Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 200 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

200 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

200 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
146
4 stars
39
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 stars
5
1-20 of 198 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 198 total reviews
1-20 of 198 reviews
Great meter, Support lacking.
1/12/2017

Customer review by cebrown

3.0 stars 1/12/2017 by cebrown
by cebrown

Great meter, great results. A workhorse. Company does not support on-line pharmacy patrons for free meters. Can get strips from on-line pharmacies.

cebrown
Wyoming, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
I feel confident using this meter
5/10/2016

Customer review by JB4350

5.0 stars 5/10/2016 by JB4350
by JB4350

I have used a glucose meter for about 10 years as a non-diabetic person for health maintenance purposes, since diabetes runs in my family, I would check every few months to check my fasting glucose over several days. Last year I bought the Freestyle Lite and, again, would use it every few months. Last month I started to suspect I was having hypoglycemic episodes and I checked on one occasion after experiencing sweating, weakness and intense hunger and my number was 53. I have since been diagnosed as having reactive hypoglycemia. I have recently tested the meter on three different occasions within minutes of a blood draw at the hospital (the most accurate method) and the Lite meter was exactly the same on one draw and within two points on the other two draws. A few weeks ago I bought a backup meter, just in case, and I will occasionally check and compare the two meters. They are within 2-7 points of each other after 30+ comparisons, with just one of those times having a 10 point difference. I would recommend this meter based on my personal experience.

JB4350
Maine, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Backlight? Log books
11/1/2016

Customer review by andyl1360

4.0 stars 11/1/2016 by andyl1360
by andyl1360

Excellent product. Easy to use.Discrete. However! You need the backlight for us old users Plus Reinstate the logbooks by mail as a lot of people do not have access to a computer or printer I.e libraries have access but limit printouts. This may leed them to another, less complicated brand!

andyl1360
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
this product has been excellent for blood testing
9/21/2016

Customer review by Lulu1

5.0 stars 9/21/2016 by Lulu1
by Lulu1

When first diagnosed as type 2 diabetic in 2010 I was provided with the Free Style lite product for no cost to me. I have used this product for all these years with success. i did have to have the monitor replaced once and now had to have the lancet pen replaced. This was a very easy process with excellent customer service and timely replacement. Thanks for a great product to help me do my once a day testing.

Lulu1
Long Valley, Washington Township, NJ 07853, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
lite
9/28/2016

Customer review by shanty1722

5.0 stars 9/28/2016 by shanty1722
by shanty1722

Love the system. Works great,easy to use.Very good product.I would not change to another system

shanty1722
Hephzibah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
The best one
7/31/2016

Customer review by Charlie

5.0 stars 7/31/2016 by Charlie
by Charlie

I've been testing my glucose for years. I'm also a nurse with 37 years experience, so have used many different meters. I shopped carefully for my meter and researched them all. The meter I chose is the Freestyle lite. It is most accurate and has a light. I'm not always in optimal surroundings to test, so this makes my life better. It's also the easiest to use. When asked for an opinion on meters, I always recommend Freestyle lite. There's nothing that needs to be done to improve this meter

Charlie
New York, NY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great product
8/28/2016

Customer review by Ann2

5.0 stars 8/28/2016 by Ann2
by Ann2

Have use the Freedom lite for years. Have used its larger model and one from another company. Freedom Lite is my favorite.

Ann2
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Not painless, but tolerable.
8/15/2016

Customer review by Larry33

5.0 stars 8/15/2016 by Larry33
by Larry33

Anyone who regularly tests his blood sugar, knows that the test involves pricking your fingertips to get the blood sample, and that can hurt. But the Freestyle Light test strips can be activated with a small amount of blood. That makes testing somewhat easier.

Larry33
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
A fine product!
4/19/2016

Customer review by Gator08

5.0 stars 4/19/2016 by Gator08
by Gator08

I've used various meters and data management software over the past 25+ years. Each meter has its good and weak points. A weak point with this system is the software. It misleads you in that its messages don't seem to relate to what is happening. I had an indication that data was being downloaded only for the system to time-out for 'no connection' or 'no data to show'??? What's going on??? I did resolve the problems I was having by shutting down and restarting the software. A specific cable is required to download data and can be pricey! Shop around! Also an accurate date/time on the meter is critical. (Meter should automatically reset to DTG set on computer, or warn user.)

Comment from - 5/1/2016

Thanks for your feedback. We encourage you to contact our Tech Support center if you encounter any issues in the future. They are open 8am - 8pm ET at 888-522-5226.

Gator08
Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great meter!
7/26/2016

Customer review by Dee90

5.0 stars 7/26/2016 by Dee90
by Dee90

I love this meter, compact in size and, the back light and test strip light have been very useful . in times of testing on occasions when having a power outage but, still need to test. Awesome meter.

Dee90
Walden, NY 12586, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Prices on Freestyle Test Strips have DOUBLED?
5/16/2016

Customer review by JHAWK

4.0 stars 5/16/2016 by JHAWK
by JHAWK

I love my FreeStyle Meter and my doctor recommends it as the most accurate meter on the market. However, a recent price increase on the website I order from took the test strips from one price to double that price. However, none of the other test strips on this particular website had an increase. Unfortunately I cannot afford these test strips anymore so now I have to purchase an entire new system. I am sure if I can't afford them anymore then more people will be in the same situation.

Comment from - 5/23/2016

Thanks for your review. You might want to consider our FreeStyle Promise Program. Here's the link to our website for more information: https://www.myfreestyle.com/offers.

JHAWK
Little Rock, AR, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
great meter
6/6/2016

Customer review by oldgoat

5.0 stars 6/6/2016 by oldgoat
by oldgoat

Received this meter through my insurance in conjunction with Abbot labs. Extremely easy to use (if you read the instructions) and blood sample is so small it's surprising that it can read it. I recommend not only the meter but their tech support is great.

oldgoat
Springfield, MO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Very bad product
6/16/2016

Customer review by ducky4

1.0 stars 6/16/2016 by ducky4
by ducky4

Does not work properly on daily usage. The meter is very poor quality and will never buy any of your products again!!!!!!!!

Comment from - 6/17/2016

We're sorry to hear you had difficulty with your meter! Many product issues can be addressed with a call to our Technical Support Center (888-522-5226). They are open 24x7. We encourage you to give us a call.

ducky4
Fort Myers, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
How can you sell a glucose monitoring system that doesn't work with current Mac computer operating systems?
4/20/2016

Customer review by BG69

2.0 stars 4/20/2016 by BG69
by BG69

When I called to find out why my Freestyle Lite meter could not be read and tracked using the Co-Pilot software from Abbott listed for Mac computers the answer from the tech support representative was a shocking "It doesn't work with any of the current operating systems. The last version that the software works with was replaced 4 years ago." How is this possible? Do Mac users with diabetes need to use a different metering system?

BG69
Chicago, IL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
it is small and lite weight
6/15/2016

Customer review by Jim47

5.0 stars 6/15/2016 by Jim47
by Jim47

Could you come up with a lance device that would eject the lance better into the sharps container?

Comment from - 6/17/2016

Thank you for your product feedback. We do review suggestions regularly and always appreciate the input

Jim47
Norfolk, VA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Very Disappointed
5/6/2016

Customer review by Jac60

1.0 stars 5/6/2016 by Jac60
by Jac60

My insurance switched me to the Freestyle Lite and I must say I am very disappointed with the machine. This machine cannot produce consistent results. Readings will vary by 25 points when trying to verify a test taken minutes apart. I am preparing to switch back to my previous machine and pay the costs for the test supplies out of my own pocket.

Jac60
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Best Meter of all.
8/4/2015

Customer review by ReverendFred

5.0 stars 8/4/2015 by ReverendFred
by ReverendFred

I currently have a FreeStyle Lite and a FreeStyle Freedom Lite. The Lite was given to me as a second meter for work and travel. It is by far the best of all the meters I have ever used. Small easy to use and the illumination light makes it so easy to take a test in lower light. I got the Freedom Light brand new and it has worked well for a number of years but for some reason it has started shutting off just after I slide in a test strip and I ruin strips often, but this lite is durable and keeps on going. A new battery when necessary, a test with testing solution when needed and not a bit of problems. Abbott has got a WINNER in the LITE!

ReverendFred
West Columbia, SC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Auto Assist not up to date
8/16/2015

Customer review by RichardP

3.0 stars 8/16/2015 by RichardP
by RichardP

I do not yet have the FreeStyle Lite meter as the Department of Defense is making me change from the TrueTest meter I am now using. In evaluating the products my doctor and I are very interested in the computer software to which my readings can be transferred and evaluated. I am on a Mac and my Doctor on current version of PC Windows. It appears that "Auto Assist" is the software best for our purposes, HOWEVER, we are both disappointed that Auto Assist is not supported on the current latest version of Windows and definitely not supported on the current version of the Apple Operating System - Yosemite, Version 10.10.4.

RichardP
San Diego, CA
Gender:Male
This product needs additional features.
4/26/2016

Customer review by RonaldL

4.0 stars 4/26/2016 by RonaldL
by RonaldL

When rechecking some readings (sometimes 3-4 times), you should be able to delete errant readings so as to not influence averages. Should also be able to delete all readings if over time you have stopped and later start-up use of the meter again.

Comment from - 5/1/2016

Thank you for your feedback. Our meters do not allow results to be deleted since the test results in the meter memory are often used by healthcare providers as key information for evaluation and treatment. The test results will eventually cycle out of the memory, in the order that they were entered, once the meter memory has reached its capacity of results.

RonaldL
Houston, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Most accurate meter I've ever used.
4/11/2016

Customer review by Flowerchild

1.0 stars 4/11/2016 by Flowerchild
by Flowerchild

Great meter, but no Durable Medical Equipment company carries the test strips, and the cost is prohibitive to buy them retail. Therefore, the meter is useless to me, even though it is the one recommended by my endocrinologist.

Comment from - 4/13/2016

Thanks for your review. You may want to check out our FreeStyle Promise program which offers co-pay savings for eligible participants. Details are online at www.tryfreestyle.com.

Flowerchild
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
1-20 of 198 total reviews
1-20 of 198 reviews