Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 35 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

35 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

35 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
28
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-20 of 35 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
This has to be the best one ever!!!
8/17/2011

Customer review by mybulgarianrose

5.0 stars 8/17/2011 by mybulgarianrose
by mybulgarianrose

The craftsmenship is amazing, The Feel , The balance, I fish saltwater and as you know it can be a pain, it leaves residue over evrything and you have to rinse all of the time... " Abu Garcia" Really makes it easy!!! Please don't laugh at the pic...

mybulgarianrose
Wildwood, New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
abu garcia's excellent surf rod
6/17/2008

Customer review by surfdog

5.0 stars 6/17/2008 by surfdog
by surfdog

I was looking for a surf rod for my 12 yr old son.At eight foot long with medium-heavy action this rod/reel combo fit the bill.My son and I went fishing with it right after we got it.He was casting it a good distance in a short amount of time. The action on the rod is great for surf casting and the reel works nice and smoothly. It's a great deal for fourty bucks.

Was this review helpful? (80) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
surfdog
oxnard,ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
love it!
4/23/2017

Customer review by Guyver10

5.0 stars 4/23/2017 by Guyver10
by Guyver10
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

great combo setup nice medium heavy prefect weight rod and smooth and quick action reel caught several fish first time out casting off the pier nice and smooth reeling in fish would recommend for beginners all the way up to seasoned fishermen

Guyver10
Vista, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Deal = Beastly
9/2/2014

Customer review by Yaknstein

5.0 stars 9/2/2014 by Yaknstein
by Yaknstein
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This rod and reel combo cannot be beat! Costal fishing or Catfish fishing the rod and reel combo will work for both. The reel came with 17lb mono already spooled up so it is fish ready out of the box. When I opened the box I half expected a smaller rod and reel but this combo lived up to the hype.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yaknstein
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/29/2011

Customer review by stumpbuster

5.0 stars 7/29/2011 by stumpbuster
by stumpbuster

Large handle makes it easier to fight big fish, smooth reel operation, this is a big fish rod for sure

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stumpbuster
pacific northwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
8/24/2011

Customer review by nathanhuu

5.0 stars 8/24/2011 by nathanhuu
by nathanhuu

bought this rod for my girlfriend and she absolutely loved it! this one is as good as the big fish 700 from shakespeare, or should I say that one is as good as this one! very strong, will last for a very long time! I will definitely buy this again.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nathanhuu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:18 - 24
Big Bad Bruiser!
3/7/2013

Customer review by cutter707

4.0 stars 3/7/2013 by cutter707
by cutter707

This is an awesome combo! I have two older Abu round reels, and i would have to say the Bruiser is my new "go to" rod! Strong enough to fish off the rocks on the coast, but also surprisingly sensitive enough to fish lakes and rivers! At 7ft. it casts pretty well, and accurate if you're tryig to land your cast in a specific spot on the water. The reel sure looks cool, but it performs as awesome as it looks. Super smooth, and super fast retreival!!! It comes pre-spooled with 17lbs. test... I don't know what brand it is, or where they got this line, but its a lot stronger than any other 17lbs. line ive fished before! You can feel how the balance is a bit off, but its so slight it is easily overcome. For as big as the reel is and as tough as the rod is, the whole combo isn't as heavy as it looks like it should be, so thats a plus! Overall, the most well made combo I have ever owned! I highly recommend you own one too!!!!!!

cutter707
Healdsburg, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great combo!
5/22/2015

Customer review by DangINeedToFish

5.0 stars 5/22/2015 by DangINeedToFish
by DangINeedToFish

I mainly purchased this combo for croaker and flounder fishing; I could not be more pleased. Walmart's price could not be passed up!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DangINeedToFish
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/7/2010

Customer review by Customer011111

5.0 stars 6/7/2010 by Customer011111
by Customer011111

Walmart shipped this item almost immediately and I received it 2 days prior to the projected date of delivery. This rod and reel combo is just what I was looking for and performed quite well. No issues that I have seen yet.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Customer011111
Burlington, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Rod and Reel
8/10/2016

Customer review by LSquared

4.0 stars 8/10/2016 by LSquared
by LSquared
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This combo is a very good outfit, especially for the price. I was looking to replace a pole I had broken and came across this. So far, so good.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LSquared
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good variety
12/20/2016

Customer review by charger1

5.0 stars 12/20/2016 by charger1
by charger1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

great for the price

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
charger1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/8/2010

Customer review by tuck007sa

5.0 stars 8/8/2010 by tuck007sa
by tuck007sa

WOW WHAT A GREAT DEAL THIS IS A VERY NICE REEL VERY SMOTH AND FAST CANT WAIT TO GO FISHING THANKS WALMART

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tuck007sa
SAN ANTONIO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per month
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
abu garcia cardinnal bruiser
8/10/2015

Customer review by fishman

5.0 stars 8/10/2015 by fishman
by fishman

every good for the price easy to use love it

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fishman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great value for the money. works great.
9/7/2014

Customer review by fredbandit

5.0 stars 9/7/2014 by fredbandit
by fredbandit
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great value. Cast good!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fredbandit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent rod and reel for gaint snake head fishin
9/29/2016

Customer review by Jerry kurian

5.0 stars 9/29/2016 by Jerry kurian
by Jerry kurian

I bought this combo two months ago and I have 50lbs brided line for top water frog lure

Jerry kurian
Kerala, India
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Awesome !!
6/17/2016

Customer review by Bommerdog67

5.0 stars 6/17/2016 by Bommerdog67
by Bommerdog67
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for my annual trip to the Florida panhandle to do a little surf fishing and pier fishing. You can not beat the quality for the price. This is an exceptional value...I am very pleased. Thanks Abu Garcia for making this affordable and quality combo !!!

Bommerdog67
Indiana, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lookin nice
8/21/2010

Customer review by jheumann

4.0 stars 8/21/2010 by jheumann
by jheumann

Havenlt taken it out yet, but lookin better than the Berkley rod i got. Looks like a good deal

Was this review helpful? (2) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jheumann
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Smooth cast and retrieve. Bail functions flawless.
4/29/2016

Customer review by CurtisWRoberts

4.0 stars 4/29/2016 by CurtisWRoberts
by CurtisWRoberts

I received this for my birthday last year. It quickly became one of the favorite rigs in my arsenal. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

CurtisWRoberts
Tucson, arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
My son catches more fish than anybody.
4/28/2016

Customer review by HHH3

5.0 stars 4/28/2016 by HHH3
by HHH3

Bought this reel for my youngest son, and now he catches more fish than anyone else in the family. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

HHH3
East Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
Light Weight and Strong
4/7/2016

Customer review by shala96

5.0 stars 4/7/2016 by shala96
by shala96

i have the 7 foot bruiser spinning combo, and i love it. It is very light and ive cause a 35lb carp on it with not problems at all. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

shala96
Pittsburgh, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews