Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 27 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

27 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

27 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-20 of 23 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews
WAYYYYY To small but performs well.
1/22/2008

Customer review by dazedmj

3.0 stars 1/22/2008 by dazedmj
by dazedmj

I bought this item before returning to work because I thought it would simplify my sterilizing routine for my breast pump parts. I also liked that It was dry sanitizing, so I was excited to sanitize items like teethers, small stuffed animals, etc. I wish that I had seen all the reviews on amazon before purchasing. I assumed by the photo that this was a much bigger item, and that I would be able to fit lots inside. (see my photos uploaded to amazon) I was sadly mistaken. When the germ guardian arrived I was shocked at how small it was. Unlike other reviewers stated, I was able to fit all of my double pump pieces inside, both horns, both diaphragms, and all the sterile caps, etc. However, that was about all I could fit. If the unit is completely empty, I can fit four, 4 ounce avent bottles in it, but none with the pump horns. The avent 4 ounce bottles must be in the 4 corners, otherwise the lid hits them and won't close. Anything larger than a 4 ounce bottle will only fit on it's side. Because of the strange plastic divider pieces that are in the container, only ONE 8 oz bottle will fit inside, on it's side. Strange! So when I thought that I would be able to come home and sterilize Four bottles and all my pump parts in one load, I was sadly mistaken. I can fit almost 50% more items in my Avent Micro Steam Sterilizer. Every night after daycare I have to run the Germ Guardian THREE TIMES to get the bottles and pump parts from the day sanitized. The small size of the chamber is just ridiculous. They could have at least made it deeper, if not wider dimensionally... that way it would take up very little counter space and still handle a nice sized load. Another thing I wasn't expecting, the bottom of the container is "open" with spoke-like dividers radiating out from the center. Instead of being a nice grid design like say, a colander, it allows smaller pump parts and even pacifier handles and small MAM Pacis to fall through. That is crazy to me. I am always afraid this will cause something to melt or drop through. (please see photos I uploaded of inside grid) That said, the sanitizer is easy to use. It does it's job. It's nice to walk away and come back to clean, dry, sterile pieces. My favorite part is that silicone breast pump parts and nipples are never "spotted" or cloudy as they are with boiling or with steam sterilizers. Just nice and crystal clear. At least things look nice! Another thing I was shocked about? You can't use this to sanitize teethers! The directions state that no toys with liquid inside can be placed in the sanitizer in case they get too hot and burst. I was disappointed at this. You also can't put in any toys with light or music/sound features. So no light up keys or musical rattles. I thought that as a dry sanitizer, it would be able to do these things for me. That even ruled out the stuffed animal that I wanted to sanitize, because his hands are plastic and filled with a teething gel. Another downside is that wet items cant be placed inside. So while I thought I would save drying time, I still have to wash and hand dry all the parts before they can go inside. I thought they would probably dry while in the sanitizer, since it uses heat much like a dishwasher. However, the directions tell you that it is NOT A DRYER and that Wet Items are not to be placed inside. If wet items are inside, they won't get hot enough to be sanitized. I was extremely frustrated with the lack of information about the product that was available before I purchased. This could use some serious improvements. The idea is great but the design is not.

Was this review helpful? (33) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dazedmj
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/2/2008

Customer review by 2008firsttimeparents

5.0 stars 3/2/2008 by 2008firsttimeparents
by 2008firsttimeparents

My husband and I really like this product. It is small but it works great for pacifiers and nipples to bottles. Our new addition is only 2 weeks old but Im sure as she grows we will find many new uses for this product.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2008firsttimeparents
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy to use
1/18/2008

Customer review by VeryLovingMommy

5.0 stars 1/18/2008 by VeryLovingMommy
by VeryLovingMommy

Makes my day a little easier. I just load it up, put on the cover, and press the button. 30 minutes later, its all sanitized. Easier than using a microwave. I love this product!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VeryLovingMommy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
not bad
1/11/2008

Customer review by ellenm

3.0 stars 1/11/2008 by ellenm
by ellenm

it is a little bit small. can't put anything wet in it or toys with musical devices in it. takes 30 min. to complete. i like to put my pacifiers and small toys in it. so far i think the product is okay.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ellenm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pretty good
12/10/2008

Customer review by irishrosemomof3

5.0 stars 12/10/2008 by irishrosemomof3
by irishrosemomof3

I've found the heat output & time to be satisfactory. It's easy to use. It would be nice if it was a couple of inches deeper & wider, though. And $50 seems to be a little too much. I've not had a single problem with mine. The instructions do say to not put liquid-filled items in the Guardian, so be careful to not do that. I do recommend the Germ Guardian.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
irishrosemomof3
Princeton, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Pleased
10/23/2009

Customer review by Latrellmomof2

5.0 stars 10/23/2009 by Latrellmomof2
by Latrellmomof2

I have a three month old and I love this product. It saves me time. I use the playtex drop in bottles and they don't fit inside but, just having it to sanitze nipples, pacifiers, and the tops make my life easier. You can sanitze the bottles with a teaspon of bleach and they'll be dry by the time the sanitizer is. I recommend every parent have one of these.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Latrellmomof2
Japan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/15/2008

Customer review by telu

5.0 stars 8/15/2008 by telu
by telu

This item is a great item. I find that I am using this item everyday and it is so easy to use. I would recommend this to everyone who has a child.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
telu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
7/2/2009

Customer review by KOno

5.0 stars 7/2/2009 by KOno
by KOno

I am a first time mom. Never used any other similar product, but I am glad that I found this one. It is so useful. I use it at least three to four times a day!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KOno
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Safe
10/29/2007

Customer review by onegrandchild

5.0 stars 10/29/2007 by onegrandchild
by onegrandchild

Bought for my daughter. Left at my house since we do daily babysitting. Granddaughter is 6 mos. old and everything goes to the mouth. This allows me to clean items that I can't clean in water and soap. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
onegrandchild
Danville Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
love it but could use more room
1/5/2008

Customer review by MotherOfLilly

5.0 stars 1/5/2008 by MotherOfLilly
by MotherOfLilly

I have a one month old and I'm very careful with keeping her pacifiers and nipples to her bottles clean clean clean. I cant fit up to 6 nipples and 3 pacifiers at once. That works for me. That's all I need it for. Once she gets older I would want more space but it works for her right now.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MotherOfLilly
Katy, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for women who exclusively pump.
10/6/2008

Customer review by Niff

5.0 stars 10/6/2008 by Niff
by Niff

My husband and I purchased this product because I exclusively pump breast milk to feed our baby. She was born at 26 weeks gestation and is in the NICU, so we're unable to breast feed. Instead, I pump to ensure she gets breast milk. Before we bought the Germ Guardian, I was hand washing the horns to my pump every hour and a half. Talk about a hassle! Both of my horns fit perfectly in the machine and it's great to drop them in and walk away. As other reviewers have said, the machine is pretty small so don't expect to sterilize bottles in it. It's also a bit noisy, but if you don't mind the humming/buzzing then it's well worth it. I will say that you should make sure the plastic parts you put in it are able to withstand the heat. I put two NICU breast milk storage bottles in it and they became distorted. I'm thinking the bottles just weren't built for the heat, but it is a word of warning to all.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Niff
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love IT!!!
4/4/2009

Customer review by Av1333

5.0 stars 4/4/2009 by Av1333
by Av1333

At first I thought that this would be just an expensive item and not be very good. When I got it I set it up, which only took about 5min. It is smaller than expected but I was still able to fit quite a bit into it. It does no damage to bottle nipples or toys. I absolutley love it, it works great and is quiet. A little pricey for how small it is but I would definately recommend it to any one who has a baby or small child.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Av1333
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Sanitizer But Small
12/23/2008

Customer review by NevadaHomes

4.0 stars 12/23/2008 by NevadaHomes
by NevadaHomes

It is a good sanitizer but it is too small. I like the fact that it is an effective dry sanitizer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NevadaHomes
Reno, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product
11/19/2007

Customer review by browls0

4.0 stars 11/19/2007 by browls0
by browls0

Awesome product! Just put your stuff in and press the button - sanitized stuff in just 30 minutes, and its not wet like with steam sterilizers - love that part. A little bit pricy, especially for the size. It was smaller than I expected - wish it was larger.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
browls0
La Vergne, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Is it necessary?
5/25/2009

Customer review by ProudNHappyParent

4.0 stars 5/25/2009 by ProudNHappyParent
by ProudNHappyParent

I thought the product was a great idea. I like the idea of having everything for my son sanitized. However, I'm not sure if the product was actually necessary. It blows hot air to sanitize, but my dishwasher does the same thing on "dry" mode. The case is very small, so sanitizing small items such as pacifiers and small bottle and pump parts are done with ease. If you want to sanitize actual bottles, you can only sanitize one, maybe two, bottles at a time... and that's only if they'll fit. You can't use this product if you're in a hurry as each cycle takes 20 minutes to complete. I would recommend this item if it wasn't as expensive. Personally, I don't think it's worth $50, and would not have purchased it if I had known then what I know now. Like I said, great idea, just not necessary and not entirely convenient.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ProudNHappyParent
Oregon, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
Not quite what I expected
12/10/2007

Customer review by fiddler2811

4.0 stars 12/10/2007 by fiddler2811
by fiddler2811

It works very quickly and quietly, just don't feel like it's really cleaning anything well enough!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fiddler2811
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Germ Guardian - Nursery Sanitizer
3/22/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 3/22/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The Germ Guardian - Nursery Sanitizer is an awesome appliance and I recommend for anyone who wants to sanitize with dry air. We currently do not have a dish washer so hand washing my bottles and nuks then placing them into the Sanitizer is a plus for us. Worth the price of peace of mind.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Milwaukee, Wisconisn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
too small
1/21/2008

Customer review by allmynicknameswereused

4.0 stars 1/21/2008 by allmynicknameswereused
by allmynicknameswereused

This product was much smaller than I expected it would be. Most of the toys and other objects I wanted to clean would not fit. There are slots in the bottom, also, so if something was too small it would go through the slots.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
allmynicknameswereused
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Odor
4/1/2008

Customer review by 39weeks

3.0 stars 4/1/2008 by 39weeks
by 39weeks

I loved the idea of a sterilizer for all my babies items. But when I started to use this item it released an odor and when I checked to see what was going on it melted the comb and medicine dropper I placed in the sterlizer. It also takes 30 minutes to sterlize. Plus it is very loud when it works.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
39weeks
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Terrible odor!
4/8/2008

Customer review by momwiscon

3.0 stars 4/8/2008 by momwiscon
by momwiscon

This concept is great but this product has a terrible odor which makes everything you put in it smell like that odor. Yuk! It's kind of small so you can only put small things like pacifiers, rattles, and bottle rings in it. The heat that comes from it doesn't get hot enough to burn your skin which was comforting because I was worried about that. And to set it up, all you have to do is pull it out of the box. I would like this product if it weren't for that aweful smell! It's kind of a musty basement smell. I thought it would go away after several uses as I have a crock pot that did something similar (different smell), but that was not the case. I will not be using this anymore just because of the smell.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momwiscon
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews