Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 26 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

26 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

26 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 21 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews
Sounds loud & clear but bass is mediocre
11/5/2007

Customer review by coasterfreak456

3.0 stars 11/5/2007 by coasterfreak456
by coasterfreak456

I bought this stereo to replace my 460-watt JVC-MXGT88 GigaTube system that died. This system sounds loud & clear at high volumes. My complaint is the sub; it pretty much has mediocre performance. My old JVC had much more bass than this system. I hope JVC makes more GigaTube systems in the future. They are the best. I also do not like that it has no tape deck. There is also no mute function. The display can be it little hard to read at a certain angle. Other than that, it is a nice system for anyone to own. I would recommend this system to anybody but will not recommend it to a person who craves good quality bass performance from a shelf stereo. I ended up returning this stereo to Wal-Mart for a full refund. As a Sony fan, I would say make your systems sound better on bass performance on your shelf stereos when it comes to low frequencies.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coasterfreak456
South Bend, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very powerful system
9/24/2007

Customer review by raulseternalbliss

5.0 stars 9/24/2007 by raulseternalbliss
by raulseternalbliss

I love it so much,,,I play it everyday and its working like a champ,,,the subwoofer is awesome and the speakers are really awesome too,,,it is also really cool that I am able to connect my mp3 player and my laptop to it and the sound is truly amazing,,,It is also really cool that you are able to play mp3 disks on it and it having three disk changer is awesome,,,its a really great little system with a powerful sound,,, I feel I really got my money's worth,,,

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
raulseternalbliss
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sony Mini Stereo Systeem
12/29/2007

Customer review by davidi7430

5.0 stars 12/29/2007 by davidi7430
by davidi7430

The item was given as an anniversary gift. it has thus far performed flawlessly with great sound and flexibility. The only issue is the lack of clarity in the operating instructions. When a function (i.e., repeat, shuffle) is activated, there are no instructions for how to cancel/change the function. The only way I have found is to unplug the system so that it will reset to the original factory settings and start over. Sony needs to correct this problem.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
davidi7430
Lincolnton, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
how cool is this
12/30/2007

Customer review by droboboy

5.0 stars 12/30/2007 by droboboy
by droboboy

this stereo is awsome. i got this yesterday and it is loud and very high quility. the subwofer could use some more power thogh.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
droboboy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sony Stereo
10/21/2007

Customer review by Douglas

4.0 stars 10/21/2007 by Douglas
by Douglas

An excellent unit if your preference is quality sound. Not much on graphic display or other visual amenities. This unit is built for delivering sound. No distorsion, even at full volume. And with its sub-wolfer, it will shake the walls. It still delivers high treble sounds and mid range clairity equalivant my home unit that's ten times the cost. The only draw backs I've found is having to physically turn the base amp on and off. The function buttons are simple yet confussing until menorizied. Imput jacks are located in the front, making visible wiring. Overall compensated for the price paid.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Douglas
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great sound but had to return
11/3/2007

Customer review by Bize4sure

2.0 stars 11/3/2007 by Bize4sure
by Bize4sure

I had purchased this system for my daughter who was moving into her own place. She used it everyday for entertainment because she didn't have any cable TV. In just two weeks the CD player was not reading her discs. We had to return it to the store for a new one. We hope that that one will be better.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bize4sure
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AIWA Downgraded
12/2/2007

Customer review by JCRush248

1.0 stars 12/2/2007 by JCRush248
by JCRush248

AIWA got bought out by Sony, so to replace my old AIWA that had a 3 CD, AUX-IN (TV/DVD), Dual Tape Deck, and subwoofer. I had taken this back because of NO: AUX-IN for my DVD or TV, and NO Tape Deck. So for the same price that I bought my AIWA back in 1997 -- here is what Sony brings to the table -- a plain 3 CD player. I don't listen to CD's that often, but I did not want a home theatre that I would have to build a Tape Deck for... Hopefully Sony learns to create products for users on a budget and put everything on it like AIWA did in 1997.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JCRush248
Naperville, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Sony Mini Stero System MHCGX99
9/19/2007

Customer review by Chitownchild

5.0 stars 9/19/2007 by Chitownchild
by Chitownchild

I was really surprised and proud of the quality of sound this unit puts out. A friend and I were looking on purchasing stereo equipment. He purchased several high end pieces and his upgrades kinda put a fire under me. My problem was I didn't have that kind of money to spend so, I decided to look at a couple of mini systems. I have always been a Pioneer and Sony fan. I noticed this unit featured a sub-bass and figured this feature would give me the bass I thought I would loose from a small unit. Needless to say, with the sub-bass on or off, the quality of sound delivered from this unit made my friend green with envy and I didn't have to spend $1500. This is a great product!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chitownchild
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Product
12/26/2007

Customer review by MikeD93

5.0 stars 12/26/2007 by MikeD93
by MikeD93

I love the stero that I purchased. The price was excellent. The sound on this stero can get very loud, the bass is great. The design of the stero is excellent and looks great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MikeD93
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Good Sony Product.
2/8/2008

Customer review by aringer2

5.0 stars 2/8/2008 by aringer2
by aringer2

This Sony stereo system meets my expectations. The quality of the sound is vdery good. The speaker wires could be longer. And the owners instruction manual could be better explained as to the controls. But as is, it's a good quality audio player.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aringer2
Midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sony Mini Stero
1/9/2008

Customer review by dainetta

5.0 stars 1/9/2008 by dainetta
by dainetta

Wonderful stero. Great sound.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dainetta
Tucumcari, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sony
1/10/2008

Customer review by MiaLuna

5.0 stars 1/10/2008 by MiaLuna
by MiaLuna

This system is everything and more. The sound quality was exceptional, it is compact yet nice to look at. Easy to following set-up instructions and as always Sony has never let me down. Although it did not say in the description we were able to play our daughters ipod thru the system. Great product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MiaLuna
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sounds Great So Far!
3/9/2008

Customer review by iceman1575

5.0 stars 3/9/2008 by iceman1575
by iceman1575

Been eyeballing this stereo as an alternate incase I can't purchase the live sound system to DJ with because they go out of stock on speakers. I have to say everytime I go to WalMart, I either carry a male-male 1/8" cable or my FM transmitter so I can go back and enjoy this stereo. The pair of 5" woofers provide nice emission of the lower frequencies, while the high-frequency driver and horn can pump out some crisp sound. The sub sounds fine at lower volumes, but when I'm working dances and banquets, I won't need much bass. A pair of these and an analog mixer might do me well to start. Excellent product for what it is.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iceman1575
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing sound
3/14/2008

Customer review by MKadir22

5.0 stars 3/14/2008 by MKadir22
by MKadir22

I bought this stereo and shipped it to my old home in Guyana before Christmas; it packs such amazing sound and power, the music could be heard throughout my entire village. The sound is extremely clear and ranged, and the sub-woofer packs amazing bass power.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MKadir22
North Brunswick, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sony Stereo
9/11/2007

Customer review by inmytree

5.0 stars 9/11/2007 by inmytree
by inmytree

I am very pleased overall with the product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
inmytree
Parsons, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Design
12/19/2007

Customer review by AmericanRebel

4.0 stars 12/19/2007 by AmericanRebel
by AmericanRebel

Only draw back to this product is the need to power the bass unit separately from the main unit, thus requiring two power switches.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AmericanRebel
Northwestern Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
product for daily use
12/21/2007

Customer review by nanu

4.0 stars 12/21/2007 by nanu
by nanu

I'M VERY HAPPY WITH THIS SONY STERO, AND THINK THE PRICE WE GOT IT FOR WAS THE BEST WE COULD GET. GOOD SOUND, BUT REMOTE IS NOT A REAL SIMPLE ONE TO USE

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nanu
WALKER, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice sound
12/26/2007

Customer review by CoolHand

4.0 stars 12/26/2007 by CoolHand
by CoolHand

I liked it when I looked at it and when I got it home and set up it sounded great . If you asked me would I buy it again the answer is yes .

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CoolHand
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sony Mini Stereo
4/18/2008

Customer review by Sanuchar

4.0 stars 4/18/2008 by Sanuchar
by Sanuchar

Measurements of the unit aren't as indicated. I had limited space in an entertainment center and Sony failed to include a 4" x 2" piece that protruded out behind the unit. Consequently I had to turn the unit on an angle towards the corner. They could have also made the speaker wires longer - now I have to splice them to put enough space between the speakers so sound doesn't resonate off of them. However, sound is fab for the price and it's very easy to use. Within minutes of installation, which only took minutes, my 5 year old was already playing her CDs. I would recommend this product if your looking for something that doesn't cost much and easy to use, and still has fab sound.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sanuchar
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Size
12/1/2007

Customer review by LoveMyYankees

4.0 stars 12/1/2007 by LoveMyYankees
by LoveMyYankees

I was disappointed in the bulkiness and overall size of this product. The sound, however, is very good.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveMyYankees
Sykesville, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews