Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 277 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

277 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

277 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
214
4 stars
46
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 stars
3
1-20 of 254 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 254 total reviews
1-20 of 254 reviews
Surprisingly versatile.
8/10/2007

Customer review by dokily

5.0 stars 8/10/2007 by dokily
by dokily

I bought this camera one week after it came out. I wanted something with features of a Digital SLR, but without having to reach for a different lens to change if a different setting crops up. You could actually miss the shot with a Digital SLR doing that. My main decision in buying was what batteries it took and memory card. With AA, you can buy these anywhere. No special and expensive battery to buy. Uses SD cards which are widely available and less expensive than other types. The only things that are negative is the memory card is located with the battery area on the bottom. No Bulb function. Only 1.5 fps shooting. Pluses are has a hot shoe, can be remotely controlled by computer, A LOT of shooting configurations including a custom setting. Down to zero Macro focus. Can add wide angle and telephoto lenses for even wider range with the use of an adapter (can also use screw on filters then!). You can completely customize this camera to yourself. So in summary, can be used as a simple point and shoot camera for those who don't care to know all the variations or can be done with settings that are as professional as it gets. A great camera and have NO regrets in buying this. 1 image of LCD screen with some options displayed. 1 image of Camera with optional adapter (I installed additional Canon logos), filter, and wide lens installed (would remove filter for lens use, but included just for photographic purposes).

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dokily
Champlain, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
NICE!!!
4/4/2008

Customer review by FarmingWithOlivers

5.0 stars 4/4/2008 by FarmingWithOlivers
by FarmingWithOlivers

Walmart's shipping was fast and smooth. The camera came in excellent shape. Canon has made another great product. I have had several digital cameras but this is the best. It is very easy to use for a novice and has all the features for the professional. The hotshoe for the flash is a nice feature as well. With an external flash you get the light you need for distant photos in a darkened room. I really like the video feature. The video this camera takes is as good, if not better, than my video camera. I bought a 4 gig memory card so that I can use it for video along with my photography. You will not be disappointed! The first attached photo was taken using full zoom with the camera set on automatic while holding it in my hands as a test right out of the box. The photo was taken at over 100 feet. The second photo is without zoom and camera set on automatic. I am a novice :-)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FarmingWithOlivers
Thurmont, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Our Second Digital Camera
10/20/2007

Customer review by cjandbull

5.0 stars 10/20/2007 by cjandbull
by cjandbull

We purchased the Canon S5 IS to take on vacation. The camera is great! Just remember to bring extra batteries, since the camera seems to like them very much! We are very pleased with the pictures taken with the camera. We would recommend the Canon S5 IS! Very user friendly.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cjandbull
Aurora IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Fun Thing
4/5/2008

Customer review by Windwalker45

5.0 stars 4/5/2008 by Windwalker45
by Windwalker45

We have used the camera a lot and have enjoyed it. The wife is a picture buff, and says its the best one she's had so far, we are thinking of getting a wide lens for it.but we both are very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Windwalker45
Hastings NE.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Everything I expected and then some
5/17/2008

Customer review by WhitePeony

5.0 stars 5/17/2008 by WhitePeony
by WhitePeony

This is the second Digital Camera I have owned...a nice step up from a point and shoot Samsung with a good range of funtions. It is a bit smaller than I expected, although it is very easy to handle for someone with larger hands. The range of accessories that are available for it is a pleasant surprise. I have been able to familiarize myself with the basic functions, and I'm working through the advanced functions. Honestly, I looked at a number of cameras and used the other reviews about this camera to help with my decision. The lens cover does seem like it comes off easily however, it is not bothersome for me. The memory disk that comes with it is small at 32 Mb. I recommend at least 2 GB. I also purchased rechargable NiMH batteries because the battery life was questionable with my prior camera. I didn't want to take a chance with this camera going through batteries. The camera guides are easy to follow with the usual multi-language guides.The software gives alot of options for customizing the photos taken and it has it's own guide as well. Compared to the cameras I've owned in the past this is something I can grow with and It should last me for quite awhile. Overall, this is a nice medium priced camera.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WhitePeony
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Perfect for the Beginner in SLR
3/3/2008

Customer review by USArmyMPWife

5.0 stars 3/3/2008 by USArmyMPWife
by USArmyMPWife

I Love this camera! Its the bridge between the basic digital to the DSLR. Every time I take pictures I'm amazed at the results. To bad I had to shrink the examples to upload the picture for this review. Even the digital zoom surprised me in quality. Normally I would have disabled the use of digital zoom. I'm not fluent in camera talk but I can say this has been my favorite camera by far. I love the 12x Optical zoom and the many options I have to adjust for the perfect picture. I recommend buying rechargeable batteries and keeping spare batteries available just in case you plan on taking a lot of pictures. I also like that I can adapt a bigger flash and interchangeable lenses.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
USArmyMPWife
Fort Wainwright, Alaska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Amazing Camera
6/2/2008

Customer review by PositiveNegatives

5.0 stars 6/2/2008 by PositiveNegatives
by PositiveNegatives

I love this camera! I've had it for a couple of weeks now and can't stop taking pictures and movies. The zoom is great and it's wonderful being able to zoom in and out during a movie. Also, the ability to snap a shot during a movie is awesome. There are too many great features to name here, but if are looking for a camera that offers you great options along with the automatic features, this is the one for you. The AA batteries are a plus (get rechargeable ones). Just get the camera, put it on automatic for a while, then play with the settings some and have a great time with it, just like I am.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PositiveNegatives
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Christmas memories
12/27/2007

Customer review by raviniv

5.0 stars 12/27/2007 by raviniv
by raviniv

I ordered the camera for Christmas & a family vacation to Disney the memory card that came with it (32 mb) is way to small if you get this plan on getting this go ahead & get a 2GB it will hold more then 344 pic. & 5 videos all 12 to 15 sec. Long. That is all we took over 3 days of Christmas at my mothers. The zoom all I can say is WOW I mean WOW you got to see it to know. Zooming in an a address on the front of a house (wile driving down the interstate at 70 mph) & can see the numbers as clear as if you were standing in the front yard.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
raviniv
nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent product
1/14/2008

Customer review by Nanacam777

5.0 stars 1/14/2008 by Nanacam777
by Nanacam777

I absolutely love this camera! For the price it is an outstanding value. The weight and feel of this camera is of professional quality. All the options in the settings and modes gives a person the opportunity to shoot amazing photos. Only two drawbacks. The Lens cap does not stay on securely and the compact power adapter is an additional cost and not offered as an accessory with the purchase of the camera.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nanacam777
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
5/10/2008

Customer review by amportas

5.0 stars 5/10/2008 by amportas
by amportas

The only problem I still didn't solve is that I can't take a picture with movement effect during the daylight. The feature works well only by night. I.E. the apperture time and range do not meet the needs to have, for instance, a picture of "moving" water in a waterfall on a clear/sunny day. With the full capacity available, the picture becomes too illuminated and we can't see the image.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
amportas
Orlando
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Perfect starter camera for amature
5/27/2008

Customer review by jkeltonga

5.0 stars 5/27/2008 by jkeltonga
by jkeltonga

Got this camera for my aspiring daughter-photographer. She hasn't put it down since she got it. Says she loves it. Has a lot of features, and gives you lots of control over functions most cameras don't. Pictures look great! I believe it will keep her busy for a long time. Make sure to pick up some rechargeable NiMH batteries and an SD card or two.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jkeltonga
Loganville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
An outstanding buy for a good price
5/24/2008

Customer review by ImRealImJenny

5.0 stars 5/24/2008 by ImRealImJenny
by ImRealImJenny

I love this camera, it has so many different settings for every kind of picture scene and situation. I absolutley love it and am very satisfied with this product. Any thing, any time of day this camera has the capability of making the picture come out great. I would totally recommend this camera to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ImRealImJenny
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
LOVE IT!!!
3/24/2008

Customer review by casnbus

5.0 stars 3/24/2008 by casnbus
by casnbus

i bought this camera online and i absolutely love it! It takes great action shots and it zooms in perfect as if you were standing right there. The manual is very easy to read and understand. I use this camera everyday, it is wonderful! The lense cap falls off easy is the only thing i do not like about it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
casnbus
Ponca City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Much better then my 1st Cannon
4/12/2008

Customer review by Old777Salt

5.0 stars 4/12/2008 by Old777Salt
by Old777Salt

I was very impress with this camera, I also have a Powershot G6, but find this one far superior. The 12x optical zoom is great for take shots of wild life, where normally you could not get close for a good shot. The only draw back is, it uses AA batteries instead of a battery pack.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Old777Salt
Pahrump, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great camera
6/3/2008

Customer review by nubian

5.0 stars 6/3/2008 by nubian
by nubian

I did a lot of research before choosing this camera and i am pleased that i did. the pictures are crisp and the details phenomenal. i would recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nubian
Charleston south carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Canon S5
7/9/2008

Customer review by Bill77429

5.0 stars 7/9/2008 by Bill77429
by Bill77429

I had been using a Powershot S2 for 2 years and was more than happy with it. So I decided that I might be happier with the S5. I have been a photo addict for years and still have a Nikon F with 6 lenses gathering dust on my bookshelf. You never run out of film with digital. The S5 is a super camera. I am amazed by all that you get in one camera. In one camera you get an entire camera system. I take a lot of pictures and it is still hard to use all of the features. If you just want a simple point and shoot camera, simply set her on Auto and fire away. You won't be disappointed. I usually set the camera on Aperture or Shutter preference to get a little more control. If you are a real purist you can set it on Manual. I use a lot of fill flash too and the manual pop up flash is excellent for that. The S5 even has a hot shoe if you want to use a Speedlight.. The big news about the S series cameras is that it is a serious movie camera. That's heavy on the serious. I purchased a 16gb High Speed SD card just for that purpose. You get AVI movies with stereo sound. Yes stereo! I am a musician and I shoot a lot of music concerts. Check out Bill77429 on YouTube. If you position yourself in front of the speakers to cut out the crowd noise you get great results. Hint: Get a monopod to steady the camera. Makes for a great walking stick too. A feature that no one mentions about the S5 is that you can now adjust the audio volume with the built in VU meter to make sure you aren't pegging the sound! I didn't even know that when I bought the camera. You can also review the movie in the camera and do some limited editing. There is even a mono playback speaker on the side of the camera. Another feature that is seldom mentioned is the sound recorder. I have interviewed people with the sound recorder going and they just thought I had a camera hanging around my neck! You get full fidelity wave files in stereo. Yes stereo. I power this beast with 4 AA Rechargeable Energizers and keep 4 spares in the camera bag along with a spare SD card. Ok this camera isn't perfect. The wide angle could be a little wider. It is about 35mm and 28mm would be nice. Sometimes the auto overrides get in my way, but for the stark amateur the over rides will save you. The battery door which also houses the SD card is a little hard to close Just get a 16 gig card and you won't have to worry about it as much. MP3 & RAW capability would be nice. A 52 mm filter thread would be appreciated. The lens cap is bothersome. But I can live without all of that. Good Luck!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bill77429
Cypress, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great camera
3/15/2008

Customer review by imaprouddad

5.0 stars 3/15/2008 by imaprouddad
by imaprouddad

I upgraded to this camera from a 2 MP Kodak with a 3X zoom. What a difference. I mainly use this camera to photograph my family, nature, and recreational photos. I am ordering an external flash, a lens adapter, filters, and macro and telephoto lenses. This is one of the main reasons I bought this camera was the options it offers in picture control and additions. Once you get thru the "epic" owner's manual and learn how to set the adjustments, then this camera is fun with its endless quality control options.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
imaprouddad
WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great pic's
1/14/2008

Customer review by pjaitkin

5.0 stars 1/14/2008 by pjaitkin
by pjaitkin

This camera makes it easy to take great pictures. Everything is at your fingertips and easy to operate. Downloading is a snap. I like the fact you can use AA batteries, no special ones needed. I just use rechargables and keep extras in my camera case and it doesn't burn thru them either! My only complaint is the small SC card used. My old cannon s1s had a CF card which is a little larger and easier to get in and out of the camera and I'm unhappy I can't use my old cards.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pjaitkin
Aitkin, Mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Amazing camera
1/14/2008

Customer review by Deblovespics

5.0 stars 1/14/2008 by Deblovespics
by Deblovespics

I love my camera , it's the nicest one i've ever had and even though I still don't know how to use all the bells and whistles it takes great pictures just with point and shoot. even the videos are great. Someone mentioned that it eats batteries but I haven't had to change them yet and I got it for xmas and have been taking pictures since then and it's mid january..I'm very very happy with this camera.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Deblovespics
Mechanicville, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I love this camera!!
6/2/2008

Customer review by MayFebMom

5.0 stars 6/2/2008 by MayFebMom
by MayFebMom

I absolutely love this camera. My mom bought the same one so I got to play around with hers before I bought mine. It has amazing zoom, focuses really well and takes amazing photos. I feel like a professional every time I use it. I am looking forward to using it for a long time and buying the additional lens when my kids start playing sports. Love it....love it.....love it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MayFebMom
Lancaster, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 254 total reviews
1-20 of 254 reviews