Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 308 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

308 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

308 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
172
4 stars
84
3 stars
17
2 stars
15
1 stars
20
1-20 of 264 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 264 total reviews
1-20 of 264 reviews
It works, but don't get it for the stand...
7/2/2010

Customer review by Devander

4.0 stars 7/2/2010 by Devander
by Devander

This trimmer is great for the price. It's cheap, but it works. This was the first beard trimmer I have ever bought, and the instructions that it came with were very helpful in explaining how to get a good trim with this trimmer. However, the stand it's supposed to sit in is terribly designed. If you try and fit all the parts the trimmer comes with into the stand you will find that many parts just plain don't have a place for them. It honestly seems like the designer made the stand without even knowing what parts were going to be included. It's just ridiculous overall when you try to use it. Maybe 5 minutes after opening the package I tossed the base into the garbage. Luckily, the trimmer comes with a travel bag, which I use to store all of the parts and trimmer when not in use. BOTTOM LINE: Maybe I don't know any better because this is my first beard trimmer, but this thing does the job for $20. Just don't expect the base to be worth anything.

Was this review helpful? (56) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Devander
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Easy to use
8/8/2009

Customer review by CC50

4.0 stars 8/8/2009 by CC50
by CC50

Decent product for the price. Seems to hold a charge very well. Gives a nice close cut to the beard as well as good on shaping of the beard/goatee. Easy to hold and handle. Only complaint would be that the snap on guides are a bit difficult to remove at times. Over all though, very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (67) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CC50
Romeoville, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
10/22/2013

Customer review by walmartman62

5.0 stars 10/22/2013 by walmartman62
by walmartman62

WAHL makes a great product. I had to replace my old WAHL mustache trimmer after a decade or so. Online to Wal-Mart and presto ! The trimmer came within a couple of days. The only drawback, and it's a minor one, it's a little noisy. But, I swear, you could mow your lawn with this trimmer. It's the best mustache trimmer I have ever owned. Comes with plenty of attachments and this trimmer doesn't take batteries like my old one...it's RECHARABLE ! Super !

Was this review helpful? (52) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
walmartman62
Fort Fairfield, maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
A Good Trimmer for the Money
1/30/2011

Customer review by ComparesB4Buying2

4.0 stars 1/30/2011 by ComparesB4Buying2
by ComparesB4Buying2

Many already wrote reviews about the Wahl Beard Trimmer model 9918-6171; however, most, while still applicable, were written in 2009. After a great deal of comparison and review shopping, I just purchased this model for myself (Jan. 2011) as an after-Christmas gift upon deciding that I again wanted to grow out a goatee (which has a large effect on the usefulness of my review compared to those with thick full beards who want to use the trimmer). The enclosed extras are listed in the product's description on Walmart's site. The trimmer body is made of solid metal with a rubber grip - very sturdy compared to plastic counterparts. As said in previous posts, the guides are rather flimsy. Especially with concern to the stubble, medium, and full-length guide, you have to bend them around the trimmer blade to secure them. You also have to press what I will call "snap points" on the guides into the sides of the trimmer blade. The "snap points" must be completely aligned and snapped into two recesses on either side of the trimmer blade - otherwise prepare for an unexpectedly close/uneven shave. With care and attention, you won't run into this problem. I do expect these guides to break at some point, as plastic becomes brittle with age, but for under $17, I don't mind the risk. I have not used the 6-position guide; however, after testing how well it holds a chosen position by putting the guide on the trimmer blade and pressing on the guide (with the trimmer off), the 6-position guide seems to hold well. Keep in mind, similar to other inexpensive trimmer guides, it is a friction-based guide with nothing to hold it on but the guide material. Eventually, with extensive use, the guide may not hold as well as it did on day 1. However, when I once had a somewhat thicker beard, I had trimmer guides like this one last the life of the trimmer (based on finding a setting I liked and keeping it there). The travel case is a very flimsy thin (and what will likely later turn out to be be brittle) piece of plastic. However, it is a nice addition given the price. While you can fit all the extras in the bag along with the trimmer and the instructions, you cannot fit the charger in the bag with everything else in it. I wish the bag would be big enough to hold the charger. However, it was more or less a freebie, so I can't really complain. Of course, it goes without saying the trimmer base will not fit in the bag. Speaking of the trimmer base, it is similar to the bases of other inexpensive trimmers I've owned in the past - thin and lightweight plastic that serves its purpose. I've never had a base that holds all the trimmer extras. While nice to have, again given the price, this base is no different. I like to have everything in one place. This trimmer comes with a blade protector. I have a younger son and keep the trimmer (unplugged) on my bathroom counter-top. Originally, after each use, I would carefully remove the medium guide and put the blade protector on. I no longer do this, as I don't want to break the medium guide. So, I leave the medium guide on but have no place on the base to put the blade protector - minor inconvenience. I put the protector in the storage bag as well as the instructions and charger (the latter of which took some finesse) and store them in a cabinet under the sink. The other guides, oil, comb, and trimmer cleaning brush (BTW, the trimmer cleans very easily) all have a spot for them on the base. Note that the handle of the comb can slide through an opening on the bottom of the base - again, a minor inconvenience. Put the base on your counter-top (or wherever) and then put the accessories in the base. As a side-note, the 6-position guide very loosely hangs on the right side of the base. Don't jar the base too much, and it won't be a big issue. The remaining guides fit loosely in compartments on top of the base. It's not pretty, but it's functional. The biggest selling point to me, accessory-wise, was the adapter and the fact that you can use the trimmer while you charge it. The trimmer holds a charge well - so far. I charged the trimmer once (four weeks ago) and have used it once a week for about 15-min each time (on a goatee) without having to charge the trimmer. The charge would deplete faster when trimming a full beard. That said, I just trimmed my goatee (again, 4 weeks from purchase date); and, the charge is just as strong as day 1. Those with full beards would be able to offer better feedback on how well the trimmer holds a charge when trimming a full beard. I don't notice a difference in trimming power plugged or unplugged, but again, I only use the trimmer for a goatee. I've seen in previous posts that some with full beards are not happy with the trimmer, which wouldn't surprise me a great deal as I'll explain in a moment. With regard to trimming, the trimmer does what it is designed to do - it trims. It is called a beard and mustache trimmer; however, I'm not sure how well it would trim beards, as it seems to struggle somewhat with my close-crop goatee. Please note that I do have course hair, which plays a role in the trimmer struggling. I've never had an inexpensive trimmer that didn't struggle with my goatee at least a little. The degree to which it trims is satisfactory given the trimmer's price. I do not let my goatee grow too long (maybe 3/4 inch at most). At that point it tends to bother me and I know it's time for a trim. I then use the medium length guide to bring things under control once more (to roughly a 1/4 inch). Even on day 1, the trimmer pulled hair. This hasn't gotten better or worse. I'm not quite sure how well the trimmer "self-sharpens" as is noted on the packaging and in the product's description. Maybe the fact that it doesn't pull hair anymore now than it did out-of-the-box serves as testimony to how well the trimmer does self-sharpen. In addition, you do have to pass over the same spot more than once; but, as long as you take this into account before trimming and leave time enough to trim well, it's only a minor inconvenience - at least for those with close-crop mustaches, goatees, and (possibly) a close-crop beard. Overall, I'm not sure that this trimmer would be good for those with thick full beards or those with intentions of growing and trimming a thick full beard - based solely on the fact that it pulls the hair on my close-crop goatee and that you have to pass over the same spot multiple times to get an even trim. If you want to trim a thick full beard, in my humble opinion, pay for a better (professional-grade) trimmer. A good beard is a long-term investment that you don't want ruined by the wrong trimmer. Those I know with full beards prefer professional barber-grade wired trimmers. However, and I want to end on the good note that I believe this trimmer deserves, I think that the trimmer is good for cleaning up goatees, defining lines, maintaining a "three-day (or slightly more)" growth look, and (possibly) for closely-cropped beards (we're not talking Grizzly Adams here - for the younger folk, Google him). You simply cannot beat the price and all the extras it offers. In addition, you can use the trimmer plugged in or not. So even when (and it will inevitably happen - Wahl says 3-5 years) the battery dies, you should be able to continue using the trimmer plugged in - assuming your blade is still good. I haven't seen this option anywhere else for under $17. Based on the pro's and the price of the trimmer, I believe that the Wahl 9918-6171 mustache/goatee trimmer is a good trimmer for the money. I hope you do to.

Was this review helpful? (46) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ComparesB4Buying2
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great price for my needs
11/3/2013

Customer review by dijatlfoto

5.0 stars 11/3/2013 by dijatlfoto
by dijatlfoto

I was concerned that it might cut too short even at the longest settings but it didn't. I wanted to grow my beard a little longer and it did a good job of thinning and shaping even at the middle setting. Glad I bought this one.

Was this review helpful? (29) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dijatlfoto
Houston, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic Trimmer for Mustache, Beard, and Head!
4/5/2014

Customer review by KB24Fan57

5.0 stars 4/5/2014 by KB24Fan57
by KB24Fan57

As my hair thinned out and me being African-American I found the necessity to keep my hair short and I purchased a battery operated trimmer to shave my head without the discomfort and razor bumps that occur with a razor. This Wahl trimmer is just the tool for someone who wants their head kept short shy of a razor shave. This trimmer comes with a 3 year warranty from Wahl, and is a great steal for the price and quality! Get yourself one today! I did!

Was this review helpful? (30) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KB24Fan57
Lompoc, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what I expected
3/22/2008

Customer review by labc13

1.0 stars 3/22/2008 by labc13
by labc13

I bought one like this about 3 years ago and it worked like a dream. So now, i thought i wanted to go into another 3 years of shaving heaven. But this new one is nothing like the older one. It has weak strength and can't go into beards, not even when it's plugged in. So i went back to my old one.

Was this review helpful? (22) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
labc13
Oakland, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great Product
9/25/2009

Customer review by SomeRandomNickname

5.0 stars 9/25/2009 by SomeRandomNickname
by SomeRandomNickname

Nice trimmer...I mainly bought it because it can be used while plugged in. Great product especially for the price.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SomeRandomNickname
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Do no like
2/3/2009

Customer review by Dewter

5.0 stars 2/3/2009 by Dewter
by Dewter

The ordering and receiving if the product was quick and easy. The product is good but it pulles as it shaves. I tried putting oil on it and it still pulls.

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dewter
Johnstown, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Loud next to my ear but works well
7/7/2014

Customer review by Walktothestore

5.0 stars 7/7/2014 by Walktothestore
by Walktothestore

Stuff some toilet paper in your ears and trim that beard! This trimmer replaced a much older version of WAHL groomsman that I finally wore out. Nice sharp blades and lots of cutting guides. I like it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Walktothestore
Pasadena, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Won't cut mustache
1/9/2012

Customer review by Alldenid

1.0 stars 1/9/2012 by Alldenid
by Alldenid

I have had a thick mustache for most of 43 years. I bought the Wahl for the name and price. It was a waste of my money. I tried and tried to trim my mustache but it would not cut my mustache hair. It works fine trimming my dog's hair. I bought the Remington MB200 (available Walmart online only) for less money and after my first trim, I think it is the best trimmer I have ever owned.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alldenid
Lake Havasu City, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
the best trimmer i ever had
11/13/2013

Customer review by bigguy32970

5.0 stars 11/13/2013 by bigguy32970
by bigguy32970

i've had a couple other trimmers and they were cheaply made and weak. i didn't know this was made of metal it was charged when it got here it has a powerful motor i shaved my head with it and it's still going the other ones i've had barely make it through a shaving

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigguy32970
jacksonville, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good, but do not let soak!!
6/21/2014

Customer review by DragoonMoogle

4.0 stars 6/21/2014 by DragoonMoogle
by DragoonMoogle

For the price I paid, this trimmer is awesome. This product works wonders on my face and body without cutting skin. Sometimes the changeable head falls off but I'm careful enough to expect it. Easy to use without much direction. The only flaw is that neither the blade nor the steel, are stainless and will rust if washed or rinsed with water! Always use hydrogen peroxide or shaver cleaner!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DragoonMoogle
Farmington, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Scalps on lower settings
8/20/2011

Customer review by Hiyall

2.0 stars 8/20/2011 by Hiyall
by Hiyall

If you use this for a short trim on settings 1 or 2, it will leave scalped patches. I'll be looking for another model. Also, when I bought this one the blade was attached at an angle and I actually had to take it apart and fix it in order to use it. After one year the battery runs out very quickly. Wahl has slowly gone from good to not-so-great. I'm moving on to another brand.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hiyall
TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Finally!
9/8/2013

Customer review by jamaicabuoy

5.0 stars 9/8/2013 by jamaicabuoy
by jamaicabuoy

I had a Wahl clipper that went out 2 years ago and I mailed it out for repairs to have it replaced by another one which rendered defective a month ago. I saw this Wahl Beard Trimmer on line, read most of the reviews and decided to buy it. While I was waiting for it to come in the mail I tried three other clippers(two Wahl and one Remington) all of which I bought at the other Retailer but had to return, each, the very next day because they are ineffective on a black man's skin for that close trim or shave. This Wahl Beard Trimmer met and exceeded my expectations. I also use it to shave my entire head bald. I love the fact that I can use it with or without the cord. I might very well buy a second one. The price is quite attractive and it would serve as a great gift.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jamaicabuoy
Houston, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great product for the price
6/24/2014

Customer review by DCTruth

4.0 stars 6/24/2014 by DCTruth
by DCTruth

This trimmer has an extraordinarily strong motor; however, the trimming head is a bit small and the accessory storage stand is useless. You need to buy a separate box to store them. On the plus side, it works with power cord or battery. All in all, I would recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DCTruth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product!!!!!
2/9/2014

Customer review by Tj5481

4.0 stars 2/9/2014 by Tj5481
by Tj5481

I bought this product for my husband. He loves it. It is easy to use and is great that you can use it cordless or corded. The attachments are easy to use also. It is self sharpening which I have found to be hard to find in a small clipper, unless you want to pay professional prices. We have another wahl full size clippers and have been using it for almost 10 years now and it has held up and I am sure that this wahl product will to. They make great quality products for low prices.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tj5481
Dover, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Decent Trimmer
9/16/2014

Customer review by elChangoRojo

4.0 stars 9/16/2014 by elChangoRojo
by elChangoRojo

My only drawback on this was figuring out how to snap on the adjustable length attachment. Other than that it works great! As you would expect the cutting power decreases as the battery level gets low, but I only noticed that after charging it and leaving it sitting for a week. So when the battery is low don't try to trim any long hairs. I've seen lots of people ask about using trimmers like this for cutting hair, don't expect that with this one. It is fairly narrow so cutting a full head of hair would be arduous. I love that it is rechargeable and comes with a stand to hold some of the accessories. It can charge while in the stand. But as I said, only some of the accessories can be held in it. Great value!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
elChangoRojo
Auburn, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/3/2011

Customer review by dewdew1

5.0 stars 12/3/2011 by dewdew1
by dewdew1

Present for my son, he loves it, the value for the price was great also. The only thing that would make it better would be to have had a nose trimmer included with beard trimmer. He wanted both battery and electric choices with a pouch and this was the only one with all these. thank you.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dewdew1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's loud but works good
5/28/2014

Customer review by threeact

5.0 stars 5/28/2014 by threeact
by threeact

I like the plug-in feature. I use it to shave & it leave less scruff than I would have thought. It got a lot closer than I anticipated; which is good. I also use it for sideburns & the attachments work great. The build quality seems good, the stand can't hold everything but that's OK. Last but not least:I LIKE THE PLUG-IN FEATURE. That's why I bought it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
threeact
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 264 total reviews
1-20 of 264 reviews