Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 31 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

31 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

31 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
25
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-20 of 31 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews
abu garcia's excellent surf rod
6/17/2008

Customer review by surfdog

5.0 stars 6/17/2008 by surfdog
by surfdog

I was looking for a surf rod for my 12 yr old son.At eight foot long with medium-heavy action this rod/reel combo fit the bill.My son and I went fishing with it right after we got it.He was casting it a good distance in a short amount of time. The action on the rod is great for surf casting and the reel works nice and smoothly. It's a great deal for fourty bucks.

Was this review helpful? (78) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
surfdog
oxnard,ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Rod and Reel
8/10/2016

Customer review by LSquared

4.0 stars 8/10/2016 by LSquared
by LSquared
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This combo is a very good outfit, especially for the price. I was looking to replace a pole I had broken and came across this. So far, so good.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LSquared
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Deal = Beastly
9/2/2014

Customer review by Yaknstein

5.0 stars 9/2/2014 by Yaknstein
by Yaknstein
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This rod and reel combo cannot be beat! Costal fishing or Catfish fishing the rod and reel combo will work for both. The reel came with 17lb mono already spooled up so it is fish ready out of the box. When I opened the box I half expected a smaller rod and reel but this combo lived up to the hype.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yaknstein
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome !!
6/17/2016

Customer review by Bommerdog67

5.0 stars 6/17/2016 by Bommerdog67
by Bommerdog67
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for my annual trip to the Florida panhandle to do a little surf fishing and pier fishing. You can not beat the quality for the price. This is an exceptional value...I am very pleased. Thanks Abu Garcia for making this affordable and quality combo !!!

Bommerdog67
Indiana, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/29/2011

Customer review by stumpbuster

5.0 stars 7/29/2011 by stumpbuster
by stumpbuster

Large handle makes it easier to fight big fish, smooth reel operation, this is a big fish rod for sure

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stumpbuster
pacific northwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
8/24/2011

Customer review by nathanhuu

5.0 stars 8/24/2011 by nathanhuu
by nathanhuu

bought this rod for my girlfriend and she absolutely loved it! this one is as good as the big fish 700 from shakespeare, or should I say that one is as good as this one! very strong, will last for a very long time! I will definitely buy this again.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nathanhuu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Smooth cast and retrieve. Bail functions flawless.
4/29/2016

Customer review by CurtisWRoberts

4.0 stars 4/29/2016 by CurtisWRoberts
by CurtisWRoberts

I received this for my birthday last year. It quickly became one of the favorite rigs in my arsenal. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

CurtisWRoberts
Tucson, arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
My son catches more fish than anybody.
4/28/2016

Customer review by HHH3

5.0 stars 4/28/2016 by HHH3
by HHH3

Bought this reel for my youngest son, and now he catches more fish than anyone else in the family. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

HHH3
East Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Light Weight and Strong
4/7/2016

Customer review by shala96

5.0 stars 4/7/2016 by shala96
by shala96

i have the 7 foot bruiser spinning combo, and i love it. It is very light and ive cause a 35lb carp on it with not problems at all. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

shala96
Pittsburgh, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great combo!
5/22/2015

Customer review by DangINeedToFish

5.0 stars 5/22/2015 by DangINeedToFish
by DangINeedToFish

I mainly purchased this combo for croaker and flounder fishing; I could not be more pleased. Walmart's price could not be passed up!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DangINeedToFish
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/7/2010

Customer review by Customer011111

5.0 stars 6/7/2010 by Customer011111
by Customer011111

Walmart shipped this item almost immediately and I received it 2 days prior to the projected date of delivery. This rod and reel combo is just what I was looking for and performed quite well. No issues that I have seen yet.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Customer011111
Burlington, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
abu garcia cardinnal bruiser
8/10/2015

Customer review by fishman

5.0 stars 8/10/2015 by fishman
by fishman

every good for the price easy to use love it

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fishman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/8/2010

Customer review by tuck007sa

5.0 stars 8/8/2010 by tuck007sa
by tuck007sa

WOW WHAT A GREAT DEAL THIS IS A VERY NICE REEL VERY SMOTH AND FAST CANT WAIT TO GO FISHING THANKS WALMART

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tuck007sa
SAN ANTONIO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
great value for the money. works great.
9/7/2014

Customer review by fredbandit

5.0 stars 9/7/2014 by fredbandit
by fredbandit
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great value. Cast good!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fredbandit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1 mean catfish combo
4/21/2012

Customer review by mad dog

5.0 stars 4/21/2012 by mad dog
by mad dog

i do alot of river fishing and this combo is a flathead catfish's nightmare!!! where we fish they catch as large as 60 pounders!!! i have only caught a 30 pounder and it preformed perfect !!! smooth reel and excellent backbone in the rod !!! cant wait 2 hook into a 60 pounder with this combo!!! i am sure it wil preform excellent!!!

mad dog
indian lake, ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
An all around great salt water rig
2/6/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/6/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought my Bruiser combo in Maine to fish for stripers off the rocks. It was perfect for slinging medium to heavy lures way out there I also took it with me on a sailboat trip to Belize and it worked great for trolling spoons and working jigs. I highly recommend this outfit.

An anonymous customer
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This has to be the best one ever!!!
8/17/2011

Customer review by mybulgarianrose

5.0 stars 8/17/2011 by mybulgarianrose
by mybulgarianrose

The craftsmenship is amazing, The Feel , The balance, I fish saltwater and as you know it can be a pain, it leaves residue over evrything and you have to rinse all of the time... " Abu Garcia" Really makes it easy!!! Please don't laugh at the pic...

mybulgarianrose
Wildwood, New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great combo for saltwater and big cats.
3/16/2012

Customer review by Dill

5.0 stars 3/16/2012 by Dill
by Dill

I'm a freshwater fisherman, and do a lot of it on the Mississippi, so it makes a great rod for those big cats. Although I live no where near saltwater, the times I do go down to Florida I'll definitely be bringing this rod along.

Dill
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
awesome rod
8/31/2015

Customer review by andrews

5.0 stars 8/31/2015 by andrews
by andrews

first time i used it, landed a 30.4lb blue catfish , no problem , what a fight, the line didnt snap and the drag and rod action worked the fish, and that was the first month i started fishing

andrews
Texas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Really nice outfit/underpriced
1/27/2011

Customer review by Rick

5.0 stars 1/27/2011 by Rick
by Rick

I received this combo for my birthday. Have used it a couple of times and it's a very well-rounded outfit. Retrieval time is perfect for quick turn around casts. Looking forward to using it more when the weather warms up.

Rick
Mackinaw, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews