Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 181 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

181 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

181 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
162
4 stars
13
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 155 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 155 total reviews
1-20 of 155 reviews
Love my Lodge
5/27/2009

Customer review by RouxBDoo

5.0 stars 5/27/2009 by RouxBDoo
by RouxBDoo

Great product, wish I had more cast iron, love the way it cooks. Here it is making backbones and rice.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RouxBDoo
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
Great Product!
4/4/2011

Customer review by FloridaMom5

5.0 stars 4/4/2011 by FloridaMom5
by FloridaMom5

I LOVE my new 7-quart Dutch oven! I read all of the reviews before buying this product and took someone's advice to go ahead and buy the 7-quart instead of the 5-quart. She said that you can always put less into a bigger Dutch oven but you can't put more into a smaller one! I am so glad that I bought the bigger one. It works great if you take care of it. After cooking and letting it cool down, I wash it out with water and a paper towel and/or Dobie pad and it cleans up easily. It is definitely non-stick. Then I put it on the burner to heat it up for a couple of minutes and then coat it with a little bit of Crisco. I have read that this works better at seasoning than oil. I don't cook with it; I just use it to lightly coat it. I do this to the lid as well. I am only using cast iron for all of my cooking now! No need to ever buy an expensive Le Creuset. Plus this gives you extra iron since it is raw cast iron!

Was this review helpful? (54) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FloridaMom5
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love my cast iron
6/13/2016

Customer review by llhs

5.0 stars 6/13/2016 by llhs
by llhs
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love all of my Lodge cast iron cookware. It truly is none stick. When I get my new pieces, I wash them in hot water, dry, coat with oil and put in the oven at 350 for an hour even though they come preseasoned. Lodge is the only cast iron made in the USA. The 7 quart Dutch oven's lid fits the 12 inch skillet. They are perfect for Artisan breads.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
llhs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Overall really good product
2/3/2009

Customer review by CastIronCook

4.0 stars 2/3/2009 by CastIronCook
by CastIronCook

This is a very large, VERY heavy Dutch oven - if you have it shipped anywhere but your own address, be sure you have a car or a ride to get it home! It makes a terrific amount of stew, soup, stock, etc.; heats pretty evenly; has an ingenious design inside the lid that keeps condensation dripping back into the pot; comes pre-seasoned so you can use it right out of the box (don't forget to keep seasoning it, though); and isn't that hard to clean up. I usually dry cast iron by putting it on a warm burner until the last of the wash water evaporates, but this is too large/deep to do that. And I don't know why the directions tell you to season the inside and the outside after every use - just make sure the outside dries so it doesn't rust, but don't waste oil on it. The spiky lid is a little tough to clean/dry, but it doesn't really get dirty, so that's pretty minor. Strongly recommended if you like cooking in cast iron.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CastIronCook
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love cast iron
1/9/2016

Customer review by SueCIty

5.0 stars 1/9/2016 by SueCIty
by SueCIty

I recommend a cast iron dutch oven without ceramic coating inside. I tried the ceramic kind first. Though they are supposed to withstand heat, mine cracked and chipped after the 4th use. I was upset to have to replace it after that length of time. I have some cast iron skillets and I like them very much, so this time I went with one that had no ceramic inside. Love it. If you need a dutch oven that will last a lifetime, this is the one. Be sure to follow the care instructions and you will have it for ever. I still have and use the cast iron skillets that my mom purchased in the 1970's.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SueCIty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/17/2007

Customer review by halfdozenforme

5.0 stars 10/17/2007 by halfdozenforme
by halfdozenforme

The meat that comes out of this dutch oven is wonderful! It holds enough food (veggies and meat) to feed our family of 8 perfectly with leftovers. Clean up is easy but remember to use only HOT water no soap to keep the seasoning coat. ENJOY!

Was this review helpful? (86) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
halfdozenforme
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Real iron
4/29/2016

Customer review by cookingupastorm

5.0 stars 4/29/2016 by cookingupastorm
by cookingupastorm

Long-term owner and user of cast iron cookware and have always found it to be superior in its cooking ability heat retention and functionality. Iona number of camping dutch ovens in abused them to cook breakfast casseroles shepherd's pie and believe it or not cherry cheesecake that came out excellent. Ran across a recipe that required recommended the use of a dutch oven and went to Walmart online purchase the item it arrived very promptly and I've been pleased with the purchase. Lodge makes superior products and it's the kind of cookware that does not wear out you pass it down from generation to generation.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cookingupastorm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
You won't regret THIS purchase
1/11/2016

Customer review by phoenix

5.0 stars 1/11/2016 by phoenix
by phoenix

Gorgeous dutch oven. I initially ordered the 5-quart dutch oven but decided it was too small when it arrived. This larger version is a beauty and will easily handle a large roast or chicken plus the vegetables. And I'll never have to buy another one! I already know that the meals from this cast iron beauty will be wonderful. Time to get cookin.'

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
phoenix
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVEIT!!
3/4/2009

Customer review by 2boys2girls4us

5.0 stars 3/4/2009 by 2boys2girls4us
by 2boys2girls4us

this is a heavy large quality dutch oven. perfect for cooking over the wood stove, holds enough for a very large family. I also bought other lodge usa items from walmart.com great items at a great price.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2boys2girls4us
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
A Trip Down Memory Lane
8/8/2010

Customer review by DJM159

5.0 stars 8/8/2010 by DJM159
by DJM159

When I first received by dutch oven I cooked Jambalya in it and it was totally nonstick. It looked and smelled exactly like my grandmother's kitchen. The dutch oven is a bit heavy but I have my husband move it for me. Lodge is a good product and meets all my expectations. I will order the rest of their products. I was a little leary of not using soap to clean it but I followed the directions using a stiff nylon brush and water and it cleaned up beautifully. I heated it and applied canola oil using a paper towel and it looks as though it has never been used and smells wonderful. No residue of jambalya. The price at Walmart was unbelievably reasonable. My overall opinion is fantastic and everything I could hope for.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DJM159
Coral Springs, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Lodge 7 Qt Dutch Oven
5/12/2016

Customer review by geojim1

5.0 stars 5/12/2016 by geojim1
by geojim1

I used this the other day to prepare Beef Stew for my lodge. Excellent pot for stove or oven. Heat conductivity and ability to keep food warm for sometime was great. Buy the small stand with this pot, to keep the heavy pot off counters when serving. Best quality I've seen in cast cookware.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
geojim1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/5/2008

Customer review by becki

5.0 stars 1/5/2008 by becki
by becki

I bought this for my husband. He loves to cook food in cast iron. This is a nice large size. It is a little bit on the heavy side for me but he loves it and enjoys cooking in it. Got a man that likes to cook, buy him good cookware :)

Was this review helpful? (44) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
becki
Shawnee, Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
3/16/2009

Customer review by dorido

5.0 stars 3/16/2009 by dorido
by dorido

A great product. For Annyone who likes pot roast or stews, this is a necessity. Easy to clean, excellent lid seal. An excellent bargain...and AMERICAN MADE!!!!!!!! YAHOO!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dorido
Carlsbad, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Perfect Pot
7/27/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/27/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

While this is a Dutch Oven, we use it mostly for frying chicken. It is fabulous! Large/Deep enough to fry 5 or 6 pieces with no splattering.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Huntley, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
So many uses
12/3/2009

Customer review by easymoney1412

5.0 stars 12/3/2009 by easymoney1412
by easymoney1412

Cast iron beats aluminum any day. Not just for stews, this dutch oven can be used for braising or baking great crusty no knead bread.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
easymoney1412
Bartow,Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
the good old days
2/10/2011

Customer review by patskitchen

5.0 stars 2/10/2011 by patskitchen
by patskitchen

I have all the high end cookware and cutlery, but I must say, I do not think that anything tastes better than a meal prepared in good old cast iron. I know that a lot of people are afraid of the maintenance, but it is just not that difficult. Like Lodge says "keep it dry, keep it seasoned, keep it 100 years." I love all my cookware, but in cast iron, well..."them just good eats!"

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
patskitchen
Odenton, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Huge sturdy cooking pot
1/2/2009

Customer review by Sharonski

4.0 stars 1/2/2009 by Sharonski
by Sharonski

It is a very large, heavy cooking pot. Looks like it will last forever. I have been pleased with how well food cooks in it. It is very heavy which makes it a little difficult to handle (I'm 72 & I guess I'm not as strong as I used to be). The only other thing that I am not too happy with is the inside of the pot is not smooth it is rough. This makes it hard to thoroughly clean.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sharonski
Modesto, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Indestructible
3/5/2009

Customer review by bigbirdcyclist99

5.0 stars 3/5/2009 by bigbirdcyclist99
by bigbirdcyclist99

This Dutch Oven is ready to use right out of the box and it's indestructible. Perfect for baking, braising and stewing.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bigbirdcyclist99
Littleton CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Cast Iron Rules
5/6/2009

Customer review by CheaperAtWalmart

5.0 stars 5/6/2009 by CheaperAtWalmart
by CheaperAtWalmart

I wanted a cast iron dutch oven for our family meals. With 5 kids this 7-quart dutch oven is the perfect size. It is heavy, but it is made of cast iron, so what do expect. Great buy! ! !

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CheaperAtWalmart
Fresno, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
dutch oven
4/4/2009

Customer review by ravena1952

4.0 stars 4/4/2009 by ravena1952
by ravena1952

My bad for not reading the product details before purchasing! It's a nice dutch oven but really heavy and shallow. It would overpower my stovetop burner and having a glasstop stove...well, not ok. I returned it immediately and ordered the Tramontina 6.5 qt dutch oven that is a bit smaller and much deeper. Another 3 weeks to wait for delivery probably but I'll be a happier consumer. The lodge dutch oven would be great for camping and larger stovetops without glass though. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? (28) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ravena1952
Albany, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 155 total reviews
1-20 of 155 reviews