Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 208 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

208 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

5 stars
107
4 stars
43
3 stars
19
2 stars
14
1 stars
25
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 183 total reviews
New West Bend Quick Serve Black
8/25/2007

Customer review by Pekes

4.0 stars by Pekes

Works well - can use it for large or wide pieces of bread - toasts evenly however if you like your toast VERY dark you have to put it back in. Cancel feature great. Toasts very quickly. Bread can get stuck but easy to dislodge. Looks great, sleek and narrow but a bit longer than a regular toaster. Exterior plastic a bit delicate, marks easily. The flip down lid is thin abd seems fragile but so far have no problems. The wrap around cord feature at the bottom is useless - called the company and even they were surprised that you cannot wrap, thus hide, the entire cord under the taoster!!! Excellent price, good value for the dollar. I will be ordering another one when Wal Mart gets more in stock - they have been out of stock for over a month!!!! Hope you enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? (108) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Pekes
Champlain NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice Toaster
2/15/2010

Customer review by NannyofEight

5.0 stars by NannyofEight

Bought this toaster about a month ago. So far it has been a really nice toaster. Of course with any toaster, the bread has to be tested a few times for the preferred darkness of the bread. There is a reviewer on here that states that they couldn't get their bread dark enough? Hmmmm. We have our setting on #3 and it is plenty dark. If the setting was on #5 or #6 it would probably be burnt. Perhaps they put something frozen in their toaster. That would definitely take a little longer and would need a higher setting. I like this toaster also, because the crumbs from the bread is on the tray where the bread lands after it is toasted. No more tilting the toaster upside down to remove the crumbs, or pulling out crumb trays that are all rusty and nasty. To remove the crumbs on the tray, I just use a wet sponge and wa-la...easy clean up. The tray can also be removed if you want to hand wash it. I also like how the tray can lift back to an upward position to tuck nicely onto the toaster's side for a clean look after it is used. Large slices of bread, thick bagels, and even hotdog or hamburger buns will fit in the toaster rack. There are no divisions, so you can place the bread anywhere you want on the rack. The excess cord can be stored in the back of the toaster. I personally, don't like long cords hanging all over the backs of my appliances. I only like the length of the cord that is used, to be shown. So this is a nice feature, and a feature that many toasters don't have. Good quality and value. Very happy.

Was this review helpful? (83) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
NannyofEight
Northern Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I'm returning it
7/1/2009

Customer review by Leospets807

1.0 stars by Leospets807

Looks nice, concept is good...performance is horrible. I kind of thought it would be like the ones they have in hospital cafeterias. You put the toast in the top and it continually moves thru and comes out the bottom all brown and toasty. NOT THE CASE! You put the toast in the top, it stays in there for a short time and instead of popping up like a regular toaster, it drops out the bottom....half-toasted. I like my toast brown, so I had to put it thru again even though I had it set on dark. Waste of time and money.....I'm returning it.

Was this review helpful? (34) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Leospets807
Chicago Suburb
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Does what a toaster is suppose to do.
10/19/2013

Customer review by Cayscadi

4.0 stars by Cayscadi

We thought this toaster slid the toast/bagel slowly downward to toast, but it does not. It works just like a toaster. Put the bread in the space, there is no slots, then push the handle on the side down. Oh yes, set the wheel for the color of your toast. Then the toaster will toast your bread just like a regular toaster, EXCEPT the toast does not pop up, it slides down to the tray that you have already opened, just like in the photo. Now for bagels, it is wonderful. There is a button on the side and you push it for bagels instead of toast. The bagel fits just fine. The front will toast to your liking and the back of the bagel warms up nicely not toasted, so you have a perfect bagel. For the price that we paid, $40.00, we think it is a great toaster for two people. I'd buy one again if I needed to and I might even buy a couple for Christmas presents.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Cayscadi
Quincy, IL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just what I wanted
3/10/2009

Customer review by Jewelz0526

4.0 stars by Jewelz0526

This is a great toaster, I love it. Decided on it for my fiancés' birthday. Needed something that was larger for bagels but didn't look so cheap or take up too much space. It's a lot like a fast food service toaster only it's for a smaller capacity like at home or the office but the same concept. It fits nicely at the back of the counter and takes up a whole 5-6 in total folded up. Plus, the food can cool some before u pick it up. There are a few tiny problems: On occasion the bagels or toast will get stuck in the hold slots as they fall threw to the bottom tray. This is easily solved by pulling it down w/my very own fingers, still have yet to be burned, so not so bad. Also, on the bagel setting, the bottoms or rather the outer parts of the bagels don't seem to toast much. The only other thing is my fiancé would like it to work while folded up when u want toast and not a bagel, it does not though the front must be folded down to work. Beyond that it's a wonderful product. Another Plus: on the "name brand" web site, the very same product is way more. Yullp did my research and it's a best buy...lol I say, "Buy, Buy, Buy"!

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Jewelz0526
Kenowhere, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Disappointed..returning it.
2/4/2014

Customer review by Bladesgirl

2.0 stars by Bladesgirl

Good points: this toaster doesn't take up a lot of room...slim design. Crumb tray is where the toast falls so it is easy to clean and no crumbs all over the counter. Toasts really quickly. Easy to use. Love the way the toast falls out at the bottom and the fact it can take large slices of bread. Bad points: Because the the design, it cannot lower the bread completely so the upper 1/2" of the bread (standard size) or bagel, does not toast which is unacceptable. You have to look very carefully at the dark/ligh knob to be sure you have set it right or you will burn your toast....took me awhile to figure out where to put it since the knob itself is the same on both sides. I finally saw a very faint mark that was the indicator, then it worked great. When I first plug it in it smoked..smelled like burning plastic but that eventually went away. If this toaster lowered the bread down all the way, I would love it and keep it...but half toasted bread is not good. Took it back and will continue looking for a toaster that will toast fast and take long bread slices....pretty frustrating.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Bladesgirl
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
An Appliance
8/17/2010

Customer review by LennyLou

3.0 stars by LennyLou

The product itself is nice but the cancel button feature was defective and the cage would not release so the toast burnt and you had to unplug the toaster to get the toast out. They need to really put this type of appliance through vigerous testing to make sure it does exactly what it says it will do.

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LennyLou
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
toaster black
11/13/2013

Customer review by nicez

3.0 stars by nicez

toast wont fall into tray hangs up 30% of the time .

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
nicez
strongsville ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Always wanted one
11/19/2010

Customer review by Jatokah

5.0 stars by Jatokah

A local cafe had a professional one and loved the english muffins toasted. It has lived up to it, but have a hard time getting rid of the crumbs left on the fold up section

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Jatokah
Salem, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesom Product
7/29/2009

Customer review by Pdog

5.0 stars by Pdog

This is a great product it lived up to my expectations I used it for the first time this morning and it was quick. I would buy it again!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Pdog
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Not what I thought at all
11/21/2011

Customer review by Wuv2Cook

2.0 stars by Wuv2Cook

The photo of this product looks as if the bread slowly moves thru the toaster (restaurant style) but it doesn't, you push the handle down just like a regular toaster. This toaster was great at toasting longer pieces of bread ie: sourdough rounds, but if you used deli style breads that are a little bit higher then the toaster doesn't toast the top of the bread. the toasting rack is very shallow. Also each piece of bread that I toasted came out different, some light some darker, some almost burnt without changing the setting. Also the see through front and the bread going though is just for looks for this picture. 1 or 2 slices at a time only and it's actually solid black.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Wuv2Cook
Menifee, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice idea but poorly designed
12/11/2013

Customer review by Buckeye48

1.0 stars by Buckeye48

Not at all what I expected. The slid out tray is also the Crum catcher which means you need remove to clean every time you are done. Due to construction with plastic I don't think it will hold up. I am returning unit.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Buckeye48
Murrieta, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product !
2/24/2012

Customer review by GoobersGran

5.0 stars by GoobersGran

This toaster works very well, and VERY quickly !! It takes up less room than conventional style toasters. Everyone who sees it is very impressed !! And it's a really good value for a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
GoobersGran
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
First on my block with this fancy toaster!
11/30/2011

Customer review by MrCityDump

5.0 stars by MrCityDump

The picture shows how it looks INSIDE the toaster. You can't really see the bread going through it. The toaster works really good, and, has many different temperature settings and a switch to change between bread and bagels.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MrCityDump
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy toasting capabilities
11/2/2013

Customer review by 1SeafoodPrincess

4.0 stars by 1SeafoodPrincess

Follow the directions for the first pieces of toast to burn off the new smell, not like the new car smell. Toast came out nice and toasty. I had a little difficulty with the bagel because I cut it too thick but I will adjust the cut for the next time. I bet that toaster waffles come out great. I'll try them next time.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
1SeafoodPrincess
South Portland, Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great, really like it...
10/28/2013

Customer review by FILIAHO

4.0 stars by FILIAHO

Thought that we could put in two pieces of toast, and as it started add more if we wanted, but it works like a standard toaster, but faster. We like it a lot.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
FILIAHO
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/1/2009

Customer review by anne44

5.0 stars by anne44

We haven't had the toaster very long, but so far it is proforming very well. I love the style, it has clean lines and is very modern.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
anne44
Newburgh, In
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
7/19/2009

Customer review by procurer

4.0 stars by procurer

Like the slide thru feature-disappointed that two slices of whole wheat bread does not fit in the slot. If only it was about 1 inch longer. Also, some frozen waffles slide straight thru without toasting. Love the flat space saving design.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
procurer
Ft. Collins, CO.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very disappointing
9/20/2010

Customer review by PROTON

1.0 stars by PROTON

We purchased this product because it had the features we wanted, and looked great on line. Product arrived fast and worked great... for the first two times we used it. The next time we tried to make toast, the lever would not lock in place and it would not heat up. Played with it a bit and got it to heat up, but the lever still would not depress or lock and now it won't shut off. Very big let down for a product made by a good company like West Bend. Returned it less than a week after picking it up. Would not recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
PROTON
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Great Toaster
9/1/2011

Customer review by XXX8558

5.0 stars by XXX8558

I'm very pleased with the toaster functions, the size and the WalMart price was good.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
XXX8558
Granbury TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 183 total reviews