Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 15 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

15 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

15 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-11 of 11 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Not too shabby
4/10/2008

Customer review by Gemini10

4.0 stars 4/10/2008 by Gemini10
by Gemini10

My wife gave me this telescope for Christmas 2007. I was very excited to put it together as soon as I opened it. It is made very well, it does have some plastic pieces, so one has to be cautious to not break or over torque these. The mount is a bit shakey, especially on windy days, so you can loose your object of view, but otherwise it's not too bad. I have been able to view the Moon, Saturn and it's rings, the M45 cluster and one other star cluster that I do not know the name of. I am an amateur, so I am still learning. This product is very easy and quick to set up. The only con I have for this is the USB camera, I cannot get mine to work, each time I hook it up to my pc running Windows XP Pro, it reboots my pc when I try to run the camera program. Other than that, it's a good product, you will get lots of enjoyment out of it, but be patient, stargazing can be frustrating. Enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gemini10
Fresno, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Nice Telescope
1/15/2008

Customer review by Cowgirllovegoddess

5.0 stars 1/15/2008 by Cowgirllovegoddess
by Cowgirllovegoddess

This is a very nice telescope. You receive a lot for your money. The only confusing part is the camera. You have to have a computer hooked up to the camera to actually snap the picture, so a laptop is a must if you want to take pictures. That wasn't really explained in the "details" section.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cowgirllovegoddess
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Helpful Learning Tool
1/8/2008

Customer review by JustLeaveItUpMe

5.0 stars 1/8/2008 by JustLeaveItUpMe
by JustLeaveItUpMe

We bought the Meade 70AZ-USB Telescope with USB Color Camera, as a gift for a 9 year old and she loves it we would recommend this product. As I continue this review I will be putting in her input on this product.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JustLeaveItUpMe
Rensseler, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice beginner telescope
12/26/2007

Customer review by dunit

5.0 stars 12/26/2007 by dunit
by dunit

Just got done putting it together and checking out a few things. It went together fairly easily with no "forcing" of pieces...which is nice. The instruction book is not great, but it's not bad either for the assembly. What it is good at is giving lots of ideas and information about how/what/when and why to look at things. It's not an encyclopedia, but it's good for a "Get your interest" read. The telescope itself is about what I expected for the money. It has mainly plastic pieces with metal screws and thumbweels (don't over-tighten or you will crack the plastic). The optics, which are the important parts, seem very good. The viewer to initially line things up even has decent magnification instead of being simply a look through tube. Who ever designed the thing did a very nice job...sorry, I admire good work being an engineer. It is very well thought out. I got this for my 7 year old and she is chopping at the bit to use it, especially with Mar's being so close to earth right now. Too bad is was cloudy tonight. I was able to see a few things in between clouds after she went to bed. Good magnification and ease of use for a "cheap" telescope. You won't be disappointed unless you are wanting the Hubble telescope for a hundred bucks. I am now impressed with Meade...and that doesn't come easily with me. Get it and enjoy.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dunit
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
a great gift
3/4/2008

Customer review by pt04

5.0 stars 3/4/2008 by pt04
by pt04

very good product for the price. It was bought for my daughters 23 birthday and she loves it! She is teaching her little sis about the constellation. it is great entertainment and educational.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pt04
pocola OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Quality and Value
1/2/2008

Customer review by DSPWRP

5.0 stars 1/2/2008 by DSPWRP
by DSPWRP

This is a great telescope for beginners. It is of high quality and the price is unbelievable!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DSPWRP
Longwood, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Toy for Grandpa
12/24/2007

Customer review by GrmaLes

4.0 stars 12/24/2007 by GrmaLes
by GrmaLes

I purchased this telescope for my Husband for Christmas, but gave it to him early. He has no real hobby that he can do at home. He needed something he could do that doesnt take a lot of physical effort as he has arthritus. This was the perfect gift for him. He can use it indoors or out. Thanks Wal Mart

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrmaLes
Carmen, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice for money
12/27/2007

Customer review by Missyonthego

4.0 stars 12/27/2007 by Missyonthego
by Missyonthego

This was a gift and we are really pleased with the package. It has software to help with setup and the camera is really a wonderful addition to the telescope. The person we gave it to likes it a lot. We are very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Missyonthego
oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/3/2008

Customer review by jackrussellterrierlover

4.0 stars 1/3/2008 by jackrussellterrierlover
by jackrussellterrierlover

My husband got this as a gift. He was very happy when he opened it up. He had it put together (with the help of the DVD) and was outside in the cold getting everything lined up. Very Happy

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jackrussellterrierlover
Champaign, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Just Fair
12/9/2007

Customer review by skooter60

2.0 stars 12/9/2007 by skooter60
by skooter60

I am fairly new to astronomy and bought this pretty much on a whim. While you can see some decent things with the scope itself it is quite shakey which makes very easy to loose what you are viewing. The camera is a different story, if you DO NOT have a laptop with USB 2.0 ports it won't work. There is nothing on the packaging at all stating this or anything telling you about minimum system requirements. Since I am a computer geek by trade I soon relaized that they didn't write the driver to be backwards compatible. After numerous calls to Meade (after I figured out the problem) I was told they probably wouldn't put a fix in for it. I am lucky enough to have a few laptops around and did get it working, it will take moon shots and land shots don't expect any planets or nebulas. Bottom line is if you are going to spend $100 kick in a few more $$ and get a better telescope. If you want to do astrophotography Meade does make a nice USB LPI image kit for $99, it's far better.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skooter60
Hatfield PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Piece of Junk (POJ)
4/14/2013

Customer review by madmaxmutt

1.0 stars 4/14/2013 by madmaxmutt
by madmaxmutt

1. The metal locking bar (that is supposed to hold it in place for viewing) separated into two pieces within 5 months of minimal use. 2. The plastic adjustable leg lock snapped off in cold weather. 3. The biggest problem is that there is no way to purchase replacement parts from Meade. There is no way I would recommend this, even though the price is low. Your first incident will likely be your last use of this telescope.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
madmaxmutt
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days