Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 162 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

162 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

162 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
143
4 stars
13
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 136 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 136 total reviews
1-20 of 136 reviews
10/17/2007

Customer review by halfdozenforme

5.0 stars 10/17/2007 by halfdozenforme
by halfdozenforme

The meat that comes out of this dutch oven is wonderful! It holds enough food (veggies and meat) to feed our family of 8 perfectly with leftovers. Clean up is easy but remember to use only HOT water no soap to keep the seasoning coat. ENJOY!

Was this review helpful? (74) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
halfdozenforme
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Product!
4/4/2011

Customer review by FloridaMom5

5.0 stars 4/4/2011 by FloridaMom5
by FloridaMom5

I LOVE my new 7-quart Dutch oven! I read all of the reviews before buying this product and took someone's advice to go ahead and buy the 7-quart instead of the 5-quart. She said that you can always put less into a bigger Dutch oven but you can't put more into a smaller one! I am so glad that I bought the bigger one. It works great if you take care of it. After cooking and letting it cool down, I wash it out with water and a paper towel and/or Dobie pad and it cleans up easily. It is definitely non-stick. Then I put it on the burner to heat it up for a couple of minutes and then coat it with a little bit of Crisco. I have read that this works better at seasoning than oil. I don't cook with it; I just use it to lightly coat it. I do this to the lid as well. I am only using cast iron for all of my cooking now! No need to ever buy an expensive Le Creuset. Plus this gives you extra iron since it is raw cast iron!

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FloridaMom5
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/5/2008

Customer review by becki

5.0 stars 1/5/2008 by becki
by becki

I bought this for my husband. He loves to cook food in cast iron. This is a nice large size. It is a little bit on the heavy side for me but he loves it and enjoys cooking in it. Got a man that likes to cook, buy him good cookware :)

Was this review helpful? (37) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
becki
Shawnee, Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
LOVEIT!!
3/4/2009

Customer review by 2boys2girls4us

5.0 stars 3/4/2009 by 2boys2girls4us
by 2boys2girls4us

this is a heavy large quality dutch oven. perfect for cooking over the wood stove, holds enough for a very large family. I also bought other lodge usa items from walmart.com great items at a great price.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2boys2girls4us
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
dutch oven
4/4/2009

Customer review by ravena1952

4.0 stars 4/4/2009 by ravena1952
by ravena1952

My bad for not reading the product details before purchasing! It's a nice dutch oven but really heavy and shallow. It would overpower my stovetop burner and having a glasstop stove...well, not ok. I returned it immediately and ordered the Tramontina 6.5 qt dutch oven that is a bit smaller and much deeper. Another 3 weeks to wait for delivery probably but I'll be a happier consumer. The lodge dutch oven would be great for camping and larger stovetops without glass though. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? (23) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ravena1952
Albany, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect Pot
7/27/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/27/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

While this is a Dutch Oven, we use it mostly for frying chicken. It is fabulous! Large/Deep enough to fry 5 or 6 pieces with no splattering.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Huntley, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
3/16/2009

Customer review by dorido

5.0 stars 3/16/2009 by dorido
by dorido

A great product. For Annyone who likes pot roast or stews, this is a necessity. Easy to clean, excellent lid seal. An excellent bargain...and AMERICAN MADE!!!!!!!! YAHOO!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dorido
Carlsbad, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Cast Iron Rules
5/6/2009

Customer review by CheaperAtWalmart

5.0 stars 5/6/2009 by CheaperAtWalmart
by CheaperAtWalmart

I wanted a cast iron dutch oven for our family meals. With 5 kids this 7-quart dutch oven is the perfect size. It is heavy, but it is made of cast iron, so what do expect. Great buy! ! !

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CheaperAtWalmart
Fresno, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Overall really good product
2/3/2009

Customer review by CastIronCook

4.0 stars 2/3/2009 by CastIronCook
by CastIronCook

This is a very large, VERY heavy Dutch oven - if you have it shipped anywhere but your own address, be sure you have a car or a ride to get it home! It makes a terrific amount of stew, soup, stock, etc.; heats pretty evenly; has an ingenious design inside the lid that keeps condensation dripping back into the pot; comes pre-seasoned so you can use it right out of the box (don't forget to keep seasoning it, though); and isn't that hard to clean up. I usually dry cast iron by putting it on a warm burner until the last of the wash water evaporates, but this is too large/deep to do that. And I don't know why the directions tell you to season the inside and the outside after every use - just make sure the outside dries so it doesn't rust, but don't waste oil on it. The spiky lid is a little tough to clean/dry, but it doesn't really get dirty, so that's pretty minor. Strongly recommended if you like cooking in cast iron.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CastIronCook
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So many uses
12/3/2009

Customer review by easymoney1412

5.0 stars 12/3/2009 by easymoney1412
by easymoney1412

Cast iron beats aluminum any day. Not just for stews, this dutch oven can be used for braising or baking great crusty no knead bread.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
easymoney1412
Bartow,Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
A Trip Down Memory Lane
8/8/2010

Customer review by DJM159

5.0 stars 8/8/2010 by DJM159
by DJM159

When I first received by dutch oven I cooked Jambalya in it and it was totally nonstick. It looked and smelled exactly like my grandmother's kitchen. The dutch oven is a bit heavy but I have my husband move it for me. Lodge is a good product and meets all my expectations. I will order the rest of their products. I was a little leary of not using soap to clean it but I followed the directions using a stiff nylon brush and water and it cleaned up beautifully. I heated it and applied canola oil using a paper towel and it looks as though it has never been used and smells wonderful. No residue of jambalya. The price at Walmart was unbelievably reasonable. My overall opinion is fantastic and everything I could hope for.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DJM159
Coral Springs, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Indestructible
3/5/2009

Customer review by bigbirdcyclist99

5.0 stars 3/5/2009 by bigbirdcyclist99
by bigbirdcyclist99

This Dutch Oven is ready to use right out of the box and it's indestructible. Perfect for baking, braising and stewing.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigbirdcyclist99
Littleton CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
9/30/2011

Customer review by Novacforme

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by Novacforme
by Novacforme

Lodge is top quality and made in the USA. I applaud Wal-mart for carrying Lodge products.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Novacforme
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
the good old days
2/10/2011

Customer review by patskitchen

5.0 stars 2/10/2011 by patskitchen
by patskitchen

I have all the high end cookware and cutlery, but I must say, I do not think that anything tastes better than a meal prepared in good old cast iron. I know that a lot of people are afraid of the maintenance, but it is just not that difficult. Like Lodge says "keep it dry, keep it seasoned, keep it 100 years." I love all my cookware, but in cast iron, well..."them just good eats!"

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
patskitchen
Odenton, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
I love Lodge cookware
8/21/2010

Customer review by shellsdell

5.0 stars 8/21/2010 by shellsdell
by shellsdell

I only buy Lodge cast iron. We use this pot on our outdoor kitchen stove and it works perfectly for deep frying.. great price and fast shipping.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shellsdell
Kathleen, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Top 1000 contributor
Love my Lodge
5/27/2009

Customer review by RouxBDoo

5.0 stars 5/27/2009 by RouxBDoo
by RouxBDoo

Great product, wish I had more cast iron, love the way it cooks. Here it is making backbones and rice.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RouxBDoo
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
meets all needs
9/22/2010

Customer review by castironmama55

5.0 stars 9/22/2010 by castironmama55
by castironmama55

so versatile, stovetop, oven, outdoor grill,propane cooker. and to top it off,site to store shipping was a breeze. living out of town i sometimes have difficulty getting packages, this was simple.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
castironmama55
buna,tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love it!
10/3/2011

Customer review by Lswr

5.0 stars 10/3/2011 by Lswr
by Lswr

I "love" this pot! The more I use it the better my food tastes! Must be the cast iron and the ongoing seasoning. I love making soups and stews and this pot holds plenty. This is the best pot I have ever used. Clean up is so easy and I can't believe I actually enjoy cleaning it. Soap isn't necessary but I do use very little. I use a paper towel to dry then lightly oil the pot and store away for next time Ü

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lswr
Dover DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Huge sturdy cooking pot
1/2/2009

Customer review by Sharonski

4.0 stars 1/2/2009 by Sharonski
by Sharonski

It is a very large, heavy cooking pot. Looks like it will last forever. I have been pleased with how well food cooks in it. It is very heavy which makes it a little difficult to handle (I'm 72 & I guess I'm not as strong as I used to be). The only other thing that I am not too happy with is the inside of the pot is not smooth it is rough. This makes it hard to thoroughly clean.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sharonski
Modesto, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good product good price
4/13/2014

Customer review by PreferThePicture

5.0 stars 4/13/2014 by PreferThePicture
by PreferThePicture

Fast shipping. Easy pickup. Good price for good product. Heavy but non stick and last forever... One issue though: the picture has no pouring spouts but they shipped me one with pouring spouts. I like the one is the picture better... Please post what you sell, and sell what you post. Specially for online products, when consumers have no chance to inspect what they buy before hand.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PreferThePicture
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 136 total reviews
1-20 of 136 reviews