Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 672 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

672 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

672 reviews | 4 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
354
4 stars
160
3 stars
44
2 stars
32
1 stars
82
1-20 of 622 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 622 total reviews
1-20 of 622 reviews
"Carrying handle" snapped
9/26/2016

Customer review by Magycal1

1.0 stars 9/26/2016 by Magycal1
by Magycal1

I've owned this cleaner for 48 hours, and the so called carrying handle just snapped which rendered the machine useless as the top tank falls out without it. The all terrain feature basically just wets the floor and the squeegee falls off there's no point even trying. Overall this machine is very mediocre. I've attached pictures of the handle and cleaned carpet.

Comment from Karissa - 10/14/2016

Hi Magycal1! Oh no, your Max Extract All Terrain should hold up better than that. We want to help. We will be reaching out to you privately for further assistance in this matter. We look forward to hearing from you!

Magycal1
Las Vegas, NV, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Does clean floors
4/28/2010

Customer review by CPU79

4.0 stars 4/28/2010 by CPU79
by CPU79

This SteamVac does a great job cleaning carpets and tile floors. Afterwards, the floors dry quickly. The hand-tool does not have as good suction as the main extractor so stairs and upholstery take a little longer to dry. Overall a great floor cleaner although a little on the heavy side.

Was this review helpful? (48) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CPU79
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Great machine!
1/4/2012

Customer review by Fedupwithonline

5.0 stars 1/4/2012 by Fedupwithonline
by Fedupwithonline

After having a Hoover carpet cleaner that lasted for years and replacing it with a Bissel that was awfull we decided to go back to Hoover. I must say this machine is so much better in most respects than our first Hoover. I say most respects because the lower tank (waste water) is not as easy to remove as the previous machine, otherwise it is a much better cleaner! The water capacity is great, the automatic mixing system for soap is very convenient and it cleans the carpet quite well. You need to clean it up after using it though. We have pets and had a build-up of hair on the brushes that went unnoticed, after a few shampoos the brushes quit working because the build-up snapped the drive block on the brush pack (obviously to prevent the motor from burning up). So after replacing the brush pack it's off and running again. Now I keep a close eye on the hair build-up. I would recommend this cleaner to anyone! Hopefully it will last as many years as our first Hoover carpet cleaner did!

Was this review helpful? (80) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fedupwithonline
Naples, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Garbage
12/12/2008

Customer review by bummedincali

1.0 stars 12/12/2008 by bummedincali
by bummedincali

I wish I would of read some of these reviews before I bought this expensive Hoover cleaner. We have only had it about 8 months. It cleans well, when it is working! Twice now the brushes have stopped turning. The repair guy in our town said that is a big complaint of these cleaners the bearing freezes up on them and you have to replace the whole piece and that cost 60.00. Well the bearing froze again. The guy at the repair shop said the older model of Hoover was better then this new one. Do not buy this or you will be wasting your money, buy a different brand or the older version of the Hoover if it still around, also the attachment works terrible don't waste your time with that. I will email Hoover but I do not expect a reply from what I have read in the reviews. The repair shop has a cleaner he said that works better then Hoovers does and it is half the price. This hoover is truly a piece of garbage, most of the reviewers that gave it 5 stars have only had it 2-7 weeks, give it time it will break on you too.

Was this review helpful? (259) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bummedincali
Manteca, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Very Disappointed
7/23/2015

Customer review by LaundryLady

1.0 stars 7/23/2015 by LaundryLady
by LaundryLady

I have another new Hoover carpet cleaner that works well, but I thought I'd purchase this model because of the reviews and a leading consumer organization recommending it. I was so excited when it arrived. When we took it out of the box, it seemed cheaply made as compared to my other carpet cleaner. I did not like the way the water containers removed and were reattached. My other machine has very easy removal and reattaching of the water containers. We don't have any carpet but do have large area rugs in traffic areas. I tried to takeoff the cover to change the brush for tile floors but we couldn't get it off. Called Hoover and the rep. said the manual pictures how to remove it are incorrect. Also, I read many, many reviews that the water tank leaks. The seal doesn't go all of the way around so I can see why it might leak. We didn't actually use the machine and took it back to the store. Decided to keep the carpet cleaner I have and purchased a Hoover hard floor cleaner instead which I absolutely love.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LaundryLady
Would recommend to a friend? No
Leaks, bad design
5/29/2013

Customer review by Lucky259

2.0 stars 5/29/2013 by Lucky259
by Lucky259
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If you are buying this for carpet only it's ok other than the fact it leaks all over the place every time you change the tanks. I have hardwood floors and when cleaning rigs it leaked on the wood floor and discolored it. The hardwood cleaning was pitiful too (uses different cleaning solution and did not harm floor) the snap on squeegee doesn't stay on and the suction head pushes all the water backwards so when you pull it back you end up with a giant puddle that you have to maneuver around and push the machine over forward to get it up. The design is horrible. You have to attach the hose each time you want to use it (other brands you simply turn a dial) where the hose winds it gets in the way of the electrical cord and when u wind that cord differently it gets in the way of the tanks. There are 2 tanks instead of 1 tank integrated into clean water bladder inside the dirty water tank like other machines. All in all I absolutely would NOT purchase this again and may even take it back for a different machine.

Was this review helpful? (31) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lucky259
Central Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Once per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Brushes stopped spinning
2/14/2016

Customer review by Mark78

2.0 stars 2/14/2016 by Mark78
by Mark78

I bought this cleaner after reading a positive review from consumer reports. The unit worked well at first, but after only three uses the brushes stopped spinning. So I disassembled the unit and discovered this was due to a cracked rotor in the brush turbine assembly. I would not recommend this cleaner.

Comment from Kenya - 2/17/2016

Hi Mark78! Your Max Extract All-Terrain should be holding up better than that. The turbine can become damaged if the drive pin shaft places stress on it due to the shaft not being able to spin freely. This normally occurs if there’s hair/debris lodged in the brushes. The brushes should be cleaned after every use. This model comes with a 1 year warranty against manufacturing defects. We recommend bringing it in for service. We were able to locate a repair center in Atlanta. See it here: http://bit.ly/20ZjxT2. Let us know if you still need us!

Mark78
Atlanta, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Horrible quality complete waste of money
1/12/2011

Customer review by ohiomom20101

1.0 stars 1/12/2011 by ohiomom20101
by ohiomom20101

After moving into a new house I purchases this carpet shampooer brought it home took it out of the box and it didnt work. It would not suck up the water and it would not spray water out of the attactment hose. I boxed it back up and returned it to the store and bought another one thinking I had gotten a bad model. I purchased the same product. I took it home and ran it 4 times over the last 2 years. I went to use it for the 5th time and it just like the first model i bought would not suck up water or spray it. So my husband tore it apart to see if he could fix it. He is an engineer. He was unsuccessfull. He called the customer support line only for them to say that it was only garuanteed for 1 year regardless how many times the product was used. When I spend close to $200 on a product i expect it to work more than 4 times of moderate to light uses. The customer support was particular unhelpful and did not care that their product was flawed and essentially junk. Do NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY ON THIS PRODUCT!

Was this review helpful? (68) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ohiomom20101
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:Longer than one year
Broken out of the box!
6/22/2010

Customer review by HoHumph

1.0 stars 6/22/2010 by HoHumph
by HoHumph

After doing some research on performance and reading about this cleaner in Consumer Reports I decided to make the investment on this machine instead of paying a professional to come clean my carpets several times a year. After assembling the machine and attempting to use if FOR THE FIRST TIME I noticed the brushes weren't spinning. I consulted the troubleshooting section of the manual and when all else failed called Hoover. After more troubleshooting with the CS Rep it was established that the motor for the brushes was in fact, broken. BROKEN! Right out of the box, never been used B R O K E N. I was given the addresss of a local repair shop and informed that I would need to take my brand new, never been used carpet cleaner in for repairs.... say wha?!? The repair shop told me it would take 4-6 weeks to repair it.................. Needless to say I returned what was effectively a very fancy, expensive wet/dry vac to the store and I will NEVER buy another Hoover product. So much for QC/QA. Caveat Emptor!

Was this review helpful? (31) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HoHumph
SLC, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Never
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Hoover steamvac
8/10/2008

Customer review by antony555

1.0 stars 8/10/2008 by antony555
by antony555

I purchased the machice and read the instructions and put it to use, i have no problem with it's cleaning abilities but the durability is what's at question. Vacuumed my carpet, low pile carpet twice before beginning then after two uses, the brush assembly is just a small plastic part designed to break in case the motor is over heated due to something being caught between the brushes. This part breaks with very little force, the dealer says to take it apart each time its used and clean, even after doing this it still broke, the price for the part runs about 42.00 with tax, try this and the soap and clean water tank once replaced then make up your mind if its worth it!!! To make a long story short. I have replaced the brush assemblies three times and the clean water tank once and they made an upgrade to that.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
antony555
Grain Valley, Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Now I don't have to replace all of my carpet...
11/29/2016

Customer review by Gino1968

4.0 stars 11/29/2016 by Gino1968
by Gino1968
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Background: Two dumb dogs, a black Lab & a mean Yorkie both four years old. A 16 year old boy who can't figure out how to work a broom or any other cleaning implement. Challenge: My 80-ish year old parents coming for Thanksgiving & I don't want them to think that I live in a flop house. Outcome: Carpet looks GREAT after having not cleaned it thoroughly for a couple of years. Really. The cleaner is a little loud but the cleaning is very good. Carpet doesn't get too wet. Make sure to read the instructions relative to mixing solution - don't use too much. I didn't give it 4 stars because it occasionally leaks a little dirty water - making another stain - when changing water containers or filling up. I did the stairs with the onboard attachment & it works great as well. This item (with warranty) is a must-have for the frugal homeowner.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gino1968
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hoover All-Terrain Carpet Cleaner
4/10/2017

Customer review by RayJ

5.0 stars 4/10/2017 by RayJ
by RayJ

This is my second All-Terrain. The first one began to leak terribly but, after more than 12 years of service something was bound to go wrong. That right ... over 12 years. I couldn't be more pleased with how the unit operates. I purchased the first one in 2004 when I replaced all the carpeting in my house with tile. Clean up with a mop after tile had been laid is a messy to say the least so, I decided to purchase a floor cleaner. The All-Terrain appeared to have everything I was looking for so I purchased it. In 2007 I purchased a new home with both tile and carpeting. Needless to say I had the cleaning chores covered with the All-Terrain but, this year it began to leak so I have purchased a replacement. Perfect out-of-the-box.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RayJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT CARPET CLEANER
5/11/2017

Customer review by DebbieSue

5.0 stars 5/11/2017 by DebbieSue
by DebbieSue

The Hoover Max Extract All-Terrain Carpet Cleaner is awesome. I have a chocolate lab and he sheds. We have had the same carpet since 1994 and it is a light color. This cleans our carpet really good. I have never had a professional clean the carpet in this house. It is lightweight and cleans up the dirt really good!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DebbieSue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
awesome work horse
9/12/2009

Customer review by emojazz

5.0 stars 9/12/2009 by emojazz
by emojazz

I had the first hoover upright then it finally dead. i got the all terrain and it is awesome i have dogs cats parrots and always a mess somewhere, its quick easy to move from room to room, carpets are dry in like an hour, and very durable i even use it to clean houses, apartments and businesses, (a little side job i do) and they are amazed how clean the carpets are. you can't really go wrong with it.

Was this review helpful? (184) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
emojazz
Johnstown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Love it!
5/15/2013

Customer review by hapecamper

5.0 stars 5/15/2013 by hapecamper
by hapecamper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Absolutely thrilled with the customer service involved with this order. I cancelled my original purchase through Sears due to their total lack of professionalism in handling the order & I'm STILL waiting on a refund! Not only did I receive my cleaner from Walmart in a timely manner but have already used it on a rug that got automotive oil stains on it in several places (ugh!) & it came out beautiful! Very pleased so far & looking forward to the results on hard wood & tile floors next. I purchased the extended warranty as well, just in case I have any problems down the line. Sears didn't even offer the extended warranty with my original purchase. All in all, I am very pleased so far with this purchase. Thanks so much to everyone who followed through with my order from start to finish without a flaw. KUDOS to you all! That's what customer service is all about & that kind of care will keep your doors open for many years to come while other stores are closing theirs & wondering why! Great job guy's! Thanks again!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hapecamper
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed
6/30/2008

Customer review by gator2

2.0 stars 6/30/2008 by gator2
by gator2

I have owned my Hoover cleaner for 5 yrs. It's a good cleaner I won't take that from it but it's the water/cleaning solutions tank that I am not happy with. I take care of my machine but in 5 yrs I have gone through about 6-7 tanks. I have asked hoover why the tank breaks but they can't seem to answer that question for me. It's always the same part, the little spring on the bottom. I had mine for about a year before it broke the first time. And the tanks aren't cheap. They run about $43 now. But they will go up. When my first one broke they were $32. And it's hard to get another tank they always seem to be out of stock. I am looking at getting another brand of carpet cleaner. Good Luck. Hope this doesn't happen to anyone else.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gator2
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Hoover All-Terrain Carpet/Floor Cleaner
9/29/2007

Customer review by crittercrazy

5.0 stars 9/29/2007 by crittercrazy
by crittercrazy

This carpet/floor cleaner is just excellent. For the price of one or two professional carpet cleanings, we got professional results with no headaches! The only caveat is to be sure to change the 'buckets' in the kitchen, as it is a slightly drippy exercise. And if the carpet has not been cleaned for awhile, we would recommend a second pass with a plain water rinse after the first cleaning. We are both in our late 50s and this marvelous machine made it possible for us to do our own cleaning - we would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (237) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crittercrazy
Northern Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Hoover doesn't stand by its product
4/6/2017

Customer review by JHufford

1.0 stars 4/6/2017 by JHufford
by JHufford

I bought this machine in February 2016. I wanted to love it. And I did love the way it cleans. But the machine is so loud, I have to use ear plugs when I operate it. The squeegee will not stay on the nozzle so I'm forced to use the machine without it. That aside, I loved the way it cleaned my tile floors and my carpets. Very easy to use and it brought up a lot of dirt. I was very impressed. But a few weeks ago, the dispenser for the cleaning solution, located on the clean water tank, began to leak. At first it was a few drips but now it leaks quite a bit of fluid, to the point where I cannot use the machine. It leaked cleaning solution all over my floors. I contacted Hoover to try to fix the problem, and of course they told me that my warranty had expired (two weeks ago!). They refused to send me a replacement tank, instead offering to either sell me a new tank for 50% off or sell me a replacement machine for 50% off. I opted for the replacement tank because I cannot justify sinking another $150 into a machine I can’t trust to work. A quality machine and its parts should last longer than one year, especially with a ticket price of $200. Coincidentally, this same week my Hoover Runabout vacuum cleaner died on me. I’m not as upset about that—I’ve had it since 1997. But now that I’m shopping for a new vacuum, Hoover is low on my list of options. I don’t feel I can trust the brand and the response from their customer service department was dismaying. I’ll be shopping other brands from now on.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 5/17/2017

Hi JHufford, Oh no, that doesn’t sound too good. We want to help. Your Max Extract All Terrain comes with a 1 year warranty against any manufacturer defects at no cost to you. But after the warranty period is over we can offer a discount off of a new unit or parts, as in your case 50% off both. Hope this clarifies things more! -Doug, Hoover Customer Care

JHufford
Would recommend to a friend? No
Brushes stopped rotating after only 2 uses!!!
12/14/2010

Customer review by michaelandrobin

1.0 stars 12/14/2010 by michaelandrobin
by michaelandrobin

After reading lots of reviews I chose the Hoover All-Terrain as my new carpet/hard floor cleaner. I liked all the fact that it had lots of extra attachments also that came with it; an upholstry attachment and spin brushes for tile and hard floor. Oh, by the way, on the description and pictures on here it shows a circular pad handheld rotating brush attachment with the cleaner, it does NOT come with that. When I got it home I assembled the handle and went to work. I had a grape jelly stain on my white carpet (compliments of my 2 year old son) that I was anxious to try my new carpet cleaner out on. I used it and it worked perfect; no more grape jelly stain on my white carpet!!! I then tried it out on the tile and hardwood in my house and was satisfied. I probably wouldn't have used it so much on my hard floors as I didn't think it did as good on those as it did on my carpet. The next day I went to clean the carpet in my daughters room and the machine started sound just a tad bit louder, so I looked down and noticed that the spin brushes were NOT spinning anymore! I went and emptied the dirty water container, checked the settings (which were set right; to carpet), and checked to see that the filter wasn't dirty as the owners mannual said under trouble shooting (it was not dirty). So I don't know what happened to it, but I am very dissapointed! $205.00 for something that worked only twice!!! I will be returning for a refund!!! It did do an excellent job on my carpet while it was working, but it should have lasted WAY longer than 2 uses! Very dissapointed! :(

Was this review helpful? (95) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
michaelandrobin
garner, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Nice,but a big cleaner
3/6/2017

Customer review by Ester

4.0 stars 3/6/2017 by Ester
by Ester
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm giving this rug cleaner 4 stars. Although I haven't used it on my carpet yet. I did use it on my hard surface floor. It worked great didn't know my floor was so dirty. I did use the intire bottle of hard floor cleaner that came with it. Cleaned the kitchen, dining, short hallway & master bath. Whew I was pooped. The squeegee kept falling off but only when the cleaner was lifted off the floor. It worked great when it was in contact with floor. A lot of reviews talked about water leaks I personally did not have any problem. The squeegee thing could have used a better design.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 3/7/2017

Hi Ester! When attaching the squeegee, please ensure that it gets snapped into place so that it does not fall off during use. Hope this helps! -Michael, Hoover Customer Care

Ester
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 622 total reviews
1-20 of 622 reviews