Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 36 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

36 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

36 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
14
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
4
1-20 of 30 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 30 total reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews
Steer Clear!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
2/3/2008

Customer review by Shoppingmom418

1.0 stars 2/3/2008 by Shoppingmom418
by Shoppingmom418

Don't even let someone give you this piece of junk!! I spent one snowy day (and evening) putting this thing together. Then, within months the top started peeling! Sportscraft sent 4 new pieces (they were very heavy to get into the house), this time I told my husband, since I had blisters on my hands lat time, he would need to take the old one apart and put the new one together with the new tops. After 8 solid hours of work (and he used his drill to put in the screws), it is still a piece of junk!! The new table tops are dented (it is just pressed wood and they can't seem to package it so they don't get damaged). Now the table has bumps down the middle of both sides, and it is obviously going to peel again. It's cheap, but it is not even playable for my 8 year old. Now my biggest problem is how to get rid of this garbage!!!! I wouldn't get another sportscraft table after seeing this quality!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shoppingmom418
Princeton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
OK product for beginner
12/28/2007

Customer review by Luismi

2.0 stars 12/28/2007 by Luismi
by Luismi

This item if you are looking to save $$ is ok. The only downside is that there is definitely a issue within the gap between sides. The picture of the advertisment does not display this ofcourse but the reality is when you join both tables together, there is about a minimum 3 inch gap in the middle which is not good at all very dissappointing as ball when hits net will fall between the gap. I would recommend the manufacture make the Welded Frame Support that connect both ends together approx. 2 1/2 inches shorter in length as there should only be about a 1/2 inch of gap between tables and not 3 inches.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Luismi
Bethlehem, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Table At A Great Price
11/20/2007

Customer review by Teamgekko

5.0 stars 11/20/2007 by Teamgekko
by Teamgekko

I give it 5 Stars because at around $100.00 (I paid $98.00 at my local walmart) the table is all that a person/family needs to enjoy the game of ping pong. Remember the paddles/balls are not included (the net/posts are). The table thickness is 5/8" which is not bad for a beginner table (some of the higher end tables have a 3/4" thickness although 5/8" is also common). It being a "4 piece table" (four sections of the playing surface) which one puts together made it easier to assemble. All the holes are predrilled and as long as a person takes there time, follows the easy directions, the table will line up perfectly (which is amazing at this price point). After assembling the table is level, so no complaints in that area. Really, overall, there are no complaints. The table I purchased did have a scratch or two on the playing surface (very minor and not deep enough to effect game play). Playback (one side up) works flawlessly and either side can be raised. Sportcraft did an awesome job on how that works (which you'll understand when you put the table together). One thing with any beginner table is moving it. I'm confindent that the table will hold up for many years if remained stationary. Moving it is easier with the wheels (which are lockable) but even with the basic wheels, I recommend having two adults just pick it up to move it. Sure, it's sturdy enough to handle moving here/there but with any table tennis, any small accident may offset the table.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Teamgekko
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great For The Price
1/3/2008

Customer review by cuqui

3.0 stars 1/3/2008 by cuqui
by cuqui

After reading complaints about some higher priced tables out there, I decided to take a chance on this table since it was for recreation only. It saved a lot doing site-to-store instead of shipping. The box is heavy though so you will need help loading/unloading. There is a bit of complicated assembly required but once you do one piece the others make sense. Even though we tightened as much as we could the table was still not perfectly flush where it comes together. The tape that comes with it helps to smooth the lines and the clamp for the net also helps bring it together better. Some of the pre-drilled holes seemed a bit off, but we were able to get it together anyway. We also had to figure out why the 2 tops weren't coming together on one side and ended up flipping one of the bottom black panels (that attach to the legs) and that did it. We have only had it a couple weeks but so far we are satisfied with it. The price is awesome for what you get. It is all you really need if you like to play for fun.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cuqui
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
OK overall; with one major shortcoming
1/7/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 1/7/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I am an experienced player but bought this less expensive table because it would be the first table for my three young children, ages 3, 7, and 9. I will start with the main flaw in the design -- it comes in 4 pieces vs. 2. With a 4 piece design, there is a high risk that the seam down the middle of the table won't be perfectly level, even when covered with the tape that is provided. This means that the ball will hit off the side of the seam and go in a completely different direction and, possibly, off the table. This can be very frustrating. It is possible that I can fix this flaw by adjusting the connections, but I am skeptical it will ever be perfect. Other than that, I like everthing about this table. The directions were good, although count on 1-2 hours for two adults to put this together. The playing surface is good. It is very easy to move around and does not feel like it is going to fall apart when you move it. Overall, I would recommend pricing out 2-piece tables before buying this one. A 2-piece table is probably not worth twice the price of this one, however.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Kansas City
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great table for the price
1/11/2008

Customer review by BaltimoreShopper

4.0 stars 1/11/2008 by BaltimoreShopper
by BaltimoreShopper

This was a great purchase. First of all, it was shipped to the store for free and it fit in the back of our Sienna minivan (seats folded down). The setup took 3 hours. That was the only drawback, but it was Christmas morning when we set it up, so my husband had to do it on his own while I was putting together other toys. Once the table was together, there was a 2 inch gap between the two halfs, but we couldn't figure out why. I called the customer service number printed on the directions the next day but it was busy. I tried the following day, and had to wait 20 minutes. However, once I got through, the rep was very nice and explained what we did wrong(some type of bracket was upside down). We fixed it, and now the table is correct. My kids are having a great time. The table is very sturdy, and it folds up easily for individual play. I would recommend this item to my family, friends, co-workers, etc.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BaltimoreShopper
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
unadvertised flaws
12/23/2007

Customer review by moe22

1.0 stars 12/23/2007 by moe22
by moe22

I have 1 minor and 1 major complaint. The minor one is that the table comes in 4 parts, so that each side of the table has a seam down the middle which causes the ball to take funny bounces - even with the tape they give you to cover it up. The more important problem is that there is an approx. 3 inch gap between the two sides of the table, so that every time the ball hits the net it falls to the floor. I tried contacting the company with the URL on the installation instructions, but the website did not exist.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
moe22
Would recommend to a friend? No
table tennis
1/15/2008

Customer review by loveTableTennis

2.0 stars 1/15/2008 by loveTableTennis
by loveTableTennis

I didn't mind the assembly, took a while, but that's o.k. It's the gap that I can't seem to get rid of. On one side the gap is wider than the other. I think I would rather pay more and have less gap.The picture on the box doesn't show any space in the table.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
loveTableTennis
Ashland, Va
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good Value
1/6/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 1/6/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This table tennis table is definetly worth the money. It is not that complicated to assemble but it did take me 3 1/2 hours to do so on my own. Luckily I didn't wait until midnight on Christmas Eve to start. The other reviewers mention a gap in the table at the net. I also experienced that but it was because one of the side supports was installed upside down which was easily fixed. It does fold up and store easily and I have had no issues with the paint coming off. There is a slight raised edge at the join of the boards and I may go back and add a support board under the join. It doesn't really affect play though. All in all it is well wortht the $90 I paid for it. The kids and I as well as all the neighbor kids have had a great time with it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Cypress, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
not bad for the cost
9/23/2008

Customer review by Demochic

4.0 stars 9/23/2008 by Demochic
by Demochic

I have now had this table for a few months and I have not had too many problems. Delivery was horrible. The guy was nice enough but they stuck it on a tractor trailer that would not fit down my street so I had to meet the guy so for what I paid for shipping it was not worth it. The table itself is fine. The putting it together was a nightmare and took hours and hours to do. The instructions were not that good and the tool screw driver thay give you is way too small, makes the hands hurt and I was afraid to use another for fear of stripping it. Some screws didn't quite fit right but overall for a fairly cheap table for my 12 year old son it has worked out just fine. Another person wrote a review and said it peeled but I have not had that problem. I have kept all moisture away in a cool dry place and it is holding up just fine. For a cheap table for kids who most likely will ruin it eventually or for those that will loose interest it was a great deal and well worth the hours putting it together. We actually take it outside the garage to use it and that gets my kids outside playing and getting some exercise chasing the balls. In fact it actually gets our neighbors out playing with it too. Make sure you have plenty of floor space to put it toether too. It is big.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Demochic
Belmont, N.H.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good value for the money
7/7/2008

Customer review by GrandpaOrlando

4.0 stars 7/7/2008 by GrandpaOrlando
by GrandpaOrlando

This was bought for grandchildren just learning to play so I didn't need a world-class setup that you might see in the Olympics. We used to play on a plywood board on sawhorses...so you get the idea. Delivered as promised; all parts in the box (page 7 of the instructions was blank however...no big loss); quality is acceptable (actually better than I thought it would be); functions as advertised (folds up out of the way). Two large pieces make up each end of the table so you do have a "seam" down the middle...I suppose the ball bounces a little differently there, but our family doesn't get excited about it. All-in-all well worth the money and delivery.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrandpaOrlando
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
worth it
12/25/2007

Customer review by kquadsquad

5.0 stars 12/25/2007 by kquadsquad
by kquadsquad

Great price and great value for this table. I would definitely purchase again - easy to read instructions and diagrams for assembly- all parts in tact and even though it suggests using the provided screwdriver I would recommend a cordless as there are over 136 screws and it could get painful doing them all manually. Just be sure not to screw in too tight so screws don't pop through the top. Table is very sturdy and level- great play and stores nicely. I purchased through site-to-store but would recommend going straight to the store and save $11- Box fits easily into a minivan- heavy but manageable with two strong adults.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kquadsquad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Within Expectations
1/3/2008

Customer review by budgetconscience

4.0 stars 1/3/2008 by budgetconscience
by budgetconscience

My 8 year old played table tennis on our summer vacation and loved it. I loved the idea of him being able to do some one on one time with his Dad, so we purchased our table for Christmas. All age children and adults enjoy it and it is a great thing to do as a family. Our three year old keeps up with calling the net shots. It did take some time to assemble and even though we did everything correctly, the table does not align correctly. The other issue that we did not consider beforehand; due to the type of material it is compose of, we cannot store it on our screened in patio, due to concern over moiture damage.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
budgetconscience
Live Oak, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good value
1/4/2008

Customer review by BatmanII

3.0 stars 1/4/2008 by BatmanII
by BatmanII

First I want to say this is a very good value and you do get what you pay for. The table surface action is not near as good as a much more expensive table but if you only play occassionally and only for fun not serious competition this is a great table. The quality is good for the price but not real durable if you are going to use it extensively. I had no problems setting it up and all the parts were there. The only damage was a small buckle on the safety strap for storage but was able to make a real easy fix to make up for it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BatmanII
Phoenix AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Grand Slam Ping Pong Ball Table
1/12/2008

Customer review by 1BTSG

5.0 stars 1/12/2008 by 1BTSG
by 1BTSG

This was an extremely great value for the economically minded on-line Christmas shopper. It was ordered to the store requested on time. Installation was actually surprisingly easy. The directions were accurate. Our kids as well as my spouse and I enjoy playing. It's something that gets the family together and off the computer. It also brought back fond memories when I played growing up with my parents on a table we had back then.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1BTSG
Lino Lakes, Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Gift for the Entire Family
1/2/2008

Customer review by LeLola

5.0 stars 1/2/2008 by LeLola
by LeLola

Table tennis was the perfect gift for entire family. It took a little time to set up, but in the end, it was wonderful. We've spent hours playing, and the kids constantly have friends over to play as well. We're thrilled with this product and would recommend it to anyone. Also, the site-to-store option from Wal-mart worked great and was very helpful during the holidays.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LeLola
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great table for the price!
1/3/2008

Customer review by Aznkid

4.0 stars 1/3/2008 by Aznkid
by Aznkid

This is a great tennis table to have. You can't beat the price on this. The hardest part about this table is setting it up. Took me hours to set everything up with a friend. It's easy to mess up often when setting the table up. The table is fold able and very large to play on. If you need a great tennis table for a cheap price, I would recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Aznkid
N Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good beginner table
11/5/2008

Customer review by Number1LucyFan

4.0 stars 11/5/2008 by Number1LucyFan
by Number1LucyFan

This table arrived in fine shape. It does take a while to put together and it is best you have at least 2 adults for lifting. The only thing I wished I had known before purchasing is that the top comes in 4 parts, and unless you have them perfectly aligned and not one of them is slightly warped you will end up with uneven surface.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Number1LucyFan
Escondido, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good product
1/3/2008

Customer review by SillyShopping

4.0 stars 1/3/2008 by SillyShopping
by SillyShopping

It is a bit bigger than I thought it would be. Not to bad to put together. However, in the pic it shows the two parts of the table touching under the net and in real-life...we couldn't get in to do that. It is still fine for playing. Seems to be very sturdy and worth the hundred bucks :)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SillyShopping
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Good Quality AAA+
1/8/2008

Customer review by meseptember

5.0 stars 1/8/2008 by meseptember
by meseptember

High Quality Table for the price, strong and nice size, If you looking for one this one will do the job, and a you don't have to pay alot. Love nice color as my pool color blue and big size table. I'm a happy customer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
meseptember
Ormond Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews