Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 630 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

630 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

630 reviews | 4 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
334
4 stars
149
3 stars
40
2 stars
31
1 stars
76
1-20 of 580 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 580 total reviews
1-20 of 580 reviews
Does clean floors
4/28/2010

Customer review by CPU79

4.0 stars 4/28/2010 by CPU79
by CPU79

This SteamVac does a great job cleaning carpets and tile floors. Afterwards, the floors dry quickly. The hand-tool does not have as good suction as the main extractor so stairs and upholstery take a little longer to dry. Overall a great floor cleaner although a little on the heavy side.

Was this review helpful? (38) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CPU79
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great machine!
1/4/2012

Customer review by Fedupwithonline

5.0 stars 1/4/2012 by Fedupwithonline
by Fedupwithonline

After having a Hoover carpet cleaner that lasted for years and replacing it with a Bissel that was awfull we decided to go back to Hoover. I must say this machine is so much better in most respects than our first Hoover. I say most respects because the lower tank (waste water) is not as easy to remove as the previous machine, otherwise it is a much better cleaner! The water capacity is great, the automatic mixing system for soap is very convenient and it cleans the carpet quite well. You need to clean it up after using it though. We have pets and had a build-up of hair on the brushes that went unnoticed, after a few shampoos the brushes quit working because the build-up snapped the drive block on the brush pack (obviously to prevent the motor from burning up). So after replacing the brush pack it's off and running again. Now I keep a close eye on the hair build-up. I would recommend this cleaner to anyone! Hopefully it will last as many years as our first Hoover carpet cleaner did!

Was this review helpful? (71) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fedupwithonline
Naples, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Garbage
12/12/2008

Customer review by bummedincali

1.0 stars 12/12/2008 by bummedincali
by bummedincali

I wish I would of read some of these reviews before I bought this expensive Hoover cleaner. We have only had it about 8 months. It cleans well, when it is working! Twice now the brushes have stopped turning. The repair guy in our town said that is a big complaint of these cleaners the bearing freezes up on them and you have to replace the whole piece and that cost 60.00. Well the bearing froze again. The guy at the repair shop said the older model of Hoover was better then this new one. Do not buy this or you will be wasting your money, buy a different brand or the older version of the Hoover if it still around, also the attachment works terrible don't waste your time with that. I will email Hoover but I do not expect a reply from what I have read in the reviews. The repair shop has a cleaner he said that works better then Hoovers does and it is half the price. This hoover is truly a piece of garbage, most of the reviewers that gave it 5 stars have only had it 2-7 weeks, give it time it will break on you too.

Was this review helpful? (251) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bummedincali
Manteca, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Very Disappointed
7/23/2015

Customer review by LaundryLady

1.0 stars 7/23/2015 by LaundryLady
by LaundryLady

I have another new Hoover carpet cleaner that works well, but I thought I'd purchase this model because of the reviews and a leading consumer organization recommending it. I was so excited when it arrived. When we took it out of the box, it seemed cheaply made as compared to my other carpet cleaner. I did not like the way the water containers removed and were reattached. My other machine has very easy removal and reattaching of the water containers. We don't have any carpet but do have large area rugs in traffic areas. I tried to takeoff the cover to change the brush for tile floors but we couldn't get it off. Called Hoover and the rep. said the manual pictures how to remove it are incorrect. Also, I read many, many reviews that the water tank leaks. The seal doesn't go all of the way around so I can see why it might leak. We didn't actually use the machine and took it back to the store. Decided to keep the carpet cleaner I have and purchased a Hoover hard floor cleaner instead which I absolutely love.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LaundryLady
Would recommend to a friend? No
Leaks, bad design
5/29/2013

Customer review by Lucky259

2.0 stars 5/29/2013 by Lucky259
by Lucky259
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If you are buying this for carpet only it's ok other than the fact it leaks all over the place every time you change the tanks. I have hardwood floors and when cleaning rigs it leaked on the wood floor and discolored it. The hardwood cleaning was pitiful too (uses different cleaning solution and did not harm floor) the snap on squeegee doesn't stay on and the suction head pushes all the water backwards so when you pull it back you end up with a giant puddle that you have to maneuver around and push the machine over forward to get it up. The design is horrible. You have to attach the hose each time you want to use it (other brands you simply turn a dial) where the hose winds it gets in the way of the electrical cord and when u wind that cord differently it gets in the way of the tanks. There are 2 tanks instead of 1 tank integrated into clean water bladder inside the dirty water tank like other machines. All in all I absolutely would NOT purchase this again and may even take it back for a different machine.

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lucky259
Central Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Horrible quality complete waste of money
1/12/2011

Customer review by ohiomom20101

1.0 stars 1/12/2011 by ohiomom20101
by ohiomom20101

After moving into a new house I purchases this carpet shampooer brought it home took it out of the box and it didnt work. It would not suck up the water and it would not spray water out of the attactment hose. I boxed it back up and returned it to the store and bought another one thinking I had gotten a bad model. I purchased the same product. I took it home and ran it 4 times over the last 2 years. I went to use it for the 5th time and it just like the first model i bought would not suck up water or spray it. So my husband tore it apart to see if he could fix it. He is an engineer. He was unsuccessfull. He called the customer support line only for them to say that it was only garuanteed for 1 year regardless how many times the product was used. When I spend close to $200 on a product i expect it to work more than 4 times of moderate to light uses. The customer support was particular unhelpful and did not care that their product was flawed and essentially junk. Do NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY ON THIS PRODUCT!

Was this review helpful? (63) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ohiomom20101
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
Broken out of the box!
6/22/2010

Customer review by HoHumph

1.0 stars 6/22/2010 by HoHumph
by HoHumph

After doing some research on performance and reading about this cleaner in Consumer Reports I decided to make the investment on this machine instead of paying a professional to come clean my carpets several times a year. After assembling the machine and attempting to use if FOR THE FIRST TIME I noticed the brushes weren't spinning. I consulted the troubleshooting section of the manual and when all else failed called Hoover. After more troubleshooting with the CS Rep it was established that the motor for the brushes was in fact, broken. BROKEN! Right out of the box, never been used B R O K E N. I was given the addresss of a local repair shop and informed that I would need to take my brand new, never been used carpet cleaner in for repairs.... say wha?!? The repair shop told me it would take 4-6 weeks to repair it.................. Needless to say I returned what was effectively a very fancy, expensive wet/dry vac to the store and I will NEVER buy another Hoover product. So much for QC/QA. Caveat Emptor!

Was this review helpful? (30) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HoHumph
SLC, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Could have been a five star...
7/15/2016

Customer review by TerryE

4.0 stars 7/15/2016 by TerryE
by TerryE
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My old Hoover has been dieing a slow death. It stopped working in the shampoo mode. Then the upholstery hose gave up the ghost. At this point it's literally held together with duct tape, thus the reasons for purchasing a new one. So far I've shampooed a sofa, carpet and flight of stairs. I'm very impressed with both its cleaning capability and the suction. The pickup tank fills at almost the same rate the dispensing tank empties. Nice. the problem is the water dispenser on the upholstery hose. It jams in the open position. It behaves just long enough for me to let my guard down. It then sprays like a fire hose run amuck until I realize it's doing it again and manually push the trigger back to closed position. By then the step or section of sofa is soaked. I'm left with quite a bit of suctioning to do. This makes me worry about the workmanship quality. How long will the other components last? Guess I'll find out!

TerryE
South Bend, IN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hoover steamvac
8/10/2008

Customer review by antony555

1.0 stars 8/10/2008 by antony555
by antony555

I purchased the machice and read the instructions and put it to use, i have no problem with it's cleaning abilities but the durability is what's at question. Vacuumed my carpet, low pile carpet twice before beginning then after two uses, the brush assembly is just a small plastic part designed to break in case the motor is over heated due to something being caught between the brushes. This part breaks with very little force, the dealer says to take it apart each time its used and clean, even after doing this it still broke, the price for the part runs about 42.00 with tax, try this and the soap and clean water tank once replaced then make up your mind if its worth it!!! To make a long story short. I have replaced the brush assemblies three times and the clean water tank once and they made an upgrade to that.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
antony555
Grain Valley, Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
excellent
8/28/2016

Customer review by pguy11

4.0 stars 8/28/2016 by pguy11
by pguy11
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

easy set up cleans well easy to use need better design for on board tool storage

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pguy11
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great power and cleaning ability
8/16/2016

Customer review by Docs mate

5.0 stars 8/16/2016 by Docs mate
by Docs mate
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Best buy I've made recently . Just cleaned carpet professionally and still extracted a lot of dirt I could not see

Docs mate
Anderson, SC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Value
7/5/2016

Customer review by Teacher Lady

4.0 stars 7/5/2016 by Teacher Lady
by Teacher Lady
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this before a big family event at my house and was pleased w the job it did. It was a great value for the sale price we paid. It wasn't a perfect job but a huge improvement! I owned a similar cleaner from Hoover previously. THe improvement in this machine was that the soap dispenser is separate from the water, so that you can elect to rinse and suction the soap from the rug. I'm not sure how well it actually rinsed, as the smell of soap was quite strong. The suction worked well and the carpet dried quickly. The piece that holds the tool attachments was awkward and got in the way when I was using the machine, so I removed it and now store it separately. I also used the floor attachment and squeegy and it did a nice job. Much better than the wet swifter I used in my kitchen tile previously

Teacher Lady
Holden, MA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Carpet Cleaner!!
8/9/2016

Customer review by Chicky D

4.0 stars 8/9/2016 by Chicky D
by Chicky D
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Recently purchased this to replace my Bissell pro heat pet edition. It held on for 5 years and countless cleanings. Getting to the Hoover. I am amazed at how dry the carpets after one or two passes. This machine really pulls almost all the water up. I also love the separate tanks. No more filling a bladder. The machine is also lighter than my pervious unit. I do hope it holds up. So far so good!!

Chicky D
St Cloud, MN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pretty good.....
8/10/2016

Customer review by Chelle

4.0 stars 8/10/2016 by Chelle
by Chelle

Seems to get our carpets pretty clean, but I've found one drawback. I've gotten dog hair up inside the plastic housing that holds the brushes. The manual doesn't address this issue, other than just rinsing off the exterior of the brushes. I want to take the housing apart, but haven't for fear of breaking it.

Comment from Karissa - 8/10/2016

Hi Chelle! If pet hair has become stuck inside the brushes please rinse the entire brushblock out in the sink, then allow it to completely air dry. The hair will rinse out with the running water. Hope this helps!

Chelle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Max Extraction Terrain cleaner
8/8/2016

Customer review by mac 1

5.0 stars 8/8/2016 by mac 1
by mac 1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Just what it says it will do. My carpets look exceptionally clean. I'm quite impressed with the product so far. I've had other cleaners before and after several uses they no longer clean as well, including hoover. But this one is exceptional so far.

mac 1
Nashua, NH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
awesome work horse
9/12/2009

Customer review by emojazz

5.0 stars 9/12/2009 by emojazz
by emojazz

I had the first hoover upright then it finally dead. i got the all terrain and it is awesome i have dogs cats parrots and always a mess somewhere, its quick easy to move from room to room, carpets are dry in like an hour, and very durable i even use it to clean houses, apartments and businesses, (a little side job i do) and they are amazed how clean the carpets are. you can't really go wrong with it.

Was this review helpful? (181) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
emojazz
Johnstown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Love it!
5/15/2013

Customer review by hapecamper

5.0 stars 5/15/2013 by hapecamper
by hapecamper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Absolutely thrilled with the customer service involved with this order. I cancelled my original purchase through Sears due to their total lack of professionalism in handling the order & I'm STILL waiting on a refund! Not only did I receive my cleaner from Walmart in a timely manner but have already used it on a rug that got automotive oil stains on it in several places (ugh!) & it came out beautiful! Very pleased so far & looking forward to the results on hard wood & tile floors next. I purchased the extended warranty as well, just in case I have any problems down the line. Sears didn't even offer the extended warranty with my original purchase. All in all, I am very pleased so far with this purchase. Thanks so much to everyone who followed through with my order from start to finish without a flaw. KUDOS to you all! That's what customer service is all about & that kind of care will keep your doors open for many years to come while other stores are closing theirs & wondering why! Great job guy's! Thanks again!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hapecamper
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Kmh
8/15/2016

Customer review by Kmh62

5.0 stars 8/15/2016 by Kmh62
by Kmh62
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have only used this once. The squeegee for the floor won't stay on, which I will contact the company, but otherwise it did a great job on my rugs. My rugs completely dried in 2 hrs.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kmh62
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent
8/15/2016

Customer review by Cindy

5.0 stars 8/15/2016 by Cindy
by Cindy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have been through several carpet scrubbers and this one is way above all the rest! the cleaning power and the suction are great! Great scrubber with a great price!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cindy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hoover All-Terrain Carpet/Floor Cleaner
9/29/2007

Customer review by crittercrazy

5.0 stars 9/29/2007 by crittercrazy
by crittercrazy

This carpet/floor cleaner is just excellent. For the price of one or two professional carpet cleanings, we got professional results with no headaches! The only caveat is to be sure to change the 'buckets' in the kitchen, as it is a slightly drippy exercise. And if the carpet has not been cleaned for awhile, we would recommend a second pass with a plain water rinse after the first cleaning. We are both in our late 50s and this marvelous machine made it possible for us to do our own cleaning - we would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (235) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crittercrazy
Northern Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 580 total reviews
1-20 of 580 reviews