Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 202 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

202 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

202 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
110
4 stars
52
3 stars
11
2 stars
11
1 stars
18
1-20 of 180 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 180 total reviews
1-20 of 180 reviews
Big step up from the HP 33S
12/30/2012

Customer review by truthasweknowit

5.0 stars 12/30/2012 by truthasweknowit
by truthasweknowit
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When my 41 started getting flaky, I picked up a 33S on clearance at Walmart. I was pleased to find it approved for FE and PE exams, and so is the 35S. I saw a review somewhere else regarding the displays. The 35S is definitely clearer, because the pixels are spread out -- the decimal point is easier to find, etc. The keys on the 35S feel much better than on the 33S, the Enter key is back where it belongs, and the rows are straight instead of the weird chevron of the 33S -- What were they thinking? Still checking it out, the 35S has a cool way to quickly program a repetitive calculation. I am looking forward to transferring my 41 programs to the 35S.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
truthasweknowit
North Chesterfield, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fine little calculator
9/15/2016

Customer review by krq123

4.0 stars 9/15/2016 by krq123
by krq123

As a die-hard HP calculator user for over 20 years, I've found this to be a good calculator, but not as handy as the previous keyboard layouts. You can tell that the designers didn't use the old classic HP calculators and weren't users of calculators. The complex arithmetic entry system is excellent (complex arithmetic is common in my field). This one feature is why I stick with this calculator. Having X and Y registers displayed is a nice touch. The base conversion is so obtuse that I never use it. I use my HP32S or computer for base conversion. The X<>Y key is in the wrong place. They should have swapped the () and X<>Y keys. You use HP calculators for RPN, not algebraic entry! Entering an exponent like 10^3 requires entering 1E3 instead of E3. The previous models allowed E3. In my 4+ years of owning this calculator with daily use, I haven't had any problems with the keys.

krq123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
HP 35S vs HP35
4/24/2016

Customer review by Embedded

5.0 stars 4/24/2016 by Embedded
by Embedded

The HP 35S is kind of a cross between HP35 HP41C and HP16. It actually will fully use RPN which is good and also uses Algebraic Notation not so good. If you want Algebraic go buy a Casio or TI. First what is different. The HP 35/21/16/41C had much nicer keys and used the Cmos Silicon on Sapphire (SOS) process as does voyagers 1802 which still is running past the edge of the solar system. The HP35 being the first Scientific Calculator did not have many functions. The HP35S has bunches of functions and is programmable. Keeping it in RPN mode the HP 35S is a worthy calculator but I would still rather have an HP 41CV and still love my HP 16C for programming. However as with most things this is the only HP calculator (made by a subcontractor) that still survives. You might also want to look at Swiss Micros.com lineup which are true to the old models on the Voyager Chassis. But for the price I would try a HP 35S you might love it. Espcially if you never used a real HP35 or HP41C! Next best thing!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Embedded
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good for what it is
5/26/2008

Customer review by k6mr

4.0 stars 5/26/2008 by k6mr
by k6mr

Bought the HP35S only because it is 1 of only 2 HP calculators allowed for the State of California PE/EIT exams. I already have a HP48 for general use which is much more powerful but not allowed. The calculator I originally received (received via site to store in just 3 days) had a problem (one key was difficult to activate) which was an obvious manufacturing defect. Called HP support, had the replacement within a week. Otherwise it works as advertised. I stay with HP calculators because I really like RPN format, which I believe only HP makes. There is nothing really special about this calculator, but it does what it is supposed to do and is pretty cheap for the power it has. I did try the HP33S previously (the other allowed calc) but found the key layout on that one hard to use. The HP35 has a more 'normal' layout for previous HP users.

Was this review helpful? (45) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
k6mr
Redding, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Substandard UI, but good calculator.
3/16/2016

Customer review by SadJoe

3.0 stars 3/16/2016 by SadJoe
by SadJoe

This calculator is nice on other aspects than size (it should be smaller 10%) to allow one handed use and its lack of good UI with softkeys (or even a menu) and real variable&program names (..and computer programmability and option to store the programs in microSD). For this date I would have also assumed there would have been unlimited or atleast higher stack like what is in the RPL-machines. Not a real engineering calculator of 21st century. Would have been nice in the 1970's :( The calculating power is nice though, but functionality feels stoneaged. Get old 42s instead or HP50g. Entering of the complex number is smooth though in both polar and rectangular form, easier than in HP50g, but make some searches to find out if the hp35s limitations regarding complex numbers is nogo for you. For these reasons I did only give rank POOR to features, this premium product doesn't meet todays standards. A pretty much visionless, but working product as new HP calculators seem to be.

SadJoe
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent Value
9/15/2016

Customer review by halodrop

5.0 stars 9/15/2016 by halodrop
by halodrop
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

HP is a dependable brand. RPN is much easier for more complex calculations than algebraic input. The feel and touch of the buttons truly shows a robust build quality.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
halodrop
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great RPN and Algerbraic Calculator
4/16/2009

Customer review by Omega2020

5.0 stars 4/16/2009 by Omega2020
by Omega2020
Walmart associate

For anyone looking for a really good scientific calculator for engineering or mathmatics this is for you. I am a electrical engineering student and this calculator is permitted on all exams taken at the College of Engineering at USF. Also is is permitted on the FE exam as well as the PE exam. Its programable and that really makes repetitive calculatons containing the same varriables very easy. You can use and program the calculator either in RPN mode or Algebraic mode. This calculator has cut down the time it takes to do several calculations, though it does take quite a bit of time to program but in the end its worth it. I hightly recomened it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Omega2020
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Owned multiple HP35 calculators with same result
8/15/2016

Customer review by BillTrudeau

1.0 stars 8/15/2016 by BillTrudeau
by BillTrudeau

Keys fail within months of buying. Thought it was just a bad apple but problem occurred on every calculator purchased.

BillTrudeau
Would recommend to a friend? No
A step back toward the great calculators
7/3/2009

Customer review by HPOldTimer

5.0 stars 7/3/2009 by HPOldTimer
by HPOldTimer

The 35s has the nice feel, key colors and layout of the first HP calculators of the '70s. Programming capabities are basic - pre-HP41 - with limited variable naming and few alpha characters. It comes with a really nice hard case and don't forget to contact HP for the free, hard-copy user's manual. At $40-50, it's about 15% of what I paid for an original HP 35 in my freshman year of college. People lined up outside my dorm room to give it a try. Let's hope HP continues the comeback. A 42s body with SD/USB capabilies, BASIC programming interfaced with a PC platform and color display would be awesome.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HPOldTimer
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent calculator for technical use.
7/1/2009

Customer review by Card1

5.0 stars 7/1/2009 by Card1
by Card1

Purchased this calculator to replace the HP33 which I was using for the past 3 years. I really like the HP33 but I found over time that it had key jamming issues. The HP35S is a well designed, well layed out, hand calculator for all engineering functions.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Card1
Louisville Ky.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
HP 35s is the one for an exam
4/12/2009

Customer review by AvgShopper123

5.0 stars 4/12/2009 by AvgShopper123
by AvgShopper123

This is a first class calculator. You can't go wrong ordering it for an exam, much better than the HP 33 it replaced. The key thing is that RPN makes entering and manipulating data really easy--during a test, you don't have time to jot numbers down on paper that you need to use a few steps later. Secondly, this calculator has a non-volatile memory, so when it shuts down, it remembers the last 4 entries you typed. Other calculators lose their memory when they shut off. Third, the calculator has 26 non-volatile memory locations, not just one or two. Fourth, it can be programmed. The list goes on... Don't bother with the others if you can afford this one. It will save you time and lessen frustration during the test!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AvgShopper123
Midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
EXCELLENT - A tribute to a CLASSIC
8/24/2007

Customer review by cos6

5.0 stars 8/24/2007 by cos6
by cos6

I'm a veteran HP user, having used HP calculators since 1980. These are the 'Rolls-Royce' of calculators, and the new HP-35s is no exception. HP lost it's way with calculators in recent times, but this is a welcome return to a great tradition. I'm considering buying a couple more, to keep if HP stops making RPN calculators. This one is a GEM.

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cos6
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The best HP calculator for the NCEES exams
8/23/2011

Customer review by AnIowan

4.0 stars 8/23/2011 by AnIowan
by AnIowan

I purchased this calculator for my use while taking the NCEES's "Principles and Practices of Engineering" exam (also known as the "PE exam"). The NCEES alowes only a few particular models of calculators into the exam venue. http://www.ncees.org/Exams/Exam-day_policies/Calculator_policy.php If you like the RPN stack-oriented features offered on HP calculators, this is your best choice for this exam. Those who have used HP calculators for many years will be immediately comfortable and productive with this one. That is the main reason I purchased it. On the other hand, its support for complex number calculations is limited and there are some quirky changes in the rules this calculator follows for stack lift. A more complete review that I found accurate can be found here: http://www.stefanv.com/calculators/hp35s.html If your choice of calculator is not restricted by a list such as for the NCEES exams, then there are many more choices to consider, including new or used HP 48G models. The larger user community and greater capablilites of graphing calculators will often provide more appropriate value for the money. I hope Walmart continues to sell the HP calculators on the NCEES list including this HP 35S model. The RPN stack-oriented features of HP calculators are uniquely beneficial for those who take the time to learn how to use them. Being able to pick one up at my local Walmart (Site-to-store) was very convenient.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AnIowan
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
LOVE IT! A LOT LIKE THE 32S
6/21/2016

Customer review by dacoza

5.0 stars 6/21/2016 by dacoza
by dacoza
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This 35s is very close to the original 32s easy to customize. only drawback is screen is difficult to see when using on a desk.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dacoza
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good but some features awkward
7/15/2008

Customer review by flohpuser

4.0 stars 7/15/2008 by flohpuser
by flohpuser

I really like this calculator. The programmable features and overall features are good. There are 3 things that are very clumsy for me. I do technical drafting in the construction industry. I use triangulation a lot. Therefore I use the polar coordinate feature a lot. This gives me, with two sides, the hypotenuse and the angle which is less than or equal to 45 degrees. On all of the older models of calculators this feature worked with very few key strokes and you could use numbers in the stack or in memory with it. Now it requires many more keystrokes to extrapolate the desired results and can only be done with direct entry. 2nd, the execute program requires at least one more keystroke than before. 3rd the store key requires a prefix key. Unfortunately, for me, these are 3 features that I use all the time. I much preferred the HP32SII for these features. I really like the keypad and design of this calculator except as shown above. I did not like the HP33s keypad and layout. The keys wore out too quickly and were not comfortable to the hand. I could not trust my keyed in entries on the HP33s.

flohpuser
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
too big -- much smaller HP 15c or HP 32S II
5/14/2016

Customer review by tim9876

1.0 stars 5/14/2016 by tim9876
by tim9876

too big -- much smaller HP 15c or HP 32S II I lost my old calculator

tim9876
Philadelphia, Fermilab, IL, Bookhaven Lab
Would recommend to a friend? No
A Great RPN Pocket Calculator, Easy To Program
5/5/2016

Customer review by IndustEE

4.0 stars 5/5/2016 by IndustEE
by IndustEE

This is a great RPN pocket calculator, easy to program.The only criticism is build quality: I've had several units with bad keys. If HP were to upgrade this model in functionality and quality, I'd pay more without hesitation.

IndustEE
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Don’t waste your money!!!!
2/27/2008

Customer review by cbarberis

1.0 stars 2/27/2008 by cbarberis
by cbarberis

It is a shame that HP has released such a ergonomically poor design, although the calculator has the look and feel of the older classic calculators; that is about the only thing you get for your money. The functionality of this calculator can be described as confusing and very poorly thought out, it is hard to believe that HP has released this model with its present flaws. As an example; simple things like numerical base conversions which should be a straight forward function using a few key strokes, will leave you wondering. However, when you try such conversion in this calculator it will leave you scratching your head for an answer and don’t bother looking for the answer in the user’s manual, because the so called “user’s manual” has very little information about anything and it is pretty much useless.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cbarberis
Milford, NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good but incomplete
2/7/2011

Customer review by Halthzor

5.0 stars 2/7/2011 by Halthzor
by Halthzor

The HP-35s is a great calculator in the tradition of RPN. Some caveats: 1. There is no built in polar-rectangular/rectangular-polar conversion. Yes, complex numbers provide a work around, and you can always program it or use the HP provided program, but it's really not the same. See 3 below. 2. Total membory of 30k? In this day and age, that's downright puny. 3. There is no capability of storage for programs, data, etc. That makes it a chore to reload programs. 4. The display can be hard to read. Strange considering the great displays that HP has had in the past. All in all, a great calculator, one that is a pleasure to use, with tremendous functionality. Especially likeable are the tactile keys. Just for context on this, I am a practicing EE, with over thirty five years of professional experience, and have been dealing with HP calculators since the HP-35.

Halthzor
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
not a good survey tool
5/19/2009

Customer review by bestsurveyor

2.0 stars 5/19/2009 by bestsurveyor
by bestsurveyor

I have just gotten the 35s and started playing with it. I am not impressed at all in comparison to the 33s due mainly to the fact that the key stroke is to long for some of the simple functions such as polar req.. I think this function has to many key strokes for my field hands to be productive and to keep them from getting comfussed and the display of the distance and the angle on the same line is to easy to misread in a high pressure fast paced work envirment. I also noticed that my programs will have to be modified from the way they are imput into the calculator whereas when the switch was made from the 32s to the 33s there were no changes needed to them. This calculator will do everything you need to do but it just isn't user friendly which means a lot when you have people working for you in a fast paced high end industrial construction work place.

bestsurveyor
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
1-20 of 180 total reviews
1-20 of 180 reviews