Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 538 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

538 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

538 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
303
4 stars
152
3 stars
39
2 stars
17
1 stars
27
1-20 of 480 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 480 total reviews
1-20 of 480 reviews
Haier Portable Dryer
6/8/2010

Customer review by ataztaz

5.0 stars 6/8/2010 by ataztaz
by ataztaz

This product has been wonderful! It dries my clothes better than expected, although the loads that it can handle are small. But, there are no major complaints from this college student! I combined this dryer with a Haier 1.6 c.ft. portable washer, and am using an Avanti dryer stand/bracket for both so I can stack the washer and dryer. The electrical cord for the dryer is pretty short, so the wall bracket that comes with the dryer is useless to me, as I need to pull the dryer closer to an electical outlet in order to use it. That's why I ended up buying an Avanti dryer stand/bracket, and putting sliders on the bottom of the stand/bracket. I can now slide the dryer over to another wall and plug it in. With the stationary wall bracket that is provided with the dryer, that would be impossible. In order to attach this dryer to the Avanti dryer stand/bracket, I had to drill new holes in the stand so the holes would line up with the holes in the bottom of the dryer...but, I worked it out very well. Be aware that the threads in the four corners underneath this dryer [which are used to attach it to a dryer stand] are metric, and not all hardware store carry metric bolts that fit these holes. The only problem I have is with the dryer's venting...there are no windows in the kitchen of my apartment, so the dryer turns my kitchen into a sauna with the portable vent systrem I purchased. Otherwise, I have no complaints at all! I'm a college student, and my Haier portable washer and portable dryer save me huge amounts of time and money...no laundromats anymore!

Was this review helpful? (252) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ataztaz
Purchase, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
5/8/2008

Customer review by rl9905

5.0 stars 5/8/2008 by rl9905
by rl9905

I bought this product in January of 2008 and had it for 4 months now. I've been using it 2-3 times a week and it works really good. It may take just a little longer than usual to dry a load of clothes (about 1 hour to 1.5 hours) and the clothes do come out dry. What's great about this dryer is that there are many great features on this dryer. You can set it on "Auto Dry" or "Time Dry" (from 30mins to 150mins). It also has a Normal Cycle, Heavy Cycle for heavy items such as jeans, a delicate cycle and timed dry cycle. There are three temperature settings High, Low and Air Dry. At the end of the cycle, a chime sounds lettting you know the cycle has completed. The lint filter is easy to clean. What i usually do is put my clothes into the dryer, press the POWER button and then START. It automatically stops when the clothes are dry. It's quiet and not loud. The sound is minimal. It also comes with brackets where you can hang it up on the wall. The dryer is not heavy. Another great thing about this dryer is that it plugs into any regular outlet. Overall, I definately recommend this Dryer to anyone who lives in an appartment or anyone who do not want to do their laundry outside. I bought myself a matching Haier washer and love it. DO GET THIS DRYER and the matching Washer :) Attached to this review are two pictures of my Haier Dryer. I have it mounted on the wall above my portable washer. If you notice, its Silver in color. When i first got this dryer, it was white in color. I bought some spray paint for a couple bucks and spray painted it silver. Check out the pictures.

Was this review helpful? (193) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rl9905
Orange County, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
love this dryer!
11/18/2009

Customer review by Ginaccc

5.0 stars 11/18/2009 by Ginaccc
by Ginaccc

I got the washer dryer combo for my apt, I coudlnt' stand using the community washer downstairs anymore. While it may take a little longer to dry stuff, it's really not a huge deal. I LOVE doing laundry now!!

Was this review helpful? (111) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ginaccc
Long Beach, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent product
12/26/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 12/26/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

If you don't have a regular dryer hookup in your apartment and do not want to use the "common" laundry (especially during winter) this is a must have product.....as some customer mentioned you have to understand what to expect with 120V supply rating dryer....you can not load like your regular dryer (240V rating)...I regularly use time mode instead of other modes....start with 60 min...if its still damp...run another 30mins....works pretty well.... comes with wall mount hook and screws...even with a template..a paper with installation details (distance between holes vertical/horizontal) printed on it....i didnt use wall mount...i just kept it on the floor inside my half bath....no need to connect vent duct or filter....if I feel uncomfortable with the humid air I just switch on the exhaust fan.... durablity? hmmm....cheap plastic material for the lint filter...you have to be careful while cleaning the filter...its definitely not difficult to clean it...use a tooth brush to clean the filter.....but if you are in a hurry you can damage the filter... overall a great product...but only disappointment is its price....same as your regular dryer...hmm...not many brands has 120v dryer/washer...so not much competition...i have a haier washer to go with this dryer....

Was this review helpful? (179) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
columbus IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great little dryer
1/22/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/22/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is a fantastic little dryer. Perfect for an apartment. Beats the heck out of going to the laundrymat all the time. The owner's manual is terrible. My dryer wouldn't work at first and I FINALLY found out there was a zip tie on the bottom that had to be cut in order to make the drum start moving. There was nothing in the directions about this at all. I even called Haier's Customer Service and while very nice had never heard anything about a zip tie on the bottom that needed to be cut. Dries clothes very well as long as you don't put too much in there and you keep the lint filter cleaned out. Highly recommend!!

Was this review helpful? (44) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
3/29/2008

Customer review by HomeGnome

4.0 stars 3/29/2008 by HomeGnome
by HomeGnome

Works really well for small loads. Easy to clean lint filter. Excellent compact design.

Was this review helpful? (38) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HomeGnome
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Saves space, dries well, easy setup
7/6/2008

Customer review by ReluctanttoShop

4.0 stars 7/6/2008 by ReluctanttoShop
by ReluctanttoShop

Packagin was very well thoguht out. I blew a fuse the second time I used it. I have a microwave using the same double outlet, so keep that in mind when. I know that speaks more to the way your place is wired, but although this appliance uses a regular outlet, it porbably takes it to the limt. I feel very good about the purchase after a week.

Was this review helpful? (38) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ReluctanttoShop
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Would never again by anything Haier.
4/19/2012

Customer review by Consumer201211

1.0 stars 4/19/2012 by Consumer201211
by Consumer201211

I bought a washer/dryer combo on 2.17.2012. Shipping was on time. Delivery/set-up was a breeze. The washer works great! The dryer motor stopped about a week after I received it. I immediately called the company and they had a tech come out. The tech confirmed the motor was out and he put in an order for a new one. After waiting for two weeks the tech informed me the motor was on back-order. The company never called me. I called Haier and told me they had to submit me for approval for an exchange, which took another week. Again no one from the company called me, so I called them after one week. They told me they submitted my request to corporate for approval and transferred me to corporate headquarters. Corporate told me the policy was to cut the cord off the machine and mail it in, in order to receive another unit. I did as they asked using my own money and its been more than two weeks but the company says they have not received the package. The policies and services of this company is the absolute worst that I've ever experienced. I will never again patronize Haier America and I suggest you think twice before purchasing anything from them.

Was this review helpful? (40) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Consumer201211
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Only OK for price
7/7/2009

Customer review by ghazach

3.0 stars 7/7/2009 by ghazach
by ghazach

i paid 342 for this machine (that is with tax). I think being the washer was only 219 and does a way better job and getting the job done, than this dryer. the dryer dries the clothes, but it does take forever. I understand that it is only a portable, but when you are charging over $300 dollars, it should do the job a little better i feel. I can put 3 towels in there and takes about 2 hours to dry. Even if its other items, such as pants or socks, t-shirts, underwear...it still takes long...about an hour and half. Plus, it is big for what i thought i was getting. i would expect it to have more room and quicker drying times. also, when i was reading the reviews and trying to get information, it seems most failed to specify that the instructions say you have to connect it to a window to vent. this made it hard for me because of the windows i have near where i am able to dry the clothes. they are a weird size and haier doesnt provide anything for you to connect the dryer to the window. if you need a duct and vent, you would have to purchase it on your own. if the instructions specify that the product needs to be vented, then everybody has to purchase this on their own. i feel it is a poor move on haier's part to not provide those materials. if this is what the dryer NEEDS, then they should give it to you, especially for over $300 dollars. I did my research and read some reviews elsewhere that people bought an indoor water vent kit. i went to home depot and they had it for 13 dollars approx. you connect the flexible metal looking tube to the back exhaust and then on the other end of the tube is a bucket filled with about an inch of water. hopefully this will be fine, so far it works and stuff, just like i said takes a really long time. the dryer vent is in a weird place if you have the dryer on the floor. you have to keep bending to get it out and clean it every time. if you have the dryer propped up on something, then it shouldnt be a bother. if it wasnt so heavy and big, i would take it back and try to get a different portable that might dry quicker, but it was a hassel getting it home in my car to begin with. it was bigger than the washing machine!

Was this review helpful? (29) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ghazach
new york, ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
What An Incredible Purchase!
5/31/2011

Customer review by Tammy786

5.0 stars 5/31/2011 by Tammy786
by Tammy786

I purchased the washer and dryer over two weeks ago and finally had my LITTLE BROTHER set up the dryer. This machine is so quiet compared to the noisy 1981 clunker that my condo came with. It does work better when you actually place it on timed drying. It does handle a great load of clothing and personally takes the same amount of drying time than normal dryers twice its size. There is really no need to vent the dryer because there is barely any heat that is released; this dryer is such an awesome buy and well worth the cost.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tammy786
Tamarac, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product!
12/9/2010

Customer review by KHefington

5.0 stars 12/9/2010 by KHefington
by KHefington

I purchased this dryer due to the fact that I have a very small laundry room. I do have a laundry connection, however, I use the space for a pantry etc.This dryer fits well in a space next to my door, it dries well, and trust me, I stuff it to it's capacity. With 2 boys, I do laundry daily and this clothes dryer has truly made things a lot easier. Don't hesitate to get it, especially if you live in an apartment or small house. You won't be sorry!

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KHefington
San Miguel, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
I got a lemon...
6/8/2010

Customer review by mostcake

1.0 stars 6/8/2010 by mostcake
by mostcake

I ordered this on a Friday and it arrived today - the following Tuesday - excellent! I set the dryer up asap and turned it on to test, but instead of the whisper quiet I've been reading about, my dryer sounds like it's got a load of gravel spinning somewhere within the inaccessible back panel. I could find nothing in the manual or on any website to help diagnose the problem. I made sure the dryer is on a level surface (even checked it with a level) and also tried actually drying something - at which time I discovered my dryer also does not get hot. So now I have the choice of invoking the warranty and going through a big repair hassle - or schlepping this huge thing down the stairs, into my small car, and to the closest store - which is what I'm going to do. I'm really disappointed. On another note - this is a really large item. I had planned to set it up on a kitchen countertop, and used the measurements provided to make sure it would fit, but in real life it is still BIGGER than I expected. Because of the free shipping, I am considering ordering a replacement because I think if the dryer works - it would be a fantastic time and money saver for me. We'll see....

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mostcake
Dallas TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
10/5/2009

Customer review by useieq

4.0 stars 10/5/2009 by useieq
by useieq

I have read the reviews of this dryer and I don't agree. I love this dryer. I live in a small home and use this two to three times per week. I just put my small load of wash in and set it on reg. cycle and go about my day. Since, I don't over fill it most of the time I don't have to iron my shirts or pants. A quick 15 mins. on a timed cycle get wrinkles out of a load I've left in the dryer too long. It's not a big dryer but I get more out of it than I expected.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
useieq
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not bad at all
6/10/2011

Customer review by Xstreme

4.0 stars 6/10/2011 by Xstreme
by Xstreme

I did a lot of research and still was afraid to buy, but once I did, boy was I surprised on how well it functions. It's great for about 5 t-shirts at a time or even 2 pairs of jeans along with 2-3 shirts. This dryer may take a bit longer to dry things, but it sure get's the job done. I will say on average, it will take 1 1/2 hours to dry 2 pair of jeans, 3 shirts and a couple pair of underwear in one load on the normal setting. Great for my apartment living. I also got the washer to go with this and it's even better than I ever thought it could be. I could never live without my little washer or dryer again.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Xstreme
Chicago, Il.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Horrible Haier
8/16/2010

Customer review by ktaugst

1.0 stars 8/16/2010 by ktaugst
by ktaugst

I bought this, it worked for a day and then it stopped venting out of the back. I called Haier and spoke to so many different people but no one could help me, only take my name and send a message to someone who would call me back. NO ONE EVER CALLED. I called every day for a week, spent eternities on hold, and was told by one associate "maybe you should just return it." So I did. I hate having to go back to the laundromat, but it's better than dealing with the poor customer service at Haier.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ktaugst
Union City, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Oh what a blessing!!!
5/21/2011

Customer review by Coloradolizzie

5.0 stars 5/21/2011 by Coloradolizzie
by Coloradolizzie

I live in a cottage in Colorado do not have washer and dryer connections. I would recommend this product and the washer model # HLP23E also a Haier product. The dryer takes longer than a standard dryer however, with a little planning it does the trick. It also holds a good amount of clothes also.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Coloradolizzie
Colorado Springs, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Ok for needs, should be better design
6/9/2008

Customer review by KenFromCalifornia

4.0 stars 6/9/2008 by KenFromCalifornia
by KenFromCalifornia

It's ok, it works, it drys, it's cheap, it fits in spaces. It could have better design. Ie, too much work to clean lint filter. It's in the CENTER of the INSIDE drum. It's one of the worst place besides the side attaching to the wall that anyone can think of. Not just it's hard to get to, and too dark to see small lints to make good clean, but when you remove the filter, lints will drop off inside the drum. So, you also need to keep a wet towel to wipe off lint dusts in the drum and keep a dry towel to dry it for your next load. On loads of heavy lints, like your cotton towels, I will need to clean the lint filter one more time in the middle of the load. It does get very dirty. Also, the other side of the lint filter that is located in the CENTER and INSIDE of the drum has a silk screen and that is the most difficult to clean. I keep a toothbrush to brush off the screen and as I said, after that all dusts is in side of the drum and you need to clean that. REMEMBER ALL these work is for EVERY load, or even two cleaning per one load! Since it's a small load, you may have a few loads per week even if you have only one person in the household. Besides the bad design, the filter is poor quality too, so, with all that cleaning work, my 3 weeks old dryer is already showing signs of wear and tear and I am already trying to buy a back up filter knowing that it's going to snap soon. Other then it's poor design, it does do everything it is designed to do. So, you are welcome to buy it if you don't mind all that hassles, or don't clean it as much if you don't mind some cotton balls sticking on your cloth after drying.

Was this review helpful? (22) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KenFromCalifornia
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
The trick!!
2/11/2011

Customer review by lulublue2

4.0 stars 2/11/2011 by lulublue2
by lulublue2

I purchased the washer and the dryer, the washer love it, very nice to sit in my home and do laundry!! Now the dryer, the first one DID not heat up, was very disappointed, thought I had got a defective one, returned it.. got another... when we took it out of the box and turned it on, it did indeed start gettting warm.. that was great!! I have it in my spare room and I was venting it out of the window, I would just sit the vent on the windowsill and crack the window, after over an hour when 3 towels and 2 kitchen towels were not dry, I was very upset took the vent out of the window, shut the window and right AWAY you could feel it heating up!!! MY ADVICE.... put a small piece of duct on the back with a kneehigh on the end to catch any runaway lint and just let it hang!! VERY PLEASED!!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lulublue2
Mobile,Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Addressing some negative comments about drying tim
2/22/2011

Customer review by ghentgirl

4.0 stars 2/22/2011 by ghentgirl
by ghentgirl

I am wondering if the people who complain about too long drying times... 2-3 hours or more, have considered the possibility of voltage variation supplied by their electric company. Each state regulates this, so the variance allowed is different depending upon where you live. In Virginia, anyone living in a town/city of at least 2500, the variation in power voltage allowed is +/-5%, and for businesses and everone else it is +/- 7.5%. I'm not an electrician or engineer, but I assume if you are on the low or high end, it can affect how efficiently the dryer will work. Also from personal experience, I find that the dryer works much better on timed drying instead of the auto dry. It seems to get much warmer on the timed drying cycle. For me, I can put the same load I washed in the Haier HLP21N washer into this dryer. Shirts, light slacks, or sheets on 60 min timer, jeans, heavy slacks, towels on 90 min timer, and rarely will anything be still damp. I clean the black part of the 2 part lint filter with the hose on my vacuum cleaner after each load. If drying especially linty items like towels, you will need to clean the white filter after about 30 min. The filter is a little frustrating, but works so well, I never get any lint coming out of the vent. I bought this dryer a week after receiving my Haier washer, and overall I am very pleased with my baby washer and dryer, enough that I don't mind a few quirks that they can have. Time will tell how durable they really are.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ghentgirl
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
not happy
9/26/2011

Customer review by luvthisstore1

1.0 stars 9/26/2011 by luvthisstore1
by luvthisstore1

Even with a minimal amount of clothes the dryer takes an excessive amount of time to dry. one shirt and a pair of shorts took 30 minutes- anything else - double that-

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luvthisstore1
CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 480 total reviews
1-20 of 480 reviews