Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 214 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

214 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

214 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
135
4 stars
62
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 stars
6
1-20 of 176 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 176 total reviews
1-20 of 176 reviews
Garmin eTrex H
2/27/2009

Customer review by JohnTheBaton

5.0 stars 2/27/2009 by JohnTheBaton
by JohnTheBaton

After evaluating both the eTrex Legend H and the eTrex Vista HCx, I decided I prefer this, the basic non-mapping eTrex H for outdoor navigating. The main reason is the simplicity; the menus are simple and straightforward. The mapping features of the other models are not necessary for backpacking, and the added menu complexity is distracting. Don't get me wrong, I am quite tech savvy and own and use many more 'complicated' devices, but if you are in an emergency situation, or lost and scared, the first thing to go is rational thinking. If you are on the verge of hypothermia in whiteout conditions trying to get off a mountain with your GPS, ask yourself if you want to be dealing with a bunch of buried menu functions. In that regard the eTrex H is beautifully simple. Battery life is very good (with Lithium batteries), it has excellent reception even in dense forests, and is bright yellow. In other words, they really essential functions of a GPS--receiver sensitivity, battery life, simplicity, and waterproofness are all excellent on this device. Anything else (mapping, compass/altimeter, etc) are fun/expensive accessories, but not essential. I've tried many GPSs, from full-mapping PDA phones to fancy outdoor GPSs, but for times when my life may depend on it, I'm sticking with the Garmin eTrex H. Plus, you can't find it for cheaper than through WalMart. p.s. you can get a usb cable for this online for about $11 US to manage your waypoints and routes. If you absolutely must have a mapping GPS, the price point on this would still make it a great backup GPS or a GPS for someone else in your group.

Was this review helpful? (152) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JohnTheBaton
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Better Than Ever
10/9/2007

Customer review by pirate5

5.0 stars 10/9/2007 by pirate5
by pirate5

I already owned one of these units that I purchashed over 4 years ago and it broke beyond repair so I ordered another. It's the same unit but it does so much more, it's like a totally differant unit. I'm very pleased with both the unit and the very fast shipping and delivery. It works so good I've purchased accesories for it to use it on all my outdoor toys(hunting,on my 3 wheeler, on my boat, and in my truck). I'll ware this one out long before it gets broken. GREAT product. I use Garmin only on my boat and both are great and never let me down. The new hunting & fishing computer and sun/moon phase are the best and the unit locks on to more sat. and gets me closer readings and faster than the older model. The trip page is also new and great that it lets you control what readings are shown and recorded. I just can't tell you what to buy but if your looking for a really good gps unit at a reasonable price than this is the unit for you. And water proof too.

Was this review helpful? (134) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pirate5
Sneedville, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GeoCashing Forever!
10/1/2008

Customer review by ffrenchmen

5.0 stars 10/1/2008 by ffrenchmen
by ffrenchmen

We have used it twice now, and both times have come within 5 ft. of our treasure. Great item for the price!

Was this review helpful? (60) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ffrenchmen
Brookfield WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good basic unit for geocaching!
4/16/2010

Customer review by Paintboy

4.0 stars 4/16/2010 by Paintboy
by Paintboy

Bought this to begin geocaching. Works well! Found our first geocache with no problem! Wish a computer cable was easily available to download locations. Entering latitude and longitude manually takes some time.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Paintboy
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Can't beat it for the price
8/28/2009

Customer review by Bts1

5.0 stars 8/28/2009 by Bts1
by Bts1

I was looking for a simple GPS I could take hiking in the desert where everything looks the same and I didn't want to get lost and would just point me back to my starting place. I didn't want those high priced units that allow all sorts of maps. This unit was recommended to me through the user community associated with the magazine Smart Computing. I've used it just once so far but it's simple to use and I think it's great.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bts1
Chandler, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Basic but useful
6/17/2010

Customer review by abilplk

5.0 stars 6/17/2010 by abilplk
by abilplk

Great product with the simplicity to create and store waypoints. Small, lightweight, and easy to use are some of the useful features. This product is designed to mark your starting point and then get you back to that - this can be stored/saved in a couple ways. Great for in the boat to mark and locate fishing spots or in the woods to mark and locate treestands, etc.... Look at all Garmin gps models to determine which features you really need based on how you are going to use it - the more it can do, usually the more complicated it is - do you want to carry the manual with you everytime you use it?

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
abilplk
Wiscosnin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Garmin eTrex H
6/16/2009

Customer review by MissyHippo

5.0 stars 6/16/2009 by MissyHippo
by MissyHippo

This purchase was made for lessons with my elementary students. My own children (9, 13 & 15) found it very easy to use and understand. I've done several price comparisons and WalMart had the best deal for this type of GPS.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MissyHippo
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Garmin eTrex handheld GPS
6/16/2009

Customer review by beerman902

5.0 stars 6/16/2009 by beerman902
by beerman902

The item was just like it says in the add and works just like the book says. On top of all that it is very durable I KNOW, decided to take it with us one night just to see how well it would work so we went 4-wheeliin at night, my wife layed her 500 foreman on it's side and the gps fell out. After coming home at about 2am figured out that we lost the gps, so both of us left again on 4-wheelers and low and behold after about an hour came right up on it right where she layed the bike over. This is the good part the gps had a tire track across the whole thing but it wiped off and the gps was still on and tracking, picked it up wiped it off and away we went, and have used it numerous times since then. I don't know about anybody else but if you can run over it with a wheeler and it still work then you got yourself a good product.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
beerman902
Pitkin, La.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Geocaching GPS
6/29/2009

Customer review by Irishmom333

5.0 stars 6/29/2009 by Irishmom333
by Irishmom333

The eTrex H is very good for geocaching. It holds the signal very well when moving under tall trees, etc. I bought this specifically for geocaching and have not used it for anything else. It is excellent for my purposes. Very easy to use as my six year old can use it after I program the coordinates. Lots of family fun!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Irishmom333
Adel, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Hit the Spot
4/13/2010

Customer review by Ballplayer509

5.0 stars 4/13/2010 by Ballplayer509
by Ballplayer509

This product does exactly what it says. I bought it specifically for geo-caching, and it has put me right on top of the cache everytime I have used it. The price is great, and it is very easy to use. Entering waypoints is super easy. There are reviews out there that say that entering waypoints is a big hassle. Not at all! The battery life seems to be very good also. Overall, I have had no problems with this product. I would definitely recommend this gps to anyone who is looking for a great basic model.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ballplayer509
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
9/26/2009

Customer review by carpcatcher

4.0 stars 9/26/2009 by carpcatcher
by carpcatcher

I bought the ETrex to help me fish. I am a commercial fisherman and need to remember where I put out my hoop nets. This was just the ticket! It is so easy to use that even I after 10 minutes could work it. I have seen some GPS that take a rocket scientist to operate them. The price was low compared to many others and thar along with the fact it is waterproof is the reason I bought it. I am sure glad I did!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
carpcatcher
Morrison, ILL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great
11/27/2009

Customer review by tony02

5.0 stars 11/27/2009 by tony02
by tony02

I was hoping to get a chance to rate this product. I have used it extensively this deer season and don't know how I ever got along without one. I am not a high tech person and had no trouble at all learing to use this with the instructions provided. I found my way in and out of my hunting area, found my deer stands and used it to return to rubs and scrapes I came across with great accuracy. I also used it to locate downed deer by useing a grid search and going back continually to my starting point without any problem. I love this thing and it was very inexpensive...I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tony02
Harrington, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Value
4/23/2009

Customer review by gr8flnomad

5.0 stars 4/23/2009 by gr8flnomad
by gr8flnomad

I'm an avid outdoors person, boating, camping, hiking, and up untill now resisted using anything electronic to guide me on my trips. The low price and impressive list of features finally convinced me to break down and buy this unit, and I am very glad I did. Right out of the box I found the device easy to use and the instruction booklet easy to follow, and when I needed a function explained, I called the toll free Garmin customer service number and spoke with a real life person working right here in the good old U.S.A. The H model doesn't have any map features, which I don't miss, but navigates using GPS coordinates to get you where you want to go, and has tracking and waypoint marking features anybody would find useful, on land or on the water. I've used it to find offshore fishing spots, which worked flawlessly, and have used it to navigate a ten mile hike to a remote campsite. It's small enough to take anywhere, easy to use, and does more to help navigate with confidence than I ever could have expected. I'm sorry I waited so long to get one.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gr8flnomad
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
good geocaching toy
5/13/2009

Customer review by kinneykrew

5.0 stars 5/13/2009 by kinneykrew
by kinneykrew

We bought this cause it was waterproof and seemed a little tougher for the kids to geocache with. It has worked great. I think the price should be a little less. 59.99 new would be a fairer price.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kinneykrew
Douglas County, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good product for the price
9/6/2010

Customer review by BigAl437

5.0 stars 9/6/2010 by BigAl437
by BigAl437

This is a really good "basic" GPS. It's High Sensitivity really works great. Sometimes it's even faster at acquiring a signal than my Garmin Etrex Vista HCx. It even works great indoors, which some other basic models do not. I really enjoy how easy it is to use. I have tested it against my other Garmin mentioned above and it passed with flying colors. When I downloaded each track from both units onto my mapsource program they were almost identical. The trip computer kept accurate readings as well. This will be a great unit to use in the class I will be teaching this year to a group of Senior High Homeschool students. I will be teaching a class on Educaching to them where a basic GPS is essential. There are only a few problems I see with this unit. 1. You cannot download maps onto it. But then again maps are not that important for the class I am teaching. 2. It is also not really Geocaching friendly, but it does work for finding them. If you enter the cache cords it will get you close to the cache. It just does not keep track of your finds. 3. It also does not come with a cable to connect it to your PC. When you do purchase the cable you also have to purchase an adapter for that in order for it to connect to the PC. All in all it works great. It may not have all of the bells and whistles as the more expensive models, but it is well worth the money. I highly recommend this unit to all who need a basic GPS, or to all beginning Geocachers. You cannot beat the price for what you are getting.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigAl437
Dalton, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Garmin eTrex H Handheld GPS
12/18/2008

Customer review by SonDeployed

5.0 stars 12/18/2008 by SonDeployed
by SonDeployed

Have not received feedback yet from my son who is in Afganestan, but this is the model he requested. Said his friends have this and is much better than the junk they are receiving from Washington. Hope this helps to keep my son alive so someday soon he can bring it home to have fun with.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SonDeployed
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works Great After you figure it out
3/12/2011

Customer review by Pokemon

5.0 stars 3/12/2011 by Pokemon
by Pokemon

I will admit the paperwork needs to be corrected. It did not tell you how to program coordinates in the unit. I called Garmin tech support and the nice young man spent enough time to wall me through entering the data I wanted to. He also sent me to google maps to find conversions to different units. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to hike or find your way back from a hike. Garmin tech support had people who spoke English and were kind to senior citizens, low wait time too. WTG Garmin.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pokemon
US
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
8/5/2009

Customer review by scoobyboo

4.0 stars 8/5/2009 by scoobyboo
by scoobyboo

I use it for Geocaching. It is a good starter GPS.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scoobyboo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good for geocache
9/15/2010

Customer review by Mrfixit13662

3.0 stars 9/15/2010 by Mrfixit13662
by Mrfixit13662

Was hard to program the cordinates. But for the price, was reasonable buy.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mrfixit13662
Massena
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Basic GPS
11/9/2009

Customer review by Upstate13601

5.0 stars 11/9/2009 by Upstate13601
by Upstate13601

Took a long time to arrive through 97c shipping. Excellent GPS so far. Enable WAAS through "Options" for supposed better accuracy. To manually enter a point, first "Mark" your current point, then eidt the LAT & LONG. Great buy, highly recommended. I use in conjuction with Google Earth - you can pinpoint the LAT & LONG of where you want to go and/or where you've been - fun gadget.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Upstate13601
Watertown, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 176 total reviews
1-20 of 176 reviews