Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 25 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

25 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

25 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
21
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-20 of 25 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 25 total reviews
1-20 of 25 reviews
abu garcia's excellent surf rod
6/17/2008

Customer review by surfdog

5.0 stars 6/17/2008 by surfdog
by surfdog

I was looking for a surf rod for my 12 yr old son.At eight foot long with medium-heavy action this rod/reel combo fit the bill.My son and I went fishing with it right after we got it.He was casting it a good distance in a short amount of time. The action on the rod is great for surf casting and the reel works nice and smoothly. It's a great deal for fourty bucks.

Was this review helpful? (72) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
surfdog
oxnard,ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
8/24/2011

Customer review by nathanhuu

5.0 stars 8/24/2011 by nathanhuu
by nathanhuu

bought this rod for my girlfriend and she absolutely loved it! this one is as good as the big fish 700 from shakespeare, or should I say that one is as good as this one! very strong, will last for a very long time! I will definitely buy this again.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nathanhuu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
6/7/2010

Customer review by Customer011111

5.0 stars 6/7/2010 by Customer011111
by Customer011111

Walmart shipped this item almost immediately and I received it 2 days prior to the projected date of delivery. This rod and reel combo is just what I was looking for and performed quite well. No issues that I have seen yet.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Customer011111
Burlington, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
7/29/2011

Customer review by stumpbuster

5.0 stars 7/29/2011 by stumpbuster
by stumpbuster

Large handle makes it easier to fight big fish, smooth reel operation, this is a big fish rod for sure

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stumpbuster
pacific northwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
8/8/2010

Customer review by tuck007sa

5.0 stars 8/8/2010 by tuck007sa
by tuck007sa

WOW WHAT A GREAT DEAL THIS IS A VERY NICE REEL VERY SMOTH AND FAST CANT WAIT TO GO FISHING THANKS WALMART

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tuck007sa
SAN ANTONIO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Lookin nice
8/21/2010

Customer review by jheumann

4.0 stars 8/21/2010 by jheumann
by jheumann

Havenlt taken it out yet, but lookin better than the Berkley rod i got. Looks like a good deal

Was this review helpful? (0) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jheumann
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Really nice outfit/underpriced
1/27/2011

Customer review by Rick

5.0 stars 1/27/2011 by Rick
by Rick

I received this combo for my birthday. Have used it a couple of times and it's a very well-rounded outfit. Retrieval time is perfect for quick turn around casts. Looking forward to using it more when the weather warms up.

Rick
Mackinaw, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
An all around great salt water rig
2/6/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/6/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought my Bruiser combo in Maine to fish for stripers off the rocks. It was perfect for slinging medium to heavy lures way out there I also took it with me on a sailboat trip to Belize and it worked great for trolling spoons and working jigs. I highly recommend this outfit.

An anonymous customer
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
CARDINAL BRUISER COMBO
4/25/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/25/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

THIS IS EXCELLENT COMBO ROD AND REEL. THE REEL IS SMOOTH AND ACCURATE. THE ROD IS EASY TO HANDLE AND HANDLE WELL.

An anonymous customer
LULA, GA.
Best bang for the buck
7/12/2011

Customer review by 35 cent

5.0 stars 7/12/2011 by 35 cent
by 35 cent

I pulled up a 70lb stingray off Long Beach shore on this combo with the stock 17lb line. I was really impress with the performance.

35 cent
West Covina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This has to be the best one ever!!!
8/17/2011

Customer review by mybulgarianrose

5.0 stars 8/17/2011 by mybulgarianrose
by mybulgarianrose

The craftsmenship is amazing, The Feel , The balance, I fish saltwater and as you know it can be a pain, it leaves residue over evrything and you have to rinse all of the time... " Abu Garcia" Really makes it easy!!! Please don't laugh at the pic...

mybulgarianrose
Wildwood, New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great combo for saltwater and big cats.
3/16/2012

Customer review by Dill

5.0 stars 3/16/2012 by Dill
by Dill

I'm a freshwater fisherman, and do a lot of it on the Mississippi, so it makes a great rod for those big cats. Although I live no where near saltwater, the times I do go down to Florida I'll definitely be bringing this rod along.

Dill
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1 mean catfish combo
4/21/2012

Customer review by mad dog

5.0 stars 4/21/2012 by mad dog
by mad dog

i do alot of river fishing and this combo is a flathead catfish's nightmare!!! where we fish they catch as large as 60 pounders!!! i have only caught a 30 pounder and it preformed perfect !!! smooth reel and excellent backbone in the rod !!! cant wait 2 hook into a 60 pounder with this combo!!! i am sure it wil preform excellent!!!

mad dog
indian lake, ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Abu Garcia Fan
5/20/2012

Customer review by Fatboy

5.0 stars 5/20/2012 by Fatboy
by Fatboy

My whole fishing line up is Abu Garcia but I would have to say that this is my favorite setup for catfish. I would recommend this combo for anyone looking to haul in monster cats.

Fatboy
Moweaqua, IL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Deal = Beastly
9/2/2014

Customer review by Yaknstein

5.0 stars 9/2/2014 by Yaknstein
by Yaknstein

This rod and reel combo cannot be beat! Costal fishing or Catfish fishing the rod and reel combo will work for both. The reel came with 17lb mono already spooled up so it is fish ready out of the box. When I opened the box I half expected a smaller rod and reel but this combo lived up to the hype.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Yaknstein
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great value for the money. works great.
9/7/2014

Customer review by fredbandit

5.0 stars 9/7/2014 by fredbandit
by fredbandit

Great value. Cast good!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fredbandit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great combo!
5/22/2015

Customer review by DangINeedToFish

5.0 stars 5/22/2015 by DangINeedToFish
by DangINeedToFish

I mainly purchased this combo for croaker and flounder fishing; I could not be more pleased. Walmart's price could not be passed up!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DangINeedToFish
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
abu garcia cardinnal bruiser
8/10/2015

Customer review by fishman

5.0 stars 8/10/2015 by fishman
by fishman

every good for the price easy to use love it

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fishman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent feel
3/5/2015

Customer review by Bencrazy

5.0 stars 3/5/2015 by Bencrazy
by Bencrazy

For a bigger pole this combo still has excellent sensitivity. This combo casts like a dream and has enough backbone to mustle in the hawgs through the thickest cover. Great combo !!!

Bencrazy
Munroe Falls, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
smooth casting
3/5/2015

Customer review by Backwoods Lure Co

5.0 stars 3/5/2015 by Backwoods Lure Co
by Backwoods Lure Co

i bought this reel last summer to replace my old one and it is just perfect the casting is so smooth i love it

Backwoods Lure Co
NWA Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1-20 of 25 reviews