Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 75 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

75 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

75 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
38
4 stars
20
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 stars
5
1-20 of 70 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 70 total reviews
1-20 of 70 reviews
wonderfully tall!
3/10/2010

Customer review by rivetheart

4.0 stars 3/10/2010 by rivetheart
by rivetheart

i waited with baited breath for my 30 inch scratching post to arrive....my kitten has grown insanely fast and his 18 inch scratching post was not doing him any good! he had to bend in a funny way to scratch on it at all...when i saw this product i knew i had to have it-i was just worried about the color it would come in! lucky for me i got a nice beige colored post and my kitten LOVES it! he can reach to the very top of it and thinks its fun to wrap all 4 of his paws around it so none of him is touching the floor! its quite fun to watch! the post is sturdy-i havent seen him tip it over yet and hes fairly big for only 10 months old. i really recommend this product! (so does my kitty, Hawkeye!)

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rivetheart
CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
tall tails from a sturdy 30
7/30/2009

Customer review by TwoCatsForMe

4.0 stars 7/30/2009 by TwoCatsForMe
by TwoCatsForMe

GOOD: *very tall so cats can get a full stretch while scratching *super wide base means it probably won't tip over unless your cat is really large and decides to launch itself at the very top at a high rate of speed. *well made and sturdy. My boys like to perch themselves atop the post and act like mountain goats on a pinnacle. One of them is kinda ummm.... "chunky" and the post still does not tip or lean. BAD: *No choice of carpet colors or textures. You get whatever Joe Warehouse decides to put in the box. I bought 2 and they had different colors and carpet styles. Evidentally my cats only scratch on berber and one post was stringy and shag-like and the other was short pile, so they ignored them at first (I fixed this problem though. See below) . If your cat is picky about carpet texture, you're rolling the dice as to if that's what you'll receive. OVERALL: good product! I would recommend, unless you are picky about colors and/or your cat prefer a certain type of carpet. I ended up just getting a berber type kitchen mat and attached that to the post. Now, both cats thoroughly enjoy being able to really stretch out and scratch with a more natural posture, as opposed to the straight-forward hunching needed for the shorter post. This is also a good value for the money in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TwoCatsForMe
greater Memphis area, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Scratcher
6/4/2008

Customer review by Kilala

5.0 stars 6/4/2008 by Kilala
by Kilala

My cat's scratching preferences include drapes, floor carpeting, couches, and the sides of my mattress. I've read that you're supposed to avoid carpeted scratchers to keep them from scratching the above-mentioned types of household furniture. But you know what? My cat LOVES this scratcher precisely because it is made of carpeting. I figure I might as well buy what she will actually use. She hardly ever scratches the carpet flooring anymore. Unfortunately, I can't get her to stop scratching the side of my mattress. Pros: It is the right height to allow her to stand full length and get a good stretch from it. (It really is 30" tall as it says.) I place cat treats on top and she likes to climb up there to get them. (It makes her work for the reward.) This scratcher is very sturdy and does not tip over when she jumps all over it (she weighs about 7-8 lbs, so I'm not sure how it would hold up with heavier cats). My cat goes so crazy with this thing that she sometimes likes to bite it as well. I think it is a good quality product for the price. (Compare this scratcher with The Ultimate Scratching Post by SmartCat and you will notice the price savings! I also have the Ultimate Scratching Post and my cat actually prefers this carpeted scratcher.) Cons: The diameter is about 4.5", and I think my cat might like it more if it were a bit more wide, but this is only a minor con. I wish the pole had a 'topper' instead of a plastic covering on top where she could sit on top of it (she would love that). (I am considering making a 'topper' myself by gluing a piece of wood to the top that's a little wider than the pole.) (The Ultimate Scratching Post *does* have a 'topper' and she loves to sit on top of it.) Since it is made of carpeting, this scratcher does shed. Overall, it's a great product and I am highly satisfied with my purchase. I had it shipped-to-site and the process was very convenient and quick. I also liked not having to pay for shipping!

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kilala
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Carpeted tall cat scratching post
1/24/2014

Customer review by Arkycat

5.0 stars 1/24/2014 by Arkycat
by Arkycat

Well made, carpeted, tall cat scratch post. My cat doesn't like sisal, and it is getting harder to find carpet posts as almost all are sisal these days. This post is well made and is sturdy and stable. Doesn't tip even when my 15lb cat jumps at it. He does manage to tear out small tufts of carpet, but this post also looks like it would be easy to recarpet. It has a plastic cap at the top instead of having carpet wrapped around the top, which is another nice feature and would make it much easier to recarpet rather than trying to wrap new carpet around the top, which is why I couldn't fix my last post. I had thought of putting a cap on the old one, but was unable to find anything in the right size. Overall, I think it was a good purchase and I'm pleased with it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Arkycat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My cats love it!
5/28/2009

Customer review by Riliegh559

5.0 stars 5/28/2009 by Riliegh559
by Riliegh559

Very good quality, sturdy, and my cat's love it!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Riliegh559
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
a product cats love
1/6/2009

Customer review by catlady54

4.0 stars 1/6/2009 by catlady54
by catlady54

my cats love this scratching post. Its tall enough so they get a good stretch, and it was reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
catlady54
South Haven, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
7/15/2012

Customer review by MAMAW12

2.0 stars 7/15/2012 by MAMAW12
by MAMAW12

I bought this for my adult cat because it was 30 inches tall and he could stretch out when using it. When I got it home and put it out for my cat he loved it, but every time he uses it, it moves across the floor and starts to tip over (as it is very "light" and only weighs 7 lbs and my cat is double that in weight). This might be ok for smaller cats but I don't have much hope of this lasting very long with my adult cat.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MAMAW12
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/19/2012

Customer review by Stuckeye

5.0 stars 5/19/2012 by Stuckeye
by Stuckeye

It is difficult to find the 30" posts, so I was pleased to see that Walmart carried this one. Other places that did carry them were 3 times the price, which did not include an average of $25 shipping charges. This shipped quickly and was already assembled. My cats love it! I received a different color than I originally ordered, but that didn't matter. Would recommend this......I should have ordered two!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stuckeye
Lebanon, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Scratching Post
3/11/2012

Customer review by shell1214

5.0 stars 3/11/2012 by shell1214
by shell1214

My cats love this. It is laced with catnip and my smaller cats love to climb it. They attacked it the minute we brought it home. We loved it so much that we got one for my in laws.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shell1214
Payson, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice LARGE post
1/16/2012

Customer review by ValerieTWV

5.0 stars 1/16/2012 by ValerieTWV
by ValerieTWV

I was shocked at the size of this post when I got it! I waned something big enough for my 22 pound cat to really be able to stretch on, and this post is IT!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ValerieTWV
Culloden WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A nice scratching post for someone on a budget!
1/13/2014

Customer review by cherrybomb83

5.0 stars 1/13/2014 by cherrybomb83
by cherrybomb83

I actually bought this a couple of years ago for my cat after many failed attempts with other scratching posting. The main problem being that they were too short, but all the 30 inch and taller were too expensive in my opinion for something that my cat would shred to bits. This scratching post is the perfect height for my cat to stretch and scratch. It was an easy transition for him to scratch this post since it is carpeted and his main scratching vice was the rug. The previous post I had lasted almost a year before the rug part started shedding everywhere. But for the price I can't complain much! If you have a heavier cat though I would recommend a post with a heavier base because my cat is pretty slim and he can move this when you runs back and forth. I placed the post on a skid resistant mat and he hasn't been able to move it so far though :)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cherrybomb83
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
4/6/2012

Customer review by IndyCooker

5.0 stars 4/6/2012 by IndyCooker
by IndyCooker

My dear cat took to this carpeted scratch pole instantly. It is unusually tall, and it really gives her the stretching exercise she likes and needs. Just a super great piece of cat furniture!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IndyCooker
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good value for the money
2/26/2012

Customer review by zephra32

5.0 stars 2/26/2012 by zephra32
by zephra32

My 3 clawed cats enjoy it a lot. I did rub on cat nip to better attract them to it though. The height and stability is great, much better than I expected.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zephra32
Wentzville, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Carpeted Cat Post
5/15/2014

Customer review by Karen60

5.0 stars 5/15/2014 by Karen60
by Karen60

I had a smaller carpeted cat post, but my kitten has grown. My cat loves this post. She is able to give a full stretch when she scratches. It is heavy. She can climb to the top of the post and it does not fall over. It is difficult to find a carpeted post and this item was perfect. It was so easy to have it shipped to my local store. It was delivered several days before the estimated date. The price was reasonable for the good quality.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Karen60
Niagara Falls
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best cat scratching post for the money
11/4/2013

Customer review by luckylibbet1

4.0 stars 11/4/2013 by luckylibbet1
by luckylibbet1

This is the second time I have bought this post through Walmart.com with delivery to my local store. This is a great program. Products that are large and/or bulky can be difficult to stock in every single location, so the ability to purchase on-line, and then pick up locally (with no delivery charge) is a wonderful option. The post itself is pretty generic, but the price is hard to beat. My cat was trained from a young age to scratch a post, not the furniture, and we have been pretty successful at that goal. She's a fairly large cat, at 14 pounds, and needs the stretch of a 30" post. I give it four stars, rather than five, simply because the post does not last. The carpeting that covers the post is inexpensive and shreds; hence we replace it once a year. But it's so inexpensive that it just makes more sense to replace a post she likes once a year than invest more money in a better constructed scratch post, that maybe she will reject. Summary: great value product, but plan to replace frequently if your cat is an energetic scratcher. Also plan to vacuum up the bits of carpet fluff released from energetic scratching.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luckylibbet1
Fremont, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It tends to shed
10/1/2010

Customer review by Stuckonarock

3.0 stars 10/1/2010 by Stuckonarock
by Stuckonarock

The reason that I gave the overall rating a three is because the carpet is being pulled out by my kitten and is getting all over the floor! You can see in the picture that she has the top of the scratching post frayed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stuckonarock
Blue Hill, Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great quality item, especially for a large cat
10/31/2012

Customer review by Retrolibra

5.0 stars 10/31/2012 by Retrolibra
by Retrolibra

My four year old boy cat is a large sized fellow with lots of energy, so he needed a scratching post that lets him stretch out fully. This wonderfully tall scratching post does the job very well. Thick berber carpet, sturdy base. He wanted to play on it as soon as I took it out of the box! Pleasantly surprised by the rapid shipping too. A++!! :)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Retrolibra
Washington, D.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Purrfect!
11/3/2013

Customer review by Starfancy

5.0 stars 11/3/2013 by Starfancy
by Starfancy

I was a little hesitant ordering this post as I have purchased much more expensive ones in the past and thought this one might not be that good, but worth a try. To my delight~ my kitty LOVES it, and did so instantly out of the box! It is plenty sturdy to not fall over, even when being scratched hard, and my kitty all but immediately rejected all her other scratchers in favor of this one. The only thing I would like differently would be a more decorative or attractive top, even the carpet would be nice. There is a plastic tube like cover, just functional. Another carpeted scratching post I have comes apart during each scratch and leaves carpet fibers everywhere, this one has been very solid and not constantly shedding. If my kitty is happy, I am happy, and we love this scratching post! I am ordering more for gifts!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Starfancy
Spokane Wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/13/2012

Customer review by rfmomm

5.0 stars 5/13/2012 by rfmomm
by rfmomm

My cat loves this! We just bought another one for another room.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rfmomm
Great yoga stretch!
3/18/2011

Customer review by carsgram

5.0 stars 3/18/2011 by carsgram
by carsgram

I couldn't find a 30" scratching post in my local large-box pet store chains nor on their websites. I was pleasantly surprised to find it at Walmart.com at a great price. This tall post is especially good for large cats like mine because they can get a full-length stretch on it. Every time I see him going at it, I want to get down on the floor and do some yoga stretches. The base is not as heavy as I would like, but Bill Bailey doesn't seem to mind when he pulls it over. He's startled for a split second, and then he goes right back to his scratching and stretching in the horizontal position.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
carsgram
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1-20 of 70 reviews