Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 37 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

37 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

37 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
20
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-20 of 28 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews
LITTLE BUT MIGHTY
3/22/2008

Customer review by Pioneer202nut

5.0 stars 3/22/2008 by Pioneer202nut
by Pioneer202nut

I have a pioneer 202 ,This metal detector keeps up with the big boys on the block! My friends have Minlabs and White's and can't beleave how good this metal detector works. Its a DEEP coin finding metal detector. My best coin so far is 1924 D VF-20 Penny. I hope this helps. Happy hunting

Was this review helpful? (85) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pioneer202nut
Rumford ,ME USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fantastic!
11/28/2008

Customer review by Saltwaterjoe

5.0 stars 11/28/2008 by Saltwaterjoe
by Saltwaterjoe

We purchased this product as a gift for my wife. She has wanted one for a very long time and I was very skeptical when they handed me the box - it felt like there was nothing in it. When we got it home, it worked great right out of the box! We have had to really work with it to learn and understand the tones and readings to find things easier, but going back and watching the enclosed video helps too. We recently bought a new house that had been 80% renovated and we have done the rest. There were many "treasures" left in the yard. Since we have bought the Bounty Hunter, my wife has found nearly $300 worth of copper piping in our back yard as well as about $20 in change. We live an area where there were many Civil and Revolutionary War battles, so far we have just found musket and rifle balls but I know we are going to find something. If you want one to start off with, this is the one you want. However, be patient with yourself and don;t blame the machine, there is some learning time involved. Happy hunting!

Was this review helpful? (61) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Saltwaterjoe
Point of Rocks, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fun
1/10/2009

Customer review by kwanyin

5.0 stars 1/10/2009 by kwanyin
by kwanyin

We tried the product and it was very precise. We had a lot of fun and intend on using it every weekend. I recommend it highly...

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kwanyin
Miami, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
great product
2/17/2008

Customer review by rudyrooster

5.0 stars 2/17/2008 by rudyrooster
by rudyrooster

After much research I had decided to purchase a Bounty Hunter brand metal detector. I chose the Pioneer 202 model because it's supposedly a nice detector for the price. Thus far, I haven't been disappointed. While I've had very little time to take it out and put it thru it's paces (being that it is currently winter), the few times I have taken it out have been productive. For instance, the very first time I used it was in the front yard of my home (built in 1928). In a 45-minute session I located and dug-up four pennies (all from the 1960's), a 1981 dime, and a coin-shaped token good for one-dollar off the purchase of a new tire from a Goodyear dealership (now how old is that token). While none of these finds could be considered valuable it was still fun to find "buried treasures" right in my front yard...and I still have a lot of yard left to search. The Pioneer 202 is really quite simple to use. Not a lot of bells and whistles, just pretty much turn it on and go. Make sure you read the owner's manual thoroughly before operating the detector. The video that comes with the detector is okay, but could be better. One very important thing to remember when operating the Pioneer 202 is only dig when you get a "strong, repeatable signal" from the detector, otherwise you'll end up digging more than the usual amount of junk. The Pioneer 202 is not a "high-dollar" detector, but it does perform quite well if you study the owner's manual and apply the correct settings to match what you are searching for. As a slightly better than entry-level detector it is well worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (29) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rudyrooster
alma, ark
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great new toy!
5/20/2011

Customer review by geoweb

5.0 stars 5/20/2011 by geoweb
by geoweb

I purchased my Pioneer about 2 weeks ago and have been having a ball with it! I had a metal locator abut 20 years ago, and I really appreciate the new technology! The first day, I dug for anything I got a repeatable signal, practicing first to identify the object before digging. After a few hours, I was getting very accurate in guessing if I was looking at a bottle cap or coin.. on the second day, I found 38 coins with only one false reading which turned out to be a small brass shackle about 1 inch across...a very unusual discovery in the woods! In short...this is an excellent buy!

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
geoweb
Northern Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
metal detecter
6/3/2008

Customer review by squeezy

5.0 stars 6/3/2008 by squeezy
by squeezy

i like it and is good for an older woman like me to have gets me out and moving

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
squeezy
iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A Very Good product for finding survey markers
8/24/2010

Customer review by DangerZoneF14

5.0 stars 8/24/2010 by DangerZoneF14
by DangerZoneF14

Our first metal detector. We could not find the survey monuments on our property by digging and searching. We purchased The Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202 Metal Detector and found the survey monuments on our property about 6 inches below the ground surface. The metal detector found the markers within a few minutes, indicated the type of metal and the distance below the surface. We are very pleased with this product. Note the survey monuments were found in the center of the detectors circular antenna, a direct bullseye each time, we were amazed by the products ability to zero in on the object we were looking for.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DangerZoneF14
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
Worth every penny
4/26/2008

Customer review by LadyBugNay

5.0 stars 4/26/2008 by LadyBugNay
by LadyBugNay

My husband loves his new detector. We bought a different brand before this one, and he hated it. He loves all the different options and settings on here. Thumbs up from Portage, Pa.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LadyBugNay
Portage, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great gift for someone with too much time on their
12/6/2013

Customer review by milkinthemagic

5.0 stars 12/6/2013 by milkinthemagic
by milkinthemagic

cant wait for my first big adventure. its easy to read , operate , and understand. You have a video to familiarize yourself with this device. just cant wait to get started. My very first time with metal detecting and my very first metal detector. I always wanted one and beleive this is one i need. Really light wieght , planning on going out a full day without any problems. I am telling I just cant wait

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
milkinthemagic
missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Light weight, easy to handle.
12/6/2012

Customer review by JamestownDigger

4.0 stars 12/6/2012 by JamestownDigger
by JamestownDigger

It's a great detector for people with disabilities. It's Light weight, easy to handle. I enjoy using it although I have some disabilities that limit the time I can walk around, bend and dig. So I mark the areas and my husband will dig them up. Then the fun starts, searching through the diggings to see what we can find. I have only had it a couple of weeks, but I do like it a bunch.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JamestownDigger
Jamestown, CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
You'll find every bit of metal!
4/26/2011

Customer review by JBTrekkie

5.0 stars 4/26/2011 by JBTrekkie
by JBTrekkie

We got this metal detector to find property line stakes that ended up not existing. We did find a lot of other 'treasures' along the way, including a tiny little piece of a nail, a penny, a nickel, and several other pieces. While we haven't struck it rich yet (and still have to hire a surveyor since one hasn't been done since 1934,) this was a great purchase. It will provide a lot of entertainment for us, and it certainly detected what it was made to detect!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JBTrekkie
Snow Hill, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great metal detector
3/27/2013

Customer review by Brucejean

5.0 stars 3/27/2013 by Brucejean
by Brucejean

This "cheap" metal detector works better than expected ! Our house burnt down in December , we bought this detector to look for lost jewelry . We found two dimond rings, three necklaces and many other lost viables in the ruble ! Paid or itself many times already. Looking forward to using it when the weather breaks on the beach and a couple old home sites !

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brucejean
45714
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Good Find
1/21/2008

Customer review by shop0808

5.0 stars 1/21/2008 by shop0808
by shop0808

I purchased this for my husband after reading many reviews and visiting many metal detecting websites. We needed to find a property marker and had been searching an area where we knew it must be. We had dug seemingly everywhere, but after he got the Bounty Hunter, we went back out and within 5 minutes found the rod. This unit is easy to use and seems to work great. We are well pleased.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shop0808
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Decent product for the money.
2/13/2014

Customer review by Grafenwoer12345

4.0 stars 2/13/2014 by Grafenwoer12345
by Grafenwoer12345

Have only had it a week but it seems to do what I need it for...shallow metal searches.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Grafenwoer12345
Columbus NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Metal detector
1/3/2008

Customer review by Lkvols

4.0 stars 1/3/2008 by Lkvols
by Lkvols

I bought this for my wife for Christmas, but I really bought it for myself as well. It works well. The instruction cd is very helpful. I haven't found much yet, but it's hard to dig through snow.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lkvols
Elizabethton, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Dissapointing
2/15/2008

Customer review by SteveHM

1.0 stars 2/15/2008 by SteveHM
by SteveHM

I had a barn built and I purchased to scan my pasture for nails so the horses don't step on them. Most nails will be on the surface, except near the barn where them may be an inch or so below the surface due to stepping on them. Well, every time it beeped it showed the item was 4 inches below the ground...ALWAYS!!! Even when I found a nail on the surface and scanned over it, it was 4 inches below the ground! Basically, it also beeped when there was nothing there after digging 12 inches below. False positives. I wouldn't waste the money on this one.

Was this review helpful? (14) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SteveHM
Ennis, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It is a real good detector.
1/6/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/6/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The only thing I can say is if you buy one you will be very happy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Prattville Al.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
a fun product
1/19/2009

Customer review by investagator

3.0 stars 1/19/2009 by investagator
by investagator

This product is definitly fun. Its been a family adventure searching for treasures. One down fall is that is picks up everything can tabs, bottle caps, nails etc. the only thing we've found of value is coins. Its pretty easy to work and very light weight my five year old can even work it. I would say it's a great product for a beginner.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
investagator
arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
ok for treasure hunting.
7/18/2011

Customer review by Haligali

3.0 stars 7/18/2011 by Haligali
by Haligali

I bought this detector because it say's it detects up to 4 ft, but I cannot find any information on how to tell if it does or when it does...not in the instructions or on the DVD. It only shows up to 10 inches. Not very helpful to find a septic or burried pipes or power lines. That is what I wanted it for. If you are only treasure hunting, I'm sure this would be fine.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Haligali
Halifax, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/9/2010

Customer review by auntemmalou

1.0 stars 1/9/2010 by auntemmalou
by auntemmalou

Bought the bounty hunter as a Christmas gift. Put the batteries in it beeped a couple of times and that was it. Returned it to Walmart with no problems. Maybe I just got a rare bad one.

Was this review helpful? (2) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
auntemmalou
Springhill, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews