Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 139 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

139 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

139 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
68
4 stars
33
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 stars
24
1-20 of 119 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 119 total reviews
1-20 of 119 reviews
Piece of Junk!
5/25/2010

Customer review by BrokeGradStudent

1.0 stars 5/25/2010 by BrokeGradStudent
by BrokeGradStudent

I hope this review will prevent you from making the same mistake I did! I received this item as a gift last xmas and the first time I used it I noticed the smell of burning plastic but thought it may just be because it is a new item. WRONG. This mixer can't even handle mixing runny cake batter without smoking! The SLOWEST speed is so fast that it could whip cream; it sends all your dry ingredients flying across the kitchen as soon as you start the mixer. Completely not functional! I tried to make cookie batter with it and the mixer could barely turn the beaters once I put the dry ingredients in. Definetly do not get this mixer if you want a functional piece of equiptment in your kitchen. The "snap on" lid defintely does not snap on or stay attached to the mixer at all either. It is a wonderfully practical idea to have storage for the beaters attached to the mixer and a way to stow away the cord but it isn't big enough. Great idea, poor execution.

Was this review helpful? (31) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BrokeGradStudent
Ames, IA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
great mixer
12/30/2015

Customer review by duckmom2

4.0 stars 12/30/2015 by duckmom2
by duckmom2

Just got done using this to make several pies,works great!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
duckmom2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sturdy beaters & helpful snap-on case
11/23/2013

Customer review by PickySouthernCAshopper

5.0 stars 11/23/2013 by PickySouthernCAshopper
by PickySouthernCAshopper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was particularly concerned about whether or not the beaters would be of good enough quality. Fortunately, they are strong and sturdy enough for beating a large pot of mashed potatoes for Thanksgiving Day. Some mixers' beaters are really small and flimsy; on one occasion, the bottom of the beaters actually broke. While these beaters are not quite as thick and heavy as those used on non-hand mixer models, these beaters are indeed strong and sturdy enough for tackling big jobs. For people who have had multiple hand mixers with different size beaters, the snap-on case is particularly helpful for keeping the correct set of beaters with its mixer. This model also includes a small French whisk that connects to the mixer. Nice! While I've only had this Hamilton Beach hand mixer for a week, it seems to be a durable product. The mixer itself is a little larger than other models, so it takes more room in a drawer, especially with the snap-on case. I'm therefore storing it on a pantry shelf, in its upright position, instead of in a kitchen drawer. Overall, when considering the price and the product, it's definitely a good buy.

Was this review helpful? (44) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PickySouthernCAshopper
Tarzana, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3 Mixers, all dead
7/15/2010

Customer review by Brasicana

1.0 stars 7/15/2010 by Brasicana
by Brasicana

I was given this mixer as a gift, noticed a weird smell the first time I tried it, thought it was just a new motor. Three months later the motor died enough that the beaters hit each other while mixing. Second died just like the first within one month. Third did the same in just a few weeks. All the thing ever mixed was pancake batter, cake batter and frosting. NOTHING HEAVY. It's "slow" speed was also too fast, combined with the fact that the air vent was located on the bottom next to the beaters, causing all dry ingredient to take to the air. So no worth the $20.00. And the customer service at Hamilton Beech is a joke. Better to spend $100 on a Sunbeam standing mixer. I've had the Sunbeam for a month and its been WONDERFUL!

Was this review helpful? (94) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brasicana
Salt Lake City, UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
A MUST FOR THE COOK!
5/26/2012

Customer review by KRAZYKK4020

5.0 stars 5/26/2012 by KRAZYKK4020
by KRAZYKK4020

I bought this in 2006 and I was so scared that I lost it in my divorce!!! To my surprise when I was unpacking my boxes, there was my "baby"!! Not knowing if I was ever going to be able to buy another one, this was like opening up a Christmas gift. I have (and still to this day) use it daily since I have a catering business. My neighbor is always borrowing it on a daily basis too, so she is getting one for a home warming gift. I would recommend this to anyone and everyone who cooks or even teenagers who are learning to cook. I also love the fact that you can store the beaters and the cord in the case under the mixer so you don't loose the beaters or have to hunt them down when you want to use them. The case, mixer and the cord are so easy to wipe down and keep clean. This mixer is the winner for me and it will be too for you!

Was this review helpful? (21) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KRAZYKK4020
TULSA, OK.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
not worth it!
1/22/2009

Customer review by conorsmommy

1.0 stars 1/22/2009 by conorsmommy
by conorsmommy

I got this as a gift last x mas. and I only used this item maybe a handfull of times threw out the year. I was in the middle of making cookies and it started to smoke. so I turned it off cleaned it up and put it away. brought it back out about 2 weeks latter and was making another batch of cookies and it started to smoke again! and then just would not turn on. don't waste your money on this!

Was this review helpful? (50) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
conorsmommy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Burnout
3/2/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 3/2/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This product was purchased within the last 18 months and used only 2 or 3 times. While mixing cake batter today (on the lowest speed) the mixer stopped dead and started to smoke. Looks like other reviewers have had the same experience.

Was this review helpful? (43) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Don't waste your time or money!!
8/8/2013

Customer review by AngieBR

1.0 stars 8/8/2013 by AngieBR
by AngieBR

If you are reading these reviews, and still buy this product, you will find out which reviews are correct after 4 to 8 months! After 7 months of using this mixer, the beaters started hitting one another right in the middle of mixing a cake. I thought the beaters weren't locked in the mixer, and come to find out, they weren't. They won't lock! The reviews that mention the smell...true! The reviews that mention the air vent blowing the mixture all over the kitchen...true! I used my mixer a lot, but not enough for it to die after 7 months. Move on to another one...that's my advise!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AngieBR
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
beaters rusted
7/17/2011

Customer review by ardcp

2.0 stars 7/17/2011 by ardcp
by ardcp

the mixer worked ok for what i use it for (mostly frosting) as i have a kitchen aid stand mixer (best appliance ever!) unfortunately the beaters have rusted! i wash them in the dishwasher just like i do w/my kitchen aid beater but the hamilton beach rusted. now, i can spend $14 to buy replacement beaters from hamilton beach or just get a new cheap hand mixer...neither is a great solution. before this i had a black and decker hand mixer that lasted for years back when i used it for everything (pre stand mixer) i won't buy HB again

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ardcp
clifton park, ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Piece of junk
12/20/2015

Customer review by Jenb

1.0 stars 12/20/2015 by Jenb
by Jenb

This item should be taken off of the shelves, its garbage. I used it for 2 minutes to whip up some frosting, it started to smoke and the motor died. I agree with the other reviews that the lowest setting sent my ingredients flying across the kitchen - it was actually comical to read these reviews, should have done so before I bought it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jenb
Would recommend to a friend? No
Used once and it died
12/21/2015

Customer review by disappointed

1.0 stars 12/21/2015 by disappointed
by disappointed

I pulled this out brand new from the box and was using it to make cookie batter. Creaming a large amount of butter and sugar together must have been too much for it, because when I tried to turn it back on to add the next ingredient it was completely dead!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
disappointed
Would recommend to a friend? No
Horrible Product
12/18/2008

Customer review by ShopperChick1

1.0 stars 12/18/2008 by ShopperChick1
by ShopperChick1

This has to be the worst mixer I have ever used. I have had it for almost 2 years and used it minimally. I was using the mixer today when smoke started to come from it and sparks. Needless to say, it no longer works and I am stuck with dough that will have to be thrown out because this product stopped working while I was using it. I never imagined that this product would have such a short life, but I think I will stay away from the Hamilton Beach brand at this point.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShopperChick1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great Blender!
12/16/2015

Customer review by Dlm31

5.0 stars 12/16/2015 by Dlm31
by Dlm31

This is the perfect blender for every household.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dlm31
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Repeat Purchase
12/8/2015

Customer review by OnlineQueen

5.0 stars 12/8/2015 by OnlineQueen
by OnlineQueen

After many cakes, cookies, and breads, my trusty Hamilton Beach mixer needed replacing. And I like the storage case for the new one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OnlineQueen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Super
12/9/2015

Customer review by Mj0904

5.0 stars 12/9/2015 by Mj0904
by Mj0904

Super

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mj0904
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
hand mixer
12/8/2015

Customer review by donna

5.0 stars 12/8/2015 by donna
by donna

like it works great

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
donna
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Delivers More Than You Expect
11/27/2015

Customer review by BernieFor

5.0 stars 11/27/2015 by BernieFor
by BernieFor

Bought it for my wife. She was surprised it had a three whipping elements rather than two; and, of course, it was on sale and the price was fantastic.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BernieFor
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A very lousy investment.
12/31/2008

Customer review by Ajah24

1.0 stars 12/31/2008 by Ajah24
by Ajah24
Walmart associate

I brought this to make two cakes with frosting. Both cakes were easy for this mixer to handle. While starting to make the frosting for the first cake (cake was in the oven), the mixer quit. One of the spinners would not work at all. I smelled burning and stopped using it. I let it cool down thinking it over heated but still to no avail. I would not work. I had to handle mix the rest of the frosting for the first cake, the cake mix and frosting for the second cake. This was the worst I have ever brought. I will not buy this again.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ajah24
Derry, NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
Fast Service
11/25/2015

Customer review by KimInFife

5.0 stars 11/25/2015 by KimInFife
by KimInFife

Bought as a Christmas present.... looks like daughter will love.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KimInFife
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
10/20/2007

Customer review by nanaof3

5.0 stars 10/20/2007 by nanaof3
by nanaof3

This product is everything it promises to be.I have been using it on a regular basis and i am very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (24) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nanaof3
Boston, Ma.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 119 total reviews
1-20 of 119 reviews