Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4out of 5 stars
4 out of 5 | 680 reviews
5 stars
357
4 stars
162
3 stars
46
2 stars
33
1 stars
82
Sort by: 
1-20 of 630 reviews
1-20 of 630 reviews
"Carrying handle" snapped
9/26/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've owned this cleaner for 48 hours, and the so called carrying handle just snapped which rendered the machine useless as the top tank falls out without it. The all terrain feature basically just wets the floor and the squeegee falls off there's no point even trying. Overall this machine is very mediocre. I've attached pictures of the handle and cleaned carpet.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Does clean floors
4/28/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This SteamVac does a great job cleaning carpets and tile floors. Afterwards, the floors dry quickly. The hand-tool does not have as good suction as the main extractor so stairs and upholstery take a little longer to dry. Overall a great floor cleaner although a little on the heavy side.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (52)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great machine!
1/4/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After having a Hoover carpet cleaner that lasted for years and replacing it with a Bissel that was awfull we decided to go back to Hoover. I must say this machine is so much better in most respects than our first Hoover. I say most respects because the lower tank (waste water) is not as easy to remove as the previous machine, otherwise it is a much better cleaner! The water capacity is great, the automatic mixing system for soap is very convenient and it cleans the carpet quite well. You need to clean it up after using it though. We have pets and had a build-up of hair on the brushes that went unnoticed, after a few shampoos the brushes quit working because the build-up snapped the drive block on the brush pack (obviously to prevent the motor from burning up). So after replacing the brush pack it's off and running again. Now I keep a close eye on the hair build-up. I would recommend this cleaner to anyone! Hopefully it will last as many years as our first Hoover carpet cleaner did!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (83)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Brushes stopped spinning
2/14/2016
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this cleaner after reading a positive review from consumer reports. The unit worked well at first, but after only three uses the brushes stopped spinning. So I disassembled the unit and discovered this was due to a cracked rotor in the brush turbine assembly. I would not recommend this cleaner.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
easy to use
9/3/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have had my Max Extract for over a year now and I love how easy it is to use. I can dump the collection tank and fill the reserve tank in less that 5 minutes. After wash and rinse, I use it to vacuum excess water from the carpet. The only problem I have had is breaking the handle on the reserve tank when it dropped to the floor during my last cleaning. You really have to make sure the handle is latched up before using it. I have another problem but I don't think it's the cleaner. I have a sick dog who doesn't always make it out doors when she has to go so I have an extreme urine order in the carpet after trying several odor neutralizers. The carpet is only 2 years old and the padding has the plastic coating so urine will not sink into it. The odor comes from one 3ft x 6ft area and no matter how many times I clean it, the odor returns and the area has been blocked off from the dog for the last couple of weeks. If anyone knows of a good odor neutralizer, I would appreciate any recommendations.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Garbage
12/12/2008
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I wish I would of read some of these reviews before I bought this expensive Hoover cleaner. We have only had it about 8 months. It cleans well, when it is working! Twice now the brushes have stopped turning. The repair guy in our town said that is a big complaint of these cleaners the bearing freezes up on them and you have to replace the whole piece and that cost 60.00. Well the bearing froze again. The guy at the repair shop said the older model of Hoover was better then this new one. Do not buy this or you will be wasting your money, buy a different brand or the older version of the Hoover if it still around, also the attachment works terrible don't waste your time with that. I will email Hoover but I do not expect a reply from what I have read in the reviews. The repair shop has a cleaner he said that works better then Hoovers does and it is half the price. This hoover is truly a piece of garbage, most of the reviewers that gave it 5 stars have only had it 2-7 weeks, give it time it will break on you too.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (263)No (32)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Leaks, bad design
5/29/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
If you are buying this for carpet only it's ok other than the fact it leaks all over the place every time you change the tanks. I have hardwood floors and when cleaning rigs it leaked on the wood floor and discolored it. The hardwood cleaning was pitiful too (uses different cleaning solution and did not harm floor) the snap on squeegee doesn't stay on and the suction head pushes all the water backwards so when you pull it back you end up with a giant puddle that you have to maneuver around and push the machine over forward to get it up. The design is horrible. You have to attach the hose each time you want to use it (other brands you simply turn a dial) where the hose winds it gets in the way of the electrical cord and when u wind that cord differently it gets in the way of the tanks. There are 2 tanks instead of 1 tank integrated into clean water bladder inside the dirty water tank like other machines. All in all I absolutely would NOT purchase this again and may even take it back for a different machine.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very Disappointed
7/23/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have another new Hoover carpet cleaner that works well, but I thought I'd purchase this model because of the reviews and a leading consumer organization recommending it. I was so excited when it arrived. When we took it out of the box, it seemed cheaply made as compared to my other carpet cleaner. I did not like the way the water containers removed and were reattached. My other machine has very easy removal and reattaching of the water containers. We don't have any carpet but do have large area rugs in traffic areas. I tried to takeoff the cover to change the brush for tile floors but we couldn't get it off. Called Hoover and the rep. said the manual pictures how to remove it are incorrect. Also, I read many, many reviews that the water tank leaks. The seal doesn't go all of the way around so I can see why it might leak. We didn't actually use the machine and took it back to the store. Decided to keep the carpet cleaner I have and purchased a Hoover hard floor cleaner instead which I absolutely love.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Horrible quality complete waste of money
1/12/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After moving into a new house I purchases this carpet shampooer brought it home took it out of the box and it didnt work. It would not suck up the water and it would not spray water out of the attactment hose. I boxed it back up and returned it to the store and bought another one thinking I had gotten a bad model. I purchased the same product. I took it home and ran it 4 times over the last 2 years. I went to use it for the 5th time and it just like the first model i bought would not suck up water or spray it. So my husband tore it apart to see if he could fix it. He is an engineer. He was unsuccessfull. He called the customer support line only for them to say that it was only garuanteed for 1 year regardless how many times the product was used. When I spend close to $200 on a product i expect it to work more than 4 times of moderate to light uses. The customer support was particular unhelpful and did not care that their product was flawed and essentially junk. Do NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY ON THIS PRODUCT!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (69)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Broken out of the box!
6/22/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After doing some research on performance and reading about this cleaner in Consumer Reports I decided to make the investment on this machine instead of paying a professional to come clean my carpets several times a year. After assembling the machine and attempting to use if FOR THE FIRST TIME I noticed the brushes weren't spinning. I consulted the troubleshooting section of the manual and when all else failed called Hoover. After more troubleshooting with the CS Rep it was established that the motor for the brushes was in fact, broken. BROKEN! Right out of the box, never been used B R O K E N. I was given the addresss of a local repair shop and informed that I would need to take my brand new, never been used carpet cleaner in for repairs.... say wha?!? The repair shop told me it would take 4-6 weeks to repair it.................. Needless to say I returned what was effectively a very fancy, expensive wet/dry vac to the store and I will NEVER buy another Hoover product. So much for QC/QA. Caveat Emptor!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Hoover steamvac
8/10/2008
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased the machice and read the instructions and put it to use, i have no problem with it's cleaning abilities but the durability is what's at question. Vacuumed my carpet, low pile carpet twice before beginning then after two uses, the brush assembly is just a small plastic part designed to break in case the motor is over heated due to something being caught between the brushes. This part breaks with very little force, the dealer says to take it apart each time its used and clean, even after doing this it still broke, the price for the part runs about 42.00 with tax, try this and the soap and clean water tank once replaced then make up your mind if its worth it!!! To make a long story short. I have replaced the brush assemblies three times and the clean water tank once and they made an upgrade to that.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
awesome work horse
9/12/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had the first hoover upright then it finally dead. i got the all terrain and it is awesome i have dogs cats parrots and always a mess somewhere, its quick easy to move from room to room, carpets are dry in like an hour, and very durable i even use it to clean houses, apartments and businesses, (a little side job i do) and they are amazed how clean the carpets are. you can't really go wrong with it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (185)No (15)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love it!
5/15/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Absolutely thrilled with the customer service involved with this order. I cancelled my original purchase through Sears due to their total lack of professionalism in handling the order & I'm STILL waiting on a refund! Not only did I receive my cleaner from Walmart in a timely manner but have already used it on a rug that got automotive oil stains on it in several places (ugh!) & it came out beautiful! Very pleased so far & looking forward to the results on hard wood & tile floors next. I purchased the extended warranty as well, just in case I have any problems down the line. Sears didn't even offer the extended warranty with my original purchase. All in all, I am very pleased so far with this purchase. Thanks so much to everyone who followed through with my order from start to finish without a flaw. KUDOS to you all! That's what customer service is all about & that kind of care will keep your doors open for many years to come while other stores are closing theirs & wondering why! Great job guy's! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great machine
9/12/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Love this, does a great job cleaning, easy to use
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Disappointed
6/30/2008
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have owned my Hoover cleaner for 5 yrs. It's a good cleaner I won't take that from it but it's the water/cleaning solutions tank that I am not happy with. I take care of my machine but in 5 yrs I have gone through about 6-7 tanks. I have asked hoover why the tank breaks but they can't seem to answer that question for me. It's always the same part, the little spring on the bottom. I had mine for about a year before it broke the first time. And the tanks aren't cheap. They run about $43 now. But they will go up. When my first one broke they were $32. And it's hard to get another tank they always seem to be out of stock. I am looking at getting another brand of carpet cleaner. Good Luck. Hope this doesn't happen to anyone else.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Hoover All-Terrain Carpet/Floor Cleaner
9/29/2007
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This carpet/floor cleaner is just excellent. For the price of one or two professional carpet cleanings, we got professional results with no headaches! The only caveat is to be sure to change the 'buckets' in the kitchen, as it is a slightly drippy exercise. And if the carpet has not been cleaned for awhile, we would recommend a second pass with a plain water rinse after the first cleaning. We are both in our late 50s and this marvelous machine made it possible for us to do our own cleaning - we would recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (237)No (38)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Brushes stopped rotating after only 2 uses!!!
12/14/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After reading lots of reviews I chose the Hoover All-Terrain as my new carpet/hard floor cleaner. I liked all the fact that it had lots of extra attachments also that came with it; an upholstry attachment and spin brushes for tile and hard floor. Oh, by the way, on the description and pictures on here it shows a circular pad handheld rotating brush attachment with the cleaner, it does NOT come with that. When I got it home I assembled the handle and went to work. I had a grape jelly stain on my white carpet (compliments of my 2 year old son) that I was anxious to try my new carpet cleaner out on. I used it and it worked perfect; no more grape jelly stain on my white carpet!!! I then tried it out on the tile and hardwood in my house and was satisfied. I probably wouldn't have used it so much on my hard floors as I didn't think it did as good on those as it did on my carpet. The next day I went to clean the carpet in my daughters room and the machine started sound just a tad bit louder, so I looked down and noticed that the spin brushes were NOT spinning anymore! I went and emptied the dirty water container, checked the settings (which were set right; to carpet), and checked to see that the filter wasn't dirty as the owners mannual said under trouble shooting (it was not dirty). So I don't know what happened to it, but I am very dissapointed! $205.00 for something that worked only twice!!! I will be returning for a refund!!! It did do an excellent job on my carpet while it was working, but it should have lasted WAY longer than 2 uses! Very dissapointed! :(
Was this review helpful?
Yes (95)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Hoover all terrain cleaner
8/23/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Works excellent.. Saves me so much work cleaning both carpet and floor.. I use it on my tile floor and works like a breeze.. impossible to find same hoover floor cleaner though.. I love this cleaner and recommend it over Bissell any day because it has two water tanks, one for cleanable one for dirty water, not lIke only one tank in Bissell cleaner.. very easy to remove and clean too.. I've had both cleaners and hated Bissell also because it didn't have enough suction.. the Hoover All Terrain is awesome cleaner!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Don't waste your money on this.
8/31/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought on-line and came in okay. During the 4th time we were using it the brushes quit working due to the turbine and gear assembly breaking (All plastic parts). I once was a hoover repairman. Called Hoover and got the run around. No service center within 100 miles of me. After 2 days of calling and hours of hold time I find out Hoover wont send me the part. Air is the only thing that comes into contact with this part that broke, and it split into. Cheap plastic used in manufacturing. I'll never buy from Hoover again. They wont stand behind their products. This is only 2 months old!!! Cost me $250.00. I told them what I thought of them and their products.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Now I don't have to replace all of my carpet...
11/29/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Background: Two dumb dogs, a black Lab & a mean Yorkie both four years old. A 16 year old boy who can't figure out how to work a broom or any other cleaning implement. Challenge: My 80-ish year old parents coming for Thanksgiving & I don't want them to think that I live in a flop house. Outcome: Carpet looks GREAT after having not cleaned it thoroughly for a couple of years. Really. The cleaner is a little loud but the cleaning is very good. Carpet doesn't get too wet. Make sure to read the instructions relative to mixing solution - don't use too much. I didn't give it 4 stars because it occasionally leaks a little dirty water - making another stain - when changing water containers or filling up. I did the stairs with the onboard attachment & it works great as well. This item (with warranty) is a must-have for the frugal homeowner.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640691, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-