Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 346 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

346 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

346 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
287
4 stars
43
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 stars
6
1-20 of 303 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 303 total reviews
1-20 of 303 reviews
Excellent for Cooking- Learn Cast Iron Care First
1/11/2009

Customer review by CathyGag

5.0 stars 1/11/2009 by CathyGag
by CathyGag

This pan is amazing! I was a little skeptical at first, but with the limited budget of a grad student I just couldn't afford the pricier "kitchen gadget store" models. I'm so glad I didn't pay more! Works beautifully for fried chicken, and does a splendid job in the oven with Food Network host Alton Brown's Pan Seared Rib Eye recipe (you've got to try it in the winter when you're crazing a great steak but it's just to cold to grill)... For the amount of money it's saved me on going to a steak house or great fried chicken joint it's been well worth the money and extra time required for maintaining it. I learned the hard way... Make sure you do your research on how to properly care for cast iron before bringing this baby home and using it for the first time. Mine has been used and abused for the past three years and it's definitely starting to show... I've been told though that it should re-season beautifully and be good to go again for years to come. And just an FYI - The Lodge 12-inch cast iron skillet just received America's Test Kitchen's top score out of all the cast iron skillets they reviewed, including several models sold 'exclusively' at those fancy kitchen stores for around $100.

Was this review helpful? (257) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CathyGag
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
love this product
3/11/2008

Customer review by cheesehead4

5.0 stars 3/11/2008 by cheesehead4
by cheesehead4

I absolutely love this product. It is so versatile. I know in the product info it says that it is already seasoned, but I would recommend that you bake it again. What i mean is, coat it with a THIN layer of crisco (or something similar) and bake it in the oven (empty) for about 6 or 7 hours on 225 degree heat. It makes it non-stick and keeps it from drying out, repeat if necessary every few mos or so.

Was this review helpful? (213) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cheesehead4
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love my cast iron skillet
7/27/2010

Customer review by ren1216

5.0 stars 7/27/2010 by ren1216
by ren1216

I wanted to use this pan for a while before writing a review so that I would have some experience to speak on. I bought this skillet about 3 months ago, after much reading and research on how to use and care for it. As everyone else has already said, this skillet turns out a far better meal than any Teflon coated pan. Searing and deglazing work beautifully in cast iron. I've cooked all kinds of things in this skillet by now, including frying foods that normally require a deep fryer. I've also made meals that start on the stove and finish in the oven, which is one of the great benefits of cast iron. Even though the Lodge products come read-to-use (pre-seasoned), I washed and seasoned mine anyway. I brushed on a light coating of canola oil (inside and out) and put it upside down on the oven rack with a cookie sheet on a lower rack to catch any drips, in a 350 degree oven for an hour, then left it to sit in there until it was cooled. As for continued maintenance, instead of washing it last like I used to do with other pans, I wash it first. I towel dry it, then set it back on a low-medium burner to heat/dry completely for about 10 mins while doing the other dishes. Thorough drying is critical to prevent rusting. Then a little canola oil on a paper towel, give it a real light coat inside, leave it on the burner another 15 mins while I finish the rest of the kitchen clean up. Really isn't that much extra work, honest. Just a minor adjustment to your clean-up routine. Definitely worth it! I love this skillet, I won't ever be without one now. I also bought the smaller 8" skillet and recently the double dutch oven. Cast iron cooks differently than Teflon, so take a little time to learn the techniques (lower heat is needed with cast iron, I over cooked a few things in the beginning). Don't be discouraged the first time or two if your food sticks just a little, the non-stick surface takes a few meals to really develop nicely, but it will. So cook a batch of bacon, maybe some burgers, and wait a few times before doing delicate things like eggs. I couldn't be happier with the Lodge product in general, Kudos to Walmart for a GREAT price and nice quality for that price. And thumbs up for the Site-To-Store service!

Was this review helpful? (221) (49)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ren1216
WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 250 contributor
Heavy skillet
11/9/2013

Customer review by oldguy1952

4.0 stars 11/9/2013 by oldguy1952
by oldguy1952

My only adverse observation is it claims it comes "pre-seasoned". being a 7th generation native Texan, found it not to be seasoned proper. My advice, buy it, before you even try to use it, get some bacon grease, smear it all around inside the skillet, add a little pepper if you truly like flavor in your fried foods, then bake it at 400° for 45 minutes or so, let it air cool on stove top before using. If you wash it after use, don't let it air dry, immediately put on the stove top on low heat and leave it until it's fully dried, that way the soap won't get into the seasoning. Every so often you'll need to re-season it. You can bake fantastic cornbread in this thing.

Was this review helpful? (50) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oldguy1952
TEXAS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Natural source of Iron.
3/2/2013

Customer review by ShanaraNY

5.0 stars 3/2/2013 by ShanaraNY
by ShanaraNY

My daughter has consistently low iron blood work, so I thought I would purchase a few cast iron items to start, and plan on changing over all my cookware! I feel good cooking on cast iron. I treated the skillet first by covering it in oil and baking at 300 degrees for hours. The skillet came out with a beautiful glaze on it. When I am finished cooking, I clean it out, put it on a burner on low, to dry any water off the pan, then re-coat in oil, and leave on the burner for another 5-10 minutes. It may all sound like a lot of work, but I really feel this pan is worth it. Once this skillet was treated, the glaze on it is like non stick wear, without nasty chemicals being used like Teflon. I have cooked anything from roasted vegetables, to fried chicken, and bacon and eggs, and everything slides off the skillet when I am done, and clean up only takes a wipe of a dish cloth, and everything I cook in this skillet is more nutritional, infused with natural iron. I highly recommend, and Walmart brings this to us at a fraction of the cost!

Was this review helpful? (47) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShanaraNY
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value
1/11/2012

Customer review by Foodie66

5.0 stars 1/11/2012 by Foodie66
by Foodie66

How many other products will you buy that will last yours and your childrens' lifetimes, you can use every day, does its job as well or better than any other product of its type, is made in the usa, and costs under 20 bucks? It's funny to look at cast iron products at Williams-Sonoma that cost over a hundred dollars, and are absolutely no better at cooking than a Lodge skillet for 18 bucks! If I could only have one pan to prepare meals with, it would be this skillet. You can cook literally anything with it. I seasoned mine again with vegetable shortening when I first brought it home, and give it a coating of veg or olive oil whenever I scrub it out. Keep it dry (heat it up on the stove top after cleaning) and never, ever, use soap. It's not needed. Heat and oil are the skillets best friends. Your skillet will only perform better with age.

Was this review helpful? (33) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Foodie66
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just Like Grandma's Skillet!!!!
9/14/2009

Customer review by ctuesday

5.0 stars 9/14/2009 by ctuesday
by ctuesday

I make the best pancakes, my husband makes the best fried chicken ever...WE LOVE our Cast Iron skillet from Walmart!! It was seasoned and ready to go, no hassle, no fuss, the perfect skillet.

Was this review helpful? (45) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ctuesday
Van Nuys, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Didnt know what I had
3/5/2011

Customer review by BlackQTee

5.0 stars 3/5/2011 by BlackQTee
by BlackQTee

You would not believe I bought these last year and maybe even longer than that and NEVER used them. I used it last night to fry some chicken. Simply because a friend was talking about them. I was shocked and awed and took me back to me child hood when no one could make fried chicken like your mother. =) ( didnt know it was the skillet) It was the most beautiful chicken I ever had. I decided to research information on cast iron skillets. They are a healthy way of cooking. The maintenance to me doesnt compare to other cooking utensils in which I have to poor comet in and soak them over night to dissolve the grease. I used some scalding hot water and a scrub brush. Sprayed and massaged with some pam on the inside perimeter and put on the stove on low for 15 minutes. It looks so beautiful. I just seasoned another grill bottom cast iron skillet that I will be using from now on. I also have a griddle stove top grill/griddle that I have used and always loved that. I am fully on the cast iron band wagon.

Was this review helpful? (33) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlackQTee
Naperville, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
I'm in love!
8/17/2010

Customer review by kut17

5.0 stars 8/17/2010 by kut17
by kut17

Ever since I've taken up cooking, I've discovered that I have a classic, old fashioned outlook. I don't care for this 30 minutes or less pre-packaged food that everyone else does these days. I like cooking when it takes time and concentration because it always tastes great. Until I got this cast iron skillet, I never realized how good food really could be. I don't know how it does it, but food cooked in this skillet is much better. It doubles the flavor and gives it a really hearty taste. I could not be happier with this product. Even though maintenance can be kind of a pain for the first few months, it gets easier with each use and eventually it's easier than cleaning any other pan. My favorite things to make are breakfast foods (bacon, pancakes, eggs), steaks (sear on both sides and finish in the oven), and fried chicken (one of the best uses I have found for this pan). It's no wonder why cast iron cookware has been around for centuries: it works and works well!

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kut17
UT, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
LODGE CAST IRON
12/16/2012

Customer review by lottajoy

4.0 stars 12/16/2012 by lottajoy
by lottajoy

Compared to more expensive cast iron, LODGE is a bit rougher where pan texture is concerned. It advertises that it is pre-seasoned, but LODGE said it is NOT. Therefore, many hours of prepping were involved before I fried the first egg - that stuck. I knew I would need to season more aggressively due to the roughness of the cast iron. Do not expect a smooth, mirrored finish as comes on high end cast iron. This is more rustic. After heating it to smoking on my stove, I applied olive oil sparingly then rubbed it in using a paper towel. I did this at least 20 times and the paper towel would shred due to the coarseness of the pan. After scraping it down with a metal spatula (many times) and re-seasoning many MORE times, I finally had the skillet of my dreams. Eggs might not slide around like they are on ice, but they do not stick now. Clean-up (unless you make gravy) requires a wipe-down with a dry cloth (since I stopped using paper towels) lol

Was this review helpful? (38) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lottajoy
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Grandma would love this...
3/15/2010

Customer review by andymattsmom

4.0 stars 3/15/2010 by andymattsmom
by andymattsmom

If you are looking for a non-Teflon, Large skillet to saute, fry or oven bake to a crispy finish, then this is your pan....It is VERY heavy so if you are not used to heavy pots, forget about it....Fries eggplant, chicken or chopped meat quickly and evenly....large surface that evenly heats....Re-oil the inside after each use and it will remain 'seasoned' .....Can bake cornbread in this as well....

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
andymattsmom
nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Wonderful! I'm buying one more!
1/21/2013

Customer review by georgetoon

5.0 stars 1/21/2013 by georgetoon
by georgetoon

I got tired of all the so called "non-stick miracle pans." They didn't work. Over the years, I had heard of all the health benefits that came with cooking in cast iron. So, I did some research. I was happy to see Walmart carrying the Lodge brand and that it's made in the good 'ol U.S.A.! My brother filled me in about cast iron cooking and even though this skillet is pre-seasoned, he strongly urged me to season it once more. It was easy enough. Lots of videos on youtube.com, even from Lodge themselves! The next morning, i made fresh home-fried potatoes, bacon, and eggs...and nothing sticked! That evening, I made a chicken and rice recipe for the oven. i mixed all the ingredients, placed it in the skillet, and popped it in the oven at 350 degrees for an hour and 20 minutes. Wow! Again, the food was great and nothing sticked. Clean up was a breeze! Hot water and a stiff brush. Then thoroughly dry and apply a few drops of vegetable oil to keep it in good shape. I plan to buy the 10 inch skillet. You can't beat the price or the quality! (And, I'm putting all those teflon pans in storage.)

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
georgetoon
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love it, love it, love it!
7/15/2011

Customer review by ashep01

5.0 stars 7/15/2011 by ashep01
by ashep01

I absolutely love this skillet. It is perfect in every way. I have used it several times for searing fish, blackening salmon, making hash browns, potstickers, and several other meals. It is truly amazing and I have not used my old faithful non-stick skillets since this baby arrived. I do not know how I lived so long without it and why I waited so long to purchase it. I have no issues and hope anyone on the fence will purchase it because it is pretty good. I am lazy and not the most meticulous when it comes to cookware, however, I do clean this pan, spray it with cooking spray, wipe it out as mentioned because I do want to preserve its effectiveness and longevity. If you are considering a cast iron skillet, this is a great pan and I use it on both my 14 inch burner and my 8 inch. It maintains its heat well and I have not complaints.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ashep01
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Value AND Made in the USA!
12/10/2013

Customer review by MrEhlenfeld

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by MrEhlenfeld
by MrEhlenfeld

I purchased this to use with our tabletop induction heating unit and it works fantastic. The skillet heats quickly and retains the heat for a long time. My wife loves it and I'm happy because of the value and that it supports workers here in the USA.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrEhlenfeld
Crawfordsville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wonderful
5/19/2014

Customer review by VivaLaWally

5.0 stars 5/19/2014 by VivaLaWally
by VivaLaWally

I have many older collectable skillets and several lodge cast iron items. I enjoy cooking with my older cookware because it gives me a sense of familial and national history. But, deep in the back of my mind I am concerned about damaging them, so I bought this skillet. I received it almost a week before it was expected; washed it and fried some chicken, and boy was it good! And, there was absolutely no concern about damaging the skillet, which made the experience even more pleasurable. The 12 inch skillet is heavier than most vintage and antique cast iron and it is not as smooth as the oldies. However, this finish is definitely not as rough as many of the competitors, especially some of the imported stuff. The skillet heated evenly and it was roomy enough for three large thighs. The 12 inch Lodge skillet was flat and sat evenly on the burner - some other brand new imports that I have seen, and damaged oldies, will wobble on the burner because the base is not flat - it is a keeper. Now, go on out and get yours before inflation makes the price of this skillet more expensive.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VivaLaWally
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lodge... ready to use!
7/16/2009

Customer review by finyin

5.0 stars 7/16/2009 by finyin
by finyin

Heavy weight cast iron; just wish Walmart also offered their steel riveted handle line. As for cooking... with preheating, does a flawless job. Simple and easy to clean with hot water and steel brush; easy to re-condition, too. With preheating, can use lower cooking temps; does a super job searing meat, veggies, puts nice crust on meats, poultry.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
finyin
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love it, read instructins first!!!
3/5/2011

Customer review by HelloandGoodbye

5.0 stars 3/5/2011 by HelloandGoodbye
by HelloandGoodbye

I bought this from my nearby store and I love this skillet! It cooks food evenly, and wonderfully. I agree with another reviewer, read the instructions first on how to care for you skillet. No harsh detergents just hot water to clean and a stiff brush. NOT dishwasher safe. Take good care of your skillet and it will last a lifetime.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HelloandGoodbye
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Cast My Vote, YES!
5/16/2010

Customer review by aboveyou

5.0 stars 5/16/2010 by aboveyou
by aboveyou

Even though I own some extremely expensive cookware I wouldn't be without a cast iron skillet. There are things you can only do with a tool like this, and with experience you will learn how cast iron can benifit your cooking experience. The care instructions MUST be obeyed and additional seasoning is a good idea, but when you do, it's easier to maintain than typical cookware. Take care of it and it will far outlive your grandchildren. B.T.W. It's made in America, not a bad endorsement.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aboveyou
Chicago, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good old fashioned cast iron
2/26/2009

Customer review by kityzkatz

5.0 stars 2/26/2009 by kityzkatz
by kityzkatz

The product works wonderful - just like my grandmothers old cast iron skillet. It heats food evenly and cleans easily. Everyone should have a least one in their kitchen!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kityzkatz
Aurora IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent skillet!
6/13/2010

Customer review by MrsD720

5.0 stars 6/13/2010 by MrsD720
by MrsD720

I recall my mom cooking with nothing but cast iron from the time I could remember, to well into 70's. But I also recall the seasoning & cleaning ritual, which did not appeal to me. When I went out on my own I went the route of non-stick skillets & pots, not knowing at the time about the dangerous chemicals released at certain temps. Tried stainless& didnt like those at all, but knew of no other choices that were PFOA free. Then I discovered Lodge, with their preseasoned cast iron skillets, so I decided to try one. I can tell you now these are fantastic skillets! Never before has food tasted as good, when cooked in cast iron! The true flavor of whatever you're cooking really comes through, & searing & braising is awesome now. Cleanup is a breeze; let the skillet cool down, add hot water, allow to soak for a few minutes, scrape away any food particles left with a plastic scraper or nylon sponge, rinse, dry, spray with a light coating of non-stick canola or olive oil spray, rub it in, & done! I'ts all ready for next time! After I preheat the skillet, I also spray it with non-stick spray before cooking/frying in it. You cant beat the even heat distribution you get with cast iron, & your food stays warm for quite awhile. The only "downside" is the weight; it's a heavy one, but for me I'm willing to put up with that for as long as I can lift it. Donot hesitate to buy this brand of skillet, you wont be sorry, & the price just cant be beat. Oh yeah, it's great for use on the grill too!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrsD720
PA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 303 total reviews
1-20 of 303 reviews