Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 78 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

78 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

78 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
48
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
1-20 of 67 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews
Brother XL3750
7/9/2008

Customer review by colorado67

5.0 stars 7/9/2008 by colorado67
by colorado67

After looking around online extensively I purchased this sewing machine. I needed a basic machine with not too many features but not the most basic machine...somewhere in the middle. I really like this machine. It is user friendly for a person who isnt a pro sewer. It was easy to thread, the needle even threads itself!! Bobbins are easy to wind, stitches are easy to change. The added arm for wider projects is a bonus too. I am very pleased with this sewing machine & am glad I purchased it!

Was this review helpful? (141) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
colorado67
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Wonderful!!
9/12/2007

Customer review by motherto4

5.0 stars 9/12/2007 by motherto4
by motherto4

My husband bought this sewing machine for me and I just made my first quilt with it. Never had a problem. Sews beautiful. I am very pleased with the performance of this machine.

Was this review helpful? (72) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
motherto4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Faulty
3/30/2011

Customer review by tsinveng

3.0 stars 3/30/2011 by tsinveng
by tsinveng

Like many other reviews, the machine worked well during the break-in period but it seemed a little louder than expected. It made a noticeable hammering sound that made it impossible to use while people were sleeping (shift work). I figured it was normal for this model. I also noticed that the pedal was lacking in an acceptable sensitivity. Lightly pressing on it did nothing and it would go from no speed to slightly faster than expected. The bobbin winder was also a bit on the stiff side and seemed to require force to push it over to activate it. The next day, I wound up with the tension problems that others have complained about. I researched as much as I could before I bought the machine and figured I'd take my chances. I even back-tracked and followed all the advice to no avail. I concluded that the machine must have been faulty and took it back. I would have simply exchanged it under normal circumstances but given the number of reviews that were too similar, I decided to go with something different altogether. Overall, this model simply struck me as poorly constructed and not worth a second chance. Gave it 3 stars due to the balance of the pros and cons Pros: Features and accessories Light-weight Simple to use and easy to thread Price Cons: No manual tension settings and faulty automatic tension adjustments Noisy Unacceptable pedal sensitivity Terribly designed holding tray (no drawer or pocket inside to securely store parts)

Was this review helpful? (60) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tsinveng
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
ok for thin fabric
1/23/2009

Customer review by mom2them

3.0 stars 1/23/2009 by mom2them
by mom2them

I got this sewing machine as a upgrade sewing machine. I have a brother XL5370. I liked all the different stitches this machine has. but I had problems with the zigzag stitch on medium weight fabric (2 thin layers of flannel). It would skip stitches when I tried to sew on velcro to a layer of cotton fabric. All the other stitches worked great. but I need the zigzag stitch to work. I returned this machine. and will just use my work horse brother (brother XL5370). this is a good machine for someone who ONLY sews with thin fabric.

Was this review helpful? (30) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mom2them
pittsburgh, pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect for advanced beginners and intermediates!
1/11/2013

Customer review by TurkTracy

5.0 stars 1/11/2013 by TurkTracy
by TurkTracy

This is my second Brother sewing machine, and I absolutely love it. I learned to sew on my first machine, but I found that I needed more functions and options as my skill level increased. This was the perfect choice for me. It has more functions than a basic machine, but it's not overly complicated (I'm still learning!). I've already sewn a dress, an apron, and a shirt on this machine. The bobbin compartment sits just below the needle and is covered by a clear door. I like this feature because I can tell when I'll need to refill the bobbin. It also has several different stitching styles at different lengths and widths. Compared to my last machine, this one has no tension issues (I think it adjusts automatically!). Switching threads is VERY easy and quick. Also, this machine includes an extra-long shelf attachment for larger projects (it totally comes in handy!). For someone with expert skills, this machine may be too basic ... but for advanced beginners and intermediates, I think this machine is great!

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TurkTracy
Vacaville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
So you want to sew
12/22/2007

Customer review by bfort44

1.0 stars 12/22/2007 by bfort44
by bfort44

I purchas this sewing maching because it had a lot of features I thought would make sewing easier. I did not have a good experience this model. After using it I put it in the case ans set ot on the floor, and when I went to use it again it was like some gremlin had gone in and changed all the settings. I could not get it to sew just a straight stitch no matter what I did. It would sew a beautiful stitch for about 3 or 4 inches them it would go crazy like it was out of gear and I was left to rip out the seam and start over. After 2 hours of this I gave up and took it back and got a different make and model. Would I reccomend this sewing maching? In a word NO! I have been sewing for 30+ years and have never had a maching act like this one did. Happy sewing.

Was this review helpful? (30) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bfort44
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Just what we were looking for
2/28/2011

Customer review by GuestReviewer

5.0 stars 2/28/2011 by GuestReviewer
by GuestReviewer

I bought this machine for my 8 year-old daughter who was asking for a sewing machine and who had just taken a sewing class. Originally she got a $40 small Singer but after the class we realized she could handle the regular sized machines and would work a lot better not to mention be sturdier. This machine does everything it says it can except thread the needle but we haven't tried too hard to figure that one out. Initially we had some problems with tension but after reading other reviews on Amazon on how to solve this problem then the problem is solved in just a few seconds. Basically be sure to insert bobbin in correct direction and thread/pull/hold the thread correctly and tight. I played around with the settings and since I hadn't used a machine in many years, I had a lot to read and figure out. I've written down what works for us. Also what helped was to write in pencil on the machine what each of the adjustments is (tension, length, and width). This really should be printed on the machine so that is my only complaint about the machine. My daughter loves trying out all of the stitches and has made 2 pillowcases so far. She sits down whenever she feels like it and plays around with it. I'm happy because now I have a machine to use too. No more mending by hand. Also, I bought this machine vs. a lower priced one because it has the extra bonus attachments and I figured if we needed even 2 of those, it would cost us the difference if you included shipping so why not get it to start with. I like that it is all white vs. the pink one we were thinking of getting. I don't think I'd want to look at bright pink for years to come. I have to mention too that ordering from Walmart was a great experience. It came faster than Amazon and even came a day earlier than the earliest estimated date. I had it shipped to my house although I could have had it shipped to the store for free. Well, I'm a casual user but I hope that this review has helped someone.

Was this review helpful? (25) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GuestReviewer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Great for all levels of sewers!
11/21/2010

Customer review by SemperFeistyWife

5.0 stars 11/21/2010 by SemperFeistyWife
by SemperFeistyWife

My husband bought me this machine for my birthday in July of 2010. I am a self-taught sewer and quilter, and this machine was a GREAT way to learn. With so many stitch functions and awesome features, it's been a fun journey! The manual is very helpful, well-written in both English and Spanish. The Brother XL-3750 is great for beginners and more experienced sewers! Every birthday, holiday or special occasion, I've made gifts for family and friends with great responses! I have really enjoyed my machine and will continue to use it every day!

Was this review helpful? (20) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SemperFeistyWife
Fallbrook, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Machine for the Price
6/20/2011

Customer review by dkaye

5.0 stars 6/20/2011 by dkaye
by dkaye

I purchased this machine after many hours of searching the internet and reading reviews. I was looking for something to replace my overused worn out machine. I settled on this particular machine vs the next lower model because it came with the "quilting table". I don't quilt, but I've used the table many times already. I'm glad I decided to "spring" for the quilting table. I read a few concerns about self threading needles, but it turns out if you read the instructions it works easily and perfectly everytime. The stitch is consistantly good, it even sews many layers without a problem. I can't say enough about how happy I am with this machine.

Was this review helpful? (25) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dkaye
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
What I wanted, what I got.
9/15/2010

Customer review by Antsy29

4.0 stars 9/15/2010 by Antsy29
by Antsy29

Going back to sewing after years away. I researched many products and decided on this one. It is exactly what it says it is! A bit noisy, you must read the manual to get it right, but I am very happy with it. Who needs 75 different stitches? I just need a work horse and got one. BTW, I write in pencil and add arrows all over the machine until I figure it out....

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Antsy29
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
WOW What a Dream
7/2/2010

Customer review by Grandma28X

5.0 stars 7/2/2010 by Grandma28X
by Grandma28X

I received this sewing machine as a gift from one of my daughters. And I have had it one week and have all ready put together two and a half quilt tops. I have owned several sewing machines in the last 50 years and this is the best. I wish I had had this as I was raising 6 daughters and two sons. It sews like a dream. I can't say enough about it and can't thank my daughter enough. This is a very special gift for no reason at all.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Grandma28X
Bastrop, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
JUNK!!
1/20/2013

Customer review by kso5002

1.0 stars 1/20/2013 by kso5002
by kso5002

After researching sewing machines for several weeks, I finally decided to buy this machine due to the range of functions and affordable price. I don't do a whole lot of sewing, just a few simple projects here and there and the occasional quilt top (I don't do the actual quilting) so this machine seemed like the best choice for me. I was WRONG. Many reviews talked about the machine jamming, even with the jam resistance. I figured I'd give it a try anyway. I can't sew anything on it. I read the instructions from front to back. I read the troubleshooting guide (no help for jamming). I re-threaded the top thread and re-did the bottom bobbin. Nothing helped. Straight stitch, zigzag stitch...still jammed. Returned it within several hours of opening the box. Do NOT waste your money on this machine.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kso5002
Wellsboro, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A winter coat this year
1/23/2009

Customer review by Benetton

5.0 stars 1/23/2009 by Benetton
by Benetton

Every year I can't seem to go out to buy a winter coat so I decided to buy a sewing machine from the famous Walmart.com Stores. I purchased this Brothers' Sewing Machine, and I can say that this machine was terrific in helping me complete a fancy decorative winter coat this year that I will wear and keep at least for two years. Thank you! Walmart. P.S. This Sewing Machine arrived also on the First day of the stated time frame. Thanks again!!! P.S.S. Also I enrolled in a sewing course that will help me to make more extravagant garments while learning about sewing machines and all their everyday uses.

Was this review helpful? (17) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Benetton
Philadelphia, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A M A T E U R
11/1/2010

Customer review by 1stTimeMomInLosAngeles

5.0 stars 11/1/2010 by 1stTimeMomInLosAngeles
by 1stTimeMomInLosAngeles

I am a beginner. I purchased this model after taking Sewing classes. It's pretty easy to use. Easy to thread the single needle (double takes a bit more patience). Simple and straigt to the point... Con: the dial to switch your thread pattern takes some getting use to. Other than that, I have no complaints...

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1stTimeMomInLosAngeles
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great machine!
6/28/2011

Customer review by Momto3pugs

5.0 stars 6/28/2011 by Momto3pugs
by Momto3pugs

My only issue with this machine (and it's MY issue, not the machine) is threading the needle. My close vision is not good and even with corrective lenses I can not see the hole in the needle. The needle threader has to be positioned just right to work and it takes me some time to get the needle threaded. I sure wish this was easier.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Momto3pugs
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Disappointed
3/7/2011

Customer review by youranswer

1.0 stars 3/7/2011 by youranswer
by youranswer

Unfortunately, I purchased this sewing machine. from the reviews, it seemed like a good basic unit. I ordered it online and had it delivered directly to my house, which was the best part of the order, but alas, after using (or trying to use) the machine for less then 15 minutes, it decided to start making a horrible grinding sort of noise and just wouldn't sew. Needless to say, it will be going back and I am back in the market for a quality machine.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
youranswer
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Absolutely Great
5/21/2011

Customer review by SewAnnieSew

4.0 stars 5/21/2011 by SewAnnieSew
by SewAnnieSew

This Sewing Machine is Amazing. I absolutely love it has worked great. There is only one problem I have found with it and that is when it is doing a button whole it tends to get stuck on the third step but if you walk it through by hand it does just fine. I love all the accesories and tools it comes with they save you alot of money when you need them. Highly recomend it for anyone who is beginning or some one who has been sewing for years. Great Machine.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SewAnnieSew
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Not a quilters machine
3/25/2009

Customer review by crkathleen

3.0 stars 3/25/2009 by crkathleen
by crkathleen

I've had this machine for about 2-3 weeks now. I have made a baby quilt on it from start to finish. It's an excellent sewing machine but not a quilter's sewing machine. There is NOT enough throat space. I could barely get half the quilt under it to do some free motion quilting. Would I buy this machine again? Yes, just because of the price. I will have to learn the quilt as you go technique or try stitch in the ditch. (I have not tried any other stitch function other than straight stich).

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crkathleen
Carol Stream, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Just What I Needed
9/3/2010

Customer review by mainehomeshopper

5.0 stars 9/3/2010 by mainehomeshopper
by mainehomeshopper

I was desperate when my sewing machine died in the middle of a project and when looking in stores I didn't like what I saw. I did some searching on-line and took a chance. This machine came quickly and I LOVE it! It is easy to use and I love the needle threader and extra attachments.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mainehomeshopper
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Easy to Use, even for a beginner
1/9/2011

Customer review by craftsNquilts

4.0 stars 1/9/2011 by craftsNquilts
by craftsNquilts

I needed an entry level machine to make Christmas quilts for my family. Something that was easy to use, but with a few extras, and that would last. I do crafts & basic sewing projects. It's exactly what I needed, and I had no issues with bobbin threading, or tension settings. This is a great first machine for those who need a simple yet functional machine. I gave this machine a not so great durability rating because the self threading device quit working, and I now have to manually thread the needle.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
craftsNquilts
california
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews