Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 57 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

57 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

57 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
33
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 stars
13
1-20 of 54 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 54 total reviews
1-20 of 54 reviews
Fast and easy
4/18/2008

Customer review by Sorrowborn

5.0 stars 4/18/2008 by Sorrowborn
by Sorrowborn

I got this router yesterday (for a great price) and it's one of those rare technological instances where a product actually works like it's advertised to. It came with everything I needed to connect and set it up. The setup process was very easy and took less than five minutes -- it actually started emitting a signal right when I turned the power on, before I even ran the software CD to set it up with my computer. The connection is much faster than my old G-type router, and the signal strength is excellent throughout the whole house: I get the same quality a floor below the router that my brothers gets on his Ipod in the same room as the router. I was hesitant about the price difference between Belkin and Linksys, but in this case, a lower price definitely does not reflect lesser quality. It's a great value for the price, and I recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sorrowborn
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
excelent!
3/31/2008

Customer review by BeAlLsTaR

5.0 stars 3/31/2008 by BeAlLsTaR
by BeAlLsTaR

product is great! its affordable and reliable. it works great with xbox live, havnt had any problem with interference. quick and easy to use, great product especially for the price!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BeAlLsTaR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Do not buy if your ISP uses DHCP
3/31/2008

Customer review by bbennett

2.0 stars 3/31/2008 by bbennett
by bbennett

I would not buy this router if your ISP uses DHCP to maintain your Internet connection (dynamic connection type). There is a serious WAN bug that causes this router to momentarily drop all data on WAN DHCP Acks (Acks are used by your ISP and router to maintain your internet connection). This bug appears to have been introduced in firmware 3.01.14 and above to 3.01.18. Firmware 3.01.10 appeared stable in my tests. You can see from the reviews they all talk about dropped connections, being booted from Xbox live games etc.. This is all caused by the WAN bug that belkin until this time has no fix for and their support is of no help. There is no fix aside from getting a static IP from your ISP and changing the connection type so that you no longer use DHCP to maintain the WAN connection. It also works fine if placed in access point only mode, but that defeats the purpose of the router in the first place. If you have a Static IP or PPPOE type connection it works fine and the router is pretty good aside from this bug. I got a static IP from my ISP just to fix the problem until Belkin offers a fix. If you just browse the web and do not stream data like video, remote desktop or gaming, the bug would go unnoticed. Also, do not upgrade the original firmware for any reason (3.01.10). This bug was introduced in 3.01.14 and above. I loved this router until I upgraded the firmware and there is no way to downgrade as belkin refuses to send the 3.01.10 firmware or offer it for download. They also say it is fixed in the UK firmware 3.01.18, but it’s not.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bbennett
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT for Playstation 3!!!
1/3/2008

Customer review by GameBoyDad

5.0 stars 1/3/2008 by GameBoyDad
by GameBoyDad

I bought this router for my son to play on-line using his new Playstation 3. The instructions were very easy to understand and you can't beat the price compared to other N wireless routers. I had the router up and running and my son was playing on-line within ten minutes of me taking it out of the box! The on-line game play is quick and smooth and I can still access the internet from my personal computer while he is playing on-line. My son can even access the internet using his PSP from anywhere in the house. I highly recommend this router if you are looking for a wireless conection to the internet for Playstation 3 on-line game play.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GameBoyDad
Thomasville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
what a deal!!
7/11/2008

Customer review by AAGT50

5.0 stars 7/11/2008 by AAGT50
by AAGT50

you could install this thing in less than 5 minutes. i've helped friends setup routers before and it was difficult. i could not believe how easy this was. and i get signal strength of 100% in the upstairs of my house. works great with my PS3 also. i would reccomend this one for sure!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AAGT50
MECHANICSVILLE, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Poor Tech Support
11/22/2009

Customer review by NOOOOOOOOOBELKIN

2.0 stars 11/22/2009 by NOOOOOOOOOBELKIN
by NOOOOOOOOOBELKIN

Very poo experience with tech support. Because I was out sourced to another country, it was extremely difficult to understand what she was saying. After an hour and a half, she told me that she could not help me. I figured it out the next day. Will not buy Belkin again because of the tech support.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NOOOOOOOOOBELKIN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Buy a Linksys
4/2/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 4/2/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I am very dissatisfied with this product. I am very familiar with networks and wireless networks. Yet, this unit was beyond me. Set-up was lousy, did the express install. Had to input my ISP username and password. It said it was invalid. I found this finny because I was logged in on my laptop using the neighbors wireless. And they accepted my user name and password. Anyhow, I couldn't get it to work as it was suppose to. The IP of the router and my modem both shared the same IP. So, after sending about 2 hours trying to get the router to change IPs. I gave up. Started grasping at straws, turned on the Access Point option, it automatically changed the IP and allowed me to connect with my laptop and get on the internet. With the router literally sitting right next to my laptop, I only was getting a fair connection. Needless to say, this router will be going back to Walmart today. I know this isn't Walmarts problem. But, please, save yourself a headache and buy a Linksys.

Was this review helpful? (5) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Napoleon, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
If only life was as easy as this BELKIN to operate
11/28/2007

Customer review by povertyhollow

5.0 stars 11/28/2007 by povertyhollow
by povertyhollow

After a horrid experience of trying to install a Linskeys router, this router was a piece of cake! In fact, a child could probably install it it's that easy! Imagine just plugging something in and then following a couple of easy directions and BAM, it's installed and you are online!! (You wont find that with the Linskeys). My laptop is just as fast as it was when it was direct wired into my DSL!!!! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT / BRAND - AND SUGGEST THAT YOU NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY ON A LINSKEY!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
povertyhollow
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not for the novice
2/20/2008

Customer review by Myron

2.0 stars 2/20/2008 by Myron
by Myron

I used the express (automated) option to install this product on my desktop system and that went well, however after I finished the install process I booted up my laptop and found that my connection was not secured. I went back to the user manual online as well as on the installation CD but couldn't find an easy answer regarding how to secure my broadcast connection. This product might be fine for one who is computer savvy, but not for a novice.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Myron
Roy, UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Not worth the money.
12/26/2007

Customer review by JJOHNS9272

1.0 stars 12/26/2007 by JJOHNS9272
by JJOHNS9272

I bought this router and it hooked up so easy. I thought it was the greatest til after 2 weeks it went dead. Just like someone pulled the plug. I called Belkin and they said to send it to them and they will replace it. Sounds good but it can take up to 2 weeks. I can't go without my network for that long. I will think twice before I ever buy another Belkin product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JJOHNS9272
Easton, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
2/11/2008

Customer review by RSly

1.0 stars 2/11/2008 by RSly
by RSly

After buying this router to allow for a wireless connection to my laptop I continue to get disconnected from the internet on my laptop and desktop computers. I have upgraded the firmware and received tech support, which was quick and friendly, but did not solve my problem. Please, save yourself a headache and buy a different brand.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RSly
Would recommend to a friend? No
Horrible Router
3/10/2008

Customer review by ShaneTheElectronicsGuy

1.0 stars 3/10/2008 by ShaneTheElectronicsGuy
by ShaneTheElectronicsGuy

I plugged it in and set it up with the included CD...it went very well...seemingly. That was until i tried to hook up my xbox 360...they it failed MISERABLY. i used a wired connection and i connected to xbox live just fine it was actually playing an online game and talking with people that it failed at...if you are a gamer expecting to be able to use this with the xbox 360...think again. i would recommend ONLY Linksys routers and network cards...

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShaneTheElectronicsGuy
Lake Ariel, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Poor communication on what you need to HAVE!!!
2/9/2008

Customer review by associate564

1.0 stars 2/9/2008 by associate564
by associate564

I bought this item in the store thinking that I could use this without a modem since I connect to the internet via Ethernet straight out of the wall, but was unable to. I called Tech Support and they told me that I absolutely had to have a modem to use this router. This was a waste of money. They need to say on the box that this router requires a cable/dsl modem in order to use it. It might say you can connect it to your cable/dsl modem, but it does not say that you HAVE to have a cable/dsl modem. I do not recommend this product to anyone who doesn't have a modem.

Was this review helpful? (3) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
associate564
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Walmart associate
Works great!
3/28/2008

Customer review by sennot

5.0 stars 3/28/2008 by sennot
by sennot

Glad to see this at such a good price at my local Wal-Mart. Setup is very easy. I have it in one corner of my steel-framed house and it has a very good connection anywhere I go - better than the D-Link DI-624 that this unit replaced, and twice as fast.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sennot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Pleased
1/29/2008

Customer review by Swampthing

5.0 stars 1/29/2008 by Swampthing
by Swampthing

I am very pleased with this product. It was easy to set up. Very affordable. It has good looks

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Swampthing
Boonton Nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easy To Install
10/14/2008

Customer review by ILoveMyDTV

5.0 stars 10/14/2008 by ILoveMyDTV
by ILoveMyDTV

I was having trouble getting connected with a Netgear Router. Decided to get this router to try out. Not knowing much about computer, I was afraid that I wouldn't be able to install it on my own. But when I did, it was easy. Just put the disk in and follow the instruction. It was simply and it work. We have two laptop at home and both were working. Its give a strong signal. Now connect to internet everytime I login.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ILoveMyDTV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
Fast Internet
8/22/2008

Customer review by Ansonlady

5.0 stars 8/22/2008 by Ansonlady
by Ansonlady

I needed tech support to get the set-up correct, but he was easy to understand and very helpful. No problem with this router after I lost another brand to lightning.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ansonlady
wadesboro nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The Best Choice
1/2/2008

Customer review by TechOnTheJob

5.0 stars 1/2/2008 by TechOnTheJob
by TechOnTheJob

If you read the instructions, this router is very easy to set up and install. I get a steady "Excellent" signal and great speeds. I run 3 to 4 computers at once on this network and not a glitch. Security was very easy to set up as well. Great price too!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TechOnTheJob
Ft. Lauderdale, Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
If you want a router, buy this one.
8/23/2008

Customer review by products1

5.0 stars 8/23/2008 by products1
by products1

Yesterday, I bought a Linkskye router and attempted to setup my network for about 7 hours. Finally, I gave and concluded the router must be broken. So I took it back and bought the Belkin router and I got both computers (wired and wireless) going in about 5 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
products1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product!!!
2/15/2008

Customer review by Homer127

5.0 stars 2/15/2008 by Homer127
by Homer127

I have had this product for about a month works great. I run 4 computers and 2 xbox 360's and a regular xbox all at once with no problems.For you 360 gamers it has open nat witch is the way to go.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Homer127
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1-20 of 54 reviews