Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.3out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 | 48 reviews
5 stars
28
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
Sort by: 
1-20 of 43 reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews
Great for getting rid of weeds
6/20/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have seen this product advertised in many other places, but no one can beat this price. It is a great little tool to use around the house. I tried it out the first day I got it, and didn't think it did a whole lot to eradicate the unwanted ivy I have creeping in from my neighbor's yard. I waited a couple of days, and soon, all the ivy was dying away. You don't need to burn the weeds until they are crispy, just a quick pass with the flame, and in a couple of days, you will see the results. I was very impressed at the durability of the item, and really it did a great job of getting rid of my dandelions and ivy. It is easy to use once you get the hang of it, and it allows you to kill weeds, pesticide free! Don't worry if the paints comes off the shaft near the flame, it is just cosmetic and doesn't affect the function. Of all the garden websites I checked, as well as the big depot stores for home improvement, Walmart beats the price by at least $20-30. I couldn't find it cheaper anywhere, so this was a great buy from an old favorite.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Weeds are gone!
5/4/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I live in the desert and have a rock landscape. We had an unusually wet winter, which led to hundreds of weeds growing up through the rock. I started my weed fight with chemicals, but after spending $50 on sprays, I realized this would be a never ending battle and could cost a fortune in chemicals. I saw a landscaper using on of these and found one at Walmart.com. Fast and easy weed killing and the only future purchase to kill weeds will be propane tank refills, same one my BBQ grill uses. Good heavy duty hose and nozzle construction. A quality product at a fair price. The local hardware store carried another brand and it cost double what this one did. A bonus with this item is you can just burn up any plant debris (sticks, tumbleweed branches) that get stuck under landscape boulders, without getting on your hands and knees or bending over!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (107)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fire!, Fire!, Fire!
5/15/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This device would bring tears of joy to Beavis. The device is simple, and effective. It is not a time savings or necessarily even an easier way to deal with weeds. But it does have its purposes. Clearing open spaces is where it easily wipes out weeds. When using around anything you don't want burned too, it becomes a little less effective as a "convenience" tool. I have a dog that often chews on the long grass and weeds that are around so I didn't wish to use herbicides to control the weeds. This tool allows me to knock down the weeds without worry. It's loud, it's hot, it's smokey...it's a little fun. It doesn't do the work for you, but it does work.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (30)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great item
9/21/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this to get rid of weeds. It works as advertised if not better. It kills the weeds and the seeds. I am very pleased with it. I wish I had gotten this years ago. It works so well I will only have to use it 3 or 4 times a year. It sure beats a hoe!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (52)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Product/Not Best Price
6/17/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I was thrilled to find this product at Walmart.com. It was easy to order, and the free shipping brought it to my home earlier than the projected shipping time. It exceeded my expectation for ease and efficiency to use. It is a great alternative for spray. This product is usually $100 or more in garden catalogs. However, I was sad when a few days later my dad found the same tool at Harbor Freight for just slightly more than half of Walmart's price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I should have purchased this years ago...
7/2/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Actually I would have bought this several years ago if had know that a consumer model was available. I always thought these were only used by forestry and conservations services. Now that I have this 100,000 btu model I have singed to kingdom-come all the weeds that have come in my path (literally). You don't have to hold the flame long to the weed. Within a day-and-a-half they're brown and crispy. I can't wait until winter to see how this fares against ice. I think the dragon will win....
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Useful tool, fries weeds in yard
6/29/2009
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Easy to use, but definitely need to be careful of desirable plants - stay at least 20 inches away. Weeds need more than one pass over to kill completely. Probably best to wait a few days then repeat. But, overall better than removing weeds and grass by hand.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome Results
8/18/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Saw this product on DIY and my wife wanted a different way to treat weeds other then with chemicals. The Weed Dragon worked great and seemed to keep weeds at bay longer. You just have to be careful because this things burns up everything.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (54)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Just what we needed.
2/13/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I am so glad we finally found the Weed Dragon. I have looked for this for some time and finally found it at Walmart. Go figure. Great product, easy to use
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
WOOOW
7/24/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is the best thing EVER! No more shoveling the drive for me!!!! I TORCH IT!!!! Killed all the weeds and anything else that needed burned away ... greatest investment of all time.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fantastic - does just what you hope it will.
5/30/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We had some super-weeds that took hold in our garden and they were killing everything in their path. We used the Weed Dragon and they are history. Worth every penney.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great and Less Expensive Method
5/31/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
My son's backyard is between a quarter to a half acre and on a slope toward the house. We both live in New Mexico. To use liquid killer to rid the wild, native grass and weeds, would have cost a lot more. For those without common sense, be careful around the house or other structures and wooden fences; and never use on a windy day. Communicate with the closest fire station before starting for codes, their supervision, and protection. I like the control valve on the end of the wand, making it easier to quickly adjust or turn off, before turning off the valve on the propane tank. I highly recommend the torch for larger than normal spaces (Whatever normal is in your area).
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Garden Torch
8/7/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Working great .............Killing those hard to kill crazy ants ...Price a little high , but if you need it you buy it ....
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Functional
3/7/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Works as advertised, though the tank trolley is a necessity unless you can bench-press a Buick. The green paint instantly burns off the torch end, so it isn't clear why they bother to paint it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Weed Torch
10/20/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We have only used this a couple of times so far, but it seems to work well, is well constructed (the first one we purchased from a different store was so cheap it leaked gas the first time we used it!), and burns those nasty weeds (dry or living) REALLY fast! I love it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Learn to burn
2/12/2009
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Weed Dragon Garden torch kit 100,000 BTU. Good for burning up the weeds , lighting your burn pile. The lighter works very well to get the torch flame. If you are real busy and do not have alot of time and want the results of burned weeds faster then go for the 500,000 BTU.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Worth the Money
3/22/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I just got my Weed Dragon, site to store shipping, and it works great. I have used it for all my weeds large and small and look forward to weeding again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
5/14/2009
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
A little more powerful than I was expecting. Throws out quite a flame. It's not as portable as I was hoping. If you just want to just zap a few weeds here and there then this product isn't really worth the effort involved to get it set up and zapable. However, it does do the job and has a flame level adjustment.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Just what I needed.
10/11/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This works just as it says, however I must caution you to keep a water hose close by especially if you are trying to rid your fence line of bushes. It will catch old leaves and such on fire. It works fine and does rid of unwanted vegetation. Perfect for grass growing in driveway cracks, weeds in the yard and such. I do recommend this just use responsibly.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
works on tumbleweeds
6/6/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
tumbleweeds are a particular problem for us and this kills them quick. we don't want to disturb the ground because that will cause more seeds to germinate. the flamer works great.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641771, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-