Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 74 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

74 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

74 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

72%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
44
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 stars
13
1-20 of 70 total reviews
72%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 70 total reviews
1-20 of 70 reviews
Fast and easy
4/18/2008

Customer review by Sorrowborn

5.0 stars 4/18/2008 by Sorrowborn
by Sorrowborn

I got this router yesterday (for a great price) and it's one of those rare technological instances where a product actually works like it's advertised to. It came with everything I needed to connect and set it up. The setup process was very easy and took less than five minutes -- it actually started emitting a signal right when I turned the power on, before I even ran the software CD to set it up with my computer. The connection is much faster than my old G-type router, and the signal strength is excellent throughout the whole house: I get the same quality a floor below the router that my brothers gets on his Ipod in the same room as the router. I was hesitant about the price difference between Belkin and Linksys, but in this case, a lower price definitely does not reflect lesser quality. It's a great value for the price, and I recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sorrowborn
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Buy a Linksys
4/2/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 4/2/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I am very dissatisfied with this product. I am very familiar with networks and wireless networks. Yet, this unit was beyond me. Set-up was lousy, did the express install. Had to input my ISP username and password. It said it was invalid. I found this finny because I was logged in on my laptop using the neighbors wireless. And they accepted my user name and password. Anyhow, I couldn't get it to work as it was suppose to. The IP of the router and my modem both shared the same IP. So, after sending about 2 hours trying to get the router to change IPs. I gave up. Started grasping at straws, turned on the Access Point option, it automatically changed the IP and allowed me to connect with my laptop and get on the internet. With the router literally sitting right next to my laptop, I only was getting a fair connection. Needless to say, this router will be going back to Walmart today. I know this isn't Walmarts problem. But, please, save yourself a headache and buy a Linksys.

Was this review helpful? (5) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Napoleon, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Great Buy ... DISABLE THE FIREWALL
3/19/2008

Customer review by roscoe46

5.0 stars 3/19/2008 by roscoe46
by roscoe46

A great product!! I purchased in January and have been using for a little over two months. As this is written, it has been up and running for three weeks since the last time it was shut down. I did have similar problems to several listed on here the first two weeks of use. The router would operate four to twenty hours or so and then lose signal, requiring the modem and router to both be "re-started" to acquire signal.(very aggravating) After a number of calls to Belkin and Charter, my ISP, updating the firmware and a couple of other items, we concluded the firewall on the router was conflicting with the firewall with Charter. We then disabled the firewall of the router. Since this was done, it has worked flawlessly. I get the same speed on the machines connected wirelessly as on the wired machines. I suspect many if not all reviewers with issues of losing signal are probably due to firewall conflicts. Definitely if you have Charter service, you should disable the firewall on your router.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
roscoe46
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
excelent!
3/31/2008

Customer review by BeAlLsTaR

5.0 stars 3/31/2008 by BeAlLsTaR
by BeAlLsTaR

product is great! its affordable and reliable. it works great with xbox live, havnt had any problem with interference. quick and easy to use, great product especially for the price!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BeAlLsTaR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT for Playstation 3!!!
1/3/2008

Customer review by GameBoyDad

5.0 stars 1/3/2008 by GameBoyDad
by GameBoyDad

I bought this router for my son to play on-line using his new Playstation 3. The instructions were very easy to understand and you can't beat the price compared to other N wireless routers. I had the router up and running and my son was playing on-line within ten minutes of me taking it out of the box! The on-line game play is quick and smooth and I can still access the internet from my personal computer while he is playing on-line. My son can even access the internet using his PSP from anywhere in the house. I highly recommend this router if you are looking for a wireless conection to the internet for Playstation 3 on-line game play.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GameBoyDad
Thomasville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Do not buy if your ISP uses DHCP
3/31/2008

Customer review by bbennett

2.0 stars 3/31/2008 by bbennett
by bbennett

I would not buy this router if your ISP uses DHCP to maintain your Internet connection (dynamic connection type). There is a serious WAN bug that causes this router to momentarily drop all data on WAN DHCP Acks (Acks are used by your ISP and router to maintain your internet connection). This bug appears to have been introduced in firmware 3.01.14 and above to 3.01.18. Firmware 3.01.10 appeared stable in my tests. You can see from the reviews they all talk about dropped connections, being booted from Xbox live games etc.. This is all caused by the WAN bug that belkin until this time has no fix for and their support is of no help. There is no fix aside from getting a static IP from your ISP and changing the connection type so that you no longer use DHCP to maintain the WAN connection. It also works fine if placed in access point only mode, but that defeats the purpose of the router in the first place. If you have a Static IP or PPPOE type connection it works fine and the router is pretty good aside from this bug. I got a static IP from my ISP just to fix the problem until Belkin offers a fix. If you just browse the web and do not stream data like video, remote desktop or gaming, the bug would go unnoticed. Also, do not upgrade the original firmware for any reason (3.01.10). This bug was introduced in 3.01.14 and above. I loved this router until I upgraded the firmware and there is no way to downgrade as belkin refuses to send the 3.01.10 firmware or offer it for download. They also say it is fixed in the UK firmware 3.01.18, but it’s not.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bbennett
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fast-n-Easy
1/22/2008

Customer review by JetCityVerde

5.0 stars 1/22/2008 by JetCityVerde
by JetCityVerde

Just got this today, had it installed in ten minutes. I consider myself somewhat tech savvy and was ready to be all superior about how I "figured out the router" and all that, but Belkin packaged the thing in such a way that anyone - and I mean anyone - can put this thing in right out of the box. Everything is labeled with a letter that corresponds with what you're supposed to plug in where, and the setup wizard on the CD is a snap. I haven't figured out getting my Dell 1521 built-in wireless card to work with the higher security settings, but I haven't tried very hard yet, and it's working fine with the 64-bit to start. We are using a Clearwire modem with this router, and that's working great, too. (We live in an area with limited choices for high speed internet, and DSL is not an option due to ancient phone lines.) Overall, I'm very satisfied.

JetCityVerde
Jet City, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not good for wireless
10/11/2008

Customer review by H3Gamer

3.0 stars 10/11/2008 by H3Gamer
by H3Gamer

I Bought this router used it for a week and Returned it. The biggest problem I had with this wireless router was its Wireless. The signal from the router was always excellent no matter where i was in the house, But I did a speed check of my Internet connection. With a wired Network i was getting between 6 and 7.5 Mbps which is about standard for a cable internet. When i wasnt wired i would get knocked down to 1-2.2 Mbps which is a significant loss in download speed. So i went and purchased a Linksys WRT54GS router and now am getting the same wired speeds but my wireless is about 3.4MBPS. I saved 10 bucks and got a better product. I was told if you dont have a Wireless N Network card on your laptop or Computer they dont talk as Fast as having a G which has been standard in lap tops at least 2 years.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
H3Gamer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works with netflix Roku
12/24/2008

Customer review by Poopshooter

5.0 stars 12/24/2008 by Poopshooter
by Poopshooter

I bought this router to mate up to my Westell model 6100 dsl modem. The westell modem has only one ethernet output and i needed one for my computer and another for the Roku from Netflix.This is the standard modem that Verizon uses for the slower speed DSL ,768 Kbs. I am using it wireless for the Netflix Roku,and hard wired to the computer with good results and picture quality to my television that is about the same as VHS Video tapes. Not bad at all. The Modem occasionally disconnects form the Roku , But this may be due to its location in my house.The only issue i have with it is that the instructions are written in terminology that is not explained (too many abbrieviations)adequatly.Setting up the Router was easy for everything except the wirless security.The disc does it for you,but does not inform you that you have to go further to set up security. I cannot figure out how to set up my security for it wirelessly.its like reading greek. Other than that ,I am pleased with it. You can operate your computer at the same time as you watch a movie on your TV ,but the computer will slow down to slightly better than a dial up speed. Still ,thats not bad for the slowest speed DSL connection.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Poopshooter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
what a deal!!
7/11/2008

Customer review by AAGT50

5.0 stars 7/11/2008 by AAGT50
by AAGT50

you could install this thing in less than 5 minutes. i've helped friends setup routers before and it was difficult. i could not believe how easy this was. and i get signal strength of 100% in the upstairs of my house. works great with my PS3 also. i would reccomend this one for sure!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AAGT50
MECHANICSVILLE, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The thing is awesome!!
7/9/2008

Customer review by bobou812

5.0 stars 7/9/2008 by bobou812
by bobou812

I really didn't think this was my best chose, but I wanted something budget wise also. So, I got it a figured well it will be fine for just around the house. I hooked it up in place of my old one, didn't use any software just plug and play since I'm not worried about the security settings (noone around me). A simple 2 minute install. I got out my laptop to see what this thing would do. I couldn't get it to drop even a bar inside so I walked outside. I started walking after 200 ft I had 3 bars (out of 5) after 400 ft outside my mothers I had 2 bars and 1 inside her home. I couldn't believe how well this works. This is a N router but my laptops have only G cards. Needless to say, very easy install, and wonderful range with this Wireless N Router with MIMO

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bobou812
Hazard, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worthless
1/15/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 1/15/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Set-up was a breeze. I plugged it in, set up my 128 bit wep password, connected with my lap top, and I was on my way. Awesome router for the first day.. The next day (and every day since I bought the thing) my laptop lost connection with the router 4 times during the day and was disconnected all night. This is extremely frustrating because I do a lot of P2P downloads. The only way to reconnect it seems is to unplug the router and reset it. Not happy at all. The point of a wireless router is to be able to get on the network without having to go into the office to reset the thing. Most of the time it is unplugged. If you're reading this, consider a different product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Belkin N Router
9/26/2007

Customer review by Rooc

5.0 stars 9/26/2007 by Rooc
by Rooc

I replaced another leading brand router with this Belkin because of ongoing dropped signals. Even though I updated my Intel chip which improved BT performance, my cell phone continued to interfere with the earlier model. The Belkin router has performed without a single dropped signal for more than two weeks. I can place the cell phone and Targus BT mouse right next to the computer without a problem. The picture icons on the Belkin clearly show everything about the operation of your netwok. Hardwired or wireless. Beautiful. There is little drop in signal anywhere in my house. Works well on all bands. This is a can't miss product.

Rooc
Nashville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor communication on what you need to HAVE!!!
2/9/2008

Customer review by associate564

1.0 stars 2/9/2008 by associate564
by associate564
Walmart associate

I bought this item in the store thinking that I could use this without a modem since I connect to the internet via Ethernet straight out of the wall, but was unable to. I called Tech Support and they told me that I absolutely had to have a modem to use this router. This was a waste of money. They need to say on the box that this router requires a cable/dsl modem in order to use it. It might say you can connect it to your cable/dsl modem, but it does not say that you HAVE to have a cable/dsl modem. I do not recommend this product to anyone who doesn't have a modem.

Was this review helpful? (3) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
associate564
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Walmart associate
Poor Tech Support
11/22/2009

Customer review by NOOOOOOOOOBELKIN

2.0 stars 11/22/2009 by NOOOOOOOOOBELKIN
by NOOOOOOOOOBELKIN

Very poo experience with tech support. Because I was out sourced to another country, it was extremely difficult to understand what she was saying. After an hour and a half, she told me that she could not help me. I figured it out the next day. Will not buy Belkin again because of the tech support.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NOOOOOOOOOBELKIN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Disappointment
5/11/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 5/11/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I used this router as my first wireless system base station and I was greatly disappointed with the performance of the system. On a daily basis I get drops from the router which causes me to have to reboot my system every time in order to reestablish the connection. I also have the base station extension which allows the connection of USB devices for the wireless hub which works most of the time but like the base station, it drops intermittently as well. I would not recommend this system for anyone that is ready to implement a truly wireless home system.

An anonymous customer
San Angelo, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
If only life was as easy as this BELKIN to operate
11/28/2007

Customer review by povertyhollow

5.0 stars 11/28/2007 by povertyhollow
by povertyhollow

After a horrid experience of trying to install a Linskeys router, this router was a piece of cake! In fact, a child could probably install it it's that easy! Imagine just plugging something in and then following a couple of easy directions and BAM, it's installed and you are online!! (You wont find that with the Linskeys). My laptop is just as fast as it was when it was direct wired into my DSL!!!! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT / BRAND - AND SUGGEST THAT YOU NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY ON A LINSKEY!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
povertyhollow
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Router
3/18/2008

Customer review by ssfull

5.0 stars 3/18/2008 by ssfull
by ssfull

I have set up and used several routers, mostly Linksys. I have never had one set up as easy as this. Everything locates the network smoothly unlike going through hoops with some routers to get other computers set up. You do have one extra (easy) step to take to secure the network , but it only takes a few minutes. Full bars on every PC no matter where I am in my house. Great product , but only time will tell, hopefully it lasts (unlike every Linksys I have owned)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ssfull
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product
5/30/2008

Customer review by jsstarre3784

5.0 stars 5/30/2008 by jsstarre3784
by jsstarre3784

I bought this product in april and it has been wonderful. I truly enjoy its ease of use and its amazing range. I am using it now to write this review on my laptop. I have my wii, 2 computers and my xbox 360 on this router and I have had no problems. I can stream videos and music with relative ease. I have had a linksys, and another belkin. I didn't like either one, however this is the router for me. It is a great purchase and I would recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jsstarre3784
Lancaster, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome
10/17/2007

Customer review by User12345

5.0 stars 10/17/2007 by User12345
by User12345

I replaced my previous router which was a NetGear WNR-834B with this router instead. The NG had major issues with constant disconnects and it would slow down dramatically. This Belkin is stable and fast. I am averaging around 260-295mbps transfer rates. The NG would drop down to 10-20mbps which is not acceptable. I am very happy with this purchase and highly recommend it.

User12345
AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1-20 of 70 reviews