Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.9out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5 | 39 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
7
Sort by: 
1-20 of 38 reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews
This has to be the best one ever!!!
8/17/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The craftsmenship is amazing, The Feel , The balance, I fish saltwater and as you know it can be a pain, it leaves residue over evrything and you have to rinse all of the time... " Abu Garcia" Really makes it easy!!! Please don't laugh at the pic...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Deal
7/28/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this rod to replace my 10 ft Master rod and reel combo. The action on it is more suitable to the wide range of lure weights one uses when surf fishing. I bought my son the 8 ft version when he was 12 and he still uses it effectively today, seven years later. I got the 9 ft version , took it out today, and had a great time. The reel runs smoothly and has a great drag. I'm very pleased.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
handle came off in my hand
8/1/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this and in less than 3 weeks it was broken. The pin for the reel handle came out and the handle came off in my hand while reeling in a salmon. Then the rest of the handle assembly fell out and I lost it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Catfish Combo!
8/4/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
 Top 1000 contributer
This is a really good set up for catfish or other large species. Unlike most other medium-heavy spinning outfits, the rod is rated for 10-25 lb line and 1-5 ounce weights, as opposed to the normal 3 ounce maximum weight recommendation. The reel casts and retrieves very smooth and the rod action is exactly what you need for throwing heavier weights/baits to catfish. The only knock I have, and this is probably just personal preference, but the reel does not have instant anti-reverse. It uses a pawl and dog system, much like most of the cheaper reels out there. But, it works and adding that extra bearing would likely increase the cost. All in all a good buy if you are looking for a solid M/H spinning outfit.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Big Bad Bruiser!
3/7/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is an awesome combo! I have two older Abu round reels, and i would have to say the Bruiser is my new "go to" rod! Strong enough to fish off the rocks on the coast, but also surprisingly sensitive enough to fish lakes and rivers! At 7ft. it casts pretty well, and accurate if you're tryig to land your cast in a specific spot on the water. The reel sure looks cool, but it performs as awesome as it looks. Super smooth, and super fast retreival!!! It comes pre-spooled with 17lbs. test... I don't know what brand it is, or where they got this line, but its a lot stronger than any other 17lbs. line ive fished before! You can feel how the balance is a bit off, but its so slight it is easily overcome. For as big as the reel is and as tough as the rod is, the whole combo isn't as heavy as it looks like it should be, so thats a plus! Overall, the most well made combo I have ever owned! I highly recommend you own one too!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good stuff
6/13/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
So far so great! A great price for a decent combo and would buy again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Abu Garcia
2/20/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am very pleased with the price and quality....so far. I got this set up to go surf fishing on the coast. I am very optimistic that it will perform great!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome Combo!!!
4/23/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought two of these for saltwater pier fishing and they are well worth the money! Excellent casting, and super great feel for a large pole. Not to mention that my father accidentally dropped the pole off the pier twice and the whole setup floated on top of the ocean until we could retrieve it. Everyone on the pier could not believe it lol
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
love it!
4/23/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
great combo setup nice medium heavy prefect weight rod and smooth and quick action reel caught several fish first time out casting off the pier nice and smooth reeling in fish would recommend for beginners all the way up to seasoned fishermen
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
not such a great deal
6/14/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The rod its self is fine and heavy duty, however the reel is terrible. It sticks and doesn't reel in!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
poor quality. i'm returning both rods
6/23/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
could not set the drag on one rod. tip of other rod broke, just behind the end eyelet.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Pretty good
6/24/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The rod and reel combo is nice. Rod is good enough for me, havent had any issues with it yet. The reel was excellent for about 2 days then became completely useless because it just started falling apart (literally). Kinda annoyed about that, but bought a new reel and works just fine. If youre looking for a cheap rod and reel combo that can be used in both saltwater and freshwater, this is a good choice if you dont mind buying a new reel.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great starter combo- good value.
1/31/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This was a gift to my son and girl friend who wanted to get into fishing. This was a great como for surf and pier.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Product was falling apart when unpacked
7/18/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The rod tip was starting to come off the rod I was just taking it out of the box. Immediately returned it to the store for credit. Based on my experience, I don't recommend it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Abu bruiser
3/5/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Rod is decent but the reel is worthless.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent rod and reel for gaint snake head fishin
9/29/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this combo two months ago and I have 50lbs brided line for top water frog lure
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome !!
6/17/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought this for my annual trip to the Florida panhandle to do a little surf fishing and pier fishing. You can not beat the quality for the price. This is an exceptional value...I am very pleased. Thanks Abu Garcia for making this affordable and quality combo !!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Olive Crest Fishing Tournament
4/8/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is the third year in a row that we have purchased the Abu Garcia Cardinal Bruiser's for our 50 boat Olive Crest Pro-Am Saltwater Bass Tournament, and all of our anglers just love this combo. They look forward to getting another one each year. The best around. If you are looking for a great price on a good saltwater combo, this is the one to get.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
1 mean catfish combo
4/21/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i do alot of river fishing and this combo is a flathead catfish's nightmare!!! where we fish they catch as large as 60 pounders!!! i have only caught a 30 pounder and it preformed perfect !!! smooth reel and excellent backbone in the rod !!! cant wait 2 hook into a 60 pounder with this combo!!! i am sure it wil preform excellent!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
An all around great salt water rig
2/6/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought my Bruiser combo in Maine to fish for stripers off the rocks. It was perfect for slinging medium to heavy lures way out there I also took it with me on a sailboat trip to Belize and it worked great for trolling spoons and working jigs. I highly recommend this outfit.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641777, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-