Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 83 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

83 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

83 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

72%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
40
4 stars
19
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 stars
7
1-20 of 72 total reviews
72%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 72 total reviews
1-20 of 72 reviews
A Very Satisfying Shaver
1/5/2008

Customer review by ProductEvaluator

5.0 stars 1/5/2008 by ProductEvaluator
by ProductEvaluator

Not only is this shaver modernistic and cool looking, it has given me the best shave I have ever gotten from a Norelco, which I've been using for 40 years. I am Asian with a fairly coarse facial hair, and this shaver performed very well in both the neck and facial areas. There are many features I like, among them the short charging time v.s. number of shaves. This is very handy when travelling. The pod is the best I have ever seen, much better than the soft cases Norelco has used in the past. It took no adjustment time since I've always used a Norelco, but new users might require some time as these new blades are excellent and very sharp, and you get a very close shave. Stick with it, your skin will get used to it in a couple of weeks. I have very little 5 O'Clock shadow, and the bottom line is the short stubble I have the next morning. It is easy to clean; I use the Norelco Jet Clean solution in a shallow bowl and run the unit for 30 seconds. On the road, I use hot tap water or a brush, and it works nicely; the heads are very easy to clean, and doesn't require constant maintenance like other models. There is no need to get the CC model, which has a temperamental cleaning unit. This is hands down the best Norelco I 've ever used and I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ProductEvaluator
Naperville, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
4/3/2008

Customer review by Ledertek

5.0 stars 4/3/2008 by Ledertek
by Ledertek

Plug it in; charge it; and shave. That simple. I have used Philips Norelco products in the past; this model with the floating head may be the best yet. Really clean smooth shave without pressing the razor into your skin.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ledertek
Green Bay, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
We took it back!
7/15/2008

Customer review by fearghais

1.0 stars 7/15/2008 by fearghais
by fearghais

We bought this razor thinking it would meet our expectations and it fell short by a mile! Our old shaver, a cheap Norelco (the $39 one!) did better than this one! Thankfully Walmart was able to take it back just in the nick of time of the 30 day return policy. We gave this product almost the entire 30 days and it just did not do it for us. We spent more time shaving than ever before.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fearghais
Gainesville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No need for all the bells and whistles sometimes you have to keep it simple.
10/15/2011

Customer review by Willg228

1.0 stars 10/15/2011 by Willg228
by Willg228

I purchased a phillips norelco Arctic shaver and it was the worst purchase I have ever made when it came to shavers. I have had about 3 other models in my lifetime all of them Phillips Norelco and great and lasted years but this last purchase I guess it was my fault for buying too much into Phillips Norelco. The Design was the most uncomfortable I have ever seen ..the cut leaves much to be desired. I find myself going over the same spots about 3 or 4 times. Not like my previous Phillips shavers. Needless to say my face is pretty red and sore afterwards. the only reason I kept it because I know there is a period of adjustment for your face to get used to any shaver. Let's just say I gave this one well over 3 months and I still get bad shaves. I found myself buying new blades for my older models and getting a much better shave! I do hope someone from Phillips will read this review and contact me so I can obtain a refund or maybe just exchange it for a previous XL model which has always been great to me.

Willg228
New York,New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not what I had hoped
12/23/2007

Customer review by manofhouse

2.0 stars 12/23/2007 by manofhouse
by manofhouse

It is a very nice looking razor, but it does not shave as I had anticipated. It does a great job on the neck and when trimming, but it does not give me a clean shave on the facial areas. I was better off with my older model Norelco...

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
manofhouse
Beverly Hills, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
disappointed at first
6/17/2010

Customer review by JSD55

5.0 stars 6/17/2010 by JSD55
by JSD55

I've been shaving with Norelco's all my life (40 years), when a excellent close shave was needed I always knew I had to use the blade. My old norelco wasn't holding a charge anymore so I decided to buy this one. The first shave was horrible, it didn't seem to cut much at all. I washed it out under running hot water all set to return it to my local walmart. Decided to give it one more try, well it worked great, don't know if I washed something out of the blades, but before you return it try running it under water first, glad I did, gives great close shave.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JSD55
Falmouth, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
ashamed
4/2/2008

Customer review by phillyflyersfan

2.0 stars 4/2/2008 by phillyflyersfan
by phillyflyersfan

This razor is not near my expectations. The closeness of the shave is horrible! with the design you have to shave over the same part of your face multiple times! However the trimmer part does work very well,but that does not do me much good because i wasn't looking to spend 160 dollars for a trimmer. my advice is stay away from this product. i would rather buy 100 dollars in cheap razors and 60 dollars for a trimmer it would probally be smarter

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
phillyflyersfan
pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
The Aritec 1050 is not a good buy
12/30/2007

Customer review by RickW

2.0 stars 12/30/2007 by RickW
by RickW

I was disappointed in this purchase. I was able to get only two shaves per full charge. After the second shave. I turned off the saver and next morning the shaver was dead. I had to recharge it. This happened three times to let me believe thats all the shaves I'll get with a full charge I don't think this shaver shaves the neck as well as advertised. The base is too light to support the shaver. With the shaver on its base it makes the shaver top heavy and it falls over very easily. The shaver on its base has to be handled very carefully. Also, the blue identifications letting the user know when the shaver needs cleaning and its charging is so faint that it is difficult to read. I did like the new head design. It was this head design that prompted me to buy this shaver. Oh Well, these are my views on this shaver, probably not to well thought and, maybe a bit rambling. Rick

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RickW
Kennesaw, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very satisfied customer
12/30/2010

Customer review by ashlenicole1988

5.0 stars 12/30/2010 by ashlenicole1988
by ashlenicole1988

I purchased this razor for my dad as a Christmas gift. It arrived promptly after my ordering it. My dad loves this razor. The flexible heads and easy cleaning make it perfect for him. My only complaint is that it didn't have a carrying case for the pieces. I realize that a carrying case was not listed in the included parts list. However, there is a small brush for cleaning the razor, a charging base and protector that should have a storage unit of some kind, especially for such a pricey, high-end item. This isn't a big concern since my dad doesn't travel very often. It also has a travel case that doubles as a charger. If the case had a compartment for the brush, the kit would be complete. Dad says the shave is phenomenal. His only complaint is that the trimmer is sometimes difficult to slide out. Overall, it is a fantastic razor. Those are just a couple of minor improvements that would make it truly worth the amount you pay.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ashlenicole1988
Maryville, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Good Shaver
1/11/2009

Customer review by Jham

5.0 stars 1/11/2009 by Jham
by Jham

The norelco Arctec 1050X Razor is the finest electric shaver I have ever had & I have had many, many during my lifetime. It does a great job on the contours of my neck, chin, etc, & overall, is the most comfortable razor I have used. You get very little razor "burn" & it is by far the closest shave I have had with an electric razor. The "Floating Head" design is certainly a break-through & allows the razor to get to the hills & valleys of ones facial & neck configurations. It's a real winner!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jham
Delavan, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Norelco yet.
7/23/2010

Customer review by KDH51

4.0 stars 7/23/2010 by KDH51
by KDH51

I have been using Norelcos since 2000. I had too many issues with foil type shavers not shaving well enough and I don't like the straight razor irritation and cost. This is my 3rd Norelco and it is the best one yet. Even though I came from a Norelco, it has taken about 2 weeks for my face to adapt to this one. Best shave I have ever had with an electric, darn close to straight raxor quality. The battery actually lasts 3 weeks and it is very quiet. This model is great compared to the other Arcitec models as it doesn't have the useless gadgets of the more expensive versions. I know there are mixed reviews out there, but this is a great shaver. Remember to give it a couple weeks. No electric does better on the neck.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KDH51
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
THE VERY BEST EVER!
1/17/2009

Customer review by DIVESHADES

5.0 stars 1/17/2009 by DIVESHADES
by DIVESHADES

Having used several different electric shavers in the past, I had realistic expectations on what to expect. It is quiet and easy to use and I have not experienced any razor rash with it. It provides a very close shave, is convenient, and cleans up very easily. I am totally happy with this purchase and would recommend it highly to anyone who likes the convenience of an electric. I use it quite a bit while I am driving and it works great! I generally use a regular razor to get the side burn area and then take the razor with me and use it wherever I am going. Remarkable product!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DIVESHADES
Kiaaimmww, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Pricey but a great razor
11/22/2010

Customer review by Islands

4.0 stars 11/22/2010 by Islands
by Islands

At $150 the razor is pretty expensive especially when excellent ones can be had for around $80. Shaves close and is very quiet which others in the house appreciate since I get up very early in the mornings. You get at least two weeks worth of shaves on a charge and the charge time is only 1 1/2 hours from low to fully charged. On the downside, the razor cannot be left on the charger after the razor is fully charged. In other words there is no over charge protection. But since a full charge can be had in just over an hour, it's really not a problem.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Islands
S. Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good electric razor
5/12/2010

Customer review by chuggerguy

4.0 stars 5/12/2010 by chuggerguy
by chuggerguy

I wanted a good electric and bought the best they had in the store. It "is" a good razor... for an electric. Unfortunately after a few times missing a day or two shaving(I'm retired) I found myself grabbing a disposable to finish. The electric just didn't want to get the hairs under my chin and on my neck. But like I say, for an electric it is pretty nice. What I ended up doing was buying a good German double edge shaver with cup and soap in order to not line the pockets of the disposable manufacturers and their silly proprietary blades and... OMG... I don't use my electric anymore. The DE rocks big time! :D I'll still keep it charged though because I suppose their could come a morning when I just need to grab stuff and go and an electric is nice for shaving in the car on the way to work or wherever, I did that for years.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chuggerguy
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Design flaw, but does cut well
7/17/2012

Customer review by Shaver100

4.0 stars 7/17/2012 by Shaver100
by Shaver100

I have been a user of Norelco electric shaver products for over 20 years. When I bought the new SensoTouch I thought the ease of cleaning and new head design was worth the upgrade from my old Norelco, especially if it maintaines the same cut. Once I began using the SensoTouch, cut hair began falling out of the shaving head. After many days of having hair on the counter and all over my clothes, my old unit was the choice for shaving again. My wife now uses the shaver for her legs and loves it! Maybe the fact that I am bald headed and have a lot of surface area to cut, but the design needs improvement so hair can be collected and not fall out of the cutting chamber. For now I will continue with my old designed Norelco shaver. I believe it is a 8200 series.

Shaver100
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
impressed
1/14/2008

Customer review by Herbie22issy00

5.0 stars 1/14/2008 by Herbie22issy00
by Herbie22issy00

Mywife gave me this shaver as a gift, but I didnt know much about the new design so I read some reviews which didnt impress me much. Findley after letting it set around the house for most of a week I decided to open it and give it a try. To my amazement it gave the best shave I have ever had in over forty six years of shaving.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Herbie22issy00
Philippi West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not what I expected!
5/30/2010

Customer review by MusicRastaMan

4.0 stars 5/30/2010 by MusicRastaMan
by MusicRastaMan

I paid more than double for this high-end razor versus a standard model expecting a fabulous shave but it is only slightly better than the standard. The floating heads sounded great in the ad but the performance and comfort of the cut is not much better than a Norleco half its price. So it's not what I expected.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MusicRastaMan
Washinton DC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Gift for my husband
1/19/2009

Customer review by sawgrasscove

5.0 stars 1/19/2009 by sawgrasscove
by sawgrasscove

Just over a week before Christmas my husband told me he thought he would like to have this shaver. I immediately ordered it and it came within two days. I had been hesitant about ordering this for him since he has been a blade shaver all his life. He really loves this shaver!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sawgrasscove
South Bend, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
not good
2/5/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 2/5/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

My husband recieved this as a gift and did not like it from the start because it would not cut all the hairs.I convinced him to try it for a month like the manual says. It did not get better, and it also leaves all the hairs it does cut all over your face and bathroom, YUCK

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Razor!!
10/9/2011

Customer review by ChilliHead

5.0 stars 10/9/2011 by ChilliHead
by ChilliHead

It had been some time since I owned an electric razor. I have been blade shaving for perhaps the past 5 to 8 years or so. I was pleasantly surprised when I first used this razor at how nice it fit the contour of my face and how close it shaves! I've always known of the quality in a Philips razor but this new design is truly a joy to use. I hate to shave and often go for two or three days before doing so. This little gem does a great job even though it may take a bit longer when I don't shave every day... Then again I am fair haired and have a somewhat light beard. In summary, it is everything I hoped it would be... And perhaps a little more. Need an electric razor? I recommend it for sure.

ChilliHead
Seattle, WA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 72 total reviews
1-20 of 72 reviews