Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.5out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 | 128 reviews
5 stars
87
4 stars
28
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 stars
5
Sort by: 
1-20 of 114 reviews
1-20 of 114 reviews
Great chair
7/9/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love this chair. It looks really rich. The only thing is the wooden frame is burgundy, not dark brown/black, like it looks in the picture. It still looks great. Sturdy and comfy. I am using it as an accent chair in my living room.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
chair
9/13/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
great!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Chair with Small Initial Quality Problems
11/10/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Finish on horizontal wood members had scratches and missing lacquer in spots. The white primer showed on some ends. The shipping boxes were not damaged so the poor quality occurred at the factory or the horizontal wood members were not wrapped properly to pre- vent the attached right angle metal braces from damaging the juxtaposed wood member during shipping. Considering how popular these chairs are, they must be made in large quantities and hence the factory must use tools and jigs for the placement of the screw fasteners in the bottom of the seats and arm backs. I purchased 16 of the captain`s chairs and found the greatest challenge was to align the screws into the eight imbedded nuts of each chair.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great looking chair!
12/14/2007
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This chair is easy to assemble in about 30 minutes and looks fantastic in my office. Good value for the price. It looks like a very expensive leather chair.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great
7/9/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I got this for my husband for fathers day this year (2012) as his old chair (25 years old) has been "repaired" way to many times. He and his cat fight over it, to see who will sit in it. I consider that a good point. Yes it is good for 200+ pound men. Seens sturdy and looks great.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
exactly what I wanted
10/12/2007
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was looking for an office chair for the occaissional guest. I wanted something that looked good, was pretty sturdy and did not cost an arm and a leg. This is perfect. It was so easy to purchase and to pick up at my local Walmart.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wears quickly
8/8/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have had this chair less than a year. I bought it for my home office. Already the arms and seat and seat ack are worn. It looks 10 years old. Now I'm looking to purchase a different chair and hope it holds up better.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Poorly pre-assembled
12/27/2016
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Nice enough chair. Stable. But in pre assembly, metal connectors of the back to the uprights were positioned completely wrong and were very hard to move. It took a rubber mallet, then a long time to work things around so the back could be screwed to the chair. Then it was necessary to jerk parts around to square the chair so it would not rock. It is okay for brief sitting, as in a waiting room. There were flaws in the wood which had been stained so they are not obvious to the casual eye, but this is obviously a cheaper piece of furniture. I would have given it 4 stars if it had been correctly pre-assembled. It took a long time to line it up correctly. If your chair is as it should be on arrival you can assemble it alone in about a half hour. You will need a Phillips screwdriver.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I love the chairs
12/11/2007
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased two of these chairs for my husband's home office. He loves them and now wants me to find him a new chair for his desk. They look even better than I thought they would. Great buy...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
12/4/2007
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a great chair for the money. It's of a quality you'd feel comfortable putting anywhere, yet quite inexpensive.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Captain's Chair
3/8/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Very quick delivery (6days). Nice appearance.........fairly comfortable. Relatively easy to assemble...one hour for the first one, half hour for the second one. One leg had hairline crack.......kept it........hope it works out. Chair about three inches shorter than expected.......cannot be used with dining table. Best thing about it is the looks......the lower height was MY biggest problem
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nightmare of a purchase
12/23/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The chair is very poor quality. One of the pieces was cracked when I opened the box. I could not return to Walmart. I had to return to hayneedle. To return to hayneedle they wanted $35.74 to ship back. I would say this has been a nightmare of a purchase.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Captain chair with nail head trim, beautiful chair
2/13/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Beautiful chair for the money. Not good if you have low back pain. I wanted it for at my desk because i don't care for the look of usual computer chairs. It is to low for a desk chair. I do love the look and quality of this chair. I would still recommend it, but not for a desk chair.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not disappointed
7/3/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Quick delivery, easy assembly, nice looking, sturdy, and very comfortable. Only wish I would have ordered brown instead of Burgandy. The Burgandy has Burgandy legs.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very Dressy Looking
1/7/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This chair is very smart looking and it has filled the space I had planned for it with class. I am pleased at the looks of it and the comfort is great.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
very nice
4/24/2008
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I ordered six for my office. They look like expensive chairs and are fairly comfortable. Incredibly easy to assemble. The only thing I didn't like was the color of the seat. It was more purple-ish than it appeared in the picture.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
2/26/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We purchased four chairs with rollers. They were easy to assemble and are comfortable. We were so satisified that we purchased four more for our entry.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
bad quality product
9/12/2008
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Had to return box unassembled as some of the machining of the woodwork joints were flimsy and broken
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
1/27/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
sturdy chair. easy to assemble. try to avoid shipping charges by shipping to store.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
9/16/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I ordered the black because it complimented the rest of the furniture that I ordered. When it was delivered, it met my expectation. The instructions to assemble was perfect. I saw the same chair in the lounge of my community center in rust and the color was just beautiful. I guess if I need another chair like this I might order the rust color.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642837, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-