Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 187 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

187 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

187 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
99
4 stars
48
3 stars
14
2 stars
6
1 stars
20
1-20 of 166 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 166 total reviews
1-20 of 166 reviews
VERY GOOD!
9/17/2007

Customer review by jccash

5.0 stars 9/17/2007 by jccash
by jccash

WELL MY SON USED TOGET VERY VERY BAD NOSEBLEEDS AND THE DOCTOR SAID TO GET A HUMIDAFIER BUT MY WIFE DIDN'T WANT TO PAY $300.00 FOR THE ONE AT A MEDICAL STORE SO WE WENT ONLINE FOUND THIS ONE { HE LOVES THE PENGUINS IN SEA WORLD SO HE LIKED THIS } AND IT IS VERY WORTHY PRODUCT , HE DOESN'Y GET NOSEBLEEDS ANYMORE AND WE ALL SLEEP BETTER ACTUALLY WITH SOME MOIST IN THE AIR! THE PICTURE IS OF MY SON BEFORE HE GOT NOSEBLEEDS OHHH AND NOW HE 4 HE GOT THEM WHEN HE WAS 2 AND 3 THAT PICTURE WAS OF HIM WHEN HE WAS 3 MONTHS!

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jccash
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good value. Few minor flaws.
12/27/2008

Customer review by VladH

4.0 stars 12/27/2008 by VladH
by VladH

This goofy-looking humidifier has replaced the bigger one that lasted only 2 years, from the same maker. I like this one and recommend it because it's relatively inexpensive, reasonably quiet, and one filling lasts for more than a night. It's size is just right, meaning its tank is not too heavy to fill and carry, and yet it has enough capacity for about 12 hours at max output. Still, it has a couple of flaws one will have to work around. First, the mist is not fine enough to evaporate quickly, so if you put this unit on the floor, the floor around will get wet. Because of that you may want to place it somewhere higher up . Second, its air intake is under the bottom, which seats very low above the surface you place the unit on, so if you put it on a carpet or some other soft surface (as I did to dampen the noise), then air intake gets blocked and unit's output suffers a lot. I ended up placing this humidifier on the rubbery PC mouse pad, which is soft enough to dampen the noise, yet not too cushy to block the air. After working around these small problems, I am happy with the unit.

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VladH
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Leaks
3/9/2009

Customer review by Shopperoo101

1.0 stars 3/9/2009 by Shopperoo101
by Shopperoo101

After reading the reviews, I was sure this would be a good purchase for the price. The first night I used it, was pleasantly surprised as it did give a good mist wihout making a lot of noise. Unfortunately, two days later I refilled it with water, very carefully placing the cap on tight, but not overtight, and did not move the humidifier like the manual instructed. I had not turned the unit on, as I only run it at night. Later that day, my husband came home to find the dresser which the humidifier was sitting on, and floor around it, soaked with water. The reservoir base had filled with water like other reviews had said, and left quite a mess. I refilled it and left it (not running) again in case I didn't have a good seal, but unfortunately, large amounts of water seaped out yet again. We are not able to use, and I am sad to have to return this tomorrow. I would think I got a faulty unit, but recall other reviews with this same complaint... I should have listened to them!

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shopperoo101
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Love it!
3/14/2008

Customer review by 5JWs

5.0 stars 3/14/2008 by 5JWs
by 5JWs

I'm truly pleased with this humidifier. It works quickly, has no filters to clean or replace, is cool mist (safe for kids' bedrooms), doesn't need constant refilling, and TRULY is whisper quiet. A lot of them say they're quiet, but that's not true at all. I'm tired of trying many humidifiers that don't deliver what they promise. I've tried many kinds and have never been happy. NOW I'm happy! The dial on the front allows you to adjust the level of mist, and it can put out some monster mist! Even on the highest setting, one tank will last over two nights! Really, this is a very nice product.

Was this review helpful? (57) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
5JWs
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Hard-Working Penguin!
2/26/2010

Customer review by NashvilleShopper

4.0 stars 2/26/2010 by NashvilleShopper
by NashvilleShopper

First off, if we were judging this little guy by cuteness, it would get five stars all the way. Simply adorable! I purchased it because it had such good reviews, so whether or not it was cute, I would have given it a chance. Now that I have, i can say that it is a very powerful humidifier. I've had three different humidifiers in the past two years, and one broke down, and the other two could not put out enough humidity for a medium sized bedroom. This guy puts out a ton of steam -- more than I've ever seen out of any humidifier. The only reason I am not giving it five stars is that twice now it has had difficulty turning on, but after a good shake,it seems to correct itself. Only time will tell if it will hold up well.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NashvilleShopper
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DON'T BUY THIS!!!!!!!!!!!
11/17/2010

Customer review by GoneWithTheDogs

1.0 stars 11/17/2010 by GoneWithTheDogs
by GoneWithTheDogs

DON'T BUY THIS!!! Take my advice. Trust me, you will only regret buying this because you'll have to take it back. I ran this thing for ONLY 3 DAYS!! The first night was great. Then, it happened. During the following night, it just stopped. I woke to find it had not used any water, the indicator light was off and it was silent. So, I read the user manual again to make sure I didn't make any mistakes. Nope. I decided to run it again the next night, just to be sure it wasn't just a glitch. Again, I woke up to realize again, it didn't use any water and the indicator light was off. The funny thing about it was the second morning, I could move the knob and it would turn on. Ok, one more night. Duh! What was I thinking? The third morning...nothing. I did read all the reviews before I purchased it and they were mainly positive. I'm certainly part of the group who are very disappointed by this product. Don't kid yourself into thinking you might be the one to get a great product. Don't buy it. If you have just read this review...move on! Trust me, it's not worth the time.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GoneWithTheDogs
Bethlehem, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Best humidifier for the price!
1/10/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/10/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We use this in our Music room/ Den in an arid climate and because it has done a wonderful job of keeping my husbands’ guitars in perfect shape, and as a additional bonus has helped me from getting my usual winter attack of sinusitis I'm buying another for the bedroom. Color me tickled pink! Pros: It's quiet. It does everything you need it for. Safe cool mist (for around kids) Completely adjustable. no leaking, not a problem in a year of use. Once the room was stabilized, (all the wood was very dried out, including shelves, futon frame, and picture frames) we were able to keep it so low we only add water once a week. Better than the others: We bought two other manufacturers offerings that leaked and were both twice the price before gladly finding this one! I am so leery of selecting ANYTHING different I am ordering another penguin. Cons: The only slight drawback, It can make the surface under it a little damp from condensation, suggest not placing on carpet or table runner. I just use it on a hard surface now still no noise!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
cute, but not worth it!
2/23/2011

Customer review by Cmwcom

1.0 stars 2/23/2011 by Cmwcom
by Cmwcom

This product is very cute and quite but after a few days it just stopped working. so I returned it and bought another thinking maybe I just got a dud. not after a few days the second one quit as well. I only used distilled water and shut the unit off to fill the tank. Nither unit lasted more then a week. Its a a dissapoint me seeing as its a VERY quite unit. :( very dissapointed in the product

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cmwcom
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love our new Penguin Cool Mist Humidifier
12/5/2015

Customer review by FDWeller

5.0 stars 12/5/2015 by FDWeller
by FDWeller

Cute product with beneficial results.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FDWeller
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Couldn't be happier!
11/17/2013

Customer review by RachK516

5.0 stars 11/17/2013 by RachK516
by RachK516
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was searching for a humidifier for my bedroom which I currently share with my six-month-old son. We live in Illinois and now that it's getting colder, the room was getting uncomfortably dry, and we were both waking up feeling dried out. I searched a lot of places for the perfect humidifier; I needed it to be pretty cheap, and it also needed to include some basic safety features such as an automatic shut-off if it ran out of water. I was about to give up when I stumbled upon this one. It had gotten good reviews and included all of the things I was looking for in a humidifier (adjustable output, cool mist, something my son would enjoy when he moves into his own room someday and the humidifier goes with him), and the price was terrific. This product is very easy to use. I haven't had any trouble with leaking at all, and it runs at top humidity all night long and into the morning for a while before I have to refill it. If you're not put off by the fact that it's a penguin (who is adorable anyway), I highly recommend this product!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RachK516
Ellsworth, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this little guy.
1/28/2010

Customer review by britgeek

5.0 stars 1/28/2010 by britgeek
by britgeek

We have this guy in our bedroom to help during those dry months, and it's a noticeable difference. We especially like that he's filter-free, something we specifically looked for in a humidifier. We named him pickles.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
britgeek
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Didnt work !
12/27/2010

Customer review by livinitupforme

1.0 stars 12/27/2010 by livinitupforme
by livinitupforme

I read all the reviews on this product in hopes it was a great humidifer as i need one for my dry skin. i received it quick from ordering online opened it up and read directions and filled it full of distilled water, fired it up and hours later the tank was still full and no bubbles or mist anywhere. i pulled the tank off to check for bubbles and operaion and the water just sat there. the blower was working but didnt make any mist or do its job. so i returned it back to my local walmart and bought a sunbeam 1 touch cool mist humidifer and this baby rocks. it will filter the water for you and has a auto thermostate to kick it on and off at a certain humidity rating. very well pleased with sunbeam but i would not reccoment the penguin to anyone. it looks neat but does not perform at all !

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
livinitupforme
west union, wv
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
We love "Mr Penguin"
1/20/2011

Customer review by 4shore

5.0 stars 1/20/2011 by 4shore
by 4shore

Our wood stove was giving the family dry ichy skin. This product solved the issue, and the youngest one loves to refill Mr Penguin, he is cute and a great conversation piece too. Price was great. Really puts out a good amount of humidity.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
4shore
Salisbury, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
love it ;)
1/21/2009

Customer review by kiki88

5.0 stars 1/21/2009 by kiki88
by kiki88

I love the design of the product. penguins are so cute. it works great and my nasal passages are happy too. i have a very large room so i have to turn up the mister almost all the way. because of that i have to refill my tank every day. i think if i had a smaller room the tank could be filled every other day. overall, i am very happy with this product and would definately recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kiki88
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
nice penguin
12/29/2008

Customer review by shieken

5.0 stars 12/29/2008 by shieken
by shieken

At first the product seemed little flimsy. I've been using it for week or two (every other day or so), and no problem at all. It doesn't consume water very much as I expected. From my rough estimate, full tank may last up to 6~10 hours on high setting. Speaking of high setting, you can actually see the water vapor (the mist) coming out when you turn 1/2 to 3/4 of the way and higher. Full setting pumps out the vapor very densely. It actually makes the room foggy within few hours in high setting. There's almost no noise. The "ultrasonic" part (actual mechanism that produces the vapor, is very silent. But the fan is little noisy, still very quiet. I don't leave it on through the night because I like it without any noise. The power on light is actually quite bright, which I don't like. You probably can put some paper over & tape it to cover the light though. Overall, no problem, very silent, works well. There's been the issue of "white powder" on the base of the device. I wipe the underside from time to time to remove the "white dust". But it's not a big problem for me. I don't see the white dust anywhere else in the room. I like it, it's fairly cheap, and it's worth it for me.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shieken
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
N/A
10/23/2015

Customer review by parineeta

4.0 stars 10/23/2015 by parineeta
by parineeta

It's good item. I bought for my kids room.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
parineeta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lasted 2 nights
12/7/2007

Customer review by Nagoya

1.0 stars 12/7/2007 by Nagoya
by Nagoya

This humidifier worked for two nights and then broke. Now I have to deal with the hassle of returning it by mail. I definitely would NOT recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nagoya
Would recommend to a friend? No
LOVE this product
2/8/2008

Customer review by p31mama4

5.0 stars 2/8/2008 by p31mama4
by p31mama4

I am thrilled with the humidifier I recently purchased. Our daughter had a couple of nosebleeds and family recommended that we use a humidifier. We looked at Walmart.com to see what was available. Quality for a reasonably low price. We read the reviews on the penguin humidifier from sunpentown. It really doesn't even look like an appilance. It blends right in with my snowman collection. We use a woodburning heater and have a small house (about 1000 SQ FT) so we got two humidifiers. Since we got them, it has been much easier to breathe. The first time we used the one in the girls' room, I think they played with it and it came off of its base a little bit. If it is not seated in the base properly it doesn't work. I was very impressed because we filled them up the first night we got them and I didn't have to refill them for about three days. I had them set on a medium setting.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
p31mama4
Central Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
humidifier for guitars
7/12/2008

Customer review by WhatIThinkAboutProduct

5.0 stars 7/12/2008 by WhatIThinkAboutProduct
by WhatIThinkAboutProduct

We bought this as a replacement for a more expensive Honeywell "Adult" looking humidifier which was the worst humidifier ever made.... It dumps water all over the place…..even the company service department representative said so! At first I was concerned that the little penguin ALSO requires you fill it and turn it upside down to fill the machine. To our delight this works exactly as advertised, and keeps my husband’s music room pleasant for the acoustic guitars he has on display. As we live in New Mexico we have to acclimatize the room to keep the wood in excellent condition. The size is perfect in the den, and happily does not over humidify the rest of the house. It is quiet and actually makes people laugh when they walk into the room and see a penguin with a little wisp of steam coming out of his mouth. Excellent product, fast delivery thanks Wal-Mart on line!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WhatIThinkAboutProduct
Albuquerque
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
powerful little penguin
1/25/2009

Customer review by 123987

5.0 stars 1/25/2009 by 123987
by 123987

This little humidifier pumps out alot of mist. I own a Vicks humidifier which leaked all over my kids room. I also owned and returned an Red Cross 1st years humidifier which did nothing (after an entire night, it still had a full tank?) We got the penguin out of frustration and based on previous reviews. Upon first use, my family was amazed at the power and efficientcy. The only flaw is that the condensation from the hat/lid drips back down into the unit and clogs the humidifier vent. It runs perfectly when the lid is removed. Besides that it is perfect. On both previous units, the filters got brown and gross after only a few days, the penguin is filterless and wipes clean.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
123987
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 166 total reviews
1-20 of 166 reviews