Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 198 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

198 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

198 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
1-20 of 196 total reviews
Would recommend to a friend



1-20 of 196 total reviews
1-20 of 196 reviews
this product has been excellent for blood testing

Customer review by Lulu1

5.0 stars 9/21/2016 by Lulu1
by Lulu1

When first diagnosed as type 2 diabetic in 2010 I was provided with the Free Style lite product for no cost to me. I have used this product for all these years with success. i did have to have the monitor replaced once and now had to have the lancet pen replaced. This was a very easy process with excellent customer service and timely replacement. Thanks for a great product to help me do my once a day testing.

Long Valley, Washington Township, NJ 07853, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by shanty1722

5.0 stars 9/28/2016 by shanty1722
by shanty1722

Love the system. Works great,easy to use.Very good product.I would not change to another system

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I feel confident using this meter

Customer review by JB4350

5.0 stars 5/10/2016 by JB4350
by JB4350

I have used a glucose meter for about 10 years as a non-diabetic person for health maintenance purposes, since diabetes runs in my family, I would check every few months to check my fasting glucose over several days. Last year I bought the Freestyle Lite and, again, would use it every few months. Last month I started to suspect I was having hypoglycemic episodes and I checked on one occasion after experiencing sweating, weakness and intense hunger and my number was 53. I have since been diagnosed as having reactive hypoglycemia. I have recently tested the meter on three different occasions within minutes of a blood draw at the hospital (the most accurate method) and the Lite meter was exactly the same on one draw and within two points on the other two draws. A few weeks ago I bought a backup meter, just in case, and I will occasionally check and compare the two meters. They are within 2-7 points of each other after 30+ comparisons, with just one of those times having a 10 point difference. I would recommend this meter based on my personal experience.

Maine, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Meter

Customer review by Jim4

5.0 stars 8/23/2016 by Jim4
by Jim4

I have used the freestyle lite meter for over 10 years. It just continues to do its job day after day. Very few errors, no coding required. Just move on to the next bottle of strips with ease. Battery life is long and the light is a nice added feature. I am on the go and this meter keeps up with my life. It is sensitive to extreme temps in either direction more than some other meters I have tried, but its not a deal breaker.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product

Customer review by Ann2

5.0 stars 8/28/2016 by Ann2
by Ann2

Have use the Freedom lite for years. Have used its larger model and one from another company. Freedom Lite is my favorite.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not painless, but tolerable.

Customer review by Larry33

5.0 stars 8/15/2016 by Larry33
by Larry33

Anyone who regularly tests his blood sugar, knows that the test involves pricking your fingertips to get the blood sample, and that can hurt. But the Freestyle Light test strips can be activated with a small amount of blood. That makes testing somewhat easier.

Milwaukee, WI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The best one

Customer review by Charlie

5.0 stars 7/31/2016 by Charlie
by Charlie

I've been testing my glucose for years. I'm also a nurse with 37 years experience, so have used many different meters. I shopped carefully for my meter and researched them all. The meter I chose is the Freestyle lite. It is most accurate and has a light. I'm not always in optimal surroundings to test, so this makes my life better. It's also the easiest to use. When asked for an opinion on meters, I always recommend Freestyle lite. There's nothing that needs to be done to improve this meter

New York, NY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great meter!

Customer review by Dee90

5.0 stars 7/26/2016 by Dee90
by Dee90

I love this meter, compact in size and, the back light and test strip light have been very useful . in times of testing on occasions when having a power outage but, still need to test. Awesome meter.

Walden, NY 12586, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A fine product!

Customer review by Gator08

5.0 stars 4/19/2016 by Gator08
by Gator08

I've used various meters and data management software over the past 25+ years. Each meter has its good and weak points. A weak point with this system is the software. It misleads you in that its messages don't seem to relate to what is happening. I had an indication that data was being downloaded only for the system to time-out for 'no connection' or 'no data to show'??? What's going on??? I did resolve the problems I was having by shutting down and restarting the software. A specific cable is required to download data and can be pricey! Shop around! Also an accurate date/time on the meter is critical. (Meter should automatically reset to DTG set on computer, or warn user.)

Comment from - 5/1/2016

Thanks for your feedback. We encourage you to contact our Tech Support center if you encounter any issues in the future. They are open 8am - 8pm ET at 888-522-5226.

Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very bad product

Customer review by ducky4

1.0 stars 6/16/2016 by ducky4
by ducky4

Does not work properly on daily usage. The meter is very poor quality and will never buy any of your products again!!!!!!!!

Comment from - 6/17/2016

We're sorry to hear you had difficulty with your meter! Many product issues can be addressed with a call to our Technical Support Center (888-522-5226). They are open 24x7. We encourage you to give us a call.

Fort Myers, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
it is small and lite weight

Customer review by Jim47

5.0 stars 6/15/2016 by Jim47
by Jim47

Could you come up with a lance device that would eject the lance better into the sharps container?

Comment from - 6/17/2016

Thank you for your product feedback. We do review suggestions regularly and always appreciate the input

Norfolk, VA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great meter

Customer review by oldgoat

5.0 stars 6/6/2016 by oldgoat
by oldgoat

Received this meter through my insurance in conjunction with Abbot labs. Extremely easy to use (if you read the instructions) and blood sample is so small it's surprising that it can read it. I recommend not only the meter but their tech support is great.

Springfield, MO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Prices on Freestyle Test Strips have DOUBLED?

Customer review by JHAWK

4.0 stars 5/16/2016 by JHAWK

I love my FreeStyle Meter and my doctor recommends it as the most accurate meter on the market. However, a recent price increase on the website I order from took the test strips from one price to double that price. However, none of the other test strips on this particular website had an increase. Unfortunately I cannot afford these test strips anymore so now I have to purchase an entire new system. I am sure if I can't afford them anymore then more people will be in the same situation.

Comment from - 5/23/2016

Thanks for your review. You might want to consider our FreeStyle Promise Program. Here's the link to our website for more information:

Little Rock, AR, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Product is fine, this price is terrible!

Customer review by Mack

1.0 stars 4/19/2016 by Mack
by Mack

My husband uses these strips, but we pay less than half the price!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Disappointed

Customer review by Jac60

1.0 stars 5/6/2016 by Jac60
by Jac60

My insurance switched me to the Freestyle Lite and I must say I am very disappointed with the machine. This machine cannot produce consistent results. Readings will vary by 25 points when trying to verify a test taken minutes apart. I am preparing to switch back to my previous machine and pay the costs for the test supplies out of my own pocket.

Would recommend to a friend? No
How can you sell a glucose monitoring system that doesn't work with current Mac computer operating systems?

Customer review by BG69

2.0 stars 4/20/2016 by BG69
by BG69

When I called to find out why my Freestyle Lite meter could not be read and tracked using the Co-Pilot software from Abbott listed for Mac computers the answer from the tech support representative was a shocking "It doesn't work with any of the current operating systems. The last version that the software works with was replaced 4 years ago." How is this possible? Do Mac users with diabetes need to use a different metering system?

Chicago, IL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
This product needs additional features.

Customer review by RonaldL

4.0 stars 4/26/2016 by RonaldL
by RonaldL

When rechecking some readings (sometimes 3-4 times), you should be able to delete errant readings so as to not influence averages. Should also be able to delete all readings if over time you have stopped and later start-up use of the meter again.

Comment from - 5/1/2016

Thank you for your feedback. Our meters do not allow results to be deleted since the test results in the meter memory are often used by healthcare providers as key information for evaluation and treatment. The test results will eventually cycle out of the memory, in the order that they were entered, once the meter memory has reached its capacity of results.

Houston, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ease to read

Customer review by Larry65

5.0 stars 4/21/2016 by Larry65
by Larry65

Nice and lite. like the 7 day, two weeks,30 day average for the blood level.

Frankfort, IN 46041, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Most accurate meter I've ever used.

Customer review by Flowerchild

1.0 stars 4/11/2016 by Flowerchild
by Flowerchild

Great meter, but no Durable Medical Equipment company carries the test strips, and the cost is prohibitive to buy them retail. Therefore, the meter is useless to me, even though it is the one recommended by my endocrinologist.

Comment from - 4/13/2016

Thanks for your review. You may want to check out our FreeStyle Promise program which offers co-pay savings for eligible participants. Details are online at

Would recommend to a friend? No
Good Product. Poor Service

Customer review by Paidcash

2.0 stars 3/26/2014 by Paidcash
by Paidcash
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Ran low on these test strips. They are expensive at almost all pharmacies. But I had enough to last a week. Walmart changed the shipping time after I had ordered them. Even then I would have had one left if Walmart was true to their delivery date. The strips arrived a day later. I had to buy them at another pharmacy since I must test everyday. With shipping I paid $140 per 100 strips. Never again. I found them for less than half the price I paid Walmart and for ontime shipping. You would think that being the largest retailer on the planet with all that buying power and locations, you would get a product at a price less than other pharmacies with quicker delivery. Not so. Sorry I ordered them thru Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 196 total reviews
1-20 of 196 reviews