/2014 by cthorn10
by cthorn10

Hard to believe people have had this vacuum for more than a few months. I take extremely good care of my things, especially my Hoover. Basically, the plastic is so cheap, that it would be easier to list the parts that aren't broken. Planned obsolescence which in industrial design is a policy of planning or designing a product with an artificially limited useful life, so it will become obsolete, that is, unfashionable or no longer functional after a certain period of time. So yeah, they really implemented that planned obsolescence on this shampooer. Paid 250 for a few months of use. Will NEVER EVER buy a hoover again, its just cheap plastic. Really disappointing to make a big purchase like this, and having it fail completely. Especially with how delicate and careful I was with it.  I would recommend anyone reading this review to consider not purchasing a hoover and find something with higher quality. Really not sure if I believe these reviews where people have owned this for 3 years....HOW.... maybe after using it twice. 

Comment from John - 12/12/2014

Hi cthorn10, We take pride in the quality of our products and stand behind them when they do not last like they should. Your All-Terrain has a one-year warranty for manufacturer defects. We want to help so we're sending an email to you now. Thanks!

cthorn10
Asheville, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Best One I have owned !
12/30/2015

Customer review by Nita

5.0 stars 12/30/2015 by Nita
by Nita

I purchased my Hoover a few years ago and have been very pleased. I own my own business repairing the interiors of automobiles for Dealerships. I often come across stains that the detail shops are unable to remove. I have made my own cleaning solution and with the hand tool am able to remove stains others have failed to remove. The extraction of liguids is the best I have ever come across. The fabric and/or carpets are only left feeling damp. This makes it so much easier to get the vehicle completely dry prior to closing all windows and doors. If the vehicle is closed up prior to everything being dry it tends to end up smelling like a wet dog. I am mobile and it is important for the job to be completed prior to my departure. I also have four pets in my home. I have been extremely pleased with the results I get when I use this unit in my home. I would highly recommend it to anyone I know considering a home carpet cleaning device.

Nita
Wichita, KS, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
works great if it works
7/13/2015

Customer review by gayland richardson

1.0 stars 7/13/2015 by gayland richardson
by gayland richardson

i bought this a couple of years ago. and when it works its awesome!! unfortunately it never seems to work. I had to have it serviced on warranty about six months after buying it for leaking seals. I had only used it once. so after I got it fixed I used it and it was awesome once again. then I cleaned it and put it up until the next time I needed it and to my surprise once again when I got it out it did not work right. only this time my warranty was out. the machine would not dispense properly so I would have to do all my cleaning in wash mode with only enough cleaned to do what I need. then I would have to rinse still in wash with no cleaner. this worked for a while but now it no longer works at all. will not dispense any thing. I have only used this thing maybe 10 times and I feel like it was a total waste of money. im sure I could have bought some thing for about the same money that would still be working after very little use.

gayland richardson
Indiana, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Cleans carpets really well, Hard floors NOT!!
4/30/2016

Customer review by wolfsister26

3.0 stars 4/30/2016 by wolfsister26
by wolfsister26

Bought this carpet cleaner to replace my old Hoover carpet cleaner. Was really excited that I would be able to really clean my tile floors without having to get down on my hands and knees and scrubbing them. First used it on my carpets and it cleaned them really well. Would have given the product 5 stars for that. But when it comes to the tile floors it gets a 1. First off the squeegee is totally out of wack and is warped. It doesn't snap into place at all. Husband thinks that it is the wrong one. The scrubbing brushes for hard floors doesn't clean at all. Put carpet ones back on and it is a little better. Just doesn't get that ground in dirt out of the tiles like it does when I scrub them by hand. And to make matters worse, there is water all over the floor which I then have to mop up afterwards. Was really disappointed that it doesn't clean the hard tile floors like I thought that it would.

Comment from Michael - 5/4/2016

Hi wolfsister26! We don’t want you to feel disappointed in your Max Extract® Dual V® WidePath® Carpet Washer. We want to help. If you’re having difficulty attaching the squeegee please give this a try: Hold each end with your thumb and index finger with the larger lip facing up. Press both ends of the squeegee onto the nozzle at the same time, then tilt upwards just a bit to lock in place. Once the squeegee is attached properly, the cleaner will pick up the water as it should. The hard floor brushes have a stiff design compared to the carpet version for a better scrub on hard surfaces. Please ensure that these are being used on your tile floors for best results. If further assistance is needed, feel free to call us at 1-800-944-9200 M-F from 8am-6pm EST. We’re here for you!

wolfsister26
Sanford, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Leaks
11/18/2016

Customer review by FrancC

1.0 stars 11/18/2016 by FrancC
by FrancC

I use this cleaner regularly, but lately the soap/water canister leaks so much to the point that it empties out within minutes. I am wondering if this is a problem due to a manufacturing defect or a design flaw. Very frustrated.

Comment from Kenya - 11/28/2016

Hi FrancC! The solution tank on your All Terrain should be holding up better than that. We want to help. To prevent leaking, it’s recommended to use only the Hoover carpet cleaning solution designed for your model and to empty the tanks after each use. A replacement solution tank is available here: http://bit.ly/1VEr8E6. We hope this helps!

FrancC
Houston, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
SIMPLY THE BEST
11/13/2016

Customer review by GRSM

5.0 stars 11/13/2016 by GRSM
by GRSM

THIS IS MY 3RD MACHINE IN 12 YEARS AND JUST LOVE IT WITH AUTO RINSE. WITH CARPET IN EVERY ROOM AND 2 DOGS THIS IS THE CARPET CLEANER FOR YOU !

GRSM
Holiday, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worked as advertised
11/7/2016

Customer review by LeaLea

4.0 stars 11/7/2016 by LeaLea
by LeaLea
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I used the carpet cleaner this past weekend & it worked as it is advertised. The previous Hoover cleaner I had, had a heater to heat the water & I enjoyed that benefit. But this one worked as well & the rinse feature is a plus

LeaLea
Florida, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works Good
10/25/2016

Customer review by jimmie57

4.0 stars 10/25/2016 by jimmie57
by jimmie57
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have only had this a week but I cleaned some very dirty carpet and hard / tile / no wax floors with it. It did a very good job. It has a few things I don't like. The squeegee for hard floors falls off anytime you lift the machine. The tool / accessory thing comes off sometimes ( I just wound up removing it all together. And man is it loud. It is about the noise level of 2 or 3 vacuums at once.

jimmie57
Texas City, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Ever - ***SERIOUS***
10/19/2016

Customer review by rgbaker3

5.0 stars 10/19/2016 by rgbaker3
by rgbaker3

OK, let me just tell you that the past week has been nothing but research, research, research. After purchasing a competitor's last Saturday, only because I saw the infomercial the night prior, I was extremely upset, annoyed, and disappointed when its performance was less than 20%. (And that is being nice.) So, now a very skeptical consumer, I decide to give the Hoover Max Extract a shot. My family has used Hoover products for as long as I can remember and I remember only excellent products with exceptional service. I am pleased to say I was not let down this time either. Upon getting home with my new product, eager to use it, and pressed for time, I had the Hoover Max Extract assembled and ready to go in no time. After completing the first room, I was Shocked by my results. The extracted water/solution was BLACK!! I knew it was dirty, but really? WOW! Plus, the amount in the collection container was just about the exact amount I dispensed. I didn't think it to be possible, given my track record with previous carpet cleaners. All in All, light weight, thorough clean, maybe a bit loud(but so what), and at a decent price. What more would you need? Maybe continuous performance...Got it too. This review is made by me with no outside influences, and is strictly from my own person experience with the product. I highly recommend the Hoover Max Extract. I can not express my gratitude enough to Hoover and the Hoover family of employees for engineering and supplying such incredible products and service. Thank You!

rgbaker3
San Diego, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Machine Ever
11/4/2016

Customer review by YoJo

5.0 stars 11/4/2016 by YoJo
by YoJo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have owned several different carpet cleaners I love the Hoover brand the best

YoJo
Rhome, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
working great so far
10/31/2016

Customer review by Van62

5.0 stars 10/31/2016 by Van62
by Van62
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought a machine at great discount. Received the it on time as promised. It worked great, cleaning well. I would recommend it.

Van62
Springfield, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Value
11/2/2016

Customer review by George4

5.0 stars 11/2/2016 by George4
by George4
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

With two dogs in the house this cleaner is a must!!

George4
California, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hoover max
10/28/2016

Customer review by Cookielady62

5.0 stars 10/28/2016 by Cookielady62
by Cookielady62
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this about a month ago and I just love it. Clean your carpet and rinse at the same time. Can't say enough good stuff about it.

Cookielady62
San Antonio, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good suction to start, but eventually seals go bad
1/14/2016

Customer review by snizbatch

3.0 stars 1/14/2016 by snizbatch
by snizbatch

I owned this product for quite a few years, but it has always been a hastle to use. I like how powerful it is, and the fact that it mixes the detergent for you, but the water and detergent tank is heavy and awkward. It only has a small tab to hold it in, which can get improperly seated and cause the tank to fall out. Mine did this and the hollow plastic handle on it broke in the process. The tabs that turn to hold the waste tank on must be latched and unlatched each time you empty the tank. One of mine eventually cracked and broke. The trigger on the spill pickup wand's spray nozzle has a rubber seal that breaks down and gets gummy causing it to stick while spraying an area. This comes as a nice surprise when you find yourself spraying detergent everywhere with no way to turn it off! The seal on the vacuum that the spill pickup hose connects to is held in with adhesive and eventually peels out. Over all this vacuum starts with great suction since it has a big motor, but the build quality is just a little too cheap for me to consider repairing all of the broken parts on mine to keep it operating.

Comment from Joscelyn - 1/15/2016

Hi snizbatch! We can only imagine how frustrating this must be and you should definitely be able to get more use out of your Max Extract All Terrain. Under normal use, the side tank latches, seals, and clean water tank handle should hold up without giving you any issues. The great thing is, we have a replacement clean water tank handle which is available here: http://bit.ly/1PwjYJs, both latches can be found here: http://bit.ly/1TRHDX7, under the parts and accessories tab and a complete hose assembly with spray valve can be found here: http://bit.ly/1Rqv4pi. If the seals are wearing out, then this could be attributed to incorrect solution being used. We strongly suggest using only Hoover solutions or water. Using any household cleaners or solvents will corrode, cause internal damage, or leakage within the unit. If you need any other assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us or visit a local Hoover Repair Center here: http://hoover.com/locator/. Hope this helps!

snizbatch
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Value
7/5/2016

Customer review by Teacher Lady

4.0 stars 7/5/2016 by Teacher Lady
by Teacher Lady
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this before a big family event at my house and was pleased w the job it did. It was a great value for the sale price we paid. It wasn't a perfect job but a huge improvement! I owned a similar cleaner from Hoover previously. THe improvement in this machine was that the soap dispenser is separate from the water, so that you can elect to rinse and suction the soap from the rug. I'm not sure how well it actually rinsed, as the smell of soap was quite strong. The suction worked well and the carpet dried quickly. The piece that holds the tool attachments was awkward and got in the way when I was using the machine, so I removed it and now store it separately. I also used the floor attachment and squeegy and it did a nice job. Much better than the wet swifter I used in my kitchen tile previously

Teacher Lady
Holden, MA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
so far so good!
10/22/2016

Customer review by musicfan1

5.0 stars 10/22/2016 by musicfan1
by musicfan1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have used it only once..seems to clean very well. I didn't have any problems with leaking..I read the directions..maybe others who had leaks didn't. My carpet looks really nice! I will probably not use on hard surface.

musicfan1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 608 total reviews
1-20 of 608 reviews