Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 71 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

71 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

71 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

99%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
51
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 55 total reviews
99%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 55 total reviews
1-20 of 55 reviews
Lodge is Great
10/16/2010

Customer review by DJM159

5.0 stars 10/16/2010 by DJM159
by DJM159

This oblong press is perfect for grilled ham and cheese sandwiches cooked on a stove top griddle. It fits on two sandwiches at the same time and acts like a panini press without the expense of the panini grill.

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DJM159
Coral Springs, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Does the job well.
9/10/2009

Customer review by CookLikeYouLive

4.0 stars 9/10/2009 by CookLikeYouLive
by CookLikeYouLive

As with all Lodge products, this one does what it is intended to do and much more. The weight and size are good and if you need a larger press then get the round one. The only fault I find is that the screws to attach the handle go all the way through the press which results in food/grease getting caught and accumulating unless you disassemble periodically. Otherwise, great product.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CookLikeYouLive
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Needs to be larger
8/31/2010

Customer review by PatriotBooks

4.0 stars 8/31/2010 by PatriotBooks
by PatriotBooks

The Grill Press came with some simple assembly required. I'm a little concerned about the steel screws' ability to last, but if they should deteriorate, it wouldn't be very difficult to replace them. My only real problem with the Press is that it is too small to cover a strip of bacon. I have to cut the strips in half, but then the Press covers only three of the half strips. I'll probably purchase another unit, and use them in tandem. The wire handle does stay cool for quite a while, but will get quite warm after a while, though not so hot that it can't be used. Overall, I like the Grill Press and plan on getting another.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PatriotBooks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lodge @ Wal Mart
4/17/2016

Customer review by eclipsetoffee

5.0 stars 4/17/2016 by eclipsetoffee
by eclipsetoffee

If you like Lodge products, as I do, Wal Mart is the best place to buy Lodge new. I was shocked to see the difference in product prices but, hands down, Wal Mart is the place to buy and so glad I discovered it at the store and on line. A fantastic cost savings.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eclipsetoffee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Value on Bacon Press
3/12/2011

Customer review by CookandHunt

5.0 stars 3/12/2011 by CookandHunt
by CookandHunt

Great bacon press. A good value when I purchased it. I really like the coiled metal handle and flat surface without the pig picture as some presses have. I had another press with a wooden handle and they don't work well in a grill. This is one is perfect. Good product.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CookandHunt
Humble, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Great Product
3/3/2010

Customer review by DDair

5.0 stars 3/3/2010 by DDair
by DDair

Very useful and is nicely constructed Great press as you would expect with cast iron! I like the handle.American made too.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DDair
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Does the Job
12/28/2010

Customer review by oldandcrotchety

5.0 stars 12/28/2010 by oldandcrotchety
by oldandcrotchety

It's kind of hard to review a flat piece of iron with a handle on it. It does what it is designed to do very well and looks pretty good doing it. Other than that, what can I say? Lodge products are always dependable and durable. What can go wrong with iron? I use this press mostly for hot sandwiches and cuts of meat. Haven't used it on bacon yet, but I can't imagine it not doing it's job. It does look pretty cool, resting on a 2x8 block of wood next to the range top.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oldandcrotchety
Paris, Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/25/2008

Customer review by whocareswhatever

4.0 stars 9/25/2008 by whocareswhatever
by whocareswhatever

Its a little smaller than you think you can only cover one hamburger at a time on a grill, which is where I use it. While it is well made the handle is metal and gets very hot during use so you must use something to grab it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
whocareswhatever
Philpot, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Perfect for my grilled sandwhiches
5/12/2016

Customer review by HugoYugo

4.0 stars 5/12/2016 by HugoYugo
by HugoYugo

There has been some discussion on this forum about the screws being too long, therefore making the handle wobbly when assembled. The screws are not too long. What you need is a lot of strength, a 3/8 inch box end wrench and a long, heavy duty slot screwdriver. A pair of pliers and a small slot screwdriver will not do the job. Mine is assembled and solid.

HugoYugo
Lambton Shores, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT PRODUCT THAT JUST HAPPENS TO BE USA MADE
1/15/2014

Customer review by kiefersdad

5.0 stars 1/15/2014 by kiefersdad
by kiefersdad
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

HOLDS BACON FLAT AND IS HEAVY ENOUGH THAT MY KIDS WILL BE ABLE TO USE IT LONG AFTER I'M GONE. I ALSO GOT THE ROUND ONE. BEST PRICE FOR LODGE ANYWHERE.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kiefersdad
MILTON, FLORIDA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/14/2013

Customer review by goldie49962

4.0 stars 7/14/2013 by goldie49962
by goldie49962
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

it works pretty good but sometimes the bacon sticks to it. so I sprayed it with a non stick cooking spray.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
goldie49962
michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
nice
3/2/2014

Customer review by BleuWillow

4.0 stars 3/2/2014 by BleuWillow
by BleuWillow
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Keeps bacon and steaks flat, no curling.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BleuWillow
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
it is too small to cover bacon! unless
9/27/2015

Customer review by abearwhocares

3.0 stars 9/27/2015 by abearwhocares
by abearwhocares
Top 10 contributor

you cut the strips in half before cooking-- clever! of lodge so people will buy 2 of them! ok for a single hamburger patty or 1 small sandwich. the larger [ more expensive ] round one is a better choice for several bacon strips in a skillet-- but bacon will stick to the cast iron if you don't pre grease the metal press before use. flattens bacon but it is still a bit of hassle to use and bacon grease splatters everywhere as you can't use a skillet cover over the press due to the handle. [ handle must be attached after purchase so you need some simple tools.] handy but more work to clean yet another greasy tool.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
abearwhocares
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 10 contributor
Great product for the price
3/4/2014

Customer review by Veripleased

5.0 stars 3/4/2014 by Veripleased
by Veripleased
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I liked this hamburger press so much, I bought two of them. One for me and one for my mom. It is just the right size and weight. You can use it in many ways for all kinds of meats to hold them flat when frying. I use mine to keep large hamburger steaks browning perfectly. It keeps them flat with no puffing up or edge curl. Great product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Veripleased
Raleigh, North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best deal out there!
10/18/2008

Customer review by Thalassatx

5.0 stars 10/18/2008 by Thalassatx
by Thalassatx

Everyone knows Lodge makes the best cast iron products out there. But Wal-Mart has the best prices, BY FAR. This grill press, or bacon press as I call it, runs $30 everywhere else. Wal-Mart does it again!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thalassatx
Euless, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Looks Good
7/15/2009

Customer review by classicrockgriller

5.0 stars 7/15/2009 by classicrockgriller
by classicrockgriller

This is a multi-use tool. I wish it was a little bigger but I just bought another so my problem is solved. It also looks great in the kitchen. Great conversation piece.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
classicrockgriller
Livingston, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/16/2013

Customer review by yackityscmackity

5.0 stars 5/16/2013 by yackityscmackity
by yackityscmackity
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

amazing! I don't know how I ever lived with out it!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yackityscmackity
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cook's Assistant
11/15/2014

Customer review by MsMamme

5.0 stars 11/15/2014 by MsMamme
by MsMamme

I purchased this grill press and a round one as well. I had owned them once and I'm not really sure what happened to them (probably lost them when I moved) and when I accidently stumbled on them while surfing the web, I jumped on them and ordered them both! For those who have never used one, it helps to press the grease out of bacon, sausage, steak as well as helps to retain the heat, thus allowing the foods to cook faster. I am so glad to find Lodge and the products that they manufacture. Most people don't like or refuse to use cast iron! I love it!!!! And plan to purchase more of their products.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MsMamme
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great little gadget
8/29/2010

Customer review by becchiball

5.0 stars 8/29/2010 by becchiball
by becchiball

The Lodge bacon press that I purchased online is a fantastic addition to my cast iron cooking collection. It is priced almost 1/3 of what it would cost buying directly from Lodge or any high end camping store. Shipping to the store was free and picking it up was a breeze. I've used it as a sandwich press, as well as a bacon press. The handle keeps your hands from getting burned. The remaining cast iron pieces that I'm planning to buy will be done online, if available - if not I'll buy them at my local Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
becchiball
Framingham, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Smooth bottom !
11/26/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/26/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

It took us a while to find a cast iron grill press with a smooth underside. Most seem to have grooves or some sort of pattern cut into them. This works great and came pre-seasoned. It's easy to clean, and a compact size and shape easy to store. Purchase thru Walmart.com using "ship to store" was free, quick, and easy to pick up in the store during our next visit.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 55 total reviews
1-20 of 55 reviews