Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 182 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

182 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

5 stars
117
4 stars
40
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 stars
8
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 152 total reviews
Does the job well.
5/7/2012

Customer review by Karich

5.0 stars by Karich

I have several of these Fire-Safe files. They are great and they work. I'm sorry to say that I had the oppertunity to find out and they did exactly what it says. The lid sealed shut and it melted, and I mean melted. We put it in a vise and used a grinding wheel to cut off the bottom of it. All papers and disks inside were perfect.

Was this review helpful? (124) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Karich
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Sentry 1170 Fire Chest "safe"
3/4/2010

Customer review by cloudcroft

4.0 stars by cloudcroft

I have found these simple Sentry Fire Chests "safes" to be nice solutions if you have a non-fire-rated safe/RSC but want to add at least SOME fire-protection to its contents: You get one (or more) of these Sentry Fire Chests, put any papers/vauables into it/them, then put it/them inside your steel safe/RSC. These are not REAL "safes" of course, but take it to mean they are "safe" (for 30 minutes MAYBE) from fire, certainly NOT from theft as they can easily be pried open or carried off. But put into a non-fire-rated safe/RSC (which is bolted down to the floor/wall) they become more useful. This particular Sentry (model 1170) Fire Chest fits almost perfectly in my Cobalt S852C B-rated (but NOT also F-rated) steel safe. I have had some other models of Sentry Fire Chests (assorted sizes) for years, and put them in two other safes/RSCs I have (both fire-rated and non-fire-rated). You can put as many Fire Chests as you can fit in there, and keep your papers, jewelry, ammo, cameras, whatever in them. Yes, they MIGHT still bake in the safe even if inside a Fire Chest, but it's better than just putting those items into a steel safe with ZERO fire protection and have them destroyed FOR SURE. And, I found (2-11-10) this Sentry 1170 at Walmart.com for a great price PLUS 97-cent shiping...can't beat that! So yes, I would recommend these kind of Senrty FireChests for this purpose -- put into larger safes/RSCs -- rather than to be kept alone under a bed or in a closet somewhere. I didn't give it 5 stars simply because I would have liked to see a bit longer fire protection (45 minutes at least) but 30 minutes is better than none. Also, I saw a video clip of several of these "safes" being put on a pallet and set afire by a local FD, left to burn for a few minutes and then the FD put the fire out with their hoses: Even the non-waterproof rated Fire Chests kept out the water, as the lids "weld" themselves shut in a fire (as designed to do, not a defect) and the contents were fine, so I'm not sure it's necessary to get a "waterproof" rated Fire Chest, which is definitely more expensive. Whatever, even the cheapest Sentry Fire Chests are better than no fire protection at all...at least your stuff has a CHANCE of surviving!

Was this review helpful? (75) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
cloudcroft
Galveston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product
11/19/2008

Customer review by RM1godchild

5.0 stars by RM1godchild

If you are looking to protect your valuable papers and CD's this is an excellent product. It holds lots of paperwork and there is still plenty of room for a CD holder for your photo CD's.

Was this review helpful? (34) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RM1godchild
Holbrook, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Just what I was looking for
5/26/2009

Customer review by OrganizerOne

5.0 stars by OrganizerOne

This safe is a perfect size and fits all my important documents. Because it holds hanging files I am able to get to important documents without having to look through an entire stack of papers.

Was this review helpful? (36) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
OrganizerOne
Glassboro, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
hard to lift
9/30/2011

Customer review by Fobo

3.0 stars by Fobo

This is a nice strong , safety box, however with no handle it makes it very hard to lift. A handle somewhere on it would have made it a 5 star.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Fobo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Unfortunately, I know from experience
3/26/2013

Customer review by mrblueu

5.0 stars by mrblueu

I just tossed a similar sentry fire safe box, in the trash. There was nothing much wrong with it except it had turned to soot black (it was cream color) due to the house fire three years ago. Let me tell you, the sentry fire safe box was in the fire for several hours and the contents inside had a little black smoke on the papers, but not a one burnt! You know what, I've read here about the latch opening being plastic, believe me, that absolutely does not matter. In fact, the latch on mine was not even melted! Blew my mind totally!!! So off to the trash the dirty thing went as it had served it's duty well. Today, I picked up this new 'file' type fire safe box as it is a bit larger. Just a bit. The only things I don't like about this box is that 1. It does not have handles or any way to carry it other than picking it up from the bottom and 2. You must lock it as there is no way to close it unless locked. For $40 bucks it is a good value. Of course, you could always do what the old folks did, buy a mason jar and place your important papers inside, then place the jar in your freezer. One more note, this IS a fire safe box.....not a safe box. I've read some negative reviews about the plastic latches on the fire box's and same entry keys, and yada yada yada. If you want a safe box, look at those. THIS is a fire resistant safe box to aide in keeping some of your papers and or other little things in your house that you want to keep protected from FIRE.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mrblueu
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 25 contributor
Broken Safe shipped
3/3/2011

Customer review by shelly42

2.0 stars by shelly42

1. Keys did not work in lock 2. Rebate coupon was not included 3. Safe did not come in original packaging The safe did not come in original packing. I looked like someone returned the safe and Walmart just repackaged the safe and sent it out again without repair. Returned the safe to Wal-Mart and awaiting refund.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
shelly42
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great product
11/18/2013

Customer review by Breezy46

4.0 stars by Breezy46

This security file is sturdy and great quality for the price. Only change that would be of help is some handles on sides to left it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Breezy46
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Plastic Handle
1/23/2013

Customer review by AnneGrace

2.0 stars by AnneGrace

I bought this safe today for important documents. The safe itself is perfect but the handle/lock was loose and made of plastic. Also, when testing the lock, I had trouble getting the key to go in the hole. Once I got it in, I had to jiggle the key to get it to unlock. I am going to return this safe.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
AnneGrace
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
3/12/2012

Customer review by Junior76541

1.0 stars by Junior76541

I would NOT buy this item over the internet. I received mine on time, but that is the only good thing I can say about it. It came in a plain brown cardboard box (no photo, no comp. name, no description like you would see on a shelf at the store). When I opened it, the only thing in the package was the safe itself and two keys. No papers at all (directions, warranty, register the product, etc.). When I tried to open it, the key only turned partway and that only with difficulty. Then I couldn't turn the key back to get it out. I had to return it to my local store and they took it back, no questions asked. They gave me back my money in cash. I never checked to see if they refunded the shipping as well, but that was only 97 cents. So I am satisfied with the service at my local store but not with walmart.com.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Junior76541
Bangor, ME
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
1/1/2013

Customer review by DPRSafe

3.0 stars by DPRSafe

I have owed a similar safe box for many years also made by Sentry. This model appeared to be sturdy and of high quality but the trouble began Christmas day. Apparently, we misplaced the keys while opening the present. (They where found the next day across the room). Sentry's web-site lets you order new keys for $15 but it was my opinion, the safe never had any keys in it. I wrote that to the company and they were kind enough to respond the next day and promised to send me a new set of keys for free. Which they did. In the mean time, having found the original keys, we were unpleasantly surprised to find the keys did not work in the lock. For some reason, they would only insert about a third of the way and yet they still turned the locking mechanism. I returned the safe to Walmart the next day. I have since ordered and new safe model H2300 and received it yesterday . Although it is not the same size as the original, we are VERY happy with it. 5 stars for the new one.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DPRSafe
Southlake, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
For the price you can't bet the security
6/24/2014

Customer review by ExtremelyHappyCustomer

5.0 stars by ExtremelyHappyCustomer

Extremely pleased with the product and especially the price. When the safe arrived only one of the two keys worked. I looked thru the manual and called SentrySafe. They were very accommodating and two new keys arrived in a timely manner.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ExtremelyHappyCustomer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Security File
6/12/2012

Customer review by arporkchop

5.0 stars by arporkchop

This safe would not be a major challenge for anyone seriously wanting to crack the safe but it is a nice size and provides the security level I was seeking. I keep things that are important to me and not necessairly to anyone else in this safe (birth certificate, passport, life insurance policies, etc.) and at least I know where I can find them a major consideraton at my age. I would recommend this safe but not for the "crown jewels".

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
arporkchop
Winter Haven, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product !!
2/16/2015

Customer review by IsitFridayyet

5.0 stars by IsitFridayyet

I ordered this fire safe online and was surprised to receive it the very next day even though I chose economy shipping. It was packaged with styrofoam to protect it from shipping mishaps and the key and manual were located inside. It fits my needs perfectly. It is easy to organize with file folders, (purchased separately) . It seems very well made and yes, it is very heavy and would be easier to handle if it had handles molded on the sides, but regrettably it doesn't. Also, I feel the need to state that this is not a security safe but simply a fire safe. It is not meant protect valuables from theft. I hope I never find out just how fire safe it is but I feel confident, given the reputation of SentrySafe, that my important documents will be ok.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
IsitFridayyet
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Mostly great buy
3/14/2011

Customer review by Lovemyped

4.0 stars by Lovemyped

The safe meets most expectations. Its heavy but one would expect it to be in order to do what is says. Happy with my purchase except for the fact the lock seems a little unstable and does not work with great ease. Feel it should have a better lock.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Lovemyped
Mobile Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
so far so good...
4/15/2011

Customer review by k2johnson

4.0 stars by k2johnson

It is what I expected..wish it had some handles but other than that...good price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
k2johnson
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
ok
3/3/2012

Customer review by BADPRINTER

3.0 stars by BADPRINTER

NEEDS A HANDLE ON TOP, WHEN IT HAS FILE IN IT IT IS HARD TO PICK UP. VERY HEAVY...

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BADPRINTER
CLEVELAND, GA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
2/8/2013

Customer review by Djmo8

3.0 stars by Djmo8

Order the box online, it didn't come with any keys couldn't get the box opened. Had to return to store and purchase a new one. Good fire proof box for the money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Djmo8
Ontario, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
okay paper safe, previous models better
10/1/2011

Customer review by GreatDanes4U

3.0 stars by GreatDanes4U

I ordered 4 all delivered quickly to the door for $.99/unit. Unlike previous models I have several, these do not permit the removal of the key without looking the unit. These safes are ideal to keep papers in to protect from fire and water damage that might occur during a fire. These are not security safes! I prefer the models that do not require locking to remove the keys! Wally did their part! The safes work for what they are intended to do but the lock/key issue is less than desireable. Also the black color versus grey prohibits using a black magic marker on the outside to catorgize the safes so you do not have to search each one.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
GreatDanes4U
Springfield, MO.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Heavier than I expected. No handle.
7/31/2014

Customer review by NJTeacher2

2.0 stars by NJTeacher2

This product was deep-discounted and fit the bill when I was looking for a fireproof box for my important papers. It's really heavy. No handle to help move it. Bad design. It gets heavier when contents are added. It is not something you'd fill with important documents and then plan to flee with in an emergency. I have stored mine on a wheelie cart giving me a partial option to flee with it...too hard to carry with no handle.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
NJTeacher2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 152 total reviews