Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 83 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

83 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

83 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
59
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 74 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 74 total reviews
1-20 of 74 reviews
A good product overall
9/17/2007

Customer review by asdchris

4.0 stars 9/17/2007 by asdchris
by asdchris

My wife and I have very modern taste, because of this there is almost always a large price tag associated with this. We were almost ready to purchase a dresser/changer combo from Netto (Oeuf and Room & Board were also on the list) when we discover this Baby Mod set. We decided to give it a try, and must say, we are impressed with the quality for the price. The top, base, and sides are a good MDF with an amber veneer finish. The drawer faces are also the same MDF with a good laquer paint finish. The drawer frames are a solid pine wood. Pine is a soft wood, so it is a little lighter, but none the less it is solid wood. The base of the drawers is the typical 1/4" fiber board (like a very heavy & durable cardboard). I ended up using wood glue and glued the base into the frame for a little added support, and would recommend anyone else do the same. I found 2 minor negatives. The first is that the changer tray was designed to rest directly on the top of the dresser. If you're planning to take the changer off as your child ages, I highly recommend getting silicon pads ($2 to $3 at any home improvement store) to keep from scratching up the top of the dresser. The second negative was the inner dimensions of the changing tray measured 16 1/4" by 31 1/2". All of the contoured changing pads I found measure in at 16" x 32". I ended up purchasing the Sealy pad ($25) and it fits fine, just a bit snug in the longer direction. If you want a dresser that will take your child to their College days, I would highly recommend spending more money as this might not cut it. If you're looking for something to last 5 years (or so) I think this is an excellent choice for the money.

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
asdchris
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love this Dresser!
12/7/2009

Customer review by SunshineHappy

5.0 stars 12/7/2009 by SunshineHappy
by SunshineHappy

First of all let me say that this dresser /changer looks smaller in the picture then what it really is. I was so pleasantly surprised! Also It was a breeze to put it together! Im almost 9 months pregnant & I put it together all by my self in less then an hour:) Over all, this is a great dresser/ changing table for the price. I've looked almost everywhere for modern type of furniture & you cant find nothing that looks as good as this for the price!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SunshineHappy
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Looks great, smells horrible
6/11/2009

Customer review by inLA

3.0 stars 6/11/2009 by inLA
by inLA

This dresser / changing table is well designed, and is a great price compared to the other modern furniture lines we were considering. The drawback is that there is a very strong smell of off-gassing formaldehyde. Our nursery shares a room with our office. My work desk is right next to the dresser and the smell is very strong, and I'm exposed to it all day long as I work. We've had it in place for a few weeks and it has not let up. I'm concerned about our coming baby breathing this in. This is an example of "you get what you pay for." Other furniture brands may be more expensive, but if they're made out of hardwood only, we wouldn't have to worry about this off-gassing.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
inLA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Simply fabulous.
10/29/2007

Customer review by AuthorGirl

5.0 stars 10/29/2007 by AuthorGirl
by AuthorGirl

I am a very picky person with taste that runs to the expensive, over-priced end of the spectrum. I was thus amazed and thrilled to discover this changing table, which looks like something that would be sold for 3-4 times the price on some trendy modern baby website (i.e. modernseed or Modern Nursery). It looks even better in person than it does in the pictures. I read a review that recommended using wood glue. We haven't done that yet, as it doesn't seem rickety (but we'll see how we feel once the baby is older and able to slam the drawers shut, etc.) We also followed the instructions for attaching the changing table to the top and don't foresee an issue with the top getting scratched up from use of the changing attachment. All in all, I heartily recommend this product if you're looking for something that will look very cool and hip for less than $500.00. Hard to find.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AuthorGirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Fantastic Dresser
1/14/2008

Customer review by HappySAHD

5.0 stars 1/14/2008 by HappySAHD
by HappySAHD

My wife and I had been looking for a "modern" dresser for months but most of what we liked was beyond what were willing to pay (Hello Oeuf . . . ouch!) We've had the Baby Mod dresser for a few weeks and so far we love it. It was easy to construct and the workmanship appears to be very high for a product in this price range. If I had two minor caveats about this dresser it would be: 1) The changing tray is only 31.25 in. wide although most standard changing pads are 32 in. There are a few brands that make a 31 in. pad. A 32 in. pad will fit but you'll need to jam it in place a bit. 2) To our surprise when we unpacked the dresser we discovered it had cherry sides. We had mistakenly assumed the dresser was mostly white with just a cherry top and feet (all the photos on the item's page are from straight-on). We actually like having cherry sides but someone might be disappointed if you're looking for a mostly white dresser.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappySAHD
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A modern look at a good price...
1/18/2008

Customer review by jlcpee

3.0 stars 1/18/2008 by jlcpee
by jlcpee

I am happily using this dresser every day in the nursery. I think this dresser will grow with our child...we should be able to use it for some time. I was attracted to the white on this dresser and was looking forward to a white furniture piece for the nursery. The one surprise I experienced when I opened the package was that the only white on this dresser is the drawer fronts. The sides of the dresser, which I also imagined to be white, are the amber color shown on the legs and the dresser top. It would be helpful if walmart.com would show pictures of this piece from all angles on the website. I still love the product and was excited to find a modern piece at this kind of price. Our dresser came shipped with a couple of dings in the wood and chips on the paint, but these areas are not too noticeable. One other thing worth mentioning is that we purchased the $19.99 changing pad the site recommended using with this dresser. The pad seems to be a great fit, although a little on the tight side. The changing pad fits this changing table top so tightly, that the wooden changing table top has come loose and even come apart a couple of times. I re-tightened the metal hardware on the changing table top and it seems to be functioning well now. Overall, we are satisfied with this purchase and were very glad to add this piece to the nursery.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jlcpee
CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice contemporary piece
11/15/2009

Customer review by kleinemaus

4.0 stars 11/15/2009 by kleinemaus
by kleinemaus

We bought this changin table and the baby mod crib a few weeks back. We are very pleased with the look of it and so far everyone else loves it as well. One negative part is, that the changing table measures 31 3/8 on the inside and I cannot find a changing pad smaller than 32 inches. I will probably just buy some foam, cut it myself and put a cover over it. The fact, that it is not a standard size is the only drawback in my opion. The drawers pull out nicely and there is plenty of room. I cannot say that the craftsmanship is superior to others, but it is made sturdy enough. The price tag was still a bit steep, but if you want something modern, I guess you have to pay a bit more...

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kleinemaus
Beech Bluff, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great quality and style
4/28/2011

Customer review by ElsieTexas

5.0 stars 4/28/2011 by ElsieTexas
by ElsieTexas

We got this for the style - thinking it would be good for longer than our baby boy would be a baby. We are so glad - it is good quality and stylish. It is easy for a now 2-year-old to help dress himself. The drawers slide smoothly. Solid, quality pieces - easy to assemble. Gorgeous amber color - picture is true to the piece. Nice finish. Perfect proportions. Couldn't be happier. Now we are just looking to add to the ensemble as he is getting older. The finish is still perfect after 2.5 years of constant daily use. When will ModBaby come up with furniture for the rest of our house? :)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ElsieTexas
Austin, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent product!
9/7/2009

Customer review by Gabyfe

5.0 stars 9/7/2009 by Gabyfe
by Gabyfe

We really liked this dresser/changer. The design is beautiful and modern and the assembly process was easy and clear. Quality is very good for the price, everything fits great, drawers close smoothly, and it looks very solid. It is made of real wood except for the panels on the back (that would go against the wall) which are made of composite. The only downside is that the box was damaged during delivery and the changer had a dent in one of the corners, luckily it is not very visible so we didn't exchange it. We combined it with the Olivia-3-in-1 crib (also from babymod in white and amber) and they match beautifully, same color tones. Great value for the price on both items!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gabyfe
Kirkland, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Beautiful
1/19/2011

Customer review by newmomintraining

5.0 stars 1/19/2011 by newmomintraining
by newmomintraining

Looks great and easy to put together. Just make sure you get a side attachment organizer or be prepared to use one of the drawers for diapering supplies, because there is not additional room on top for organization.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
newmomintraining
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Modern Nursery
4/25/2009

Customer review by amfullerton

4.0 stars 4/25/2009 by amfullerton
by amfullerton

Overall, I'm satisfied with my purchase. I decided to purchase the Baby Mod dresser ($249) over the IKEA HEMNES 3-drawer dresser ($199) because of the modern two-tone look and the changer attachment on the Baby Mod dresser. I'm sure that it will serve the purpose, but I doubt that it will make it past my daughter's early years. I figure that I'll want to purchase a more grown up set by then.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
amfullerton
Redford Twp, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Pretty but with problems
2/1/2013

Customer review by Sjain820

3.0 stars 2/1/2013 by Sjain820
by Sjain820

This dresser with changing table looks beautiful. It was definitely quite a bit of work to put it together but very doable. Because the drawer sides are real wood, they are not perfectly straight and so you have to work a bit to align everything. Mostly its made well but a couple of the pre-drilled holes were not straight. In one case, that meant a nail inside the top drawer is slightly crooked and now makes a scraping noise everytime we open and close that drawer. The assembly directions are a bit challenging - wish they'd been clearer with details such as exactly where to find the predrilled hole or how many times you have to repeat a certain direction... Also pics are small and the details you need are not always obvious at first - because of this, pay close attention as you put it together. Overall we love the size and way it looks, but have two other major problems. First, the sides and top of the dresser had scratches on them, and the changing tray had a nick. But it took so much work to put it together that we are going to keep the one we have. Second, the drawers open and close well but a little noisily (there is a clicking noise as they're opened and closed). We're worried this will wake baby up so will have to be careful not to use it when she's sleeping.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sjain820
Arlington, va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
As good as it looks!
6/26/2009

Customer review by appletown

5.0 stars 6/26/2009 by appletown
by appletown

We bought this to go with Baby Mod Olivia Crib because we weren't too keen the Olivia chagning table. The two work very well together, though please note the difference in the feet (these are square, whereas the Olivia's are round). The assembly wasn't too bad, but it did take us a couple of hours to put it together. It does seem like a solid piece of furniture. It would have been nice if more of it was wood... but then again the finish is nice and all in all it seems like great value for the price. It may not last forever, but we are hoping to get a few years use out of it as a dresser, following its use as a changing table. Be sure to measure your space - this may seem like a silly comment... but this piece of furniture is a lot bigger than it seems on line (which is great - lots of storage space).

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
appletown
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not worth it at all -- completely fell apart
3/3/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 3/3/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was very optimistic about this changing table because of the positive reviews on the site. We also ordered the ParkLane crib, and we're very happy with it. However, this changing table is made of terrible materials. While my husband was assembling it, it completely fell apart (the cheap pressed wood split on both sides of the changing table, ruining it). We are going to be returning this item. I'm glad that it fell apart before we had a chance to put our baby on it. I thought, since it was the same model as the crib, that it would be made of solid wood, just like the crib. The truth is that the major support structures -- the sides, the back, etc. -- are made of either pressed wood or particleboard. I will be purchasing a solid wood dresser to use as a changing table -- don't waste your time or money with this.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great modern changing table
1/27/2008

Customer review by MommyWith2Boys

5.0 stars 1/27/2008 by MommyWith2Boys
by MommyWith2Boys

I am currently 8+ mos. pregnant with my second son and was eyeing this Baby Mod line of Wal-Mart's as soon as I saw it advertised in their magazine. Although I already had a crib, I neglected (and regretted) not buying a changer with my first son. I had always envyed the high-end expensive modern furniture advertised in all the magazines, but could never afford them. I decided to give this line a try, after reading all the good reviews, and was happy I did. I bought the crib and the changer. I just put the changer together last night (the crib will be today's project). I was amazed at how well they packed the parts--nothing was damaged or scratched, like furniture I have bought in the past on-line, from other retailers. Although it was fairly simple to assemble, it took me a little longer, needing frequent breaks in-between. Ü But my husband and I are very happy with the craftmanship and the look for such a reasonable price! Wish they had come out with this line about 3 years ago!! I would (and already have, to my sister and her husband who are expecting their first child) recommend this to anyone who is looking for that modern look for a good price. I only wish they would come out with a larger dresser to go with the set!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MommyWith2Boys
Claremont, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Purchase for first baby
10/11/2009

Customer review by JacqueP

5.0 stars 10/11/2009 by JacqueP
by JacqueP

Perfect size and great price point for a modern look. Easy to assemble and we loved the "site to store" pick up service offered too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JacqueP
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Nice!
4/9/2008

Customer review by cantikgirl

5.0 stars 4/9/2008 by cantikgirl
by cantikgirl

We are very pleased with this purchase. It looks great and looks much more expensive than what we paid. And it matches the crib we bought at an upscale store. My husband had no problems putting together. Also no problems with the changing pad fitting.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cantikgirl
Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Beautiful!
8/10/2009

Customer review by outlawless

5.0 stars 8/10/2009 by outlawless
by outlawless

So easy to assemble and it looks great. The major support pieces are wood. The drawer bottoms and the back are veneer. It would have been nice if the back was wood as well, but you'll never be looking at the back of it anyway. The drawers function beautifully and we're not worried about weight issues with the bottoms. We had no problems fitting a standard changing pad in the frame. (We bought the Munchkin Contour Foam Changing Pad.) There are already silicone pads on the bottom of the frame to protect the surface of the dresser when you're done using it as a changer. The whole thing is a bit wider than we expected which is nice since in turn the drawers are nicely sized. Very excited about these BabyMod products!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
outlawless
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
stylish, modern, functional
6/16/2008

Customer review by AliciaLA

5.0 stars 6/16/2008 by AliciaLA
by AliciaLA

I was really pleased to find this product after looking at Netto and other super expensive modern baby furniture. This changing table/dresser is not as short as it appears to be in the picture and thus stands at the perfect height for changing a baby. The look and price is unbeatable!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AliciaLA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Love the Mod Changing Table
11/15/2010

Customer review by csully

5.0 stars 11/15/2010 by csully
by csully

This changing table is amazing for the price. We were looking at modern furniture that was about 3-4 times the price and when we thought about how we'll use it for probably only two children we went with the cheaper crib and changer. I say cheaper but it really doesn't feel cheaper, strong construction and all wood. It's not as "green" as I would like it but I am dealing and our baby will have organic mattress and clothes, she'll be fine. It does take a while to put together, about 2-3 hours but it was well worth it. It can in the mail about 3 days after ordering it which was awesome. I saw some suggestions on some other reviews and I wanted to comment on them to help out anyone else. Someone suggested getting the rubber bumpers for the top of the dresser for the changing portion, they actually come with them in the box now. I'm assuming the manufacturer saw this and added them in, which is great. We also were planning on getting a smaller changing pad but when my husband put it together our larger pad fit perfectly into the top. Which was great as well! We also got the Parklane crib that matches it as you can see in the pictures, we love this as well and the extra storage on the bottom is key for our small condo. To have this modern option instead of the high end which looks almost identical is really great for us, we love it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
csully
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 74 total reviews
1-20 of 74 reviews