Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 170 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

170 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

170 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
151
4 stars
13
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 144 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 144 total reviews
1-20 of 144 reviews
Love my Lodge
5/27/2009

Customer review by RouxBDoo

5.0 stars 5/27/2009 by RouxBDoo
by RouxBDoo

Great product, wish I had more cast iron, love the way it cooks. Here it is making backbones and rice.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RouxBDoo
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
Great Product!
4/4/2011

Customer review by FloridaMom5

5.0 stars 4/4/2011 by FloridaMom5
by FloridaMom5

I LOVE my new 7-quart Dutch oven! I read all of the reviews before buying this product and took someone's advice to go ahead and buy the 7-quart instead of the 5-quart. She said that you can always put less into a bigger Dutch oven but you can't put more into a smaller one! I am so glad that I bought the bigger one. It works great if you take care of it. After cooking and letting it cool down, I wash it out with water and a paper towel and/or Dobie pad and it cleans up easily. It is definitely non-stick. Then I put it on the burner to heat it up for a couple of minutes and then coat it with a little bit of Crisco. I have read that this works better at seasoning than oil. I don't cook with it; I just use it to lightly coat it. I do this to the lid as well. I am only using cast iron for all of my cooking now! No need to ever buy an expensive Le Creuset. Plus this gives you extra iron since it is raw cast iron!

Was this review helpful? (44) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FloridaMom5
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love cast iron
1/9/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/9/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I recommend a cast iron dutch oven without ceramic coating inside. I tried the ceramic kind first. Though they are supposed to withstand heat, mine cracked and chipped after the 4th use. I was upset to have to replace it after that length of time. I have some cast iron skillets and I like them very much, so this time I went with one that had no ceramic inside. Love it. If you need a dutch oven that will last a lifetime, this is the one. Be sure to follow the care instructions and you will have it for ever. I still have and use the cast iron skillets that my mom purchased in the 1970's.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
You won't regret THIS purchase
1/11/2016

Customer review by phoenix

5.0 stars 1/11/2016 by phoenix
by phoenix

Gorgeous dutch oven. I initially ordered the 5-quart dutch oven but decided it was too small when it arrived. This larger version is a beauty and will easily handle a large roast or chicken plus the vegetables. And I'll never have to buy another one! I already know that the meals from this cast iron beauty will be wonderful. Time to get cookin.'

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
phoenix
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Overall really good product
2/3/2009

Customer review by CastIronCook

4.0 stars 2/3/2009 by CastIronCook
by CastIronCook

This is a very large, VERY heavy Dutch oven - if you have it shipped anywhere but your own address, be sure you have a car or a ride to get it home! It makes a terrific amount of stew, soup, stock, etc.; heats pretty evenly; has an ingenious design inside the lid that keeps condensation dripping back into the pot; comes pre-seasoned so you can use it right out of the box (don't forget to keep seasoning it, though); and isn't that hard to clean up. I usually dry cast iron by putting it on a warm burner until the last of the wash water evaporates, but this is too large/deep to do that. And I don't know why the directions tell you to season the inside and the outside after every use - just make sure the outside dries so it doesn't rust, but don't waste oil on it. The spiky lid is a little tough to clean/dry, but it doesn't really get dirty, so that's pretty minor. Strongly recommended if you like cooking in cast iron.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CastIronCook
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/17/2007

Customer review by halfdozenforme

5.0 stars 10/17/2007 by halfdozenforme
by halfdozenforme

The meat that comes out of this dutch oven is wonderful! It holds enough food (veggies and meat) to feed our family of 8 perfectly with leftovers. Clean up is easy but remember to use only HOT water no soap to keep the seasoning coat. ENJOY!

Was this review helpful? (80) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
halfdozenforme
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
LOVEIT!!
3/4/2009

Customer review by 2boys2girls4us

5.0 stars 3/4/2009 by 2boys2girls4us
by 2boys2girls4us

this is a heavy large quality dutch oven. perfect for cooking over the wood stove, holds enough for a very large family. I also bought other lodge usa items from walmart.com great items at a great price.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2boys2girls4us
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
A Trip Down Memory Lane
8/8/2010

Customer review by DJM159

5.0 stars 8/8/2010 by DJM159
by DJM159

When I first received by dutch oven I cooked Jambalya in it and it was totally nonstick. It looked and smelled exactly like my grandmother's kitchen. The dutch oven is a bit heavy but I have my husband move it for me. Lodge is a good product and meets all my expectations. I will order the rest of their products. I was a little leary of not using soap to clean it but I followed the directions using a stiff nylon brush and water and it cleaned up beautifully. I heated it and applied canola oil using a paper towel and it looks as though it has never been used and smells wonderful. No residue of jambalya. The price at Walmart was unbelievably reasonable. My overall opinion is fantastic and everything I could hope for.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DJM159
Coral Springs, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Cast Iron the best
11/28/2015

Customer review by hh78

5.0 stars 11/28/2015 by hh78
by hh78

Have been cooking with cast iron for the past 30+ years. Stays hot longer can cook in oven ,stove top and even camp fire. Have not had to replace an item so far. I have a small Dutch oven that my great Grandmother used over a 100 yrs ago and I still use it today. a great value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hh78
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/5/2008

Customer review by becki

5.0 stars 1/5/2008 by becki
by becki

I bought this for my husband. He loves to cook food in cast iron. This is a nice large size. It is a little bit on the heavy side for me but he loves it and enjoys cooking in it. Got a man that likes to cook, buy him good cookware :)

Was this review helpful? (43) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
becki
Shawnee, Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Perfect Pot
7/27/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/27/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

While this is a Dutch Oven, we use it mostly for frying chicken. It is fabulous! Large/Deep enough to fry 5 or 6 pieces with no splattering.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Huntley, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Bigger IS Better!
1/7/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/7/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is a large weighty utensil but will handle anything you throw at/in it. Be sure to use pot holders!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/16/2009

Customer review by dorido

5.0 stars 3/16/2009 by dorido
by dorido

A great product. For Annyone who likes pot roast or stews, this is a necessity. Easy to clean, excellent lid seal. An excellent bargain...and AMERICAN MADE!!!!!!!! YAHOO!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dorido
Carlsbad, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
I've Quit Using Anything But Cast Iron
11/1/2015

Customer review by Dramcatcher

5.0 stars 11/1/2015 by Dramcatcher
by Dramcatcher

I tried all the "great" nonstick cookware, some of it really pricey and kept coming back to my cast iron skillets. I've started collecting all the cast iron pieces, skillets, dutch ovens, muffin pans, bread pans you name it. I LOVE it. No chemicals, just season and put a small amount of oil (about the same I'd rub on a non-stick skillet) and I have a non-stick pan and not of the worries about don't use metal utensils, scratching the non-stick coating off, none of it. I have a ceramic (glass top) stove and while I wouldn't recommend sliding the cast iron around on it, as long as I clean it and use the glass top stove products for cleaning, I have not had any problems with scratching. I'm sure if I dropped a pan or lid, I'd shatter the stove top, but I'm pretty sure that if I dropped my Waterless cookware lids or pots it'd do the same thing.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dramcatcher
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product! Great price!
1/2/2016

Customer review by Gail

5.0 stars 1/2/2016 by Gail
by Gail

Just made a stew and it was the perfect cooking vessel.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gail
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So many uses
12/3/2009

Customer review by easymoney1412

5.0 stars 12/3/2009 by easymoney1412
by easymoney1412

Cast iron beats aluminum any day. Not just for stews, this dutch oven can be used for braising or baking great crusty no knead bread.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
easymoney1412
Bartow,Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
the good old days
2/10/2011

Customer review by patskitchen

5.0 stars 2/10/2011 by patskitchen
by patskitchen

I have all the high end cookware and cutlery, but I must say, I do not think that anything tastes better than a meal prepared in good old cast iron. I know that a lot of people are afraid of the maintenance, but it is just not that difficult. Like Lodge says "keep it dry, keep it seasoned, keep it 100 years." I love all my cookware, but in cast iron, well..."them just good eats!"

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
patskitchen
Odenton, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Indestructible
3/5/2009

Customer review by bigbirdcyclist99

5.0 stars 3/5/2009 by bigbirdcyclist99
by bigbirdcyclist99

This Dutch Oven is ready to use right out of the box and it's indestructible. Perfect for baking, braising and stewing.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bigbirdcyclist99
Littleton CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Cast Iron Dutch Oven
12/10/2015

Customer review by Dragonfly753

5.0 stars 12/10/2015 by Dragonfly753
by Dragonfly753

I bought this as a Christmas gift for my son, who cooks almost exclusively with cast iron. He hasn't tried it, yet, but Lodge is basically the Cadillac of cast iron cookware so I'm sure he will be very happy. I did look at it and it is beautifully crafted and very hefty. Cast iron cookware should definitely be hefty. Walmart was the only place I could find this item in the 7 quart size under $100, so I'm pleased, too!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dragonfly753
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cast Iron Rules
5/6/2009

Customer review by CheaperAtWalmart

5.0 stars 5/6/2009 by CheaperAtWalmart
by CheaperAtWalmart

I wanted a cast iron dutch oven for our family meals. With 5 kids this 7-quart dutch oven is the perfect size. It is heavy, but it is made of cast iron, so what do expect. Great buy! ! !

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CheaperAtWalmart
Fresno, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 144 total reviews
1-20 of 144 reviews