Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 468 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

468 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

468 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
389
4 stars
53
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 stars
14
1-20 of 425 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 425 total reviews
1-20 of 425 reviews
LODGE CAST IRON
12/16/2012

Customer review by lottajoy

4.0 stars 12/16/2012 by lottajoy
by lottajoy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Compared to more expensive cast iron, LODGE is a bit rougher where pan texture is concerned. It advertises that it is pre-seasoned, but LODGE said it is NOT. Therefore, many hours of prepping were involved before I fried the first egg - that stuck. I knew I would need to season more aggressively due to the roughness of the cast iron. Do not expect a smooth, mirrored finish as comes on high end cast iron. This is more rustic. After heating it to smoking on my stove, I applied olive oil sparingly then rubbed it in using a paper towel. I did this at least 20 times and the paper towel would shred due to the coarseness of the pan. After scraping it down with a metal spatula (many times) and re-seasoning many MORE times, I finally had the skillet of my dreams. Eggs might not slide around like they are on ice, but they do not stick now. Clean-up (unless you make gravy) requires a wipe-down with a dry cloth (since I stopped using paper towels) lol

Was this review helpful? (85) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lottajoy
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Improper packing ruined a great skillet
5/6/2016

Customer review by Ironman

1.0 stars 5/6/2016 by Ironman
by Ironman

I ordered this skillet along with the 3 quart combo cooker. Both items were packed in one cardboard box with the combo cooker inside its own box while the 12" skillet was placed by itself on top of the combo cooker box along with a long ribbon of brown paper for packing material to secure it. As a result of the heavy skillet being so loosely packed inside of the shipping carton, it arrived with the handle broken off. Whoever packed my shipment apparently had no clue as to the fact that a 12" iron pan needed to be prevented from moving and properly cushioned during the shipping process.

Was this review helpful? (11) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ironman
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good value
9/22/2014

Customer review by jenniebeme

4.0 stars 9/22/2014 by jenniebeme
by jenniebeme
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a really affordable cast iron skillet. Word of caution, the heat distribution doesn't seem to be even -- it gets really hot in the center of the pan. However, I'm cooking on an electric stove and would probably have better results with gas. I tried to fry an egg in it this weekend and it stuck pretty bad, but I think the pan just needs to be seasoned more. Overall, I think it will meet my needs, I love the price, and I'm looking forward to "breaking it in"! :)

Was this review helpful? (15) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jenniebeme
Frederick, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I'm in love!
8/17/2010

Customer review by kut17

5.0 stars 8/17/2010 by kut17
by kut17

Ever since I've taken up cooking, I've discovered that I have a classic, old fashioned outlook. I don't care for this 30 minutes or less pre-packaged food that everyone else does these days. I like cooking when it takes time and concentration because it always tastes great. Until I got this cast iron skillet, I never realized how good food really could be. I don't know how it does it, but food cooked in this skillet is much better. It doubles the flavor and gives it a really hearty taste. I could not be happier with this product. Even though maintenance can be kind of a pain for the first few months, it gets easier with each use and eventually it's easier than cleaning any other pan. My favorite things to make are breakfast foods (bacon, pancakes, eggs), steaks (sear on both sides and finish in the oven), and fried chicken (one of the best uses I have found for this pan). It's no wonder why cast iron cookware has been around for centuries: it works and works well!

Was this review helpful? (50) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kut17
UT, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Didnt know what I had
3/5/2011

Customer review by BlackQTee

5.0 stars 3/5/2011 by BlackQTee
by BlackQTee

You would not believe I bought these last year and maybe even longer than that and NEVER used them. I used it last night to fry some chicken. Simply because a friend was talking about them. I was shocked and awed and took me back to me child hood when no one could make fried chicken like your mother. =) ( didnt know it was the skillet) It was the most beautiful chicken I ever had. I decided to research information on cast iron skillets. They are a healthy way of cooking. The maintenance to me doesnt compare to other cooking utensils in which I have to poor comet in and soak them over night to dissolve the grease. I used some scalding hot water and a scrub brush. Sprayed and massaged with some pam on the inside perimeter and put on the stove on low for 15 minutes. It looks so beautiful. I just seasoned another grill bottom cast iron skillet that I will be using from now on. I also have a griddle stove top grill/griddle that I have used and always loved that. I am fully on the cast iron band wagon.

Was this review helpful? (63) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlackQTee
Naperville, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
enjoying the heck out of it!
2/19/2015

Customer review by GuitarSlim

5.0 stars 2/19/2015 by GuitarSlim
by GuitarSlim
Top 500 contributor

got it on 2/16 and have used it every day. It is so much fun and so cool! I just started cooking more and have had difficulty getting used to stainless steel and non-stick (the temperatures can't be too high with those things). I was nervous foods will stick and they have just a little so far. I gather this is a little bit of a fine art, but "season" it after each use, that means paper towel a lil oil on it; Vegetable Oil. I see it is already forming a coating of it's own! It comes w some instructions, oil it a little more heavily at first. God it is cheap- $20! It is heavy, but strong and they say built to last a lifetimes. I believe it. But it heats hot and evenly and I think food tastes better coming off it. I hope to stay with it and see it through. I feel more like I am cooking the right way with it. I wasn't really concerned with the health hazards that are sometimes suggested w stainless steel and non-stick, though maybe a little in the back of my mind. The original way to go, and cheap!

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GuitarSlim
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 500 contributor
A Natural source of Iron.
3/2/2013

Customer review by ShanaraNY

5.0 stars 3/2/2013 by ShanaraNY
by ShanaraNY

My daughter has consistently low iron blood work, so I thought I would purchase a few cast iron items to start, and plan on changing over all my cookware! I feel good cooking on cast iron. I treated the skillet first by covering it in oil and baking at 300 degrees for hours. The skillet came out with a beautiful glaze on it. When I am finished cooking, I clean it out, put it on a burner on low, to dry any water off the pan, then re-coat in oil, and leave on the burner for another 5-10 minutes. It may all sound like a lot of work, but I really feel this pan is worth it. Once this skillet was treated, the glaze on it is like non stick wear, without nasty chemicals being used like Teflon. I have cooked anything from roasted vegetables, to fried chicken, and bacon and eggs, and everything slides off the skillet when I am done, and clean up only takes a wipe of a dish cloth, and everything I cook in this skillet is more nutritional, infused with natural iron. I highly recommend, and Walmart brings this to us at a fraction of the cost!

Was this review helpful? (102) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShanaraNY
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful! I'm buying one more!
1/21/2013

Customer review by georgetoon

5.0 stars 1/21/2013 by georgetoon
by georgetoon

I got tired of all the so called "non-stick miracle pans." They didn't work. Over the years, I had heard of all the health benefits that came with cooking in cast iron. So, I did some research. I was happy to see Walmart carrying the Lodge brand and that it's made in the good 'ol U.S.A.! My brother filled me in about cast iron cooking and even though this skillet is pre-seasoned, he strongly urged me to season it once more. It was easy enough. Lots of videos on youtube.com, even from Lodge themselves! The next morning, i made fresh home-fried potatoes, bacon, and eggs...and nothing sticked! That evening, I made a chicken and rice recipe for the oven. i mixed all the ingredients, placed it in the skillet, and popped it in the oven at 350 degrees for an hour and 20 minutes. Wow! Again, the food was great and nothing sticked. Clean up was a breeze! Hot water and a stiff brush. Then thoroughly dry and apply a few drops of vegetable oil to keep it in good shape. I plan to buy the 10 inch skillet. You can't beat the price or the quality! (And, I'm putting all those teflon pans in storage.)

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
georgetoon
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent for Cooking- Learn Cast Iron Care First
1/11/2009

Customer review by CathyGag

5.0 stars 1/11/2009 by CathyGag
by CathyGag

This pan is amazing! I was a little skeptical at first, but with the limited budget of a grad student I just couldn't afford the pricier "kitchen gadget store" models. I'm so glad I didn't pay more! Works beautifully for fried chicken, and does a splendid job in the oven with Food Network host Alton Brown's Pan Seared Rib Eye recipe (you've got to try it in the winter when you're crazing a great steak but it's just to cold to grill)... For the amount of money it's saved me on going to a steak house or great fried chicken joint it's been well worth the money and extra time required for maintaining it. I learned the hard way... Make sure you do your research on how to properly care for cast iron before bringing this baby home and using it for the first time. Mine has been used and abused for the past three years and it's definitely starting to show... I've been told though that it should re-season beautifully and be good to go again for years to come. And just an FYI - The Lodge 12-inch cast iron skillet just received America's Test Kitchen's top score out of all the cast iron skillets they reviewed, including several models sold 'exclusively' at those fancy kitchen stores for around $100.

Was this review helpful? (328) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CathyGag
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Wonderful
5/19/2014

Customer review by VivaLaWally

5.0 stars 5/19/2014 by VivaLaWally
by VivaLaWally
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have many older collectable skillets and several lodge cast iron items. I enjoy cooking with my older cookware because it gives me a sense of familial and national history. But, deep in the back of my mind I am concerned about damaging them, so I bought this skillet. I received it almost a week before it was expected; washed it and fried some chicken, and boy was it good! And, there was absolutely no concern about damaging the skillet, which made the experience even more pleasurable. The 12 inch skillet is heavier than most vintage and antique cast iron and it is not as smooth as the oldies. However, this finish is definitely not as rough as many of the competitors, especially some of the imported stuff. The skillet heated evenly and it was roomy enough for three large thighs. The 12 inch Lodge skillet was flat and sat evenly on the burner - some other brand new imports that I have seen, and damaged oldies, will wobble on the burner because the base is not flat - it is a keeper. Now, go on out and get yours before inflation makes the price of this skillet more expensive.

Was this review helpful? (21) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VivaLaWally
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it, love it, love it!
7/15/2011

Customer review by ashep01

5.0 stars 7/15/2011 by ashep01
by ashep01

I absolutely love this skillet. It is perfect in every way. I have used it several times for searing fish, blackening salmon, making hash browns, potstickers, and several other meals. It is truly amazing and I have not used my old faithful non-stick skillets since this baby arrived. I do not know how I lived so long without it and why I waited so long to purchase it. I have no issues and hope anyone on the fence will purchase it because it is pretty good. I am lazy and not the most meticulous when it comes to cookware, however, I do clean this pan, spray it with cooking spray, wipe it out as mentioned because I do want to preserve its effectiveness and longevity. If you are considering a cast iron skillet, this is a great pan and I use it on both my 14 inch burner and my 8 inch. It maintains its heat well and I have not complaints.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ashep01
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Value
1/11/2012

Customer review by Foodie66

5.0 stars 1/11/2012 by Foodie66
by Foodie66

How many other products will you buy that will last yours and your childrens' lifetimes, you can use every day, does its job as well or better than any other product of its type, is made in the usa, and costs under 20 bucks? It's funny to look at cast iron products at Williams-Sonoma that cost over a hundred dollars, and are absolutely no better at cooking than a Lodge skillet for 18 bucks! If I could only have one pan to prepare meals with, it would be this skillet. You can cook literally anything with it. I seasoned mine again with vegetable shortening when I first brought it home, and give it a coating of veg or olive oil whenever I scrub it out. Keep it dry (heat it up on the stove top after cleaning) and never, ever, use soap. It's not needed. Heat and oil are the skillets best friends. Your skillet will only perform better with age.

Was this review helpful? (48) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Foodie66
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Should have bought them sooner!
8/13/2016

Customer review by JimmyP

5.0 stars 8/13/2016 by JimmyP
by JimmyP

I remember my grandmother always cooking breakfast (and other meals) in a cast iron pan and now I have my own. After using numerous pots and pans I find this to be the best out there. My wife swore she would cook more if I bought her this specific stainless set and well it seems I cook more than she does. All the non-stick pans I bought have been thrown out because they either scratched or food got so burnt it became permanently stuck to the pan. With this pan I can scrubbed the heck out of it and not worry about the finish. But honestly I haven't had any real issues with anything sticking. I guess that goes to show the seasoning process has been done quite well. That was one of the main reasons I bought this pan instead of others. I didn't want to go through the hassle of seasoning it and messing it up. Some of the things I love about this pan: non stick, indestructable, can sear a steak and then pop it straight into the oven! I will soon be purchasing more and tossing out the rest of my pots and pans! The only downside I see is that they are very heavy and could damage a glass top stove if you are not careful. Start building your muscles now! Other than that, what more could you ask for? An heirloom quality pan that will surely outlast me and my kids. Great product!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JimmyP
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Heavy skillet
11/9/2013

Customer review by oldguy1952

4.0 stars 11/9/2013 by oldguy1952
by oldguy1952
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My only adverse observation is it claims it comes "pre-seasoned". being a 7th generation native Texan, found it not to be seasoned proper. My advice, buy it, before you even try to use it, get some bacon grease, smear it all around inside the skillet, add a little pepper if you truly like flavor in your fried foods, then bake it at 400° for 45 minutes or so, let it air cool on stove top before using. If you wash it after use, don't let it air dry, immediately put on the stove top on low heat and leave it until it's fully dried, that way the soap won't get into the seasoning. Every so often you'll need to re-season it. You can bake fantastic cornbread in this thing.

Was this review helpful? (91) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oldguy1952
TEXAS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
love this product
3/11/2008

Customer review by cheesehead4

5.0 stars 3/11/2008 by cheesehead4
by cheesehead4

I absolutely love this product. It is so versatile. I know in the product info it says that it is already seasoned, but I would recommend that you bake it again. What i mean is, coat it with a THIN layer of crisco (or something similar) and bake it in the oven (empty) for about 6 or 7 hours on 225 degree heat. It makes it non-stick and keeps it from drying out, repeat if necessary every few mos or so.

Was this review helpful? (272) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cheesehead4
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not quite sure yet.
4/4/2013

Customer review by hmshopperfv

3.0 stars 4/4/2013 by hmshopperfv
by hmshopperfv
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 50 contributor

It seems like a good product. I wanted a preseasoned pan because I had such a hard time seasoning a pan the last time I tried. It said it might need some extra oil the first few times and it might need more seasoning. I figured bacon would be a good first product because it's so greasy. The bacon stuck really bad to the pan, I had to scrape it off the bottom and those spots where it stuck were terribly sticky. After the bacon I fried a couple burgers in the pan, they got that nice crusty outside like you only get from a skillet like this or from a really nice restaurant grill. The burgers stuck a little bit but nothing serious. Then I fried up the rest of the hamburger to use in other dishes, that fried up nicely no sticking. I think it cleaned up nicely, I poured out the grease and wiped it out with paper towel, I didn't want to use water on it again afraid it will set me back. I'll have to see how it goes on the use.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hmshopperfv
Fox Valley WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 50 contributor
I love it !
1/13/2014

Customer review by dawghaus

5.0 stars 1/13/2014 by dawghaus
by dawghaus

Received my new pan and it was already seasoned of course but I wanted to be sure food would not stick so I seasoned it myself per the instructions.I had never used cast iron cookware myself until now and the first thing I cooked in it was KC strip . I did it according to the instructions found on Lodge Logics website with the exception that after pulling it out of the oven after four minutes I turned my steaks over and put them back in the oven for three more minutes. I like my steaks medium well to well done and it came out perfectly well done . The flavor was fantastic and it was nice an moist . Probably the best steak I have ever cooked myself ! Who would have thought that simple cast iron would beat all the fancy grills and appliances I have used over the years to cook steak . I thought I had cooked some pretty tasty steak before but my results this time just blew me away . The Lodge Logic cast iron is beautiful and American made and certainly worth every penny . I will certainly be buying more of it as I learn how to cook with this great cookware .

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dawghaus
camdenton , Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Had to get one for myself!
1/4/2016

Customer review by GinaPea

5.0 stars 1/4/2016 by GinaPea
by GinaPea

I love this pan! I actually bought 2 of the 10.25 inch pans (one for my son for Christmas and one for me) in the store (they didn't have any 12 inch ones when I was there). I used mine to fry up bacon (is there anything other than bacon that should be fried the first time using a cast iron skillet? I think not...) and it was great, but I wanted/needed a bigger skillet as well. So I decided to see if I could order them online and have them sent to me. Not only were they available "in store", I was sent text messages once they were ready to be picked up. No shipping, no fuss, no muss. I went the next day, parked and walked to the back of the store where I showed the email I was told to bring and was given the 2 skillets. Couldn't have been easier! And I love this skillet just as much and so does my son! Lodge is the way to go!

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GinaPea
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lodge Logic 12"
8/15/2016

Customer review by Sharon

5.0 stars 8/15/2016 by Sharon
by Sharon
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great quality at an amazing price. Best part is it is made in USA

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sharon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it !
8/12/2016

Customer review by HappyCustomer

5.0 stars 8/12/2016 by HappyCustomer
by HappyCustomer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love muy Cast Iron Skillet. Perfect size. I started using it right away. It's a delight to cook with it. It gives such special flavor to my food. It's steady and strong. Thank you Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyCustomer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 425 total reviews
1-20 of 425 reviews