Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 220 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

220 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

220 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
111
4 stars
45
3 stars
22
2 stars
14
1 stars
28
1-20 of 195 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 195 total reviews
1-20 of 195 reviews
If only it worked as good as it looks
7/31/2008

Customer review by kristymiss

3.0 stars 7/31/2008 by kristymiss
by kristymiss

I was so excited when I found this toaster! It is so unique and saves a lot of space on the counter. However, stuff gets stuck quite a bit. My biggest issue is that it leaves about 1/4" of the top of the bread untoasted b/c it does not allow enough "depth" for the bread to get completely inside of the toaster. Both of these problems happen even with normal, everyday, store bought bread. I can only imagine the drama a bagel with bring. If I didn't like the novelty of it and the attention it gets when I have guests over, (yes, I realize my house must be pretty boring if my toaster gets attention) I would return it. My kids love to watch it (my house must be REALLY boring if my kids enjoy watching a toaster), while husband hates it completely. Ah well,maybe we will keep this one out for "show" and buy another "old school" toaster to keep in the cabinet for our serious toasting needs. Such a shame. Wonderful gimmick and look, not so great at actually toasting.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kristymiss
GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
New West Bend Quick Serve Black
8/25/2007

Customer review by Pekes

4.0 stars 8/25/2007 by Pekes
by Pekes

Works well - can use it for large or wide pieces of bread - toasts evenly however if you like your toast VERY dark you have to put it back in. Cancel feature great. Toasts very quickly. Bread can get stuck but easy to dislodge. Looks great, sleek and narrow but a bit longer than a regular toaster. Exterior plastic a bit delicate, marks easily. The flip down lid is thin abd seems fragile but so far have no problems. The wrap around cord feature at the bottom is useless - called the company and even they were surprised that you cannot wrap, thus hide, the entire cord under the taoster!!! Excellent price, good value for the dollar. I will be ordering another one when Wal Mart gets more in stock - they have been out of stock for over a month!!!! Hope you enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? (122) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pekes
Champlain NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does what a toaster is suppose to do.
10/19/2013

Customer review by Cayscadi

4.0 stars 10/19/2013 by Cayscadi
by Cayscadi
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We thought this toaster slid the toast/bagel slowly downward to toast, but it does not. It works just like a toaster. Put the bread in the space, there is no slots, then push the handle on the side down. Oh yes, set the wheel for the color of your toast. Then the toaster will toast your bread just like a regular toaster, EXCEPT the toast does not pop up, it slides down to the tray that you have already opened, just like in the photo. Now for bagels, it is wonderful. There is a button on the side and you push it for bagels instead of toast. The bagel fits just fine. The front will toast to your liking and the back of the bagel warms up nicely not toasted, so you have a perfect bagel. For the price that we paid, $40.00, we think it is a great toaster for two people. I'd buy one again if I needed to and I might even buy a couple for Christmas presents.

Was this review helpful? (27) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cayscadi
Quincy, IL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed..returning it.
2/4/2014

Customer review by Bladesgirl

2.0 stars 2/4/2014 by Bladesgirl
by Bladesgirl

Good points: this toaster doesn't take up a lot of room...slim design. Crumb tray is where the toast falls so it is easy to clean and no crumbs all over the counter. Toasts really quickly. Easy to use. Love the way the toast falls out at the bottom and the fact it can take large slices of bread. Bad points: Because the the design, it cannot lower the bread completely so the upper 1/2" of the bread (standard size) or bagel, does not toast which is unacceptable. You have to look very carefully at the dark/ligh knob to be sure you have set it right or you will burn your toast....took me awhile to figure out where to put it since the knob itself is the same on both sides. I finally saw a very faint mark that was the indicator, then it worked great. When I first plug it in it smoked..smelled like burning plastic but that eventually went away. If this toaster lowered the bread down all the way, I would love it and keep it...but half toasted bread is not good. Took it back and will continue looking for a toaster that will toast fast and take long bread slices....pretty frustrating.

Was this review helpful? (28) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bladesgirl
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just what I wanted
3/10/2009

Customer review by Jewelz0526

4.0 stars 3/10/2009 by Jewelz0526
by Jewelz0526

This is a great toaster, I love it. Decided on it for my fiancés' birthday. Needed something that was larger for bagels but didn't look so cheap or take up too much space. It's a lot like a fast food service toaster only it's for a smaller capacity like at home or the office but the same concept. It fits nicely at the back of the counter and takes up a whole 5-6 in total folded up. Plus, the food can cool some before u pick it up. There are a few tiny problems: On occasion the bagels or toast will get stuck in the hold slots as they fall threw to the bottom tray. This is easily solved by pulling it down w/my very own fingers, still have yet to be burned, so not so bad. Also, on the bagel setting, the bottoms or rather the outer parts of the bagels don't seem to toast much. The only other thing is my fiancé would like it to work while folded up when u want toast and not a bagel, it does not though the front must be folded down to work. Beyond that it's a wonderful product. Another Plus: on the "name brand" web site, the very same product is way more. Yullp did my research and it's a best buy...lol I say, "Buy, Buy, Buy"!

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jewelz0526
Kenowhere, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice Toaster
2/15/2010

Customer review by NannyofEight

5.0 stars 2/15/2010 by NannyofEight
by NannyofEight

Bought this toaster about a month ago. So far it has been a really nice toaster. Of course with any toaster, the bread has to be tested a few times for the preferred darkness of the bread. There is a reviewer on here that states that they couldn't get their bread dark enough? Hmmmm. We have our setting on #3 and it is plenty dark. If the setting was on #5 or #6 it would probably be burnt. Perhaps they put something frozen in their toaster. That would definitely take a little longer and would need a higher setting. I like this toaster also, because the crumbs from the bread is on the tray where the bread lands after it is toasted. No more tilting the toaster upside down to remove the crumbs, or pulling out crumb trays that are all rusty and nasty. To remove the crumbs on the tray, I just use a wet sponge and wa-la...easy clean up. The tray can also be removed if you want to hand wash it. I also like how the tray can lift back to an upward position to tuck nicely onto the toaster's side for a clean look after it is used. Large slices of bread, thick bagels, and even hotdog or hamburger buns will fit in the toaster rack. There are no divisions, so you can place the bread anywhere you want on the rack. The excess cord can be stored in the back of the toaster. I personally, don't like long cords hanging all over the backs of my appliances. I only like the length of the cord that is used, to be shown. So this is a nice feature, and a feature that many toasters don't have. Good quality and value. Very happy.

Was this review helpful? (96) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NannyofEight
Northern Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
fast toast
1/19/2009

Customer review by hallmanor

3.0 stars 1/19/2009 by hallmanor
by hallmanor

This makes toast swiftly, but not quite the way it shows in the picture, it is a toaster that ejects the toast from the bottom rather than popping it up. It appears in the photos that the bread toasts on its way through the toaster, but really you load it like any other toaster, push down the lever, and it toasts the bread in the chamber, then drops it out the bottom when done. Pretty neat! Pros are: it looks very nice, toasts well, and most important for me it is rather slim so it fits my available counter space. Cons are: It makes a crumby mess since there really isn't a crumb tray, when you want to fold it to store it you have to take the toast tray off, shake out the crumbs & wipe it really well or you'll find crumbs everywhere; the temperature on it is HIGH, I set it on 2 and the toast is pretty dark. Wal-Mart has the absolute best price on this, and ship to store option made this a great bargain for us.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hallmanor
Houston, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not what I thought at all
11/21/2011

Customer review by Wuv2Cook

2.0 stars 11/21/2011 by Wuv2Cook
by Wuv2Cook

The photo of this product looks as if the bread slowly moves thru the toaster (restaurant style) but it doesn't, you push the handle down just like a regular toaster. This toaster was great at toasting longer pieces of bread ie: sourdough rounds, but if you used deli style breads that are a little bit higher then the toaster doesn't toast the top of the bread. the toasting rack is very shallow. Also each piece of bread that I toasted came out different, some light some darker, some almost burnt without changing the setting. Also the see through front and the bread going though is just for looks for this picture. 1 or 2 slices at a time only and it's actually solid black.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wuv2Cook
Menifee, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Too Large and Very Messy
2/19/2012

Customer review by Gnarf

1.0 stars 2/19/2012 by Gnarf
by Gnarf

I purchased this becuase I though it was going to be a good space saver. I was completely wrong, you have to open the tray to use it and when opened it is wider than most standard side-by-side toasters. In addition the crumbs all end up on the open tray which is very hard to clean making a mess and requiring that I clean it every time we use it. Lastly the cooking is very inconsistant, I use the same bread all of the time and at the same setting, I never know how it might come out, somtimes under cooked, sometimes burned and sometimes perfect. I have dealt with this forjust over a year but at this point my whole family says "toss it out" and although I hate to becuase I hate to waste money I think they are right. This is really a piece of junk with no upside.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gnarf
MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
toaster black
11/13/2013

Customer review by nicez

3.0 stars 11/13/2013 by nicez
by nicez
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

toast wont fall into tray hangs up 30% of the time .

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nicez
strongsville ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I'm returning it
7/1/2009

Customer review by Leospets807

1.0 stars 7/1/2009 by Leospets807
by Leospets807

Looks nice, concept is good...performance is horrible. I kind of thought it would be like the ones they have in hospital cafeterias. You put the toast in the top and it continually moves thru and comes out the bottom all brown and toasty. NOT THE CASE! You put the toast in the top, it stays in there for a short time and instead of popping up like a regular toaster, it drops out the bottom....half-toasted. I like my toast brown, so I had to put it thru again even though I had it set on dark. Waste of time and money.....I'm returning it.

Was this review helpful? (41) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Leospets807
Chicago Suburb
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Average
12/27/2015

Customer review by MissDeb

3.0 stars 12/27/2015 by MissDeb
by MissDeb

I like the space saving design, but the toasting is very uneven and the crust isn't toasted at all. The pictures show bread flowing through the machine continuously, but the directions say to let the machine cool down a bit before toasting the next two slices. I don't know if I would buy this brand again

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MissDeb
Would recommend to a friend? No
Easy toasting capabilities
11/2/2013

Customer review by 1SeafoodPrincess

4.0 stars 11/2/2013 by 1SeafoodPrincess
by 1SeafoodPrincess
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Follow the directions for the first pieces of toast to burn off the new smell, not like the new car smell. Toast came out nice and toasty. I had a little difficulty with the bagel because I cut it too thick but I will adjust the cut for the next time. I bet that toaster waffles come out great. I'll try them next time.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1SeafoodPrincess
South Portland, Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
An Appliance
8/17/2010

Customer review by LennyLou

3.0 stars 8/17/2010 by LennyLou
by LennyLou

The product itself is nice but the cancel button feature was defective and the cage would not release so the toast burnt and you had to unplug the toaster to get the toast out. They need to really put this type of appliance through vigerous testing to make sure it does exactly what it says it will do.

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LennyLou
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Awesom Product
7/29/2009

Customer review by Pdog

5.0 stars 7/29/2009 by Pdog
by Pdog

This is a great product it lived up to my expectations I used it for the first time this morning and it was quick. I would buy it again!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pdog
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Not as expected
12/14/2010

Customer review by Oldandpicky

3.0 stars 12/14/2010 by Oldandpicky
by Oldandpicky

When I ordered this item it was pretty much based on the picture of the toaster. I wrongfully assumed that it operated similar to the commercial toasters found in restaurants. This toster requires the door to be open to operate and it simply has a trap door in the toast area. Once it reaches its temperature it opens the trap door and releases the toast to slide out the bottom. It requires a great deal of counter space for a 2 slice toaster. It is more a gimmick than a functional toaster. I returned the product without using it and bought a 4 slice toaster that you take the bread out of the top, the old fashion way. The replacement toaster has a lift feature that allows you to raise the bread/toast higher than normal and is much more functional than the reviewed product. I would not recommend this product due to the size and counter space requirements.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Oldandpicky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works great, really like it...
10/28/2013

Customer review by FILIAHO

4.0 stars 10/28/2013 by FILIAHO
by FILIAHO
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Thought that we could put in two pieces of toast, and as it started add more if we wanted, but it works like a standard toaster, but faster. We like it a lot.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FILIAHO
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Always wanted one
11/19/2010

Customer review by Jatokah

5.0 stars 11/19/2010 by Jatokah
by Jatokah

A local cafe had a professional one and loved the english muffins toasted. It has lived up to it, but have a hard time getting rid of the crumbs left on the fold up section

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jatokah
Salem, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Must have got the lemon!!
2/5/2016

Customer review by 2Cabinlife

1.0 stars 2/5/2016 by 2Cabinlife
by 2Cabinlife

I was so excited to get this toaster! It fit all my wants-- slim style, easy to clean, good reviews and takes up very little counter space. I tested a couple of slices of toast. All worked fine. In the am, I started breakfast. I put the toast in toaster, pushed down the lever & the toast went straight through. After several attempts, could not get it to work again. So disappointed!! Returned it to Wal-Mart and got a different style

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2Cabinlife
Would recommend to a friend? No
Misleading
6/24/2014

Customer review by tbone4ever

2.0 stars 6/24/2014 by tbone4ever
by tbone4ever
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Haven't had a new toaster for years. Wanted to be a little classy. This toast does look classy and good on the counter. This picture deceives you. You can only put two slices in at a time and it does not slide through like it looks. It sits on the top and then pops and out comes the toast, burnt towards the middle and not toasted on the outside. Cannot turn up to darken because it burns so much towards the middle. Usually have to stop the process because smoke is coming out of the top. It's a shame because it is nice looking on the counter and does not take up a lot of space.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tbone4ever
Seven Bays, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 195 total reviews
1-20 of 195 reviews