Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 38 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

38 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

38 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
16
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 stars
2
1-20 of 31 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews
Most Important Feature Omitted
1/3/2010

Customer review by DMAtx

2.0 stars 1/3/2010 by DMAtx
by DMAtx

I purchased this unit with the anticipation that I was getting a quality product (as I did with the numerous other Sony products in my home); with one glaring exception, I believe I would have gotten just that. Unfortunately, in spite of the features, overall design, and multiple sound options, I had to return it. The one thing a clock radio must be able to accomplish is to wake me up in the morning; power outages, though infrequent in my area, do happen, and my bosses would not take kindly to the "my alarm clock didn't go off" excuse for me being late. I cannot think of a logical reason why Sony, one of the largest electronics manufacturers in the world, has not built a battery backup into this otherwise impressive device. Shouldn't such a feature be a given? If Sony comes out with a revised version of this clock radio which includes a battery backup, I'll certainly purchase it; until then...sorry, I just can't take the chance.

DMAtx
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good product for the price
9/3/2007

Customer review by Jessakittyface

4.0 stars 9/3/2007 by Jessakittyface
by Jessakittyface

My mom bought me this product because I wanted a cd alarm clock that I can wake to a cd if I so choose. Added bennie to this one is I can also play my iPod through the speakers via the jack. I can plug it into the jack and also sit my iDog on the top and jam away in my room without headplones. Yeah the sound quality isn't the best but for a bedroom alarm clock it does pretty ok. The display is very easy to read even when I don't have my glasses on and it's dark in the room. The only thing that annoys me is there is no battery back up and our power goes out a lot in the summer. But really it's no big. I have had this unit for over a year and it's served me well.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jessakittyface
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Only one Problem...
1/6/2009

Customer review by Maralin

4.0 stars 1/6/2009 by Maralin
by Maralin

This clock /radio / CD player is compact for it's functionality and has a lot of features for an inexpensive product. BUT... I remember when I was first setting the time and alarms, that there was a "trick" to doing it. It wasn't difficult, but it wasn't "intuitive" either. I got it set and managed to utilize it for a CD player and for an iPod player as well as a clock in my bathroom. Now, months later, the electricity went out in our neighborbood and I can't find the instruction booklet from it. My husband and I, who are both very computer and electronically literate, have been unable to reset the clock / alarms and it's been flashing for about three months... annoying me. I still can't find the original booklet and all attempts to reprogram and reset it have been fruitless. I came online to see if I can download instructions, and I see it's on clearance now, so I'll buy another one that I need anyway in my office, and then make sure I put the instructions in a secure place. It has two presetable alarms which is nice to remind me when my son has to get on his bus and when he'll be getting off so I don't get too buried in work (from home) and forget these important tasks of sending my five year old off to school and getting him safely off the bus!! Let's just pray the electricity doesn't go off again! Maralin

Maralin
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very practical
2/12/2008

Customer review by seashellhunter

5.0 stars 2/12/2008 by seashellhunter
by seashellhunter

I recieved this clock radio as a Christmas gift. Its able to play CD's, has an AM/FM radio, and has mp3 connectivity. Although you will need a connector cable if you want to play mp3's. The numbers are large and easy to read, and it has a switch on the back of the machine to adjust the brightness, that way the light won't keep you up at night if you put it on a nightstand right next to the bed. It also has the ability to set the alarm to buzzer, plus any CD track, or the radio station you had it set to.(However you can't set it to play an mp3 track at the alarm time). I also really like the fact that you can set two different alarms, that way I don't have to keep changing the alarm time. Get this clock, you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
seashellhunter
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Buy Something Else
12/23/2008

Customer review by Eskimo

2.0 stars 12/23/2008 by Eskimo
by Eskimo

Most clock radios have a battery back-up. Not this one. Why even sell a clock radio without a battery back up. We have a 22 year old clock that had a battery back up. It should be a standard feature. We connected an IPOD using the MP3 connection. Even with the volume turned up the volume output of this clock radio was very low. Recommend buying something else. This product does not deserve to have the Sony name on it. I gave the product a 5 for Reliability just because of the Sony name. May not apply here.

Eskimo
Would recommend to a friend? No
No backup battery
1/17/2010

Customer review by floridalady

4.0 stars 1/17/2010 by floridalady
by floridalady

I just went on the site to find out where the backup battery was, and found from the reviews, that there is none!. I kept telling myself that SONY (who I used to work for ) wouldn't put out a radio without a battery backup. My cheap radios have one! I am amazed that this feature would have been left off. My electricuty goes out frequently, at least three times a month - so now I have to put my cell phone by my bed with its alarm set to make sure I get up in the morning.

floridalady
Lake Worth, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
alarm volume too low
1/9/2010

Customer review by Smith123

2.0 stars 1/9/2010 by Smith123
by Smith123

The alarm volume is way too low. It is not much louder than the alarm on a wrist watch even with the vol turned way up. The person I gave it to as a gift (who has normal hearing) slept through it once and now can not sleep soundly because she is afraid it will not wake her up. It will be returned for a refund. Low rating because it does not wake user up.

Smith123
NNJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
What were they thinking?
6/28/2012

Customer review by HisGrace

2.0 stars 6/28/2012 by HisGrace
by HisGrace

I was looking for a CD clock radio, and this was the only one in several electronics stores. If I had known how very soft the alarm buzzer is, I would not have bought it. That said, the unit plays our CDs, and the numbers are large enough to see across the room. I would give it an "OK" rating.

HisGrace
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very Satisfied
10/11/2007

Customer review by dormgirl07

4.0 stars 10/11/2007 by dormgirl07
by dormgirl07

This alarm clock is great; you have three options for the brightness of the display, so you can adjust it to whatever is most visible in your room. It has two alarms, which can each be set to wake you up with a cd, the radio, or a buzzer. You can set the track on the cd that it wakes you up to as well. Also (and this is key for me because I'm living in a dorm and don't have a lot of space), it is able to just play the radio or a cd, so I don't need a boom box. I definitely recommend this product!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dormgirl07
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Product is good
12/1/2009

Customer review by luvtoads

3.0 stars 12/1/2009 by luvtoads
by luvtoads

I liked the fact that I could wake up to my CD's on this product. The lack of battery backup is very disappointing. Also, there is a soft humming sound just from the clock being plugged in.

luvtoads
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Tips
3/15/2011

Customer review by JJSS

2.0 stars 3/15/2011 by JJSS
by JJSS

Like the CD player, but is unhandy having volume control at back of unit. No indication of what radio station is being received, no battery back up. Will probably return product.

JJSS
Minneapolis MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
ok
5/18/2011

Customer review by Ujjwal

3.0 stars 5/18/2011 by Ujjwal
by Ujjwal

cannot use outside US where Power rating is 230V/50Hz. Sony should have audio products with international power rating, which will help many US tourist to buy these products.

Ujjwal
NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
No battery backup
10/12/2011

Customer review by Ralph42

1.0 stars 10/12/2011 by Ralph42
by Ralph42

If the power goes out for half a second all clock/ alarm times are lost and no wake up. I can't believe Sony would have such an oversight on an alarm radio. Unexceptable!!!!

Ralph42
Would recommend to a friend? No
NO DREAMS HERE
1/26/2009

Customer review by Redzorro

5.0 stars 1/26/2009 by Redzorro
by Redzorro

THIS PRODUCT PLAYS SO GOOD THAT I DO NOT WANT TO GO TO SLEEP. THE ONLY THING THAT COULD BE IMPROVED WOULD BE TO PUT IN PROGRAMMING FOR cd AND INPUT DEVICES.

Redzorro
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/24/2008

Customer review by missie104

4.0 stars 1/24/2008 by missie104
by missie104

Overall I like this radio-the sound is good,cd's sound great. The only odd thing is where the tuner for the radio stations as well as the volume wheel are located. They're on the side so you have to pick it up to see what station you want. I would not have bought it had I been in the store and seen this but I ordered it online and its not a big enough deal to return. I also do like the large numbers on the clock. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
missie104
youngstown,oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Product/ Great Value
12/10/2007

Customer review by TPete

5.0 stars 12/10/2007 by TPete
by TPete

I am very pleased with this radio/cd player/alarm clock all in one. I've been looking for one for a while for my daughter. I bought one of a different brand for my other daughter and it has fallen apart and quit working. This clock radio stereo has great sound and is a great product for what I needed. It is easy to understand and to work with.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TPete
Kuna, Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good value
3/1/2008

Customer review by schoollunchlady

5.0 stars 3/1/2008 by schoollunchlady
by schoollunchlady

This is a nice compact cd radio. It was easy to set up and being able to fall asleep to music without having to worry about whether or not your alarm will function properly is nice. I also like the ability to choose the lenghth of my snooze.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
schoollunchlady
San Bernardino, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just what I was looking for
10/4/2007

Customer review by OnAMission

5.0 stars 10/4/2007 by OnAMission
by OnAMission

This is exactly what I was looking for and once again leave it to Wal-Mart to have it and at a very good price. I especialy love the large lighted digital time display, you can see it from across the room with no problem

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OnAMission
Melbourne, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice product!
1/28/2008

Customer review by thewave

5.0 stars 1/28/2008 by thewave
by thewave

This is a nice clock radio, the numbers are very large, as is the whole unit. It has a setting for bright, medium or dim for the lighting of the numbers. Easy to program, buttons are self-explanitory.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thewave
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A good product
12/3/2007

Customer review by Picky2TheMax

4.0 stars 12/3/2007 by Picky2TheMax
by Picky2TheMax

I really like this clock radio & it's so nice to wake up to a CD!!! The only problem I've found so far, is you have to reset the time everytime the power goes off because there is no battery back-up.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Picky2TheMax
West Grove, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews