Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 563 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

563 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

563 reviews | 4 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
294
4 stars
135
3 stars
36
2 stars
27
1 stars
71
1-20 of 513 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 513 total reviews
1-20 of 513 reviews
awesome work horse
9/12/2009

Customer review by emojazz

5.0 stars 9/12/2009 by emojazz
by emojazz

I had the first hoover upright then it finally dead. i got the all terrain and it is awesome i have dogs cats parrots and always a mess somewhere, its quick easy to move from room to room, carpets are dry in like an hour, and very durable i even use it to clean houses, apartments and businesses, (a little side job i do) and they are amazed how clean the carpets are. you can't really go wrong with it.

Was this review helpful? (167) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
emojazz
Johnstown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Garbage
12/12/2008

Customer review by bummedincali

1.0 stars 12/12/2008 by bummedincali
by bummedincali

I wish I would of read some of these reviews before I bought this expensive Hoover cleaner. We have only had it about 8 months. It cleans well, when it is working! Twice now the brushes have stopped turning. The repair guy in our town said that is a big complaint of these cleaners the bearing freezes up on them and you have to replace the whole piece and that cost 60.00. Well the bearing froze again. The guy at the repair shop said the older model of Hoover was better then this new one. Do not buy this or you will be wasting your money, buy a different brand or the older version of the Hoover if it still around, also the attachment works terrible don't waste your time with that. I will email Hoover but I do not expect a reply from what I have read in the reviews. The repair shop has a cleaner he said that works better then Hoovers does and it is half the price. This hoover is truly a piece of garbage, most of the reviewers that gave it 5 stars have only had it 2-7 weeks, give it time it will break on you too.

Was this review helpful? (202) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bummedincali
Manteca, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Hoover All-Terrain Carpet/Floor Cleaner
9/29/2007

Customer review by crittercrazy

5.0 stars 9/29/2007 by crittercrazy
by crittercrazy

This carpet/floor cleaner is just excellent. For the price of one or two professional carpet cleanings, we got professional results with no headaches! The only caveat is to be sure to change the 'buckets' in the kitchen, as it is a slightly drippy exercise. And if the carpet has not been cleaned for awhile, we would recommend a second pass with a plain water rinse after the first cleaning. We are both in our late 50s and this marvelous machine made it possible for us to do our own cleaning - we would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (228) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crittercrazy
Northern Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Brushes stopped rotating after only 2 uses!!!
12/14/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 12/14/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

After reading lots of reviews I chose the Hoover All-Terrain as my new carpet/hard floor cleaner. I liked all the fact that it had lots of extra attachments also that came with it; an upholstry attachment and spin brushes for tile and hard floor. Oh, by the way, on the description and pictures on here it shows a circular pad handheld rotating brush attachment with the cleaner, it does NOT come with that. When I got it home I assembled the handle and went to work. I had a grape jelly stain on my white carpet (compliments of my 2 year old son) that I was anxious to try my new carpet cleaner out on. I used it and it worked perfect; no more grape jelly stain on my white carpet!!! I then tried it out on the tile and hardwood in my house and was satisfied. I probably wouldn't have used it so much on my hard floors as I didn't think it did as good on those as it did on my carpet. The next day I went to clean the carpet in my daughters room and the machine started sound just a tad bit louder, so I looked down and noticed that the spin brushes were NOT spinning anymore! I went and emptied the dirty water container, checked the settings (which were set right; to carpet), and checked to see that the filter wasn't dirty as the owners mannual said under trouble shooting (it was not dirty). So I don't know what happened to it, but I am very dissapointed! $205.00 for something that worked only twice!!! I will be returning for a refund!!! It did do an excellent job on my carpet while it was working, but it should have lasted WAY longer than 2 uses! Very dissapointed! :(

Was this review helpful? (82) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
garner, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great machine!
1/4/2012

Customer review by Fedupwithonline

5.0 stars 1/4/2012 by Fedupwithonline
by Fedupwithonline

After having a Hoover carpet cleaner that lasted for years and replacing it with a Bissel that was awfull we decided to go back to Hoover. I must say this machine is so much better in most respects than our first Hoover. I say most respects because the lower tank (waste water) is not as easy to remove as the previous machine, otherwise it is a much better cleaner! The water capacity is great, the automatic mixing system for soap is very convenient and it cleans the carpet quite well. You need to clean it up after using it though. We have pets and had a build-up of hair on the brushes that went unnoticed, after a few shampoos the brushes quit working because the build-up snapped the drive block on the brush pack (obviously to prevent the motor from burning up). So after replacing the brush pack it's off and running again. Now I keep a close eye on the hair build-up. I would recommend this cleaner to anyone! Hopefully it will last as many years as our first Hoover carpet cleaner did!

Was this review helpful? (33) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fedupwithonline
Naples, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Works well; concerned about durability
12/24/2010

Customer review by WetinWA

4.0 stars 12/24/2010 by WetinWA
by WetinWA

After reading positive reviews on Consumer Reports and other sites, I bought this item with foreknowledge of possible drawbacks but in expectation of good results. After a number of uses, here are my first findings: Function -- works well as a carpet cleaner, less so for stairs, using hand tool (no rinse, little water pickup); durability -- suspect, at this time, as many working parts are made of plastic and make me nervous in their particular applications; use and storage -- leaks a bit in most situations, usually place it on a spare towel when not actually using the shampooer, as there are MANY gasketed seals which drip; haven't used it for hard surfaces or upholstery yet, so can't speak to those uses. I've 'discovered' that if you just move the unit back and forth over an area you've cleaned without depressing the trigger, you can remove more water than the instruction manual indicates; also, when cleaning carpet, pushing the machine forward without depressing the trigger, then depressing it on the backstroke, allows you to rinse an area more completely. Doing these two things together (extra rinse + extra vacuum water removal) seems to produce better results than the recommended method. I can generally walk on the carpet without getting wet socks in a couple of hours. Altogether, I'm pretty well pleased with the unit as it produces results comparable to the last professional cleaning service we used, at much lower cost per use and with the additional benefits that accrue from owning your own tools. I just hope it holds up, as many user reviews mention breakage and difficulty of obtaining either service or parts from Hoover.

Was this review helpful? (35) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WetinWA
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Horrible quality complete waste of money
1/12/2011

Customer review by ohiomom20101

1.0 stars 1/12/2011 by ohiomom20101
by ohiomom20101

After moving into a new house I purchases this carpet shampooer brought it home took it out of the box and it didnt work. It would not suck up the water and it would not spray water out of the attactment hose. I boxed it back up and returned it to the store and bought another one thinking I had gotten a bad model. I purchased the same product. I took it home and ran it 4 times over the last 2 years. I went to use it for the 5th time and it just like the first model i bought would not suck up water or spray it. So my husband tore it apart to see if he could fix it. He is an engineer. He was unsuccessfull. He called the customer support line only for them to say that it was only garuanteed for 1 year regardless how many times the product was used. When I spend close to $200 on a product i expect it to work more than 4 times of moderate to light uses. The customer support was particular unhelpful and did not care that their product was flawed and essentially junk. Do NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY ON THIS PRODUCT!

Was this review helpful? (44) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ohiomom20101
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
Worthless
3/13/2008

Customer review by tootired40

1.0 stars 3/13/2008 by tootired40
by tootired40

I bought this machine because I have 4 kids and 4 dogs enough said. This is the worse cleaner. I bought this thinking that I would love it because it was built up to be more than what it was. My cleaner also broke at the brushes and the cleaner tank broke just like other have said. To the people who have only had the machine for a little while, give it time and you will see what I mean. I would not advise anyone to buy this machine. I bought a warranty and there is not a repair place around so it had to be mailed to a company in Savannah some 400 miles away!

Was this review helpful? (27) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tootired40
Rock Spring, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent Carpet & floor cleaner
6/29/2009

Customer review by Passionforlife

5.0 stars 6/29/2009 by Passionforlife
by Passionforlife

I had a Hoover Steam vac - carpet shampooer before this one. We replaced it with this one a step up and love it. It does an awesome job cleaning kitchen floors to. The Hoover Steam/vac is easy to use and I am very satisifed with its entire preformance. Carpets after their cleaned makes the whole house smell much cleaner.

Was this review helpful? (56) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Passionforlife
Kannapolis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Excellent machine for the price - easy to use!
7/13/2011

Customer review by Diann71

5.0 stars 7/13/2011 by Diann71
by Diann71

This machine is awesome and easy to use! I love it! Although most of the machine is a heavy plastic material, it seems very well made. There are two large wheels and it is easy to move around. The power cord could be a few feet longer, but it is not so short that it is a problem. The suction is great! I could see all of the dirty soap suds and water being sucked up through the machine! The rugs were left damp and dried within a few hours (using a fan). I was impressed! The clean rinse water and separate solution compartments are in one plastic container, with separate caps. The solution is automatically mixed with the water when the trigger is applied, moving in the forward motion. There is a separate container for the dirty water and it sits on the machine just underneath the clean water container. I really like how the dirty water is in its own container because I can dump the dirty water without having to carry any remaining clean water. If I need to add clean water, then I don’t have to deal with lugging around the dirty water too. Each type of water (clean vs. dirty) is maintained separately and is easier to empty, fill and clean. I borrowed a rug cleaner last year that had the clean and dirty water in the same container, with a rubber liner separating the two waters. This was more of a nuisance to handle, harder to clean and just plain messy. The hose is to hook up to the machine for the upholstery cleaning brushes. There are two upholstery accessories included, one with a spinning brush and one with just a line of bristles. I did not use the upholstery pieces, so I can’t comment. I had a slight mishap with the accessory / upholstery hose, so I contacted Hoover Customer Service. They were very polite, helpful and addressed my mishap promptly. If I ever have to use the warranty (hopefully I won’t), I think Hoover will be right there with support! This machine cleaned my rugs much better than I expected! I’m so glad I bought it!!!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Diann71
Upstate NY - Catskills
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
a great cleaner
11/2/2007

Customer review by clem

5.0 stars 11/2/2007 by clem
by clem

This is the 2nd Hoover cleaner I have bought. The first finally gave out after years of use. This one was just as good as the first. I look forward to many more years of use from this cleaner. I HIGHLY recommend this product to others.

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
clem
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Does clean floors
4/28/2010

Customer review by CPU79

4.0 stars 4/28/2010 by CPU79
by CPU79

This SteamVac does a great job cleaning carpets and tile floors. Afterwards, the floors dry quickly. The hand-tool does not have as good suction as the main extractor so stairs and upholstery take a little longer to dry. Overall a great floor cleaner although a little on the heavy side.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CPU79
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Broken out of the box!
6/22/2010

Customer review by HoHumph

1.0 stars 6/22/2010 by HoHumph
by HoHumph

After doing some research on performance and reading about this cleaner in Consumer Reports I decided to make the investment on this machine instead of paying a professional to come clean my carpets several times a year. After assembling the machine and attempting to use if FOR THE FIRST TIME I noticed the brushes weren't spinning. I consulted the troubleshooting section of the manual and when all else failed called Hoover. After more troubleshooting with the CS Rep it was established that the motor for the brushes was in fact, broken. BROKEN! Right out of the box, never been used B R O K E N. I was given the addresss of a local repair shop and informed that I would need to take my brand new, never been used carpet cleaner in for repairs.... say wha?!? The repair shop told me it would take 4-6 weeks to repair it.................. Needless to say I returned what was effectively a very fancy, expensive wet/dry vac to the store and I will NEVER buy another Hoover product. So much for QC/QA. Caveat Emptor!

Was this review helpful? (19) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HoHumph
SLC, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Leaks, bad design
5/29/2013

Customer review by Lucky259

2.0 stars 5/29/2013 by Lucky259
by Lucky259

If you are buying this for carpet only it's ok other than the fact it leaks all over the place every time you change the tanks. I have hardwood floors and when cleaning rigs it leaked on the wood floor and discolored it. The hardwood cleaning was pitiful too (uses different cleaning solution and did not harm floor) the snap on squeegee doesn't stay on and the suction head pushes all the water backwards so when you pull it back you end up with a giant puddle that you have to maneuver around and push the machine over forward to get it up. The design is horrible. You have to attach the hose each time you want to use it (other brands you simply turn a dial) where the hose winds it gets in the way of the electrical cord and when u wind that cord differently it gets in the way of the tanks. There are 2 tanks instead of 1 tank integrated into clean water bladder inside the dirty water tank like other machines. All in all I absolutely would NOT purchase this again and may even take it back for a different machine.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lucky259
Central Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor Machine
1/1/2009

Customer review by LaniDee

1.0 stars 1/1/2009 by LaniDee
by LaniDee

Great at first, but falls apart!!!! The tanks seperate. I had to get my husband to rig it up just so I could use the machine. Leaks from every orfice. HARD to clean the machine. EXTREMELY LOUD!!!! Don't waste your $$$ on this one... buy the regular Floormate for half price.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LaniDee
FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Carpet Cleaner
1/16/2014

Customer review by DofW

5.0 stars 1/16/2014 by DofW
by DofW

The Hoover Max Extract All-Terrain Carpet Cleaner delivers excellent cleaning at a very reasonable price. We have used it twice and it removed all visible dirt that had been ground into our berber carpet during replacement of outside doors project. We previously had a Dual V Hoover cleaner and it performed well for many years before it wore out. We hope to get many years of service from this model and so far so good. This model is a bit on the heavy side but the tool holder is removable so since we use them infrequently, we hang it in the storage closet until needed, making the cleaner lighter. The power scrubber works very well and the suction is strong, leaving the carpet almost dry after a couple passes.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DofW
Hampton Roads, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Steam Cleaner!
2/22/2012

Customer review by RoomRentalGirl

5.0 stars 2/22/2012 by RoomRentalGirl
by RoomRentalGirl

So I bought this because I rent out rooms on a month to month basis and have a high turn over rate due to all the student interns that infiltrate the area I live in. I was renting out the Master Suite & Bath to a guy who had 2 dogs. He fed them cheap food so the poor things had problems keeping the food down and he allowed them to dedicate and urinate in the room because he was to lazy to get up and take them outside during the night. He also (unknown to me) did not give them a bath for 7months and they were predominately outdoor dogs except at night when they slept with this roommate. Needless to say the end result was a stained with spots of clean (where he used spot remover) in an over all dingy filthy rung. I went to Consumer Reports and research the steam cleaners they had tested. this model was ranked a best buy. So I figured I'd give it a try. I got it about 1 wk before I needed to rent the room out again. I first used the "rinse" (this setting only dispenses the water and does not suck the water up) setting and soaked the whole carpet and using the edge tool I got as close to the walls as possible. I let that is for about 2hrs giving the cleaning solution (Febreez pet odder eliminator) a chance to work on all the stains and dirt. at the end of the 2 hours I went back over the rug with the hand tool and vacuum to scrub some of the dirt out. Then I sucked all the water/cleaning solution and dirt up with added "squirts" of solution on the really tough stains (I rust stain from a piece of furniture and one black ink?? mark). On the 1st pass/cleaning over the rug I got 90% of the dirt and stains lifted out of my cream colored Berber style rug. There was probably a collective 2-4" of Dirt and debris covering the bottom of the waste water bin after just the first pass over the room. Took over night (finished cleaning @8:30p and dry @ 6a) to dry. That next evening I had 2 faint stains left (and because of the "found" condition of the rug) I went over the entire room again (same way as before). I got a little more dirt out and bleached (I used ~10% bleach solution, dabbed it on the 2 stains waited till the stains had faded to the point where they matched the surrounding carpet and rinsed/cleaned using the vacuum). The carpet looks and smells brand new. At the end once the rug was all dry I took my Dyson house vacuum to the room to fluff the carpet and remove any excess dried soap from the rug. End results were beautiful "new" carpet, highly recommend this to any one who has TOUGH stains and general dirt to remove.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RoomRentalGirl
Richland, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Good Carpet Cleaner
10/26/2010

Customer review by Razputin

4.0 stars 10/26/2010 by Razputin
by Razputin

Definitely does a better job than RugDoctor. You have to go slowly to do a good job on a dirty carpet with this or any carpet cleaner for that matter. I cleaned a basement carpet that is a playroom with LOTS of various stains from spilled drinks etc. It got most of them. Had tried the rental units before and they weren't as good. Wish it had bigger tanks because you stop every fifteen minutes or so to empty and refill. I did commercial carpet cleaning years ago and this is the next best thing. As carpet cleaners go it's about as good as it gets. You would have to hire a very good commercial cleaner to beat it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Razputin
Cincinnati. OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Don't waste your money on this.
8/31/2012

Customer review by testsubject

1.0 stars 8/31/2012 by testsubject
by testsubject

Bought on-line and came in okay. During the 4th time we were using it the brushes quit working due to the turbine and gear assembly breaking (All plastic parts). I once was a hoover repairman. Called Hoover and got the run around. No service center within 100 miles of me. After 2 days of calling and hours of hold time I find out Hoover wont send me the part. Air is the only thing that comes into contact with this part that broke, and it split into. Cheap plastic used in manufacturing. I'll never buy from Hoover again. They wont stand behind their products. This is only 2 months old!!! Cost me $250.00. I told them what I thought of them and their products.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
testsubject
AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
7/26/2011

Customer review by SleazyRider

3.0 stars 7/26/2011 by SleazyRider
by SleazyRider

The Hoover "SteamVac" is mis-named because it doesn't have the ability to turn water into steam. You simply fill the water tank with hot water. We followed the instructions to the letter and upon using the machine we noticed it only picked up half the water it put into the carpet. It could do better extracting water as this is how carpet cleaners clean. By extracting the dirt with the water. I have a Rainbow vacuum with a carpet cleaner attachment. I used it's water extracter and was able to pick up more water and dirt. Another con about this machine is it's weight. There is no power assist in the wheels. After pushing and pulling this machine over a 30' by 25' carpet area I was beat.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SleazyRider
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 513 total reviews
1-20 of 513 reviews