Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1216 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

1216 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

1216 reviews | 3 out of 5

55%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
208
4 stars
354
3 stars
195
2 stars
135
1 stars
324
1-20 of 1122 total reviews
55%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1122 total reviews
1-20 of 1122 reviews
I LOVE THIS BED!!!!
12/31/2009

Customer review by leran

5.0 stars 12/31/2009 by leran
by leran

I absolutely love everything about this platform bed! It was incredibly easy to put together and it looks gorgeous in my room. The drawers are big enough to store a ton of stuff in and bed itself is very sleek and modern looking with ultra clean lines. this was a fantastic deal and I am completely and utterly satisfied with my purchase. Great value and I highly recommend this product!! Oh and with the ship to store it only took one week to arrive and everyone at the store was very helpful in helping me get the box into my truck. The way the bed is packed, it is very convienant and does not take up much room at all. The bed is very heavy and if you have to take it up stairs, remove the pieces from the box first (That's what we did) and carried the pieces up the stairs in stages.

Was this review helpful? (48) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
leran
colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Good Product
5/11/2008

Customer review by BuysOnline009

4.0 stars 5/11/2008 by BuysOnline009
by BuysOnline009

The bed was kind of hard to put together, but once i had it together it made a great place to sleep. Kind of difficult to move but i could move it by myself, i couldn't open the drawers underneath though because of the carpet.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BuysOnline009
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value for the money
2/18/2008

Customer review by krick

3.0 stars 2/18/2008 by krick
by krick

My girlfriend and I got this bed because we needed some additional drawers in the bedroom. We knew we were buying a cheap bed, and thus accepted a few little quirks. Apart from the quirks we found, this is a great bed. We had fun putting it together although it did include a trip to Home Depot to get some extra stuff. The quirks we ran into were: * As we saw in other reviews of this bed before buying it, the drawers won't open on a carpeted floor. We solved this by buying cheap wooden lists (1/2 inch high) which we nailed under all the load bearing parts of the bed, thus raising it a bit so the drawers work smoothly. * There are some metal plates in the construction kit, for holding the panels on top of the bed together. The screws provided for those plates are too small for the holes in the plates (ie. the screws can't hold the plates since the screw heads just go through the holes). We solved this by getting some large flushers with small holes.

Was this review helpful? (294) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
krick
Redmond, wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Attractive Bed frame, disappointing drawers
8/16/2010

Customer review by infreqwally

3.0 stars 8/16/2010 by infreqwally
by infreqwally

The Bed frame came well protected on the corners. The middle was not as well protected. Be careful as this is a very heavy product made mostly of particle board (compressed board) and if the middle show impact say on something like a curb, the damage will be obvious. It is an attractive bed that came in many pieces. Put aside a good portion of an afternoon to put it together unless you are extremely gifted and careful with power tools...not recommended by the manufacturer. The biggest disappointment came with the drawers. The bottom of the two large drawers are cardboard. Don't expect to be able to stuff these drawers with any thing heavy or overstuff with clothes as it is too flimsy for that. One final item of note. The bed is extremely heavy. Either place it and construct it exactly where you intend to use it, or move it before fully constructed. We used 8 Workforce Movealls underneath the bed at the intersections to move the bed upon completion. Otherwise...quite impossible to move on carpet.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
infreqwally
Irvine, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/2/2009

Customer review by NewLifeNewStart

5.0 stars 6/2/2009 by NewLifeNewStart
by NewLifeNewStart

This is THE PERFECT bed, especially for a teenage boy. They tend to toss their clothing on the floor. It has great storage which adds to the rest of the furniture so you aren't having to buy extra pieces to go with the rest of the set. Now he can put away clothing that he wears more often in the drawers under the bed and swap them out as the seasons change. I am glad I purchased this bed, was a little apprehensive as I had purchased a platform bed before through a different company, but I paid less money for this and it is far superior to what I had purchased before. It is much sturdier, the other bed literally broke in the middle a week after we had it and the company would not replace it. Having the drawers not only adds to the function of the piece but I think also lends itself to the sturdiness of the product. I would recommend this to anyone and if it can withstand teenage boys it can withstand anything!

Was this review helpful? (98) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewLifeNewStart
Lecanto, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't be Discouraged!
2/27/2014

Customer review by anriley

4.0 stars 2/27/2014 by anriley
by anriley

I bought this bed before reading the reviews, and then was very worried after reading the reviews. When the box arrived I dreaded assembling the bed because everyone had mentioned how hard it is. The box is very very heavy (I am a 5' 110lb female) so a friend and I carried the pieces up the stairs separately. There was only one small chip in the wood, which was easily covered up with the wood marker they provided. Assembling the bed was very time consuming but not difficult. It was important to look at each diagram in the instructions very carefully, its very easy to overlook small details. The instruction booklet is all diagrams. You don't need a drill or anything like that and all pieces were present and accounted for. I placed the platform on carpet and the drawers were able to open with ease. The drawers are fairly large, but the bottom is kind of weak so I wouldn't recommend storing anything heavy in there. Overall the bed turned out nice. I would recommend this to a friend that doesn't mind spending a couple hours assembling it. So don't be discouraged by the negative reviews!

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
anriley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
NOt bad at all
3/18/2011

Customer review by BornToDecor

4.0 stars 3/18/2011 by BornToDecor
by BornToDecor

We found this bed on other websites before finding out it was avail on Walmart.com. Since it was avail for ship to store for free, we went for it. We read the reviews, took a deep breath, and crossed our fingers. It arrived the 1st week it was expected (thumbs up) There was alot of pcs. (thumbs down). YOU MUST FOLLOW DIRECTIONS! I Definetly advise 2 people putting this together. the drawers were the hardest part... after that it was like a puzzle putting the pcs all together. It took us about 5 hours to put it all together (from box to putting our mattress on top). There were some knicks but most of them were covered by other pcs or the mattress. the drawers works great on our carpet. so all in all good bed for a good price. *One suggestion is to get a rug pad to keep your mattress from sliding all over the platform.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BornToDecor
Austin, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value with some elbow grease
7/3/2011

Customer review by marydoc

5.0 stars 7/3/2011 by marydoc
by marydoc

I was hesitant to buy this bed because of some of the difficulty had by other reviewers. I took the chance anyways, and I'm pleased. I was able to assemble the bed by myself in about 4 hours (I'm a female, 26 years old). All the pieces were correct and the holes in the right place. I followed the directions exactly, did not use a drill, and took my time. It turned out how I expected. The drawers were difficult to put together but if you pay close attention to the directions (look at the holes the screws go in, direction of bars, etc) it makes sense. Or just get a version without the drawers. One piece was not labeled, but through process of elimination I figured out what it was. If you are good at putting things together and played with legos as a kid you will have no problem putting this together, as long as you are patient. If you have previously struggled with assembly needed furniture, this is a huge project. Get a friend to do it. It is extremely heavy though, I had to unload it from outside piece by piece. Other than that I had no problems. Slept great last night!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
marydoc
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
missing boards
7/21/2016

Customer review by Boards

1.0 stars 7/21/2016 by Boards
by Boards
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

While this was shipped in a timely manner, it came with several incorrect pieces. The company was willing to send new pieces, but now I have to wait another week to put this furniture together. Time is huge and I slotted that day to get help to put this furniture together. Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Boards
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bed
7/22/2016

Customer review by Unsatisfied

1.0 stars 7/22/2016 by Unsatisfied
by Unsatisfied
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The product is awful. The material is so cheep. They did not send me all the right prices to the bed and the wholes for the nails were not drilled in the correct spots. Would never buy anything from Walmart again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Unsatisfied
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Much better than reviews made it sound....
5/29/2011

Customer review by jenga5372

5.0 stars 5/29/2011 by jenga5372
by jenga5372

After reading every review on this bed I was obviously reluctant to purchase it. When I received the box I unpackaged each piece wiped it down and inspected for damage and luckily there was none. Assembly was nothing like other reviews made it sound. It took about 2 hours only because I've never assembled drawers before. It was a bit time consuming but not hard if you follow instructions. I am only posting this because I don't anyone to be discouraged by other reviews so I thought a good review might be helpful.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jenga5372
Bloomington Springs, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not impressed
7/11/2016

Customer review by Johnson

2.0 stars 7/11/2016 by Johnson
by Johnson
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Missing one bracket set and super sharp corners. Mattress slips on surface and we didn't want to use box spring since it was more of a platform low look.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Johnson
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Price, But Poorly Constructed
5/22/2016

Customer review by RonInTX

3.0 stars 5/22/2016 by RonInTX
by RonInTX
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Like all other South Shore items I have purchased, this is a case of you get what you pay for. Items were damaged in shipping due to poor packaging. Pre drilled holes were often in the wrong place (not lining up with other parts) or missing altogether. The wood dowels were also often too small for their pre drilled holes, meaning we had to use wood glue in order to prevent drawer fronts from pulling off the drawer boxes. When assembled the product looks nice, and none of my guests know about the massive headaches involved in the assembly.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RonInTX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks nice but the drawers need to be modified
9/16/2007

Customer review by SerialOnlineShopper

3.0 stars 9/16/2007 by SerialOnlineShopper
by SerialOnlineShopper

It took some time to put it together but it looks great. There were a few scratches but nothing that was too noticeable. Although I like it, I do have a few complaints. Number one....once you put on the boards that the mattress is suppose to lay on, item is VERY heavy. So if you ever feel like to moving your room around, it's gonna be a hassle. Number two.....the drawers. Whoever made this product put the drawers too low to the floor so if you have carpet, like I do, it's not really easy to slide them out. But if your bedroom is tiled, it may not be as much of a problem. The drawers don't come with handles (there's a dip in the drawer where you're suppose to place your hand so u can pull them out) so I'm considering buying some because I think that would help the drawers slide out more easy. I also thought there were four drawers instead of just two so that was a slight disappointment. I'm don't remember if it tells you that in the description. If it does, then that's my fault for overlooking it. But overall, I think it's a decent product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SerialOnlineShopper
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Bad buy
7/8/2016

Customer review by Angel

2.0 stars 7/8/2016 by Angel
by Angel
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Cheap and generic. Directions are hard to follow.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Angel
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice bed
2/2/2014

Customer review by bluefin1

5.0 stars 2/2/2014 by bluefin1
by bluefin1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very good design and quality. some of the paint arrived chipped but it is minimal. functionality of the storage drawers and the low bed gives this piece a very modern and trendy design for a kids bedroom. The size of the box dictates the use of a queen mattress instead of a full. When using a full mattress , the mattress will be smaller than the surface of the bed which will keep around 3 inches of the bed surface exposed all around and might not be comfortable for some when getting out of the bed. If a queen size mattress is used all the edges will match the size of the mattress.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bluefin1
Plymouth, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Purchase for the Price
9/22/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 9/22/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I read almost all the reviews of the South Shore Platform Storage Bed (both good and bad) before showing the bed to my boyfriend. He just purchased a home and was in need of a bed with storage due to the small size of the master bedroom, and he wanted something affordable for now until he can purchase/build his own furniture. We did realize from reading the reviews and just by using common sense that this wasn't going to be a high end piece of furniture. And after reading some of the reviews, I really debated actually purchasing the bed (people saying they had pieces broken or that it was too confusing to put together, that it looked bad, it was chipped, etc). However, we decided to take the chance, and we shipped the bed using Site-to-Store. It came within two weeks of ordering it, a week-to-two weeks earlier than expected. -->The directions are a little complicated, but the actual construction of the bed is not that hard if you have ever put anything together. -->It is a little time consuming...it took about an hour and a half overall, but that included wiping down each piece which is covered with some dust and styrofoam. -->The drawers are not going to be the sturdiest because the bottoms of the drawers are just made of flimsy material, but if constructed correctly, they will be fairly sturdy. -->In some of the reviews I read, people said that the drawers didn't slide correctly on carpet, but I don't know what kind of carpet they had because we had no problems getting the drawers to open and close on regular carpeted floors. -->The directions don't state how to set the bed up to be a Full Size, rather than a Queen Size bed, but again, it's simply common sense...you just don't put in one of the smaller sections of the platform. -->We had one piece of the platform itself that was weak. There was a crease running the entire length of it. We were worried that this weak spot might affect the strength of the platform, but with the number of screw holding it in place on the frame, there haven't been any problems. -->There is a touch-up marker to fix any nicks or scratches. We only needed it in one place; otherwise, the bed was fairly scratch and nick free, which we were happy about. -->The hardware for the drawers is metal, which is nice. It's not cheap plastic that might eventually break. Overall, the bed is nice to look at, and for the $200.00 we paid, my boyfriend is happy with the purchase. As I said before, this bed wasn't purchased to be a permanent piece that he will keep forever, but for now, it's serving it's purpose, and we don't regret purchasing it.

Was this review helpful? (303) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Ellicottville, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/14/2007

Customer review by 3girlsmom

4.0 stars 9/14/2007 by 3girlsmom
by 3girlsmom
Walmart associate

very nice bed. drawers are little small and cardboard bottoms but nice metal tracks. sturdy but wasted space at top wish there was an opening so you could store stuff under there also. But it overall was exactly what we wanted, good value.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
3girlsmom
barto,pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Great storage option!
7/25/2007

Customer review by DreamBelievers

5.0 stars 7/25/2007 by DreamBelievers
by DreamBelievers

I think the product is useful and can be beneficial for a single person like myself. The storage is definitely great and the look is up to date and sleek! I not only have one for myself but recommend it to anyone who needs those little hide away spaces!

Was this review helpful? (73) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DreamBelievers
Greensboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good bed, very heavy
8/8/2008

Customer review by Cheapteacher

4.0 stars 8/8/2008 by Cheapteacher
by Cheapteacher

The bed wasn't too hard to get together, it took me and a friend about 2 hours and a trip to the hardware store to get all put together. We had to go buy a new drill bit, as stated in the other reviews to put it together. It needs a small square bit, I got one in a kit of bits for $6. It seems pretty sturdy and looks good now that the mattress is on it. I didn't find the holes were drilled in the wrong side, mine were just fine, I thought it was going to be wrong, but it turned out the piece I thought was bad was just fine. Drawers are hard to get to, but if you put things in it that you don't use too often it won't be an issue for me. I can't imagine putting this on carpet and getting the drawers open, I don't think that would work well. I don't think this will be easy to move so I hope I don't have to take it apart and put it back together ever. It is a very heavy box and very large, I got it delivered and without help I could have never gotten it in the house alone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cheapteacher
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 1122 total reviews
1-20 of 1122 reviews