Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 146 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

146 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

146 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

99%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
124
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 123 total reviews
99%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 123 total reviews
1-20 of 123 reviews
Surprisingly versatile.
8/10/2007

Customer review by dokily

5.0 stars 8/10/2007 by dokily
by dokily

I bought this camera one week after it came out. I wanted something with features of a Digital SLR, but without having to reach for a different lens to change if a different setting crops up. You could actually miss the shot with a Digital SLR doing that. My main decision in buying was what batteries it took and memory card. With AA, you can buy these anywhere. No special and expensive battery to buy. Uses SD cards which are widely available and less expensive than other types. The only things that are negative is the memory card is located with the battery area on the bottom. No Bulb function. Only 1.5 fps shooting. Pluses are has a hot shoe, can be remotely controlled by computer, A LOT of shooting configurations including a custom setting. Down to zero Macro focus. Can add wide angle and telephoto lenses for even wider range with the use of an adapter (can also use screw on filters then!). You can completely customize this camera to yourself. So in summary, can be used as a simple point and shoot camera for those who don't care to know all the variations or can be done with settings that are as professional as it gets. A great camera and have NO regrets in buying this. 1 image of LCD screen with some options displayed. 1 image of Camera with optional adapter (I installed additional Canon logos), filter, and wide lens installed (would remove filter for lens use, but included just for photographic purposes).

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dokily
Champlain, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The BEST camera, hands down!
9/16/2007

Customer review by Kriss

5.0 stars 9/16/2007 by Kriss
by Kriss

I'm a professional photographer by day, and was looking for a high-quality point & shoot camera, for the times when I don't want to lug my DSLR around. This one has it all!!! It shoots clear pictures in rich, vivid colors. The 12x zoom is phenomenal, and stays clear at all lengths. And the macro features are better than any other camera on the market. Best of all, it feels very comfortable in my hands (the small "pocket cameras" allow way too much camera shake, IMHO). I bought a dreadful Sony DSC-W80, and returned it after taking 200+ disappointing photos. This one is the whole package. Advanced features, easy to use, and GORGEOUS photos. I recommend it to everyone, from amateur photogs to professional friends.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kriss
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Our Second Digital Camera
10/20/2007

Customer review by cjandbull

5.0 stars 10/20/2007 by cjandbull
by cjandbull

We purchased the Canon S5 IS to take on vacation. The camera is great! Just remember to bring extra batteries, since the camera seems to like them very much! We are very pleased with the pictures taken with the camera. We would recommend the Canon S5 IS! Very user friendly.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cjandbull
Aurora IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Canon S5
11/11/2007

Customer review by Erick46

5.0 stars 11/11/2007 by Erick46
by Erick46

This is quite the camera for this price. Its' features and expandability are comaparable to some other very expensive units. I'd recommend the S5 to anyone who wants a quality product, at a very reasonable price

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Erick46
Vestal, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great!
11/26/2007

Customer review by mrmpd

5.0 stars 11/26/2007 by mrmpd
by mrmpd

We love this camera! We recently decided that it was time to grow up and try to use a more advanced camera -- this has been great for us because it's easy and takes beautiful photos. So far, we've used it to take portraits, wild life, action and just regular life. The final photos have been awesome! And, we know it's the camera -- because the photographers haven't changed. We would recommend this to anyone wanting to take the next step.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrmpd
Murrieta, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Fun Thing
4/5/2008

Customer review by Windwalker45

5.0 stars 4/5/2008 by Windwalker45
by Windwalker45

We have used the camera a lot and have enjoyed it. The wife is a picture buff, and says its the best one she's had so far, we are thinking of getting a wide lens for it.but we both are very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Windwalker45
Hastings NE.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
NICE!!!
4/4/2008

Customer review by FarmingWithOlivers

5.0 stars 4/4/2008 by FarmingWithOlivers
by FarmingWithOlivers

Walmart's shipping was fast and smooth. The camera came in excellent shape. Canon has made another great product. I have had several digital cameras but this is the best. It is very easy to use for a novice and has all the features for the professional. The hotshoe for the flash is a nice feature as well. With an external flash you get the light you need for distant photos in a darkened room. I really like the video feature. The video this camera takes is as good, if not better, than my video camera. I bought a 4 gig memory card so that I can use it for video along with my photography. You will not be disappointed! The first attached photo was taken using full zoom with the camera set on automatic while holding it in my hands as a test right out of the box. The photo was taken at over 100 feet. The second photo is without zoom and camera set on automatic. I am a novice :-)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FarmingWithOlivers
Thurmont, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Exactly what I needed
4/10/2008

Customer review by IMeanBusiness

5.0 stars 4/10/2008 by IMeanBusiness
by IMeanBusiness

I read a lot of reviews on cameras and asked a lot of advice from experienced/professionals. I am very satisfied with the product and am not at all dismayed by the lense cap always falling off. (nothing can be absolutely perfect) I am using this camera in a professional setting and feel very confident in my purchase. When I am ready to buy a "back up" camera in the very near future I will be glad to purchase it again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IMeanBusiness
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera
10/14/2007

Customer review by Lookn4sales

5.0 stars 10/14/2007 by Lookn4sales
by Lookn4sales

This is a very easy to use camera. Lightweight, so it doesn't pull on your neck after a short time. The night shots are great.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lookn4sales
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Camera!!
1/22/2008

Customer review by ShopsSoMuch

5.0 stars 1/22/2008 by ShopsSoMuch
by ShopsSoMuch

I love this camera. It is very easy to use, and takes great pictures. My only problem is remembering to raise the flash, and I am sure I will get used to that, and it flashes on the screen to remind you to raise the flash, so your picture isn't ruined.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShopsSoMuch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
a very good camera
11/20/2007

Customer review by walkat

4.0 stars 11/20/2007 by walkat
by walkat

We received it as a gift and have been very happy with it. Great product, amazing pictures, very easy to handle, lightweight, professional results. The only concern is battery life, so i would recommend you buy rechargeables.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
walkat
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Canon MP 8 is great
11/27/2007

Customer review by Zer505

4.0 stars 11/27/2007 by Zer505
by Zer505

I like the Canon MP 8 camera because it is very easy to use with professional results. The electronic view finder saves battery power by not having to use the large LCD view finder. I like the pop up flash but it would be nice if it had a lock so it doesn't come open so easily. The lense cap seems to not want to stay on and if you bump it, it tends falls off easily, there is a cord that attaches it to the camera (good thing). The controls are easy to use and the 8.0 MP photos are great and are high quality. My printer can print photos up to 8 X 10 and the images stay sharp and the colors are bright and saturated.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zer505
Gallup, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love the Camera
12/22/2007

Customer review by Ryno

5.0 stars 12/22/2007 by Ryno
by Ryno

I have had two digital cameras prior to this purchase. This camera blows them away. Well worth the extra money to buy this camera compared to a $150 cheaper model. I am still learning because this camera does so much, but you can make it as complicated or simple as you want it. The extra features are really neat (for lack of a better term). The color accent feature is my favorite. If you are looking to step up to a nicer camera, this is it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ryno
Jasper, In
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great Gift
12/22/2007

Customer review by PhotoMom07

5.0 stars 12/22/2007 by PhotoMom07
by PhotoMom07

I bought this product as a gift for my daughter. She is an avid photographer and this camera will take her to the next level with her skills.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PhotoMom07
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love this camera!
1/24/2008

Customer review by StacyLynn225

5.0 stars 1/24/2008 by StacyLynn225
by StacyLynn225

I love this camera. I've had 2 canon SLR's in the past and a few different point and shoot digital cameras and decided to try out a more in depth digital camera. I haven't had much chance to use this camera yet...just a few pictures around the house...but I haven't found anything about it that I don't like. The color accent feature is neat to work with too. We're going on vacation in 2 weeks so I should have a good feel for it after that. I still don't think I will have many negative things to say. The quality of pictures when zooming in on things is amazing!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StacyLynn225
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very easy to use and takes wonderful pictures
12/24/2007

Customer review by Headstartisgreat

5.0 stars 12/24/2007 by Headstartisgreat
by Headstartisgreat

I love this digital camera...I told my husband that I didn't need one because I love my old film camera, but I haven't stopped using it since I got it. It takes wonderfully clear pictures and it is user friendly and easy to use. I love that you can take mini videos on it as well. We recently adopted a child three months ago so we are taking pictures all the time!! I would recommend this product and it has exceeded my expectations!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Headstartisgreat
Vermillion, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome camera
3/31/2008

Customer review by jillybeans

5.0 stars 3/31/2008 by jillybeans
by jillybeans

This Camera is Awesome! It has so many great features. It is perfect for everyday use, but also can take very high quality Photos. I could not be happier with this camera. I researched several different cameras before I decided to buy this one. I know I made the right choice! I love this camera!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jillybeans
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
PowerShot
1/28/2008

Customer review by raidernation06

5.0 stars 1/28/2008 by raidernation06
by raidernation06

This camera takes some of the best pictures i have seen out of an advanced point and shoot, and some SLR cameras too! This camera is worth every penny and then some. Fairly user friendly. Shoots excellent video. Very happy with the camera! Would recommend to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
raidernation06
clarinda
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Impressive so far
1/29/2008

Customer review by sportsnana

5.0 stars 1/29/2008 by sportsnana
by sportsnana

Very pleased so far with performance, features and zoom capability.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sportsnana
Mineola, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
First Canon
4/1/2008

Customer review by Idontwantanick1

5.0 stars 4/1/2008 by Idontwantanick1
by Idontwantanick1

I bought this camera so I could control the aperature, shutter and exposure settings. The camera has provided me with the right amout of image managment when I want it, and, point and shoot family pic capability as well. These higher resolution camera's are memory and battery hogs so you will want to purchase rechargable batteries and extra SD cards.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Idontwantanick1
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 123 total reviews
1-20 of 123 reviews